Farmland India
Aerial view of agricultural land and farm fields near Barnala, Punjab

District guide

Buying Land in Barnala

Open to Indian buyers, with the Ludhiana–Bathinda highway restarted in 2025, tubewell-dependent groundwater that is over-exploited and no sourced per-acre price.

  • 5.95 lakh

    Population (Census 2011)

  • 1,423 sq km

    Area

  • Over 95% land handed over (Feb 2025)

    Ludhiana–Bathinda highway

  • Open (NRIs barred)

    Outsider agricultural land

*Indicative range across districts and land types. Stamp duty, registration and conversion charges are additional. Local measurement units vary — every listing states the unit it is priced in. Not a valuation or an offer.

PLRS — Punjab Land Records Society

District land record — Barnala

Rev. 2026 · Farmland India desk

State

Punjab

Sub-divisions

2 tehsils (Barnala · Tapa), 3 sub-tehsils (Bhadaur · Dhanaula · Mehal Kalan) and 3 development blocks (Barnala · Mehal Kalan · Sehna) (Punjab Police district page)

Key markets

Barnala city · Tapa · Bhadaur · Dhanaula · Sehna · Mehal Kalan

Demand anchors

Ludhiana–Bathinda highway corridor · paddy-wheat farm economy

Rail

Not opened for this page

Size and population

About 1,423 sq km · 5.95 lakh people at the 2011 Census (Punjab Pollution Control Board district plan)

Pricing unit

₹ per acre for farmland · ₹ per sq yd for colony plots

Local units

Revenue records give areas in acre, kanal and marla: 1 kanal = 20 marla and 8 kanal = 1 acre (standard Punjab usage; no official conversion table was opened). Take the area from the fard

Land records

Easy Jamabandi: jamabandi copies with a QR code and online mutation, launched June 2025 (The Tribune)

District overview

Barnala — a small Malwa district of paddy and wheat on the Ludhiana–Bathinda corridor

Buying land in Barnala means buying in a small, rural Malwa district. Barnala became a revenue district in November 2006 (Punjab Police district page), covers about 1,423 sq km and had 5.95 lakh people at the 2011 Census (PPCB district plan). It has two tehsils (Barnala and Tapa), three sub-tehsils (Bhadaur, Dhanaula and Mehal Kalan) and three blocks (Barnala, Mehal Kalan and Sehna). Search interest is small, so this page is written for agricultural land buyers who already have Barnala in mind.

The land is flat and farmed twice a year. The ICAR-CRIDA contingency plan (reference years 2004-08, so dated) gives sandy loam on 88.2% of the area, wheat on 112,100 hectares and cotton on 13,900 hectares of a 124,500-hectare net sown area, with a cropping intensity of 200%. CGWB's district booklet adds rice on 1,050 sq km, normal rainfall of 504 mm, and irrigation from tubewells on 970 sq km against 270 sq km from canals (CGWB; years not stated). Paddy is therefore a main crop here, and the two sources disagree on rice, so treat the crop mix as approximate.

The district's land story is the Ludhiana–Bathinda highway, a 75.54 km six-lane road that crosses Barnala and Tapa tehsils (NBM&CW, October 2021), and the proposed 108 km Mohali–Barnala corridor, which PIB listed as yet to be awarded in February 2024 (PIB). We found no sourced farmland price for Barnala, so the price table carries none: that is a limit of the evidence, not a statement that land is cheap or dear.

  • Barnala
  • Tapa
  • Bhadaur
  • Dhanaula
  • Sehna
  • Highway corridor
Locator map of Barnala district in Punjab

Transaction costs

Stamp duty & registration in Barnala

5%

Stamp duty (2017-18 audit rate)

current rate to confirm with the Sub-Registrar

6% / 4%

Men / women, as reported

press reports, 2018 and 2020

1%

Registration fee

capped at ₹2 lakh (2017-18 audit)

The Comptroller and Auditor General's report on Punjab's revenue sector records stamp duty on a sale deed at 5% of the higher of the deed value and the collector rate, a 1% social infrastructure cess and a 1% registration fee capped at ₹2 lakh, as in force in 2017-18 (CAG report, 2019). The Tribune says an earlier 3% cess was waived in July 2017 (The Tribune, February 2020), and press reports of 2018 and 2020 put the rate at 6% for men and 4% for women (The Statesman, June 2018). A woman buying in her own name gets a 2% rebate on stamp duty, or 1% on a joint registration, and a 2018 amendment reclaims it if the land passes to a male relative within a year (same Statesman report). The state also waived 2.25% in extra duty and fees for March 2023 only (The Tribune, March 2023). We opened no official current rate schedule and found no report of a change in 2025 or 2026, so treat these as the last published figures and confirm the current rate with the Sub-Registrar before budgeting. Collector rates matter as much as the duty rate. Barnala is one of 12 districts that The Tribune named in August 2025 as having had rises of 5% to 50%, without a Barnala figure, and a further statewide rise was put on hold (The Tribune, August 2025). Patiala's rates were raised by up to 100% in some areas in 2024 (The Tribune, August 2024). We found no village-wise Barnala list, so look up the village before pricing an offer.

Know the belt

What is moving prices in Barnala

No sourced price evidence for the district. The cards below say what we looked at and what a buyer should collect.

Farmland prices: none sourced

No per-acre figure sourced

We publish no Barnala per-acre figure. Listing-site asking prices could not be traced to registered deals, and we found no Barnala village-level collector rate or NHAI compensation award.

Check: registered deeds from the same village and the collector rate; there is no sourced band to anchor on.

Highway proximity is a price story, not a price

Ludhiana–Bathinda highway: no dated land-price evidence

The Tribune reported in February 2025 that NHAI had taken possession of 72.04 km of the 75.54 km needed, over 95%, and that the full land for Package 1 and a 12.2 km stretch of Package 2 in Barnala was available (The Tribune, February 2025). We found no report of land-price changes along it.

Check: whether any premium quoted for a plot near the highway is supported by a registered deed.

Collector rates to check

August 2025: Barnala among 12 districts with rises

The Tribune reported in August 2025 that 12 districts, Barnala among them, had received collector-rate rises of 5% to 50%, gave no Barnala figure, and said a further statewide rise was put on hold (The Tribune).

Check: the current village rate, because stamp duty follows the higher of the deal value and the collector rate.

Units: acre, kanal, marla

Farmland is sold by the acre and small plots by the kanal or marla: 1 kanal = 20 marla and 8 kanal = 1 acre (standard Punjab usage; no official conversion table was opened). The fard shows area in acre, kanal and marla, so convert every quote to acres before comparing two offers.

Connectivity

How Barnala connects — road, rail and air

Barnala lies on the Ludhiana–Bathinda highway line. We did not find route-checked distances, so none is given.

By road

Ludhiana–Bathinda highway75.54 km, two packages; crosses Barnala and Tapa tehsils (NBM&CW, Oct 2021)
Mohali–Barnala corridor108 km; yet to be awarded in Feb 2024 (PIB)
Ludhiana, Bathinda, SangrurNeighbouring districts; distances not route-checked

By air

Nearest airportsNot checked for this page
Bathinda and ChandigarhDistance and drive time not found

By rail & metro

RailStation and line details not checked
MetroNone

Barnala is a road-first district whose value depends on how a parcel reaches the Ludhiana–Bathinda highway, which is access-controlled. Ask for the NHAI interchange and service-road plan. Full Punjab rules for buyers from outside the state: Punjab state guide and the state-wise land law guides.

Growth catalysts

Upcoming infrastructure & developments

Status labels reflect sources read in October 2026. Government timelines are not guaranteed; items marked confirm rest on single or older reports.

00Operational corridors

02In progress or pending

Work restarted · completion date not found Ludhiana–Bathinda highway
Not yet awarded (Feb 2024) · confirm Mohali–Barnala corridor (108 km)
Work restarted · completion date not found

Ludhiana–Bathinda highway

A 75.54 km six-lane, access-controlled greenfield highway in two packages: Package 1 (about 30.3 km, ₹906.51 crore) from near Rampura Phul to near Tallewal, and Package 2 (about 45.24 km, ₹1,555.13 crore) from near Tallewal to near Ballowal in Ludhiana (The Tribune, February 2025). NHAI had taken possession of 72.04 km, over 95% of the land, by February 2025, and the full land for Package 1 and a 12.2 km stretch of Package 2 in Barnala was available. The Tribune reported in March 2025 that work had finally begun (March 2025); the original target of August 2025 has passed and we found no revised date. NBM&CW listed the villages of Barnala and Tapa tehsils among the 36 along the route (October 2021).

Source: The Tribune, 5 Feb and 5 Mar 2025; NBM&CW, 29 Oct 2021

Length

75.54 km

Packages

2

Land handed over

Over 95% (Feb 2025)

Target

No revised date found

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Barnala
  • Tapa
  • Tallewal
Not yet awarded (Feb 2024) · confirm

Mohali–Barnala corridor (108 km)

PIB's February 2024 list of greenfield corridors under Bharatmala shows the 108 km Mohali–Sirhind–Khanna Bypass–Malerkotla–Barnala corridor as "yet to be awarded" (PIB, 7 February 2024). India Blooms reported in May 2023 that it would be four lanes, expandable to six, and would cut the Mohali–Barnala trip from 2.5 hours to 1.5 hours (India Blooms, May 2023); that is a projection. We found no later status, so confirm with NHAI.

Source: PIB, 7 Feb 2024; India Blooms, 22 May 2023 (reported)

Length

108 km

Lanes

4, expandable to 6 (reported)

Travel time

2.5 h to 1.5 h (projected)

Status

Yet to be awarded (Feb 2024)

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Barnala
  • Sehna

Agriculture & terrain

Soil, crops & water in Barnala

A flat, double-cropped Malwa district where tubewells carry most irrigation and groundwater is over-exploited. Water decides what a parcel is worth.

🌾 Barnala plain (Barnala, Tapa, Bhadaur, Dhanaula)

The ICAR-CRIDA Barnala plan (reference years 2004-08, so dated) gives sandy loam on 124,500 hectares, 88.2% of the area, wheat on 112,100 hectares and cotton on 13,900 hectares, with a net sown area of 124,500 hectares and a cropping intensity of 200%. CGWB's district booklet lists rice on 1,050 sq km and wheat on 1,150 sq km, with no year given (CGWB). Paddy is a main crop; the two sources differ on rice, so the mix is approximate.

  • Wheat
  • Paddy
  • Cotton
  • Sandy loam

💧 Tubewell and canal water

CGWB's booklet reports normal annual rainfall of 504 mm and irrigation from tube and bore wells on 970 sq km against 270 sq km from canals (CGWB; years not stated). The PPCB district plan counts 38,823 borewells (PPCB).

  • Tubewells
  • Canals
  • 504 mm rainfall
  • Borewells

🌧️ Flood and waterlogging history

We found no sourced figure for flood or waterlogging extent in Barnala. The Rajya Sabha reply on the 2025 floods gives only Punjab-wide figures (MHA, December 2025). Ask neighbours and the village record about low-lying fields and standing water.

  • Flood history
  • Waterlogging
  • Village records

💧 Groundwater

Statewide, CGWB's 2024 assessment gives a stage of extraction of 156.87% with 115 of 153 assessment units over-exploited (CGWB), and PIB reports 156.36% for the 2025 assessment (PIB, December 2025). For Barnala itself the latest block table we opened is the CGWB district booklet, which classes all three blocks as over-exploited at 31 March 2009: Barnala 257%, Sehna 224%, Mehal Kalan 105%, district 197%. That is old data, so ask for the current block category and the borewell depth in the village.

📐 Measurement units

Punjab land units: 1 kanal = 20 marla and 8 kanal = 1 acre (standard Punjab usage; no official conversion table was opened). Convert every quote to acres before comparing two offers.

At a glance

Barnala vs. its neighbours

District / beltCollector-rate newsEvidence
BarnalaNamed among 12 districts with rises of 5–50%; no Barnala figureThe Tribune, Aug 2025
SangrurNamed among the 12; no Sangrur figureSee the Sangrur page
MalerkotlaNamed among the 12; no Malerkotla figureSee the Malerkotla page
Patiala: Rajpura beltRates raised by up to 100% in some areas (2024)The Tribune, Aug 2024; see the Patiala page

Collector-rate news, not market prices; rates and proposals vary by locality. Barnala has no sourced per-acre price. See the Sangrur page for the neighbouring district.

Farmhouse plot with boundary stones near Barnala, Punjab

District report — Barnala

Farmland India view

Why investors look at Barnala

Four points that rest on location and projects, and one honest note: there is no price evidence to test them against.

A corridor that is mostly acquired

The Tribune reported in February 2025 that over 95% of the land for the Ludhiana–Bathinda highway had been handed to NHAI, and in March 2025 that work had begun. No completion date has been published since, so price on what is open today.

Productive double-cropped land

Sandy loam on 88.2% of the area and a cropping intensity of 200% (ICAR-CRIDA, 2004-08 data) describe a productive farm district, though irrigation leans on tubewells in an area where all three blocks were over-exploited in 2009 data.

A small district with fewer buyers

Barnala had 5.95 lakh people in 2011 and we found no sourced price series. That can mean fewer competing buyers, but also fewer comparables and weaker resale liquidity.

Paddy, wheat and some cotton

CGWB lists rice on 1,050 sq km and wheat on 1,150 sq km, and the CRIDA plan lists cotton on 13,900 hectares. A buyer who plans to lease land out should ask local farmers what the land actually grows.

A market that rewards paperwork

With CLU, acquisition, flood and collector-rate questions all parcel-specific, and no price band to lean on, a buyer who documents each question is better placed than one relying on a broker.

Confirm CLU, acquisition, flood and collector-rate status directly; these are not certified by Farmland India’s review.

STRAIGHT TALK

Risks & challenges in Barnala

Read these before shortlisting in Barnala specifically.

No price evidence

We found no sourced price series and no Barnala compensation award. Without comparables a buyer cannot tell a fair ask from an expectation. Collect registered deeds.

Stressed groundwater

CGWB's booklet classed all three Barnala blocks as over-exploited (2009 data), and 115 of 153 assessment units statewide were over-exploited in the 2024 assessment. Check the borewell depth and the current block category.

Highway timeline is open

Work restarted in March 2025 after a stall, but the original August 2025 target has passed and we found no revised date. Price on what is open.

Acquisition and access

Access-controlled expressways limit entry points. A parcel near the road may have no direct access. Ask for the interchange and service-road plan.

CLU and unauthorised colonies

Farmhouse-ready labels do not prove CLU. Ask for the CLU order and for NOC and layout approval on any plot.

Collector rates in motion

Barnala was among 12 districts with rises by August 2025, and a further rise was put on hold. Duty follows the higher of the deal value and the rate, so check the village rate on the day you sign.

Flood and waterlogging history

We found no sourced flood figure for Barnala. Ask for waterlogging history in low-lying villages.

Who to contact

Local revenue, planning & development offices

Mutation and revenue-record matters go through the Tehsildar of Barnala or Tapa, or the Naib Tehsildar of the sub-tehsil (Bhadaur, Dhanaula, Mehal Kalan). CLU and layout approval go through the Punjab planning authority for the area, and sale-deed registration is handled by the local Sub-Registrar. The state's Easy Jamabandi service issues digitally signed jamabandi copies with a QR code and handles online mutation (The Tribune, June 2025). We could not open the Barnala district portal (its robots file blocked our fetch) or any Punjab rate page, so confirm portal addresses and village rates with the office.

COMMON QUESTIONS

Frequently asked questions

Everything buyers, NRIs and investors ask before their first reviewed farmland purchase in Barnala.

Visit full wiki

01 of 04

Can an outsider buy agricultural land in Barnala?

Yes, on the texts we read. The Punjab Land Reforms Act, 1972 sets a holding ceiling (seven hectares of two-crop irrigated land, eleven hectares of one-crop irrigated land, 20.5 hectares of barani land) but we found no residence or non-agriculturist bar. NRIs and OCIs cannot buy agricultural land under the RBI's FEMA Master Direction. We read no amendments, so confirm any exemption with a Punjab revenue lawyer.

Transparency

Sources and references

Law and courts

Government

News

Further reading

Data-currency note: census figures reflect 2011, the latest full Census. Crop figures are from reference years 2004-08 and the CGWB groundwater table is for 2009, so both are dated. Road statuses were read in October 2026 and change quickly. The stamp-duty figures are the last published ones we found; no official current rate schedule opened. Collector rates and policies change by notification. This is a general guide, not legal advice. Report inaccuracies to wiki@farmlandindia.com.

For developers

Ready to explore Barnala farmland?

Browse reviewed projects and individual land parcels across Barnala — or if you own land here, list it with platform review and reach serious buyers.

Farmland India ("the Platform"), operated by Bulk Procure Private Limited, is a digital marketplace for listing agricultural land, farmhouse and plotted development projects. The Platform is not a real estate broker, agent or intermediary under RERA or any other applicable law, and does not act for either party to a transaction.

Listings are submitted by developers, owners and their authorised representatives. Before publication, the Platform carries out a documentary review of the material supplied and records what was sighted. That review is limited to the documents made available to us at that time. It is not a title investigation, not a legal opinion, and not a warranty of title, approvals, or the accuracy of any information supplied by a lister. The Trust Score is an internal assessment produced from that review and is intended as a research aid, not as a guarantee of outcome.

Every buyer must carry out independent due diligence before any transaction — including verification of land records, encumbrance searches, approvals and regulatory compliance — through their own advocate and chartered accountant. Any legal or advisory professional introduced through the Platform is engaged directly by the user, on that professional's own terms; the Platform does not employ, supervise or accept responsibility for their work.

Nothing on the Platform is investment advice. Land values can fall as well as rise. The Platform is not liable for any loss, dispute or damage arising from a transaction between parties.