Farmland India
Aerial view of agricultural land and farm fields near Chamba, Himachal Pradesh

District guide

Buying Land in Chamba

A Ravi-valley hill district under Section 118, with Pangi and Bharmour as Scheduled Areas: tribal-land rules, 70-acre ceiling, maize-wheat-apple farming, flood-hit roads and a strategic road upgrade still on paper.

  • 6,522 sq km

    Area

  • 5.19 lakh

    Population (Census 2011)

  • Pangi and Bharmour

    Scheduled Areas

  • Pathankot, ~120 km

    Nearest rail and airport

*Indicative range across districts and land types. Stamp duty, registration and conversion charges are additional. Local measurement units vary — every listing states the unit it is priced in. Not a valuation or an offer.

Himbhoomi — Himachal Pradesh Land Records Portal

District land record — Chamba

Rev. 2026 · Farmland India desk

State

Himachal Pradesh

Sub-divisions

6 sub-divisions (Chamba, Dalhousie, Tissa, Chowari, Bharmour, Pangi), 7 tehsils (Chamba, Dalhousie, Tissa, Chowari, Bharmour, Pangi, Salooni) and 3 sub-tehsils (Bhalei, Sihunta, Holi) (District Industrial Profile, Chamba; an older list, and the district portal profile page did not open)

Key markets

Chamba town · Dalhousie · Khajjiar · Bharmour · Churah (Tissa) · Pangi

Demand anchors

Hill tourism at Dalhousie and Khajjiar · Manimahesh pilgrimage through Bharmour · NH 154-A and the Chamba–Killar road upgrade (reported, Sept 2026)

Rail and airport

No railway line in the district; Pathankot is the nearest station and airport, about 120 km from Chamba town (Chamba district administration)

Size and population

6,522 sq km · 5,19,080 people, Census 2011 (CGWB booklet, 2013; the industrial profile gives 6,528 sq km)

Pricing unit

Rs per acre or hectare for farmland; no sourced price series

Local units

Area units vary by tehsil; compare offers by the acres or hectares in the revenue record

Land records portal

Himbhoomi, run by NIC (mHimBhoomi, NIC); the portal itself was not opened for this page

District overview

Chamba — a Ravi-valley hill district with two Scheduled Areas

Chamba is a hill district of 6,522 sq km with 5,19,080 people at Census 2011, of whom 93.04% live in rural areas (CGWB booklet, 2013). It has seven community development blocks (Chamba, Mehla, Bharmour, Tissa, Salooni, Pangi, Bhatiyat) and no railway line; Pathankot, about 120 km from Chamba town, is the nearest station and airport (Chamba district administration). The Ravi is the main river, with the Budhil, Siul and Siowa among its tributaries.

We publish no per-acre price band for Chamba. Listing-site asking prices could not be traced to registered deals, and we found no dated collector-rate revision for the district. The Tribune, September 2025 reported that rates in several Himachal districts had not been revised for five years, but gave figures only for Kangra towns. The legal route also depends on where a parcel sits: Section 118 applies everywhere, and Pangi and Bharmour add the Scheduled Area rules.

Chamba is hill farmland first. The ICAR-CRIDA plan records 28.2 thousand ha of maize, 21.3 thousand ha of wheat and 11.5 thousand ha of apple, nearly all of it rainfed (ICAR-CRIDA Chamba plan). The monsoon of 2025 showed the other side: The Tribune, August 2025 reported houses washed away at Haloon on the Ravi and every road into Chamba blocked by landslides.

  • Dalhousie
  • Khajjiar
  • Bharmour
  • Pangi
  • Churah
  • Ravi valley
Locator map of Chamba district in Himachal Pradesh

Transaction costs

Stamp duty & registration in Chamba

12%

Section 118 transfers

ordinance of 18 February 2025, regardless of gender

6–8%

General buyers (reported)

6% to Rs 40 lakh, 8% above; women 4% to Rs 1 crore, 8% above; Sept 2026 bill, effective date not reported

2%

Registration fee

of the higher of market value or consideration, minimum Rs 100 (2012 notification)

For a transfer under a Section 118 permission, duty is 12% of the higher of market value or consideration (ordinance text, Legitquest; UNI, March 2025). The 6% to 8% and 4% to 8% figures come from the Second Amendment Bill passed on 3 September 2026, as reported by ANI, September 2026 and Outlook Money, September 2026; neither report gives an effective date, and the separate undervaluation bill is Bill 4 of 2026 on PRS. The 2% registration fee comes from the Revenue Department notification of 12 January 2012; we found no later table. The state announced in May 2023 that physical stamp paper would be phased out after 31 March 2024 and that e-stamps would be issued through SHCIL (The Tribune, May 2023). These are state-wide rates; we found no district-specific duty for Chamba. The Registration and Stamps offices were not consulted, so check the rate table in force on the date of your deed.

Know the belt

What is moving prices in Chamba

Qualitative signals only: no district price series and no dated collector-rate revision were found. Everything below comes from news reports and district documents.

Collector rates

No Chamba revision found

Collector rates are set by the Collector on the SDM's recommendation. The Tribune, September 2025 reported that in several Himachal districts they had not been revised for five years, that a 7.5% cap on yearly rises had kept them below market, and that senior revenue officials wanted annual revision. It named only Kangra towns, so nothing in it is a Chamba figure.

Check: the tehsil's current rate with the Sub-Registrar.

Dalhousie and Khajjiar

Tourism belt; link road at planning stage

The Public Works minister said in July 2024 that the Dalhousie–Khajjiar link road would be upgraded under the Central Road and Infrastructure Fund and told officials to prepare a detailed project report; the article gives no length or cost (The Tribune, August 2024). The Kalatop Khajjiar sanctuary, 17.17 sq km, lies in the district (Himachal Tourism).

Check: the sanctuary boundary and Section 118 status of any parcel near Khajjiar.

Bharmour and the Manimahesh route

Pilgrim corridor cut by the August 2025 floods

Heavy rain from 23 to 25 August 2025 damaged stretches of NH 154-A, stranded about 15,000 pilgrims at Bharmour and left 15 to 20 major landslides between Bagga and Durgethi uncleared when The Tribune reported on 3 September 2025.

Check: the all-weather road access to a parcel, and whether it falls in the Scheduled Area.

Asking prices

No sourced price series

Listing-site asking prices for Chamba could not be traced to registered deals, so none are used. Past movement is historical, not a projection.

Check: registered sale deeds in the same revenue estate before negotiating.

Area units

Local area units differ by tehsil, and the sources we read do not define them. Convert any quote to acres or hectares using the area in the jamabandi record, and ask the patwari for the share of the khasra being sold. We did not open a revenue manual for local unit definitions.

Connectivity

How Chamba connects — road, rail and air

Delhi and Chandigarh road distances are not given: the district page gives none and no other official source was found. Hill roads close in bad weather.

By road

NH 154-AChakki (Pathankot)–Banikhet–Chamba–Bharmour (The Tribune, July 2021)
Chamba–Killar roadDeclared a strategic project, Sept 2026 (reported, Swarajya)
Baloo–Bagga Dam sectionMP directed completion before Dec 2021; progress not found
August 2025 floodsAll roads into Chamba reported blocked (The Tribune)

By air

Nearest airportPathankot, 120 km from Chamba town (district administration)
Other airportsKangra 172 km · Amritsar 220 km · Chandigarh 400 km
Airport in the districtNone named by the district page

By rail & metro

Nearest stationPathankot, 120 km by road
Chakki BankAlso named as a broad-gauge station (industrial profile)
Railway line in districtNone (industrial profile)
MetroNo metro project found in the sources read

The district page gives 120 km from Chamba town to Pathankot for both rail and air, and lists Chandigarh airport at 400 km. Bus services from Pathankot, Dharamshala, Delhi and Chandigarh are mentioned without timings, so we give no journey times.

Growth catalysts

Upcoming infrastructure & developments

Status labels reflect sources read in October 2026. Government-announced timelines are not guaranteed; items marked reported rest on a single outlet.

00Open or inaugurated

04In progress or pending

Declared strategic · Sept 2026 (reported) Chamba–Killar road
Status to confirm Pathankot–Chamba–Bharmour road (NH 154-A)
Awaiting central approval · Oct 2025 PMGSY phase IV roads
Planning · DPR directed (Aug 2024) Dalhousie–Khajjiar link road
Declared strategic · Sept 2026 (reported)

Chamba–Killar road

Swarajya reported on 23 September 2026 that a defence ministry memorandum dated 13 August 2026 lists the Chamba–Killar road among 11 road projects as a strategic project of national importance, earmarked for upgrading to National Highway double-lane standard, with a greenfield road to be considered along the alignment of the existing road being built up to Killar (Swarajya, September 2026). A Rajya Sabha member said it would help Churah, Pangi and Killar. The report, which credits Hindustan Times, gives no length, cost or timeline.

Source: Swarajya, 23 Sep 2026 (citing Hindustan Times)

Corridor

Chamba → Killar

Status

Declared strategic

Standard

National Highway double lane

Timeline

Not reported

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Chamba
  • Churah
  • Pangi
Status to confirm

Pathankot–Chamba–Bharmour road (NH 154-A)

NH 154-A runs from Chakki near Pathankot through Banikhet and Chamba to Bharmour. In July 2021 the Kangra MP told NHAI to finish the Baloo–Bagga Dam section before December 2021 and to complete the departmental process for a Banikhet bypass (The Tribune, July 2021). The September 2026 Swarajya report says the Pathankot–Chamba–Bharmour road has been brought under NHAI, with a detailed project report (Swarajya, September 2026). We found no progress or completion figure.

Source: The Tribune, 12 Jul 2021; Swarajya, 23 Sep 2026

Route

Pathankot → Bharmour

Highway

NH 154-A

Status

Not confirmed

Latest report

Sep 2026 (reported)

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Chamba
  • Bharmour
  • Dalhousie
Awaiting central approval · Oct 2025

PMGSY phase IV roads

Detailed project reports worth Rs 554 crore to connect 65 habitations in Chamba under PMGSY phase IV were awaiting central approval when the district development committee met, and the Lok Sabha member said approval would come soon (The Tribune, October 2025). The article gives no total length. Rural roads help access to village land but do not by themselves change its legal status.

Source: The Tribune, 26 Oct 2025

Scheme

PMGSY phase IV

Habitations

65

DPR value

Rs 554 crore

Status

Awaiting approval

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Chamba district
Planning · DPR directed (Aug 2024)

Dalhousie–Khajjiar link road

The Public Works minister said the road connecting Dalhousie with Khajjiar would be upgraded with Central Road and Infrastructure Fund money and directed officials to prepare a detailed project report; parking at Dalhousie was planned on a build-operate-transfer basis (The Tribune, August 2024). The article does not say whether the work was approved or started.

Source: The Tribune, 1 Aug 2024

Funding

CRIF (stated)

Stage

DPR directed

Length

Not stated

Latest report

Aug 2024

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Dalhousie
  • Khajjiar

Agriculture & terrain

Soil, crops & water in Chamba

A hill district where maize and wheat are mostly rainfed, apple covers 11.5 thousand ha, springs and kuhls supply the water, and steep Ravi-system slopes slide in heavy monsoons.

🌽 Field crops (valleys and mid hills)

The ICAR-CRIDA plan gives 2006-07 areas of 28.2 thousand ha of maize (27.2 rainfed), 21.3 thousand ha of wheat (17.6 rainfed), 3.1 thousand ha of barley and 2.7 thousand ha of irrigated paddy. Net sown area is 41.9 thousand ha with a cropping intensity of 159.2% (ICAR-CRIDA Chamba plan).

  • Maize
  • Wheat
  • Barley
  • Paddy

🍎 Apple and tree crops

For 2007-08 the plan lists 11.5 thousand ha of apple, all rainfed, 1.4 thousand ha of other temperate fruit, 1.5 thousand ha of walnut and dry fruits and 0.7 thousand ha of citrus (ICAR-CRIDA Chamba plan). The data are old, so ask for current orchard records of any plot.

  • Apple
  • Walnut
  • Citrus

⛰️ Forest, pasture and ice

Of 692.4 thousand ha, the plan puts 272.0 thousand ha under forest and 353.0 thousand ha under permanent pasture, with cultivable land at 45.3 thousand ha. Its soil units include rock outcrops covered with glaciers (55,375.5 ha) and valley glaciers (1,011.7 ha) (ICAR-CRIDA Chamba plan).

  • Forest
  • Pasture
  • Glaciated ground

💧 Water & rainfall

The plan's 1991-2010 normal is 1,012.4 mm a year, 616.86 mm of it in the June to September monsoon (ICAR-CRIDA). The CGWB booklet recorded 1,106 mm in 2012, notes snow in the higher reaches and finds water 10 to 30 m below ground, with springs the main source and discharge of 30 to 2,000 litres per minute; it found no over-exploited blocks, and says no groundwater reservoir of any appreciable size exists in the hill region (CGWB booklet). All 5.2 thousand ha of net irrigated area is fed by kuhls and streams. Test the water source of any parcel before planting.

📐 Land records & area units

Himbhoomi holds the state's jamabandi and shajra nasb records and plot maps for digitised villages (NIC, mHimBhoomi). Local area units vary by tehsil, so compare offers by the area in the revenue record in acres or hectares, not by a quoted local unit. The portal itself was not opened for this page.

At a glance

Chamba vs. its neighbours

District / beltFarm evidence*Land-law status
ChambaMaize 28.2, wheat 21.3 and apple 11.5 thousand ha (CRIDA plan, 2006-08)Section 118 across the district; Pangi and Bharmour also Scheduled Areas
KangraTea with an EU protected GI (EU IP Helpdesk, July 2023)Section 118 permission needed for non-agriculturists
Lahaul and SpitiNo figure used on this pageWhole district is a Scheduled Area (Tribal Development Department)

*Farm statistics from district plans and an EU registration, not prices. See the Kangra page and the Lahaul and Spiti page for the neighbouring districts. Chamba also borders Jammu and Kashmir and Punjab, which this page does not cover.

Farmhouse plot with boundary stones near Chamba, Himachal Pradesh

District report — Chamba

Farmland India view

Why investors look at Chamba

Five reasoned points, with an honest note that price evidence is missing and several road projects are only declared or at planning stage.

A hill-tourism belt with a road upgrade on paper

Dalhousie and Khajjiar draw visitors, and the Dalhousie–Khajjiar link road upgrade has reached the stage of a directed project report (The Tribune, August 2024). A report is not a road, and the Kalatop Khajjiar sanctuary limits what can be built nearby.

Two Scheduled Areas narrow the open market

In Pangi and Bharmour a Scheduled Tribe seller needs State permission to transfer land to an outsider (1968 Act), and Section 118 applies as well. Fewer lawful sales may support values, but no price series shows that.

A highway with a strategic label and uneven delivery

The Chamba–Killar road was declared strategic in 2026 and NH 154-A is reported to be under NHAI (Swarajya, September 2026). Floods in August 2025 still blocked every road into the district (The Tribune).

Orchard and field land, mostly rainfed

Apple covers 11.5 thousand ha and maize 28.2 thousand ha in the CRIDA plan (ICAR-CRIDA). Rainfed farming means yields follow the monsoon, and returns come mainly from location and permitted use.

A market that rewards paperwork

With Section 118, Scheduled Area, forest and flood questions all parcel-specific, a buyer who documents each one is better placed than one relying on a broker summary.

Browse reviewed land in Himachal Pradesh

Confirm Section 118, Scheduled Area, forest and flood status directly; these are not certified by Farmland India's review.

STRAIGHT TALK

Risks & challenges in Chamba

Read these before shortlisting in Chamba specifically.

Section 118 permission and timing

A transfer to a non-agriculturist without permission is invalid (Section 118; LiveLaw, February 2023). The rules give the Collector and State 10 days each, but The Tribune (October 2025) calls the process lengthy and gives no figure. Bill 25 of 2025 is not law, and its outcome is unconfirmed.

Scheduled Area transfers

In Pangi and Bharmour a transfer by a Scheduled Tribe member without State permission is void and can lead to a notice to vacate (1968 Act). The notified village list was not opened, so ask the Deputy Commissioner.

Floods and landslides

In August 2025 houses at Haloon were washed away, Dalhousie reported six cloudbursts in a day and Bharmour lost mobile networks for two days (The Tribune, August 2025). The state disaster authority's cumulative toll for 20 June to 10 September 2025 was 380 deaths (Punjab Kesari, September 2025). Assess drainage and slope before any construction plan.

Road access and closures

15 to 20 major landslides between Bagga and Durgethi were still to be cleared in early September 2025 (The Tribune). Check all-weather access and the nearest motorable point of the parcel.

Forest and sanctuary overlap

The Kalatop Khajjiar sanctuary covers 17.17 sq km (Himachal Tourism) and forest and pasture make up most of the district in the CRIDA land-use table. Ask the Divisional Forest Officer for the status of each khasra.

Announced is not delivered

The Chamba–Killar upgrade has no stated length, cost or timeline, and the PMGSY reports were still awaiting approval in October 2025 (The Tribune). Do not price a parcel on a corridor that is only declared.

No sourced price series

We use no listing-site prices for Chamba, and no dated collector-rate revision was found. A seller's quoted rate has no public benchmark here.

Who to contact

Local revenue, planning & forest offices

Section 118 applications go to the Deputy Commissioner of Chamba, the Collector, on Form LRXIV (Rule 38A), and the State Government decides. Mutation and revenue-record matters go through the Tehsildar of the relevant tehsil (Chamba, Dalhousie, Tissa, Chowari, Bharmour, Pangi, Salooni) or the revenue officer of a sub-tehsil, as listed in the District Industrial Profile. In Pangi and Bharmour, transfers by Scheduled Tribe members are processed through the Deputy Commissioner under section 4 of the 1968 Act. The Divisional Forest Officer confirms forest status. Sale deeds are registered by the local Sub-Registrar, and records are on Himbhoomi (NIC). The state's Section 118, Himbhoomi and registration portals could not be opened for this page, so they are not linked. Ask the Deputy Commissioner's office for the current application route.

COMMON QUESTIONS

Frequently asked questions

Everything buyers, NRIs and investors ask before their first reviewed farmland purchase in Chamba.

Visit full wiki

01 of 04

Can outsiders buy land in Chamba?

Only with prior State Government permission under Section 118 of the Himachal Pradesh Tenancy and Land Reforms Act, 1972, unless the buyer is an agriculturist in the state. The application goes to the Deputy Commissioner on Form LRXIV, and the Supreme Court held in Ajay Dabra v. Pyare Ram (January 2023) that land cannot pass to a non-agriculturist without it. Bill 25 of 2025 would amend the section but went to a select committee in December 2025, and we found no report that it has passed.

Ready to look at what is available?

Browse reviewed listings

Transparency

Sources and references

Where a claim is marked as reported, the outlet named in the link is the only source we reached for it. The state's Section 118, Himbhoomi and registration portals could not be opened for this page, so they are not linked. The Chamba district portal's profile pages were blocked to our fetch, so tehsil names come from an older industrial profile.

Law and courts

Government

News

Further reading

Data-currency note: farm statistics come from district plans of 2013, groundwater from a 2013 booklet, population from Census 2011; the tehsil list is older than the latest administrative changes. Infrastructure statuses were read in October 2026 and change quickly. This is a general guide, not legal advice. Report inaccuracies to wiki@farmlandindia.com.

For developers

Ready to explore Chamba farmland?

Browse reviewed projects and individual land parcels across Chamba — or if you own land here, list it with platform review and reach serious buyers.

Farmland India ("the Platform"), operated by Bulk Procure Private Limited, is a digital marketplace for listing agricultural land, farmhouse and plotted development projects. The Platform is not a real estate broker, agent or intermediary under RERA or any other applicable law, and does not act for either party to a transaction.

Listings are submitted by developers, owners and their authorised representatives. Before publication, the Platform carries out a documentary review of the material supplied and records what was sighted. That review is limited to the documents made available to us at that time. It is not a title investigation, not a legal opinion, and not a warranty of title, approvals, or the accuracy of any information supplied by a lister. The Trust Score is an internal assessment produced from that review and is intended as a research aid, not as a guarantee of outcome.

Every buyer must carry out independent due diligence before any transaction — including verification of land records, encumbrance searches, approvals and regulatory compliance — through their own advocate and chartered accountant. Any legal or advisory professional introduced through the Platform is engaged directly by the user, on that professional's own terms; the Platform does not employ, supervise or accept responsibility for their work.

Nothing on the Platform is investment advice. Land values can fall as well as rise. The Platform is not liable for any loss, dispute or damage arising from a transaction between parties.