Farmland India
Aerial view of agricultural land and farm fields near Solan, Himachal Pradesh

District guide

Buying Land in Solan

A lower-hill district between Chandigarh and Shimla: the Baddi-Barotiwala-Nalagarh industrial belt, three cantonments, slide-prone highways and Section 118 checks before any advance.

  • 1,936 sq km

    Area

  • 5.80 lakh

    Population (Census 2011)

  • 52%, safe

    Nalagarh valley groundwater (2011)

  • ₹1,540 crore sanctioned

    Chandigarh–Baddi rail

*Indicative range across districts and land types. Stamp duty, registration and conversion charges are additional. Local measurement units vary — every listing states the unit it is priced in. Not a valuation or an offer.

Himbhoomi — Himachal Pradesh Land Records Portal

District land record — Solan

Rev. 2026 · Farmland India desk

State

Himachal Pradesh

Sub-divisions

4 sub-divisions and 6 tehsils (Solan, Kandaghat, Kasauli, Nalagarh, Arki, Baddi) with 3 sub-tehsils (Krishangarh, Darlaghat, Ramshahar) in the district industrial profile; the CGWB booklet of 2013 counts 6 tehsils and 2 sub-tehsils (CGWB). Ask the Deputy Commissioner's office for the notified list.

Key markets

Baddi · Barotiwala · Nalagarh · Solan · Kandaghat · Kasauli · Arki

Demand anchors

Baddi-Barotiwala-Nalagarh industrial belt (The Tribune, April 2023) · Kalka–Shimla highway and heritage railway through the district (Solan district portal) · Chandigarh–Baddi rail line under construction

Rail and airport

Kalka–Shimla narrow-gauge railway passes through Solan (district portal). No airport in the district in the sources read. Nalagarh is about 60 km from Chandigarh by road (district town page)

Size and population

1,936 sq km, 3.49% of the state (district industrial profile) · 5,80,320 people at the 2011 Census (Solan district portal)

Pricing unit

₹ per sq m or per acre where a figure is quoted; no sourced price series. Take the area from the revenue record

Local units

Vary by village and revenue estate; we opened no source that defines them. Convert any quote to acres or square metres

Land records portal

Himbhoomi, the state record system (NIC mHimBhoomi page); the portal itself was not opened for this page

District overview

Solan — Himachal's industrial gateway, with hill land above it

Solan is a lower-hill district of 1,936 sq km and 5,80,320 people, between Chandigarh and Shimla on the Kalka–Shimla national highway (Solan district portal). The district town sits about 46 km south of Shimla, and the district portal says the heritage narrow-gauge railway also passes through it. The cantonments of Kasauli, Dagshai and Subathu are separate from the municipal areas (district town page). The 2011 Census put 82.4% of the population in rural areas (CGWB booklet).

The south-west corner is where most of the industry is. The Baddi industrial area has 179 plots, all allotted, with 119 units in production, and Barotiwala 47 plots with 26 units (district industrial profile). The Tribune reported that the Baddi-Barotiwala-Nalagarh belt holds more than 90% of Himachal's industry (The Tribune, April 2023); that is a newspaper figure, not a statistic we could trace to a government table. Nalagarh is about 60 km from Chandigarh (district town page).

We found no price series for Solan. What exists is official: the district portal lists circle-rate notifications for 2026-27 for the Solan, Arki and Kunihar tehsils and an office order on the Baddi tehsil, all dated 01/04/2026 on the page (Solan district portal). We did not open the files, so we quote no rate. The Tribune reported in September 2025 that circle rates in several Himachal districts had not been revised for about five years (The Tribune, September 2025), which makes a district with a fresh 2026-27 notification worth checking directly.

Most of the district is steep. The CGWB booklet says hilly areas cover about 90% of Solan, with springs the main water source, while the Nalagarh valley holds the alluvial aquifer (CGWB booklet). On 1 September 2025 Solan recorded 178.0 mm of rain in a day, a record for the cloudbursts that year (The Tribune, September 2025).

  • Baddi
  • Nalagarh
  • Solan
  • Kasauli
  • Kandaghat
  • Arki
Locator map of Solan district in Himachal Pradesh

Transaction costs

Stamp duty & registration in Solan

6–8%

General buyers (reported)

6% to ₹40 lakh, 8% above; women 4% to ₹1 crore, 8% above; Sept 2026 bill

12%

Section 118 transfers

ordinance of 18 February 2025, regardless of gender

2%

Registration fee

of the higher of market value or consideration, minimum ₹100 (2012 notification)

For a transfer under a Section 118 permission, duty is 12% of the higher of market value or consideration (ordinance text, Legitquest; UNI, March 2025). The 6% to 8% and 4% to 8% figures come from the Second Amendment Bill passed on 3 September 2026, as reported by ANI, September 2026 and Outlook Money, September 2026; neither report gives an effective date. The 2% registration fee comes from the Revenue Department notification of 12 January 2012; we found no later table. The state announced in May 2023 that physical stamp paper would be phased out after 31 March 2024 and replaced by e-stamps (The Tribune, May 2023). The Registration and Stamps offices were not consulted for this page, so check the rate table in force on the date of your deed. For Solan we found no district-specific duty rate; the duty applies to the higher of price or the circle rate in force, and the Solan portal lists 2026-27 circle-rate files (Solan district portal).

Know the belt

What is moving prices in Solan

Official references only. No listing-site prices are used, and the 2026-27 circle-rate files are listed on the district portal but were not read.

Baddi, Barotiwala, Nalagarh

No sourced price series

The industrial estates are fully allotted at Baddi and Barotiwala (district industrial profile), so resale and lease of built plots is a separate market from farm land. Two further estates, Bhangla and Nanuwal, were being readied in 2023 (The Tribune, April 2023). We found no figures for either.

Check: whether a plot sits inside an estate, with its lease terms, or outside one under Section 118.

Solan town, Kandaghat, Arki

No sourced price series

The 2026-27 circle-rate notifications for the Solan, Arki and Kunihar tehsils are listed on the district portal (Solan district portal). The page gives a date of 01/04/2026 and no rate in its text, and we did not open the PDFs.

Check: the rate in force for the revenue estate on the date of the deed.

Kasauli and the cantonments

No sourced price series

Building rights near the cantonments follow the board and the Ministry of Defence, not only the state. The Kasauli draft bye-laws of September 2026 cap heights at 5 m beside military installations and 13.45 m elsewhere (TeamLease RegTech, September 2026).

Check: the final bye-laws and whether the parcel is inside the cantonment or the civil area.

Asking prices

No sourced price series

Listing-site asking prices for Solan could not be traced to registered deals, so none are shown. Circle rates are a registration floor, not what a seller will accept.

Check: registered sale deeds in the same revenue estate before negotiating.

Units and area

Local land units in Solan vary by village, and we opened no revenue manual that defines them. Himachal records give area in the jamabandi; convert every quote to acres or square metres before comparing two offers, and check the share of the khata being sold.

Connectivity

How Solan connects — road, rail and air

Distances are from the Solan district pages; we found no sourced distance from Baddi to Delhi. Road works and monsoon closures change journey times.

By road

Kalka–Shimla highway (NH-5)Through Parwanoo, Solan and Kandaghat
Parwanoo–Solan, 39 kmFour-lane since April 2021
Solan–Kaithlighat, 22.91 kmFour-laning still unfinished at last report
Pinjore–Baddi–Nalagarh, 36 km₹598 crore cleared Apr 2026; stalled since 2025
Solan to ShimlaAbout 46 km

By air

Airport in the districtNone found in the sources read
Nalagarh to ChandigarhAbout 60 km by road
Flight schedulesNot checked for this page

By rail

Kalka–Shimla heritage railwayPasses through Solan; UNESCO World Heritage (2008)
Chandigarh–Baddi new line33 km, ₹1,540 crore sanctioned; viaduct 75% done (Mar 2026)
Baddi–Ghanauli line25 km; survey and DPR done (Mar 2026)

The practical question is the last leg from the highway to the parcel, so ask for the access road in the revenue record. On 2 September 2025 the Tribune counted 111 road closures in the district, including Barotiwala-Subathu-Kunihar and Parwanoo-Kasauli (The Tribune, September 2025). Section 118 rules for outside buyers: Himachal Section 118 explainer.

Growth catalysts

Upcoming infrastructure & developments

Status labels reflect sources read in October 2026. Government timelines are not guaranteed, and items marked pending have a single or an older source.

02Open or operating

06In progress or pending

Under construction · viaduct 75% (Mar 2026) Chandigarh–Baddi new rail line
Stalled · ₹598 crore cleared (Apr 2026) Pinjore–Baddi–Nalagarh four-lane
Delayed · last report Dec 2024 Solan–Kaithlighat four-lane
Proposed · survey and DPR done (Mar 2026) Baddi–Ghanauli rail line
Reported · estates being readied (Apr 2023) Bhangla and Nanuwal industrial estates
Draft · objections to 14 Oct 2026 Kasauli cantonment building bye-laws
Operating · four-lane since Apr 2021 Parwanoo–Solan four-lane (NH-5)
Operating · World Heritage since 2008 Kalka–Shimla railway
Under construction · viaduct 75% (Mar 2026)

Chandigarh–Baddi new rail line

A 33 km new line, with work on 30 km, sanctioned at ₹1,540 crore and shared 50:50 with Himachal. The Railway Ministry told the Rajya Sabha that ₹1,068.88 crore had been spent up to February 2026, land and forest clearance were complete and the viaduct was 75% complete, and that progress was affected by the state share: of ₹534 crore due, ₹348 crore had been deposited (PIB, March 2026). ETV Bharat put the land still to be acquired in Baddi at 33 hectares in January 2026, which conflicts with the PIB statement that land is complete (ETV Bharat, January 2026). Treat the PIB release as the higher source and confirm with the railway.

Source: PIB, 13 Mar 2026; ETV Bharat, 31 Jan 2026

Length

33 km

Sanctioned

₹1,540 crore

Spent (Feb 2026)

₹1,068.88 crore

Status

Viaduct 75% done

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Baddi
  • Nalagarh
  • Barotiwala
Stalled · ₹598 crore cleared (Apr 2026)

Pinjore–Baddi–Nalagarh four-lane

A 36 km stretch, 17.37 km of it in Himachal, begun in April 2022 with a September 2024 target. The original contractor withdrew in June 2025 after about 45% of the work, citing land acquisition delays and the need to shift high-tension lines and gas pipelines. The Tribune reported on 28 April 2026 that NHAI had cleared ₹598 crore for the balance at its 17 April meeting, subject to final approval from the Union Minister, with fresh bids due and an award expected in about three months (The Tribune, April 2026). Construction had not resumed. Confirm with NHAI before pricing a parcel on it.

Source: The Tribune, 28 Apr 2026

Length

36 km (17.37 km in HP)

Cleared

₹598 crore

Built before halt

About 45%

Status

Re-tender pending

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Baddi
  • Nalagarh
  • Barotiwala
Delayed · last report Dec 2024

Solan–Kaithlighat four-lane

A 22.91 km section of the Kalka–Shimla highway given to a contractor in December 2018 with a June 2022 deadline (The Tribune, May 2024). The 600 m Chambaghat flyover, with 19 piers and described as the longest on the highway, passed a trial run in August 2024 but its opening was on hold pending railway inspection of the piers (The Tribune, August 2024). The Kandaghat tunnel, 667 m after 207 m was added at an extra ₹54.84 crore, had both ends meet on 24 December 2024, with a few months of work left on the added length (The Tribune, December 2024). We found no later report, so the opening dates are unknown.

Source: The Tribune, 24 May 2024, 30 Aug 2024 and 24 Dec 2024

Length

22.91 km

Tunnel

667 m, Kandaghat

Flyover

600 m, Chambaghat

Deadline

Jun 2022, missed

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Solan
  • Kandaghat
Proposed · survey and DPR done (Mar 2026)

Baddi–Ghanauli rail line

The Railway Ministry listed a 25 km Baddi–Ghanauli new line in its March 2026 Rajya Sabha reply with the survey complete and the detailed project report prepared; no cost or sanction was stated (PIB, March 2026). It is a proposal, not a funded project.

Source: PIB, 13 Mar 2026

Length

25 km

Survey

Complete

DPR

Prepared

Cost

Not stated

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Baddi
  • Nalagarh
Reported · estates being readied (Apr 2023)

Bhangla and Nanuwal industrial estates

The Tribune reported on 2 April 2023 that two more estates were being developed in the Baddi-Barotiwala-Nalagarh belt, with land transferred to the Industries Department and plots to be leased by demand, so investors would avoid Section 118 permission (The Tribune, April 2023). It gave no investment figure or opening date, and we found no later report.

Source: The Tribune, 2 Apr 2023

Estates

Bhangla, Nanuwal

Route

Lease from Industries Dept

Opening date

Not stated

Later report

None found

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Baddi
  • Nalagarh
Draft · objections to 14 Oct 2026

Kasauli cantonment building bye-laws

The Ministry of Defence issued the Draft Kasauli Cantonment Building Bye-Laws, 2026 on 14 September 2026: online registration through an architect, a 5 m height cap beside military installations, 13.45 m elsewhere, and a floor-space index of 0.50 outside the notified civil area (TeamLease RegTech, September 2026). Objections were invited until 14 October 2026. The final bye-laws were not found.

Source: TeamLease RegTech, 15 Sep 2026

Issued

14 Sep 2026

Height cap

5 m / 13.45 m

FSI outside civil area

0.50

Status

Draft

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Kasauli
Operating · four-lane since Apr 2021

Parwanoo–Solan four-lane (NH-5)

The 39 km Parwanoo–Solan stretch was widened to four lanes in April 2021, but The Tribune reported in February 2025 that slopes had been cut vertically by 20 to 30 m with only 1.5 to 3 m stabilised, and slope-protection work was under way at 42 critical locations, about 16% complete at the time (The Tribune, February 2025). The road is open; the risk is slides, not access.

Source: The Tribune, 15 Feb 2025

Length

39 km

Four-lane since

Apr 2021

Critical slide sites

42

Slope work (Feb 2025)

About 16% done

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Parwanoo
  • Solan
Operating · World Heritage since 2008

Kalka–Shimla railway

The narrow-gauge Kalka–Shimla railway passes through Solan district (Solan district portal) and was inscribed by UNESCO in 2008 as an extension of the Mountain Railways of India (UNESCO decision 32 COM 8B.28). It is a heritage service, and its track crosses the highway works at Chambaghat, which needed central clearance and railway inspection (The Tribune, August 2024).

Source: Solan district portal; UNESCO, 2008; The Tribune, 2 Aug 2024

Gauge

Narrow

Inscribed

2008

Role

Heritage service

Link to works

Chambaghat flyover

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Solan
  • Kandaghat

Agriculture & terrain

Soil, crops & water in Solan

A lower-hill district with an alluvial industrial valley, vegetable-led hill farms and a record-rain monsoon in 2025.

🌾 Nalagarh valley and the Doon, Saproon and Kunihar valleys

The profile calls the Doon, Saproon and Kunihar valleys fertile (district industrial profile). The Nalagarh valley is the one alluvial aquifer, with tubewell yields of 10 to 30 litres a second at 65 to 120 m, against 1 to 5 in the hill rock that covers about 90% of the district; CGWB put development at 52% in 2011, categorised safe, and warned of pollution risk in the industrial belt (CGWB booklet, 2013, assessment of 2011).

  • Nalagarh valley
  • Doon
  • Kunihar
  • Wheat

⛰️ Hill blocks (Solan, Kandaghat, Arki)

ICAR-CRIDA records maize on 21.7 thousand hectares and wheat on 23.8 thousand, mostly rainfed, in 2005, and tomato as the largest vegetable at 3.80 thousand hectares, with green peas, capsicum and beans (2005-06 data); apple covers only 0.10 thousand hectares (ICAR-CRIDA Solan plan). The climate suits temperate fruit (district industrial profile).

  • Tomato
  • Peas
  • Maize
  • Wheat

🌊 Rain, slope and seismic zone

Normal annual rainfall is 1,142.6 mm in the CRIDA plan and 1,140.9 mm in the CGWB booklet, about 85% of it from June to September. In 2025 Solan received 1,094.5 mm by 5 September, with cloudbursts on 29 June, 14 August and a record 178.0 mm on 1 September (The Tribune, September 2025). A December 2023 report places Solan in seismic Zone IV (The Tribune, December 2023).

  • Monsoon
  • Cloudburst
  • Landslide
  • Zone IV

💧 Water, irrigation and land use

CRIDA puts net sown area at 38.3 thousand hectares, cropping intensity at 167.1% and net irrigated area at 10.5 thousand hectares; the CGWB booklet gives 12,615 hectares irrigated in 2008-09 and 52% groundwater development in the Nalagarh valley (ICAR-CRIDA; CGWB). The two irrigated-area figures differ in year and basis. Valley water level fell in much of the Nalagarh valley over the long term, so check the borewell record for the parcel.

📐 Measurement units

Local units vary by village in Solan and we opened no revenue manual that defines them. The state record is the jamabandi on Himbhoomi (NIC mHimBhoomi page); convert every quote to acres or square metres from it. We did not open the market-price portal for this page; price a parcel on location, access and permitted use, not on crop yield.

At a glance

Solan vs. its neighbours

District / beltPrice band* (per acre)Evidence
Solan — Baddi, Barotiwala, NalagarhNo sourced price seriesIndustrial estates allotted; no rate series found
Solan — Solan, Kandaghat, ArkiNo sourced price series2026-27 circle-rate files listed on the district portal; rates not read
SirmaurNo sourced price seriesPortal circle-rate files dated 2018-19; rates not read
ShimlaNo sourced price seriesSee the Shimla page for its own evidence

*Circle rates are registration floors, not market prices. See the Sirmaur page for the other south-eastern district and the Shimla page for the capital district above Solan.

Farmhouse plot with boundary stones near Solan, Himachal Pradesh

District report — Solan

Farmland India view

Why investors look at Solan

Five reasoned points, with an honest note that price evidence is thin and several catalysts are still pending.

The industrial belt next to Chandigarh

Baddi and Barotiwala estates are fully allotted (district industrial profile), and a newspaper reports the belt holds over 90% of the state's industry (The Tribune, April 2023). Industrial land is a separate transaction from farm land.

A highway and a heritage railway through the middle

The Kalka–Shimla highway and railway pass through the district (Solan district portal). Parwanoo–Solan has been four-lane since 2021, but slide-prone slopes are the price of that road.

Rail finally taking shape

The Chandigarh–Baddi line has its land and forest clearance and a 75% complete viaduct (PIB, March 2026), though the state share was in arrears. That is progress, not an opening date.

A fresh circle-rate notification

The district portal lists 2026-27 circle-rate files, which most districts do not show (Solan district portal). We did not read the rates, so this is a reason to check, not a price signal.

A market that rewards paperwork

With Section 118, cantonment, slope and estate-versus-farm questions all parcel-specific, a buyer who documents each one is better placed than one relying on a broker summary. The return case is location and permitted use, not crop yield.

Browse reviewed land in Solan

Confirm Section 118 status, cantonment limits and slope stability directly; these are not certified by Farmland India’s review.

STRAIGHT TALK

Risks & challenges in Solan

Read these before shortlisting in Solan specifically.

Section 118 permission

A statewide requirement. The Tribune reported several NOCs per application and some cases going to Cabinet (October 2025); we found no sourced processing time.

Cantonment limits

Kasauli, Dagshai and Subathu are cantonments, and the Kasauli draft bye-laws set a 5 m height cap beside military installations (TeamLease RegTech, September 2026). Land near them needs the board's view as well as the revenue record.

Highway landslides

Slope-protection work was under way at 42 critical sites on Parwanoo–Solan and 28 on Solan–Kaithlighat in February 2025 (The Tribune, February 2025). Check slope cuts above and below any roadside parcel.

Monsoon 2025

Solan took a record 178.0 mm on 1 September 2025 (The Tribune), and the Tribune counted 111 road closures and 899 transformers out the next day (The Tribune).

Industrial pollution and groundwater

CGWB flags pollution risk from effluent in the Baddi-Nalagarh industrial belt and a long-term water-level fall in much of the valley (CGWB booklet). The data are from 2011 to 2013; check the current category.

Announced is not delivered

The Pinjore–Baddi–Nalagarh highway stalled in 2025 and the Solan–Kaithlighat four-lane missed a June 2022 deadline (The Tribune, April 2026; The Tribune, May 2024). Price on today's roads.

No sourced price series

The 2026-27 circle-rate files were not read, and statewide revisions were reported stalled in 2025 (The Tribune). Collect registered comparables before negotiating.

Who to contact

Local revenue, planning & forest offices

Section 118 applications go to the Deputy Commissioner at Solan as Collector, on Form LRXIV (Rule 38A; Vinod Gupta, 2023), and the State Government decides. Mutation and record matters go to the Tehsildar or Naib Tehsildar of the tehsil, with the patwari keeping the village record (Land Revenue Act). Sale deeds are registered by the local Sub-Registrar. Cantonment land and building matters go to the Kasauli, Dagshai or Subathu cantonment board (Solan district page), and forest questions to the Forest Department. The Solan district portal carries notices and circle-rate files. We could not open the Section 118 portal, Himbhoomi or the registration portal, so we do not link them; ask the Deputy Commissioner's office for the current application route.

DEVELOPER PROJECTS · TRUST SCORE

Reviewed projects in Solan

Developer projects carry the platform Trust Score and a reviewed document set.

Reviewed projects have completed Farmland India's document and site review. Individual land parcels are listed by their owners and are not reviewed to the same standard. Always complete your own legal due diligence.

COMMON QUESTIONS

Frequently asked questions

Everything buyers, NRIs and investors ask before their first reviewed farmland purchase in Solan.

Visit full wiki

01 of 04

Can outsiders buy agricultural land in Solan?

Only with prior State Government permission under Section 118 of the Himachal Pradesh Tenancy and Land Reforms Act, 1972, unless the buyer is an agriculturist, meaning a person who cultivates land personally in the state. The application goes to the Collector, who is the Deputy Commissioner at Solan, on Form LRXIV, and the Supreme Court held in Ajay Dabra v. Pyare Ram (January 2023) that a transfer without prior permission cannot stand. Duty on a permitted transfer is 12% under the ordinance of 18 February 2025. Industrial estates in the Baddi-Barotiwala-Nalagarh belt are a separate route, since The Tribune reported in April 2023 that ready industrial land spares investors the permission process.

Ready to look at what is available?

Browse reviewed listings

Transparency

Sources and references

Law and courts

Government

News

Further reading

Data-currency note: population follows the 2011 Census; the CRIDA plan and groundwater assessment date from 2005 to 2013; infrastructure statuses were read in October 2026 and change quickly; the Solan-Kaithlighat reports run to December 2024 and no later report was found. The 2026-27 circle-rate files were listed but not read, and the Section 118, Himbhoomi and registration portals were not opened. This is a general guide, not legal advice. Report inaccuracies to wiki@farmlandindia.com.

For developers

Ready to explore Solan farmland?

Browse reviewed projects and individual land parcels across Solan — or if you own land here, list it with platform review and reach serious buyers.

Farmland India ("the Platform"), operated by Bulk Procure Private Limited, is a digital marketplace for listing agricultural land, farmhouse and plotted development projects. The Platform is not a real estate broker, agent or intermediary under RERA or any other applicable law, and does not act for either party to a transaction.

Listings are submitted by developers, owners and their authorised representatives. Before publication, the Platform carries out a documentary review of the material supplied and records what was sighted. That review is limited to the documents made available to us at that time. It is not a title investigation, not a legal opinion, and not a warranty of title, approvals, or the accuracy of any information supplied by a lister. The Trust Score is an internal assessment produced from that review and is intended as a research aid, not as a guarantee of outcome.

Every buyer must carry out independent due diligence before any transaction — including verification of land records, encumbrance searches, approvals and regulatory compliance — through their own advocate and chartered accountant. Any legal or advisory professional introduced through the Platform is engaged directly by the user, on that professional's own terms; the Platform does not employ, supervise or accept responsibility for their work.

Nothing on the Platform is investment advice. Land values can fall as well as rise. The Platform is not liable for any loss, dispute or damage arising from a transaction between parties.