Farmland India
Aerial view of cotton and orange fields near Amravati, Maharashtra, with the Satpura foothills in the distance

District guide

Buying Land in Amravati

A Vidarbha district of cotton, pulses and oranges: three Samruddhi interchanges, a reported 1,020-acre textile park, Melghat forest rules, and an estimated land price* that varies widely by belt.

  • about 12,212 sq km

    Area (GSDA portal)

  • 28.9 lakh

    Population (Census 2011)

  • ₹2–50 lakh per acre

    Estimated land price*

  • 1,020 acres, reported

    PM MITRA textile park

*Indicative range across districts and land types. Stamp duty, registration and conversion charges are additional. Local measurement units vary — every listing states the unit it is priced in. Not a valuation or an offer.

District land record — Amravati

Rev. 2026 · Farmland India desk

State

Maharashtra (Vidarbha region, Amravati division)

Sub-divisions

14 tehsils: Amravati, Bhatkuli, Nandgaon Khandeshwar, Dharni, Chikhaldara, Achalpur, Chandur Bazar, Morshi, Warud, Teosa, Daryapur, Anjangaon Surji, Chandur Railway and Dhamangaon Railway (GSDA Amravati overview; CGWB Amravati booklet, 2013). The CGWB introduction says 13 talukas while its own list has 14, and the current official list was not opened

Key markets

Amravati city fringe · Nandgaon Khandeshwar (textile park) · Samruddhi interchange belt (Dhamangaon Railway, Teosa) · Achalpur and Chandur Bazar orange belt · Melghat fringe

Demand anchors

PM MITRA textile park at Nandgaon Peth (1,020 acres, reported) · Samruddhi Mahamarg interchanges · Amravati (Belora) airport licence (March 2025)

Rail

195 km of rail line in 2010-11 on four lines including Badnera–Amravati and Murtijapur–Achalpur (MSME-DI Amravati profile); the current station and train list was not opened

Size and population

About 12,212 sq km, roughly 3.97% of Maharashtra (GSDA Amravati overview); 28,87,826 people in Census 2011 (CGWB Amravati booklet, 2013)

Estimated land price*

₹2–50 lakh per acre depending on the belt (indicative; see the note under the price table)

Pricing unit

₹/acre or ₹/hectare (farm land) · ₹ per guntha is also quoted locally

Local units

Records use hectares; sellers quote acres and gunthas (1 guntha is about 1,089 sq ft; 40 gunthas to an acre). Other local terms vary by tehsil, so convert any quote to acres

Land records portal

Digital 7/12 and 8A extracts on the state land-records portal; the portal was not opened for this page, so check records there

District overview

Amravati — a Vidarbha cotton, orange and pulse district with a textile park and a Samruddhi corridor

Amravati district covers about 12,212 sq km and had 28,87,826 people in the 2011 Census; it borders Madhya Pradesh to the north and west and Akola, Yavatmal, Wardha and Nagpur on the other sides (GSDA Amravati overview; CGWB Amravati booklet, 2013). Roughly 75% of the land is Deccan Trap basalt and the rest is Purna alluvium, with the Satpuda hills of Melghat in the north (GSDA Amravati overview). The district had 195 km of rail line and 57 km of national highway in 2010-11 (MSME-DI Amravati profile).

We found no registered-deed series for farm land. The Ready Reckoner rose 3.89% on average across Maharashtra in 2025-26 and was held for 2026-27 (IANS, April 2026), with no Amravati figure in the report. The bands on this page, from about ₹2 lakh to ₹50 lakh per acre*, are wide and indicative: the interchange and city-fringe belts sit at the top and the Melghat fringe at the bottom.

The Samruddhi Mahamarg runs through Amravati, with interchanges named at Dhamangaon, Gavner and Talegaon in a June 2025 report (MyPunePulse, June 2025), and a PM MITRA textile park of 1,020 acres is reported at Nandgaon Peth (Maritime Gateway, undated).

  • Nandgaon Khandeshwar
  • Achalpur
  • Morshi
  • Warud
  • Chikhaldara
  • Samruddhi Mahamarg
Locator map of Amravati district in Maharashtra showing Amravati, Achalpur, Morshi, Warud and Chikhaldara

Transaction costs

Stamp duty & registration in Amravati

5% + 1%

Corporation and council areas

of market value; a further 1% levy from 8 Feb 2019 in notified areas (Act text to May 2019)

4%

Gram panchayat and other areas

of market value in the same Act text; current schedule not opened

1%

Registration fee

capped at Rs 30,000 per the Act text and a May 2025 report

Our reading of Article 25 of the Maharashtra Stamp Act, 1958, as reproduced to May 2019, is 5% plus 1% in municipal corporation and council areas (with a further 1% levy from 8 February 2019 in notified areas) and 4% elsewhere, with a registration fee of 1% capped at Rs 30,000 (Act text to May 2019; Free Press Journal, May 2025). The grantee bears the duty unless the parties agree otherwise, and an understated value draws the shortfall plus a penalty of 2% a month, capped at four times the deficit (Maharashtra Stamp Act PDF, IGR). The IGR home page and Citizen’s Charter we opened give no rate table (IGR Maharashtra), so the current schedule is unconfirmed and the rate for a survey number in Amravati can differ; read it from the Sub-Registrar before budgeting. The May 2025 cabinet waived the registration fee on partition documents, not on sale deeds, and a May 2026 report of an exemption on land purchases did not say which purchases it covers (Nation Press, May 2026; CONFIRM). The state Ready Reckoner rose 3.89% on average in 2025-26 (rural 3.36%) and was held unchanged for 2026-27 (IANS, April 2026; The Hitavada, April 2026); we found no district-level Amravati rate series.

Know the belt

What is moving prices in Amravati

Corridor news and wide indicative price bands marked *. No registered-deed series and no Amravati Ready Reckoner figure were found.

City fringe and Samruddhi interchange belt

Estimated land price*: ₹15–50 lakh per acre

The Samruddhi Mahamarg opened fully on 5 June 2025 and a June 2025 report lists interchanges at Dhamangaon, Gavner and Talegaon in Amravati (MyPunePulse, June 2025). In August 2026 MSRDC was reported to be seeking development models for the land near its 25 interchanges, after an earlier attempt to sell such sites failed on price (The Hitavada, August 2026). The band is wide and rounded and is not a deal price.

Check: whether the survey number sits on the alignment, an interchange or an MSRDC planning area.

Nandgaon Khandeshwar and the textile park

Estimated land price*: ₹10–35 lakh per acre

A 1,020-acre PM MITRA park is reported at Nandgaon Peth beside the Additional Amravati MIDC area, about 30 km from the Samruddhi Mahamarg, with an expected Rs 10,000 crore investment and about 3,00,000 jobs (Apparel Resources, undated). The reports give no construction dates. The band is a wide, indicative range.

Check: whether the land is inside MIDC acquisition, and the access road in the record.

Purna plains and orange belt: Achalpur, Chandur Bazar, Morshi, Warud, Daryapur

Estimated land price*: ₹6–25 lakh per acre

Black-soil cotton and pulse land, with orange orchards in the north-east irrigated heavily enough to cause groundwater imbalance, and saline pockets in Daryapur, Bhatkuli, Anjangaon and Chandur Bazar (GSDA Amravati overview). We found no dated rate or award, so the band is a wide, indicative range.

Check: borewell yield, salinity, and canal or dam command status.

Melghat fringe: Chikhaldara and Dharni

Estimated land price*: ₹2–10 lakh per acre

Hilly, forest-edge land where tribal-holder, forest and tiger-reserve status matter more than soil (MSME-DI Amravati profile). We found no dated rate, so the band is a wide, indicative range and many parcels may not be saleable to a non-tribal buyer.

Check: forest status, tribal-holder status and the access road.

Ready Reckoner 2025-26 and 2026-27

State rural +3.36% (2025-26); unchanged (2026-27)

Rates rose 3.89% on average in 2025-26, with rural areas up 3.36%, and were held for 2026-27 (IANS, April 2026). The state figures are reported, not an Amravati series, and a Ready Reckoner rate is a floor for duty, not a valuation.

Check: the rate for the village on the deed date.

Units: acres, hectares and gunthas

Revenue records in Maharashtra use hectares and are quoted locally in acres and gunthas: 1 guntha is about 1,089 sq ft and an acre is 40 gunthas (The Week, July 2025; the 40 is our arithmetic). Other local terms vary by tehsil and seller, so we fix no conversion for them. Convert every quote to acres or hectares (1 hectare = 2.47 acres) and read the area on the 7/12 before comparing two offers.

Connectivity

How Amravati connects — road, rail and air

Only items with a source are listed; train services and flight schedules were not researched for this page.

By road

Samruddhi MahamargInterchanges at Dhamangaon, Gavner and Talegaon (Jun 2025)
National highway length57 km (2010-11)
State highway length1,448 km (2010-11)

By rail

Rail line in district195 km (2010-11)
Lines namedMumbai–Bhusaval–Nagpur, Badnera–Amravati, Murtijapur–Achalpur, Khandwa–Akola–Purna
ServicesNot researched; check Indian Railways

By air

Amravati (Belora) airportDGCA aerodrome licence, RCS airport (Mar 2025)
Planned serviceAlliance Air ATR 72, Mumbai–Amravati, three days a week; start date reports conflict

The practical question is the last leg from the highway to the parcel; ask for the access road in the revenue record. Full rules for buyers: state-wise land laws.

Growth catalysts

Upcoming infrastructure & developments

Status labels reflect sources read in October 2026. Government-announced timelines are not guaranteed; items marked reported rest on a single outlet.

01Open or inaugurated

03In progress or pending

Open · final section June 2025 Samruddhi Mahamarg interchanges
Launched · no dates reported PM MITRA textile park, Nandgaon Peth
Licensed Mar 2025 · current status not confirmed Amravati (Belora) airport
Reported · agency approvals for the Akola–Khandwa line Akola–Khandwa gauge conversion (Melghat)
Open · final section June 2025

Samruddhi Mahamarg interchanges

The 701 km Mumbai–Nagpur expressway was completed with the 76 km Igatpuri–Amane section on 5 June 2025 (The Week, June 2025). A June 2025 report lists Amravati interchanges at Dhamangaon, Gavner and Talegaon (MyPunePulse, June 2025). In August 2026 MSRDC was reported to be seeking a GIS map of land near its interchanges and development models such as townships and agri-processing, with no sites named for Amravati (The Hitavada, August 2026).

Source: The Week, 5 Jun 2025; MyPunePulse, Jun 2025; The Hitavada, 24 Aug 2026

Length

701 km

Amravati interchanges

3 named

Opened

5 Jun 2025

MSRDC plan

Sought (Aug 2026)

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Dhamangaon Railway
  • Teosa
  • Amravati
Launched · no dates reported

PM MITRA textile park, Nandgaon Peth

A brownfield park of 1,020 contiguous acres beside the Additional Amravati MIDC area, launched under an MoU between MIDC and the Union Ministry of Textiles, with an expected Rs 10,000 crore investment and about 3,00,000 direct and indirect jobs (Maritime Gateway, undated). It is reported to be about 30 km from the Samruddhi Mahamarg and 147 km from the Wardha dry port, with roads, water and power already present (Apparel Resources, undated). Neither page gives a date, units allotted or a construction milestone, so treat the investment and jobs as expectations.

Source: Maritime Gateway (undated); Apparel Resources (undated)

Land

1,020 acres

Expected investment

Rs 10,000 crore

Expected jobs

~3,00,000

Status

Dates not reported

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Nandgaon Khandeshwar
  • Amravati
  • Chandur Railway
Licensed Mar 2025 · current status not confirmed

Amravati (Belora) airport

Free Press Journal reported on 14 March 2025 that the airport had received a DGCA aerodrome licence as a regional-connectivity airport, with Alliance Air planning an ATR 72 on Mumbai–Amravati three days a week; the same report says flights would start by the end of March and also that commercial operations were likely by year-end (Free Press Journal, March 2025). We found no later service report.

Source: Free Press Journal, 14 Mar 2025

Licence

DGCA, RCS

Planned service

Mumbai, 3 a week

Aircraft

ATR 72

Status

CONFIRM

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Amravati
  • Badnera
Reported · agency approvals for the Akola–Khandwa line

Akola–Khandwa gauge conversion (Melghat)

The Ratlam–Mhow–Khandwa–Akola gauge conversion is reported to have received environmental approval for a new Akola–Khandwa alignment on 7 August 2024, at about Rs 6,203 crore for the project (Indian Infrastructure, August 2024); the report does not name districts or the Melghat Tiger Reserve. In July 2020 Deccan Herald reported the state refusing gauge conversion through the Melghat tiger habitat (Deccan Herald, July 2020; headline only was readable). Whether the new alignment touches Amravati land is not established.

Source: Indian Infrastructure, 7 Aug 2024; Deccan Herald, 15 Jul 2020

Approval

Aug 2024

Project cost

~Rs 6,203 crore

Amravati impact

Not established

Status

Reported

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Dharni
  • Chikhaldara

Agriculture & terrain

Soil, crops & water in Amravati

A cotton, pulse and orange district on black and brown soils, with saline Purna alluvium and groundwater stress in several blocks.

🌾 Soil and crops

The CGWB booklet describes medium to deep black soil and deep brown to red (regur) soil, with 2009-10 crop areas of cotton 2,143.59 sq km, pulses 1,701.89, cereals 1,217.52 and oilseeds 997.65 (CGWB Amravati booklet, 2013). The MSME-DI profile adds sorghum (about half the food-grain area), tur, wheat, gram, oranges, sweet lime and betel leaf (MSME-DI Amravati profile).

  • Cotton
  • Pulses
  • Sorghum
  • Orange

💧 Irrigation and dams

The Shahanur dam (Anjangaon Surji) and the Chandrabhaga dam (Achalpur) are named in the MSME-DI profile (MSME-DI Amravati profile). The CGWB booklet gives a net irrigated area of 209,802 (2006-07; unit not stated in our read), so treat it as indicative (CGWB Amravati booklet, 2013). Irrigation is heavy in the north-east, mainly for oranges (GSDA Amravati overview).

  • Shahanur dam
  • Chandrabhaga dam
  • Bore wells

🌊 Rivers and forest

The Tapi, Purna and Wardha are the main rivers and the Wardha forms the eastern boundary (CGWB Amravati booklet, 2013). Forest area is given as 3,577 sq km by the GSDA overview and 5,213 sq km (2008-09) by the CGWB booklet, so the sources differ (GSDA Amravati overview; CGWB Amravati booklet, 2013); the highest point is Vairat at 1,177.75 m.

  • Tapi
  • Purna
  • Wardha
  • Forest

💧 Rainfall & groundwater

The GSDA overview gives average rainfall of 700–800 mm, while the CGWB booklet gives a normal range of 700 to 1,700 mm, from about 709 mm at Daryapur to about 1,647 mm at Chikhaldara (GSDA Amravati overview; CGWB Amravati booklet, 2013). The CGWB booklet puts groundwater development at 85.08% in 2008-09, and the GSDA overview lists over-exploited and semi-critical blocks in the seventh assessment. Both are old; the CGWB 2024 state assessment puts Maharashtra as a whole at 52.99% (CGWB, 2024), and we did not find Amravati block figures for 2024.

📐 Measurement units

Revenue records use hectares; sellers quote acres and gunthas, and other local terms vary by tehsil, so convert every quote before comparing offers (1 hectare = 2.47 acres). Live wholesale mandi prices are on Agmarknet (not opened for this page); price a parcel on location and permitted use, not on crop income.

At a glance

Amravati vs. its neighbours

District / beltEstimated land price* (per acre)Basis
Amravati — city fringe and Samruddhi interchange belt₹15–50 lakh*Indicative estimate; wide band
Amravati — Nandgaon Khandeshwar and textile park₹10–35 lakh*Indicative estimate; wide band
Amravati — Purna plains and orange belt₹6–25 lakh*Indicative estimate; wide band
Amravati — Melghat fringe₹2–10 lakh*Indicative estimate; wide band
AkolaNot estimated hereSee the Akola page
YavatmalNot estimated hereSee the Yavatmal page
WardhaNot estimated hereSee the Wardha page
NagpurNot estimated hereSee the Nagpur page

*Indicative only, not a valuation or an offer; prices vary by plot, road access and title. Check the guideline or ready-reckoner rate with the Sub-Registrar. See the Akola page, Yavatmal page, Wardha page and Nagpur page for neighbouring Maharashtra districts. Madhya Pradesh borders the district to the north and west and is not covered on this page.

Fenced farm plot with boundary stones and cotton fields near Amravati, Maharashtra

District report — Amravati

Farmland India view

Why investors look at Amravati

Five reasoned points, with an honest note that the price evidence is thin and several catalysts are still pending.

A corridor that is already open

The Samruddhi Mahamarg was completed on 5 June 2025 and a June 2025 report lists three Amravati interchanges (MyPunePulse, June 2025). Access is real; land-use around the interchanges is still being planned (The Hitavada, August 2026).

A textile park with no dates

The PM MITRA park is reported at 1,020 acres with an expected Rs 10,000 crore investment (Apparel Resources, undated). Reports give no construction milestone, so price on what is built, not on the headline.

A licensed airport, service unconfirmed

Belora received a DGCA licence in March 2025 (Free Press Journal, March 2025); we found no later service report.

Farm land with water and salt trade-offs

Cotton, pulses and oranges are the base, but saline alluvium and over-exploited blocks mean borewell and salinity records matter as much as location (GSDA Amravati overview).

A paperwork-led market

Farmer-only purchase under section 63, tribal-seller rules in the Melghat tehsils, the standard-area rule and zoning are all parcel-specific. The return case rests on location, title and permitted use, not on crop yield.

Browse reviewed land in Amravati

Confirm land-use, tribal-land and Ready Reckoner status directly; these are not certified by Farmland India’s review.

STRAIGHT TALK

Risks & challenges in Amravati

Read these before shortlisting in Amravati specifically.

Farmer-only purchase

A non-farmer cannot assume a sale of agricultural land will stand: section 63 voids it unless an exception or Collector permission applies (Indian Kanoon, s.63), and the Revenue Minister repeated the farmer-only line in July 2026 (IANS, July 2026, reported). Check the buyer’s status first.

Melghat, forest and tribal land

Chikhaldara and Dharni hold the Melghat Tiger Reserve (MSME-DI Amravati profile). We found no notification text, so a written forest and tribal-holder status is essential for any parcel there.

Saline and stressed groundwater

Saline alluvium covers 1,562 sq km and several blocks are over-exploited (GSDA Amravati overview). A cheap parcel may have no usable water.

Pending catalysts

The textile park has no reported milestones and the airport service is unconfirmed. Price on today’s fundamentals, not on announcements.

Conversion and minimum area

Plain farm land stays bound by the standard-area rule, and the 2025-26 changes to section 42 are law-firm-reported summaries awaiting a Gazette check. Do not assume a plot can be split or built on.

Data conflicts and no deed series

Taluka count, forest area and groundwater stage differ between the official profiles we read, and the bands on this page are indicative estimates*, not deal prices. Collect registered comparables in the same revenue village before negotiating.

Who to contact

Local revenue, planning & forest offices

Mutation and revenue-record matters go through the Tahsildar of the relevant tehsil (14 tehsils per the GSDA overview), under the District Collector, Amravati. Sale-deed registration is handled by the local Sub-Registrar, planning and zoning questions go to the planning authority or Town Planning office for the area, and forest status goes to the Forest Department’s divisional office. Land records are on the state land-records portal. We could not open the district portal’s revenue pages, the IGR rate lookup or the land-records portal, so check them directly.

COMMON QUESTIONS

Frequently asked questions

Everything buyers, NRIs and investors ask before their first reviewed farmland purchase in Amravati.

Visit full wiki

01 of 04

What does farm land cost in Amravati?

Our estimate is about ₹2 lakh to ₹50 lakh per acre*, depending on the belt: roughly ₹15–50 lakh near Amravati city and the Samruddhi interchanges, ₹10–35 lakh around Nandgaon Khandeshwar, ₹6–25 lakh on the Purna plains and orange belt, and ₹2–10 lakh on the Melghat fringe. These are wide, rounded, indicative estimates, not a valuation or an offer. Prices vary by plot, road access and title, so check the ready-reckoner rate with the Sub-Registrar.

Ready to look at what is available?

Browse reviewed listings

Transparency

Sources and references

Law and courts

Government

News

Further reading

Data-currency note: area, tehsil and rail and road figures come from the CGWB booklet (2013), the MSME-DI profile (2012-13, roads and rail 2010-11) and the district or GSDA portal page, which differ in places; crop and groundwater figures are from the dates stated. Infrastructure statuses were read in October 2026 and change quickly; Ready Reckoner items are state-level reports, not notified district schedules; estimated land prices are indicative and are not taken from any registered deed. Pages marked “not opened” are named only as places to check. This is a general guide, not legal advice. Report inaccuracies to wiki@farmlandindia.com.

For developers

Ready to explore Amravati farmland?

Browse reviewed projects and individual land parcels across Amravati — or if you own land here, list it with platform review and reach serious buyers.

Farmland India ("the Platform"), operated by Bulk Procure Private Limited, is a digital marketplace for listing agricultural land, farmhouse and plotted development projects. The Platform is not a real estate broker, agent or intermediary under RERA or any other applicable law, and does not act for either party to a transaction.

Listings are submitted by developers, owners and their authorised representatives. Before publication, the Platform carries out a documentary review of the material supplied and records what was sighted. That review is limited to the documents made available to us at that time. It is not a title investigation, not a legal opinion, and not a warranty of title, approvals, or the accuracy of any information supplied by a lister. The Trust Score is an internal assessment produced from that review and is intended as a research aid, not as a guarantee of outcome.

Every buyer must carry out independent due diligence before any transaction — including verification of land records, encumbrance searches, approvals and regulatory compliance — through their own advocate and chartered accountant. Any legal or advisory professional introduced through the Platform is engaged directly by the user, on that professional's own terms; the Platform does not employ, supervise or accept responsibility for their work.

Nothing on the Platform is investment advice. Land values can fall as well as rise. The Platform is not liable for any loss, dispute or damage arising from a transaction between parties.