Farmland India
Soyabean and cotton fields on black soil near Nagpur, Maharashtra, with a village road in the foreground

District guide

Buying Land in Nagpur

A Vidarbha district at the Samruddhi Mahamarg’s western end, with Metro Phase 2 under construction, New Nagpur and a ring road in acquisition, and an estimated land price* that varies widely by belt.

  • 9,892 sq km

    Area (CGWB booklet)

  • about 46.5 lakh

    Population (district portal)

  • ₹6 lakh–₹2.5 crore per acre

    Estimated land price*

  • 43.8 km, 32 stations

    Nagpur Metro Phase 2

*Indicative range across districts and land types. Stamp duty, registration and conversion charges are additional. Local measurement units vary — every listing states the unit it is priced in. Not a valuation or an offer.

District land record — Nagpur

Rev. 2026 · Farmland India desk

State

Maharashtra (Vidarbha)

Sub-divisions

The CGWB booklet lists 14 talukas as on 31 March 2011: Nagpur (Urban), Nagpur (Rural), Kamptee, Mouda, Ramtek, Parseoni, Saoner, Kalmeshwar, Narkhed, Katol, Hingna, Umred, Kuhi and Bhiwapur (CGWB Nagpur district booklet). The district portal gives the count of 14 but did not list them (Nagpur district portal)

Key markets

Hingna and New Nagpur belt · Kamptee · Mouda · Kalmeshwar · Saoner · Umred · Ramtek

Demand anchors

Nagpur Metro Phase 2 (43.8 km, 32 stations) · New Nagpur business centre (Hingna) · Outer Ring Road · Samruddhi Mahamarg (Nagpur end)

Rail

Rail services were not researched for this page; check Indian Railways for stations and trains

Size and population

9,892 sq km (CGWB booklet) · 46,53,570 people on the district portal, which gives no census year; the CGWB booklet gives 40.51 lakh for 2001 (Nagpur district portal; CGWB Nagpur district booklet)

Estimated land price*

₹6 lakh–₹2.5 crore per acre depending on the belt (indicative; see the note under the price table)

Pricing unit

₹/acre (farm land) · ₹/guntha for small plots · ₹/sq m (Ready Reckoner)

Local units

1 guntha = 1,089 sq ft and 40 gunthas = 1 acre; sellers may quote other local units, so convert every offer to acres or hectares (1 hectare = 2.47 acres)

Land records portal

Digital 7/12 and 8A extracts carry legal validity under a December 2025 government resolution (Free Press Journal, December 2025); the Mahabhulekh portal was not opened for this page

District overview

Nagpur — a Vidarbha district with a metro extension, a planned business centre and a ring road

Nagpur district covers 9,892 sq km in the CGWB booklet and has 14 talukas, with the Wardha and Wainganga river systems draining it (CGWB Nagpur district booklet). The district portal gives 46,53,570 people without naming the census year (Nagpur district portal), so we show it as the portal’s figure.

We found no registered-deed series for farm land and no village-wise Ready Reckoner figure; the state kept the 2026-27 rates unchanged (The Hitavada, April 2026). The estimated bands on this page run from about ₹6 lakh to ₹2.5 crore per acre*: the Hingna belt sits at the top and the interior talukas at the bottom. They are wide and indicative.

Nagpur is the western end of the 701 km Samruddhi Mahamarg, whose last stretch was inaugurated on 5 June 2025 (The Week, June 2025). Nagpur Metro Phase 2 adds 43.8 km and 32 stations (Swarajya, June 2026), and New Nagpur and the Outer Ring Road are in land-acquisition planning (Navbharat Live (Hindi outlet), May 2026).

  • Hingna
  • Kamptee
  • Mouda
  • Kalmeshwar
  • Saoner
  • Umred
Locator map of Nagpur district in Maharashtra showing Nagpur, Hingna, Kamptee, Saoner and Umred

Transaction costs

Stamp duty & registration in Nagpur

4%

Stamp duty, gram panchayat areas

Act text amended to May 2019; confirm the current schedule

5% + 1%

Municipal corporation and council areas

plus a further 1% in notified areas; confirm by area

1%, max ₹30,000

Registration fee

Act text and a May 2025 report; confirm with the Sub-Registrar

Article 25 of the Maharashtra Stamp Act as amended to May 2019 gives 5% plus 1% in municipal corporation and council areas, a further 1% levy from 8 February 2019 in notified areas, and 4% in gram panchayat areas, with a registration fee of 1% capped at Rs 30,000 (Maharashtra Stamp Act, Article 25 (amended to May 2019); Free Press Journal, May 2025). We could not open the current rate schedule on the Inspector General of Registration’s site (Inspector General of Registration, Maharashtra), so treat these figures as reported and ask the Sub-Registrar for the schedule in force. The Ready Reckoner for 2026-27 was left unchanged from 2025-26 (The Hitavada, April 2026; IANS via Investment Guru India, April 2026); we did not find a village-wise rate for this district. A 27 May 2026 report of a cabinet exemption on land purchases did not state its scope, so no exemption is assumed here.

Know the belt

What is moving prices in Nagpur

Metro, ring-road and acquisition news, plus wide indicative price bands marked *. No registered-deed series was found.

Hingna and the New Nagpur belt

Estimated land price*: ₹60 lakh–₹2.5 crore per acre

Hingna taluka is the site of the planned New Nagpur finance and business centre, and the Metro Phase 2 reaches include Hingna (Swarajya, June 2026). We found no official rate or award, so the band is a wide estimate from comparable corridors and is not a deal price.

Check: whether the survey number is inside the New Nagpur or ring-road footprint.

Kamptee, Mouda, Kalmeshwar and Saoner

Estimated land price*: ₹25 lakh–₹1.2 crore per acre

These talukas sit on the metro, ring-road and Samruddhi sides of the city; the Kamptee corridor of Phase 2 is 13 km with 12 stations (Swarajya, January 2025). The band is a wide, indicative range.

Check: distance to the nearest interchange or metro station, and the access road in the record.

Ramtek, Parseoni, Narkhed, Katol, Umred, Kuhi and Bhiwapur

Estimated land price*: ₹6–30 lakh per acre

These are the main farm talukas, with soyabean, pulses, jowar, rice and cotton among the crops listed in the CGWB booklet (CGWB Nagpur district booklet). The band is a wide, indicative range.

Check: irrigation source, forest status and the standard-area position of small plots.

Ready Reckoner 2026-27

Unchanged from 2025-26

The state held its Ready Reckoner rates steady for 2026-27 (The Hitavada, April 2026); a 2025-26 rise averaged 3.89% statewide and 3.36% in rural areas (IANS via Investment Guru India, April 2026). No Nagpur village figure was found.

Check: the rate for the village on the deed date.

Units: acres, gunthas, hectares and local terms

Maharashtra records use acres, hectares and gunthas: a Legislative Assembly report cites 1 guntha as about 1,089 sq ft, and 40 gunthas make an acre on our arithmetic (The Week, July 2025). Sellers may also quote other local units that differ by taluka, so convert every quote to acres or hectares (1 hectare = 2.47 acres) before comparing two offers.

Connectivity

How Nagpur connects — road, rail and air

Only items with a source are listed; train services and flight schedules were not researched for this page.

By road

Samruddhi Mahamarg701 km Nagpur–Mumbai; about 8 hours; final stretch inaugurated 5 Jun 2025
Outer Ring Road₹2,400 crore acquisition budget approved (May 2026)
New Nagpur₹3,000 crore acquisition budget approved (May 2026)

By rail and metro

Nagpur Metro Phase 243.8 km, 32 stations; 2025 report targeted Dec 2027
Rail servicesNot researched; check Indian Railways

By air

AirportNot researched for this page; check the Airports Authority

The practical question is the last leg from the highway to the parcel; ask for the access road in the revenue record. Full rules for buyers: state-wise land laws.

Growth catalysts

Upcoming infrastructure & developments

Status labels reflect sources read in October 2026. Government-announced timelines are not guaranteed; items marked reported rest on a single outlet.

01Open or inaugurated

03In progress or pending

Open · final stretch inaugurated 5 Jun 2025 Samruddhi Mahamarg (Nagpur end)
Under construction · 2025 target Dec 2027 Nagpur Metro Phase 2
Announced · acquisition budget approved May 2026 New Nagpur business centre (Hingna)
Acquisition budget approved May 2026 Nagpur Outer Ring Road
Open · final stretch inaugurated 5 Jun 2025

Samruddhi Mahamarg (Nagpur end)

The 701 km Mumbai–Nagpur corridor covers 10 districts including Nagpur; its final 76 km opened on 5 June 2025, and the report says Nagpur to Mumbai falls to about eight hours from 17 to 18 hours, at a cost of about ₹55,000 crore (The Week, June 2025).

Source: The Week (PTI), 5 Jun 2025

Length

701 km

Travel time

~8 hours

Districts

10

Cost

~₹55,000 crore

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Nagpur (Rural)
  • Hingna
  • Kalmeshwar
Under construction · 2025 target Dec 2027

Nagpur Metro Phase 2

Phase 2 has four reaches, to Kanhan, Hingna, MIDC ESR and Transport Nagar, with 32 stations over 43.8 km; the original estimate of ₹6,708 crore is expected to pass ₹7,000 crore if a proposed 1.4 km Kamptee extension is approved, and the state had released ₹607 crore of its ₹998.20 crore equity share by June 2026 (Swarajya, June 2026). A January 2025 report said about 80% of the land was acquired, work had started on 14 of 32 stations and the officials expected completion by December 2027 (Swarajya, January 2025). The newer report gives no completion date.

Source: Swarajya, 15 Jan 2025 and 29 Jun 2026

Length

43.8 km

Stations

32

Cost

₹6,708 crore+

Target (Jan 2025)

Dec 2027

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Kamptee
  • Hingna
  • Kanhan
Announced · acquisition budget approved May 2026

New Nagpur business centre (Hingna)

The state announced an international finance and business centre in Hingna taluka, with villagers at the public hearing seeking 12.5% developed land in return; acquisition had not started in September 2025 (The Hitavada, September 2025). A May 2026 report says ₹3,000 crore of a ₹5,400 crore allocation is for New Nagpur, that compensation rates were not decided, and gives an approximate total of ₹6,500 crore with the approved funds covering only the first phase (Navbharat Live (Hindi outlet), May 2026).

Source: The Hitavada, 29 Sep 2025; Navbharat Live, 6 May 2026

Taluka

Hingna

Budget

₹3,000 crore

Total (approx.)

₹6,500 crore

Compensation

Not decided

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Hingna
  • Nagpur (Rural)
  • Kalmeshwar
Acquisition budget approved May 2026

Nagpur Outer Ring Road

The May 2026 report says ₹2,400 crore of the state allocation is for the Outer Ring Road, with an approximate total cost of ₹11,000 crore and the approved funds covering the first phase; it gives no length or villages and says compensation rates were not decided (Navbharat Live (Hindi outlet), May 2026). The Hitavada reported in September 2025 that the authority was seeking a consultant to speed up acquisition for the business district and the second outer ring road (The Hitavada, September 2025).

Source: Navbharat Live, 6 May 2026; The Hitavada, 29 Sep 2025

Budget

₹2,400 crore

Total (approx.)

₹11,000 crore

Length

Not stated

Compensation

Not decided

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Kamptee
  • Mouda
  • Hingna

Agriculture & terrain

Soil, crops & water in Nagpur

A soyabean, pulse, jowar and cotton district on black cotton and loamy soils, irrigated mainly from dug wells, with groundwater development at 38.5% in an older booklet.

🌾 Soil and crops

The CGWB booklet names medium to deep clayey black cotton soils, medium loamy alluvial soils and shallow sandy-clayey red soils. For 2010-11 it lists soyabean on 2,069 sq km, total pulses on 936, jowar on 525, rice on 434, cotton on 374, fruits on 343 and wheat on 310, against a net sown area of 5,074 sq km for 2000-01 (CGWB Nagpur district booklet). These are old figures.

  • Soyabean
  • Pulses
  • Jowar
  • Cotton

💧 Irrigation

The booklet’s 2006-07 minor irrigation census lists 69,695 dug wells and 14,589 surface lift schemes (printed as “Kift” in the booklet), with net irrigated area of 183,254 hectares (CGWB Nagpur district booklet). Wells and lift schemes carry most irrigation, so water access varies by village.

  • Dug wells
  • Lift schemes
  • Surface flow
  • Bore wells

🌊 Rivers and forest

The Wardha and Wainganga systems drain the district, with the Kanhan, Wena and Nag as named tributaries. The booklet lists 1,350 sq km of forest for 2000-01 (CGWB Nagpur district booklet). Forest-edge and river-bank parcels need a written status from the Forest Department and the Collector.

  • Wardha
  • Wainganga
  • Kanhan
  • Forest

💧 Rainfall & groundwater

The CGWB booklet gives normal rainfall of 1,000 mm to 1,200 mm, based on 1901-1992 data. It states groundwater development at 38.54% for dynamic resources as on 31 March 2004, while its taluka table is labelled March 2009, so the reference year is inconsistent (CGWB Nagpur district booklet). The newer source is the CGWB 2024 statewide assessment: 52.99% for Maharashtra, with 8 of 359 assessment units over-exploited, 7 critical and 41 semi-critical (CGWB Maharashtra report, 2024); we did not find Nagpur taluka figures from it.

📐 Measurement units

Records use hectares, acres and gunthas (1 guntha is about 1,089 sq ft and 40 gunthas make an acre); sellers may quote other local units, so convert every quote before comparing offers (1 hectare = 2.47 acres). Live mandi prices are on Agmarknet (not opened for this page); price a parcel on location and permitted use, not on crop income.

At a glance

Nagpur vs. its neighbours

District / beltEstimated land price* (per acre)Basis
Nagpur — Hingna and New Nagpur belt₹60 lakh–₹2.5 crore*Indicative estimate; very wide band
Nagpur — Kamptee, Mouda, Kalmeshwar, Saoner₹25 lakh–₹1.2 crore*Indicative estimate; wide band
Nagpur — interior farm talukas₹6–30 lakh*Indicative estimate; wide band
WardhaNot estimated hereSee the Wardha page
BhandaraNot estimated hereSee the Bhandara page
AmravatiNot estimated hereSee the Amravati page

*Indicative only, not a valuation or an offer; prices vary by plot, road access and title. Check the guideline or ready-reckoner rate with the Sub-Registrar. See the Wardha page, Bhandara page and Amravati page for neighbouring districts, and the Maharashtra page for state rules.

Fenced farm plot with boundary stones and soyabean fields near Nagpur, Maharashtra

District report — Nagpur

Farmland India view

Why investors look at Nagpur

Five reasoned points, with an honest note that the price evidence is thin and most catalysts are still in planning or construction.

The Samruddhi end is open

The Mumbai–Nagpur expressway was fully inaugurated in June 2025 (The Week, June 2025). It is a working road, which is firmer ground for pricing than corridors still being acquired.

A metro extension under construction

Phase 2 reaches Kanhan, Hingna, MIDC ESR and Transport Nagar over 43.8 km (Swarajya, June 2026). The 2025 target of December 2027 came from a January 2025 report, so check the current date.

A planned business centre and ring road

The state approved ₹5,400 crore for land acquisition for New Nagpur and the Outer Ring Road in May 2026, with compensation rates still undecided (Navbharat Live (Hindi outlet), May 2026). Acquisition fixes the footprint before it fixes the price.

Wide spread of land values

The Hingna belt and the interior talukas sit far apart, so the estimated bands* span about ₹6 lakh to ₹2.5 crore per acre. Location against a corridor matters more than taluka averages.

A paperwork-led market

Farmer-status checks, the Vidarbha tenancy Act, the standard-area rule and acquisition notices are all parcel-specific. The return case rests on location and permitted use, not on crop yield.

Browse reviewed land in Nagpur

Confirm land-use, farmer-status and ready-reckoner details directly; these are not certified by Farmland India’s review.

STRAIGHT TALK

Risks & challenges in Nagpur

Read these before shortlisting in Nagpur specifically.

Farmer-only purchase rule

Section 63 bars a non-agriculturist from buying agricultural land unless an exception applies or the Collector permits it (Indian Kanoon, Act text), and the Revenue Minister said in July 2026 that buyers must show proof of farmer status (IANS via The Hawk, July 2026). Vidarbha’s parallel Act is our reading of the Acts’ names.

Acquisition with undecided compensation

A May 2026 report says compensation rates for New Nagpur and the Outer Ring Road were not decided (Navbharat Live (Hindi outlet), May 2026). Get the notified footprint before paying a deposit.

Standard-area and fragmentation limits

Small plots may fall below the standard area for jirayat or bagayat land (Cyril Amarchand Mangaldas via Conventus). Ask for the 7/12 and the surveyed area.

Stamp duty schedule unconfirmed

The figures on this page come from an Act text amended to May 2019 (Maharashtra Stamp Act, Article 25 (amended to May 2019)); the current schedule was not opened. No Nagpur village rate was found.

Dated timelines

The metro completion target of December 2027 comes from a January 2025 report (Swarajya, January 2025) and the newer June 2026 report gives no date. Price on today’s fundamentals.

Data conflicts and no deed series

The district portal gives a population without a census year, the CGWB booklet gives groundwater development for two different reference years, and the price bands on this page are indicative estimates*, not deal prices. Collect registered comparables in the same revenue village before negotiating.

Who to contact

Local revenue, planning & forest offices

Mutation and revenue-record matters go through the Tehsildar of the relevant taluka (the CGWB booklet lists 14 talukas, see section 1), under the District Collector, Nagpur. Sale-deed registration is handled by the local Sub-Registrar, land-acquisition notices by the Deputy Collector (Land Acquisition), planning questions in the metropolitan region by the Nagpur Metropolitan Region Development Authority, and forest status by the Forest Department’s divisional office. Land records are on the Mahabhulekh portal. We opened the district portal home page (Nagpur district portal) but not the Mahabhulekh, Inspector General of Registration rate or authority pages, so check them directly.

COMMON QUESTIONS

Frequently asked questions

Everything buyers, NRIs and investors ask before their first reviewed farmland purchase in Nagpur.

Visit full wiki

01 of 04

What does farm land cost in Nagpur?

Our estimate is about ₹6 lakh to ₹2.5 crore per acre*, depending on the belt: roughly ₹60 lakh to ₹2.5 crore in the Hingna and New Nagpur belt, ₹25 lakh to ₹1.2 crore around Kamptee, Mouda, Kalmeshwar and Saoner, and ₹6–30 lakh in the interior farm talukas. These are wide, rounded, indicative estimates, not a valuation or an offer. Prices vary by plot, road access and title, so check the Ready Reckoner rate with the Sub-Registrar.

Ready to look at what is available?

Browse reviewed listings

Transparency

Sources and references

Law and courts

Government

News

Further reading

Data-currency note: area, taluka list, crop and irrigation figures come from the CGWB booklet (crop data 2010-11, net sown area 2000-01, irrigation data 2006-07) and are old; the district portal gives a population without a year. Infrastructure statuses were read in October 2026 and change quickly; the metro timeline dates from January 2025. Stamp duty and Ready Reckoner items are reports or an amended-to-2019 Act text, not a current schedule. Estimated land prices are indicative and are not taken from any registered deed. Pages marked “not opened” are named only as places to check. This is a general guide, not legal advice. Report inaccuracies to wiki@farmlandindia.com.

For developers

Ready to explore Nagpur farmland?

Browse reviewed projects and individual land parcels across Nagpur — or if you own land here, list it with platform review and reach serious buyers.

Farmland India ("the Platform"), operated by Bulk Procure Private Limited, is a digital marketplace for listing agricultural land, farmhouse and plotted development projects. The Platform is not a real estate broker, agent or intermediary under RERA or any other applicable law, and does not act for either party to a transaction.

Listings are submitted by developers, owners and their authorised representatives. Before publication, the Platform carries out a documentary review of the material supplied and records what was sighted. That review is limited to the documents made available to us at that time. It is not a title investigation, not a legal opinion, and not a warranty of title, approvals, or the accuracy of any information supplied by a lister. The Trust Score is an internal assessment produced from that review and is intended as a research aid, not as a guarantee of outcome.

Every buyer must carry out independent due diligence before any transaction — including verification of land records, encumbrance searches, approvals and regulatory compliance — through their own advocate and chartered accountant. Any legal or advisory professional introduced through the Platform is engaged directly by the user, on that professional's own terms; the Platform does not employ, supervise or accept responsibility for their work.

Nothing on the Platform is investment advice. Land values can fall as well as rise. The Platform is not liable for any loss, dispute or damage arising from a transaction between parties.