Farmland India
Aerial view of sugarcane fields along the Krishna near Sangli, Maharashtra

District guide

Buying Land in Sangli

A Krishna-valley district of sugarcane, jowar and wheat: farmer-only purchase rules, Shaktipeeth acquisition already reaching Khanapur villages, tight groundwater in the east, and an estimated land price* that varies widely.

  • About 8,572 sq km

    Area (CGWB booklet)

  • 10

    Talukas (CGWB, 2013)

  • ₹4 lakh–₹1 crore per acre

    Estimated land price*

  • 76.72% district-wide

    Groundwater development (2008-09)

*Indicative range across districts and land types. Stamp duty, registration and conversion charges are additional. Local measurement units vary — every listing states the unit it is priced in. Not a valuation or an offer.

District land record — Sangli

Rev. 2026 · Farmland India desk

State

Maharashtra

Sub-divisions

The CGWB booklet (2013) lists ten talukas: Shirala, Walwa, Palus, Khanapur, Atpadi, Tasgaon, Miraj, Kavathe Mahankal, Jat and Kadegaon (CGWB Sangli booklet). The district portal home page opened but listed no talukas (Sangli district portal), so check the current list there

Key markets

Miraj–Sangli–Walwa–Palus Krishna belt · Tasgaon–Kadegaon–Shirala · Jat–Atpadi–Kavathe Mahankal–Khanapur dry east

Demand anchors

Shaktipeeth Expressway route (Khanapur villages reported) · NH-166 Sangli–Solapur four-laning notices · proposed Pune–Bengaluru expressway (2023 report) · Pune–Miraj rail doubling

Rail

Pune–Miraj doubling is reported ongoing (UNI, undated block report); the current station and train list was not opened

Size and population

8,572 sq km (the booklet’s table totals 8,601.5 sq km) and 25,83,524 people, a figure the booklet attributes to the 2001 Census (CGWB Sangli booklet); the Census 2011 table was not opened

Estimated land price*

₹4 lakh–₹1 crore per acre depending on the belt (indicative; see the note under the price table)

Pricing unit

₹/acre or ₹/hectare (farm land) · ₹/guntha for small plots · ₹/sq m (Ready Reckoner for plots)

Local units

1 guntha = 1,089 sq ft; 40 gunthas = 1 acre (our arithmetic); taluka usage varies, so convert every quote to acres

Land records portal

Digital 7/12 and 8A extracts via the Mahabhumi portal; the portal was not opened for this page, so check records there

District overview

Sangli — a Krishna-valley sugarcane district with a dry east and an expressway in survey

Sangli district covers about 8,572 sq km with ten talukas, and Deccan Trap basalt underlies most of it; the Krishna is the main river, with the Yerla, Agrani, Man and Bor (CGWB Sangli booklet). Rainfall is very uneven: from 558.8 mm in Jath to 938.9 mm in Shirala in the booklet’s annual data. The district was created in 1949 as South Satara and renamed Sangli in 1961 (Sangli district portal).

We found no registered-deed series or district-specific Ready Reckoner figure for farm land. The estimated bands on this page, from about ₹4 lakh to ₹1 crore per acre*, are wide and indicative; the irrigated Krishna belt sits at the top and the dry eastern talukas at the bottom.

The Shaktipeeth Expressway is the main live issue: farmers in Khanapur taluka villages describe land loss and field fragmentation (101Reporters, August 2026), and a workshop of collectors in August 2026 said nearly half the land needed lies in Sangli, Satara, Solapur and Kolhapur (Free Press Journal, August 2026).

  • Miraj
  • Sangli
  • Walwa
  • Palus
  • Tasgaon
  • Jat
Locator map of Sangli district in Maharashtra showing Miraj, Sangli, Walwa, Tasgaon and Jat

Transaction costs

Stamp duty & registration in Sangli

5% + 1%

Municipal corporation and council areas

of market value; a further 1% from 8 Feb 2019 in notified areas; Act text to May 2019

4%

Gram panchayat and other areas

of market value in the same Act text; current schedule not opened

1%

Registration fee, capped at Rs 30,000

Act text to May 2019; repeated in a May 2025 report

These figures come from a reproduction of Article 25 of the Maharashtra Stamp Act, 1958 amended to May 2019 (Act text to May 2019); the Rs 30,000 cap on the registration fee is repeated in a May 2025 report (Free Press Journal, May 2025), and the additional 1% for metro and infrastructure was still mentioned in April 2025 (Business Standard, April 2025). The grantee bears the duty unless the parties agree otherwise, and an understated value draws the shortfall plus a penalty of 2% a month, capped at four times the deficit (Maharashtra Stamp Act PDF, IGR). The IGR pages we opened give no rate table (IGR Maharashtra), so the current schedule is unconfirmed and we found no Sangli-specific schedule; read it from the Sub-Registrar before budgeting. The May 2025 cabinet waived the registration fee on partition documents for agricultural land, not on sale deeds, and a May 2026 report of a further exemption on land purchases did not say which purchases it covers (Nation Press, May 2026).

Know the belt

What is moving prices in Sangli

Corridor reports and wide indicative price bands marked *. No registered-deed series was found.

Miraj–Sangli–Walwa–Palus Krishna belt

Estimated land price*: ₹25 lakh–₹1 crore per acre

The Krishna and its irrigation schemes serve this belt, where major irrigation projects benefited 84,725 hectares in 2010-11 in the booklet (CGWB Sangli booklet). Miraj taluka is already semi-critical on groundwater at 90.05% development. We found no dated rate, so the band is a wide estimate.

Check: canal or lift-irrigation status, borewell record and the flood zone for river-side land.

Tasgaon–Kadegaon–Shirala

Estimated land price*: ₹10–50 lakh per acre

Wetter western talukas; Shirala averaged 938.9 mm, the highest in the booklet’s table (CGWB Sangli booklet). Parcels near the Shirala hills sell on access and legal status as well as soil. We found no dated rate.

Check: forest status, water source and the access road in the record.

Jat–Atpadi–Kavathe Mahankal–Khanapur east

Estimated land price*: ₹4–15 lakh per acre

The dry belt: Jath averaged 558.8 mm and Kavathe Mahankal is already critical at 93.72% groundwater development (CGWB Sangli booklet). Khanapur villages are named in the Shaktipeeth reports (101Reporters, August 2026). We found no dated rate, so the band is a wide estimate.

Check: water source, groundwater category and the notified alignment for Khanapur villages.

NH-166 Sangli–Solapur section

Reported, no Sangli land described

The April 2026 Gazette notice for four-laning km 331.200 to 357.650 described one plot in Mohol taluka of Solapur district, and said nothing about Sangli land (Gazette of India, April 2026).

Check: the National Highways Authority’s notices for your survey number.

Ready Reckoner 2025-26 and 2026-27

State: held for 2026-27

The state average Ready Reckoner rose 3.89% from 1 April 2025 and the rural figure 3.36%, as reported, and the 2026-27 rates were held at the 2025-26 level (IANS, April 2026; The Hitavada, April 2026). Business Standard matches the average and rural figures (Business Standard, April 2025). These are statewide movements, and we did not open the Sangli village-wise rates.

Check: the rate in force for the survey number on the date of the deed.

Units: acres, hectares and gunthas

One guntha is 1,089 sq ft (The Week gives that figure) and, on our arithmetic, 40 gunthas make an acre; one hectare is about 2.47 acres. Records and court texts use hectares and acres, while sellers’ units can differ from taluka to taluka, so convert every quote to acres or hectares and read the area off the 7/12 before comparing two offers.

Connectivity

How Sangli connects — road, rail and air

Only items with a source are listed; road distances, train services and flight schedules were not researched for this page.

By road

NH-166 Sangli–Solapur sectionFour-laning; section 3A notice of 22 Apr 2026 covers a Solapur plot
Shaktipeeth ExpresswayNotified; Khanapur villages reported (Aug 2026)
Pune–Bengaluru expresswayProposed; Sangli named in 2023

By rail

Pune–Miraj doublingReported ongoing; remaining sections not found
ServicesNot researched; check Indian Railways

By air

Airport in districtNone sourced
Nearest airportsNot researched for this page

The practical question is the last leg from the metalled road to the parcel; ask for the access road in the revenue record. Full rules for buyers: state-wise land laws.

Growth catalysts

Upcoming infrastructure & developments

Status labels reflect sources read in October 2026. Government-announced timelines are not guaranteed; items marked reported rest on a single outlet.

00Open or completed

04In progress or pending

Notified · gram sabhas and measurement (Aug 2026) Shaktipeeth Expressway (Nagpur–Goa)
Section 3A notice · Apr 2026 (Solapur plot) NH-166 Sangli–Solapur four-laning
Proposed · 2023 report, status not confirmed Pune–Bengaluru greenfield expressway
Ongoing · undated reports Pune–Miraj rail doubling
Notified · gram sabhas and measurement (Aug 2026)

Shaktipeeth Expressway (Nagpur–Goa)

Swarajya reported on 14 June 2026 that the final notification for the Digraj–Banda route had been issued, with the route naming Sangli among its 13 districts (Swarajya, June 2026). 101Reporters reported on 20 August 2026 that Bhagyanagar and Nevari villages in Khanapur taluka expected to lose about 137 and 708 acres on villagers’ figures, with gram sabhas on 27 April and 22 May 2026 and no compensation amount given (101Reporters, August 2026). The Free Press Journal reported on 30 August 2026 that nearly half the land needed lies in Sangli, Satara, Solapur and Kolhapur (Free Press Journal, August 2026).

Source: Swarajya, 14 Jun 2026; 101Reporters, 20 Aug 2026; Free Press Journal, 30 Aug 2026

Route

Digraj to Banda

Districts

13

Khanapur villages

Bhagyanagar, Nevari

Status

Surveys, opposition

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Khanapur
  • Kadegaon
Section 3A notice · Apr 2026 (Solapur plot)

NH-166 Sangli–Solapur four-laning

A Gazette of India notification of 23 April 2026 (S.O. 2039(E)) declared the Government’s intention to acquire land under section 3A of the National Highways Act, 1956 for widening NH-166 to four lanes with paved shoulders between km 331.200 and km 357.650 of the Sangli–Solapur section; the plot it lists is 0.09 hectare in Shingoli village, Mohol taluka, Solapur district, with 21 days for objections (Gazette of India, April 2026). It describes no Sangli land.

Source: Gazette of India, 23 Apr 2026

Stretch

km 331.200–357.650

Plot listed

0.09 ha, Solapur

Objections

21 days

Sangli land

Not described

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Sangli district (section name only)
Proposed · 2023 report, status not confirmed

Pune–Bengaluru greenfield expressway

India Infra Hub reported on 28 July 2023 on a proposed greenfield expressway of roughly 700 km under Bharatmala Phase 2, estimated at ₹50,000 crore, passing through Pune, Satara and Sangli in Maharashtra, with about 7,166 acres needed in Maharashtra; land acquisition had not started and Centre clearance of the detailed project report was pending (India Infra Hub, July 2023). We found no later report.

Source: India Infra Hub, 28 Jul 2023

Length

About 700 km

Estimate

₹50,000 crore

Land in Maharashtra

About 7,166 acres

Status

Not confirmed

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Sangli district (named)
Ongoing · undated reports

Pune–Miraj rail doubling

UNI reported the completion of the 9.45 km Shindawane–Ambale Ghat section and of the Pune–Satara doubling (year not stated) (UNI, undated report), and a separate undated report of a 21-day block for interlocking work at the Neera yard shows the Pune–Miraj project still under way (UNI, undated block report). We found no report on the sections between Satara and Miraj or on the completion date.

Source: UNI (year not stated on either page)

Pune–Satara

Reported complete

Satara–Miraj

Not found

Completion

Not found

Reports

Undated

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Miraj
  • Sangli

Agriculture & terrain

Soil, crops & water in Sangli

A jowar, wheat and sugarcane district on deep black soils, irrigated mainly from dug wells and the Krishna schemes, with groundwater development already high in the east.

🌾 Soil and crops

The CGWB booklet describes deep black soils on 3,892 sq km, medium-deep soils on 1,640 sq km and coarse shallow soils on 3,059 sq km. Its 2010-11 cropped areas are jowar 272,765 ha, other cereals 97,003 ha and wheat 30,965 ha; it also lists sugarcane at 51,016 without a unit (CGWB Sangli booklet).

  • Jowar
  • Wheat
  • Sugarcane
  • Cereals

💧 Irrigation

In 2010-11 major projects benefited 84,725 ha (82,786 ha actually irrigated), medium projects 15,075 ha (6,919 ha), small projects 35,614 ha (13,486 ha), and 54,064 dug wells irrigated 102,327 ha (CGWB Sangli booklet).

  • Major projects
  • Dug wells
  • Medium projects

🌊 Rivers and geology

The Krishna is the main river, with the Yerla, Agrani, Man and Bor; most of the district is underlain by Deccan Trap basalt with recent alluvium along the rivers (CGWB Sangli booklet).

  • Krishna
  • Yerla
  • Agrani
  • Man

💧 Rainfall & groundwater

The booklet’s summary gives a normal rainfall of 550 mm, and its annual data run from 558.8 mm in Jath to 938.9 mm in Shirala. The district stage of groundwater development is 76.72% (2008-09), with Kavathe Mahankal at 93.72% (critical) and Miraj at 90.05% (semi-critical) (CGWB Sangli booklet). The CGWB 2024 state report gives no Sangli stage, but lists Sangli among districts with anomalous electrical conductivity and nitrate in groundwater (CGWB, 2024).

📐 Measurement units

One guntha is 1,089 sq ft (The Week gives that figure) and, on our arithmetic, 40 gunthas make an acre; one hectare is about 2.47 acres. Records and court texts use hectares and acres, while sellers’ units can differ from taluka to taluka, so convert every quote to acres or hectares and read the area off the 7/12 before comparing two offers. Check live mandi prices on Agmarknet, not opened for this page; price a parcel on location and permitted use, not on crop income.

At a glance

Sangli vs. its neighbours

District / beltEstimated land price* (per acre)Basis
Sangli — Miraj, Sangli, Walwa, Palus Krishna belt₹25 lakh–₹1 crore*Indicative estimate; wide band
Sangli — Tasgaon, Kadegaon, Shirala₹10–50 lakh*Indicative estimate; wide band
Sangli — Jat, Atpadi, Kavathe Mahankal, Khanapur east₹4–15 lakh*Indicative estimate; check alignment and water
SataraNot estimated hereSee the Satara page
KolhapurNot estimated hereSee the Kolhapur page
SolapurNot estimated hereSee the Solapur page

*Indicative only, not a valuation or an offer; prices vary by plot, road access and title. Check the guideline or ready-reckoner rate with the Sub-Registrar. See the Satara page, the Kolhapur page and the Solapur page for nearby Maharashtra districts.

Fenced farm plot with boundary stones and sugarcane fields in the Krishna valley near Sangli, Maharashtra

District report — Sangli

Farmland India view

Why investors look at Sangli

Five reasoned points, with an honest note that price evidence is thin and the corridor is already touching farms.

Irrigated Krishna belt

Major projects benefited 84,725 ha in 2010-11 and dug wells irrigated 102,327 ha (CGWB Sangli booklet), so irrigated land is the district’s anchor market.

A dry east with tight groundwater

Kavathe Mahankal is critical at 93.72% and Miraj semi-critical at 90.05% (CGWB Sangli booklet), so a borewell claim needs checking before it is priced in.

A corridor that is real but contested

Khanapur villagers describe land loss and field fragmentation (101Reporters, August 2026), and the route is in the survey stage (Swarajya, June 2026). Price on the road that exists today.

Highway widening nearby

NH-166 four-laning is moving through section 3A notices, though the April 2026 notice described a Solapur plot (Gazette of India, April 2026).

A paperwork-led market

Farmer-only purchase, standard-area limits, ceiling, flood-zone and alignment checks are all parcel-specific. The return case rests on location and permitted use, not on crop yield.

Browse reviewed land in Sangli

Confirm land-use, tribal-land and Ready Reckoner status directly; these are not certified by Farmland India’s review.

STRAIGHT TALK

Risks & challenges in Sangli

Read these before shortlisting in Sangli specifically.

Acquisition on the Shaktipeeth route

Villagers in Khanapur taluka describe losing about half their land and fragmented fields (101Reporters, August 2026); nearly half the land needed lies in four districts including Sangli (Free Press Journal, August 2026). Check the alignment on the survey number.

Flood and water quality

The 2019 floods hit Sangli (National Herald, August 2019), and the CGWB 2024 report lists Sangli among districts with anomalous conductivity and nitrate (CGWB, 2024). Ask for a flood-zone status and a water test.

Tight groundwater in the east

Kavathe Mahankal is critical and Miraj semi-critical on the 2008-09 figures (CGWB Sangli booklet), which are old; a borewell claim needs a recent record.

Farmer-only purchase

Section 63 voids a sale to a non-agriculturist unless an exception or permission applies (Indian Kanoon text of section 63), and the Revenue Minister repeated the farmer-status requirement in July 2026 (IANS, July 2026).

Small plots and fragmentation

Sales below the standard area are restricted, and the 2025 relief covers only listed urban and planning zones (TeamLease RegTech). A road cutting through a holding can leave uneconomic remnants.

Data gaps and no deed series

The booklet figures are from 2008-2011, the population label refers to the 2001 Census, the bands on this page are indicative estimates*, not deal prices, and the Pune–Bengaluru proposal is a 2023 report with no later status. Collect registered comparables in the same revenue village before negotiating.

Who to contact

Local revenue, planning & forest offices

Mutation and 7/12 matters go through the Tahsildar of the relevant taluka (the CGWB booklet lists ten), under the District Collector, Sangli. Sale-deed registration is handled by the local Sub-Registrar under the Inspector General of Registration; development-plan and flood-zone questions go to the planning authority and the Irrigation Department; and forest status goes to the Forest Department’s divisional office. The Sangli portal home page we opened listed no office details, and we could not open the Mahabhumi or IGR rate pages, so check them directly.

COMMON QUESTIONS

Frequently asked questions

Everything buyers, NRIs and investors ask before their first reviewed farmland purchase in Sangli.

Visit full wiki

01 of 04

What does farm land cost in Sangli?

Our estimate is about ₹4 lakh to ₹1 crore per acre*, depending on the belt: roughly ₹25 lakh–₹1 crore in the irrigated Miraj, Sangli, Walwa and Palus Krishna belt, ₹10–50 lakh in Tasgaon, Kadegaon and Shirala, and ₹4–15 lakh in the dry Jat, Atpadi, Kavathe Mahankal and Khanapur east. These are wide, rounded, indicative estimates, not a valuation or an offer. Prices vary by plot, road access and title, so check the Ready Reckoner rate with the Sub-Registrar.

Ready to look at what is available?

Browse reviewed listings

Transparency

Sources and references

Law and courts

Government

News

Further reading

Data-currency note: CGWB booklet figures (area, talukas, crops, irrigation, groundwater) date from 2008-2013 and the population figure refers to the 2001 Census; infrastructure statuses were read in October 2026 and change quickly; some rail reports carry no year; Ready Reckoner items are reports, not notified village schedules; estimated land prices are indicative and are not taken from any registered deed. Pages marked “not opened” are named only as places to check. This is a general guide, not legal advice. Report inaccuracies to wiki@farmlandindia.com.

For developers

Ready to explore Sangli farmland?

Browse reviewed projects and individual land parcels across Sangli — or if you own land here, list it with platform review and reach serious buyers.

Farmland India ("the Platform"), operated by Bulk Procure Private Limited, is a digital marketplace for listing agricultural land, farmhouse and plotted development projects. The Platform is not a real estate broker, agent or intermediary under RERA or any other applicable law, and does not act for either party to a transaction.

Listings are submitted by developers, owners and their authorised representatives. Before publication, the Platform carries out a documentary review of the material supplied and records what was sighted. That review is limited to the documents made available to us at that time. It is not a title investigation, not a legal opinion, and not a warranty of title, approvals, or the accuracy of any information supplied by a lister. The Trust Score is an internal assessment produced from that review and is intended as a research aid, not as a guarantee of outcome.

Every buyer must carry out independent due diligence before any transaction — including verification of land records, encumbrance searches, approvals and regulatory compliance — through their own advocate and chartered accountant. Any legal or advisory professional introduced through the Platform is engaged directly by the user, on that professional's own terms; the Platform does not employ, supervise or accept responsibility for their work.

Nothing on the Platform is investment advice. Land values can fall as well as rise. The Platform is not liable for any loss, dispute or damage arising from a transaction between parties.