Farmland India
Cotton and wheat fields near Aurangabad (Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar), Maharashtra, with a rocky ridge in the distance

District guide

Buying Land in Aurangabad

Officially renamed Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar: a Marathwada black-soil district with the Samruddhi Mahamarg open, industrial-belt roads approved around Shendra and Bidkin, and an estimated land price* that varies widely by belt.

  • about 10,107 sq km

    Area (CGWB)

  • 36.96 lakh

    Population (Census 2011)

  • ₹4 lakh–1.5 crore per acre

    Estimated land price*

  • 9

    Talukas (CGWB)

*Indicative range across districts and land types. Stamp duty, registration and conversion charges are additional. Local measurement units vary — every listing states the unit it is priced in. Not a valuation or an offer.

District land record — Aurangabad

Rev. 2026 · Farmland India desk

State

Maharashtra (Aurangabad district, officially Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar, in Marathwada)

Sub-divisions

The CGWB booklet lists nine talukas, which are Aurangabad, Paithan, Gangapur, Vaijapur, Kannad, Soegaon, Sillod, Phulambri and Khultabad (it misprints one as “Chaika”) (CGWB Aurangabad booklet); the district portal did not list talukas, so the current list was not checked

Key markets

Shendra–Bidkin industrial belt · Aurangabad city outskirts · Paithan · Gangapur and Vaijapur · Sillod and Kannad

Demand anchors

Shendra–Bidkin six-lane link approved Nov 2025 · Bidkin–Dhoregaon road to the Pune highway · planned link from the Karmad industrial node to the Samruddhi Mahamarg · Samruddhi (open since June 2025)

Rail

Not researched for this page; check Indian Railways

Size and population

About 10,107 sq km and 36,95,928 people (Census 2011 as given in the CGWB booklet) (CGWB Aurangabad booklet)

Estimated land price*

₹4 lakh–1.5 crore per acre depending on the belt (indicative; see the note under the price table)

Pricing unit

₹/acre or ₹/guntha (farm land) · ₹/sq m (ready-reckoner rates for plots)

Local units

Records use hectares, acres and gunthas (1 guntha = 1,089 sq ft; 1 acre = 40 gunthas); local units vary by taluka and village, so convert any quote to acres before comparing (1 hectare = 2.47 acres)

Land records portal

Digitally signed 7/12 and 8A extracts; the Mahabhumi portal was not opened for this page, so check records there

District overview

Aurangabad — a Marathwada district on the Godavari, with a road-led industrial belt

Aurangabad (officially Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar) covers about 10,107 sq km with 36,95,928 people in the 2011 Census as the CGWB booklet gives it, on deep and medium black cotton soils formed from Deccan Trap basalt, with the Godavari as the major river, the Purna as the other main drainage and the Dudhna and Shivna among the tributaries (CGWB Aurangabad booklet). The booklet lists nine talukas, an average rainfall of about 705 mm for 2002-11, and wheat, jowar, cotton and pulses as the main crops. The Revenue Department notified the change of Aurangabad to Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar at district, taluka, sub-division and village level around 15 September 2023 (The Hitavada, September 2023; Madhyamam, September 2023). This page keeps the CMS name Aurangabad and uses the official name where reports do.

The land story is roads and industry. In a report of 20 November 2025 the infrastructure committee of the state cabinet cleared a six-lane Shendra–Bidkin road of 32.8 km, a six-lane Bidkin–Dhoregaon road of 26 km joining the Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar–Pune highway, and in principle a greenfield road from the Karmad node of the Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar–Jalna industrial corridor to the Samruddhi Mahamarg via Bidkin; the report gave no costs or timelines (NBM&CW, November 2025). The Samruddhi Mahamarg itself was completed on 5 June 2025 and spans ten districts (The Week, June 2025).

No registered-deed or asking-price series was found for farm land, and Maharashtra’s Ready Reckoner rates were held unchanged for 2026-27 (The Hitavada, April 2026). The bands on this page, from about ₹4 lakh to ₹1.5 crore per acre*, are rounded estimates derived by analogy with comparable districts and industrial corridors, with the top band only for land beside the industrial belt and the city edge.

  • Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar
  • Bidkin
  • Shendra
  • Paithan
  • Gangapur
  • Samruddhi
Locator map of Aurangabad (Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar) district in Maharashtra showing Aurangabad, Paithan, Gangapur, Vaijapur and Sillod

Transaction costs

Stamp duty & registration in Aurangabad

5% + 1%

Municipal corporation and council areas

of market value, with a further 1% levy from 8 Feb 2019 in notified areas; Act text to May 2019

4%

Gram panchayat and other areas

of market value in the same Act text; Act text to May 2019

1%

Registration fee

capped at Rs 30,000; Act text to May 2019; Free Press Journal, May 2025

The figures above come from a reproduction of Article 25 of the Maharashtra Stamp Act, 1958 amended to May 2019 (text), and the Rs 30,000 cap is repeated in a May 2025 report (Free Press Journal). The additional 1% for metro and infrastructure was still mentioned as current in April 2025 (Business Standard), and whether it applies to a particular village in Aurangabad is unconfirmed. The grantee bears the duty unless the parties agree otherwise, and an understated value draws the shortfall plus a penalty of 2% a month, capped at four times the deficit (Maharashtra Stamp Act PDF, IGR). The IGR home page and Citizen’s Charter we opened give no rate table (IGR Maharashtra; Citizen’s Charter), so the current schedule is unconfirmed and local rates can differ; read it from the department or the Sub-Registrar before budgeting. The May 2025 cabinet waived the registration fee on partition documents for agricultural land, not on sale deeds, and a May 2026 report of a further exemption on land purchases did not say which purchases it covers (Nation Press, May 2026). Sale deeds are registered online through iSARITA with payment through GRAS.

Know the belt

What is moving prices in Aurangabad

Road and industrial-belt reports, plus wide indicative price bands marked *. No registered-deed series was found.

Industrial belt and city edge: Shendra, Bidkin, Aurangabad outskirts, Paithan road

Estimated land price*: ₹30 lakh–1.5 crore per acre

The cabinet infrastructure committee cleared the Shendra–Bidkin and Bidkin–Dhoregaon six-lane roads in November 2025 (NBM&CW, November 2025). The band is wide and rounded and is not a deal price; land inside notified industrial or planning areas is a different market from farm land.

Check: whether the survey number lies in an MIDC, planning-authority or Regional Plan zone and on which road.

Godavari irrigated talukas: Gangapur, Vaijapur, Paithan

Estimated land price*: ₹10–35 lakh per acre

Dug wells irrigate most of the district and groundwater supplies about 71% of irrigation (CGWB Aurangabad booklet). We found no dated rate or award here, so the band is an indicative range.

Check: well yield, access to the river or canal and the groundwater class.

Northern talukas: Sillod, Soegaon, Kannad, Khultabad, Phulambri

Estimated land price*: ₹4–15 lakh per acre

Wheat, jowar, cotton and pulses lead the crop area (CGWB Aurangabad booklet). No dated rate or award was found.

Check: water source, road access in the record and forest or sanctuary status.

Ready Reckoner 2026-27

Held unchanged (state-wide, reported)

Maharashtra’s Ready Reckoner rates rose 3.89% on average from 1 April 2025, with rural areas up 3.36%, as reported (IANS, April 2026; Business Standard, April 2025), and rates for 2026-27 were held unchanged (The Hitavada, April 2026; The Realty Today, April 2026). These are state-wide figures; we found no Aurangabad-specific rate or village-level schedule, and the IGR rate lookup was not opened.

Check: the rate in force for the village on the date of the deed.

Samruddhi Mahamarg

Open since 5 Jun 2025

The 701 km expressway across ten districts was completed on 5 June 2025 (The Week, June 2025); the cabinet committee’s planned Karmad link would join it via Bidkin (NBM&CW, November 2025). Interchange locations in this district were not researched.

Check: the nearest interchange and whether a link road is only approved in principle.

Units: acres, hectares, gunthas and local terms

Records give land in hectares, acres and gunthas; one guntha is 1,089 sq ft and an acre is 40 gunthas. Local trade terms can differ by taluka and village, so ask the seller to state the area in the 7/12 and convert before comparing quotes. Plot rates inside the city and industrial belt are not comparable with farm-land rates.

Connectivity

How Aurangabad connects — road, rail and air

Only items with a source are listed; rail, airport and highway numbers were not researched for this page.

By road

Shendra–Bidkin roadSix-lane, 32.8 km; cleared Nov 2025
Bidkin–Dhoregaon roadSix-lane, 26 km, to the Pune highway; cleared Nov 2025
Karmad–Samruddhi linkGreenfield, in-principle approval; length not stated
Samruddhi Mahamarg701 km, completed 5 Jun 2025

By rail

Stations and servicesNot researched for this page
CheckIndian Railways
FreightNot researched
New linesNot researched

By air

AirportNot researched for this page
SchedulesCheck AAI and airlines
Ground linkNot researched
Samruddhi linkNot researched

The last leg from the highway to the parcel decides usability; ask for the access road in the revenue record. Full rules for buyers: state-wise land laws.

Growth catalysts

Upcoming infrastructure & developments

Status labels reflect sources read in October 2026. Government-announced timelines are not guaranteed; items marked reported rest on a single outlet.

01Open or inaugurated

03In progress or pending

Open · completed 5 Jun 2025 Samruddhi Mahamarg
Cleared by cabinet committee · Nov 2025 Shendra–Bidkin and Bidkin–Dhoregaon roads
In-principle approval · Nov 2025 Karmad–Samruddhi greenfield link
Ministerial statement · 8 Jul 2026 Farmer-status checks at registration
Open · completed 5 Jun 2025

Samruddhi Mahamarg

The 701 km expressway’s final 76 km, Igatpuri to Amane, opened on 5 June 2025, completing a road across ten districts with a travel time of about eight hours (The Week, June 2025). The report does not name the districts; the cabinet committee’s November 2025 item links a planned road to it via Bidkin (NBM&CW, November 2025), and interchange locations in this district were not researched.

Source: The Week, 5 Jun 2025; NBM&CW, 20 Nov 2025

Length

701 km

Final stretch

76 km, Jun 2025

Districts

10

Interchanges here

Not researched

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Aurangabad
  • Gangapur
  • Vaijapur
Cleared by cabinet committee · Nov 2025

Shendra–Bidkin and Bidkin–Dhoregaon roads

The infrastructure committee cleared a six-lane Shendra Industrial Estate to Bidkin Industrial Estate road of 32.8 km and a six-lane Bidkin to Dhoregaon road of 26 km linking to the Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar–Pune highway (NBM&CW, November 2025). The report states no costs, funding or timelines, so no construction start is confirmed.

Source: NBM&CW, 20 Nov 2025

Shendra–Bidkin

32.8 km, six-lane

Bidkin–Dhoregaon

26 km, six-lane

Cleared

Nov 2025

Cost and timeline

Not stated

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Shendra
  • Bidkin
  • Aurangabad
In-principle approval · Nov 2025

Karmad–Samruddhi greenfield link

The same committee gave in-principle approval to a greenfield road joining the Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar–Jalna industrial corridor node at Karmad to the Samruddhi Mahamarg via Bidkin; no length is stated (NBM&CW, November 2025).

Source: NBM&CW, 20 Nov 2025

From

Karmad node

To

Samruddhi via Bidkin

Length

Not stated

Status

In principle

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Bidkin
  • Aurangabad
Ministerial statement · 8 Jul 2026

Farmer-status checks at registration

The Revenue Minister told the Assembly that only recognised farmers may buy agricultural land, that buyers must show proof of farmer status and that stamp officers can check holdings; IANS named no new Act or resolution (IANS, July 2026). The statement applies state-wide.

Source: IANS, 8 Jul 2026

Scope

State-wide

Basis

Statement, no Act named

Reported

Jul 2026

Effect locally

Not specific

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Aurangabad
  • Paithan
  • Sillod

Agriculture & terrain

Soil, crops & water in Aurangabad

A wheat, jowar and cotton district on deep black soils, irrigated mostly from dug wells, with groundwater classed safe in 2009 data.

🌾 Soil and crops

The CGWB booklet describes deep and medium black cotton (regur) soils formed from weathered Deccan Trap basalt. For 2005-06 it lists wheat on 2,381.70 sq km, jowar on 2,301.33, cotton on 1,329.16 and pulses on 1,189.30 (CGWB Aurangabad booklet).

  • Wheat
  • Jowar
  • Cotton
  • Pulses

💧 Irrigation

The booklet records 101,185 dug wells with 266,139 hectares of potential and 2,336 bore wells with 4,582 hectares in 2006-07, plus 266 tanks and ponds with 39,791 hectares in 2001 data; groundwater supplies about 71% of irrigation (CGWB Aurangabad booklet).

  • Dug wells
  • Bore wells
  • Tanks
  • Ponds

🌊 Rivers and forest

The Godavari is the major river, the Purna the other main drainage, and the Dudhna and Shivna are among the tributaries (CGWB Aurangabad booklet). We found no forest-area figure in the sources we read, so forest and river-bank parcels need a written status from the Forest Department and the Collector.

  • Godavari
  • Purna
  • Dudhna
  • Shivna

💧 Rainfall & groundwater

The CGWB booklet gives an average of 705.08 mm for 2002-11 and classes the district safe at 62% development on March 2009 data (CGWB Aurangabad booklet). Marathwada groundwater reports of later years describe falling levels; we did not open them. We read only the state-level 2024 assessment (CGWB, 2024) and did not find Aurangabad block figures.

📐 Measurement units

Land is recorded in hectares, acres and gunthas, with 40 gunthas to the acre. Local units vary by taluka, so convert every quote to acres before comparing. Price a parcel on location, water and permitted use, not on crop income.

At a glance

Aurangabad vs. its neighbours

District / beltEstimated land price* (per acre)Basis
Aurangabad: industrial belt and city edge₹30 lakh–1.5 crore*Indicative estimate; wide band
Aurangabad: Godavari irrigated talukas₹10–35 lakh*Indicative estimate; wide band
Aurangabad: northern talukas₹4–15 lakh*Indicative estimate; wide band
JalnaNot estimated hereSee the Jalna page
NashikNot estimated hereSee the Nashik page

*Indicative only, not a valuation or an offer; prices vary by plot, road access and title. Check the guideline or ready-reckoner rate with the Sub-Registrar. See the Jalna page, the Nashik page, Beed, Ahmed Nagar and Jalgaon for neighbouring districts.

Fenced farm plot with boundary stones and cotton fields near Aurangabad, Maharashtra

District report — Aurangabad

Farmland India view

Why investors look at Aurangabad

Five reasoned points, with an honest note that the price evidence is thin and the road projects are approvals, not construction.

An expressway already open

The Samruddhi Mahamarg was completed in June 2025 (The Week, June 2025). Interchange locations in this district were not researched, so check the distance to the nearest one.

Industrial-corridor roads approved

Six-lane roads linking Shendra, Bidkin and the Pune highway were cleared in November 2025 (NBM&CW, November 2025). Approval is not construction, and the report gave no timelines.

A city market beside farm land

Our estimated bands run from about ₹4 lakh to ₹1.5 crore per acre*, reflecting the gap between industrial-belt land and the northern talukas; the bands are indicative and rest on analogy, not on deeds.

Black-soil farming with safe groundwater in 2009 data

Wheat, jowar and cotton lead, and the district was classed safe at 62% development (CGWB Aurangabad booklet). The data are old, so check current levels.

A paperwork-led market

Section 63 farmer-only rules, the standard-area limit, Marathwada tenancy rules, industrial notifications and the district’s name change in records are parcel-specific. Read the 7/12 before the price.

Browse reviewed land in Aurangabad

Confirm land-use, tenancy and ready-reckoner status directly; these are not certified by Farmland India’s review.

STRAIGHT TALK

Risks & challenges in Aurangabad

Read these before shortlisting in Aurangabad specifically.

Farmer-only bar

Section 63 voids a sale of agricultural land to a non-agriculturist unless an exception or permission applies (Indian Kanoon text), and the Revenue Minister repeated in July 2026 that proof of farmer status is required (IANS, July 2026).

Approved is not built

The Shendra–Bidkin, Bidkin–Dhoregaon and Karmad link projects were cleared in November 2025 with no costs or timelines stated (NBM&CW, November 2025). Price on today’s fundamentals.

Industrial and planning zones

Land near the industrial belt may sit under MIDC or planning-authority notifications that change what can be done with it. We did not research the boundaries.

Groundwater

The 62% safe rating is for March 2009 (CGWB Aurangabad booklet); later Marathwada reports describe falling levels. Check bore-well yield and the current class.

Name change in records

Documents may carry Aurangabad or Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar. Match survey numbers and village names, not the district name.

Stamp duty and data age

The current stamp-duty schedule was not found on the IGR pages we opened, the CGWB data date from 2009-13, and the price bands here are indicative and not from any registered deed.

Who to contact

Local revenue, planning & forest offices

Permissions under the Tenancy Act, tenant-land sanctions and conversion matters go to the District Collector’s office or an officer the State authorises (section 63 text), while questions on whether a buyer is an agriculturist go to the Mamlatdar (Manupat case guide). Extracts, mutation and the village record sit with the Talathi and the Tahsildar of the taluka (Free Press Journal, December 2025), and the Settlement Commissioner and Director of Land Records runs the digital records and e-Mojani measurement (Elets, February 2025). Sale deeds are registered with the Sub-Registrar of the taluka under the Inspector General of Registration (IGR Citizen’s Charter). The CGWB booklet lists nine talukas (CGWB Aurangabad booklet), and which Tahsil covers a given village depends on the survey number, so use the 7/12 to identify it. The district is officially Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar, and offices may use either name. Zone, road and layout questions go to the town planning office or planning authority, and forest or sanctuary status to the Divisional Forest Officer; the official district portal blocked automated access, so we have not named office addresses.

COMMON QUESTIONS

Frequently asked questions

Everything buyers, NRIs and investors ask before their first reviewed farmland purchase in Aurangabad.

Visit full wiki

01 of 04

What does farm land cost in Aurangabad (Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar)?

Our estimate is about ₹4 lakh to ₹1.5 crore per acre*, depending on the belt: roughly ₹30 lakh–1.5 crore at the industrial belt and city edge (Shendra, Bidkin, Paithan road), ₹10–35 lakh in the Godavari irrigated talukas, and ₹4–15 lakh in the northern talukas. These are wide, rounded, indicative estimates, not a valuation or an offer. Prices vary by plot, road access and title, so check the ready-reckoner rate with the Sub-Registrar.

Ready to look at what is available?

Browse reviewed listings

Transparency

Sources and references

Law and courts

Government

News

Further reading

Data-currency note: district area, population, rainfall, soils and groundwater come from a CGWB booklet dated 2013 with 2005-11 data; the district portal did not list talukas and was not read further; infrastructure statuses were read in October 2026 and change quickly; estimated land prices are indicative and are not taken from any registered deed. This is a general guide, not legal advice. Report inaccuracies to wiki@farmlandindia.com.

For developers

Ready to explore Aurangabad farmland?

Browse reviewed projects and individual land parcels across Aurangabad — or if you own land here, list it with platform review and reach serious buyers.

Farmland India ("the Platform"), operated by Bulk Procure Private Limited, is a digital marketplace for listing agricultural land, farmhouse and plotted development projects. The Platform is not a real estate broker, agent or intermediary under RERA or any other applicable law, and does not act for either party to a transaction.

Listings are submitted by developers, owners and their authorised representatives. Before publication, the Platform carries out a documentary review of the material supplied and records what was sighted. That review is limited to the documents made available to us at that time. It is not a title investigation, not a legal opinion, and not a warranty of title, approvals, or the accuracy of any information supplied by a lister. The Trust Score is an internal assessment produced from that review and is intended as a research aid, not as a guarantee of outcome.

Every buyer must carry out independent due diligence before any transaction — including verification of land records, encumbrance searches, approvals and regulatory compliance — through their own advocate and chartered accountant. Any legal or advisory professional introduced through the Platform is engaged directly by the user, on that professional's own terms; the Platform does not employ, supervise or accept responsibility for their work.

Nothing on the Platform is investment advice. Land values can fall as well as rise. The Platform is not liable for any loss, dispute or damage arising from a transaction between parties.