Farmland India
Vineyard rows and farm fields on the Nashik plateau, Maharashtra, with hills in the distance

District guide

Buying Land in Nashik

A Kumbh-year district with the Samruddhi Mahamarg at Igatpuri, a disputed Outer Ring Road, a 374 km Nashik–Akkalkot corridor in acquisition, and an estimated land price* that varies widely by belt.

  • about 15,500 sq km

    Area (CGWB booklet)

  • about 61 lakh

    Population (CGWB booklet)

  • ₹6 lakh–₹3 crore per acre

    Estimated land price*

  • 374 km, acquisition advanced

    Nashik–Akkalkot corridor

*Indicative range across districts and land types. Stamp duty, registration and conversion charges are additional. Local measurement units vary — every listing states the unit it is priced in. Not a valuation or an offer.

District land record — Nashik

Rev. 2026 · Farmland India desk

State

Maharashtra

Sub-divisions

The CGWB booklet lists 15 talukas: Nashik, Igatpuri, Dindori, Peint, Surgana, Deola, Satana, Kalwan, Chandwad, Niphad, Sinnar, Yeola, Malegaon, Nandgaon and Trimbakeshwar (CGWB Nashik district booklet). The district portal opened but did not list them (Nashik district portal)

Key markets

Nashik city fringe · Igatpuri and Trimbakeshwar · Sinnar · Niphad · Dindori · Yeola and Chandwad

Demand anchors

Simhastha Kumbh Mela 2027 works · Outer Ring Road (alignment disputed) · Samruddhi Mahamarg (Igatpuri) · Nashik–Akkalkot corridor

Rail

Rail services were not researched for this page; check Indian Railways for stations and trains

Size and population

About 15,500 sq km (the CGWB booklet gives 15,548 and 15,530 sq km in two places) · about 61 lakh people (61,09,052 in the booklet, which labels it 2011 Census in one table and 2001 in its text, so confirm against Census tables) (CGWB Nashik district booklet)

Estimated land price*

₹6 lakh–₹3 crore per acre depending on the belt (indicative; see the note under the price table)

Pricing unit

₹/acre (farm land) · ₹/guntha for small plots · ₹/sq m (Ready Reckoner)

Local units

1 guntha = 1,089 sq ft and 40 gunthas = 1 acre; sellers may quote other local units, so convert every offer to acres or hectares (1 hectare = 2.47 acres)

Land records portal

Digital 7/12 and 8A extracts carry legal validity under a December 2025 government resolution (Free Press Journal, December 2025); the Mahabhulekh portal was not opened for this page

District overview

Nashik — a Kumbh city with expressway corridors and a wide spread of land values

Nashik district covers about 15,500 sq km and had roughly 61 lakh people in the CGWB booklet, with the Godavari and Girna as the main rivers and 15 talukas (CGWB Nashik district booklet). Annual rainfall runs from about 575 mm to 2,500 mm across the district in the booklet’s summary, so the western hill talukas and the eastern plains behave like different markets.

We found no registered-deed series for farm land and no village-wise Ready Reckoner figure; the state kept the 2026-27 rates unchanged (The Hitavada, April 2026). The estimated bands on this page run from about ₹6 lakh to ₹3 crore per acre*: the Kumbh and expressway belt sits at the top and the dry eastern and northern talukas at the bottom. They are wide and indicative.

Public works drive most of the news. The Samruddhi Mahamarg’s last 76 km, from Igatpuri to Amane, was inaugurated on 5 June 2025 (The Week, June 2025); land acquisition for Kumbh Mela 2027 roads and ghats was under way in January 2026 (Swarajya, January 2026); and the 374 km Nashik–Akkalkot corridor had reached about 90% Section 3A notification by January 2026 (Swarajya, January 2026).

  • Igatpuri
  • Trimbakeshwar
  • Sinnar
  • Niphad
  • Dindori
  • Yeola
Locator map of Nashik district in Maharashtra showing Nashik, Igatpuri, Sinnar, Niphad and Yeola

Transaction costs

Stamp duty & registration in Nashik

4%

Stamp duty, gram panchayat areas

Act text amended to May 2019; confirm the current schedule

5% + 1%

Municipal corporation and council areas

plus a further 1% in notified areas; confirm by area

1%, max ₹30,000

Registration fee

Act text and a May 2025 report; confirm with the Sub-Registrar

Article 25 of the Maharashtra Stamp Act as amended to May 2019 gives 5% plus 1% in municipal corporation and council areas, a further 1% levy from 8 February 2019 in notified areas, and 4% in gram panchayat areas, with a registration fee of 1% capped at Rs 30,000 (Maharashtra Stamp Act, Article 25 (amended to May 2019); Free Press Journal, May 2025). We could not open the current rate schedule on the Inspector General of Registration’s site (Inspector General of Registration, Maharashtra), so treat these figures as reported and ask the Sub-Registrar for the schedule in force. The Ready Reckoner for 2026-27 was left unchanged from 2025-26 (The Hitavada, April 2026; IANS via Investment Guru India, April 2026); we did not find a village-wise rate for this district. A 27 May 2026 report of a cabinet exemption on land purchases did not state its scope, so no exemption is assumed here.

Know the belt

What is moving prices in Nashik

Corridor and acquisition news, plus wide indicative price bands marked *. No registered-deed series was found.

Kumbh, Samruddhi and Igatpuri–Trimbakeshwar belt

Estimated land price*: ₹40 lakh–₹3 crore per acre

This belt takes in the Nashik city fringe, Igatpuri (the end of the Samruddhi stretch opened in June 2025, The Week, June 2025) and Trimbakeshwar, where Kumbh 2027 works are acquiring land (Swarajya, January 2026). The band is wide and rounded and is not a deal price.

Check: whether the survey number sits on a proposed ghat, road or ring-road alignment.

Niphad, Sinnar and Dindori irrigated belt

Estimated land price*: ₹20–80 lakh per acre

These talukas carry much of the district’s irrigated farming; the CGWB booklet classes Niphad and Sinnar, with Chandwad and Deola, as semi-critical for groundwater at 31 March 2009 (CGWB Nashik district booklet). We found no dated rate or award for them, so the band is a wide, indicative range.

Check: borewell and canal water access, and the access road in the record.

Chandwad, Yeola, Malegaon, Nandgaon and Satana

Estimated land price*: ₹6–25 lakh per acre

These are the drier northern and eastern talukas. Land here is priced mainly on water, road access and size of plot. We found no dated rate, so the band is a wide, indicative range.

Check: water source, the title chain and whether the plot meets the standard area.

Ready Reckoner 2026-27

Unchanged from 2025-26

The state held its Ready Reckoner rates steady for 2026-27 (The Hitavada, April 2026); a 2025-26 rise averaged 3.89% statewide and 3.36% in rural areas (IANS via Investment Guru India, April 2026). No Nashik village figure was found.

Check: the rate for the village on the deed date.

Nashik–Akkalkot corridor

Acquisition well advanced (Jan 2026)

The 374 km, ₹19,142 crore corridor runs through Nashik, Ahilyanagar, Beed, Dharashiv and Solapur; the report names no Nashik taluka (Swarajya, January 2026).

Check: whether the survey number appears in a Section 3A or 3D notification.

Units: acres, gunthas, hectares and local terms

Maharashtra records use acres, hectares and gunthas: a Legislative Assembly report cites 1 guntha as about 1,089 sq ft, and 40 gunthas make an acre on our arithmetic (The Week, July 2025). Sellers may also quote other local units that differ by taluka, so convert every quote to acres or hectares (1 hectare = 2.47 acres) before comparing two offers.

Connectivity

How Nashik connects — road, rail and air

Only items with a source are listed; train services and flight schedules were not researched for this page.

By road

Samruddhi Mahamarg701 km Nagpur–Mumbai; final 76 km Igatpuri–Amane inaugurated 5 Jun 2025
Nashik–Akkalkot corridor374 km, ₹19,142 crore; acquisition advanced (Jan 2026)
Surat–Nashik–Ahmednagar section290.70 km; listed as in acquisition and bidding (Jul 2024 page)
Outer Ring RoadAlignment under inquiry (Jul 2026)

By rail

ServicesNot researched for this page; check Indian Railways
Rail line lengthNot sourced

By air

AirportNot researched for this page; check the Airports Authority
Mumbai reachSamruddhi gives road access via Igatpuri; no timing sourced

The practical question is the last leg from the highway to the parcel; ask for the access road in the revenue record. Full rules for buyers: state-wise land laws.

Growth catalysts

Upcoming infrastructure & developments

Status labels reflect sources read in October 2026. Government-announced timelines are not guaranteed; items marked reported rest on a single outlet.

01Open or inaugurated

03In progress or pending

Open · final stretch inaugurated 5 Jun 2025 Samruddhi Mahamarg (Igatpuri end)
Land acquisition under way · alignment under inquiry Kumbh Mela 2027 works and Outer Ring Road
Acquisition advanced · Jan 2026 Nashik–Akkalkot greenfield corridor
Reported · last update July 2024 Surat–Nashik–Ahmednagar section
Open · final stretch inaugurated 5 Jun 2025

Samruddhi Mahamarg (Igatpuri end)

The full Mumbai–Nagpur corridor is 701 km across 10 districts including Nashik, and the final 76 km from Igatpuri in Nashik district to Amane in Thane district was inaugurated on 5 June 2025; the report says Nagpur to Mumbai drops to about eight hours, and that public traffic might not have started the same day (The Week, June 2025).

Source: The Week, 5 Jun 2025

Length

701 km

Final stretch

76 km

Districts

10

Inaugurated

5 Jun 2025

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Igatpuri
  • Trimbakeshwar
  • Nashik
Land acquisition under way · alignment under inquiry

Kumbh Mela 2027 works and Outer Ring Road

In January 2026 the Nashik–Trimbakeshwar Kumbh Mela development authority directed departments to finish acquiring land for new ghats, roads and facilities, with preparatory works to follow (Swarajya, January 2026). On 10 July 2026 the government ordered a high-level inquiry into three changes to the proposed Outer Ring Road alignment, including the Matori and Mungsare villages, and said farmers would receive fair compensation (Free Press Journal, July 2026). The reports give no length, cost or completion date.

Source: Swarajya, 8 Jan 2026; Free Press Journal, 10 Jul 2026

Works

Ghats, roads, facilities

Ring road

Alignment disputed

Inquiry

Ordered Jul 2026

Dates

Not stated

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Nashik
  • Trimbakeshwar
  • Dindori
Acquisition advanced · Jan 2026

Nashik–Akkalkot greenfield corridor

A 374 km, six-lane, access-controlled corridor costing ₹19,142 crore, approved by the Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs, through Nashik, Ahilyanagar, Beed, Dharashiv and Solapur. A Lok Sabha reply of 29 January 2026 put Section 3A notification at about 90% of the land, Section 3D at about 80% and the compensation stage (3G) at about 40% (Swarajya, January 2026). No Nashik taluka is named in the report.

Source: Swarajya, 30 Jan 2026

Length

374 km

Cost

₹19,142 crore

3A / 3D

~90% / ~80%

3G

~40%

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Sinnar
  • Niphad
  • Yeola
Reported · last update July 2024

Surat–Nashik–Ahmednagar section

A project tracker lists the Surat–Ahmednagar greenfield section at 290.70 km across Gujarat and Maharashtra, shown as under construction, under bidding and in land acquisition with a December 2026 deadline; it gives no Nashik-only length or status (The Metro Rail Guy, Surat-Chennai Expressway page (updated July 2024)). The page was last updated in July 2024, so check NHAI for the current position.

Source: The Metro Rail Guy, updated 6 Jul 2024

Length

290.70 km

Deadline

Dec 2026 (listed)

Status

Mixed

Last update

Jul 2024

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Sinnar
  • Nashik
  • Dindori

Agriculture & terrain

Soil, crops & water in Nashik

A food-grain, pulse and sugarcane district with large irrigation from dug wells; groundwater was moderate overall in the older booklet, with four semi-critical talukas.

🌾 Soil and crops

The CGWB booklet names four soil types: lateritic black soil, reddish brown soil, coarse shallow reddish-black soil and medium light brownish-black soil. For 2008-09 it lists net area sown at 8,010 sq km, with food grains on 4,640 sq km, pulses on 780, oilseeds on 260 and sugarcane on 250 (CGWB Nashik district booklet). These are old figures.

  • Food grains
  • Pulses
  • Oilseeds
  • Sugarcane

💧 Irrigation

The booklet’s 2006-07 minor irrigation census lists 178,793 dug wells and 10,928 tube or bore wells, with net irrigated area of 342,762 hectares (CGWB Nashik district booklet). Wells, not canals, carry most irrigation, so water access varies by village.

  • Dug wells
  • Bore wells
  • Surface flow
  • Lift schemes

🌊 Rivers and forest

The Godavari and Girna are the main rivers, with others named in the booklet including the Darna, Kadva and Aram. It lists 3,442.37 sq km of forest for 2008-09 (CGWB Nashik district booklet). Forest-edge and river-bank parcels need a written status from the Forest Department and the Collector.

  • Godavari
  • Girna
  • Darna
  • Forest

💧 Rainfall & groundwater

The CGWB booklet gives normal rainfall of 575 mm to 2,500 mm in its summary and about 500 mm to 3,400 mm in its text, so the range is wide and rises sharply in the west. Groundwater development stood at 49.33% on 31 March 2009, with Chandwad, Deola, Niphad and Sinnar semi-critical (CGWB Nashik district booklet). The CGWB 2024 statewide assessment is the newer source: 52.99% for Maharashtra, with 8 of 359 assessment units over-exploited, 7 critical and 41 semi-critical (CGWB Maharashtra report, 2024); we did not find Nashik taluka figures from it.

📐 Measurement units

Records use hectares, acres and gunthas (1 guntha is about 1,089 sq ft and 40 gunthas make an acre); sellers may quote other local units, so convert every quote before comparing offers (1 hectare = 2.47 acres). Live mandi prices are on Agmarknet (not opened for this page); price a parcel on location and permitted use, not on crop income.

At a glance

Nashik vs. its neighbours

District / beltEstimated land price* (per acre)Basis
Nashik — Kumbh, Samruddhi, Igatpuri–Trimbakeshwar belt₹40 lakh–₹3 crore*Indicative estimate; very wide band
Nashik — Niphad, Sinnar, Dindori₹20–80 lakh*Indicative estimate; wide band
Nashik — Chandwad, Yeola, Malegaon, Nandgaon, Satana₹6–25 lakh*Indicative estimate; wide band
ThaneNot estimated hereSee the Thane page
Ahmed NagarNot estimated hereSee the Ahmed Nagar page
Jalgaon, DhuleNot estimated hereSee the Jalgaon and Dhule pages

*Indicative only, not a valuation or an offer; prices vary by plot, road access and title. Check the guideline or ready-reckoner rate with the Sub-Registrar. See the Thane page, Ahmed Nagar page, Jalgaon page and Dhule page for neighbouring districts, and the Maharashtra page for state rules.

Fenced farm plot with boundary stones and vineyard rows near Nashik, Maharashtra

District report — Nashik

Farmland India view

Why investors look at Nashik

Five reasoned points, with an honest note that the price evidence is thin and several corridors are still in acquisition.

An expressway end that is already open

The Igatpuri end of the Samruddhi Mahamarg was inaugurated in June 2025 (The Week, June 2025). That is a working road, which makes it a firmer basis for pricing than the corridors still being acquired.

Kumbh 2027 is pulling in public works

Land acquisition for ghats and roads was under way in January 2026 (Swarajya, January 2026). The works are tied to a fixed event, but the ring road alignment is now under inquiry (Free Press Journal, July 2026).

A large expressway in acquisition

The Nashik–Akkalkot corridor had about 90% of its land at Section 3A stage in January 2026 (Swarajya, January 2026). Acquisition fixes the alignment before it fixes the opening date.

Wide spread of land values

Irrigated, hill-edge and dry belts sit far apart, so the estimated bands* span about ₹6 lakh to ₹3 crore per acre. Location against a corridor matters more than taluka averages.

A paperwork-led market

Farmer-status checks, the standard-area rule, tribal-holder status and acquisition notices are all parcel-specific. The return case rests on location and permitted use, not on crop yield.

Browse reviewed land in Nashik

Confirm land-use, farmer-status and ready-reckoner details directly; these are not certified by Farmland India’s review.

STRAIGHT TALK

Risks & challenges in Nashik

Read these before shortlisting in Nashik specifically.

Farmer-only purchase rule

Section 63 bars a non-agriculturist from buying agricultural land unless an exception applies or the Collector permits it (Indian Kanoon, Act text), and the Revenue Minister said in July 2026 that buyers must show proof of farmer status (IANS via The Hawk, July 2026).

Acquisition and alignment disputes

The Outer Ring Road alignment changed three times and is under inquiry (Free Press Journal, July 2026), and the Nashik–Akkalkot corridor is in acquisition (Swarajya, January 2026). Get the notified alignment before paying a deposit.

Standard-area and fragmentation limits

Small plots may fall below the standard area for jirayat or bagayat land (Cyril Amarchand Mangaldas via Conventus). Ask for the 7/12 and the surveyed area.

Stamp duty schedule unconfirmed

The figures on this page come from an Act text amended to May 2019 (Maharashtra Stamp Act, Article 25 (amended to May 2019)); the current schedule was not opened. No Nashik village rate was found.

Announced is not delivered

The ring road has no stated length, cost or date in the reports we read, and the Surat–Nashik tracker page dates from July 2024. Price on today’s fundamentals.

Data conflicts and no deed series

The CGWB booklet gives two area figures and labels its population figure with two different Census years, and the price bands on this page are indicative estimates*, not deal prices. Collect registered comparables in the same revenue village before negotiating.

Who to contact

Local revenue, planning & forest offices

Mutation and revenue-record matters go through the Tehsildar of the relevant taluka (the CGWB booklet lists 15 talukas, see section 1), under the District Collector, Nashik. Sale-deed registration is handled by the local Sub-Registrar, land-acquisition notices by the Deputy Collector (Land Acquisition), and forest status by the Forest Department’s divisional office. Land records are on the Mahabhulekh portal. We opened the district portal home page (Nashik district portal) but not the Mahabhulekh, Inspector General of Registration rate or town-planning pages, so check them directly.

COMMON QUESTIONS

Frequently asked questions

Everything buyers, NRIs and investors ask before their first reviewed farmland purchase in Nashik.

Visit full wiki

01 of 04

What does farm land cost in Nashik?

Our estimate is about ₹6 lakh to ₹3 crore per acre*, depending on the belt: roughly ₹40 lakh to ₹3 crore around the Kumbh, Samruddhi and Igatpuri–Trimbakeshwar belt, ₹20–80 lakh in the Niphad, Sinnar and Dindori irrigated belt, and ₹6–25 lakh in the drier northern and eastern talukas. These are wide, rounded, indicative estimates, not a valuation or an offer. Prices vary by plot, road access and title, so check the Ready Reckoner rate with the Sub-Registrar.

Ready to look at what is available?

Browse reviewed listings

Transparency

Sources and references

Law and courts

Government

News

Further reading

Data-currency note: area, taluka list, crop and irrigation figures come from the CGWB booklet (crop data 2008-09, irrigation data 2006-07, groundwater data to 31 March 2009) and are old. Infrastructure statuses were read in October 2026 and change quickly; the Surat–Nashik item rests on a July 2024 tracker page. Stamp duty and Ready Reckoner items are reports or an amended-to-2019 Act text, not a current schedule. Estimated land prices are indicative and are not taken from any registered deed. Pages marked “not opened” are named only as places to check. This is a general guide, not legal advice. Report inaccuracies to wiki@farmlandindia.com.

For developers

Ready to explore Nashik farmland?

Browse reviewed projects and individual land parcels across Nashik — or if you own land here, list it with platform review and reach serious buyers.

Farmland India ("the Platform"), operated by Bulk Procure Private Limited, is a digital marketplace for listing agricultural land, farmhouse and plotted development projects. The Platform is not a real estate broker, agent or intermediary under RERA or any other applicable law, and does not act for either party to a transaction.

Listings are submitted by developers, owners and their authorised representatives. Before publication, the Platform carries out a documentary review of the material supplied and records what was sighted. That review is limited to the documents made available to us at that time. It is not a title investigation, not a legal opinion, and not a warranty of title, approvals, or the accuracy of any information supplied by a lister. The Trust Score is an internal assessment produced from that review and is intended as a research aid, not as a guarantee of outcome.

Every buyer must carry out independent due diligence before any transaction — including verification of land records, encumbrance searches, approvals and regulatory compliance — through their own advocate and chartered accountant. Any legal or advisory professional introduced through the Platform is engaged directly by the user, on that professional's own terms; the Platform does not employ, supervise or accept responsibility for their work.

Nothing on the Platform is investment advice. Land values can fall as well as rise. The Platform is not liable for any loss, dispute or damage arising from a transaction between parties.