Farmland India
Aerial view of scrub and small plots beside the Yamuna floodplain in North East Delhi with dense built-up colonies in the distance

District guide

Buying Land in North East Delhi

A dense, largely built-up district on the Yamuna: Karawal Nagar, Gokalpur, Yamuna Vihar and Shahdara, floodplain and unauthorised-colony limits, and where Delhi's farm belt really is.

  • 4 (Dec 2025)

    Sub-divisions

  • 31

    Revenue villages listed

  • 6% / 4%

    Stamp duty (men / women)

  • 1,511 of 1,731

    Colonies eligible for PM-UDAY (Delhi-wide)

District land record — North East Delhi

Rev. 2026 · Farmland India desk

State

Delhi (National Capital Territory, a Union Territory)

Sub-divisions

4 sub-divisions: Karawal Nagar · Gokalpur · Yamuna Vihar · Shahdara, with 31 revenue villages listed (Revenue Department list, 25 Dec 2025)

Key markets

Karawal Nagar · Mustafabad · Gokalpur · Mandoli · Saboli · Maujpur · Babarpur · Jafarabad (listed villages, not a sourced price market)

Agricultural land

Mostly built up and tightly packed, with the Yamuna floodplain (O-zone) on the river side; the Land Reforms Act text we opened has no residence bar, but little farmland is documented here and the working farm belt is in Outer North Delhi (confirm)

Demand anchors

Urban demand for colony plots · Delhi Metro, including the Phase 4 Majlis Park–Maujpur corridor (route map not opened)

Rail

No main-line station listed in the pages we opened; Delhi Metro, with the Phase 4 Majlis Park–Maujpur corridor (Business Today, Jul 2026)

Size and population

No area or population figure was published for the new boundary in the pages we opened; Census figures for the old district are not used

Pricing unit

₹/sq yd (colony plots) · ₹/acre (any agricultural parcel); no sourced price series for either

Local units

1 acre = 4,840 sq yd = about 4,047 sq m; papers mix acres, sq yd and sq ft, so convert from the revenue record

Land records portal

Delhi Revenue Department (registration and fee page)

District overview

North East Delhi — mostly built up, with the Yamuna floodplain on its river side

North East Delhi is not where a buyer of agricultural land should expect to find much farmland. The Revenue Department list gives the district 31 revenue villages in four sub-divisions, but it records no land use for any of them, and we found no source describing working farms there. The farm villages most people mean when they search for farmland in Delhi now sit in Outer North Delhi, around Narela, Bawana and Alipur. Delhi's net sown area fell from 34,034 hectares in 2000-01 to an estimated 22,300 hectares in 2018-19 (Delhi Economic Survey 2018-19). We found no area or population figure for the new boundary, so none is given here.

The administrative map is new. The Revenue Department list of 25 December 2025 groups North East Delhi into Karawal Nagar, Gokalpur, Yamuna Vihar and Shahdara sub-divisions (Revenue Department), and the district office's own page names the same four (District North East administrative setup). Karawal Nagar carries the most villages, among them Karawal Nagar, Mustafabad, Khajuri Khas, Sadatpur Gujran and Biharipur. Gokalpur carries Gokalpur, Mandoli, Saboli and Ziauddinpur, Yamuna Vihar carries Maujpur, Garhi Mandu and Khanpur Khani, and Shahdara carries Babarpur, Jafarabad and Chandrawali Shadara. The Week/PTI reports the reorganisation took effect immediately (The Week/PTI, Dec 2025).

Place names buyers search, such as Seelampur, do not all appear in the village list: Seelampur is not one of the 31 villages, and Shahdara is now a sub-division inside this district rather than a district of its own. These are long-urbanised localities and we found no source describing farmland in them, so this page does not treat them as farmland markets. The Yamuna runs along the river side of the district, and the O-zone is where the floodplain rules bite.

We found no sourced price series for land in any North East Delhi village and use no listing-site asks. The agricultural circle rate reported for Delhi is ₹53 lakh per acre since 2008, with a draft of up to ₹5 crore per acre that was not notified at December 2025 (The Realty Today, Dec 2025); the villages that report names as still agricultural include none from North East Delhi.

  • Karawal Nagar
  • Mustafabad
  • Gokalpur
  • Mandoli
  • Saboli
  • Maujpur
  • Babarpur
  • Jafarabad
  • Yamuna O-zone
Schematic locator map of North East Delhi district within the National Capital Territory of Delhi

Transaction costs

Stamp duty & registration in North East Delhi

6%

Stamp duty — male buyer

of the higher of the deal value or the circle rate (Revenue Department)

4%

Stamp duty — female buyer

same basis (Revenue Department)

1%

Registration fee

plus ₹100 pasting fee (Revenue Department)

The Delhi Revenue Department's registration page sets stamp duty on sale, conveyance and gift deeds at 6% for a male buyer and 4% for a female buyer, charged on the consideration or the circle rate, whichever is higher, and a registration fee of 1% on the same basis plus ₹100 (Delhi Revenue Department). The page lists no separate rate for agricultural land and no district-specific rate, and we did not find rates for NDMC or Cantonment areas. On registration offices, The Week/PTI reported in December 2025 that the existing 22 sub-registrar offices would expand to 39 under a separate notification (The Week/PTI, Dec 2025), so confirm which Sub-Registrar covers the village.

For agricultural land, The Realty Today reported in December 2025 that Delhi's circle rate is a single ₹53 lakh per acre last revised in 2008, and that a draft would raise it to as much as ₹5 crore per acre in some locations, with no uniform rate across villages; it was a draft and not notified at that date (The Realty Today, Dec 2025). The same report quotes a Revenue Department estimate of more than 50,000 acres in over 200 villages still in agricultural use. Realty Today is a trade outlet and we found no notified 2026 rate, so get any figure in writing from the Sub-Registrar. Conversion or change of land use is a separate approval, not a stamp-duty line.

Know the belt

What is moving prices in North East Delhi

Several small markets inside one district. No listing prices are used; where there is no dated source the notes say so.

Karawal Nagar sub-division: Karawal Nagar, Mustafabad and Khajuri Khas

No sourced price series

Fourteen villages are listed in Karawal Nagar sub-division, the largest in the district (Delhi Revenue Department list, 25 Dec 2025). We found no registered-rate, compensation or news price series for any of them and use no listing figure. The list records no land use, so a plot offered here may be a colony plot or recorded agricultural land.

Check: the colony's status on the PM-UDAY list, the khatauni class and the DDA zone of the khasra.

Gokalpur sub-division: Gokalpur, Mandoli and Saboli

No sourced price series

Five villages are listed: Gokalpur, Jeewanpur Johiripur, Mandoli, Saboli and Ziauddinpur (Delhi Revenue Department list, 25 Dec 2025). We found no price series or farming report for them, so we give no band.

Check: whether the parcel is recorded agricultural land and whether any part lies in the Yamuna zone.

Yamuna Vihar sub-division: Maujpur, Garhi Mandu and Khanpur Khani

No sourced price series

Six villages are listed, including Maujpur, Garhi Mandu, Khanpur Khani and the two Ghonda villages (Delhi Revenue Department list, 25 Dec 2025). Business Today lists Majlis Park–Maujpur among the Phase 4 Metro corridors (Business Today, Jul 2026); it gives no station list, so we do not tie any village to a station. We found no price series.

Check: the DDA zone and floodplain status, which a Metro line does not change.

Shahdara sub-division: Babarpur, Jafarabad and Oidenpuri

No sourced price series

Six villages are listed, among them Babarpur, Sakdarpur, Chandrawali Shadara, Jafarabad and Oidenpuri (Delhi Revenue Department list, 25 Dec 2025). Older articles file them under the former Shahdara district. We found no price series. For farmland, see our Outer North Delhi page, where The Realty Today names Narela-area villages still in agricultural use (The Realty Today, Dec 2025).

Check: which sub-division and Sub-Registrar now cover the village.

Circle rates to check

₹53 lakh per acre (2008, reported) vs draft up to ₹5 crore

The Realty Today reported in December 2025 a single agricultural rate of ₹53 lakh per acre since 2008 and a draft of up to ₹5 crore per acre, with no uniform rate across villages (The Realty Today, Dec 2025). The draft was not notified at that date.

Check: the current rate for the village with the Sub-Registrar before computing stamp duty.

Units: acre, sq yd, sq m

Delhi papers and sale deeds use acres, sq yd, sq ft and sq m interchangeably. Convert from the revenue record before comparing two documents (1 acre = 4,840 sq yd = about 4,047 sq m). This page quotes colony plots per sq yd and any agricultural parcel per acre.

Connectivity

How North East Delhi connects — road, rail and air

North East Delhi is a dense Metro-and-road market. Distances are not stated where we could not source them; journey times vary with traffic.

By road

Local roadsNot mapped for this page
Urban Extension Road-IIStarts at Alipur, in Outer North; the PMO announced its inauguration for 17 Aug 2025 (PMO, Aug 2025); we did not map its link to this district
Uttar Pradesh borderAcross the border the land laws are different; road links not mapped for this page
Yamuna crossingsNot checked for this page

By air

Indira Gandhi International (IGI)Not checked for this page; no distance sourced
Noida International (Jewar)Commercial flights began 15 Jun 2026, domestic first (Noida International Airport, Jun 2026)

By rail & metro

Delhi Metro network393 km, 12 lines, 288 stations (Business Today, Jul 2026)
Main-line railNot checked for this page
Metro Phase 4Six corridors, including Majlis Park–Maujpur; Maujpur is a village in Yamuna Vihar sub-division, but the article gives no stations or opening dates (Business Today, Jul 2026)
Approach roadNo sourced road width; check the width and legal status of the road to any parcel

The practical questions for a North East Delhi parcel are where the floodplain boundary falls and whether the approach road is a public road. See the Delhi land rules guide and the Outer North Delhi page for the farm belt. Ring-road status comes from PMO, Aug 2025, airport status from Noida International Airport, Jun 2026 and Metro status from Business Today, Jul 2026. We did not open DMRC or NHAI pages.

Growth catalysts

Upcoming infrastructure & developments

Status labels reflect sources read in October 2026. Government-announced timelines are not guaranteed; items marked confirm have single or conflicting sources.

01Notified

02Policy or scheme stage

Notified · 20 Aug 2026 Master Plan for Delhi 2047
Phase 4 corridor · status not stated Metro: Majlis Park–Maujpur
Portal open since 24 Apr 2026 PM-UDAY unauthorised-colony regularisation
Notified · 20 Aug 2026

Master Plan for Delhi 2047

ThePrint/PTI describes MPD-2047 as notified by the Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs on 20 August 2026 and says it commits to preserving 180 sq km of Yamuna floodplain and Ridge (ThePrint/PTI, Aug 2026). DDA's FAQs say it is in force from 20 August 2026 and that land pooling applies in Planning Zones K-I, L, N, P-II, part of J and part of P-I: owners can develop up to 60% of the pooled land, the other 40% goes to DDA, a scheme assembled from owners' land must cover at least 20 hectares, and low-density areas are excluded from pooling (DDA FAQs on MPD-2047). The FAQs name zones, not villages, and do not mention the Yamuna zone. Business Today reports a ban on concrete structures in the core floodplain (Business Today, Aug 2026), and Outlook Money reports nearly 200 sq km of pooling-led expansion and about 12 lakh homes (Outlook Money, Aug 2026). We could not open the gazette copy, so confirm each figure with DDA.

Source: ThePrint/PTI, Aug 2026; DDA FAQs on MPD-2047; Business Today, 13 Aug 2026; Outlook Money, Aug 2026

Notified

20 Aug 2026

Floodplain and Ridge to be preserved (ThePrint)

180 sq km

Owner share in pooling (DDA FAQs)

Up to 60%

Minimum pooling scheme (DDA FAQs)

20 ha

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Karawal Nagar
  • Gokalpur
  • Shahdara
Phase 4 corridor · status not stated

Metro: Majlis Park–Maujpur

Business Today reported on 24 July 2026 that Phases 4, 5A and 5B add about 217 km, 16 corridors and 123 stations to a network of 393 km, 12 lines and 288 stations. Majlis Park–Maujpur is one of six Phase 4 corridors (Business Today, Jul 2026). The article gives no station list, route or opening date for it, so we do not say where it stops in North East Delhi; Maujpur is a village in Yamuna Vihar sub-division (Delhi Revenue Department list, 25 Dec 2025). A Metro line near a parcel does not change its land-use class or its floodplain status.

Source: Business Today, 24 Jul 2026; Delhi Revenue Department list, 25 Dec 2025

Corridor

Majlis Park–Maujpur

Phase 4 corridors listed

Six

Expansion, Phases 4 to 5B (reported)

About 217 km

New stations (reported)

123

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Maujpur
  • Yamuna Vihar
  • Gokalpur
Portal open since 24 Apr 2026

PM-UDAY unauthorised-colony regularisation

IANS reported on 7 April 2026 that 1,511 of 1,731 unplanned colonies were declared eligible for regularisation on an as-is, where-is basis without approved layout plans (IANS, Apr 2026). The 220 left out were on non-conforming land, in green zones such as the Ridge or the river bed, or near monuments. Outlook Money reported that the SWAGAM portal began registration on 24 April 2026 (Outlook Money, Apr 2026). Which North East Delhi colonies are on the list must be checked colony by colony. Regularising a colony deals with the houses in it; the reports do not extend it to agricultural land.

Source: IANS, 7 Apr 2026; Outlook Money, 25 Apr 2026

Eligible colonies

1,511

Left out

220

Residents (reported)

Over 45 lakh

Portal opened

24 Apr 2026

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Karawal Nagar
  • Shahdara
  • Yamuna Vihar

Agriculture & terrain

Terrain, crops & water in North East Delhi

A river-edge, densely built district: land here is valued for location, not crop income. Floodplain status matters more than soil.

🌊 The Yamuna floodplain edge

Business Standard places the O-zone between Wazirabad and Okhla (Business Standard, Jun 2026). Citizen Matters reported in May 2024 that many floodplain farmers are tenants on leased land, that the National Green Tribunal restricted floodplain farming in 2015 over pollution concerns, and that the draft Master Plan 2041 barred agriculture in both O-1 and O-2 (Citizen Matters, May 2024); it names no North East Delhi locality. We do not know how MPD-2047 treats cultivation, so do not assume floodplain land can be farmed, let alone built on.

  • Floodplain
  • O-zone
  • Tenant farming
  • NGT

🏘️ Built-up villages and colonies

The Revenue Department list names 31 villages and records no land use (Delhi Revenue Department list, 25 Dec 2025). A parcel here may be a colony plot, recorded agricultural land or floodplain, and each carries different rules. The list also shows how thin the farm record is: we found no source on crops, orchards or cattle in any of the 31.

  • Karawal Nagar
  • Mustafabad
  • Gokalpur
  • Shahdara

🌾 What is still farmed

Delhi's net sown area fell from 34,034 hectares in 2000-01 to an estimated 22,300 hectares in 2018-19 (Delhi Economic Survey 2018-19, agriculture chapter). The survey has no district-wise crop figures, so we cannot say what North East Delhi still grows.

  • Net sown area
  • Delhi-wide figures
  • No district series

💧 Water & rainfall

Rainfall figures are not quoted here because we found no district series. CGWB's 2024 assessment puts Delhi's stage of groundwater extraction at 100.77% (CGWB, Delhi groundwater assessment 2024). Its quality lists use old district names and do not mention North East; they list Shahdara for sporadic electrical conductivity above 3,000 µS/cm and fluoride above 1.5 mg/L, and the report does not say which villages that covers. Test borewell yield and quality before relying on a borewell.

📐 Measurement units & market prices

Convert every area to acres or sq m from the revenue record (1 acre = 4,840 sq yd = about 4,047 sq m). We quote no crop prices because we found no sourced district series, and farm income is a small part of what land here is bought for.

At a glance

North East Delhi vs. its neighbours

District / beltLand route / price band*Evidence
North East Delhi — Karawal Nagar, Gokalpur, Yamuna Vihar and ShahdaraNo sourced price seriesLargely built up with a floodplain edge; none of the Realty Today examples is in North East Delhi (The Realty Today, Dec 2025)
North Delhi — Burari, Adarsh Nagar, BadliNo sourced price seriesThree sub-divisions and 24 villages; the O-zone starts at Wazirabad (Revenue Department list, 25 Dec 2025)
Outer North Delhi — Narela, Bawana, AlipurNo sourced price seriesThe true farm belt; villages named as still agricultural in a Dec 2025 report (The Realty Today, Dec 2025)
Ghaziabad side (Uttar Pradesh)Not covered on this pageUttar Pradesh route: separate state land law, not the Delhi Land Reforms Act

This page quotes no listing prices. Delhi and Uttar Pradesh follow different land laws; see the North Delhi page and the Outer North Delhi page, where the farm belt is larger.

A fenced plot on the Yamuna floodplain edge in North East Delhi with an embankment, wheat strips and poplar trees

District report — North East Delhi

Farmland India view

Why investors look at North East Delhi

Five reasoned points and an honest note that North East Delhi is mostly not where Delhi's farmland is.

Know what you are buying

Most land offered as North East Delhi is likely to be a colony plot or a floodplain edge rather than farmland, and the revenue list does not say otherwise. A buyer who wants a working farm should read the Outer North Delhi page first. We have no demand data to put a number on North East Delhi.

A planning framework that is written down

MPD-2047 is in force from 20 August 2026 according to DDA's FAQs, and Business Today reports a ban on concrete structures in the core floodplain. That is clearer than before, though the gazette text and the zone map still need reading.

Floodplain rules protect as well as restrict

Courts are barring construction on the floodplain, so a price built on building potential there has no legal footing. A parcel clearly outside the zone avoids that risk.

Regularisation may settle some colony titles

PM-UDAY, whose SWAGAM portal opened on 24 April 2026, could give conveyance deeds to residents of eligible colonies. The reports leave out green zones such as the river bed and do not extend it to agricultural land.

Settle the route before the price

Ask for the khatauni, the DDA zone letter and the colony status before any advance. A colony plot and recorded agricultural land are different purchases.

Browse reviewed land in North East Delhi

Confirm land-record status, zoning, floodplain and sealing history for any parcel; our review is not a title guarantee.

STRAIGHT TALK

Risks & challenges in North East Delhi

Read these before shortlisting in North East Delhi specifically.

Yamuna O-zone and floodplain

The O-zone runs from Wazirabad to Okhla (Business Standard, Jun 2026), and the revenue list does not say which of the 31 villages touch it. A parcel inside it may not be buildable or regularisable. Ask DDA for the zone in writing.

Flooding

The Yamuna stood at 205.42 m at the Old Railway Bridge on 7 September 2025, above the 205.33 m danger mark, and residents of low-lying areas were moved to relief camps (AIR News, Sep 2025). The report names no North East Delhi locality.

Section 81 ejectment exposure

Using land recorded as agricultural for housing can lead to ejectment under Section 81, as the Delhi High Court upheld in August 2026 (Delhi High Court, 11 Aug 2026). Selling plots does not cure the record.

Unauthorised and ineligible colonies

PM-UDAY left out 220 colonies, including those on green zones and near monuments (IANS, Apr 2026), and the High Court has said O-zone colonies are not eligible for regularisation (Business Standard, Jun 2026). Check the colony on the list before paying.

Title and mutation

Co-owned holdings and unmutated inheritance can occur. Check the revenue record, mutation, the Section 33 position and any pending pooling or acquisition notice before payment.

Price opacity

We found no sourced price series. The reported agricultural circle rate is ₹53 lakh per acre, with a draft of up to ₹5 crore per acre (Dec 2025 report). Do not budget stamp duty on a number you have not confirmed in writing.

Announced is not delivered

The MPD-2047 gazette copy was not available to us, the reports on farmhouse plots differ, and the Metro article gives no opening date for Majlis Park–Maujpur. Price a parcel on what the law allows today.

Who to contact

Local revenue, planning & forest offices

Land-record and mutation matters go through the Sub-Divisional Magistrate and Tehsildar of the sub-division. The sub-divisional offices page lists Karawal Nagar, Gokalpur and Shahdara at the DC Office Complex, Nand Nagri, and Yamuna Vihar near the DCP Office, North East Delhi (Revenue Department sub-divisional offices page); the district office page names the same four sub-divisions (District North East administrative setup). Sale-deed registration is handled by the Sub-Registrar; the existing 22 sub-registrar offices were due to expand to 39 (The Week/PTI, Dec 2025), so confirm which office covers the village. District-level orders sit with the District Magistrate (North East).

Zoning and building permission sit with the Delhi Development Authority. Floodplain boundary questions also go to DDA; SANDRP reports that flood-line mapping involves CWPRS Pune and the Irrigation and Flood Control Department (SANDRP, Aug 2026). Fee schedules and procedures are on the Delhi Revenue Department registration page. Check the khatauni, mutation and encumbrance before paying any token amount.

COMMON QUESTIONS

Frequently asked questions

Everything buyers, NRIs and investors ask before their first reviewed farmland purchase in North East Delhi.

Visit full wiki

01 of 04

Can I buy agricultural land in North East Delhi?

The India Code text of the Delhi Land Reforms Act, 1954 has no residence bar in the sections we could read. Section 33 limits a sale that would leave the seller under eight standard acres, and in August 2026 the Delhi High Court upheld a Section 81 ejectment for non-farm use. Little farmland is documented in this district; the farm belt is in Outer North Delhi.

Ready to look at what is available?

Browse reviewed listings

Transparency

Sources and references

Law and courts

Government

News

Further reading

Data-currency note: the district map reflects the notification of 25 December 2025 and may change; road, airport, Metro and policy statuses were read in October 2026 and change quickly. Where an official page did not open for us (the MPD-2047 gazette copy, DMRC and NHAI pages), we say so in the text. This is a general guide, not legal advice. Report inaccuracies to wiki@farmlandindia.com.

For developers

Ready to explore North East Delhi farmland?

Browse reviewed projects and individual land parcels across North East Delhi — or if you own land here, list it with platform review and reach serious buyers.

Farmland India ("the Platform"), operated by Bulk Procure Private Limited, is a digital marketplace for listing agricultural land, farmhouse and plotted development projects. The Platform is not a real estate broker, agent or intermediary under RERA or any other applicable law, and does not act for either party to a transaction.

Listings are submitted by developers, owners and their authorised representatives. Before publication, the Platform carries out a documentary review of the material supplied and records what was sighted. That review is limited to the documents made available to us at that time. It is not a title investigation, not a legal opinion, and not a warranty of title, approvals, or the accuracy of any information supplied by a lister. The Trust Score is an internal assessment produced from that review and is intended as a research aid, not as a guarantee of outcome.

Every buyer must carry out independent due diligence before any transaction — including verification of land records, encumbrance searches, approvals and regulatory compliance — through their own advocate and chartered accountant. Any legal or advisory professional introduced through the Platform is engaged directly by the user, on that professional's own terms; the Platform does not employ, supervise or accept responsibility for their work.

Nothing on the Platform is investment advice. Land values can fall as well as rise. The Platform is not liable for any loss, dispute or damage arising from a transaction between parties.