Farmland India

District guide

Buying Land in South East Delhi

A built-up district with a Yamuna floodplain edge and the Namo Bharat hub at Sarai Kale Khan: scarce farm land, O-zone checks, the Land Reforms Act and wide estimated price bands.

  • 3 (Dec 2025)

    Sub-divisions

  • 24

    Revenue villages listed

  • ₹0.5–5 crore/acre*

    Estimated land price*

  • Sarai Kale Khan

    Namo Bharat start

*Indicative range across districts and land types. Stamp duty, registration and conversion charges are additional. Local measurement units vary — every listing states the unit it is priced in. Not a valuation or an offer.

District land record — South East Delhi

Rev. 2026 · Farmland India desk

State

Delhi (National Capital Territory, a Union Territory)

Sub-divisions

3 sub-divisions: Jangpura · Kalkaji · Badarpur, with 24 revenue villages listed (Delhi Revenue Department list, 25 Dec 2025)

Key markets

Badarpur · Tuglakabad · Okhla · Jasola · Madanpur Khadar · Sarai Kale Khan · Kilokari · Jaitpur

Agricultural land

No page we opened names a South East village as still agricultural. The Land Reforms Act text we opened has no residence bar. Villages with Khadar in the name suggest Yamuna floodplain land, and the floodplain zone is reported to run down to Okhla (Business Standard, Jun 2026). Confirm village by village

Demand anchors

Sarai Kale Khan, the start of the Delhi-Meerut Namo Bharat line and a multi-modal hub (PMO, Feb 2026) · Okhla and Jasola · Badarpur on the southern edge

Rail

Namo Bharat from Sarai Kale Khan, which the PMO release links to Hazrat Nizamuddin railway station and the Pink Line (PMO, Feb 2026); Metro Phase 4 lists a Tughlakabad–Aerocity corridor (Business Today, Jul 2026)

Size and population

No area or population figure was published for the new boundary in the pages we opened; Census figures for older districts are not used

Pricing unit

₹/acre (any farm land) · ₹/sq yd (village and colony plots)

Local units

1 acre = 4,840 sq yd = about 4,047 sq m; convert areas quoted in sq ft or sq yd to acres from the revenue record

Land records portal

Delhi Revenue Department (Delhi Revenue Department registration and fee page)

District overview

South East Delhi — a transport hub and a floodplain, with little farm land

South East Delhi is a built-up district with a Yamuna floodplain edge. Many of its 24 listed revenue villages share names with built-up areas such as Okhla, Jasola, Kilokari and Badarpur, and the pages we opened do not say how much recorded agricultural land remains. The villages Behlolpur Khadar and Madanpur Khadar carry the Khadar name that usually marks floodplain land, and the O-zone is reported to run from Wazirabad to Okhla (Business Standard, Jun 2026). A buyer should expect scarce farm land, strict floodplain limits and documents that need checking parcel by parcel.

The map is new. The Revenue Department list of 25 December 2025 sets three sub-divisions: Jangpura with 5 villages, Kalkaji with 11 and Badarpur with 8 (Delhi Revenue Department list, 25 Dec 2025). The sub-divisional offices page puts Jangpura and Kalkaji at Lajpat Nagar-IV and Badarpur at the Tughlakabad Institutional Area on M.B. Road (Revenue Department sub-divisional offices page). Which previous district each village came from is not stated in the list.

The district's story for a land buyer is transport more than crops. Sarai Kale Khan is the start of the 82 km Delhi-Meerut Namo Bharat corridor, and the PMO release described it as a multi-modal hub linking Hazrat Nizamuddin railway station, the Pink Line, the Veer Haqeeqat Rai ISBT and the Ring Road (PMO, Feb 2026). Metro Phase 4 lists a Tughlakabad–Aerocity corridor among six, with several under active construction (Business Today, Jul 2026). Access does not change what a parcel is: floodplain, pooling and Land Reforms Act checks come first.

There is no sourced price series for farm land here, and we use no listing-site prices. The bands on this page are marked * and are our own wide estimates, not a valuation. Delhi's agricultural circle rate has been reported as a single ₹53 lakh per acre since 2008, with a draft of up to ₹5 crore per acre that was not notified at December 2025; we found no notified 2026 table, so treat both as reported and confirm the rate for the village with the Sub-Registrar.

  • Okhla
  • Jasola
  • Badarpur
  • Tuglakabad
  • Sarai Kale Khan
  • Madanpur Khadar
  • Kalkaji
  • Jangpura
  • Yamuna floodplain
Locator map of South East Delhi district showing Okhla, Jasola, Badarpur, Sarai Kale Khan, Kalkaji and Jangpura sub-divisions

Transaction costs

Stamp duty & registration in South East Delhi

6%

Stamp duty — male buyer

of the higher of the deal value or the circle rate (Revenue Department)

4%

Stamp duty — female buyer

same basis (Revenue Department)

1%

Registration fee

plus ₹100 pasting fee (Revenue Department)

The Delhi Revenue Department's registration page sets stamp duty on sale, conveyance and gift deeds at 6% for a male buyer and 4% for a female buyer, charged on the consideration or the circle rate, whichever is higher, and a registration fee of 1% on the same basis plus ₹100 for pasting (Delhi Revenue Department registration and fee page). The page lists no separate rate for agricultural land, and we did not find rates for NDMC or Cantonment areas. The Week/PTI reported in December 2025 that the existing 22 sub-registrar offices would expand to 39 under a separate notification (The Week/PTI, Dec 2025), so confirm which Sub-Registrar covers the village.

Delhi's agricultural circle rate has been reported as a single ₹53 lakh per acre since 2008, with a draft of up to ₹5 crore per acre that was not notified at December 2025; we found no notified 2026 table, so treat both as reported and confirm the rate for the village with the Sub-Registrar. Conversion or change of land use is a separate approval, not a stamp-duty line.

Know the belt

What is moving prices in South East Delhi

Three different markets share one district, and most of it is not farm land. The bands are estimates, so treat every number as indicative.

Khadar and Yamuna-edge villages (Madanpur Khadar, Behlolpur Khadar, Khizarabad)

Estimated land price*: about ₹0.5–2 crore per acre*

Madanpur Khadar and Khizarabad are Kalkaji villages and Behlolpur Khadar is a Jangpura village in the Revenue Department list (Delhi Revenue Department list, 25 Dec 2025). If a parcel is in the O-zone it carries a building bar and flood exposure (Business Standard, Jun 2026), so the band sits near the low end of the reported Delhi circle-rate range.

Check: whether the parcel is inside the O-zone, who is in possession, and the flood level in recent monsoons.

Badarpur sub-division (Badarpur, Meethapur, Molarband, Tajpul, Tehkhand, Jaitpur, Tuglakabad)

Estimated land price*: about ₹1.5–5 crore per acre* for any recorded farm parcel

The Revenue Department list gives Badarpur sub-division 8 villages (Delhi Revenue Department list, 25 Dec 2025). We expect most of this belt to be built up, so a recorded agricultural parcel would be the exception; the band is wide and drawn from the reported circle-rate range and from comparison with other Delhi-edge villages.

Check: khatauni class, Lal Dora status, any monument or Ridge boundary nearby, and the Section 33 holding size.

Jangpura and Kalkaji urban villages (Okhla, Jasola, Kilokari, Kotla Mubarakpur)

Not a farm-land market

Okhla, Jasola and Kilokari are Kalkaji villages and Kotla Mubarakpur a Jangpura village in the list (Delhi Revenue Department list, 25 Dec 2025); plots in built-up areas are normally quoted per sq yd rather than per acre. We give no farm band for them.

Check: whether the plot is in a sanctioned layout or an unauthorised colony.

Sarai Kale Khan hub

Not a farm-land market

Sarai Kale Khan is a Jangpura village and the Delhi start of the Namo Bharat corridor (PMO, Feb 2026). Land use here follows transport planning, not crops.

Check: what the zoning and the redevelopment rules allow before any price.

Units: acre, sq yd, sq m

Delhi papers and sale deeds use acres, sq yd, sq ft and sq m interchangeably. Convert from the revenue record before comparing two documents (1 acre = 4,840 sq yd = about 4,047 sq m). Quote farm land per acre and village plots per sq yd.

About the estimated band*

*Indicative only, not a valuation or an offer; prices vary by plot, road access and title. Check the guideline or ready-reckoner rate with the Sub-Registrar.

Connectivity

How South East Delhi connects — road, rail and air

The district is the capital's south-eastern gateway. Distances are given only where sourced; journey times vary with traffic.

By road

Ring RoadThe PMO release lists the Ring Road among the links at Sarai Kale Khan (PMO, Feb 2026)
M.B. RoadThe Badarpur sub-divisional office stands at the Tughlakabad Institutional Area on M.B. Road (Revenue Department sub-divisional offices page); road times were not checked
Faridabad (Haryana)Haryana lies beyond the district boundary; see the Faridabad page
Local roadsNot mapped for this page

By air

Indira Gandhi International (IGI)Palam is in Dwarka sub-division and Mahipalpur in Bijwasan sub-division of South West Delhi (Delhi Revenue Department list, 25 Dec 2025); we did not measure the distance from South East
Noida International (Jewar)Commercial flights began 15 Jun 2026, domestic first (Noida International Airport, Jun 2026); road access from here was not checked

By rail & metro

Namo BharatDelhi-Meerut corridor, 82 km; the Delhi section of 5 km runs from Sarai Kale Khan to New Ashok Nagar (PMO, Feb 2026)
Hazrat Nizamuddin stationDescribed as linked to Sarai Kale Khan (PMO, Feb 2026)
Metro Phase 4Tughlakabad–Aerocity and Lajpat Nagar–Saket G Block are among six corridors, with several under active construction and no opening dates (Business Today, Jul 2026)
Main-line railNot checked for this page

The practical question is the approach: a parcel inside a revenue village may be several hundred metres from a public road, and a road shown on a map may not be a public road. Namo Bharat details come from PMO, Feb 2026; Metro Phase 4 from Business Today, Jul 2026. We did not open DMRC or NHAI pages.

Growth catalysts

Upcoming infrastructure & developments

Status labels reflect sources read in October 2026. Government-announced timelines are not guaranteed; items marked confirm have single or conflicting sources.

02Operational

02In progress or planned

Inaugurated · 22 Feb 2026 Namo Bharat from Sarai Kale Khan
Operating · from 15 Jun 2026 Noida International Airport
Under construction (some segments) · from 2026 Delhi Metro Phase 4, Tughlakabad–Aerocity
Notified 20 Aug 2026 · O-zone details CONFIRM MPD-2047 and the Yamuna O-zone
Inaugurated · 22 Feb 2026

Namo Bharat from Sarai Kale Khan

The PMO release for the 22 February 2026 programme names Sarai Kale Khan as the originating station and one of four Namo Bharat stations commissioned that day, describes it as a multi-modal hub, and gives the Delhi section as 5 km to New Ashok Nagar within the 82 km corridor (PMO, Feb 2026). The release is dated before the event, so confirm the opening with the operator. It serves Sarai Kale Khan and the Jangpura belt more than the Badarpur side.

Source: PMO, Feb 2026

Corridor

82 km

Delhi section

5 km

Delhi start

Sarai Kale Khan

Programme date

22 Feb 2026

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Sarai Kale Khan
  • Behlolpur Khadar
  • Kotla Mubarakpur
Operating · from 15 Jun 2026

Noida International Airport

Noida International Airport welcomed its first commercial flights on 15 June 2026, domestic first (Noida International Airport, Jun 2026). It is a regional anchor for the eastern side of the capital region; we did not measure road times from South East Delhi villages.

Source: Noida International Airport, Jun 2026

First flights

15 Jun 2026

Services

Domestic first

Distance from here

Not measured

Status

Operating

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Okhla
  • Jasola
  • Kalkaji
Under construction (some segments) · from 2026

Delhi Metro Phase 4, Tughlakabad–Aerocity

Business Today lists Tughlakabad–Aerocity and Lajpat Nagar–Saket G Block among six Phase 4 corridors, says several are under active construction and that some segments are expected to open in stages from 2026 (Business Today, Jul 2026). It gives no per-corridor status, station list or opening date, and the article does not mention Okhla, Badarpur or Sarai Kale Khan. We cannot tie any village to a station.

Source: Business Today, 24 Jul 2026

Corridor

Tughlakabad–Aerocity

Status

Several corridors under construction

Stations

Not listed

Date

From 2026, in stages

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Tuglakabad
  • Badarpur
  • Kalkaji
Notified 20 Aug 2026 · O-zone details CONFIRM

MPD-2047 and the Yamuna O-zone

ThePrint reported that MPD-2047 was notified by the Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs on 20 August 2026 and commits to preserving about 180 sq km of Yamuna floodplain and Ridge (ThePrint/PTI, Aug 2026). Business Today reports a bar on concrete structures in the core of the zone (Business Today, Aug 2026) and SANDRP reports DDA's proposal to split it into O-1 and O-2 (SANDRP, Aug 2026). Whether the split is in the notified plan, and which South East parcels fall in either part, is not stated, so ask DDA in writing.

Source: ThePrint/PTI, 20 Aug 2026; Business Today, 13 Aug 2026; SANDRP, 13 Aug 2026

Notified

20 Aug 2026

Floodplain and Ridge

About 180 sq km

Core zone

No concrete structures

O-1 / O-2 split

CONFIRM

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Madanpur Khadar
  • Khizarabad
  • Behlolpur Khadar
  • Okhla

Agriculture & terrain

Soil, crops & water in South East Delhi

A district with little recorded farm land, a floodplain edge and no district-wise crop data. Floodplain status and title matter as much as soil.

🌾 Farm land that remains

Delhi's Economic Survey lists paddy, jowar and bajra as the kharif field crops and wheat and mustard as the rabi crops, with vegetables year-round; net sown area fell from 34,034 hectares in 2000-01 to an estimated 22,300 hectares in 2018-19, and rural villages from 304 in 1951 to 112 in 2011 (Delhi Economic Survey 2018-19, agriculture chapter). The survey has no district-wise crop figures, so we have none for South East Delhi.

  • Wheat
  • Mustard
  • Vegetables
  • Fodder

🌊 Yamuna floodplain and the O-zone

The floodplain is a flood, drainage and legal-status question before it is a farming one. Citizen Matters reports that floodplain farmers are largely tenants and that the NGT restricted floodplain farming in 2015 (Citizen Matters, May 2024); the India Water Portal raises who owns the floodplain land (India Water Portal, Oct 2025). Neither article names a South East village. SANDRP reports waste from the Okhla landfill alleged along the floodplain (SANDRP, Aug 2026).

  • O-zone
  • Floodplain
  • Flood risk
  • Tenancy

🏙️ Built-up villages and hubs

Okhla, Jasola and Kilokari are Kalkaji villages, Badarpur a Badarpur village and Sarai Kale Khan a Jangpura village in the list (Delhi Revenue Department list, 25 Dec 2025), in built-up areas. We found no cropping data for them; what moves value there is access and zoning.

  • Okhla
  • Jasola
  • Badarpur
  • Sarai Kale Khan

💧 Water & rainfall

Rainfall figures are not quoted here because we found no district series. CGWB's 2024 assessment puts Delhi's stage of groundwater extraction at 100.77%, with 14 of 34 assessment units over-exploited, 13 critical, 2 semi-critical and 5 safe (CGWB, Delhi groundwater assessment 2024). Its tables use the older district boundaries and we did not map them to the new South East district, so check the latest category for the block and test borewell yield and quality before relying on a borewell.

📐 Measurement units & market prices

Convert every area to acres or sq m from the revenue record (1 acre = 4,840 sq yd = about 4,047 sq m). We quote no crop prices because we found no sourced district series.

At a glance

South East Delhi vs. its neighbours

District / beltLand route / price band*Evidence
South East Delhi — Khadar and Yamuna-edge villagesEstimated about ₹0.5–2 crore per acre*Floodplain; O-zone building bar (Business Standard, Jun 2026)
South East Delhi — Badarpur sub-divisionEstimated about ₹1.5–5 crore per acre* for any recorded farm parcel8 villages in the Revenue Department list (Delhi Revenue Department list, 25 Dec 2025)
South DelhiNo sourced price seriesFarmhouse belt; Ridge and sealing constraints
South West DelhiNo sourced price seriesLargest remaining farm belt in the capital
FaridabadNo sourced price series on this pageHaryana law applies; see that page

*Indicative only, not a valuation or an offer; prices vary by plot, road access and title. Check the guideline or ready-reckoner rate with the Sub-Registrar. See the South Delhi page for the farmhouse belt, the South West Delhi page for the Najafgarh farm belt and the Faridabad page for the Haryana side.

Boundary stones and a fenced plot beside a Yamuna floodplain field in South East Delhi with a Metro viaduct in the distance

District report — South East Delhi

Farmland India view

Why investors look at South East Delhi

Five reasoned points, with an honest note that floodplain status and the Land Reforms Act decide what a South East parcel really is.

A transport hub at the northern end

Sarai Kale Khan is the Delhi start of the Namo Bharat line and is described as a multi-modal hub. Connectivity there is delivered, though it lifts built-up land more than farm land.

Very little farm land

No page we opened names a South East village as still agricultural. Scarcity favours holders only if a parcel is recorded as agricultural, in a legal zone and free of encumbrance.

Floodplain limits are strict

Where a parcel is in the O-zone, the notified plan bars concrete structures in the core zone and the High Court has refused regularisation of colonies there. Treat such land as farm-use-only and flood-exposed.

Policy can change what land is

Pooling zones, the green development framework and the O-1 and O-2 split may re-label villages. That can create value and it can freeze a sale, so check the zone before the price.

A wide estimate, not a price

Our band is marked * and is deliberately wide; it is not a valuation. Compare it with the circle rate for the village and with registered deeds.

Browse reviewed land in South East Delhi

Confirm land-record status, floodplain and pooling status for any parcel; our review is not a title guarantee.

STRAIGHT TALK

Risks & challenges in South East Delhi

Read these before shortlisting in South East Delhi specifically.

Floodplain, O-zone and flood exposure

Parcels near the Yamuna may be in the O-zone, where concrete structures are barred in the core and colonies cannot be regularised. Ask DDA and the Irrigation and Flood Control Department for the zone and flood level in writing.

Land Reforms Act application

The Act may not apply to land inside a municipal or notified area, and recorded agricultural land stays under it until a Section 507(a) notification. A sale that leaves the seller with under eight standard acres is restricted by Section 33.

Land-pooling and green-policy overlays

If a village is in a pooling zone or a green development area, DDA controls its future. DDA's data name no villages, so confirm in writing before you pay.

Monuments, Ridge and forest limits

Land near a protected monument has a 100 m prohibited and 200 m regulated area. We did not map South East parcels to monuments or the Ridge, so ask the Archaeological Survey and the Forest Department.

Lal Dora and colony land

Village abadi and unauthorised-colony land can sit outside sanctioned layouts, with a different regularisation route. The reports on colony regularisation do not extend it to agricultural land.

Title, mutation and co-ownership

Co-owned holdings, unmutated inheritance and possession by tenants or cultivators can occur, particularly on floodplain land. Check mutation and possession on the ground.

Price opacity and announced is not delivered

We found no sourced price series, so the bands are estimates and the reported circle rate is unconfirmed. Business Today gives no Phase 4 dates and the MPD-2047 gazette copy was not available. Price what the law allows today.

Who to contact

Local revenue, planning & forest offices

Land-record and mutation matters go through the Sub-Divisional Magistrate and Tehsildar of the sub-division. The sub-divisional offices page lists Jangpura and Kalkaji at the Old Gargi College Building, behind Lady Shri Ram College, Lajpat Nagar-IV, and Badarpur at 37, Tughlakabad Institutional Area, M.B. Road (Revenue Department sub-divisional offices page); it lists no separate district office for South East. Sale-deed registration is handled by the Sub-Registrar; the existing 22 sub-registrar offices were due to expand to 39 (The Week/PTI, Dec 2025), so confirm which office covers the village. District-level orders sit with the District Magistrate (South East).

Zoning, land pooling and the O-zone sit with the Delhi Development Authority; floodplain, drain and flood questions with the Irrigation and Flood Control Department; protected-monument permissions with the Archaeological Survey; and Ridge or forest questions with the Forest Department. Fee schedules and procedures are on the Delhi Revenue Department registration and fee page. Check the khatauni, mutation and encumbrance before paying any token amount.

COMMON QUESTIONS

Frequently asked questions

Everything buyers, NRIs and investors ask before their first reviewed farmland purchase in South East Delhi.

Visit full wiki

01 of 04

Can I buy agricultural land in South East Delhi?

The India Code text of the Delhi Land Reforms Act, 1954 has no residence bar in the sections we could read. Section 33 limits a sale that would leave the seller under eight standard acres, and the Act may not extend to areas inside a municipality. NRIs and OCIs cannot acquire agricultural land under FEMA Regulation 3(a). Confirm the current Act with an advocate.

Ready to look at what is available?

Browse reviewed listings

Transparency

Sources and references

Law and courts

Government

News

Further reading

Data-currency note: the district map reflects the notification of 25 December 2025 and may change; road, Metro and policy statuses were read in October 2026 and change quickly. The district portal for South East Delhi did not open for automated reading, and neither did the MPD-2047 gazette copy, DMRC or NHAI pages; where that matters we say so in the text. This is a general guide, not legal advice. Report inaccuracies to wiki@farmlandindia.com.

For developers

Ready to explore South East Delhi farmland?

Browse reviewed projects and individual land parcels across South East Delhi — or if you own land here, list it with platform review and reach serious buyers.

Farmland India ("the Platform"), operated by Bulk Procure Private Limited, is a digital marketplace for listing agricultural land, farmhouse and plotted development projects. The Platform is not a real estate broker, agent or intermediary under RERA or any other applicable law, and does not act for either party to a transaction.

Listings are submitted by developers, owners and their authorised representatives. Before publication, the Platform carries out a documentary review of the material supplied and records what was sighted. That review is limited to the documents made available to us at that time. It is not a title investigation, not a legal opinion, and not a warranty of title, approvals, or the accuracy of any information supplied by a lister. The Trust Score is an internal assessment produced from that review and is intended as a research aid, not as a guarantee of outcome.

Every buyer must carry out independent due diligence before any transaction — including verification of land records, encumbrance searches, approvals and regulatory compliance — through their own advocate and chartered accountant. Any legal or advisory professional introduced through the Platform is engaged directly by the user, on that professional's own terms; the Platform does not employ, supervise or accept responsibility for their work.

Nothing on the Platform is investment advice. Land values can fall as well as rise. The Platform is not liable for any loss, dispute or damage arising from a transaction between parties.