Farmland India
Aerial view of paddy and wheat fields with canal lines near Panipat, Haryana

District guide

Buying Land in Panipat

A textile, refinery and rice-wheat district on the GT Road, with a refinery expansion nearing completion, RRTS status to confirm and every groundwater block over-exploited.

  • 5

    Tehsils

  • 12.05 lakh people

    Census 2011

  • 6 of 6 blocks over-exploited

    Groundwater (Mar 2024)

  • None sourced

    Per-acre price series

*Indicative range across districts and land types. Stamp duty, registration and conversion charges are additional. Local measurement units vary — every listing states the unit it is priced in. Not a valuation or an offer.

District land record — Panipat

Rev. 2026 · Farmland India desk

State

Haryana

Population (Census 2011)

12,05,437 (district site)

Key markets

Panipat city · Samalkha · Israna · Madlauda · Bapoli

Demand anchors

Textile industry · oil refinery and its expansion · GT Road corridor

Delhi / Chandigarh

Not sourced here; check routes on a map

Tehsils

Panipat · Samalkha · Israna · Bapoli · Madlauda (district site)

Land units

1 killa = 1 acre · 1 kanal = 605 sq yd · 1 marla = 30.25 sq yd

Land records portal

Jamabandi.nic.in (check with; not opened for this page)

District overview

Panipat — the textile and refinery district on the GT Road

Panipat is a densely populated district on the Grand Trunk Road, with 12,05,437 people at the 2011 Census and a density of 951 per sq km (district site). It has five tehsils: Panipat, Samalkha, Israna, Bapoli and Madlauda. The district site says Panipat is called the "City of Weavers" for its textiles and carpets, and lists a thermal station of 1,360 MW. With an oil refinery as well, the economy is industrial first and agricultural second.

Buyer geography is likely Delhi-facing. Panipat is in the Haryana sub-region of the NCR (NCRPB Regional Plan 2021), and this desk expects Delhi and NCR investors to compare it with Karnal and Sonipat. Farming is real: the district industrial profile, whose data are mostly from 2010-11, gives a net sown area of 99,408 hectares and a cropping intensity of 194%, mostly rice, wheat and sugarcane (industrial profile). Water is the constraint: all six groundwater blocks are classed over-exploited in the Haryana Water Resources Authority notice as on 31 March 2024 (HWRA notice).

What land costs. We found no sourced price series for Panipat, so this page quotes no per-acre asking prices. In August 2023 the Haryana government approved 349 acres of panchayat land in Asan Kalan, Bal Jattan and Khandra for the refinery expansion, with the refinery paying ₹10 lakh per acre for village development in addition to the land cost; the reports do not state the land price (Indian Infrastructure, August 2023). The Tribune reported a draft collector-rate rise of up to 75% from 1 April 2026 for Haryana without naming Panipat (The Tribune, March 2026).

Reading it honestly. Panipat is not a hill-retreat or tourism farmhouse market and this page does not present it as one. The case for land here rests on an industrial base, a refinery that is finishing an expansion, and a proposed rail link. Read the village collector rate and registered deeds before forming a price view.

  • Panipat
  • Samalkha
  • Israna
  • Madlauda
  • Bapoli
  • GT Road
  • Refinery expansion
  • NCR sub-region
Locator map of Panipat district in Haryana

Transaction costs

Stamp duty & registration in Panipat

7%

Stamp duty — male buyer

reported for sale deeds, including a 2% development fee

5%

Stamp duty — female buyer

reported for sale deeds, in place since 2008

To confirm

Registration fee

no official fee schedule opened; ask the Sub-Registrar

The Tribune reported on 28 August 2025 that Haryana's sale-deed stamp duty has been 7% for men (including a 2% development fee) and 5% for women since 2008, and that plots of up to 50 sq yd in urban and 100 sq yd in rural areas allotted under three housing schemes pay no duty (The Tribune, August 2025). We did not open an official rate schedule, so confirm the rural and agricultural rates and the registration fee with the Sub-Registrar. The Tribune also reported a third collector-rate hike of up to 75%, described as draft and applicable from 1 April; it did not name Panipat (The Tribune, March 2026). We found no Panipat village rate, so ask the tehsil office for the current figure.

Know the belt

What is moving prices in Panipat

Four different markets in one district. None has a sourced price series; the notes say what is known about each and what to check.

Frontage and large blocks

No sourced price series

Large blocks on the GT Road or near industrial zones are likely to be priced on frontage and permitted use rather than soil (this desk's reading). We found no sourced figure for any of them.

Check: road frontage, CLU status and whether the block is highway or industrial-zone land.

Refinery-expansion belt

Approved Aug 2023; land price not stated

The Haryana government approved 349 acres of panchayat land in Asan Kalan (140 acres), Bal Jattan (152 acres) and Khandra (57 acres) for the refinery expansion, with ₹10 lakh per acre payable for village development on top of the land cost (Indian Infrastructure, August 2023; Outlook Business, August 2023). Neither report states the land price.

Check: this is an industrial transaction, not a farm-gate price, and no per-acre land price is stated.

Panipat city and GT Road

No sourced price series

Land near the city is likely to be priced by use and road access rather than crop income (this desk's reading). The district site records textile units and a 1,360 MW thermal station (district site). Check adjoining industrial use, effluent and truck traffic before assuming a quiet farmhouse site.

Samalkha, Israna, Madlauda, Bapoli

No sourced band

The agricultural tehsils, where rice, wheat and sugarcane dominate (industrial profile). No price was found for these tehsils. Ask for registered deeds and the village collector rate; the CGWB profile reports saline groundwater in Madlauda and Israna (CGWB profile).

Units: killa, kanal, marla

Haryana land is measured in the killa (1 acre), kanal (605 sq yd) and marla (30.25 sq yd). Jamabandi records use kanal-marla, so convert any quote to acres before comparing two offers.

Connectivity

How Panipat connects to Delhi and the north

Distances and journey times are not sourced on this page; check them on a map.

By road

Delhi (via GT Road, NH-44)Distance not sourced
ChandigarhDistance not sourced
KarnalNext district north on the same corridor
SonipatNext district south on the same corridor

By air

Delhi IGI AirportMain hub; reached by road down the GT Road corridor
Chandigarh AirportAlternative hub; distance not sourced
Noida International (Jewar)Commercial flights began 15 Jun 2026 (ETV Bharat, June 2026); road time not sourced

By rail & metro

Panipat JunctionOn the Delhi–Ambala main line
District rail length145 km (2010-11, industrial profile)
Delhi–Karnal RRTSApproved in Haryana, Centre sanction unconfirmed; see next section
Delhi MetroNo Panipat station found in the sources reviewed

Delhi is the likely buyer geography. For the rules that apply to any purchase here, see our Haryana agricultural land rules guide.

Growth catalysts

Upcoming infrastructure & developments

Status labels reflect sources read in October 2026. Government-announced timelines are not guaranteed; items marked confirm have single or conflicting sources.

03Operational links

03Pipeline projects

Under construction · target Dec 2026 Panipat refinery expansion (15 to 25 MMTPA)
Approved in Haryana · Centre sanction unconfirmed Delhi–Karnal RRTS
Inaugurated · 157.92 km on 17 Jul 2026 Delhi–Amritsar–Katra Expressway
Operational · inaugurated 17 Jul 2026 Jind–Gohana highway (NH-352A)
Operational GT Road (NH-44) and Delhi–Ambala rail line
Announced · confirm status Panipat NH-44 railway overbridge and peripheral roads
Under construction · target Dec 2026

Panipat refinery expansion (15 to 25 MMTPA)

The refinery's P-25 expansion from 15 to 25 million tonnes a year was 94% complete at 30 June 2026, with full commissioning scheduled for December 2026; the original start-up target was September 2024. Spending to that date was about ₹38,231 crore against an initial budget of about ₹32,946 crore (Oil & Gas Journal, August 2026). In August 2023 the Haryana government approved 349 acres of panchayat land in three villages to support it.

Source: Oil & Gas Journal, 3 August 2026; Indian Infrastructure, 20 August 2023

Capacity

15 to 25 million tonnes a year

Progress

94% (30 Jun 2026)

Target

Dec 2026

Status

Under construction

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Asan Kalan
  • Bal Jatan
  • Khandra
  • Panipat city
Approved in Haryana · Centre sanction unconfirmed

Delhi–Karnal RRTS

The Haryana cabinet approved the 136.3 km corridor on 24 March 2026, with total investment of about ₹33,051 crore and Haryana's share about ₹7,472 crore (Indian Infrastructure, March 2026). On 7 August 2025 a Union minister told Parliament the Delhi–Panipat–Karnal corridor was "presently not a sanctioned project of the Government of India" and that NCRTC had submitted a proposal (Swarajya, August 2025). No later central sanction was found, so there is no public start date. Confirm before pricing it in.

Source: Indian Infrastructure, March 2026; Swarajya, 7 August 2025

Length

136.3 km

Corridor

Sarai Kale Khan → Karnal

Cost

~₹33,051 crore

Status

Approved by Haryana (confirm)

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Panipat city
  • Samalkha
  • Madlauda
Inaugurated · 157.92 km on 17 Jul 2026

Delhi–Amritsar–Katra Expressway

The Prime Minister dedicated 157.92 km of the four-lane access-controlled Delhi–Amritsar–Katra Expressway (packages 1 to 5) at a ceremony in Jind on 17 July 2026, at a reported cost of about ₹9,680 crore; the full 667 km corridor is scheduled for March 2027 (Swarajya, July 2026; Business Standard, July 2026). The reports we opened do not name Panipat or the districts this section crosses, so we cannot say whether any interchange serves Panipat. Confirm with NHAI.

Source: Business Standard, 17 July 2026; Swarajya, 17 July 2026

Length

157.92 km (packages 1 to 5)

Cost

~₹9,680 crore

Corridor

667 km Delhi–Amritsar–Katra

Status

Operational

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Samalkha
  • Panipat city
Operational · inaugurated 17 Jul 2026

Jind–Gohana highway (NH-352A)

The 40.60 km greenfield NH-352A highway between Jind and Gohana was unveiled at the same event. Business Standard says it cuts the journey from about two hours to 40 minutes and improves links to Rohtak, Panipat and Delhi-NCR (Business Standard, July 2026). Its effect on land in Panipat district has not been assessed.

Source: Business Standard, 17 Jul 2026

Length

40.60 km

Corridor

Jind → Gohana

Time saved

~2 hr to ~40 min

Status

Operational

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Israna
  • Madlauda
Operational

GT Road (NH-44) and Delhi–Ambala rail line

The Grand Trunk Road (NH-44) and the Delhi–Ambala main line are the district's main road and rail routes in this desk's reading; we did not source the route details. The district industrial profile records 145 km of railway in the district (2010-11).

Source: Brief Industrial Profile of Panipat District

Road

NH-44, GT Road

Rail

Delhi–Ambala line

Delhi

Distance not sourced

Status

Operational

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Panipat city
  • Samalkha
Announced · confirm status

Panipat NH-44 railway overbridge and peripheral roads

In January 2025 The Tribune reported a 950 m railway overbridge linking NH-44 to the Old Industrial Area, with tenders worth ₹46.40 crore invited (the article also gives ₹56 crore), opening on 13 January and a two-year build, plus ₹14 crore of NH-44 peripheral road widening with a 10-month deadline. No later progress report was found, so treat the dates as unconfirmed.

Source: The Tribune, 3 January 2025 (single source)

ROB length

950 m

ROB cost

₹46.4–56 crore (two figures)

Road works

~₹14 crore

Status

Announced (confirm)

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Panipat city

Agriculture & terrain

Soil, water & crops in Panipat

A flat alluvial plain with canal and tubewell irrigation: farming is real here, but groundwater is the binding constraint.

🌾 Rice–wheat plains (Samalkha, Bapoli, Panipat tehsils)

The district industrial profile (most data from 2010-11) gives a net sown area of 99,408 hectares and a gross cropped area of 192,852 hectares, a cropping intensity of 194%, loamy to sandy loam soil with pH 7.5 to 10.0 in pockets, and principal crops of rice, wheat, sugarcane, oilseeds, pulses, maize and gram. Average yields are 2,738 kg per hectare for rice and 4,477 kg for wheat, with no year stated. Source: Panipat industrial profile (MSME-DI).

  • Rice
  • Wheat
  • Sugarcane
  • Maize

🧂 Salinity-affected tehsils (Madlauda, Israna)

The CGWB profile, based on a 2009 assessment, found saline groundwater across large parts of Madlauda and Israna blocks, with fresh water mostly in the upper 20 to 50 m, and fluoride above the permissible limit at several sites (CGWB district profile). Test borewell water before assuming it works for drinking or irrigation.

  • Salinity
  • Fluoride
  • Soil test

🏭 Industry and land use

The district site records textile production and a 1,360 MW thermal station, and the refinery is expanding (district site). A farm parcel near any of these can face dust, effluent, truck traffic or later acquisition (this desk's reading). Check adjoining land use on the ground and controlled-area status with the District Town Planner.

  • Textiles
  • Refinery
  • Sugar mills

📈 Mandi reference

Wholesale prices for Panipat-district markets are published on the Agmarknet portal (not opened for this page). We did not source crop incomes, so price a parcel on location and permitted use, not on an assumed crop income.

  • Paddy
  • Wheat
  • Sugarcane

💧 Water & rainfall

The Haryana Water Resources Authority notice of 31 March 2024 classes all six blocks (Bapoli, Israna, Madlauda, Panipat, Samalkha and Sanauli Khurd) as over-exploited (HWRA notice; we read the table through a text extraction, so check block names on the notice). The Tribune, reporting CGWB data in January 2025, put district extraction at 222.11% (The Tribune, January 2025), and CGWB's 2024 assessment puts the state figure at 135.96% (CGWB, December 2024). The older CGWB profile (2009 data) gave a district stage of 167%, blocks from 127% (Madlauda) to 210% (Samalkha), about 71% of irrigation from groundwater and a normal rainfall of about 680 mm (CGWB district profile).

📐 Measurement units

Haryana land units: 1 killa = 1 acre; 1 kanal = 605 sq yd; 1 marla = 30.25 sq yd. Convert every quote to acres or sq yd before comparing two offers, and ask for the khasra area in the jamabandi.

At a glance

Panipat vs. its neighbours

District / beltRate or price* (per acre)Evidence
Panipat — districtNo sourced price seriesCollector-rate hike of up to 75% reported as draft for 1 April; Panipat not named (The Tribune, March 2026)
Panipat — refinery-expansion panchayat landLand price not stated (₹10 lakh per acre for village development on top)349 acres approved Aug 2023; industrial use (Indian Infrastructure, August 2023)
Sonipat — Kishora village₹1.43 crore to ₹2.5 crore per acre (proposed agricultural collector rate)The Tribune, March 2026; draft, applicable from 1 April 2026

*Official draft or proposed collector rates and one approval notice only: not market prices, not like-for-like and not final. No listing asking prices are used on this page. See the Karnal page for the next district north.

Farmhouse plot with boundary stones near Panipat, Haryana

District report — Panipat

Farmland India view

Why investors look at Panipat

Four reasoned points, with an honest note that the rail link is still a proposal.

An NCR district with a real economy

Panipat is in the Haryana sub-region of the NCR, on the GT Road, with textile, refinery and agricultural activity, so land demand does not rest on a single announcement.

A refinery that is nearly built out

The refinery expansion from 15 to 25 million tonnes a year was 94% complete at 30 June 2026 with commissioning scheduled for December 2026. Supplier demand may follow (this desk's reading), though the original target was September 2024.

A rail link on the table

The Delhi–Karnal RRTS has Haryana cabinet approval and would serve Sonipat and Panipat. Central sanction was not confirmed in the sources read, so it is a reason to watch, not to pay a premium.

No public price anchor

The 2023 approval of panchayat land for the refinery states no per-acre land price in the reports we opened, so there is no government-stated figure to anchor on. Use registered deeds and the village collector rate.

Browse reviewed land in Panipat

Confirm CLU and controlled-area status, groundwater and the Collector rate directly; these are not certified by Farmland India's review.

STRAIGHT TALK

Risks & challenges in Panipat

Read these before shortlisting in Panipat specifically.

Over-exploited groundwater

All six blocks are classed over-exploited as on 31 March 2024 and district extraction was reported at 222%. A borewell parcel can face falling water levels and costly deepening.

Salinity and fluoride

The CGWB profile reports salinity in Madlauda and Israna and fluoride above the permissible limit in places. Test the borewell water.

No sourced price series

We found no sourced price series. Collect registered sale deeds and the village collector rate before negotiating.

CLU and controlled areas

As part of the NCR sub-region, much land near towns and highways may fall in DTCP controlled areas. Non-farm use needs CLU, and a layout needs a licence under the 1975 Act.

Industrial neighbours

Textile, refinery and foundry activity can affect nearby parcels through effluent, dust and traffic. Visit the site and inspect adjoining land use.

Announced is not delivered

The Delhi–Karnal RRTS lacks confirmed central sanction, and the refinery target has moved before. Price on today's roads and canals, not on a corridor map.

Records and tehsil changes

Sources differ on the tehsil list (three in an older profile, five on the district website) and on 2011 population. Confirm the sub-registrar and tehsil for your parcel.

Who to contact

Local revenue & registration offices

Mutation, jamabandi extracts and land-record corrections for Panipat, Samalkha, Israna, Bapoli and Madlauda are handled at the tehsil, with the Deputy Commissioner's office as the district authority (Panipat district site). Sale-deed registration is at the local Sub-Registrar, and records are read on Jamabandi.nic.in. Change of Land Use and controlled-area queries go to the District Town Planner and DTCP Haryana; ask the tehsil office or the Haryana revenue portal for Collector rates (neither portal opened for this page). Confirm the exact office for your village with the Deputy Commissioner's office.

COMMON QUESTIONS

Frequently asked questions

Everything buyers, NRIs and investors ask before their first reviewed farmland purchase in Panipat.

Visit full wiki

01 of 04

What does farmland cost in Panipat?

We found no sourced price series for Panipat, so this page quotes no per-acre prices. The 2023 refinery land approval states a Rs 10 lakh per acre village-development payment but no land price. Ask the tehsil office for the village collector rate and compare registered deeds.

Ready to look at what is available?

Browse reviewed listings

Transparency

Sources and references

Law and courts

Government

News

Further reading

Data-currency note: census figures reflect 2011, the latest full Census. The industrial profile and the CGWB district profile use 2009 to 2011 data; block categories are as on 31 March 2024. Infrastructure statuses were read in October 2026 and change quickly. We found no sourced price series for this district. Collector rates and policies change by notification. This is a general guide, not legal advice. Report inaccuracies to wiki@farmlandindia.com.

For developers

Ready to explore Panipat farmland?

Browse reviewed projects and individual land parcels across Panipat — or if you own land here, list it with platform review and reach serious buyers.

Farmland India ("the Platform"), operated by Bulk Procure Private Limited, is a digital marketplace for listing agricultural land, farmhouse and plotted development projects. The Platform is not a real estate broker, agent or intermediary under RERA or any other applicable law, and does not act for either party to a transaction.

Listings are submitted by developers, owners and their authorised representatives. Before publication, the Platform carries out a documentary review of the material supplied and records what was sighted. That review is limited to the documents made available to us at that time. It is not a title investigation, not a legal opinion, and not a warranty of title, approvals, or the accuracy of any information supplied by a lister. The Trust Score is an internal assessment produced from that review and is intended as a research aid, not as a guarantee of outcome.

Every buyer must carry out independent due diligence before any transaction — including verification of land records, encumbrance searches, approvals and regulatory compliance — through their own advocate and chartered accountant. Any legal or advisory professional introduced through the Platform is engaged directly by the user, on that professional's own terms; the Platform does not employ, supervise or accept responsibility for their work.

Nothing on the Platform is investment advice. Land values can fall as well as rise. The Platform is not liable for any loss, dispute or damage arising from a transaction between parties.