Farmland India
Aerial view of sugarcane and paddy fields with poplar rows on the Yamunanagar plain in Haryana

District guide

Buying Land in Yamuna Nagar

A canal-fed sugarcane, wheat and poplar district where Forest Department, PLPA and Kalesar eco-zone checks matter, most groundwater blocks are over-exploited, and state draft collector rates, not asking prices, are the price evidence.

  • 1,756 sq km

    Area (MSME-DI profile)

  • About 12.1 lakh

    Population (Census 2011)

  • 5 of 7

    Blocks over-exploited (Mar 2024)

  • 11,000+ acres

    Crops hit by floods (Sep 2025)

*Indicative range across districts and land types. Stamp duty, registration and conversion charges are additional. Local measurement units vary — every listing states the unit it is priced in. Not a valuation or an offer.

District land record — Yamuna Nagar

Rev. 2026 · Farmland India desk

State

Haryana

Key farmland belts

Jagadhri · Radaur · Chhachhrauli · Bilaspur

Pricing unit

₹/acre (farmland) · ₹/sq yd (plots)

Legal status

Open — PLPA, forest and CLU checks apply

Planning authorities

DTCP Haryana · HSIIDC · Forest Department

Land records portal

Jamabandi.nic.in

District overview

Yamuna Nagar — canal-fed farmland with a plywood economy and a forest edge

The MSME-DI district profile gives Yamunanagar an area of 1,756 sq km and about 12.1 lakh people at the 2011 Census, and describes a "well spread network" of the Western Yamuna Canal, sugarcane, wheat and rice as the main crops, and a plywood industry of about 300 factories using poplar as raw material (about 2011 data). The Haryana Water Resources Authority notice lists seven blocks: Jagadhri, Mustafabad, Bilaspur, Sadaura, Radaur, Chachrauli and Khizrabad. Tehsil and block names differ between sources, so confirm them for your village.

Sugarcane, wheat and rice dominate: the ICAR-CRIDA plan (2007-09 data) gives rice on 59,400 hectares, wheat on 71,300 and sugarcane on 42,200, with normal rainfall of 952 mm. The Tribune reported on 26 July 2025 that the Mandoli and Manakpur timber markets reopened, with poplar at Rs 1,300 to 1,600 a quintal (July 2025). Rivers and seasonal streams flood: The Tribune (11 September 2025) reported more than 11,000 acres of paddy, sugarcane and fodder hit.

Which buyer? We have no sourced breakdown of where Yamunanagar buyers live and no sourced road distances to Chandigarh or Delhi, so this page does not rank either as the reference market. For a land buyer the district splits between working farmland and industrial edge on the plain, and land near the forest ranges (Kalesar, Kalisa, Sadhaura and Jagadhari ranges in the MSME-DI profile), where forest, PLPA and eco-zone checks matter more than any price.

What land costs. We publish no asking-price band, because listing-site asks could not be traced to registered deals. The best dated figures are the state's own draft 2026 collector rates: in the Jagadhri tehsil draft, irrigated agricultural land in the villages we read runs from Rs 20.9 lakh per acre (Jairam Pur Jagir) to Rs 1.35 crore (Karoda Khurd, prime irrigated), and land inside the Jagadhri municipal limits is Rs 1.248 crore; in the Chhachhrauli tehsil draft, the villages we read run from Rs 17 lakh (rain-fed) to Rs 35.4 lakh (irrigated). These are samples from drafts, not market prices. Several catalysts are real but unproven for land: the Ambala–Shamli Expressway is reported on track for December 2026 without a confirmed Yamunanagar link, and a power unit and an industrial estate are approvals only.

  • Jagadhri
  • Chhachhrauli
  • Radaur
  • Bilaspur
  • Kalesar National Park
  • Timber markets
Locator map of Yamuna Nagar district in Haryana

Transaction costs

Stamp duty & registration in Yamuna Nagar

7%

Stamp duty — men

state statement, includes 2% development fee (Tribune, Aug 2025)

5%

Stamp duty — women

state statement, includes 2% development fee (Tribune, Aug 2025)

Confirm

Rural rate and registration fee

not found in any official page or news report we opened

A Haryana government statement reported by The Tribune on 28 August 2025 said sale-deed duty has stayed at 7% for men (including a 2% development fee) and 5% for women since 2008; the same report announced a waiver for residential plots up to 50 sq yd in urban areas and 100 sq yd in rural areas under housing schemes. It gives no separate rural rate and no registration fee, so we show neither. Confirm the rate for your deed with the Sub-Registrar. The state publishes draft 2026 collector rates by tehsil (the Jagadhri and Chhachhrauli files are cited below); check the notified rate for the village before pricing an offer.

Know the belt

What is moving prices in Yamuna Nagar

Several markets inside one district. Figures here are draft collector rates and dated reports, not asking prices or valuations.

Jagadhri tehsil

Draft 2026 collector rate: Rs 20.9 lakh to Rs 1.35 crore per acre (irrigated, sample)

The draft rate file for Jagadhri tehsil (pages 1 to 31 of 89 read) shows irrigated agricultural land from Rs 20.9 lakh per acre at Jairam Pur Jagir, unchanged for 2026, to Rs 1.35 crore at Karoda Khurd (prime irrigated, up from Rs 1.08 crore), and Rs 1.248 crore for agricultural land inside the Jagadhri municipal limits, unchanged. Kail is Rs 47.19 lakh in the 2026 draft, up from Rs 36.3 lakh.

Check: the village and land type in the notified rate, since neighbouring villages differ several-fold.

Kail and the power-plant area

Draft 2026 collector rate for Kail: Rs 47.19 lakh per acre

The existing thermal plant and the approved 800 MW unit are at Pansara village near Jagadhri (The Tribune, January 2025). A resident quoted there complains that fly ash harms crops and fodder. The Kail rate is a draft, not a sale price.

Check: fly-ash exposure, road access, zoning and any pending acquisition or notification.

Chhachhrauli tehsil

Draft 2026 collector rate: Rs 17 lakh to Rs 35.4 lakh per acre (sample villages)

In the Chhachhrauli tehsil draft file, irrigated land is Rs 19.3 lakh at Darpur, Rs 35.4 lakh at Chhachhrauli village and about Rs 25 lakh at Alipura, with rain-fed land from Rs 17 lakh at Jattanwala and Darpur. Rows tied to roads reach Rs 60.5 lakh. These are samples from a draft, not a complete schedule.

Check: forest, PLPA and Kalesar eco-zone status in writing, per khasra.

Radaur · Bilaspur · Sadhaura

No price sourced

The tehsil rate files for Radaur, Bilaspur and Sadhaura were not opened, and we found no other dated price. The Tribune's September 2025 flood report puts crop damage at 944 acres in Radaur, 556 in Sadhaura and 523 in Bilaspur.

Check: flood history and groundwater category for the block.

Dusani timber-market land

Rs 1.4 crore per acre (farmers' demand, Mar 2024)

The Tribune reported on 13 March 2024 that the state sought about 37 acres at Dusani for a permanent timber market and that farmers agreed to sell while demanding Rs 1.4 crore per acre. That is a demand, not a price paid, and we did not find the final figure. See the article.

Check: whether the project is still live before using it as a comparable.

Units: killa, kanal, marla

Haryana land is quoted in killa (1 acre), kanal (605 sq yd) and marla (30.25 sq yd). Jamabandi records use kanal-marla, so convert any quote before comparing it.

Connectivity

How Yamunanagar connects — road, rail and air

Road distances are given only where a source was opened; journey times vary with traffic and road works.

By road

ChandigarhDistance and drive time not sourced
DelhiDistance and drive time not sourced
National and state highwaysNot sourced; check the NHAI map
Ambala–Shamli Expressway121 km; Dec 2026 target (Vij, Jan 2026); Yamunanagar link unconfirmed
Delhi–Dehradun ExpresswayFully operational 14 Apr 2026 (Outlook Business); no Yamunanagar link sourced

By air

Chandigarh InternationalDistance and drive time not sourced
Nearest airportNot sourced
IGI Airport, DelhiRoad time not sourced

By rail

Rail servicesLines and timetables not sourced; check Indian Railways
Jagadhri Railway WorkshopNamed in the MSME-DI profile (about 2011)
Rail bridge over the YamunaNot sourced
TimetablesNot confirmed; check Indian Railways

No buyer breakdown or road distance is sourced here. The expressway question is the last leg: confirm the Ambala–Shamli alignment and interchanges on the NHAI map before paying for it. Land-law checks are in the Haryana land-rules guide.

Growth catalysts

Upcoming infrastructure & developments

Status labels reflect sources read in October 2026. Government-announced timelines are not guaranteed; items marked confirm have single or conflicting sources.

01Opened in 2026

05Underway or to confirm

Target Dec 2026 · Yamunanagar link unconfirmed Ambala–Shamli Expressway
Operational · opened Apr 2026 Delhi–Dehradun Expressway (Saharanpur section)
Approved · foundation stone scheduled 14 Apr 2025 800 MW unit at the Yamunanagar thermal plant
Public hearing Dec 2024 · clearance not reported HSIIDC industrial estate, Manakpur Phase II
Land sought · construction not found Permanent timber market at Dusani
Road works reported · completion to confirm Yamunanagar–Jathlana–Karnal road upgrade
Target Dec 2026 · Yamunanagar link unconfirmed

Ambala–Shamli Expressway

A 121 km corridor from Ambala to Shamli in Uttar Pradesh. Haryana minister Anil Vij said in January 2026 that work was moving at a brisk pace for completion by December 2026 (Swarajya, 5 January 2026). Both the Swarajya and Tribune reports name Ambala and Shamli, not Yamunanagar, so confirm the alignment and any Yamunanagar interchange before paying for it.

Source: Swarajya, 5 Jan 2026; The Tribune, 4 Jan 2026

Length

~121 km

Corridor

Ambala → Shamli (UP)

Target

December 2026

Status

Reported on track; confirm route

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Not mapped; check NHAI
Operational · opened Apr 2026

Delhi–Dehradun Expressway (Saharanpur section)

Outlook Business reports that the expressway became fully operational on 14 April 2026, with the first 32 km open since December 2025, and that Delhi–Dehradun travel falls from over six hours to about two and a half. The four phases add to about 210 km, with a six-lane section to the Saharanpur bypass. We found no sourced link road or interchange for Yamunanagar, so treat any benefit as indirect and confirm.

Source: Outlook Business, 14 Apr 2026

Length

210 km

Corridor

Delhi → Saharanpur → Dehradun

Time

~2.5 h Delhi–Dehradun

Status

Operational

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Not mapped; check NHAI
Approved · foundation stone scheduled 14 Apr 2025

800 MW unit at the Yamunanagar thermal plant

A new 800 MW ultra-supercritical unit at the existing plant at Pansara village was cleared by the environment ministry on 20 January 2025 at an estimated ₹6,900 crore (The Tribune, 25 Jan 2025). A 3 April 2025 report said the Prime Minister would lay the foundation stone on 14 April at about ₹7,272 crore (The Tribune, 3 Apr 2025); we did not confirm the event and found no 2026 progress report. A resident has complained of fly ash from the existing plant.

Source: The Tribune, 25 Jan 2025; The Tribune, 3 Apr 2025

Capacity

800 MW

Site

Pansara village, Jagadhri

Cost

~₹7,272 crore (reported)

Status

Approved; progress not found

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Pansara
  • Kail
Public hearing Dec 2024 · clearance not reported

HSIIDC industrial estate, Manakpur Phase II

HSIIDC plans a 258.04-acre Phase II at Manakpur village, an extension of Phase I. The Haryana State Pollution Control Board held a public hearing in December 2024, at which nearby villagers said they had no objections; the report does not say whether environmental clearance was granted, and we found no later status.

Source: The Tribune, 20 Dec 2024

Area

258.04 acres

Site

Manakpur village

Hearing

Dec 2024

Status

Clearance not reported

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Manakpur
  • Jagadhri
Land sought · construction not found

Permanent timber market at Dusani

A Jagadhri court ordered the Haryana State Agricultural Marketing Board to return leased land at Mandoli (about 11 acres) to its owner by 21 December 2023; the board had set up a temporary timber market there in 2016. The state then sought about 37 acres at Dusani for a permanent market, and farmers agreed to sell in March 2024 while demanding ₹1.4 crore per acre. The Mandoli and Manakpur markets were trading again in July 2025, and we found no report of construction at Dusani.

Source: The Tribune, 13 Mar 2024; The Tribune, 26 Jul 2025

Area

~37 acres

Site

Dusani village

Farmers' demand

₹1.4 crore per acre

Status

No construction found

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Dusani
  • Mandoli
  • Manakpur
Road works reported · completion to confirm

Yamunanagar–Jathlana–Karnal road upgrade

The Tribune reported on 2 February 2025 that a roughly 20 km stretch of the Yamunanagar–Karnal route through Jathlana, costing about ₹21 crore, was under construction, with the PWD engineer hopeful of completion by the end of March 2025. We did not confirm completion.

Source: The Tribune, 2 Feb 2025

Length

20 km

Cost

~₹21 crore

Corridor

Yamunanagar → Jathlana → Karnal

Status

Completion to confirm

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Jathlana
  • Jagadhri

Agriculture & terrain

Soil, water & crops in Yamuna Nagar

Canal-fed and tubewell farming on sandy loam, a forest edge, a poplar-and-plywood economy, and groundwater that is over-exploited in most blocks.

🌾 Plains farmland (Jagadhri, Radaur)

The ICAR-CRIDA district plan (land use 2007-08, crop areas 2008-09; dated) gives sandy loam on 75% of the area and loamy sand on 25%, net sown area of 125,000 hectares and cropping intensity of 164%, with rice on 59,400 hectares, wheat on 71,300 and sugarcane on 42,200. The MSME-DI profile names the Western Yamuna Canal network. Both are older data, so use them for the pattern, not current counts.

  • Sugarcane
  • Paddy
  • Wheat

⛰️ Forest ranges and Kalesar

The MSME-DI profile gives the Yamunanagar forest division at 21,797 hectares across the Kalesar, Kalisa, Sadhaura and Jagadhari ranges. PLPA and eco-zone status decide what can be cleared, farmed or built near them. Legal status matters more than soil here; confirm it with the Forest Department in writing.

  • Forest
  • PLPA
  • Kalesar

🌳 Poplar and the timber economy

Poplar feeds the plywood factories (about 300 in the MSME-DI profile). The Tribune reported on 26 July 2025 that the Manakpur and Mandoli timber markets reopened after the Kanwar Yatra, with poplar at ₹1,300–1,600 per quintal and eucalyptus at ₹1,100–1,225. Check cane payment terms with the mill, and wheat and paddy prices on Agmarknet, not opened, when comparing farm income with any land price.

  • Poplar
  • Eucalyptus
  • Sugarcane

💧 Water & rainfall

Normal rainfall is 952 mm, of which 779 mm falls in the monsoon (ICAR-CRIDA). Bore wells irrigate 97.3% of the net irrigated area in the plan. The Haryana Water Resources Authority notice (categorisation as on 31 March 2024; the notice shows no issue date) lists Jagadhri, Mustafabad, Bilaspur, Sadaura and Radaur as over-exploited and Chachrauli and Khizrabad as semi-critical. The CGWB 2024 assessment puts the state at 135.96% extraction and lists nitrate as anomalous at scattered locations in Yamunanagar. Flooding is the other water risk: The Tribune reported crops on more than 11,000 acres hit in September 2025 by the Yamuna, Som and Pathrala rivers, with Jagadhri (4,105 acres), Chhachhrauli (3,178) and Saraswati Nagar (2,199) worst affected.

📐 Measurement units

Haryana land units: 1 killa = 1 acre; 1 kanal = 605 sq yd; 1 marla = 30.25 sq yd. Convert every quote to acres before comparing two listings, and ask for the khasra area in the jamabandi.

At a glance

Yamunanagar vs. its neighbours

District / beltDraft 2026 collector rate*Source
Jagadhri tehsil — irrigated agricultural land (sample villages)Rs 20.9 lakh to Rs 1.35 crore per acreDraft file, ULB Haryana (pages 1 to 31 of 89)
Jagadhri — agricultural land inside the municipal limitsRs 1.248 crore per acreDraft file, ULB Haryana
Chhachhrauli tehsil — irrigated (sample villages)Rs 19.3 lakh to Rs 35.4 lakh per acreDraft file, ULB Haryana
Chhachhrauli tehsil — rain-fed (lowest in sample)Rs 17 lakh per acreDraft file, ULB Haryana

*Draft rates for villages in the parts of the files we read; they are not a complete schedule, the notified rates may differ, and the rows are not like-for-like. We found no sourced prices for neighbouring districts to compare. See the Panchkula page and the Karnal page for neighbouring markets.

Farmhouse plot with boundary stones near Yamuna Nagar, Haryana

District report — Yamuna Nagar

Farmland India view

Why investors look at Yamuna Nagar

Five reasoned points, with an honest note that the catalysts are still moving.

A working agri-business economy

Sugarcane, paddy and farm-grown poplar feed the district's sugar and plywood industries (the MSME-DI profile counts about 300 plywood factories), so land here has a commodity use case beyond lifestyle demand.

State rate files show a wide spread

The draft 2026 collector rates we read run from about Rs 17 lakh to Rs 1.35 crore per acre, so village and land type matter more than the district name. The files were read in part, so check the notified rate for your village.

Road links are arriving

The Ambala–Shamli Expressway is reported on track for December 2026 and the Delhi–Dehradun Expressway opened in April 2026. Neither report names a Yamunanagar interchange.

Industry and power add demand, not certainty

An 800 MW thermal unit and a 258-acre industrial estate would add employment if built, but we found no 2026 progress on either, and a resident has raised fly-ash concerns.

Paperwork decides the hill edge

PLPA, forest and eco-zone status split saleable land from unusable land near the forest ranges. The return case is documented title and compliant use, not the headline price.

Browse reviewed land in Yamunanagar

Confirm PLPA, forest, eco-zone, CLU and flood status directly; these are not certified by Farmland India's review.

STRAIGHT TALK

Risks & challenges in Yamuna Nagar

Read these before shortlisting in Yamunanagar specifically.

Punjab Land Preservation Act overlay

Yamunanagar is named on the Forest Department's PLPA page, and the Act lets the State regulate clearing, quarrying and tree-cutting in notified areas. No village-level list was found.

Forest land and the Kalesar eco-zone

The forest division covers 21,797 hectares in the MSME-DI profile, and a draft 2009 notification proposed a five-kilometre eco-sensitive zone around Kalesar National Park. Confirm a nearby parcel is not forest or zone land.

River and stream flooding

More than 11,000 acres of crops were hit in September 2025, with Jagadhri and Chhachhrauli worst affected. Ask for flood history and check a parcel against the nearest river or stream.

Over-exploited groundwater

Five blocks are over-exploited and two semi-critical in the 31 March 2024 categorisation, and bore wells supply almost all irrigation in the ICAR-CRIDA plan. Check borewell depth before assuming water.

CLU and farmhouse approval

A parcel marketed as farmhouse-ready may not hold CLU. Ask for the CLU order, the zoning and the current text of the 2021 eco-friendly farmhouse policy.

Wide spread in state rates

Draft collector rates run from about Rs 17 lakh to Rs 1.35 crore per acre in the villages we read, and the Dusani figure is a farmers' demand. Collect several registered comparables before negotiating.

Announced infrastructure is not delivered

The Ambala–Shamli Expressway has a December 2026 target and an unconfirmed Yamunanagar alignment, and the timber market, industrial estate and power unit have no confirmed 2026 progress. Price a parcel on today's fundamentals.

Who to contact

Local revenue, planning & registration offices

Mutation and revenue-record matters go through the Tehsildar of the relevant tehsil. CLU applications go to the Directorate of Town & Country Planning through the District Town Planner, and the Forest Department confirms whether a khasra is PLPA-notified or forest land. Sale-deed registration is handled by the local Sub-Registrar. Draft collector rates by tehsil are published by Urban Local Bodies Haryana (for example the Jagadhri file); record details are on Jamabandi.nic.in, not opened, and office locations on the Haryana Revenue Department portal, not opened.

COMMON QUESTIONS

Frequently asked questions

Everything buyers, NRIs and investors ask before their first reviewed farmland purchase in Yamuna Nagar.

Visit full wiki

01 of 04

Can I buy agricultural land in Yamuna Nagar?

We found no domicile bar for Indian buyers in the texts we opened, but we did not read Haryana's revenue statutes in full, so confirm with a Haryana revenue lawyer. The Ceiling on Land Holdings Act, 1972 caps a holding at 7.25 hectares of two-crop assured-irrigation land, 10.9 hectares for one crop and 21.8 hectares for other land. NRIs and OCIs cannot buy agricultural land, a farm house or plantation property under RBI's 2018 regulations.

Ready to look at what is available?

Browse reviewed listings

Transparency

Sources and references

Law and courts

Government

News

Further reading

Data-currency note: census figures reflect 2011; the MSME-DI profile dates from about 2011 and the ICAR-CRIDA plan from 2007-09; the HWRA categorisation is as on 31 March 2024 and its notice shows no issue date; collector-rate files are 2026 drafts read in part; infrastructure statuses were read on 12 October 2026 and change quickly. Portals marked "not opened" were not read. This is a general guide, not legal advice. Report inaccuracies to wiki@farmlandindia.com.

For developers

Ready to explore Yamuna Nagar farmland?

Browse reviewed projects and individual land parcels across Yamuna Nagar — or if you own land here, list it with platform review and reach serious buyers.

Farmland India ("the Platform"), operated by Bulk Procure Private Limited, is a digital marketplace for listing agricultural land, farmhouse and plotted development projects. The Platform is not a real estate broker, agent or intermediary under RERA or any other applicable law, and does not act for either party to a transaction.

Listings are submitted by developers, owners and their authorised representatives. Before publication, the Platform carries out a documentary review of the material supplied and records what was sighted. That review is limited to the documents made available to us at that time. It is not a title investigation, not a legal opinion, and not a warranty of title, approvals, or the accuracy of any information supplied by a lister. The Trust Score is an internal assessment produced from that review and is intended as a research aid, not as a guarantee of outcome.

Every buyer must carry out independent due diligence before any transaction — including verification of land records, encumbrance searches, approvals and regulatory compliance — through their own advocate and chartered accountant. Any legal or advisory professional introduced through the Platform is engaged directly by the user, on that professional's own terms; the Platform does not employ, supervise or accept responsibility for their work.

Nothing on the Platform is investment advice. Land values can fall as well as rise. The Platform is not liable for any loss, dispute or damage arising from a transaction between parties.