Farmland India
Aerial view of agricultural land and farm fields near Bhavnagar, Gujarat

District guide

Buying Land in Bhavnagar

A Gulf of Khambhat district of cotton, groundnut and onion farmland, with coastal salinity checks, the Alang yard, a Dholera expressway extension announced and no sourced price series.

  • 11

    Talukas (district portal)

  • 28.78 lakh

    Pre-split population (2011)

  • 113

    Ships beached at Alang, FY25

  • Announced Jul 2026

    Dholera expressway extension

*Indicative range across districts and land types. Stamp duty, registration and conversion charges are additional. Local measurement units vary — every listing states the unit it is priced in. Not a valuation or an offer.

District land record — Bhavnagar

Rev. 2026 · Farmland India desk

State

Gujarat

Sub-divisions

11 talukas listed on the district portal: Bhavnagar City, Bhavnagar Rural, Gariyadhar, Ghogha, Jesar, Mahuva, Palitana, Sihor, Talaja, Umarla and Vallabhipur (Bhavnagar district portal, October 2026)

Key markets

Bhavnagar city · Sihor · Palitana · Mahuva · Talaja · Ghogha

Demand anchors

Gulf of Khambhat coast with the Alang ship-recycling yard about 50 km from the city · Ghogha ferry link to Hazira · onion processing at Mahuva · Ahmedabad–Dholera Expressway extension announced, not started

Rail

No railway source was opened for this page; check the station list and timetable with Indian Railways

Size and population

Older district profile: 9,980.9 sq km and 28,77,961 people at Census 2011, before Botad district was carved out in 2013 (CGWB Bhavnagar profile); no post-split figure was sourced

Pricing unit

₹/vigha or ₹/guntha for farmland (local usage varies) · ₹/sq yd for plots

Local units

Guntha = 1,089 sq ft · 40 gunthas = 1 acre · Vigha varies by region, no official conversion found

Land records portal

anyror.gujarat.gov.in for the 7/12 extract (not opened for this page; check records there)

District overview

Bhavnagar — a Gulf of Khambhat district with a ship-recycling yard and a new expressway announced

Bhavnagar is a Saurashtra coast district whose portal lists 11 talukas (Bhavnagar district portal, October 2026). The portal places the city 198 km from Gandhinagar and Alang, which it calls the world's largest ship-breaking yard, about 50 km away (same portal). The CGWB profile gives 9,980.9 sq km and 28,77,961 people at Census 2011, but that profile predates the 2013 creation of Botad district from part of Bhavnagar and Ahmedabad (CGWB Bhavnagar profile), so treat the size as an upper bound.

We publish no per-vigha or per-acre price band for Bhavnagar. No sourced asking-price series exists in our research and no village jantri schedule was obtained. The one statewide reference is that jantri rates doubled from 15 April 2023 (DeshGujarat, February 2023). Jantri is the registration floor, not a market price.

Farmland here is cotton, groundnut and onion country on black and coastal alluvial soil, with open wells doing most of the irrigation (ICAR-CRIDA Bhavnagar plan). The coast brings salinity: the same plan names Vallabhipur, Ghogha, Talaja and Mahuva for seawater intrusion. Water quality matters as much as the road.

  • Alang
  • Ghogha
  • Mahuva
  • Palitana
  • Sihor
  • Gulf of Khambhat
Locator map of Bhavnagar district in Gujarat

Transaction costs

Stamp duty & registration in Bhavnagar

4.9%

Stamp duty on a conveyance deed

as stated in the 2017-18 audit report; current rate to confirm

Not found

Registration fee on a land sale deed

no sourced rate

2x

Jantri rates from 15 April 2023

as reported statewide; no Bhavnagar schedule seen

The Comptroller and Auditor General's audit of the year ended 31 March 2018 says stamp duty on a conveyance deed is 4.9 per cent of the greater of consideration and market value (CAG Report 3 of 2019, chapter 4). A 2025 amendment Bill to the Gujarat Stamp Act shows no change to the land conveyance rate in its summary, but we have not seen the enacted schedule (Gujarat Bill 10 of 2025, PRS). We found no registration fee rate for land deeds and do not quote one. Registration runs on the gARVI 2.0 system in 294 Sub-Registrar offices statewide (Inspector General of Registration summary; CMO Gujarat, January 2023), and the gARVI portal is where fees are paid, though we could not open it. We did not obtain a list of Sub-Registrar offices in Bhavnagar. Ask the Sub-Registrar for the current duty and fee on your parcel, and for the jantri applied to the village.

Know the belt

What is moving prices in Bhavnagar

One statewide reference and a set of local signals that are about use, not price. No listing-site prices are used.

Jantri: statewide doubling

Rates doubled from 15 April 2023, as reported

DeshGujarat reported in February 2023 that jantri rates would double from 15 April 2023, the first revision in about 12 years (DeshGujarat, February 2023). A revised draft for agricultural land was still pending in November 2024 (The Secretariat, November 2024). We have no Bhavnagar village schedule.

Check: the jantri for the village and survey number on the sale-deed date.

Alang ship recycling

A working yard, well below its peak

India Seatrade News reported in September 2024 that Alang had 153 plots with about 20 working, and 125 ships beached in 2023-24 against 415 at the 2011-12 peak (India Seatrade News, September 2024). The next report counted 113 ships beached in FY25, the lowest in a decade, though tonnage rose about 6.6% (India Seatrade News, April 2025). Industry volume swings, so we do not read it as a price driver.

Check: any land-use claim near the yard against the NA order and the 500 m high-tide-line limit.

Mahuva onion processing

Mahuva reported as the largest onion processing centre

India Seatrade News reported in June 2024 that Mahuva has 120 dehydration plants and that Gujarat exported 83,452 tonnes of dehydrated white onion in 2023-24 (India Seatrade News, June 2024). The report does not give land values.

Check: zoning and NA status for any parcel sold as suitable for processing.

Asking prices

No sourced price series

Listing-site asking prices for Bhavnagar could not be traced to registered deals, so none are shown. A seller's ask and the jantri can sit far apart.

Check: registered sale deeds in the same village before negotiating.

Units: guntha, acre, vigha

Gujarat land is sold by the guntha (1,089 sq ft), the acre (40 gunthas) and the vigha. The vigha varies by region and we found no official conversion, so ask the seller for the area in gunthas or sq m as written in the 7/12 and convert from that. Fragmentation rules are set in gunthas: the reported rural standard area is 10 gunthas.

Connectivity

How Bhavnagar connects — road, rail and air

No official drive times were found, so none are given. Journey times vary with traffic and road works.

By road

Talaja–Mahuva (old NH-8E)45.46 km four-laning, 97.13% (Jun 2025)
Mahuva–Kagvadar (NH-8E)40.02 km, 94.00% (Jun 2025)
Ahmedabad–Dholera Expressway109.019 km, public testing Feb 2026
Extension to BhavnagarWork due within 3 months of Jul 2026; length not stated

By sea and air

Ghogha–Hazira ro-pax ferryRelaunched 7 Sep 2022; current service to confirm
Bhavnagar airportRs 104 crore upgrade planned in 2013; outcome not checked
Dholera airportAbout 80% built, Jul 2026; opening not confirmed

By rail

Station and timetableNo railway source opened; check with Indian Railways
Vande Bharat via BotadSabarmati–Veraval rerouted via Botad from 17 Aug 2026

The practical question is the last leg from the highway to the parcel; ask for the access road in the 7/12 or a registered easement. Full Gujarat rules for buyers from outside the state: Gujarat agricultural land rules.

Growth catalysts

Upcoming infrastructure & developments

Status labels reflect sources read in October 2026. Government-announced timelines are not guaranteed; items marked confirm have a single or an older source.

03Open or inaugurated

03In progress or pending

Announced · work due within 3 months of Jul 2026 Ahmedabad–Dholera Expressway extension to Bhavnagar
Open for public testing · Feb 2026 Ahmedabad–Dholera Expressway
Operating · last report found Apr 2024 Ghogha–Hazira ro-pax ferry
Operating · volumes at multi-year lows Alang ship-recycling yard
In progress · 94–97% (Jun 2025) · target date lapsed Talaja–Mahuva–Kagvadar four-laning (NH-8E)
Proposed 2013 plan · outcome not checked Bhavnagar airport upgrade
Announced · work due within 3 months of Jul 2026

Ahmedabad–Dholera Expressway extension to Bhavnagar

Union minister Nitin Gadkari said in July 2026 that work on extending the Ahmedabad–Dholera Expressway to Bhavnagar would begin within three months (DeshGujarat, July 2026). Swarajya reported that the trip between Ahmedabad and Bhavnagar is projected to fall from about four hours to nearly two (Swarajya, July 2026). Neither report gives the length, cost or alignment, so do not price a parcel on a corridor that is not yet drawn. Confirm with NHAI.

Source: DeshGujarat, 10 Jul 2026; Swarajya, 11 Jul 2026

Corridor

Ahmedabad–Dholera → Bhavnagar

Length

Not stated

Status

Announced

Travel time

~4 h to ~2 h (projected)

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Bhavnagar
  • Sihor
  • Vallabhipur
Open for public testing · Feb 2026

Ahmedabad–Dholera Expressway

A 109.019 km expressway costing Rs 5,800 crore opened for public testing in February 2026, cutting the Ahmedabad–Dholera trip to about 45 minutes (Swarajya, February 2026). It is the base that the Bhavnagar extension would build on. The report is a trade-press account; confirm current status with NHAI.

Source: Swarajya, 27 Feb 2026

Length

109.019 km

Cost

Rs 5,800 crore

Status

Public testing

Travel time

~45 minutes

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Dholera
  • Vallabhipur
Operating · last report found Apr 2024

Ghogha–Hazira ro-pax ferry

The ferry between Ghogha in Bhavnagar district and Hazira in Surat relaunched on 7 September 2022 after a suspension, with two daily trips each way and a crossing of about three hours (The Week, September 2022). An April 2024 trade report still described two vessels running daily and said a Pipavav–Mumbai link was only under consideration (India Seatrade News, April 2024). We found no later report, so confirm the current timetable with the operator before treating it as a land driver.

Source: The Week, 12 Sep 2022; India Seatrade News, 13 Apr 2024

Route

Ghogha → Hazira

Crossing

~3 hours

Daily trips

2 each way (2022)

Status

Confirm current

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Ghogha
  • Bhavnagar
Operating · volumes at multi-year lows

Alang ship-recycling yard

The district portal places Alang about 50 km from Bhavnagar (Bhavnagar district portal). India Seatrade News reported 153 plots with about 20 working in September 2024, workforce down to about 3,500, and over Rs 1,600 crore of investment promised at the 2024 Vibrant Gujarat summit but mostly on paper (India Seatrade News, September 2024). FY25 saw 113 ships beached, the lowest in a decade (India Seatrade News, April 2025). The yard is a sector story with swings, not a land price series.

Source: India Seatrade News, 23 Sep 2024; 3 Apr 2025

Plots

153 (about 20 working, Sep 2024)

Ships FY25

113

Ships FY24

125

Distance

~50 km from city

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Alang
  • Talaja
  • Mahuva
In progress · 94–97% (Jun 2025) · target date lapsed

Talaja–Mahuva–Kagvadar four-laning (NH-8E)

DeshGujarat's June 2025 list of NHAI works shows the 45.46 km Talaja–Mahuva package at 97.13% financial progress and the 40.02 km Mahuva–Kagvadar package at 94.00%, as of 1 June 2025, with scheduled completion dates of September 2022 (DeshGujarat, June 2025). Both dates have passed. We found no later progress figure, so confirm with NHAI whether the stretch is open.

Source: DeshGujarat, 4 Jun 2025

Talaja–Mahuva

45.46 km

Mahuva–Kagvadar

40.02 km

Progress (Jun 2025)

97.13% / 94.00%

Scheduled

Sep 2022 (lapsed)

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Talaja
  • Mahuva
Proposed 2013 plan · outcome not checked

Bhavnagar airport upgrade

A March 2013 report on the Twelfth Five-Year Plan said the government would upgrade Bhavnagar airport with Rs 104 crore, including a new terminal building (Infrastructure Today, March 2013). We found no later report on whether the work was done or on current flights, so this item is an old plan and not a status. Confirm with the Airports Authority of India.

Source: Infrastructure Today, 12 Mar 2013

Plan

New terminal

Outlay

Rs 104 crore (2013)

Status

Not confirmed

Source age

13 years

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Bhavnagar

Agriculture & terrain

Soil, crops & water in Bhavnagar

Black and coastal alluvial soils, cotton-groundnut-onion farming on open wells, and a coast where seawater intrusion is documented.

🌾 Black-soil plains (Sihor, Gariyadhar, Palitana, Umarla)

The ICAR-CRIDA district plan, with 2008-09 crop data and boundaries that still include Botad, gives medium to shallow black soil on 58.4% of the area and coastal alluvial soil on 41.6%. Crop area was 306,200 ha of cotton, 125,200 ha of groundnut, 47,900 ha of bajra, 33,900 ha of wheat and 32,300 ha of onion, from a gross cropped area of 581,900 ha and cropping intensity of 106% (ICAR-CRIDA Bhavnagar plan). Treat the figures as a 2008-09 snapshot of the pre-split district.

  • Cotton
  • Groundnut
  • Bajra
  • Onion
  • Wheat

🧅 Mahuva and Talaja: onion and fruit

Mahuva is reported as the largest onion processing centre, with 120 dehydration plants (India Seatrade News, June 2024). The CRIDA plan also lists mango (5,500 ha), citrus (5,400 ha), sapota (2,700 ha) and cumin (5,600 ha). Check that a parcel sold as a mango or onion farm has the crop and a water source, not just the label.

  • Onion
  • Mango
  • Citrus
  • Sapota
  • Cumin

🌊 Gulf of Khambhat coast and salinity

CRIDA names Vallabhipur, Ghogha, Talaja and Mahuva for seawater intrusion in coastal aquifers. The CGWB profile found electrical conductivity of 3,200 to over 15,000 µS/cm across most of the district, with 7 of 24 samples above 3,200, and fluoride above 1.5 mg/L in four samples, highest at Vallabhipur (2.50) (CGWB Bhavnagar profile, 2013). Farmers in Zanzmer, Vejodari and Pratappara told ISignal in November 2023 that salinity had cut yields, one putting the fall at 40% (ISignal, November 2023).

  • Seawater intrusion
  • Fluoride
  • Salinity

💧 Water & rainfall

Normal rainfall is 519 mm with 28 rainy days in the CRIDA plan and 598.4 mm in the CGWB profile, so we give both. Open wells irrigate 170,600 of 194,000 gross irrigated hectares (88%), canals only 10,100 ha and tanks 13,300 ha (ICAR-CRIDA Bhavnagar plan). CGWB put stage of groundwater development at 64.06% in 2011 and rated all 11 listed talukas safe, from 40.74% in Vallabhipur to 69.72% in Bhavnagar (CGWB Bhavnagar profile), whereas CRIDA lists five semi-critical blocks; the two documents disagree and both predate the split. The 2024 statewide CGWB report gives no district-wise stage (CGWB, December 2024). Check borewell yield and water quality for any parcel.

📐 Measurement units

Gujarat land units: guntha = 1,089 sq ft; 40 gunthas = 1 acre; the vigha varies by region with no official conversion found. Convert every quote to gunthas or acres before comparing two offers. Crop income is modest next to land values on the coast, so price a parcel on location, water quality and permitted use, not on yield. We have no sourced mandi price series for Bhavnagar.

At a glance

Bhavnagar vs. its neighbours

District / beltPrice band* (per acre)Evidence
BhavnagarNo sourced price seriesJantri doubled statewide from 15 Apr 2023 (reported); no village schedule seen
BotadNo sourced price seriesNo figure used on this page; see the Botad page for its rules and crops
AmreliNo sourced price seriesNo figure used on this page
AhmedabadNo sourced price seriesNo figure used on this page; Dholera corridor news is listed above

*Jantri is a registration floor, not a market price. See the Botad page for the neighbouring Saurashtra cotton district, the Amreli page for another coastal-edge district and the Ahmedabad page for the Dholera side.

Farmhouse plot with boundary stones near Bhavnagar, Gujarat

District report — Bhavnagar

Farmland India view

Why investors look at Bhavnagar

Five reasoned points, with an honest note that the price evidence is thin and the main road project has not started.

A coast district with working industry

Alang is a live yard, the Ghogha ferry reached Surat in 2022 and Mahuva processes onions. None of that is a price series, but it means demand is not only agricultural.

An expressway extension on the table

The Ahmedabad–Dholera Expressway extension to Bhavnagar was announced in July 2026 with work due within three months, and the projected trip falls from about four hours to two. Length, cost and alignment are unpublished, so this is optionality.

Four-laning on the Mahuva side

The Talaja–Mahuva and Mahuva–Kagvadar packages were 94% to 97% by financial progress in June 2025, past their 2022 target. Price on the road as it is, not as scheduled.

Water quality is the filter

Seawater intrusion in the coastal talukas and fluoride at Vallabhipur make a water test part of the purchase. Inland black-soil talukas are a different case.

A market that rewards paperwork

Farmer status, NA permission, the fragmentation limit and the coastal 500 m limit all attach to the parcel. A buyer who documents each is better placed than one relying on a broker summary.

Confirm farmer status, NA, coastal and water-quality questions directly; these are not certified by Farmland India’s review.

STRAIGHT TALK

Risks & challenges in Bhavnagar

Read these before shortlisting in Bhavnagar specifically.

Farmer-status rule

Section 63 bars transfer to a non-agriculturist without permission, and the 2024 circulars check farmer status back to 1995. Ask for the 7/12 history and the Collector's permission where the seller bought as a farmer.

Seawater intrusion and salinity

CRIDA names Vallabhipur, Ghogha, Talaja and Mahuva, and CGWB found high conductivity across most of the district. Test the borewell water before assuming irrigation or a farmhouse supply.

Coastal limits

The 2008 resolution lists a 500 m limit from the high-tide line; we found no Bhavnagar-specific Coastal Regulation Zone map. Ask in writing before paying a deposit on shoreline land.

Fragmentation

Plots below the standard area attracted a 10% of jantri penalty before the September 2026 amendment; the Act text and deadlines were not seen. Ask whether the parcel was split from a larger survey number.

Disturbed Areas Act

Where an area is notified, a transfer needs the Collector's sanction. We hold no list for Bhavnagar; ask the Collector or Sub-Registrar about the survey number.

Announced is not delivered

The Bhavnagar expressway extension has no length, cost or alignment; the NH-8E packages passed their 2022 dates; the 2013 airport plan has no later status. Price on today's fundamentals.

No sourced price series

We use no listing-site prices for Bhavnagar and no village jantri was obtained. Collect registered comparables before negotiating.

Who to contact

Local revenue, planning & registration offices

Mutation and revenue-record matters go through the Mamlatdar of the relevant taluka (Bhavnagar City, Bhavnagar Rural, Gariyadhar, Ghogha, Jesar, Mahuva, Palitana, Sihor, Talaja, Umarla, Vallabhipur), as the Bhavnagar district portal lists them, with appeals and non-agricultural permission going to the Prant (Deputy Collector) and the District Collector. The Tenancy Act permission and premium process is run by the Collector's office, as the Surat Collectorate tenancy page describes for its own district. Sale-deed registration is handled by the local Sub-Registrar through gARVI. Town planning schemes and urban development authority areas fall under the Gujarat Town Planning and Urban Development Act, 1976 (not opened for this page). Records are on AnyROR and fees on gARVI; we could not open either, so check them directly. We do not list officials or phone numbers.

COMMON QUESTIONS

Frequently asked questions

Everything buyers, NRIs and investors ask before their first reviewed farmland purchase in Bhavnagar.

Visit full wiki

01 of 04

What does agricultural land cost in Bhavnagar?

We publish no per-vigha or per-acre band for Bhavnagar because listing-site asking prices could not be traced to registered deals and no village jantri schedule was obtained. The one official reference is that jantri rates doubled from 15 April 2023 (DeshGujarat, February 2023). Jantri is a registration floor, not a market price.

Transparency

Sources and references

Law and courts

Government

News

Further reading

Data-currency note: the CGWB profile and the ICAR-CRIDA plan describe the pre-2013 district and use 2008-09 to 2012 data; the district portal figures were read in October 2026; infrastructure statuses were read in October 2026 and change quickly; jantri is a statewide report with no Bhavnagar schedule. Pages marked "not opened" are named only as places to check. This is a general guide, not legal advice. Report inaccuracies to wiki@farmlandindia.com.

For developers

Ready to explore Bhavnagar farmland?

Browse reviewed projects and individual land parcels across Bhavnagar — or if you own land here, list it with platform review and reach serious buyers.

Farmland India ("the Platform"), operated by Bulk Procure Private Limited, is a digital marketplace for listing agricultural land, farmhouse and plotted development projects. The Platform is not a real estate broker, agent or intermediary under RERA or any other applicable law, and does not act for either party to a transaction.

Listings are submitted by developers, owners and their authorised representatives. Before publication, the Platform carries out a documentary review of the material supplied and records what was sighted. That review is limited to the documents made available to us at that time. It is not a title investigation, not a legal opinion, and not a warranty of title, approvals, or the accuracy of any information supplied by a lister. The Trust Score is an internal assessment produced from that review and is intended as a research aid, not as a guarantee of outcome.

Every buyer must carry out independent due diligence before any transaction — including verification of land records, encumbrance searches, approvals and regulatory compliance — through their own advocate and chartered accountant. Any legal or advisory professional introduced through the Platform is engaged directly by the user, on that professional's own terms; the Platform does not employ, supervise or accept responsibility for their work.

Nothing on the Platform is investment advice. Land values can fall as well as rise. The Platform is not liable for any loss, dispute or damage arising from a transaction between parties.