Farmland India
Aerial view of agricultural land and farm fields near Jamnagar, Gujarat

District guide

Buying Land in Jamnagar

A Gulf of Kutch district in Saurashtra: farmer-status rule, draft marine eco-sensitive zone, notified SEZ survey numbers and corridors still at planning stage.

  • 5,846 sq km

    Area

  • 13.89 lakh

    Population (Census 2011)

  • 7

    Talukas (district portal)

  • 316 km, DPR stage (Nov 2024)

    Jamnagar–Bharuch expressway

*Indicative range across districts and land types. Stamp duty, registration and conversion charges are additional. Local measurement units vary — every listing states the unit it is priced in. Not a valuation or an offer.

District land record — Jamnagar

Rev. 2026 · Farmland India desk

State

Gujarat

Sub-divisions

7 talukas: Jamnagar City, Jamnagar Rural, Kalavad, Dhrol, Jodiya, Lalpur, Jamjodhpur; 421 villages (Jamnagar district portal, October 2026)

Key markets

Jamnagar city · Dhrol · Jodiya · Kalavad · Lalpur · Jamjodhpur

Demand anchors

Oil refining, oil mills and brass industry listed on the district portal · Amritsar–Jamnagar corridor and a proposed Jamnagar–Bharuch expressway · a notified multi-product special economic zone

Rail

Western Railway line; doubling work on the Jamnagar line was reported in July 2026 (DeshGujarat, July 2026, headline seen; article not opened)

Size and population

5,846 sq km · 13,89,283 people, Census 2011 (Jamnagar district portal, October 2026)

Pricing unit

₹/guntha or ₹/acre; vigha quotes vary by region

Local units

Guntha = 1,089 sq ft · 40 gunthas = 1 acre · Vigha varies by region

Land records portal

AnyROR (did not open for us; check records there)

District overview

Jamnagar — an industrial Saurashtra district on the Gulf of Kutch

Jamnagar is a Saurashtra district of 5,846 sq km with 13,89,283 people at Census 2011, seven talukas and 421 villages (Jamnagar district portal, October 2026). The portal places it on the Gulf of Kutch, with Devbhumi Dwarka, Rajkot and Porbandar as neighbours. Older documents describe a larger, ten-taluka district of 14,125 sq km (CGWB district brochure, November 2013), so district totals in those papers are not comparable with today's portal figures.

We publish no per-acre price band for Jamnagar. No district or village jantri schedule opened for us, and listing-site asking prices could not be traced to registered deals. The only state-wide reference is the report that jantri rates were doubled from 15 April 2023 (DeshGujarat, February 2023); a revised draft was still pending in November 2024 (The Secretariat, November 2024).

The portal lists groundnut, cotton, wheat, bajra and castor as the main crops, and oil refining, oil mills and the brass industry as the main industries; it names eight rivers (Und, Vartu, Aji, Ruparel, Rangmati, Nagmati, Fulzar and Venu) (same portal page). Rainfall figures disagree: the portal gives an average of 1,100 mm for 2012–2016, while the CGWB brochure gives 573 mm from a 1951–1980 record and the ICAR-CRIDA plan 638 mm (ICAR-CRIDA Jamnagar plan). Treat rainfall as variable and check borewell depth on the parcel.

  • Jamnagar city
  • Dhrol
  • Jodiya
  • Kalavad
  • Lalpur
  • Jamjodhpur
Locator map of Jamnagar district in Gujarat

Transaction costs

Stamp duty & registration in Jamnagar

4.9%

Stamp duty on conveyance

34

Not found

Registration fee

26

Doubled

Jantri rates from 15 Apr 2023

30

The Comptroller and Auditor General's audit for the year ended 31 March 2018 states stamp duty on a conveyance deed at 4.9 per cent of the greater of consideration and market value, and gives no registration-fee rate for conveyances (CAG Report 3 of 2019). Jantri rates were reported doubled from 15 April 2023 (DeshGujarat, February 2023), and the Registration Department's summary says deeds are registered online through gARVI 2.0 in 294 Sub-Registrar offices (Registration System of Gujarat, IGR summary). We could not open the registration portal, and no Jamnagar jantri schedule opened, so ask the Sub-Registrar for the duty, fee and jantri on your parcel.

Know the belt

What is moving land prices in Jamnagar

State-level references only: no district jantri schedule opened and no listing-site prices are used.

Jantri: state-level only

Doubled from 15 Apr 2023 (reported)

DeshGujarat reported in February 2023 that jantri rates would double from 15 April 2023 after about 12 years (DeshGujarat, February 2023). A revised draft for agricultural land was pending in November 2024 (The Secretariat, November 2024). We have no Jamnagar village figures.

Check: the jantri for the village and survey number on the sale-deed date.

Industrial belt and SEZ

Notified area 1,377.4622 ha (1 May 2025)

The Commerce Ministry's May 2025 notification added 88.02 hectares to a multi-product special economic zone at Jamnagar (India Shipping News, May 2025). The report gives no land price and no taluka.

Check: whether the survey number appears in the Gazette notification.

Gulf of Kutch coast

Draft eco-sensitive zone 326.26 sq km (2012)

The 2012 draft proposed to bar new polluting industries and regulate hotels and road widening in a zone around the Marine National Park (MoEFCC draft, February 2012). No final notification was found.

Check: the zone status of coastal villages with the Forest Department.

Asking prices

No sourced price series

Listing-site asking prices for Jamnagar could not be traced to registered deals, so none are shown. Jantri is a registration floor, not what a seller will accept.

Check: registered sale deeds in the same revenue village before negotiating.

Units: guntha and vigha

Gujarat land is measured in gunthas: 10 gunthas is 1,012 sq m, so a guntha is about 101 sq m or 1,089 sq ft, and 40 gunthas make an acre (DeshGujarat, September 2026 for the 10-guntha figure). The vigha varies by region and we found no official conversion, so convert every quote to gunthas or acres and check the 7/12 extract for the area actually being sold.

Connectivity

How Jamnagar connects — road, rail and air

Distances to Rajkot, Ahmedabad and Mumbai are not given because no official or news source was found. Journey times vary with traffic and road works.

By road

Malia–Jamnagar (NH-151A)131 km, existing 4-lane, part of Amritsar–Jamnagar corridor (tracker, Jul 2024)
Jamnagar–Bharuch expressway316 km proposed; DPR stage (tracker, Nov 2024)
Other highwaysNot opened; check NHAI

By air

Jamnagar airportNot opened for this page; check Airports Authority of India
Airlines and routesNone sourced

By rail & metro

Jamnagar lineDoubling work reported (DeshGujarat, 29 Jul 2026; headline only)
Ahmedabad–Dwarka Vande BharatSame-day pilgrim trip reported as planned (DeshGujarat, 25 Jun 2026; headline only)
MetroNo metro project found in the sources read

The practical question is the last leg from the highway to the parcel; ask for the access road in the village map and the 7/12 extract. Gujarat rules for buyers from outside the state: Gujarat agricultural land rules.

Growth catalysts

Upcoming infrastructure & developments

Status labels reflect sources read in October 2026. Government-announced timelines are not guaranteed; items marked confirm have a single or an older source.

01Open or inaugurated

04In progress or pending

Existing 4-lane stretch · tracker status Jul 2024 Amritsar–Jamnagar Economic Corridor (Malia–Jamnagar)
Proposed · DPR stage (Nov 2024) Jamnagar–Bharuch Expressway
Notified · area expanded 1 May 2025 Multi-product special economic zone, Jamnagar
In progress · reported Jul 2026 (headline) Jamnagar rail line doubling
Under construction · phase status not stated SAUNI Link-3 to Venu-1 dam
Existing 4-lane stretch · tracker status Jul 2024

Amritsar–Jamnagar Economic Corridor (Malia–Jamnagar)

A road tracker lists the Malia–Jamnagar section as 131 km of the existing four-lane NH-151A, with minor changes and no access control, and the 125 km Sanchore–Santalpur greenfield expressway (Banaskantha to Patan) as the new-build part of the 1,257 km corridor in Gujarat and Rajasthan (The Metro Rail Guy, July 2024). The tracker gave December 2025 as the deadline for the Sanchore–Santalpur packages and we found no later status, so confirm with NHAI. The Jamnagar end is an upgrade of an existing road, not a new alignment.

Source: The Metro Rail Guy, updated 6 Jul 2024

Jamnagar section

131 km

Road

Existing 4-lane NH-151A

Corridor

1,257 km

Status

Confirm with NHAI

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Jamnagar city
Proposed · DPR stage (Nov 2024)

Jamnagar–Bharuch Expressway

A proposed 316 km corridor in two packages, Jamnagar–Rajkot–Bhavnagar (248 km) and Bhavnagar–Bharuch (68 km, including a bridge of about 30 km over the Gulf of Khambhat). MoRTH invited consultant bids in June 2024 and received 15 bids in November 2024; the tracker lists the detailed project report as unpublished, the cost as not determined and land acquisition as not begun (The Metro Rail Guy, November 2024). We found no later report, so treat it as an idea, not a road.

Source: The Metro Rail Guy, updated 6 Nov 2024

Length

316 km

Jamnagar package

Jamnagar–Bhavnagar 248 km

Cost

Not determined

Land acquisition

Not begun (Nov 2024)

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Jamnagar city
Notified · area expanded 1 May 2025

Multi-product special economic zone, Jamnagar

The Ministry of Commerce and Industry notified an extra 88.02 hectares on 1 May 2025, with Union approval on 8 April 2025, lifting the notified area from 1,289.4422 to 1,377.4622 hectares. The report does not name a taluka or village and refers to the Gazette for survey numbers (India Shipping News, May 2025). It is an industrial-land constraint and a demand signal, not a road or rail project.

Source: India Shipping News, 8 May 2025

Added area

88.02 ha

Notified area

1,377.4622 ha

Notification

1 May 2025

Taluka

Not stated

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Taluka not stated in report
In progress · reported Jul 2026 (headline)

Jamnagar rail line doubling

DeshGujarat reported on 29 July 2026 that Western Railway had revised the terminal stations of key trains because of doubling work on the Jamnagar line (DeshGujarat, July 2026). We saw the headline in a search and did not open the article, so the section, length, cost and completion date are not stated here. Ask Western Railway for the section and date before pricing land on it.

Source: DeshGujarat, 29 Jul 2026 (article not opened)

Work

Line doubling

Reported

29 Jul 2026

Section

Not stated

Completion

Not stated

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Jamnagar city
Under construction · phase status not stated

SAUNI Link-3 to Venu-1 dam

The Ministry of Jal Shakti report on the Saurashtra Narmada Avataran Irrigation scheme lists Link-3 from Dholidhaja dam in Surendranagar to Venu-1 dam in Jamnagar district, 299 km, and says Phase II also provides drinking water to Jamnagar city (MoJS SAUNI report). The report we read does not give a completion date for this link, and the state page lists Phase III as ongoing, so check canal command maps for the village.

Source: Ministry of Jal Shakti, SAUNI best-practices report (undated)

Link

Link-3

Length

299 km

End dam

Venu-1 (Jamnagar)

Completion

Not stated

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Dam site in Jamnagar district

Agriculture & terrain

Soil, crops & water in Jamnagar

Black-soil Saurashtra plain with a saline coastal edge, groundnut and cotton on open wells and borewells, and canal water arriving through SAUNI.

🌾 Black-soil plains (inland talukas)

The ICAR-CRIDA contingency plan (older, pre-2013 district; crop data 2004–2009) gives medium to shallow black soils on 59.0% of the area and mixed red-black and coastal alluvial soils on 34.1%, with groundnut on about 399,000 hectares, cotton 144,000, wheat 54,000, cumin 34,000, castor 12,500 and pearl millet 12,100, from a net sown area of 820,000 hectares and a cropping intensity of 122.5% (ICAR-CRIDA Jamnagar plan). The portal lists groundnut, cotton, wheat, bajra and castor today (district portal).

  • Groundnut
  • Cotton
  • Wheat
  • Castor

🌊 Coastal alluvial belt and salinity

The CGWB brochure (November 2013, pre-2013 boundaries) says coastal alluvial soils in parts of Kalyanpur, Khambhalia, Jamnagar and Jodiya are mostly saline and alkaline, and that electrical conductivity exceeded 3,000 µS/cm at 12 villages, fluoride 1.5 mg/l at 6 villages and nitrate 50 mg/l at 9 villages in May 2012 samples (CGWB brochure). Ask for a water test on any coastal parcel.

  • Coastal alluvium
  • Saline soils
  • Water quality

💧 Rivers and canal water

The portal names eight rivers: Und, Vartu, Aji, Ruparel, Rangmati, Nagmati, Fulzar and Venu (district portal). SAUNI Link-3 ends at Venu-1 dam in the district (MoJS SAUNI report), and the Narmada main canal is reported complete at 458.32 km (DeshGujarat, March 2025). Canal water reaches only the villages in a command area.

  • Und
  • Aji
  • Venu
  • SAUNI

💧 Water & rainfall

Normal rainfall is 573 mm in the CGWB brochure and 638 mm in the ICAR-CRIDA plan, while the portal gives an average of 1,100 mm for 2012–2016; we show all three because they do not agree. For the pre-2013 district, CGWB put groundwater development at 64.21% as on March 2011 with all ten talukas "safe", and pre-monsoon depth to water in 2012–13 ranged from 1.74 m at Salaya to 38.41 m at Lalpur (CGWB brochure). ICAR-CRIDA lists 58,287 open wells irrigating 67,000 hectares and 70,112 borewells irrigating 77,000 hectares, against 17.2% from canals (ICAR-CRIDA plan). Across Gujarat, CGWB puts 2024 extraction at 54.21% with 22 of 252 units over-exploited, and gives no district-wise stage (CGWB, Gujarat 2024). Check borewell depth and yield on the parcel.

📐 Measurement units

Gujarat land units: guntha about 1,089 sq ft (101 sq m); 40 gunthas = 1 acre; vigha varies by region. Convert every quote to gunthas or acres before comparing two offers. Live mandi prices are on Agmarknet, which we did not open for this page; crop income is modest next to land values near the industrial belt, so price a parcel on location, permitted use and water, not on groundnut or cotton yield.

At a glance

Jamnagar vs. its neighbours

District / beltPrice band* (per acre)Evidence
Jamnagar — all talukasNo sourced price seriesNo district jantri schedule opened; state jantri reported doubled from 15 Apr 2023
Devbhumi DwarkaNo sourced price seriesNo figure used on this page
RajkotNo sourced price seriesNo figure used on this page
PorbandarNo sourced price seriesNo figure used on this page

*No per-acre figure for Jamnagar or its neighbours is traceable to registered deals, so none is shown. See the Devbhumi Dwarka page for the coast to the west, the Rajkot page for the nearest large market and the Porbandar page for the southern neighbour.

Farmhouse plot with boundary stones near Jamnagar, Gujarat

District report — Jamnagar

Farmland India view

Why investors look at Jamnagar

Five reasoned points, with an honest note that price evidence is thin and several corridors are still proposals.

An industrial base next to farmland

The portal lists oil refining, oil mills and brass as the district's industries, and a special economic zone of 1,377 hectares is notified (India Shipping News, May 2025). Industry sets land demand more than crops do, but it also puts survey-number checks first.

Roads on paper, one of them existing

The Malia–Jamnagar stretch is an existing four-lane road, while the Jamnagar–Bharuch expressway was at consultant stage in November 2024. A buyer should price on today's roads.

A coast that needs paperwork

The draft marine eco-sensitive zone, the 2008 distance limits and saline soils all make coastal parcels parcel-specific. Documented land is easier to resell than land bought on a broker summary.

A farmer-status market

Section 63 limits who may buy farmland, so the buyer pool is smaller than the number of listings suggests. A farmer buyer, or a buyer using an exception, moves faster.

No price evidence to lean on

We found no sourced price series and no district jantri schedule. This desk treats any per-acre claim without a registered deed as an opinion.

Confirm farmer status, NA permission, zone status and jantri directly; these are not certified by Farmland India’s review.

STRAIGHT TALK

Risks & challenges in Jamnagar

Read these before shortlisting in Jamnagar specifically.

Farmer-status rule

Section 63 of the Tenancy Act bars transfer to a non-agriculturist, and farmer status is checked back to 6 April 1995. A proposal to let non-farmers buy was under review in November 2024 and we found nothing enacted.

Draft marine eco-sensitive zone

A 2012 draft proposed a 326.26 sq km zone with limits on mining, new polluting industry and hotels. No final notification was found, so ask which villages are covered.

Notified SEZ survey numbers

The special economic zone notification lists survey numbers in the Gazette. Check the parcel against it before paying a deposit.

Saline soil and water quality

Coastal alluvial soils are mostly saline and alkaline per CGWB, and 12 villages exceeded 3,000 µS/cm in May 2012. Ask for a water test.

Fragmentation limit

The rural standard area was set at 10 gunthas (1,012 sq m) by an amendment passed on 11 September 2026; we have not seen the Act text. Check that the area sold is not a fragment.

Announced is not delivered

The Jamnagar–Bharuch expressway had no published project report in November 2024, and the rail doubling has no date in the headline we saw. Price on today's fundamentals.

No sourced price series

We use no listing-site prices for Jamnagar, and no district jantri schedule opened. Collect registered comparables before negotiating.

Who to contact

Local revenue, planning & forest offices

Mutation and revenue-record matters go through the Mamlatdar of the relevant taluka (Jamnagar City, Jamnagar Rural, Kalavad, Dhrol, Jodiya, Lalpur, Jamjodhpur), as listed on the Jamnagar district portal; the Collector and District Magistrate heads the district office (portal home). Non-agricultural permission and new-tenure questions go to the Collector, and sale-deed registration to the local Sub-Registrar. Records are on AnyROR and deeds are registered through gARVI; the Revenue Department's 2008 resolution on non-agricultural permission is here. We could not open AnyROR, gARVI or the Revenue Department home page, and the district portal's tehsil page refused our fetch, so check the offices directly and ask which Prant (sub-division) office covers your taluka.

COMMON QUESTIONS

Frequently asked questions

Everything buyers, NRIs and investors ask before their first reviewed farmland purchase in Jamnagar.

Visit full wiki

01 of 04

What does agricultural land cost in Jamnagar?

We publish no per-acre band for Jamnagar because no district jantri schedule opened for us and listing-site asking prices could not be traced to registered deals. The only state-wide reference is the report that jantri rates were doubled from 15 April 2023 (DeshGujarat, February 2023). Jantri is a registration floor, not a market price, so collect registered sale deeds from the same village.

Transparency

Sources and references

Law and courts

Government

News

Further reading

Data-currency note: area, population and taluka count are district-portal figures; soil, crop and groundwater tables come from CGWB and ICAR-CRIDA papers of 2011 to 2013 that describe the older, larger district; infrastructure statuses were read in October 2026 and change quickly; two corridor entries rest on tracker pages of 2024. Pages marked "did not open" are named only as places to check. This is a general guide, not legal advice. Report inaccuracies to wiki@farmlandindia.com.

For developers

Ready to explore Jamnagar farmland?

Browse reviewed projects and individual land parcels across Jamnagar — or if you own land here, list it with platform review and reach serious buyers.

Farmland India ("the Platform"), operated by Bulk Procure Private Limited, is a digital marketplace for listing agricultural land, farmhouse and plotted development projects. The Platform is not a real estate broker, agent or intermediary under RERA or any other applicable law, and does not act for either party to a transaction.

Listings are submitted by developers, owners and their authorised representatives. Before publication, the Platform carries out a documentary review of the material supplied and records what was sighted. That review is limited to the documents made available to us at that time. It is not a title investigation, not a legal opinion, and not a warranty of title, approvals, or the accuracy of any information supplied by a lister. The Trust Score is an internal assessment produced from that review and is intended as a research aid, not as a guarantee of outcome.

Every buyer must carry out independent due diligence before any transaction — including verification of land records, encumbrance searches, approvals and regulatory compliance — through their own advocate and chartered accountant. Any legal or advisory professional introduced through the Platform is engaged directly by the user, on that professional's own terms; the Platform does not employ, supervise or accept responsibility for their work.

Nothing on the Platform is investment advice. Land values can fall as well as rise. The Platform is not liable for any loss, dispute or damage arising from a transaction between parties.