Farmland India
Aerial view of agricultural land and farm fields near Panchmahal, Gujarat

District guide

Buying Land in Panchmahal

A central Gujarat district around the Pavagadh hill: maize and rice farmland, a heritage buffer, a 2013 boundary change and no sourced price series.

  • 13.57%

    Forest cover (2019, pre-2013 district)

  • 823 mm

    Average annual rainfall (CGWB)

  • 41.48%

    Groundwater stage (2011, all Safe)

  • 1,328.89 ha

    Champaner-Pavagadh site

District land record — Panchmahal

Rev. 2026 · Farmland India desk

State

Gujarat

Sub-divisions

No current official taluka list was obtained. The CGWB profile lists 11 talukas as of March 2011, among them Godhra, Halol, Kalol, Ghoghamba, Shahera, Morva-Hadaf and Jambughoda. Mahisagar district was formed in 2013 from Panchmahal and Kheda, with Lunawada as capital (Mahisagar district portal), and one new Panchmahal taluka was reported in September 2025 (The Week, September 2025). Confirm the current list

Key markets

Godhra · Halol · Kalol · Ghoghamba · Shehera · Jambughoda · Morva-Hadaf

Demand anchors

Champaner-Pavagadh heritage and pilgrimage site · Godhra rail junction · Narmada piped-water schemes · industrial activity at Halol

Rail

Godhra Jn is listed among completed Amrit Bharat stations (PIB, March 2026)

Size and population

Not stated on a current basis. The CGWB profile gives 5,210 sq km and 23,88,267 people (2011 Census) on the pre-2013 boundary, which includes areas now in Mahisagar. The Forest Survey of India also uses an older 5,231 sq km. Do not read these as today's district

Pricing unit

₹/acre or ₹/guntha (farmland) · ₹/sq m (plots); no price series sourced

Local units

Guntha ≈ 1,089 sq ft (101 sq m) · 40 gunthas = 1 acre · vigha varies by region, no official conversion found

Land records portal

AnyROR (not opened for this page; check records there)

District overview

Panchmahal — a central Gujarat district around the Pavagadh hill

Panchmahal lies in east-central Gujarat and its best-known place is Pavagadh, where the Champaner-Pavagadh Archaeological Park was inscribed as a World Heritage site in 2004 (UNESCO). The district was cut down in 2013 when Mahisagar was formed from it and Kheda (Mahisagar district portal), so older figures overstate it: the CGWB profile's 5,210 sq km, 23,88,267 people and 11 talukas describe the earlier district (CGWB profile). Godhra Jn is listed among completed Amrit Bharat stations (PIB, March 2026).

We publish no per-acre price band for Panchmahal. No district or village jantri schedule was obtained and no asking-price series could be traced to registered deals. Jantri rates were reported doubled across the state from 15 April 2023 (DeshGujarat, February 2023). A jantri rate is the registration floor, not a market price.

Farming here is rain-fed and well-fed cropland with forest on the hills. The CGWB profile records maize on 1,210 sq km and rice on 760 sq km in 2004-05 on the older boundary, with the Mahi as the main perennial river, and the Forest Survey puts forest cover at 13.57% of the older district (Forest Survey of India, 2019). A Narmada pipeline scheme for 20 villages in Godhra and Ghoghamba was reported in March 2025 (DeshGujarat, March 2025).

  • Godhra
  • Halol
  • Kalol
  • Ghoghamba
  • Pavagadh hill
  • Mahi river
Locator map of Panchmahal district in Gujarat

Transaction costs

Stamp duty & registration in Panchmahal

4.9%

Stamp duty on a conveyance

audit year 2017-18 (CAG); current rate to confirm

Not sourced

Registration fee

no rate for land deeds found; ask the Sub-Registrar

15 Apr 2023

Jantri doubled (reported)

no Panchmahal schedule obtained

The Comptroller and Auditor General's audit for the year ended 31 March 2018 states stamp duty on a conveyance at 4.9 per cent and gives no registration-fee rate for conveyances (CAG Report 3 of 2019); a later change is not ruled out. Jantri rates were reported doubled from 15 April 2023 (DeshGujarat, February 2023), and a revised draft was still pending in November 2024 (The Secretariat, November 2024). We found no Panchmahal schedule. Registration runs on gARVI 2.0 across 294 Sub-Registrar offices (IGR summary, undated); we could not open the portal, so ask the Sub-Registrar for the duty, the fee and the jantri on your survey number.

Know the belt

What is moving prices in Panchmahal

No price series exists in our sources for Panchmahal. What follows is project and boundary context that affects demand, each item dated.

Pavagadh ropeway extension

₹115 crore, groundbreaking planned for 1 May 2025

DeshGujarat reported on 29 April 2025 that the state would extend the Pavagadh ropeway from Dudhiya Talav closer to the temple, at an estimated ₹115 crore, with 8 cabins of 6 people and completion about a year after work starts (DeshGujarat, April 2025). A cargo ropeway collapsed on 6 September 2025, killing six (DeshGujarat, September 2025). We found no later report on the extension.

Check: the current status and any stop-work order with the district administration.

Narmada water for Godhra and Ghoghamba

₹31.62 crore, 20 villages (Mar 2025)

The Sarsav Group Scheme was reported to cover 20 villages, 16 in Godhra taluka and four in Ghoghamba, serving about 82,300 residents from a bulk pipeline off the Narmada main canal (DeshGujarat, March 2025). Piped water helps village living, but it is not a price series.

Check: whether the village is on the scheme and whether it has been commissioned.

Gujarat Day projects at Godhra

86 projects, ₹649.77 crore (planned 1 May 2025)

DeshGujarat reported that 86 development projects worth ₹649.77 crore were due to be launched or inaugurated on 1 May 2025, with Godhra as the venue, among them a milk-processing plant foundation and an industrial plant at Halol (DeshGujarat, April 2025). The report gives no per-project cost.

Check: which of these projects affect your village before treating the total as local demand.

Asking prices

No sourced price series

No listing-site prices are shown. The jantri rate is the only official reference and it is a floor for registration, not what a seller will accept (DeshGujarat, February 2023).

Check: registered sale deeds in the same village before negotiating.

Units: guntha, acre, vigha

Gujarat farmland is quoted in gunthas and acres: a guntha is about 1,089 sq ft (101 sq m) and 40 gunthas make an acre. The vigha varies by region and we found no official conversion for Panchmahal, so convert any quote to acres or gunthas and ask the seller which vigha is meant. We did not open a revenue manual for these definitions; ask the Mamlatdar's office.

Connectivity

How Panchmahal connects — road, rail and air

Distances and drive times are not given because no official or news source was found. Journey times vary with traffic and construction.

By road

Halol–Shamlaji highwayEncroachment clearance reported, Jan 2026
Pavagadh hillRopeway extension planned (₹115 crore, Apr 2025)
ExpresswaysNone named for the district in the sources read

By air

AirportNone named in the sources read
Nearest airportNot sourced; check the route you will use

By rail & metro

Godhra JnListed among completed Amrit Bharat stations (Mar 2026)
Halol, Pavagadh/Champaner RoadNot in the PIB release
MetroNo metro project found in the sources read

The practical question is the road to the parcel; ask for the access road in the revenue record. The highway item rests on a single DeshGujarat report of January 2026 that names the crossings but gives no length, and the station item on PIB. Full Gujarat rules for buyers from outside the state: Gujarat agricultural land rules.

Growth catalysts

Upcoming infrastructure & developments

Status labels reflect sources read in October 2026. Government-announced timelines are not guaranteed; items marked confirm have a single or an older source.

01Open or inaugurated

04In progress or pending

Complete · listed among completed stations (Mar 2026) Godhra Jn station redevelopment
Pending · ₹115 crore, start planned 1 May 2025 Pavagadh ropeway extension
Announced · ₹31.62 crore (Mar 2025) Sarsav Group water scheme
Planned · 86 projects, ₹649.77 crore Gujarat Day projects at Godhra
Reported · Jan 2026 Halol–Shamlaji highway encroachment clearance
Complete · listed among completed stations (Mar 2026)

Godhra Jn station redevelopment

PIB's March 2026 release lists Godhra Jn among the Gujarat stations identified under the Amrit Bharat scheme and among those it counts as completed (PIB, March 2026). It gives no cost or scope for Godhra.

Source: PIB, 12 Mar 2026

Station

Godhra Jn

Scheme

Amrit Bharat

Status

Complete (per PIB list)

Cost

Not stated

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Godhra
Pending · ₹115 crore, start planned 1 May 2025

Pavagadh ropeway extension

The state planned to extend the existing ropeway from Dudhiya Talav closer to the temple, where pilgrims now climb about 449 steps after leaving the ropeway, at an estimated ₹115 crore, with 8 cabins of 6 people and completion about a year after construction starts (DeshGujarat, April 2025). A cargo ropeway at the site collapsed on 6 September 2025, killing six (DeshGujarat, September 2025). We found no later report on the extension.

Source: DeshGujarat, 29 Apr 2025; DeshGujarat, 6 Sep 2025

Cost

~₹115 crore

Cabins

8, six people each

Planned start

1 May 2025

Latest report

None found

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Halol
  • Pavagadh
Announced · ₹31.62 crore (Mar 2025)

Sarsav Group water scheme

A scheme reported to bring Narmada water to 20 villages, 16 in Godhra taluka and four in Ghoghamba, serving about 82,300 residents, through a bulk pipeline from the Narmada main canal, at an estimated ₹31.62 crore (DeshGujarat, March 2025). We found no commissioning report.

Source: DeshGujarat, 18 Mar 2025

Cost

₹31.62 crore

Villages

20

People served

~82,300

Source of water

Narmada main canal

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Godhra
  • Ghoghamba
Planned · 86 projects, ₹649.77 crore

Gujarat Day projects at Godhra

DeshGujarat reported that the state would launch or inaugurate 86 development projects worth ₹649.77 crore around Godhra on 1 May 2025, including a milk-processing plant foundation and an industrial plant at Halol (DeshGujarat, April 2025). The report gives no per-project costs or delivery dates.

Source: DeshGujarat, 30 Apr 2025

Projects

86

Total

₹649.77 crore

Venue

Godhra

Breakdown

Not given

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Godhra
  • Halol
Reported · Jan 2026

Halol–Shamlaji highway encroachment clearance

DeshGujarat reported that the Gujarat State Road Development Corporation began clearing about 200 encroachments on the Halol–Shamlaji highway between the Waghjipur and Aniyad crossings in January 2026, with the district administration and a municipality, after three notices over the past year (DeshGujarat, January 2026). The report gives no length or widening plan.

Source: DeshGujarat, 28 Jan 2026

Encroachments

~200

Agency

GSRDC

Stretch

Waghjipur–Aniyad crossings

Widening plan

Not stated

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Halol
  • Shehera

Agriculture & terrain

Soil, crops & water in Panchmahal

A central Gujarat district of maize and rice plains, forested hills and the perennial Mahi, measured on pre-2013 boundaries.

🌾 Farm plains (Godhra, Kalol, Ghoghamba)

The CGWB profile lists sandy, yellowish-brown and black cotton soils, and in 2004-05 maize on 1,210 sq km, rice on 760, wheat on 170 and bajra on 170, from a net sown area of 2,810 sq km (CGWB profile). These figures are for the pre-2013 district, so they overstate today's. Village-level soil data: Soil Health Card portal (not opened for this page).

  • Maize
  • Rice
  • Wheat
  • Bajra

⛰️ Pavagadh and the hills (Halol, Jambughoda)

Forest cover is 710.06 sq km, 13.57% of the older 5,231 sq km district, with no very dense forest and a fall of 26.94 sq km since the 2017 assessment (Forest Survey of India, 2019). The Pavagadh heritage park and its buffer sit in the district (UNESCO), so legal status matters more than soil here.

  • Forest cover
  • Pavagadh
  • Heritage buffer

🌊 Mahi and other rivers

The Mahi is the main perennial river and drains most of the district westward; the Panam and Hadaf are also perennial, with the Goma, Kharod and others non-perennial (CGWB profile). We found no sourced flood record for Panchmahal, so ask the seller for flood history on any riverside parcel.

  • Mahi
  • Panam
  • Hadaf

💧 Water & rainfall

Average annual rainfall is 823 mm, from about 649 mm at Godhra to 923 mm at Kalol over 1981 to 2011. In 2004-05 net irrigated area was 551 sq km, mostly from 25,507 dugwells, with canals at 33 sq km. The stage of groundwater development was 41.48% in 2011, with every taluka classed Safe (CGWB profile); that is for the older district and is 13 years old. Check borewell yield for any parcel.

📐 Measurement units

Gujarat land units: guntha ≈ 1,089 sq ft (101 sq m); 40 gunthas = 1 acre; vigha varies by region with no official conversion found. Convert every quote to acres or gunthas before comparing two offers. Live mandi prices are on Agmarknet (not opened for this page); crop income is modest next to land values, so price a parcel on location and permitted use, not on maize yield.

At a glance

Panchmahal vs. its neighbours

District / beltPrice band* (per acre)Evidence
Panchmahal — all talukasNo sourced price seriesNo jantri schedule obtained; state jantri doubled from 15 Apr 2023 (reported)
DahodNo sourced price seriesNo figure used on this page
Chhota UdaipurNo sourced price seriesNo figure used on this page
AnandNo sourced price seriesNo figure used on this page

*Jantri rates are registration floors, not market prices. See the Dahod page, the Chhota Udaipur page and the Anand page for neighbouring districts.

Farmhouse plot with boundary stones near Panchmahal, Gujarat

District report — Panchmahal

Farmland India view

Why investors look at Panchmahal

Five reasoned points, with an honest note that the price evidence is thin and several projects are still pending.

A heritage and pilgrimage anchor

The Champaner-Pavagadh site draws visitors year-round, and a ropeway extension at an estimated ₹115 crore was announced in April 2025. A cargo ropeway collapse in September 2025 and an unconfirmed schedule mean it is optionality, not a base for a premium.

Piped water reaching villages

A ₹31.62 crore Narmada scheme for 20 villages in Godhra and Ghoghamba was reported in March 2025. Water supply helps living and farming, but it is one scheme in two talukas.

Public spending announced

The state said it would launch 86 projects worth ₹649.77 crore around Godhra in May 2025. The report does not break the total down, so it cannot be tied to a village.

A rail junction upgraded

Godhra Jn is listed among completed Amrit Bharat stations. A better station is an access gain for the town, not a price signal for farmland.

A market that rewards paperwork

With heritage-buffer, scheduled-area, boundary-change and tenure questions all parcel-specific, a buyer who documents each one is better placed than one relying on a broker summary.

Confirm tenure, NA status, corridor and boundary questions directly; these are not certified by Farmland India’s review.

STRAIGHT TALK

Risks & challenges in Panchmahal

Read these before shortlisting in Panchmahal specifically.

No sourced price series

We use no listing-site prices for Panchmahal and obtained no jantri schedule. Collect registered comparables before negotiating.

Heritage site and buffer

The UNESCO park is 1,328.89 hectares with a 2,911.74 hectare buffer. Ask the Collector and the Archaeological Survey of India whether the survey number is inside either.

Boundary changes

Mahisagar was carved out in 2013 and a new taluka was reported in 2025. Check that the record, the deed and the Sub-Registrar all name the same taluka.

Scheduled areas

Panchmahal is listed only as a partially covered "Panchmahal Sabarkantha" entry with no talukas. Ask the Collector whether the village is scheduled before dealing with a tribal seller.

Farmer-status and tenure rules

Gujarat bars transfers to non-agriculturists under section 63 of the Tenancy Act, and new-tenure land carries a section 43 restriction. A non-farmer buyer should read the state page and check the seller's tenure in writing.

Announced is not delivered

The ropeway extension has no confirmed progress, the water scheme no commissioning report and the Gujarat Day total no breakdown. Price on today's fundamentals.

Dated district data

The CGWB profile uses 2004-05 crop data and 2011 groundwater and population data on the pre-2013 district. Use them as context, not as current figures.

Who to contact

Local revenue & planning offices

Mutation and revenue-record matters go through the Mamlatdar of the relevant taluka (for example Godhra, Halol, Kalol, Ghoghamba) and the Prant office (Deputy Collector) above it, with the District Collector at the top. NA permission and tenure-premium applications go to the Collector, with the 2008 resolution setting out the NA permission limits; town-planning questions go to the relevant urban development authority under the Gujarat Town Planning and Urban Development Act, 1976. Heritage questions near Pavagadh also involve the Archaeological Survey of India. Sale-deed registration is handled by the local Sub-Registrar on gARVI, and records are on AnyROR. We could not open the district portal, the Revenue Department, AnyROR or gARVI, so check them directly for office details.

COMMON QUESTIONS

Frequently asked questions

Everything buyers, NRIs and investors ask before their first reviewed farmland purchase in Panchmahal.

Visit full wiki

01 of 04

What does agricultural land cost in Panchmahal?

We publish no per-acre band for Panchmahal because no district or village jantri schedule was obtained and no asking-price series could be traced to registered deals. The only official reference we can report is the state-wide doubling of jantri rates from 15 April 2023 (DeshGujarat, February 2023). A jantri rate is a registration floor, not a market price, so collect registered comparables from the same village.

Transparency

Sources and references

Law and courts

    Government

    News

    Further reading

    Data-currency note: area, population, crop, irrigation and groundwater figures come from a CGWB profile with 2004-05 and 2011 data on the pre-2013 district boundary, and forest cover from the 2019 assessment on the same older boundary; infrastructure statuses were read in October 2026 and change quickly; no jantri or price figures were obtained. Pages marked "not opened" are named only as places to check. This is a general guide, not legal advice. Report inaccuracies to wiki@farmlandindia.com.

    For developers

    Ready to explore Panchmahal farmland?

    Browse reviewed projects and individual land parcels across Panchmahal — or if you own land here, list it with platform review and reach serious buyers.

    Farmland India ("the Platform"), operated by Bulk Procure Private Limited, is a digital marketplace for listing agricultural land, farmhouse and plotted development projects. The Platform is not a real estate broker, agent or intermediary under RERA or any other applicable law, and does not act for either party to a transaction.

    Listings are submitted by developers, owners and their authorised representatives. Before publication, the Platform carries out a documentary review of the material supplied and records what was sighted. That review is limited to the documents made available to us at that time. It is not a title investigation, not a legal opinion, and not a warranty of title, approvals, or the accuracy of any information supplied by a lister. The Trust Score is an internal assessment produced from that review and is intended as a research aid, not as a guarantee of outcome.

    Every buyer must carry out independent due diligence before any transaction — including verification of land records, encumbrance searches, approvals and regulatory compliance — through their own advocate and chartered accountant. Any legal or advisory professional introduced through the Platform is engaged directly by the user, on that professional's own terms; the Platform does not employ, supervise or accept responsibility for their work.

    Nothing on the Platform is investment advice. Land values can fall as well as rise. The Platform is not liable for any loss, dispute or damage arising from a transaction between parties.