Farmland India
Aerial view of agricultural land and farm fields near Surendranagar, Gujarat

District guide

Buying Land in Surendranagar

A dry Saurashtra district of black, sandy and saline soils on the edge of the Ran of Kutch, where rainfall, canal links and the ceiling and permission rules matter most.

  • 10,489 sq km

    Area (district portal)

  • 17.56 lakh

    Population (district portal)

  • 10

    Talukas (district portal)

  • 760–967 mm

    Annual rainfall (district portal)

*Indicative range across districts and land types. Stamp duty, registration and conversion charges are additional. Local measurement units vary — every listing states the unit it is priced in. Not a valuation or an offer.

District land record — Surendranagar

Rev. 2026 · Farmland India desk

State

Gujarat

Sub-divisions

Ten talukas on the district portal: Wadhvan, Muli, Sayla, Limbdi, Chotila, Chuda, Lakhtar, Dasada, Thangadh and Dhrangadhra (Surendranagar district portal, October 2026). The portal's about page lists a slightly different set of names, so check the current list with the Collectorate

Key markets

Wadhwan · Dhrangadhra · Limbdi · Chotila · Dasada · Lakhtar

Demand anchors

Narmada and SAUNI canal water · a location between Ahmedabad and Rajkot, which the portal calls roughly equidistant (portal) · Chotila as a Saurashtra landmark

Rail

Surendranagar, Dhrangadhra and Limbdi stations are among 87 Gujarat stations in the Amrit Bharat programme (DeshGujarat, August 2025)

Size and population

10,489 sq km · 17,56,268 people (district portal; the page does not state the Census year)

Pricing unit

₹/guntha and ₹/vigha in local deals; no sourced price series

Local units

Guntha = about 101 sq m (1,089 sq ft) · 40 gunthas = 1 acre · vigha varies by region

Land records portal

AnyROR (the site refused automated access, so it was not opened for this page)

District overview

Surendranagar — a dry Saurashtra district where canal water and soil decide value

Surendranagar is a Saurashtra district of 10,489 sq km with 17,56,268 people on the district portal (Surendranagar district portal, October 2026). It has ten talukas on that page and lies between the Ran of Kutch and Patan to the north, Rajkot to the west and Ahmedabad to the east; the portal describes Ahmedabad and Rajkot as about equidistant (same portal, about page). Surendranagar, Dhrangadhra and Limbdi stations are in the Amrit Bharat programme (DeshGujarat, August 2025).

This is farmland first, and dry farmland in most years. The portal records annual rainfall of 760 to 967 mm, irregular, calls the district drought-prone and says agriculture depends mainly on rain, with drought in alternate years (portal). Water therefore decides value: the MoJS report on the Saurashtra Narmada Avataran Irrigation scheme names Surendranagar's Limbdi Bhogavo-2 and Dholidhaja dams as starting points for three links (Ministry of Jal Shakti SAUNI report).

We found no sourced per-vigha price for any taluka, no road or airport project in the district and no district groundwater stage. The only price reference is the state jantri, reported doubled from 15 April 2023 (DeshGujarat, February 2023). Soil, salinity and canal reach are better guides here than the highway map.

  • Dhrangadhra
  • Limbdi
  • Wadhwan
  • Chotila
  • Dasada
  • Narmada canal water
Locator map of Surendranagar district in Gujarat

Transaction costs

Stamp duty & registration in Surendranagar

4.9%

Stamp duty on a conveyance

audit year ended 31 Mar 2018; current rate to confirm

2×

Jantri, from 15 Apr 2023

reported; no taluka or village schedule opened

Not sourced

Registration fee and concessions

no government schedule opened; ask the Sub-Registrar

The Comptroller and Auditor General's audit for the year ended 31 March 2018 states stamp duty on a conveyance at 4.9 per cent of the greater of consideration and market value, and gives no registration-fee rate for conveyances (CAG, Report 3 of 2019). DeshGujarat reported in February 2023 that jantri rates would be doubled from 15 April 2023 (DeshGujarat, February 2023), and The Secretariat reported in November 2024 that a revised draft for agricultural land was pending (The Secretariat, November 2024). We could not open the registration portal (gARVI portal), so we quote no registration fee and no concession for women. The Inspector General of Registration's summary describes 294 Sub-Registrar offices on the gARVI 2.0 system (Inspector General of Registration summary). Ask the Sub-Registrar for the duty, the fee and the jantri for the survey number on the day of the deed.

Know the belt

What is moving prices in Surendranagar

Only one price reference is available, the state jantri change. No listing-site prices are used.

Jantri doubled in 2023

Reported: doubled from 15 April 2023

DeshGujarat reported in February 2023 that the government would apply doubled jantri rates from 15 April 2023, after about twelve years (DeshGujarat, February 2023). A revised draft for agricultural land was pending in November 2024 (The Secretariat, November 2024). We obtained no Surendranagar taluka or village schedule.

Check: the jantri for your survey number and date of deed with the Sub-Registrar.

Canal reach and rainfed land

No sourced price effect

The SAUNI report names three links starting at Surendranagar dams, Limbdi Bhogavo-2 and Dholidhaja (Ministry of Jal Shakti SAUNI report), and Narmada water allocations to Saurashtra were reported in November 2024 and May 2025 (DeshGujarat headlines). None of these sources gives a land price or says which villages the water reaches.

Check: whether the village is on a canal command or a rainfed tract, from the Irrigation department, not the seller.

Chotila: encroachment drive

Headline: over 400 shops razed (Jan 2026)

DeshGujarat's Surendranagar tag page carries a 10 January 2026 headline, "Mega demolition drive at Chotila foothill; over 400 shops razed" (DeshGujarat Surendranagar tag page, January 2026 headlines). We did not open the article and know nothing of the survey numbers involved.

Check: title, encroachment and permission records for any parcel near the Chotila hill.

Asking prices

No sourced price series

Listing-site asking prices for Surendranagar could not be traced to registered deals, so none are shown. The jantri is a registration floor, not what a seller will accept.

Check: registered sale deeds in the same village before negotiating.

Units: guntha, acre, vigha

Gujarat land is recorded in gunthas (about 101 sq m or 1,089 sq ft; 10 gunthas is 1,012 sq m) and acres (40 gunthas to the acre). The vigha varies by region and we found no official conversion for Surendranagar, so convert any vigha quote to gunthas using the survey number's recorded area before comparing offers.

Connectivity

How Surendranagar connects — road, rail and air

Distances and journey times are not given because no official or news source was found. No road or airport project for this district was sourced.

By road

Ahmedabad and RajkotAbout equidistant, per the district portal; no km given
Highway projects in the districtNone sourced in the reports read
Last leg to the parcelCheck the access road in the revenue record

By air

Airport in the districtNone found in the sources read
Nearest airportsNot sourced; the portal names Ahmedabad and Rajkot as the main centres

By rail

Surendranagar and Dhrangadhra stationsListed in Amrit Bharat programme (Aug 2025)
Limbdi stationPhase I works reported complete (Aug 2025)
Wadhwan stationNot on the list in that report
MetroNone found

The practical question is the last leg from the state or national highway to the parcel; ask for the access road in the revenue record. Rules for buyers from outside the state: Gujarat agricultural land rules.

Growth catalysts

Upcoming infrastructure & developments

Status labels reflect sources read in October 2026. Government-announced timelines are not guaranteed; items marked to confirm have a single or an undated source. No road or airport project for the district was sourced.

01Open or inaugurated

05In progress or pending

Phase I reported complete · Aug 2025 Limbdi station (Amrit Bharat), phase I
Listed · no status given (Aug 2025) Surendranagar and Dhrangadhra stations (Amrit Bharat)
Listed in scheme report · status to confirm SAUNI Link 2: Limbdi Bhogavo-2 to Raydi (Amreli)
Listed in scheme report · status to confirm SAUNI Link 3: Dholidhaja to Venu-1 (Jamnagar)
Listed in scheme report · status to confirm SAUNI Link 4: Limbdi Bhogavo-2 to Hiran-2 (Gir Somnath)
Allocations reported · Nov 2024 and May 2025 Narmada water for Saurashtra and North Gujarat
Phase I reported complete · Aug 2025

Limbdi station (Amrit Bharat), phase I

DeshGujarat reported on 1 August 2025, from a Rajya Sabha reply, that Limbdi is among 87 Gujarat stations in the Amrit Bharat programme and that its phase-I works are complete (DeshGujarat, August 2025). The article gives no cost and no later phase.

Source: DeshGujarat, 1 Aug 2025

Station

Limbdi

Phase I

Complete (reported)

Cost

Not stated

Later phases

Not stated

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Limbdi
Listed · no status given (Aug 2025)

Surendranagar and Dhrangadhra stations (Amrit Bharat)

The same report lists Surendranagar and Dhrangadhra among the 87 Gujarat stations identified under the programme but gives no status, cost or dates for them; it does not list Wadhwan (DeshGujarat, August 2025). The railways keep spending by zone, not by station.

Source: DeshGujarat, 1 Aug 2025

Stations

Surendranagar, Dhrangadhra

Status

Not stated

Cost

Not stated

Dates

Not stated

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Surendranagar
  • Dhrangadhra
Listed in scheme report · status to confirm

SAUNI Link 2: Limbdi Bhogavo-2 to Raydi (Amreli)

The Ministry of Jal Shakti's report on the Saurashtra Narmada Avataran Irrigation scheme describes Link 2 as running from the Limbadi Bhogavo-2 dam in Surendranagar district to the Raydi dam in Amreli district (Ministry of Jal Shakti SAUNI report). The report gives areas in acres, covers 11 districts without listing them, and carries no date, so we do not quote link lengths or a completion status.

Source: Ministry of Jal Shakti SAUNI report (undated)

Start

Limbdi Bhogavo-2 dam

End

Raydi dam, Amreli

Scheme

SAUNI

Status

To confirm

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Limbdi
Listed in scheme report · status to confirm

SAUNI Link 3: Dholidhaja to Venu-1 (Jamnagar)

Link 3 runs from the Dholidhaja dam in Surendranagar district to the Venu-1 dam in Jamnagar district, in the same report (Ministry of Jal Shakti SAUNI report). The report does not say which taluka the dam is in, so we have not placed it by taluka.

Source: Ministry of Jal Shakti SAUNI report (undated)

Start

Dholidhaja dam

End

Venu-1 dam, Jamnagar

Scheme

SAUNI

Status

To confirm

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Surendranagar district
Listed in scheme report · status to confirm

SAUNI Link 4: Limbdi Bhogavo-2 to Hiran-2 (Gir Somnath)

Link 4 runs from the Limbadi Bhogavo-2 dam in Surendranagar district to the Hiran-2 dam in Gir Somnath district, the longest of the three at 565 km in the report (Ministry of Jal Shakti SAUNI report). State-level, the scheme covers 115 reservoirs and 1,371 km, with Phase III reported ongoing, but the report does not say which links are finished.

Source: Ministry of Jal Shakti SAUNI report (undated)

Start

Limbdi Bhogavo-2 dam

End

Hiran-2 dam, Gir Somnath

Length

565 km (report)

Status

To confirm

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Limbdi
Allocations reported · Nov 2024 and May 2025

Narmada water for Saurashtra and North Gujarat

DeshGujarat's Narmada canal tag page carries two headlines: 30,504 MCFT of additional Narmada irrigation water for Saurashtra and North Gujarat in the rabi season (21 November 2024) and 30,689 MCFT allocated to the same regions (21 May 2025) (DeshGujarat Narmada canal tag page, 2024 and 2025 headlines). We read only the headlines; neither names Surendranagar. Statewide, DeshGujarat reported 63,908 of 69,830 km of the canal network done by January 2025 (DeshGujarat, March 2025).

Source: DeshGujarat Narmada canal tag page (headlines only); DeshGujarat, 8 Mar 2025

Nov 2024

30,504 MCFT (rabi)

May 2025

30,689 MCFT

Districts named

None

Canal network

63,908 of 69,830 km

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Saurashtra canal belt

Agriculture & terrain

Soil, crops & water in Surendranagar

A rainfed Saurashtra district with black, sandy and saline soils, a saline northern edge on the Ran of Kutch and canal links that start at its dams.

🌾 Black-soil plains (Wadhwan, Muli, Chotila, Sayla)

The district portal describes shallow to medium black soils in Wadhwan, Muli, Chotila and Sayla talukas (Surendranagar district portal). It gives no crop or area table. Castor is the one crop with a district reference: the DESAGRI report on castor in Gujarat names Surendranagar among five districts chosen for its survey as top castor growers by 2020-21 area, without stating a rank, and includes its Dasada market in the price analysis; Gujarat grew 85.6 per cent of India's castor that year (DESAGRI castor report). Village-level soil data: Soil Health Card portal (not opened for this page).

  • Castor
  • Black soil
  • Rainfed

🏜️ Sandy and alluvial north (Dhrangadhra, Dasada)

The portal records sandy and alluvial soils in Dhrangadhra and Dasada, with the northern strip beside the Ran of Kutch arid, barren and saline (portal). Its soil note also names Halvad, which is not in the portal's taluka list. Legal status near the Ran matters more than soil.

  • Sandy soil
  • Alluvial
  • Saline edge

🧂 Saline, poorly drained (Lakhtar, Chuda, Limbdi)

The portal describes medium black, poorly drained and saline soils in Lakhtar, Chuda and Limbdi (portal). Its major rivers are the Limbdi and Wadhwan Bhogavo, which flow east to the Sabarmati, the Gulf of Cambay and Nal Sarovar. Ask for a soil and water test before assuming crop yields.

  • Bhogavo
  • Saline soil
  • Poor drainage

💧 Water & rainfall

The portal gives annual rainfall of 760 to 967 mm, irregular, in a subtropical, semi-arid district falling in agro-climatic zones 6, 7 and 8, with drought in alternate years (Surendranagar district portal). The CGWB district booklet refused automated access, so we have no district stage of groundwater development; the state-level 2024 assessment finds 22 of 252 units over-exploited with extraction at 54.21 per cent and gives no district-wise stage (CGWB, Gujarat 2024). A September 2026 press report on North Gujarat stress names Mehsana, Banaskantha, Patan, Gandhinagar, Ahmedabad and Kutch and does not name Surendranagar (Gujarat Samachar, September 2026). Canal water comes via Narmada and SAUNI links (Ministry of Jal Shakti SAUNI report). Check the borewell yield and permission for any parcel.

📐 Measurement units

Guntha is about 101 sq m (1,089 sq ft), 40 gunthas make an acre, and the vigha varies by region with no official conversion found. Convert every quote to gunthas or acres before comparing two offers. Live wholesale prices, including castor, are on Agmarknet (not opened for this page); crop income is modest next to land values near towns, so price a parcel on location, water and permitted use.

At a glance

Surendranagar vs. its neighbours

District / beltPrice band* (per acre)Evidence
Surendranagar (all talukas)No sourced price seriesJantri reported doubled from 15 Apr 2023 (DeshGujarat, Feb 2023); no taluka schedule obtained
AhmedabadNo sourced price seriesNo figure used on this page
BotadNo sourced price seriesNo figure used on this page

*Jantri values are registration floors, not market prices. See the Ahmedabad page for the district to the east and the Botad page for the district to the south.

Farmhouse plot with boundary stones near Surendranagar, Gujarat

District report — Surendranagar

Farmland India view

Why investors look at Surendranagar

Five reasoned points, with an honest note that the price evidence is thin and few catalysts are sourced.

Between Ahmedabad and Rajkot

The district portal places the two main commercial centres of Gujarat and Saurashtra about equidistant. That is a position, not a project, and we found no road or airport work in the district to change it.

Canal links start here

Three SAUNI links begin at Surendranagar dams, which makes the canal command a reasonable question for any parcel. The reports give no land-price effect and no status by link.

Stations in the upgrade programme

Surendranagar, Dhrangadhra and Limbdi are among 87 Gujarat stations in the Amrit Bharat programme, and Limbdi's first phase is reported complete. The other two have no reported status.

Large district, thin price evidence

At 10,489 sq km the district is large and varied in soil. We found no sourced price series, so the case rests on water, soil and permitted use, not on a headline number.

A market that rewards documents

With tenure, saline-edge, ceiling and permission questions all parcel-specific, a buyer who documents each one is better placed than one relying on a broker summary.

Confirm tenure, permission, soil and water directly; these are not certified by Farmland India's review.

STRAIGHT TALK

Risks & challenges in Surendranagar

Read these before shortlisting in Surendranagar specifically.

Drought and irregular rainfall

The portal records 760 to 967 mm, irregular, with drought in alternate years. Ask for the irrigation source in writing and for the borewell record before valuing a parcel as irrigated.

Saline and poorly drained soils

The northern edge beside the Ran of Kutch is described as arid, barren and saline, and Lakhtar, Chuda and Limbdi have poorly drained saline soils. Ask for a soil and water test.

Protected-area and forest status near the Ran

We found no notification text for this district. Ask the Forest Department and the Mamlatdar in writing whether the survey number falls in any protected, forest or eco-sensitive area.

Farmer-status and ceiling checks

Section 63 bars transfers to non-agriculturists, and the dry-crop ceiling uplift for drought-prone areas depends on a schedule we did not obtain. Check the family holding and the permission trail.

Encroachment and demolition

A January 2026 headline reports over 400 shops razed at the Chotila foothill. We know no details; check title, encroachment records and permission for any parcel near the hill.

Disturbed Areas Act and fragmentation

Transfers in notified areas need Collector sanction, and the 10-guntha standard area applies to rural land only. We obtained no Surendranagar list of notified areas, so ask the Collector in writing.

No sourced price series

We use no listing-site prices for Surendranagar, and the jantri is only a floor. Collect registered comparables before negotiating.

Who to contact

Local revenue, planning & registration offices

Mutation and revenue-record entries are handled by the Mamlatdar of the relevant taluka (Wadhvan, Muli, Sayla, Limbdi, Chotila, Chuda, Lakhtar, Dasada, Thangadh, Dhrangadhra), as listed on the Surendranagar district portal, with appeals going to the Prant (sub-division) officer and the District Collector. Tenancy and farmer-status permission questions go to the Collectorate's land reform branch; we opened the Surat Collectorate's tenancy page, not Surendranagar's, so confirm the office for this district. Sale-deed registration is handled by the local Sub-Registrar on the gARVI system, and records are on AnyROR. Town-planning questions inside an urban development authority area follow the Gujarat Town Planning and Urban Development Act, 1976. We could not open the Revenue Department home page, AnyROR or gARVI, so check office details directly.

COMMON QUESTIONS

Frequently asked questions

Everything buyers, NRIs and investors ask before their first reviewed farmland purchase in Surendranagar.

Visit full wiki

01 of 04

What does agricultural land cost in Surendranagar?

We publish no per-vigha or per-acre band for Surendranagar because listing-site prices could not be traced to registered deals and we found no taluka-level jantri. The only reference is the state jantri, reported doubled from 15 April 2023 (DeshGujarat, February 2023), which is a registration floor and not a market price.

Transparency

Sources and references

Law and courts

Government

News

Further reading

Data-currency note: area, population, talukas, soils and rainfall come from district-portal pages that carry no date or Census year; the SAUNI report is undated; infrastructure statuses come from reports of 2024 and 2025 and change quickly; stamp duty is from an audit of 2017-18; jantri is a 2023 report. Pages marked "not opened" are named only as places to check. This is a general guide, not legal advice. Report inaccuracies to wiki@farmlandindia.com.

For developers

Ready to explore Surendranagar farmland?

Browse reviewed projects and individual land parcels across Surendranagar — or if you own land here, list it with platform review and reach serious buyers.

Farmland India ("the Platform"), operated by Bulk Procure Private Limited, is a digital marketplace for listing agricultural land, farmhouse and plotted development projects. The Platform is not a real estate broker, agent or intermediary under RERA or any other applicable law, and does not act for either party to a transaction.

Listings are submitted by developers, owners and their authorised representatives. Before publication, the Platform carries out a documentary review of the material supplied and records what was sighted. That review is limited to the documents made available to us at that time. It is not a title investigation, not a legal opinion, and not a warranty of title, approvals, or the accuracy of any information supplied by a lister. The Trust Score is an internal assessment produced from that review and is intended as a research aid, not as a guarantee of outcome.

Every buyer must carry out independent due diligence before any transaction — including verification of land records, encumbrance searches, approvals and regulatory compliance — through their own advocate and chartered accountant. Any legal or advisory professional introduced through the Platform is engaged directly by the user, on that professional's own terms; the Platform does not employ, supervise or accept responsibility for their work.

Nothing on the Platform is investment advice. Land values can fall as well as rise. The Platform is not liable for any loss, dispute or damage arising from a transaction between parties.