Farmland India
Aerial view of agricultural land and farm fields near Patan, Gujarat

District guide

Buying Land in Patan

A north Gujarat district on the desert edge: section 63 farmer status, groundwater stress, solar and wind land, and two expressways at different stages.

  • About 5,740 sq km

    Area (district portal)

  • 13.44 lakh

    Population (district portal)

  • 9

    Talukas (district portal)

  • 125 km, status to confirm

    Sanchore–Santalpur Expressway

*Indicative range across districts and land types. Stamp duty, registration and conversion charges are additional. Local measurement units vary — every listing states the unit it is priced in. Not a valuation or an offer.

District land record — Patan

Rev. 2026 · Farmland India desk

State

Gujarat

Sub-divisions

9 talukas listed on the district portal: Patan, Santalpur, Radhanpur, Sidhpur, Harij, Sami, Chanasma, Saraswati and Sankheshwar (Patan district portal, October 2026); the undated district industrial profile lists seven (without Saraswati and Sankheshwar)

Key markets

Patan · Sidhpur · Radhanpur · Harij · Chanasma · Sami · Santalpur

Demand anchors

Sanchore–Santalpur Expressway ends in the district (status to confirm) · Ahmedabad–Tharad Expressway stalled · solar and wind projects in Sami and Santalpur · heritage town of Patan

Rail

120 km of rail line in the district, a 2010-11 figure in the district industrial profile (district industrial profile)

Size and population

About 5,740 sq km · 13,43,734 people, 524 villages (district portal home page; the portal does not state the Census year) (Patan district portal, October 2026)

Pricing unit

Asking prices are usually quoted per vigha or acre; no sourced price series is shown

Local units

Guntha = 1,089 sq ft · 40 gunthas = 1 acre · Vigha varies by region and no official conversion was found (DeshGujarat, September 2026 for 10 gunthas = 1,012 sq m)

Land records portal

anyror.gujarat.gov.in (fetch refused for this page; check records there)

District overview

Patan — a north Gujarat district on the desert edge, with a heritage town and two expressways in the pipeline

Patan is a north Gujarat district of about 5,740 sq km with 13,43,734 people and 524 villages on the district portal, which does not state the Census year (Patan district portal, October 2026). It was formed from parts of Mehsana and Banaskantha districts and has nine talukas on the portal: Patan, Santalpur, Radhanpur, Sidhpur, Harij, Sami, Chanasma, Saraswati and Sankheshwar (same portal). An undated district industrial profile gives 5,742.16 sq km, 521 revenue villages, 465 gram panchayats, seven talukas and a normal rainfall of 601 mm (district industrial profile). The portal's two pages give different formation years, so we state none.

We publish no per-acre or per-vigha price band for Patan. No registered-deal series or district jantri schedule could be opened, and Gujarat's jantri was reported doubled from 15 April 2023 with a revised draft still pending in November 2024 (DeshGujarat, February 2023; The Secretariat, November 2024). Land news here is about two expressways at different stages, solar and wind projects, and groundwater stress.

Patan town is the former capital that Gujarat Tourism links to Rani ki Vav, the Bohra Vad in Sidhpur and double-ikat patola weaving (Gujarat Tourism). The Gujarat Samachar report of 28 September 2026 on falling groundwater recharge names Patan among the north Gujarat districts under stress (Gujarat Samachar, September 2026), which matters for any farm or farmhouse plan.

  • Patan town
  • Sidhpur
  • Radhanpur
  • Santalpur
  • Sanchore–Santalpur Expressway
  • Ahmedabad–Tharad Expressway
Locator map of Patan district in Gujarat

Transaction costs

Stamp duty & registration in Patan

4.9%

Stamp duty on a conveyance deed

CAG audit for the year ended 31 Mar 2018; current rate to confirm

Not sourced

Registration fee on land deeds

no rate found; ask the Sub-Registrar

2x

Jantri doubled from 15 Apr 2023

reported statewide; no Patan schedule opened

The Comptroller and Auditor General's audit for the year ended 31 March 2018 states stamp duty on a conveyance deed at 4.9% of the greater of consideration and market value, and gives no registration-fee rate for conveyances (CAG, Report 3 of 2019). Jantri rates were reported doubled from 15 April 2023 after about twelve years (DeshGujarat, February 2023), and a revised draft was reported pending in November 2024 (The Secretariat, November 2024). Registration runs through gARVI 2.0 across 294 Sub-Registrar offices (Inspector General of Registration summary); we could not open the portal (gARVI), so we quote no women's concession and no Patan guideline value. Ask the Sub-Registrar for the duty, fee and jantri on your survey number.

Know the belt

What is moving prices in Patan

Reported expressway and zoning developments; no listing-site prices are used.

Sanchore–Santalpur Expressway

125 km, greenfield, ends in Patan district

A project tracker lists the 125.185 km NH-754K section, six lanes and access controlled, from Vantdau in Banaskantha to Ranmalpura in Patan, in four civil packages, as under construction with a December 2025 deadline; the page was last updated on 6 July 2024 (The Metro Rail Guy, July 2024). We found no later report, so the current status is unconfirmed.

Check: whether the survey number sits on the alignment, which the tracker does not give by taluka, and what NHAI has notified.

Ahmedabad–Tharad Expressway

214 km corridor, stalled in 2025–26

DeshGujarat reported in April 2025 that the 214 km corridor was stalled by land-acquisition hurdles, with earlier tenders cancelled (DeshGujarat, April 2025). On 24 March 2026 it reported that NHAI received no bids under the build-operate-transfer model for a 105.8 km section costing Rs 3,739.69 crore (DeshGujarat, March 2026).

Check: that no acquisition notice covers the survey number, and the compensation basis if one does.

Solar and wind belt

Sami and Santalpur

The district industrial profile lists large solar and wind power projects in Sami and Santalpur talukas but gives no land area or lease terms (district industrial profile).

Check: existing leases, easements and the zone of the land.

Asking prices

No sourced price series

Listing-site asking prices for Patan could not be traced to registered deals, so none are shown. Jantri is the only official reference and it is a registration floor, not what a seller will accept.

Check: registered sale deeds in the same village before negotiating.

Units: guntha and vigha

A guntha is about 101 sq m or 1,089 sq ft and 40 gunthas make an acre; the fragmentation amendment uses 10 gunthas as 1,012 sq m (DeshGujarat, September 2026). The vigha varies by region and we found no official conversion, so convert any quote to gunthas or acres and confirm the share of the survey number being sold with the talati.

Connectivity

How Patan connects — road, rail and air

Distances to Ahmedabad, Mehsana and Palanpur are not given because no official or news source was found. Journey times vary with road works.

By road

Sanchore–Santalpur Expressway (NH-754K)125.185 km planned; ends at Ranmalpura, Patan district (tracker, Jul 2024)
Ahmedabad–Tharad ExpresswayPackage II Deodar to Patan (Km 43.5 to 71.05), Package III Patan to Mehsana (Km 71.05 to 105.8); stalled (Apr 2025)

By air

Airport in the districtNone sourced
Deesa Air Force Station (Banaskantha)In-principle approval for civil use reported Feb 2026; distance to Patan not sourced

By rail

Rail length in the district120 km (2010-11, district industrial profile)
Stations, services and projectsNot sourced for this page
MetroNo metro project found in the sources read

The road facts come from DeshGujarat, April 2025, The Metro Rail Guy, July 2024 and DeshGujarat, February 2026; the rail length is from the district industrial profile. The practical question is the last leg from the highway to the parcel; ask for the access road in the revenue record. Statewide rules for buyers are in the Gujarat agricultural land rules.

Growth catalysts

Upcoming infrastructure & developments

Status labels reflect sources read in October 2026. Government-announced timelines are not guaranteed; items with a single or older source say so.

01Open or inaugurated

03In progress or pending

Completed · reported Mar 2026 Patan GSRTC bus port
Under construction per tracker · Jul 2024 Sanchore–Santalpur Expressway
Stalled · Mar 2026 Ahmedabad–Tharad Expressway
In principle · Feb 2026 Deesa civil airport (Banaskantha)
Completed · reported Mar 2026

Patan GSRTC bus port

DeshGujarat's March 2026 infrastructure round-up says Patan received its new GSRTC bus port, a public-private partnership project completed after nine years of development (DeshGujarat, April 2026). The summary gives no cost, site or opening date, so treat it as a town facility rather than a land driver.

Source: DeshGujarat, 4 Apr 2026 (round-up of March 2026)

Type

PPP bus port

Time taken

Nine years

Status

Completed (reported)

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Patan
Under construction per tracker · Jul 2024

Sanchore–Santalpur Expressway

A tracker lists a 125.185 km, six-lane, access-controlled greenfield section (NH-754K) wholly in Gujarat, from Vantdau in Banaskantha district to Ranmalpura in Patan district, in four civil packages of 30 to 32 km, with a December 2025 deadline and bidding and land acquisition under way when last updated on 6 July 2024 (The Metro Rail Guy, July 2024). This is a tracker, not an NHAI page, and we found no later report. Ask NHAI for the notified alignment.

Source: The Metro Rail Guy, page last updated 6 Jul 2024

Length

125.185 km

Lanes

6, access controlled

Packages

4

Last update

6 Jul 2024

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Santalpur (alignment by taluka not sourced)
  • Radhanpur (alignment by taluka not sourced)
Stalled · Mar 2026

Ahmedabad–Tharad Expressway

The 214 km corridor was initially estimated at Rs 10,621.71 crore and was reported stalled by land-acquisition hurdles in April 2025, with two packages named for Patan: Package II from Deodar to Patan (Km 43.5 to Km 71.05) and Package III from Patan to Mehsana (Km 71.05 to Km 105.8) (DeshGujarat, April 2025). An earlier report put the sanctioned amount at Rs 10,534 crore under Bharatmala and counted about 1,300 hectares and 10,000 farmers affected (Gujarat Samachar, August 2024). In March 2026 NHAI received no bids for a 105.8 km build-operate-transfer section (DeshGujarat, March 2026).

Source: DeshGujarat, 24 Apr 2025 and 24 Mar 2026; Gujarat Samachar, 4 Aug 2024

Length

About 214 km

Estimate

Rs 10,621.71 crore (Apr 2025)

Status

Stalled; no BOT bids (Mar 2026)

Forest land in Patan

About 1.995 ha

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Patan (alignment by taluka not sourced)
In principle · Feb 2026

Deesa civil airport (Banaskantha)

DeshGujarat reported on 3 February 2026 an in-principle approval to convert Deesa Air Force Station into a joint civil-military airport, about 18 km from Deesa city, with about 100 acres for the terminal in a complex of roughly 4,500 acres and a state budget provision expected (DeshGujarat, February 2026). The airport is in Banaskantha, not Patan, and the report gives no distance to Patan or any opening date.

Source: DeshGujarat, 3 Feb 2026

Location

Banaskantha district

Terminal land

About 100 acres

Runway

3.3 km existing

Status

In principle

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Radhanpur (distance not sourced)
  • Patan (distance not sourced)

Agriculture & terrain

Soil, crops & water in Patan

A north Gujarat district on the desert edge, where groundwater stress and a castor belt shape farm value.

🌾 Castor and dry crops

The Directorate of Economics and Statistics study of castor, of which Gujarat grew 85.6% of India's output in 2020-21, chose the five largest castor districts by area; the state fact sheet names Patan among them, but the district table was not readable in the extract we opened (DESAGRI castor study). We found no Patan crop-area table, so we list no other crops. The industrial profile notes cotton-based industries, which is not a crop statistic (district industrial profile).

  • Castor (to confirm)

💧 Rainfall and groundwater

The industrial profile gives normal annual rainfall of 601 mm (district industrial profile). The 2024 CGWB state report has no district-wise stage in the file we read (CGWB, Gujarat 2024), and Gujarat Samachar named Patan among the north Gujarat districts under groundwater stress on 28 September 2026 (Gujarat Samachar). The CGWB Patan booklet refused our request.

  • 601 mm normal
  • Stress list

🏜️ Desert edge and energy

The district portal places the southern part of Patan in the Kutch desert and part of Surendranagar (Patan district portal). The industrial profile lists solar and wind power projects in Sami and Santalpur (district industrial profile).

  • Kutch desert edge
  • Sami
  • Santalpur

💧 Irrigation sources

We found no sourced split of Patan's irrigation by wells, canals or tanks, because the CGWB district booklet did not open. The Narmada canal network is reported at 63,908 of 69,830 km complete at 31 January 2025 across Gujarat (DeshGujarat, March 2025), but we found no Patan figure. A Gujarat Samachar report mentions the Sujalam Sufalam canal in the Ahmedabad–Tharad context without detail (Gujarat Samachar, August 2024). Test borewell depth and yield, and ask for the canal command status of any parcel.

📐 Measurement units

Gujarat land units: guntha about 1,089 sq ft; 40 gunthas = 1 acre; vigha varies by region with no official conversion found. Convert every quote to gunthas or acres before comparing two offers. Live mandi prices are on Agmarknet (not opened for this page); village-level soil data is on the Soil Health Card portal (not opened). Price a parcel on location, water and permitted use.

At a glance

Patan vs. its neighbours

District / beltPrice band* (per acre)Evidence
Patan (all talukas)No sourced price seriesNo figure used; jantri doubled statewide from 15 Apr 2023 (DeshGujarat, Feb 2023)
BanaskanthaNo sourced price seriesNo figure used on this page
MehsanaNo sourced price seriesNo figure used on this page
KutchNo sourced price seriesNo figure used on this page
SurendranagarNo sourced price seriesNo figure used on this page

*No price band is shown because no registered-deal series or district jantri schedule was available. See the Banaskantha page for the north and west; Mehsana, Kutch and Surendranagar also border Patan.

Farmhouse plot with boundary stones near Patan, Gujarat

District report — Patan

Farmland India view

Why investors look at Patan

Five reasoned points, with an honest note that the price evidence is thin and the expressway projects are unfinished.

Two expressway corridors reach the district

The Sanchore–Santalpur section ends at Ranmalpura in Patan and the Ahmedabad–Tharad corridor has two packages named for Patan. One was last tracked in 2024 and the other is stalled, so each is a possibility, not a delivered road.

Solar and wind sit on the map

The district industrial profile lists large solar and wind projects in Sami and Santalpur. They show where land is already committed, which cuts both ways for a buyer.

A heritage town with tourism pull

Gujarat Tourism lists Rani ki Vav, Sidhpur's Bohra Vad and patola weaving. We found no visitor or land-use figures, so this is context rather than a price driver.

Groundwater needs a hard look

Patan is on the Gujarat Samachar list of stressed north Gujarat districts. That argues for testing the borewell and treating water as the first filter on any farm.

A market that rewards paperwork

Farmer status, forest or acquisition notices and energy-project leases are survey-number specific. A buyer who documents each is better placed than one relying on a broker.

Confirm farmer status, acquisition notices and lease status directly; these are not certified by Farmland India’s review.

STRAIGHT TALK

Risks & challenges in Patan

Read these before shortlisting in Patan specifically.

Farmer-status rule

Section 63 bars transfers to non-agriculturists, and a state proposal to let non-farmers buy was under review in November 2024 with nothing enacted that we found. Ask for the seller's farmer evidence and the NA order.

Stalled expressway

The Ahmedabad–Tharad corridor was stalled by land acquisition in April 2025 and drew no BOT bids in March 2026. Price on today's roads, not on a completion date.

Unconfirmed alignment

The Sanchore–Santalpur page was last updated in July 2024 and gives no taluka-level alignment. Ask NHAI for the notified route.

Groundwater stress

Patan is among the north Gujarat districts named in September 2026 as under stress. Check borewell depth, yield and any permission rule.

Energy-project land

Solar and wind projects are listed in Sami and Santalpur. Check leases and easements on the record of rights.

Border and desert-edge checks

We found no published purchase rule for Patan's border or desert belt. Ask the Collector for any defence or border-security condition.

Disturbed Areas Act checks

Where a survey number lies in a notified area, the Collector's sanction is required and a transfer without it is void. We have no list and found nothing naming Patan.

No sourced price series

We use no listing-site prices for Patan, and jantri is only a floor. Collect registered comparables before negotiating.

Who to contact

Local revenue & planning offices

Mutation and revenue-record matters go through the Mamlatdar of the taluka and the talati of the village, with the Prant officer (sub-divisional officer) above them and the District Collector at the top; the Patan district portal opened for us and its about-district page lists the talukas, but it gives no office detail. NA permission is applied for to the Collector, and acquisition notices appear in the Gazette. Questions on forest land go to the Forest Department and on highway land to NHAI. Zoning law is the Gujarat Town Planning and Urban Development Act, 1976 (Act text, not opened). Sale-deed registration is handled by the Sub-Registrar office for the village, and land records are on AnyROR with registration on gARVI. We could not open the Revenue Department, AnyROR and gARVI portals, so check them directly.

COMMON QUESTIONS

Frequently asked questions

Everything buyers, NRIs and investors ask before their first reviewed farmland purchase in Patan.

Visit full wiki

01 of 04

What does agricultural land cost in Patan?

We publish no per-acre or per-vigha band for Patan because no registered-deal series or district jantri schedule could be opened, and listing-site asking prices could not be traced to registered deals. The only official reference is the statewide jantri, reported doubled from 15 April 2023 (DeshGujarat, February 2023), and it is a registration floor, not a market price. Collect registered comparables from the same village.

Transparency

Sources and references

Law and courts

Government

News

Further reading

Data-currency note: area, population and villages come from the undated district portal and an undated industrial profile (mostly 2010-11 data), which differ slightly; the Sanchore–Santalpur status is from a July 2024 tracker; infrastructure statuses were read in October 2026 and change quickly; the stamp-duty rate is from an audit of 2017-18. Pages marked "not opened" are named only as places to check. This is a general guide, not legal advice. Report inaccuracies to wiki@farmlandindia.com.

For developers

Ready to explore Patan farmland?

Browse reviewed projects and individual land parcels across Patan — or if you own land here, list it with platform review and reach serious buyers.

Farmland India ("the Platform"), operated by Bulk Procure Private Limited, is a digital marketplace for listing agricultural land, farmhouse and plotted development projects. The Platform is not a real estate broker, agent or intermediary under RERA or any other applicable law, and does not act for either party to a transaction.

Listings are submitted by developers, owners and their authorised representatives. Before publication, the Platform carries out a documentary review of the material supplied and records what was sighted. That review is limited to the documents made available to us at that time. It is not a title investigation, not a legal opinion, and not a warranty of title, approvals, or the accuracy of any information supplied by a lister. The Trust Score is an internal assessment produced from that review and is intended as a research aid, not as a guarantee of outcome.

Every buyer must carry out independent due diligence before any transaction — including verification of land records, encumbrance searches, approvals and regulatory compliance — through their own advocate and chartered accountant. Any legal or advisory professional introduced through the Platform is engaged directly by the user, on that professional's own terms; the Platform does not employ, supervise or accept responsibility for their work.

Nothing on the Platform is investment advice. Land values can fall as well as rise. The Platform is not liable for any loss, dispute or damage arising from a transaction between parties.