Farmland India
Aerial view of agricultural land and farm fields near Porbandar, Gujarat

District guide

Buying Land in Porbandar

A coastal Saurashtra district of groundnut farms and a working port: section 63 farmer status, coastal checks, saline wells and few dated projects.

  • About 2,316 sq km

    Area (CGWB, 2014)

  • 5.85 lakh

    Population (Census 2011)

  • 3

    Talukas

  • 71.62%

    Groundwater development (2012)

*Indicative range across districts and land types. Stamp duty, registration and conversion charges are additional. Local measurement units vary — every listing states the unit it is priced in. Not a valuation or an offer.

District land record — Porbandar

Rev. 2026 · Farmland India desk

State

Gujarat

Sub-divisions

3 talukas: Porbandar, Kutiyana and Ranavav (CGWB Porbandar booklet, 2014; the district industrial profile lists the same three)

Key markets

Porbandar city and coast · Ranavav · Kutiyana

Demand anchors

Porbandar port · Ranavav Integrated Coaching Depot (upcoming) · Mocha marine biotechnology corridor (headline only) · groundnut farming

Rail

About 5 km from the port to the nearest broad-gauge railhead (Gujarat Maritime Board); 34 km of rail line in the district, a 2010-11 figure (industrial profile)

Size and population

About 2,316 sq km · 5,85,449 people at Census 2011, 182 inhabited villages and 4 towns (CGWB Porbandar booklet, 2014; the district portal gives the same figures, Porbandar district portal)

Pricing unit

Asking prices are usually quoted per vigha or acre; no sourced price series is shown

Local units

Guntha = 1,089 sq ft · 40 gunthas = 1 acre · Vigha varies by region and no official conversion was found (DeshGujarat, September 2026 for 10 gunthas = 1,012 sq m)

Land records portal

anyror.gujarat.gov.in (fetch refused for this page; check records there)

District overview

Porbandar — a coastal Saurashtra district of groundnut farms and a working port

Porbandar is a coastal Saurashtra district of about 2,316 sq km with 5,85,449 people at Census 2011, of whom 2,85,674 live in urban areas, in 182 inhabited villages and four towns (CGWB Porbandar booklet, 2014). It has three talukas, Porbandar, Kutiyana and Ranavav. The district portal describes it as created from Junagadh district, with Jamnagar and Devbhumi Dwarka to the north, Junagadh and Rajkot to the east and the Arabian Sea to the west and south (Porbandar district portal). An undated industrial profile gives 2,272 sq km and 5,86,062 people, and a normal rainfall of 1,242 mm that conflicts with the 660 mm in the CGWB booklet (district industrial profile).

We publish no per-acre or per-vigha price band for Porbandar. No registered-deal series or district jantri schedule could be opened, and Gujarat's jantri was reported doubled from 15 April 2023 with a revised draft still pending in November 2024 (DeshGujarat, February 2023; The Secretariat, November 2024). The land story is a port, a coast and farms on black soil, and we found few dated projects.

Farming is groundnut-led. The CGWB booklet gives groundnut as the most important crop, followed by gram, on shallow to medium black soils over about 75% of the area; dug wells are the main irrigation source and groundwater development was 71.62% in 2012, which the booklet classes as semi-critical (CGWB Porbandar booklet, 2014).

  • Porbandar port
  • Ranavav
  • Kutiyana
  • Groundnut belt
  • Coastal checks
  • Saline wells
Locator map of Porbandar district in Gujarat

Transaction costs

Stamp duty & registration in Porbandar

4.9%

Stamp duty on a conveyance deed

CAG audit for the year ended 31 Mar 2018; current rate to confirm

Not sourced

Registration fee on land deeds

no rate found; ask the Sub-Registrar

2x

Jantri doubled from 15 Apr 2023

reported statewide; no Porbandar schedule opened

The Comptroller and Auditor General's audit for the year ended 31 March 2018 states stamp duty on a conveyance deed at 4.9% of the greater of consideration and market value, and gives no registration-fee rate for conveyances (CAG, Report 3 of 2019). Jantri rates were reported doubled from 15 April 2023 after about twelve years (DeshGujarat, February 2023), and a revised draft was reported pending in November 2024 (The Secretariat, November 2024). Registration runs through gARVI 2.0 across 294 Sub-Registrar offices (Inspector General of Registration summary); we could not open the portal (gARVI), so we quote no women's concession and no Porbandar guideline value. Ask the Sub-Registrar for the duty, fee and jantri on your survey number.

Know the belt

What is moving prices in Porbandar

Reported port, rail-depot and zoning developments; no listing-site prices are used.

Porbandar port

All-weather, berths up to 50,000 DWT

The Gujarat Maritime Board describes Porbandar as an all-weather port with direct berthing for ships up to 50,000 DWT, about 5 km from the nearest broad-gauge railhead and about 6 km from NH 8E, handling imports such as coal, LPG and wet dates and exports such as salt, cement, bauxite and onion (Gujarat Maritime Board). The page is undated, closes lighterage work from 15 May to 15 September and names no expansion value.

Check: whether the survey number is near the port, the shore or a rail siding, and the zone and status of the land.

Ranavav Integrated Coaching Depot

Listed as upcoming (Apr 2026)

DeshGujarat's round-up of March 2026 lists the Ranavav Integrated Coaching Depot under upcoming railway expansion (DeshGujarat, April 2026). It gives no cost, land area or date.

Check: whether any railway acquisition notice covers the survey number.

Mocha marine biotechnology corridor

Headline only (Jun 2026)

A sidebar headline on a DeshGujarat page of 25 June 2026 reads "Gujarat Plans Rs 100-Crore Marine Biotechnology Corridor at Mocha in Porbandar" (DeshGujarat, June 2026). We did not open the article, so we report the headline only and no land area, site or date.

Check: the article and any government notice before treating the corridor as a land driver.

Asking prices

No sourced price series

Listing-site asking prices for Porbandar could not be traced to registered deals, so none are shown. Jantri is the only official reference and it is a registration floor, not what a seller will accept.

Check: registered sale deeds in the same village before negotiating.

Units: guntha and vigha

A guntha is about 101 sq m or 1,089 sq ft and 40 gunthas make an acre; the fragmentation amendment uses 10 gunthas as 1,012 sq m (DeshGujarat, September 2026). The vigha varies by region and we found no official conversion, so convert any quote to gunthas or acres and confirm the share of the survey number being sold with the talati.

Connectivity

How Porbandar connects — road, rail and air

Distances to Rajkot, Jamnagar and Junagadh are not given because no official or news source was found. Journey times vary with road works.

By road

NH 8E to the portAbout 6 km from the port (Gujarat Maritime Board, undated)
Road networkNational highway 113 km, state highway 137 km, main district roads 104 km (2010-11 industrial profile)

By air

Airport in the districtNot sourced for this page
Operating airports nearbyNo distance or service sourced

By rail & port

Port railheadAbout 5 km to the nearest broad-gauge railhead (Gujarat Maritime Board)
Rail length in the district34 km (2010-11 industrial profile)
Ranavav Integrated Coaching DepotListed as upcoming (DeshGujarat, Apr 2026)
MetroNo metro project found in the sources read

The port facts come from the Gujarat Maritime Board, the road and rail lengths from the district industrial profile and the depot from DeshGujarat, April 2026. The road numbering on the port page may be older than current NH numbers. The practical question is the last leg from the highway to the parcel; ask for the access road in the revenue record. Statewide rules for buyers are in the Gujarat agricultural land rules.

Growth catalysts

Upcoming infrastructure & developments

Status labels reflect sources read in October 2026. Government-announced timelines are not guaranteed; items with a single or older source say so.

01Open or inaugurated

02In progress or pending

Operating · undated page Porbandar port
Listed as upcoming · Apr 2026 Ranavav Integrated Coaching Depot
Headline only · Jun 2026 Mocha marine biotechnology corridor
Operating · undated page

Porbandar port

The Gujarat Maritime Board describes the port at 21°38' N, 69°37' E as all-weather, with direct berthing up to 50,000 DWT, a 385 m steamer wharf, about 2,128 m of lighterage berths, a fishery harbour terminal with five jetties, a dry dock and 34 godowns; pilotage is compulsory and navigation is daylight-only (Gujarat Maritime Board). A 200 m GMB-Navy jetty costing Rs 55 crore is described as almost completed, a Coast Guard jetty extension is planned and a naval base is proposed, none dated. The page names no expansion value or opening date.

Source: Gujarat Maritime Board page (undated)

Type

All-weather port

Berthing

Up to 50,000 DWT

Railhead

About 5 km

Highway

About 6 km

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Porbandar
Listed as upcoming · Apr 2026

Ranavav Integrated Coaching Depot

DeshGujarat's round-up of March 2026 says railway infrastructure is set for further expansion with projects such as the Ranavav Integrated Coaching Depot (DeshGujarat, April 2026). The sentence gives no cost, land area, station or completion date, so ask the railway whether any acquisition is involved.

Source: DeshGujarat, 4 Apr 2026 (round-up of March 2026)

Project

Coaching depot

Location

Ranavav

Cost

Not stated

Date

Not stated

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Ranavav
Headline only · Jun 2026

Mocha marine biotechnology corridor

A related-story headline on a DeshGujarat page of 25 June 2026 reads "Gujarat Plans Rs 100-Crore Marine Biotechnology Corridor at Mocha in Porbandar" (DeshGujarat, June 2026). We did not open the article, so we cannot give the site, land area or timeline and cite the headline only.

Source: DeshGujarat sidebar headline, 25 Jun 2026 (article not opened)

Cost (headline)

Rs 100 crore

Location (headline)

Mocha, Porbandar

Land area

Not seen

Status

Planned (headline)

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Porbandar (site not sourced)

Agriculture & terrain

Soil, crops & water in Porbandar

A coastal black-soil groundnut district where dug wells carry irrigation and the southern coast is saline.

🌾 Black soil and groundnut

The CGWB booklet records shallow to medium black soils over about 75% of the district, deep black soil in the Ghed area and saline coastal alluvium. Groundnut is the most important crop, at about 66% of cultivated area in one place and 77% in another, followed by gram, with cotton, wheat, bajri, jowar, pulses and sugarcane also grown (CGWB Porbandar booklet, 2014).

  • Groundnut
  • Gram
  • Cotton
  • Wheat
  • Bajri
  • Sugarcane

🌊 Rivers and rain

The Bhadar is the principal river, with the Bobadi, Minsar, Kalindri, Ojat, Kaman and Vartu also named; the basement is Deccan Trap basalt. The booklet gives normal rainfall of 660 mm (639.9 mm at the Porbandar station, 1943 to 1980), while the industrial profile gives 1,242 mm, and we follow the booklet (CGWB Porbandar booklet, 2014; district industrial profile).

  • Bhadar
  • Bobadi
  • Minsar
  • Ojat

🧂 Coast and salinity

Groundwater is more saline in the southern coastal part, with total dissolved solids from 801 mg/l at Ranavav to 7,303 mg/l at Miyani in May 2012, although the booklet still calls quality generally potable (CGWB Porbandar booklet, 2014). Test any parcel near the shore.

  • Saline south
  • Miyani
  • Ranavav

💧 Water & irrigation

The booklet records 22,307 dug wells irrigating about 19.5 thousand hectares, 872 shallow and 776 deep tubewells, and only 0.08 thousand hectares under canals from eight canals totalling 16 km, with no tank irrigation; its irrigation data come from the Minor Irrigation Census of 2000-01. Groundwater development was 71.62% overall, semi-critical, with Porbandar taluka at 88.98% (semi-critical) and Kutiyana at 63.22% and Ranavav at 63.55% (safe), on 2012 data (CGWB Porbandar booklet, 2014). The 2024 CGWB state report has no district-wise stage in the file we read (CGWB, Gujarat 2024), and Porbandar is not on the Gujarat Samachar list of stressed districts (Gujarat Samachar, September 2026), which is not evidence of safety. We found no Porbandar link to the SAUNI scheme. Check borewell yield and salinity for any parcel.

📐 Measurement units

Gujarat land units: guntha about 1,089 sq ft; 40 gunthas = 1 acre; vigha varies by region with no official conversion found. Convert every quote to gunthas or acres before comparing two offers. Live mandi prices are on Agmarknet (not opened for this page); village-level soil data is on the Soil Health Card portal (not opened). Crop income is modest next to land values near the port or shore, so price a parcel on location and permitted use.

At a glance

Porbandar vs. its neighbours

District / beltPrice band* (per acre)Evidence
Porbandar (all talukas)No sourced price seriesNo figure used; jantri doubled statewide from 15 Apr 2023 (DeshGujarat, Feb 2023)
JunagadhNo sourced price seriesNo figure used on this page
Devbhumi DwarkaNo sourced price seriesNo figure used on this page
JamnagarNo sourced price seriesNo figure used on this page
RajkotNo sourced price seriesNo figure used on this page

*No price band is shown because no registered-deal series or district jantri schedule was available. See the Junagadh page for the east, the Devbhumi Dwarka page and the Jamnagar page for the north; Rajkot also borders Porbandar.

Farmhouse plot with boundary stones near Porbandar, Gujarat

District report — Porbandar

Farmland India view

Why investors look at Porbandar

Five reasoned points, with an honest note that the price evidence is thin and few projects carry dates.

A working port

The Gujarat Maritime Board describes an all-weather port with rail and highway access within a few kilometres. The page is undated and names no expansion value, so it supports location, not a price rise.

Groundnut farming on black soil

Groundnut dominates the cropped area on shallow to medium black soils. Yield and water, not crop income alone, decide a farm's value.

Groundwater is mixed

Porbandar taluka was semi-critical at 88.98% in 2012 while Kutiyana and Ranavav were safe, and the south coast is saline. The data are old, so test the borewell and the water.

Few dated projects

Only a coaching depot at Ranavav is listed as upcoming, with no date, and the Mocha corridor is a headline. A buyer should expect a slow story.

A market that rewards paperwork

Farmer status, coastal checks and port or defence conditions are survey-number specific. A buyer who documents each is better placed than one relying on a broker.

Confirm farmer status, coastal status and any port or defence condition directly; these are not certified by Farmland India’s review.

STRAIGHT TALK

Risks & challenges in Porbandar

Read these before shortlisting in Porbandar specifically.

Farmer-status rule

Section 63 bars transfers to non-agriculturists, and a state proposal to let non-farmers buy was under review in November 2024 with nothing enacted that we found. Ask for the seller's farmer evidence and the NA order.

Coastal land

We found no published purchase rule or Coastal Regulation Zone map for Porbandar's coast. Ask the Collector and the Gujarat Maritime Board for the status of any parcel near the sea.

Saline water and soil

Coastal alluvial soils are saline and groundwater reached 7,303 mg/l at Miyani in 2012. Test the water before paying for irrigated-farm value.

Semi-critical Porbandar taluka

The 2012 booklet put Porbandar taluka at 88.98% groundwater development, semi-critical. Check borewell depth, yield and any permission rule.

Port and defence land

The port page mentions a Navy jetty, a Coast Guard extension and a proposed naval base, none dated. Ask the Collector in writing about conditions near the port.

Announced is not delivered

The Ranavav depot has no date and the Mocha corridor is a headline. Price on today's roads and rail.

Disturbed Areas Act checks

Where a survey number lies in a notified area, the Collector's sanction is required and a transfer without it is void. We have no list and found nothing naming Porbandar.

No sourced price series

We use no listing-site prices for Porbandar, and jantri is only a floor. Collect registered comparables before negotiating.

Who to contact

Local revenue & planning offices

Mutation and revenue-record matters go through the Mamlatdar of the taluka and the talati of the village, with the Prant officer (sub-divisional officer) above them and the District Collector at the top; the Porbandar district portal opened for us but does not list the talukas or offices. Questions on the port and coastal land go to the Gujarat Maritime Board (the port page), on railway land to the railway, and on forest land to the Forest Department. NA permission is applied for to the Collector, and acquisition notices appear in the Gazette. Zoning law is the Gujarat Town Planning and Urban Development Act, 1976 (Act text, not opened). Sale-deed registration is handled by the Sub-Registrar office for the village, and land records are on AnyROR with registration on gARVI. We could not open the Revenue Department, AnyROR and gARVI portals, so check them directly.

COMMON QUESTIONS

Frequently asked questions

Everything buyers, NRIs and investors ask before their first reviewed farmland purchase in Porbandar.

Visit full wiki

01 of 04

What does agricultural land cost in Porbandar?

We publish no per-acre or per-vigha band for Porbandar because no registered-deal series or district jantri schedule could be opened, and listing-site asking prices could not be traced to registered deals. The only official reference is the statewide jantri, reported doubled from 15 April 2023 (DeshGujarat, February 2023), and it is a registration floor, not a market price. Collect registered comparables from the same village.

Transparency

Sources and references

Law and courts

Government

News

Further reading

Data-currency note: area, population, groundwater, soil and crop figures come from a CGWB booklet dated March 2014 (mostly 2012 data) and an undated industrial profile (mostly 2010-11), which differ in places; the port page is undated; infrastructure statuses were read in October 2026 and change quickly; the stamp-duty rate is from an audit of 2017-18. Pages marked "not opened" are named only as places to check. This is a general guide, not legal advice. Report inaccuracies to wiki@farmlandindia.com.

For developers

Ready to explore Porbandar farmland?

Browse reviewed projects and individual land parcels across Porbandar — or if you own land here, list it with platform review and reach serious buyers.

Farmland India ("the Platform"), operated by Bulk Procure Private Limited, is a digital marketplace for listing agricultural land, farmhouse and plotted development projects. The Platform is not a real estate broker, agent or intermediary under RERA or any other applicable law, and does not act for either party to a transaction.

Listings are submitted by developers, owners and their authorised representatives. Before publication, the Platform carries out a documentary review of the material supplied and records what was sighted. That review is limited to the documents made available to us at that time. It is not a title investigation, not a legal opinion, and not a warranty of title, approvals, or the accuracy of any information supplied by a lister. The Trust Score is an internal assessment produced from that review and is intended as a research aid, not as a guarantee of outcome.

Every buyer must carry out independent due diligence before any transaction — including verification of land records, encumbrance searches, approvals and regulatory compliance — through their own advocate and chartered accountant. Any legal or advisory professional introduced through the Platform is engaged directly by the user, on that professional's own terms; the Platform does not employ, supervise or accept responsibility for their work.

Nothing on the Platform is investment advice. Land values can fall as well as rise. The Platform is not liable for any loss, dispute or damage arising from a transaction between parties.