Farmland India
Aerial view of agricultural land and farm fields near Rajkot, Gujarat

District guide

Buying Land in Rajkot

Saurashtra's largest city district: Deccan Trap farmland, a greenfield airport since 2023, SAUNI canal water and a farmer-status rule every buyer must clear.

  • 11,203 sq km

    Area (district portal, may predate 2013 split)

  • 38.05 lakh

    Population (district portal)

  • 65.34%

    Groundwater stage, undivided district (Mar 2011)

  • ~30 km, ₹1,405 crore

    Hirasar airport, from Rajkot city

*Indicative range across districts and land types. Stamp duty, registration and conversion charges are additional. Local measurement units vary — every listing states the unit it is priced in. Not a valuation or an offer.

District land record — Rajkot

Rev. 2026 · Farmland India desk

State

Gujarat

Sub-divisions

Ten talukas by our count: Rajkot, Kotada Sangani, Paddhari, Lodhika, Jasdan, Gondal, Jetpur, Dhoraji, Upleta and Jamkandorna. The CGWB booklet of November 2013 lists 14 talukas; four of them (Morbi, Maliya, Tankara, Wankaner) now sit in Morbi district, created on 15 August 2013 (Morbi district portal). Check for talukas added since.

Key markets

Rajkot city and its fringe · Gondal · Jetpur · Dhoraji · Upleta · Jasdan

Demand anchors

Largest city of central Saurashtra · Hirasar airport, opened July 2023 · SAUNI canal links · Rajkot–Gondal–Jetpur road corridor still awaiting completion

Rail

Rail reached Rajkot in 1889 (Wankaner) and 1893 (Jetalsar) (Gujarat NRI portal, Rajkot history); the district portal describes Western Railway broad gauge (Rajkot district portal). Current train and electrification detail was not sourced.

Size and population

11,203 sq km · 38,04,558 people (Rajkot district portal, October 2026). The CGWB booklet gives the same area and 37,99,770 people for the 14-taluka district, so both figures probably predate the 2013 split and overstate today's district.

Pricing unit

Usually quoted per vigha, guntha or acre in local trade; no official per-acre schedule was seen

Local units

Guntha = about 1,089 sq ft (101 sq m) · 40 gunthas = 1 acre · Vigha varies by region, so ask for the survey-number area

Land records portal

AnyROR (anyror.gujarat.gov.in) (did not open for us; check records there)

District overview

Rajkot — Saurashtra's largest city district with a new greenfield airport

Rajkot sits in central Saurashtra, bordered by Morbi and Surendranagar to the north, Bhavnagar and Botad to the east, Junagadh to the south and Jamnagar to the west (Rajkot district portal, October 2026). The portal gives 11,203 sq km and 38,04,558 people, but Morbi district was carved out on 15 August 2013 (Morbi district portal) and the same area appears in a 14-taluka CGWB booklet (CGWB, November 2013), so treat both as pre-split figures. The district's own 2026 area and population are not published on the pages we could open.

The city was founded in 1610 on the Aji river, and the railway arrived in 1889 (Gujarat NRI portal). Hirasar airport, about 30 km from the city on 1,500 acres at a cost of ₹1,405 crore, was scheduled for inauguration on 27 July 2023 (AIR News, July 2023). We found no report on its current flight schedule.

We publish no per-acre price band for Rajkot. No district or village jantri schedule opened, and listing-site asking prices could not be traced to registered deals. The state raised jantri rates from 15 April 2023 (DeshGujarat, February 2023), and a revised draft was pending in November 2024 (The Secretariat, November 2024). Rainfall matters here: Rajkot was 35% below normal at 7 September 2026 (Down To Earth, September 2026).

  • Rajkot city
  • Gondal
  • Jetpur
  • Dhoraji
  • Hirasar airport
  • SAUNI
Locator map of Rajkot district in Gujarat

Transaction costs

Stamp duty & registration in Rajkot

4.9%

Stamp duty on conveyance

audit year ended 31 Mar 2018 (CAG); current rate not confirmed

Not sourced

Registration fee

no rate for land deeds found; ask the Sub-Registrar

2x

Jantri doubled

from 15 Apr 2023, as reported; revised draft pending in Nov 2024

The 4.9% figure comes from a state audit covering the year ended 31 March 2018 (CAG Report 3 of 2019); a later change cannot be ruled out. Jantri, the state guideline value, was doubled from 15 April 2023 after about twelve years (DeshGujarat, February 2023), and a revised draft for agricultural land was pending in November 2024 (The Secretariat, November 2024). We did not obtain a Rajkot district or village schedule. Registration runs through gARVI 2.0 in 294 Sub-Registrar offices (IGR summary); the gARVI portal did not open for us.

Know the belt

What is moving prices in Rajkot

Few official numbers exist for Rajkot: the state-wide jantri history, one airport report and one corridor request. No listing-site prices are used.

Jantri and registration floors

No district schedule seen

The state doubled jantri from 15 April 2023 (DeshGujarat, February 2023). Draft revised rates for agricultural land were reported pending in November 2024 (The Secretariat, November 2024). We did not find a Rajkot taluka or village rate on any page that opened.

Check: the current jantri for the village at the Sub-Registrar before agreeing a price.

Hirasar airport belt

Airport open since July 2023, no price series

Hirasar airport covers about 1,500 acres and lies about 30 km from Rajkot city (AIR News, July 2023). The state named local industry as a beneficiary at the inauguration (AIR News, July 2023). We found no land-rate report for the surrounding villages.

Check: the 900 m railway and airport limit in the 2008 order and any NA conditions for the survey number.

Gondal, Jetpur and Dhoraji

Corridor still pending

The Chief Minister asked the Union minister in November 2025 to expedite the Rajkot–Gondal–Jetpur corridor (AIR News, November 2025). The report gives no cost, length or date for the Rajkot stretch.

Check: the NHAI alignment and any Section 3 notification before relying on frontage.

Asking prices

No sourced price series

Listing-site asking prices for Rajkot could not be traced to registered deals, so none appear on this page.

Check: registered sale deeds in the same village before negotiating.

Units: guntha, acre, vigha

Gujarat records use the guntha (about 1,089 sq ft, or 101 sq m); 40 gunthas make an acre. The vigha varies by region and we found no official conversion for Saurashtra, so read the area from the 7/12 extract rather than from a vigha quote.

Connectivity

How Rajkot connects — road, rail and air

Distances from Rajkot city to other cities are not given because no official or news source was found. Journey times vary with traffic and road works.

By road

Rajkot–Gondal–Jetpur corridorExpedite request, Nov 2025; no length or cost reported
Hirasar airport roadAirport about 30 km from the city (Jul 2023)
National highway linksThe district portal names an older highway number; not used

By air

Hirasar airport (Rajkot International)Inaugurated 27 Jul 2023; 1,500 acres, ₹1,405 crore
Terminal capacityMore than 1,200 passengers an hour at peak (AIR, Jul 2023)
Current flightsNot sourced; the portal lists an airline that no longer operates

By rail

Rajkot stationRail since 1889; Western Railway broad gauge
Lines named in historyWankaner (1889), Jetalsar (1893)
MetroNo metro project found in the sources read

The practical question is the last leg from the highway to the parcel; ask whether the approach road is a public road, a panchayat track or a farm path in the revenue record. See also the Gujarat agricultural land rules.

Growth catalysts

Upcoming infrastructure & developments

Status labels reflect sources read in October 2026. Government-announced timelines are not guaranteed; items marked confirm have a single or an older source.

02Open or inaugurated

02In progress or pending

Inaugurated · 27 Jul 2023 Hirasar airport (Rajkot International)
Water to Aji-I since 2017 SAUNI link to Aji-I reservoir
Expedite requested · Nov 2025 Rajkot–Gondal–Jetpur corridor
Phase II drinking water · pending SAUNI Phase II urban supply
Inaugurated · 27 Jul 2023

Hirasar airport (Rajkot International)

A greenfield airport on about 1,500 acres at ₹1,405 crore, with a 45 m wide runway, parking for 14 aircraft and a terminal rated at more than 1,200 passengers an hour (AIR News, July 2023). AIR reported its inauguration on 27 July 2023 (AIR News, July 2023). We found no report on current flights, so confirm the schedule with the airport operator. The airport village and taluka are not stated in the reports; the markets listed are our editorial guess, so confirm.

Source: AIR News, 25 Jul 2023; AIR News, 27 Jul 2023

Site

~1,500 acres

Cost

₹1,405 crore

Distance

~30 km from city

Status

Inaugurated 2023

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Rajkot city
  • Paddhari
  • Lodhika
Water to Aji-I since 2017

SAUNI link to Aji-I reservoir

Phase II of SAUNI included a package linking the Machchhu-I reservoir to Aji-I, and Aji-I has received water since 2017; the Ministry of Jal Shakti report describes it as a main source for Rajkot city (Ministry of Jal Shakti, SAUNI report). Two further SAUNI projects were inaugurated at Rajkot in July 2023 (AIR News, July 2023); costs were not given.

Source: Ministry of Jal Shakti SAUNI report (undated); AIR News, 27 Jul 2023

Scheme

SAUNI Phase II

Reservoir

Aji-I

Water since

2017

Use

City supply

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Rajkot city
Expedite requested · Nov 2025

Rajkot–Gondal–Jetpur corridor

AIR reported on 27 November 2025 that the Chief Minister asked for the Rajkot–Gondal–Jetpur corridor to be expedited, alongside the Ahmedabad–Mumbai and Ahmedabad–Udaipur corridors, when the Union road minister pledged ₹20,000 crore for Gujarat NHAI projects (AIR News, November 2025). The report gives no length, cost, contractor or completion date for the Rajkot corridor, so its status is unconfirmed.

Source: AIR News, 27 Nov 2025

Corridor

Rajkot–Gondal–Jetpur

Agency

NHAI (state request)

Cost

Not reported

Target

Not reported

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Rajkot
  • Gondal
  • Jetpur
Phase II drinking water · pending

SAUNI Phase II urban supply

Rajkot is one of 14 urban centres that SAUNI Phase II is meant to supply with drinking and domestic water (Ministry of Jal Shakti, SAUNI report). The report is undated and we found no later progress figure. Separately, the Sardar Sarovar dam reached its full level of 138.68 m on 30 September 2026 and supplies Saurashtra through SAUNI (AIR News, September 2026).

Source: Ministry of Jal Shakti SAUNI report (undated); AIR News, 30 Sep 2026

Scheme

SAUNI Phase II

Urban centres

14

Dam level

138.68 m

Progress

Not reported

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Rajkot city

Agriculture & terrain

Soil, crops & water in Rajkot

A cotton-and-oilseed district on Deccan Trap rock, where dug wells carry irrigation and the monsoon decides the crop.

🌾 Crops (district before the 2013 split)

The CGWB booklet gives 2006-07 figures for the 14-taluka district: total cropped area 9,043 sq km, of which oilseeds 4,370 sq km, cotton 2,530 sq km, cereals 1,160 sq km (wheat 840, bajra 270, jowar 50) and pulses 180 sq km (CGWB, November 2013). Morbi district now holds part of this area, and no current Rajkot crop series opened. Rajkot is not among the five leading castor districts (DESAGRI).

  • Oilseeds
  • Cotton
  • Wheat
  • Bajra

⛰️ Rock and aquifers

The main aquifer is the Deccan Trap basalt, about 8,850 sq km, in weathered and fractured zones; sandstone lies in the north-east and poor-yielding alluvium near Maliya and Morbi (CGWB, November 2013). Dug wells numbered 91,109 and irrigated about 2,513 sq km net in 2006-07. Water levels before the monsoon of 2012-13 ranged from 0.78 m at Maliya to 22.45 m at Pedhla. Test yield and depth for each parcel, because basalt varies sharply.

  • Deccan Trap
  • Dug wells
  • Basalt

🌧️ Rain and canal water

CGWB gives 592 mm average annual rainfall, and the Rajkot station recorded 709.8 mm (IMD averages from 1951-1980) (CGWB, November 2013). In 2026 Rajkot was 35% below normal at 7 September, and farmers visited by Down To Earth in August had wilted crops and dry dams and wanted SAUNI releases (Down To Earth, September 2026). Sardar Sarovar reached full level on 30 September 2026 (AIR News, September 2026).

  • SAUNI
  • Narmada
  • Aji-I

💧 Groundwater

CGWB put the stage of development at 65.34% in March 2011, with all 14 assessment units classed safe; replenishable resource was 1,528.25 MCM against a draft of 948.65 MCM (CGWB, November 2013). That is 15 years old and covers the undivided district. The 2024 state assessment has no district-wise stage (CGWB, Gujarat 2024), and the press report on north Gujarat stress does not name Rajkot (Gujarat Samachar, September 2026). Check the borewell yield and well permission on the parcel.

📐 Measurement units

Gujarat land is recorded in gunthas (about 1,089 sq ft) with 40 gunthas to the acre; the vigha differs by region and we found no official conversion. Crop income is modest next to land values near the city, and we use no mandi price series.

At a glance

Rajkot vs. its neighbours

District / beltPrice band* (per acre)Evidence
Rajkot — all talukasNo sourced price seriesNo district or village jantri schedule seen; not market prices
Jamnagar (west)No sourced price seriesNo figure used on this page
Junagadh (south)No sourced price seriesNo figure used on this page
Botad (east)No sourced price seriesNo figure used on this page

*No price band is shown for any of these districts because none could be traced to registered deals. See the Jamnagar page and the Junagadh page for neighbouring Saurashtra districts, and the Botad page to the east. Morbi and Surendranagar border Rajkot to the north (district portal).

Farmhouse plot with boundary stones near Rajkot, Gujarat

District report — Rajkot

Farmland India view

Why investors look at Rajkot

Five reasoned points, with an honest note that the price evidence is thin and rainfall risk is real.

A city district with an airport

Hirasar airport has been open since July 2023 on 1,500 acres about 30 km from Rajkot (AIR News, July 2023). Buyers near the city fringe are betting on that access, but we found no current flight schedule.

Canal water is arriving, unevenly

Aji-I has received SAUNI water since 2017 and Phase II adds drinking-water supply for Rajkot (Ministry of Jal Shakti). In 2026 farmers still reported dry dams, so supply has not removed rainfall risk (Down To Earth, September 2026).

A road corridor still on the wish list

The Rajkot–Gondal–Jetpur corridor has a state request but no reported length, cost or date (AIR News, November 2025). It is a reason to watch Gondal and Jetpur, not yet a reason to pay for frontage.

Wells and basalt, not rivers

Irrigation rests on dug wells in Deccan Trap rock, which gives a parcel-by-parcel water story (CGWB, November 2013). A parcel with documented yield is worth more than a bare survey number.

A market that rewards paperwork

With the farmer-status rule, NA permission, the fragmentation amendment and jantri changes all parcel-specific, a buyer who documents each one is better placed than one relying on a broker summary. The return case is location and permitted use, not crop yield.

Confirm farmer-status, NA, fragmentation and jantri status directly; these are not certified by Farmland India’s review.

STRAIGHT TALK

Risks & challenges in Rajkot

Read these before shortlisting in Rajkot specifically.

Farmer-status rule

Section 63 of the Tenancy Act bars transfer to a non-agriculturist (India Code). A non-farmer buyer needs a lawful route, and the September 2024 verification circulars are known only through commentary (SCC Online, September 2024).

Rainfall deficit

Rajkot stood 35% below normal rainfall on 7 September 2026, and no drought had been declared (Down To Earth, September 2026). Irrigation-dependent returns carry weather risk.

Stale district figures

The portal area and population appear to predate the 2013 creation of Morbi district. Do not use the 11,203 sq km figure for per-taluka maths.

NA and airport limits

NA premium is reported at 35 to 40% of land value (Gujarat Samachar, March 2024), and a 2008 order set a 900 m limit near railways and airports (GR, July 2008). Ask for both in writing for any parcel near Hirasar or a rail line.

Disturbed Areas Act

Sales in notified areas need Collector sanction and unsanctioned ones can be void (Act text, PRS). We obtained no list of notified areas.

Announced is not delivered

The Rajkot–Gondal–Jetpur corridor has no reported date, and the airport schedule is unsourced. Treat both as unproven for pricing.

No sourced price series

We use no listing-site prices for Rajkot, and the jantri schedule did not open. A negotiated price needs registered comparables.

Who to contact

Local revenue, planning & forest offices

Mutation and revenue-record matters go through the Mamlatdar of the taluka, with appeals to the Prant (sub-division) officer and the District Collector at Rajkot; the district portal home page lists land records under its quick links (Rajkot district portal). NA permission is decided by the Collector under the Land Revenue Code (LiveLaw, April 2025). Sale deeds are registered at the Sub-Registrar office for the taluka through gARVI, and records sit on AnyROR; office details should be on the Gujarat Revenue Department site. We could not open the Revenue Department, AnyROR or gARVI pages, so we name offices without addresses and publish no phone numbers. Layout and development permission falls to the relevant urban development authority under the Gujarat Town Planning and Urban Development Act, 1976, which we also did not open.

COMMON QUESTIONS

Frequently asked questions

Everything buyers, NRIs and investors ask before their first reviewed farmland purchase in Rajkot.

Visit full wiki

01 of 04

What does agricultural land cost in Rajkot?

We publish no per-acre band for Rajkot because no district or village jantri schedule opened for us and listing-site asking prices could not be traced to registered deals. The state raised jantri from 15 April 2023 (DeshGujarat, February 2023), and a revised draft was pending in November 2024 (The Secretariat). Jantri is a registration floor, not a market price.

Transparency

Sources and references

Law and courts

Government

News

Further reading

Data-currency note: the district portal area and population appear to predate the 2013 split; crop and groundwater data come from a November 2013 CGWB booklet using 2006-07 and 2011 figures; airport and corridor statuses were read in October 2026 and change quickly; stamp duty is an audit-year figure; no jantri schedule was obtained. Pages marked "did not open" are named only as places to check. This is a general guide, not legal advice. Report inaccuracies to wiki@farmlandindia.com.

For developers

Ready to explore Rajkot farmland?

Browse reviewed projects and individual land parcels across Rajkot — or if you own land here, list it with platform review and reach serious buyers.

Farmland India ("the Platform"), operated by Bulk Procure Private Limited, is a digital marketplace for listing agricultural land, farmhouse and plotted development projects. The Platform is not a real estate broker, agent or intermediary under RERA or any other applicable law, and does not act for either party to a transaction.

Listings are submitted by developers, owners and their authorised representatives. Before publication, the Platform carries out a documentary review of the material supplied and records what was sighted. That review is limited to the documents made available to us at that time. It is not a title investigation, not a legal opinion, and not a warranty of title, approvals, or the accuracy of any information supplied by a lister. The Trust Score is an internal assessment produced from that review and is intended as a research aid, not as a guarantee of outcome.

Every buyer must carry out independent due diligence before any transaction — including verification of land records, encumbrance searches, approvals and regulatory compliance — through their own advocate and chartered accountant. Any legal or advisory professional introduced through the Platform is engaged directly by the user, on that professional's own terms; the Platform does not employ, supervise or accept responsibility for their work.

Nothing on the Platform is investment advice. Land values can fall as well as rise. The Platform is not liable for any loss, dispute or damage arising from a transaction between parties.