Farmland India
Aerial view of agricultural land and farm fields near Dang, Gujarat

District guide

Buying Land in Dang

A tribal and forest hill district in south Gujarat: Collector sanction on tribal land, forest and eco-sensitive-zone checks, natural farming and a road upgrade only approved.

  • 1,764 sq km

    Area

  • 3 (Ahwa, Waghai, Subir)

    Talukas

  • ~53%

    Forest share (Census 2001)

  • 2,801.8 mm

    Normal rainfall (NAU plan)

District land record — Dang

Rev. 2026 · Farmland India desk

State

Gujarat

Sub-divisions

3 talukas: Ahwa (122 villages), Waghai (96) and Subir (92); the portal totals 311 villages and 70 village panchayats, though the taluka counts add to 310 (Dang district portal, October 2026)

Key markets

Ahwa · Waghai · Subir · Saputara hill station

Demand anchors

Hill-station and forest tourism around Saputara · natural-farming programme · Waghai–Ahwa road widening approved in March 2026, not yet built

Rail

No broad-gauge line; the 63 km Bilimora–Waghai narrow-gauge line runs. Nearest stations from Ahwa: Navsari 101 km, Valsad 110 km, Surat 141 km (Dang district portal; Curly Tales, March 2026)

Size and population

1,764 sq km · 1,86,729 people, all rural, in Census 2001 (Census 2001 district handbook); the Census 2011 handbook was not opened

Pricing unit

₹/guntha · ₹/acre (farmland)

Local units

Guntha = 1,089 sq ft · 40 gunthas = 1 acre · vigha varies by region (no official conversion found)

Land records portal

anyror.gujarat.gov.in (not opened for this page; check records there)

District overview

Dang — a forest and tribal district with a natural-farming push

Dang is a hill district in south Gujarat of 1,764 sq km, and the Census 2001 handbook recorded no towns and 311 villages (Census 2001 district handbook). The portal lists three talukas, Ahwa, Waghai and Subir (Dang district portal), with Ahwa as the district centre. NH 350 passes through Waghai taluka, Ahwa sits on State Highway 14, and state buses run to Surat, Vadodara and Ahmedabad; the nearest airport is Surat, about 141 km from Ahwa (Dang district portal).

We publish no per-acre price band for Dang. No district or village jantri schedule was obtained, the gARVI portal did not open, and no news report gave a registered rate. The only price reference we hold is statewide: jantri doubled from 15 April 2023 (DeshGujarat, February 2023). Tribal-land sanction and forest status decide which parcels can change hands at all, so a statewide figure says little about a given Dang parcel.

Farming is the economy. The Navsari Agricultural University plan describes heavy black soils in the plains and lateritic soils on the hills, normal rainfall of 2,801.8 mm, and paddy, ragi (nagli) and gram as the main crops (NAU Dang plan). Dang was declared a natural-farming district, and IANS reported in May 2026 that strawberry area rose from 20 hectares in 2022-23 to nearly 33 in 2025-26 (IANS, May 2026).

  • Ahwa
  • Waghai
  • Subir
  • Saputara
  • Purna Wildlife Sanctuary
  • Natural farming
Locator map of Dang district in Gujarat

Transaction costs

Stamp duty & registration in Dang

4.9%

Stamp duty on conveyance

audit year 2017-18, Gujarat; a later change is not ruled out

Not sourced

Registration fee and concessions

no government schedule found for land deeds

Doubled

Jantri from 15 Apr 2023

reported statewide; no Dang schedule seen

Stamp duty is paid on the higher of the deal value and the jantri value; we did not open an official schedule to confirm that rule. The 4.9% rate for conveyance comes from the Comptroller and Auditor General's audit of 2017-18 (CAG Report 3 of 2019), so ask the Sub-Registrar for the rate in force. DeshGujarat reported that jantri rates doubled from 15 April 2023 (DeshGujarat, February 2023), and The Secretariat reported a revised draft pending in November 2024 (The Secretariat, November 2024). We found no registration-fee percentage or women's concession in any official source, so we quote neither. Registration runs on gARVI 2.0 (IGR summary); the portal itself did not open.

Know the belt

What is moving prices in Dang

Official references are thin: a statewide jantri change, a tribal-land rule and a forest overlay. No listing-site prices are used.

Jantri and guideline values

Statewide change only

Jantri rates doubled from 15 April 2023 and a revised draft was pending in November 2024 (DeshGujarat; The Secretariat). We obtained no Dang taluka or village schedule.

Check: the village jantri on gARVI for the survey number, and the rate in force on the deed date.

Tribal-land sanction

Collector's sanction applies

Section 73AA restricts transfer of tribal occupants' rights (see the legal notes). Where a seller is a tribal occupant, the sanction file is part of the title.

Check: the Collector's order and the 7/12 extract showing the occupant's status.

Saputara and the tourism fringe

Hill station, minimally commercialised

Gujarat Tourism calls Saputara the only hill station in the state, at about 1,000 m in the Sahyadri range and 164 km from Surat by road (Gujarat Tourism). Demand for stay and farmhouse use sits around it, but forest status and non-agricultural permission limit what can be built.

Check: forest status, eco-sensitive zone distance and non-agricultural permission before paying a deposit.

Asking prices

No sourced price series

Listing-site asking prices for Dang could not be traced to registered deals, so none are shown. The jantri value is the only official reference and it is a floor for registration, not what a seller will accept.

Check: registered sale deeds in the same village before negotiating.

Units: guntha and vigha

Gujarat farmland is quoted in gunthas (about 101 sq m, 1,089 sq ft), with 40 gunthas to the acre, and in vigha, which varies by region and has no official conversion we could find. Convert every quote to acres or gunthas using the area printed on the 7/12 extract, and ask the Mamlatdar's office for the local vigha if a seller uses it.

Connectivity

How Dang connects — road, rail and air

Distances come from the Dang district portal and Gujarat Tourism; no drive times from Mumbai or Ahmedabad were sourced. Journey times vary with the ghat roads.

By road

NH 350Passes through Waghai taluka (district portal)
State Highway 14Serves Ahwa (district portal)
Saputara from Surat164 km by road (Gujarat Tourism)
Waghai–Ahwa roadTo be four-laned; approved Mar 2026, no start date

By air

Nearest airportSurat, about 141 km from Ahwa
In-district airportNone found in the sources read

By rail

Broad gaugeNone in the district (district portal)
Bilimora–Waghai line63 km narrow gauge; four passenger trains reported (Mar 2026)
Nearest main stationsNavsari 101 km, Valsad 110 km, Surat 141 km from Ahwa

The practical question is the last leg from the state or national highway to the parcel; ask for the access path in the revenue record. Full Gujarat rules for buyers from outside the state: Gujarat agricultural land rules.

Growth catalysts

Upcoming infrastructure & developments

Status labels reflect sources read in October 2026. Government-announced timelines are not guaranteed; items marked reported rest on one source.

02Open or inaugurated

02In progress or pending

Approved · Mar 2026 · no start date Waghai–Ahwa road to four lanes
Operating · film-shoot plan Mar 2026 Bilimora–Waghai narrow-gauge line
Existing · district portal NH 350 through Waghai taluka
Programme · ongoing (May 2026) Natural-farming programme and strawberry push
Approved · Mar 2026 · no start date

Waghai–Ahwa road to four lanes

The Gujarat government approved a package of about ₹1,185 crore of road upgrades across the Surat Economic Region (Surat, Navsari, Tapi, Valsad and Dang), reported by IANS on 17 March 2026. The Waghai–Ahwa state highway is to become four-lane; it is the main route into Dang, to Saputara and onward to the Statue of Unity circuit. The report gives no per-road cost, length, start date or completion date (IANS via NewsGram, March 2026), so treat it as approved and planned.

Source: IANS via NewsGram, 17 Mar 2026

Package

~₹1,185 crore (whole region)

Corridor

Waghai → Ahwa

Status

Approved, planned

Start date

Not stated

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Waghai
  • Ahwa
  • Saputara
Operating · film-shoot plan Mar 2026

Bilimora–Waghai narrow-gauge line

A 63 km narrow-gauge line from Bilimora in Navsari district to Waghai, with only four passenger trains running as of March 2026. Curly Tales, citing The Hindu BusinessLine, reported that Western Railway plans to allow film and advertisement shoots on it for non-fare income; the wording ranges from "has decided" to "is planning", so the plan is not final (Curly Tales, March 2026). The district portal confirms there is no broad-gauge line in Dang (Dang district portal).

Source: Curly Tales, 26 Mar 2026; Dang district portal

Length

63 km

Gauge

Narrow

Status

Operating

Trains

4 passenger (Mar 2026)

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Waghai
  • Ahwa
Existing · district portal

NH 350 through Waghai taluka

The district portal says NH 350 passes through Waghai block and that Ahwa is on State Highway 14, with state buses to Surat, Vadodara and Ahmedabad (Dang district portal). The page gives no length, lane count or upgrade plan, so we do not state any.

Source: Dang district portal, Oct 2026

Highway

NH 350

Taluka

Waghai

Upgrade plan

None found

Lane count

Not stated

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Waghai
Programme · ongoing (May 2026)

Natural-farming programme and strawberry push

Dang was declared the country's first natural-farming district, and a Governor's statement reported in December 2021 put at least 2 lakh farmers in the practice (Global Agriculture, December 2021). IANS reported on 20 May 2026 that strawberry area grew from 20 hectares in 2022-23 to nearly 33 in 2025-26 and that officials put farmer income at ₹7 lakh to ₹8 lakh per hectare a year, with 55–75% subsidies on inputs (IANS, May 2026). These are official claims, not audited figures.

Source: Global Agriculture, 22 Dec 2021; IANS, 20 May 2026

Strawberry area

20 → ~33 ha

Output 2024-25

196 tonnes

Income claim

₹7–8 lakh/ha/yr

Status

Ongoing

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Ahwa
  • Waghai
  • Subir

Agriculture & terrain

Soil, crops & water in Dang

A heavy-rainfall hill district of black plain soils, lateritic slopes and forest, where legal status matters more than soil.

🌾 Plains and cropland

The Navsari Agricultural University plan (data year not stated) gives heavy black soils in the plains, paddy on 17,060 hectares, ragi or vari on about 15,000 to 17,700 (its table does not agree with itself), blackgram on 4,960, groundnut on 3,760 and irrigated gram on 18,000, from a net sown area of 55,743 hectares and a cropping intensity of 142% (NAU Dang plan).

  • Paddy
  • Ragi (nagli)
  • Gram
  • Blackgram
  • Groundnut

⛰️ Hills and forest

Hilly areas have light lateritic and eroded shallow soils, and the plan lists 92,085 hectares of forest (NAU Dang plan). The Census 2001 handbook put forest at about 53% of the district (Census 2001 handbook). Forest and tribal-land status decide what can be built on these slopes.

  • Lateritic soil
  • Forest
  • Purna sanctuary

🍓 Natural farming and strawberry

Dang is described as the first natural-farming district, and strawberry area rose from 20 to nearly 33 hectares between 2022-23 and 2025-26 on officials' figures (IANS, May 2026). Income claims of ₹7–8 lakh per hectare are official and unaudited.

  • Natural farming
  • Strawberry
  • Horticulture

💧 Water & rainfall

The plan gives normal rainfall of 2,801.8 mm over 74.3 rainy days between June and September (NAU Dang plan). Irrigation is from 950 open wells (8,540 hectares), 120 bore or tube wells (4,360) and lift irrigation schemes (10,521), 23,421 hectares in all, with no canal or tank area listed. CGWB's 2024 assessment is statewide only (CGWB, Gujarat 2024), and we found no Dang-specific stage of extraction. Check water source and monsoon run-off on any hill parcel.

📐 Measurement units

Gujarat units: guntha = 1,089 sq ft; 40 gunthas = 1 acre; vigha varies by region and has no official conversion we could find. Convert every quote to gunthas or acres before comparing two offers. Crop income is modest next to tourism-edge land values, so price a parcel on legal status and permitted use, not on paddy yield.

At a glance

Dang vs. its neighbours

District / beltPrice band* (per acre)Evidence
Dang — Ahwa, Waghai, SubirNo sourced price seriesJantri doubled statewide in 2023; no Dang schedule seen
NavsariNo sourced price seriesSame Surat Economic Region road package; no figure used here
ValsadNo sourced price seriesSame road package; no figure used here
TapiNo sourced price seriesSame road package; no figure used here

*No sourced per-acre figure exists for these districts on this page. See the Navsari page, the Valsad page and the Tapi page for the neighbouring markets.

Farmhouse plot with boundary stones near Dang, Gujarat

District report — Dang

Farmland India view

Why investors look at Dang

Five reasoned points, with an honest note that price evidence is missing and the main road upgrade is only approved.

A hill-station district with one narrow-gauge line

Access is by road: NH 350, State Highway 14 and a ghat route from Surat. Saputara draws visitors, but a buyer should time the actual drive to the parcel.

Natural farming gives the district an identity

Dang was declared a natural-farming district and strawberry area has grown, on official figures. It is an agricultural story, not evidence of land appreciation.

A road upgrade approved, not built

The Waghai–Ahwa four-laning was approved in March 2026 with no start date reported. Price on today's road.

Tribal and forest rules shape what is buyable

Collector sanction under section 73AA, forest status and the eco-sensitive zone around Purna sanctuary narrow the field. A buyer who documents each one is better placed than one relying on a broker summary.

No sourced price series

We use no listing-site prices for Dang and hold no jantri schedule. The case rests on legal clarity and use, not on a price trend.

Confirm title, sanction and zoning status directly; these are not certified by Farmland India’s review.

STRAIGHT TALK

Risks & challenges in Dang

Read these before shortlisting in Dang specifically.

Tribal-land restriction

Section 73AA restricts transfer of tribal occupants' rights without the Collector's sanction, and a transfer in breach is reported void. We did not see the operative text. Ask for the sanction order in writing.

Forest status

About 53% of the district was forest in the 2001 handbook, and the Reserve Forest boundary has a contested history. Ask the Forest Department for the parcel's status.

Eco-sensitive zone near Purna sanctuary

The zone reaches up to 2 km from the boundary in a notification summary we could read; hotels, resorts and tree felling need permission. The notification text was not seen.

Farmer-status rule

Section 63 bars transfer to a non-agriculturist; the 2024 verification circulars and the non-farmer reform proposal are covered on the state page. Nothing enacted was found by October 2026.

Announced is not delivered

The Waghai–Ahwa widening has no start date, and the narrow-gauge line runs four trains. Price on today's fundamentals.

Hill access and water

Rainfall is heavy (2,801.8 mm normal in the plan) and slope land can wash out. Check access in the revenue record and the water source on site.

No sourced price series

We use no listing-site prices for Dang and hold no jantri schedule. Collect registered comparables before negotiating.

Who to contact

Local revenue, planning & forest offices

Mutation and revenue-record matters go through the Mamlatdar of the relevant taluka (Ahwa, Waghai or Subir), as listed on the Dang district portal. Sanction for tribal-occupancy land is a District Collector matter, and the Forest Department confirms whether a survey number lies in reserve or protected forest or near the Purna sanctuary. Sale-deed registration is handled by the local Sub-Registrar, and records are on AnyROR. The district portal home page, AnyROR and gARVI (gARVI) refused automated fetches, so check them directly.

COMMON QUESTIONS

Frequently asked questions

Everything buyers, NRIs and investors ask before their first reviewed farmland purchase in Dang.

Visit full wiki

01 of 04

What does land cost in Dang?

We publish no per-acre band for Dang. No district or village jantri schedule was obtained and listing-site asking prices could not be traced to registered deals. The only price reference is statewide: jantri rates doubled from 15 April 2023 (DeshGujarat, February 2023). Jantri is a registration floor, not a market price.

Transparency

Sources and references

{eyebrow}{heading}

Law and courts

Government

News

Further reading

Data-currency note: population and area come from the Census 2001 handbook because the 2011 handbook was not opened; the agriculture plan carries no data year; infrastructure statuses were read in October 2026 and change quickly; no price series or jantri schedule was obtained. Pages marked "not opened" are named only as places to check. This is a general guide, not legal advice. Report inaccuracies to wiki@farmlandindia.com.

For developers

Ready to explore Dang farmland?

Browse reviewed projects and individual land parcels across Dang — or if you own land here, list it with platform review and reach serious buyers.

Farmland India ("the Platform"), operated by Bulk Procure Private Limited, is a digital marketplace for listing agricultural land, farmhouse and plotted development projects. The Platform is not a real estate broker, agent or intermediary under RERA or any other applicable law, and does not act for either party to a transaction.

Listings are submitted by developers, owners and their authorised representatives. Before publication, the Platform carries out a documentary review of the material supplied and records what was sighted. That review is limited to the documents made available to us at that time. It is not a title investigation, not a legal opinion, and not a warranty of title, approvals, or the accuracy of any information supplied by a lister. The Trust Score is an internal assessment produced from that review and is intended as a research aid, not as a guarantee of outcome.

Every buyer must carry out independent due diligence before any transaction — including verification of land records, encumbrance searches, approvals and regulatory compliance — through their own advocate and chartered accountant. Any legal or advisory professional introduced through the Platform is engaged directly by the user, on that professional's own terms; the Platform does not employ, supervise or accept responsibility for their work.

Nothing on the Platform is investment advice. Land values can fall as well as rise. The Platform is not liable for any loss, dispute or damage arising from a transaction between parties.