Farmland India
Aerial view of agricultural land and farm fields near Junagadh, Gujarat

District guide

Buying Land in Junagadh

A Girnar and Gir district in Saurashtra: farmer-status rule, draft Gir eco-sensitive zone, coastal salinity, and the Keshod airport expansion.

  • 10

    Talukas (district portal)

  • 5

    Revenue sub-divisions

  • 196 villages, 3 districts

    Gir eco-sensitive zone (draft, Sep 2024)

  • 1,371 m to 2,500 m, target mid-2027

    Keshod runway

District land record — Junagadh

Rev. 2026 · Farmland India desk

State

Gujarat

Sub-divisions

10 talukas in 5 revenue sub-divisions: Junagadh (Junagadh City, Junagadh Rural), Vanthali (Vanthali, Manavadar), Keshod (Keshod, Mangrol), Visavadar (Visavadar, Bhesan), Mendarda (Mendarda, Maliya Hatina) (Junagadh district portal, October 2026)

Key markets

Junagadh city · Keshod · Mangrol · Visavadar · Vanthali · Manavadar

Demand anchors

Girnar and Gir pilgrimage and wildlife tourism · Girnar ropeway open since 2020 · Keshod airport expansion with a planned mango cargo facility · coast on the Arabian Sea

Rail

Not opened for this page; check Western Railway

Size and population

Not stated on the district portal pages we opened. An older CGWB brochure gives 8,848 sq km and 27,43,082 people (Census 2011) for a 14-taluka district (CGWB brochure, March 2014), so those totals are not today's district

Pricing unit

₹/guntha or ₹/acre; vigha quotes vary by region

Local units

Guntha = 1,089 sq ft · 40 gunthas = 1 acre · Vigha varies by region

Land records portal

AnyROR (did not open for us; check records there)

District overview

Junagadh — Girnar and Gir country with a coast and an airport upgrade

Junagadh is a Saurashtra district with 10 talukas and five revenue sub-divisions, bordered by the Arabian Sea and forest land, and known for the Gir sanctuary, the only home of Asiatic lions, and the Girnar hills (Junagadh district portal, October 2026). The portal pages we opened do not state its area or population, so we give none for today's district. An older CGWB brochure lists 8,848 sq km and 27,43,082 people for a 14-taluka district (CGWB brochure, March 2014), which is not comparable.

We publish no per-acre price band for Junagadh. No district or village jantri schedule opened for us, and listing-site asking prices could not be traced to registered deals. The only state-wide reference is the report that jantri rates were doubled from 15 April 2023 (DeshGujarat, February 2023); a revised draft was still pending in November 2024 (The Secretariat, November 2024).

Farming is groundnut and wheat on black soil. ICAR-CRIDA gives groundnut on 423,000 hectares and wheat on 188,100 for the older district in 2008-09 (ICAR-CRIDA Junagadh plan), and CGWB records that borewells supply 56.0% and open wells 37.4% of irrigated area (CGWB brochure). The coast is saline in places, and the legal question for many parcels near Gir is the draft eco-sensitive zone, not the crop.

  • Junagadh city
  • Keshod
  • Mangrol
  • Visavadar
  • Girnar
  • Gir fringe
Locator map of Junagadh district in Gujarat

Transaction costs

Stamp duty & registration in Junagadh

4.9%

Stamp duty on conveyance

CAG audit, year ended 31 Mar 2018; current rate not confirmed

Not found

Registration fee

no rate for land conveyances found; ask the Sub-Registrar

Doubled

Jantri rates from 15 Apr 2023

reported by DeshGujarat, Feb 2023; revised draft pending Nov 2024

The Comptroller and Auditor General's audit for the year ended 31 March 2018 states stamp duty on a conveyance deed at 4.9 per cent of the greater of consideration and market value, and gives no registration-fee rate for conveyances (CAG Report 3 of 2019). Jantri rates were reported doubled from 15 April 2023 (DeshGujarat, February 2023), and the Registration Department's summary says deeds are registered online through gARVI 2.0 in 294 Sub-Registrar offices (Registration System of Gujarat, IGR summary). We could not open the registration portal, and no Junagadh jantri schedule opened, so ask the Sub-Registrar for the duty, fee and jantri on your parcel.

Know the belt

What is moving land prices in Junagadh

State-level references only: no district jantri schedule opened and no listing-site prices are used.

Jantri: state-level only

Doubled from 15 Apr 2023 (reported)

DeshGujarat reported in February 2023 that jantri rates would double from 15 April 2023 after about 12 years (DeshGujarat, February 2023). A revised draft for agricultural land was pending in November 2024 (The Secretariat, November 2024). We have no Junagadh village figures.

Check: the jantri for the village and survey number on the sale-deed date.

Gir fringe villages

Draft eco-sensitive zone, about 1.84 lakh ha

The September 2024 draft covers 196 villages in three districts and narrows the buffer to 2.78–9.5 km from the sanctuary boundary (Deccan Herald, September 2024). No price effect is sourced.

Check: whether the village is in the final zone, and what the zone allows.

Keshod airport area

Airport expansion targeted mid-2027

The Airports Authority plans a longer runway and a new terminal at Keshod and has acquired about 83 hectares (FreshPlaza, November 2025). The report gives no land price.

Check: the survey number against the acquisition and the airport distance limits.

Asking prices

No sourced price series

Listing-site asking prices for Junagadh could not be traced to registered deals, so none are shown. Jantri is a registration floor, not what a seller will accept.

Check: registered sale deeds in the same revenue village before negotiating.

Units: guntha and vigha

Gujarat land is measured in gunthas: 10 gunthas is 1,012 sq m, so a guntha is about 101 sq m or 1,089 sq ft, and 40 gunthas make an acre (DeshGujarat, September 2026 for the 10-guntha figure). The vigha varies by region and we found no official conversion, so convert every quote to gunthas or acres and check the 7/12 extract for the area actually being sold.

Connectivity

How Junagadh connects — road, rail and air

Distances to Rajkot, Ahmedabad and Mumbai are not given because no official or news source was found. Journey times vary with traffic and road works.

By road

National and state highwaysNo project found in the sources read; check NHAI
Girnar approachRopeway of 2.3 km, opened Oct 2020

By air

Keshod airportRunway to grow from 1,371 m to 2,500 m; target mid-2027 (FreshPlaza, Nov 2025)
New terminalPlanned for 800 passengers
CargoMango export facility planned for 2027

By rail & metro

Stations and trainsNot opened; check Western Railway
MetroNo metro project found in the sources read

The practical question is the last leg from the highway to the parcel; ask for the access road in the village map and the 7/12 extract. Gujarat rules for buyers from outside the state: Gujarat agricultural land rules.

Growth catalysts

Upcoming infrastructure & developments

Status labels reflect sources read in October 2026. Government-announced timelines are not guaranteed; items marked confirm have a single or an older source.

01Open or inaugurated

02In progress or pending

In progress · target mid-2027 Keshod airport expansion and cargo facility
Draft notification · Sep 2024 Gir eco-sensitive zone
Open · inaugurated Oct 2020 Girnar ropeway
In progress · target mid-2027

Keshod airport expansion and cargo facility

The Airports Authority of India plans a new terminal for 800 passengers, a runway extended from 1,371 m to 2,500 m, an air traffic control tower and a technical block, at about US$43.5 million. It has acquired about 83 hectares, the expansion is expected by mid-2027, and a dedicated cargo facility for Kesar mango exports is scheduled for 2027 (FreshPlaza, November 2025). Two export models were still under consideration. DeshGujarat's July 2026 headline says the Centre aims to enable Airbus landings and cargo operations by 2027 (DeshGujarat, July 2026; headline seen, article not opened).

Source: FreshPlaza, 7 Nov 2025; DeshGujarat, 10 Jul 2026 (headline only)

Runway

1,371 m to 2,500 m

Terminal

800 passengers

Land acquired

About 83 ha

Target

Mid-2027

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Keshod
Draft notification · Sep 2024

Gir eco-sensitive zone

Not a build project but a land-use change: the draft zone covers about 1.84 lakh hectares and 196 villages in Junagadh, Amreli and Gir Somnath, with a buffer of 2.78 to 9.5 km from the sanctuary boundary instead of 10 km (Deccan Herald, September 2024; AIR News, September 2024). The reports disagree on whether it is draft or declared and list no restrictions, so ask the Forest Department for the final text and village list.

Source: Deccan Herald, 25 Sep 2024; AIR News, 25 Sep 2024

Area

About 1.84 lakh ha

Villages

196 in 3 districts

Buffer

2.78–9.5 km

Status

Confirm with Forest Dept

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Gir fringe villages
Open · inaugurated Oct 2020

Girnar ropeway

A 2.3 km ropeway to the Girnar temples, described as the longest ropeway to a temple in the world, built at Rs 130 crore and inaugurated by the Prime Minister by video link in October 2020 (Travel Trends Today, October 2020). It supports pilgrim and visitor numbers at Junagadh city; it does not change agricultural land use.

Source: Travel Trends Today, 26 Oct 2020

Length

2.3 km

Cost

Rs 130 crore

Opened

Oct 2020

Location

Girnar, Junagadh

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Junagadh city
  • Junagadh Rural

Agriculture & terrain

Soil, crops & water in Junagadh

Black-soil groundnut and wheat country irrigated mostly from borewells and open wells, with a saline coastal edge and the Gir forest fringe.

🌾 Black-soil groundnut and wheat plains

The ICAR-CRIDA plan (older 14-taluka district, crop data 2008-09) gives medium to shallow black soils on 70% of the area, mixed red-black soils on 15% and coastal alluvial soils on 14%, with groundnut on 423,000 hectares, wheat 188,100, cotton 42,500, pulses 15,000, sugarcane 14,900 and pearl millet 12,900, from a net sown area of 535,000 hectares and a cropping intensity of 128% (ICAR-CRIDA Junagadh plan). For Junagadh taluka in 2015-16 CGWB lists 23,500 hectares of kharif crops led by groundnut (19,950) and cotton (9,210), and 7,125 hectares of rabi led by wheat (1,050) and vegetables (775) (CGWB aquifer report, Junagadh taluka (draft)).

  • Groundnut
  • Wheat
  • Cotton
  • Sugarcane

🌊 Coastal belt and salinity

CGWB describes ground water as potable at district level but more saline on the coast, with sea-water ingress; shallow-aquifer TDS in May 2012 ranged from 418 to 6,687 mg/l and chloride exceeded 1,000 mg/l at 11 monitoring stations (CGWB brochure, March 2014). Low-lying "Ghed" areas have alluvial and brackish soils. Ask for a water test on any parcel near the coast.

  • Coastal alluvium
  • Ghed
  • Sea-water ingress

🦁 Gir fringe and mango

The Gir buffer is the legal issue for villages near the sanctuary (see the district notes above). Gujarat's Kesar mango carries a geographical indication and the state had 177,514 hectares under mango (ThePrint, July 2024); the Keshod cargo plan is aimed at Kesar exports (FreshPlaza, November 2025).

  • Gir fringe
  • Kesar mango
  • Keshod

💧 Water & rainfall

Normal annual rainfall is about 900 mm in both the CGWB brochure and the ICAR-CRIDA plan; the IMD Veraval station recorded 777.5 mm in the climatological table CGWB used. For the older district CGWB puts groundwater development at 61.54% (resources of 2011), "safe" in every taluka, with pre-monsoon depth to water of 2 to 20 m in May 2013; borewells supply 56.0% of irrigated area, open wells 37.4% and canals and tanks 6.1% (CGWB brochure). For Junagadh taluka CGWB gives 66.13% in 2013, "safe", and pre-monsoon depths of 14.41 to 52.75 m in May 2015 (CGWB aquifer report (draft)). Across Gujarat, CGWB puts 2024 extraction at 54.21% and gives no district-wise stage (CGWB, Gujarat 2024). The SAUNI report we read does not mention Junagadh (MoJS SAUNI report). Check borewell depth and yield on the parcel.

📐 Measurement units

Gujarat land units: guntha about 1,089 sq ft (101 sq m); 40 gunthas = 1 acre; vigha varies by region. Convert every quote to gunthas or acres before comparing two offers. Live mandi prices are on Agmarknet, which we did not open for this page; crop income is modest next to land values near towns and tourist routes, so price a parcel on location, permitted use and water, not on groundnut yield.

At a glance

Junagadh vs. its neighbours

District / beltPrice band* (per acre)Evidence
Junagadh — all talukasNo sourced price seriesNo district jantri schedule opened; state jantri reported doubled from 15 Apr 2023
Gir SomnathNo sourced price seriesNo figure used on this page
PorbandarNo sourced price seriesNo figure used on this page
AmreliNo sourced price seriesNo figure used on this page

*No per-acre figure for Junagadh or its neighbours is traceable to registered deals, so none is shown. See the Gir Somnath page for the coastal neighbour, the Porbandar page for the north and the Amreli page for the east.

Farmhouse plot with boundary stones near Junagadh, Gujarat

District report — Junagadh

Farmland India view

Why investors look at Junagadh

Five reasoned points, with an honest note that price evidence is thin and the Gir zone is still unsettled.

Tourism and pilgrimage anchors

Gir and Girnar bring visitors to Junagadh, and the 2.3 km Girnar ropeway has run since October 2020. Visitor demand supports town-edge land more than it supports crop land.

An airport that is being rebuilt

Keshod airport is planned to get a 2,500 m runway and an 800-passenger terminal by mid-2027, with a mango cargo facility. That is a plan with land already acquired, but the timetable is the Airports Authority's own.

A buffer zone that cuts both ways

The draft Gir zone narrows the buffer from 10 km to 2.78–9.5 km, which may free some villages and bind others. Until the final village list is read, price fringe land with that risk.

A farmer-status market

Section 63 limits who may buy farmland, so the buyer pool is smaller than the number of listings suggests. A farmer buyer, or a buyer using an exception, moves faster.

No price evidence to lean on

We found no sourced price series and no district jantri schedule. This desk treats any per-acre claim without a registered deed as an opinion.

Confirm farmer status, NA permission, zone status and jantri directly; these are not certified by Farmland India’s review.

STRAIGHT TALK

Risks & challenges in Junagadh

Read these before shortlisting in Junagadh specifically.

Gir eco-sensitive zone

The September 2024 draft covers 196 villages in three districts and the reports disagree on its status. Ask the Forest Department for the final text and village list.

Farmer-status rule

Section 63 of the Tenancy Act bars transfer to a non-agriculturist, and farmer status is checked back to 6 April 1995. A proposal to let non-farmers buy was under review in November 2024 and we found nothing enacted.

Coastal salinity

CGWB reports sea-water ingress and TDS up to 6,687 mg/l in shallow aquifers on the coast. Ask for a water test.

Coastal and airport distance limits

The 2008 resolution lists 500 m from the high-tide line and 900 m from airports; it may be superseded. Ask the Collector in writing.

Fragmentation limit

The rural standard area was reported as 10 gunthas (1,012 sq m) in an amendment passed on 11 September 2026; we have not seen the Act text. Check that the area sold is not a fragment.

Announced is not delivered

The Keshod expansion targets mid-2027 and the cargo model was undecided in November 2025. Price on today's fundamentals.

No sourced price series

We use no listing-site prices for Junagadh, and no district jantri schedule opened. Collect registered comparables before negotiating.

Who to contact

Local revenue, planning & forest offices

Mutation and revenue-record matters go through the Mamlatdar of the relevant taluka. The Junagadh district portal lists five sub-divisions, each with its Prant (Deputy Collector) office: Junagadh (Junagadh City, Junagadh Rural), Vanthali (Vanthali, Manavadar), Keshod (Keshod, Mangrol), Visavadar (Visavadar, Bhesan) and Mendarda (Mendarda, Maliya Hatina); the Collector and District Magistrate heads the district office (portal home). Non-agricultural permission and new-tenure questions go to the Collector, sale-deed registration to the local Sub-Registrar, and Gir zone questions to the Forest Department. Records are on AnyROR and deeds are registered through gARVI; the Revenue Department's 2008 resolution on non-agricultural permission is here. We could not open AnyROR, gARVI or the Revenue Department home page, so check the offices directly.

COMMON QUESTIONS

Frequently asked questions

Everything buyers, NRIs and investors ask before their first reviewed farmland purchase in Junagadh.

Visit full wiki

01 of 04

What does agricultural land cost in Junagadh?

We publish no per-acre band for Junagadh because no district jantri schedule opened for us and listing-site asking prices could not be traced to registered deals. The only state-wide reference is the report that jantri rates were doubled from 15 April 2023 (DeshGujarat, February 2023). Jantri is a registration floor, not a market price, so collect registered sale deeds from the same village.

Transparency

Sources and references

Law and courts

Government

News

Further reading

Data-currency note: taluka and sub-division counts are district-portal figures; area and population of today's district are not stated; soil, crop and groundwater tables come from CGWB and ICAR-CRIDA papers of 2011 to 2015 that describe the older, larger district; infrastructure statuses were read in October 2026 and change quickly. Pages marked "did not open" are named only as places to check. This is a general guide, not legal advice. Report inaccuracies to wiki@farmlandindia.com.

For developers

Ready to explore Junagadh farmland?

Browse reviewed projects and individual land parcels across Junagadh — or if you own land here, list it with platform review and reach serious buyers.

Farmland India ("the Platform"), operated by Bulk Procure Private Limited, is a digital marketplace for listing agricultural land, farmhouse and plotted development projects. The Platform is not a real estate broker, agent or intermediary under RERA or any other applicable law, and does not act for either party to a transaction.

Listings are submitted by developers, owners and their authorised representatives. Before publication, the Platform carries out a documentary review of the material supplied and records what was sighted. That review is limited to the documents made available to us at that time. It is not a title investigation, not a legal opinion, and not a warranty of title, approvals, or the accuracy of any information supplied by a lister. The Trust Score is an internal assessment produced from that review and is intended as a research aid, not as a guarantee of outcome.

Every buyer must carry out independent due diligence before any transaction — including verification of land records, encumbrance searches, approvals and regulatory compliance — through their own advocate and chartered accountant. Any legal or advisory professional introduced through the Platform is engaged directly by the user, on that professional's own terms; the Platform does not employ, supervise or accept responsibility for their work.

Nothing on the Platform is investment advice. Land values can fall as well as rise. The Platform is not liable for any loss, dispute or damage arising from a transaction between parties.