Farmland India
Aerial view of black-soil farmland between the Sindh and Betwa rivers near Ashok Nagar, Madhya Pradesh

District guide

Buying Land in Ashok Nagar

A river-bounded farm district between the Sindh and Betwa: Safe groundwater on paper, no sourced corridor project, and indicative land-price bands only.

  • 4,674 sq km

    Area (CGWB profile)

  • 8.45 lakh

    Population (Census 2011)

  • ₹4–30 lakh per acre

    Estimated land price*

  • ~1,15,600 ha

    Irrigated area (CGWB 2013)

*Indicative range across districts and land types. Stamp duty, registration and conversion charges are additional. Local measurement units vary — every listing states the unit it is priced in. Not a valuation or an offer.

District land record — Ashok Nagar

Rev. 2026 · Farmland India desk

State

Madhya Pradesh

Sub-divisions

5 tehsils and 4 blocks (Ashoknagar, Chanderi, Isagarh, Mungawali) and 907 villages in the CGWB 2013 profile (CGWB profile, 2013). The district portal gave no tehsil list

Key markets

Ashok Nagar · Chanderi · Isagarh · Mungawali

Demand anchors

Sindh and Betwa river belt · canal irrigation of about 10,641 ha · Sampada 2.0 e-registration

Rail

Not established: the district portal’s how-to-reach page refused automated access, so no station or line is named here

Size and population

4,673.94 sq km · 8,45,071 people (Census 2011) · 907 villages (CGWB profile, 2013)

Estimated land price*

₹4–30 lakh per acre* (wide band: drier Chanderi and Mungawali land to road-side land near Ashok Nagar and Isagarh). *Indicative only, not a valuation or an offer; prices vary by plot, road access and title. Check the guideline or ready-reckoner rate with the Sub-Registrar.

Pricing unit

₹/acre (farm land) · records in hectares

Local units

Area is recorded in hectares; local units vary by district and tehsil, so convert every quote to acres or hectares (1 hectare is about 2.47 acres)

Land records portal

MP Bhulekh (not opened for this page; ask the seller for a fresh khasra and B-1 extract)

District overview

Ashok Nagar — a river-bounded farm district on the Malwa and Bundelkhand edge, with no sourced corridor project yet

Ashok Nagar is a Bundelkhand-edge district of 4,673.94 sq km and 8,45,071 people at the 2011 Census (691,387 rural and 153,684 urban), with 5 tehsils and 907 villages (CGWB profile, 2013). The Sindh river forms the western boundary and the Betwa the eastern, and the district portal describes the area as the northern Malwa plateau with the main part on the Bundelkhand plateau (Ashok Nagar portal). The portal’s how-to-reach page and its tehsil details could not be opened by us, so distances to Bhopal or the rail network are not stated.

We found no official per-acre figure for Ashok Nagar. The estimated bands on this page, marked with an asterisk, are indicative ranges derived by analogy with comparable Malwa-edge and Bundelkhand districts and kept wide. A guideline rate is a registration floor, not a market price, and the statewide revisions we could source do not name this district (Free Press Journal, March 2023).

About 1,15,600 ha of the 3,07,100 ha net sown area is irrigated, largely from tube wells and dug wells with 22 canals adding about 10,641 ha, so a large rain-fed share remains (CGWB profile, 2013). The ICAR-CRIDA district plan (2012) lists soybean (about 99,100 ha) and urad in kharif and gram (126,500 ha) and wheat (122,000 ha) in rabi, with a cropping intensity of 140% and about 1.92 lakh ha rain-fed (ICAR-CRIDA, 2012). No road, rail or airport project for Ashok Nagar could be sourced for this page, so the bands price today’s access only.

  • Ashok Nagar
  • Chanderi
  • Isagarh
  • Mungawali
  • Sindh river
  • Betwa river
Locator map of Ashok Nagar district in Madhya Pradesh showing Ashok Nagar, Chanderi, Isagarh and Mungawali

Transaction costs

Stamp duty & registration in Ashok Nagar

7.5%

Stamp duty, as reported

of market value or transaction value, whichever is higher; press report, department page not opened

3%

Registration fee, as reported

on the same base; press report, department page not opened

~10.5%

Combined, reported arithmetic

an earlier report put the range at 9.5% to 12.5%; confirm with the Sub-Registrar

Dainik Jagran English reported on 27 March 2026 stamp duty of 7.5% and a registration charge of 3% on the higher of market value or transaction value (Dainik Jagran English, March 2026). Its 25 March piece said a guideline-rate rise would raise duty and fees in proportion (Dainik Jagran English, 25 March 2026). We could not open the Registration Department’s own fee page, so treat these as reported figures and ask the Sub-Registrar for the current schedule for agricultural land. Since 17 December 2025 a short-stamped document attracts a penalty of 1% of the shortfall per month (TeamLease RegTech, December 2025). Registration can be done online through Sampada 2.0, which also shows guideline rates by location (The Statesman, October 2024). Ashok Nagar-specific schedules, if any, were not found.

Know the belt

What is moving prices in Ashok Nagar

No official per-acre series was found. The cards below carry estimated bands (asterisk) and say what to check. *Indicative only, not a valuation or an offer; prices vary by plot, road access and title. Check the guideline or ready-reckoner rate with the Sub-Registrar.

Ashok Nagar and Isagarh: irrigated black-soil belt

Estimated ₹8–20 lakh per acre*

Black cotton and sandy-loam soils dominate, tube wells irrigate about 48,175 ha and dug wells about 18,365 ha (CGWB profile, 2013). The band is derived by analogy with comparable plateau farm land.

Check: whether the parcel has a working borewell or dug well and a recorded irrigation source.

Road-side land near Ashok Nagar town and Isagarh

Estimated ₹12–30 lakh per acre*

No road project for this district could be sourced, so the premium reflects existing highway frontage only and is kept modest. The band is an analogy-based estimate.

Check: the access road in the revenue record and any acquisition notice before paying for frontage.

Chanderi and Mungawali: drier outer tehsils

Estimated ₹4–12 lakh per acre*

Chanderi has the highest block stage of groundwater development in the district at 54% and Mungawali the lowest at 33%, all Safe in the 2013 table; a large rain-fed share and distance from a market hold the band down (CGWB profile, 2013).

Check: water depth in a test, and soil type (stony bhatori patches are mentioned in the profile).

Guideline rates

No Ashok Nagar figure found

Statewide, rates were revised at about 18,000 locations from 1 April 2023 (Free Press Journal, March 2023). The 2026-27 proposal reported for Bhopal does not cover Ashok Nagar (Dainik Jagran English, 25 March 2026).

Check: the rate for the village on the Sampada 2.0 portal or at the Sub-Registrar on the day of registration.

Units: acres, hectares and local terms

Land in Madhya Pradesh is recorded by survey number, with area in hectares in court orders and acres in the Ceiling Act figures; one hectare is about 2.47 acres (our arithmetic). Local units vary by district and tehsil and no revenue manual was opened for them, so convert every quote to acres or hectares and ask the Patwari what the khasra records before comparing two offers.

Connectivity

How Ashok Nagar connects — road, rail and air

The district portal’s how-to-reach page refused automated access, so no distances are given. Check them with the Collector’s office or the railway enquiry system.

By road

Highway linksNot stated; district portal travel page refused automated access
Distance to Bhopal or GwaliorNot established for this page
Road projectsNo sourced project found

By air

Nearest airportNot established for this page
Flights from the districtNot established

By rail & metro

StationsNot established; no station list could be read
MetroNo metro project found for Ashok Nagar

The practical question is the last leg from the highway to the parcel; ask for the access road in the revenue record. Full rules: Madhya Pradesh land laws.

Growth catalysts

Upcoming infrastructure & developments

Status labels reflect sources read in October 2026. Two existing services are listed; no pending road, rail or airport project placed in Ashok Nagar was found.

02Open or operating

01In progress or pending

Operating · CGWB 2013 Canal irrigation
Operating · e-registration (Oct 2024) Sampada 2.0 e-registration
None found · checked October 2026 No named road, rail or airport project
Operating · CGWB 2013

Canal irrigation

The 2013 CGWB profile lists 22 canals irrigating about 10,641 ha, against about 48,175 ha under tube wells and 18,365 ha under dug wells, with 1,15,600 ha irrigated in all out of 3,07,100 ha net sown (CGWB profile, 2013). The profile is a decade old, so treat the acreages as dated.

Source: CGWB district profile, 2013

Canals

22

Canal area

~10,641 ha

Net irrigated

~1,15,600 ha

Rain-fed

~1,91,500 ha

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Ashok Nagar
  • Isagarh
Operating · e-registration (Oct 2024)

Sampada 2.0 e-registration

The Statesman reported in October 2024 that Madhya Pradesh launched the Sampada 2.0 online portal for e-registry; the portal also lists guideline rates by location (The Statesman, October 2024). It is a statewide service, not an Ashok Nagar project, and we did not test how a rural sale deed is handled on it.

Source: The Statesman, Oct 2024

Scope

Statewide

Launched

Oct 2024

Use

Registration and rates

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Ashok Nagar
  • Chanderi
None found · checked October 2026

No named road, rail or airport project

We searched the district portal pages that opened and 2026 news for Madhya Pradesh road, rail, airport and irrigation work and found no project placed in Ashok Nagar. The Cabinet list reported by The Hitavada in January 2026 (Burhanpur irrigation, PM JANMAN roads, PMGSY, Narmada-Kshipra and a lift irrigation scheme) names no Ashok Nagar project (The Hitavada, January 2026). The district portal’s travel page refused automated access, so stations and highway links are not stated. Price on today’s access and revisit when a sanction or notification appears.

Source: The Hitavada, 7 Jan 2026; district portal not opened

Project found

None

Airport

None found

Rail project

None found

Metro

None found

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Ashok Nagar

Agriculture & terrain

Soil, crops & water in Ashok Nagar

A black-soil and sandy-loam district between the Sindh and Betwa, with tube-well irrigation and a large rain-fed share.

🌾 Black-soil and sandy-loam plains

The CGWB profile names black cotton and sandy-loam soils, with brown and stony (bhatori) patches (CGWB profile), while the ICAR-CRIDA plan for the district (2012) classes about 58% of the area as shallow soil, 37% deep and 5% medium-deep, so depth varies parcel to parcel (ICAR-CRIDA, 2012). CRIDA lists soybean (about 99,100 ha), urad (58,800 ha) and maize (9,700 ha) in kharif and gram (126,500 ha), wheat (122,000 ha), lentil (35,000 ha) and mustard (7,500 ha) in rabi, on 3,07,100 ha net sown with a cropping intensity of 140% and 1,91,500 ha rain-fed; horticulture is small (orange about 1,040 ha, coriander 2,310 ha). Drought and December–January frost are listed as regular risks, and girdle beetle and semilooper as soybean pests. The district’s Krishi Vigyan Kendra sits in the Krishi Upaj Mandi premises at Ashoknagar, which points to a regulated mandi yard there; we did not read arrivals or prices.

  • Soybean
  • Gram
  • Wheat
  • Urad
  • Shallow soils

🌊 Sindh, Betwa, Kethan and Orr

The Sindh forms the western boundary and the Betwa the eastern, with the Kethan and Orr flowing within the district, all running generally north in the Yamuna system (CGWB profile, 2013). We found no sourced flood record, so ask the seller for flood history on low parcels near streams.

  • Sindh
  • Betwa
  • Kethan
  • Orr

🌳 Forest

The profile gives 52.8 thousand ha of forest (CGWB profile, 2013). Forest status of a parcel is a legal question, so ask the Forest Department rather than assume from a map.

  • Forest land
  • Revenue vs forest records

💧 Water & rainfall

The CGWB profile (2013) gives normal rainfall of 927.1 mm over 38 rainy days, with about 91.5% in the southwest monsoon. Block stages of groundwater development in its table are Ashoknagar 40%, Chanderi 54%, Isagarh 43% and Mungawali 33%, district 42%, all Safe, although section 4.4 of the same profile says 48% (the profile contradicts itself). Pre-monsoon depth to water in 2012 ran from 2.34 to 17.40 m below ground, mostly 4 to 16 m (CGWB profile). The 2024 assessment puts Madhya Pradesh as a whole at 58.40% extraction, in its Safe range (CGWB, GWRA-2024); we did not read a 2024 category for Ashok Nagar’s blocks, so check the current category for any borewell-dependent parcel. The ICAR-CRIDA plan puts annual rainfall at 882 mm over 38 rainy days (772 mm in the south-west monsoon), lower than the 927.1 mm in the CGWB profile; both are dated, so use them as a range (ICAR-CRIDA, 2012).

📐 Measurement units

Land in Madhya Pradesh is recorded by survey number, with area in hectares in court orders and acres in the Ceiling Act figures; one hectare is about 2.47 acres (our arithmetic). Local units vary by district and tehsil and no revenue manual was opened for them, so convert every quote to acres or hectares and ask the Patwari what the khasra records before comparing two offers. Live mandi prices are on the state and national mandi portals (not opened for this page); price a parcel on location, legal status and permitted use, not on crop income.

At a glance

Ashok Nagar vs. its neighbours

District / beltEstimated land price* (per acre)Evidence
Ashok Nagar — irrigated black-soil belt₹8–20 lakh*Estimated by analogy; no guideline figure found
Ashok Nagar — road-side near town and Isagarh₹12–30 lakh*Estimated; no road project sourced
Ashok Nagar — Chanderi and Mungawali₹4–12 lakh*Estimated; drier outer tehsils
VidishaSee the Vidisha pageOwn estimate on its page
SagarSee the Sagar pageOwn estimate on its page

*Indicative only, not a valuation or an offer; prices vary by plot, road access and title. Check the guideline or ready-reckoner rate with the Sub-Registrar. See the Vidisha page and the Sagar page for neighbouring districts on the Malwa and Bundelkhand edge.

The ICAR-CRIDA plan places Ashok Nagar in the same Gird agro-climatic zone as Guna and Shivpuri, so crop mix and rainfall are comparable with those neighbours; no corridor project separates the three on the evidence we found.

Fenced farm plot with boundary stones and black-soil fields near Ashok Nagar, Madhya Pradesh

District report — Ashok Nagar

Farmland India view

Why investors look at Ashok Nagar

Four reasoned points, with an honest note that no corridor project was sourced and the price evidence is thin.

Irrigated plains with Safe groundwater on paper

Every block is Safe in the 2013 table, with a district stage of 42%. A borewell is still worth testing, because the profile also quotes 48%.

Two rivers frame the district

The Sindh and Betwa bound the district to west and east. Low parcels near streams need flood history from the seller.

Not a Scheduled Area in the copy read

Tribal-land permission still applies to a tribal seller, but the absolute notified-area bar does not appear for this district in the copy we read.

Price on today’s access

No road, rail or airport project was sourced for Ashok Nagar, so the bands carry no corridor premium. A buyer is better placed holding registered comparables than a broker summary.

Browse reviewed land in Ashok Nagar

Confirm tribal-land status, forest status and diversion directly; these are not certified by Farmland India’s review. *Indicative only, not a valuation or an offer; prices vary by plot, road access and title. Check the guideline or ready-reckoner rate with the Sub-Registrar.

STRAIGHT TALK

Risks & challenges in Ashok Nagar

Read these before shortlisting in Ashok Nagar specifically.

Tribal-land permission

A sale by a tribal holder without Collector-rank written permission is exposed (Supreme Court, April 2025), and a Will needs the same permission (High Court, February 2025).

Diversion and premium

Change of use can bring reassessment and a premium (Supreme Court, August 2008). We could not read the current procedure under sections 172 and 190.

Ceiling-surplus land

Holdings above the ceiling can be declared surplus (Supreme Court, January 2021). Ask whether proceedings were ever opened on the seller’s family.

Large rain-fed share

About 1,91,500 ha of the 3,07,100 ha net sown area was rain-fed in the 2013 profile, so irrigation source decides value.

Dated groundwater data

The profile base year is 2011 and it quotes two different district stages. Check the current category for the block.

A reported, not official, duty rate

The 7.5% duty and 3% fee come from a March 2026 press report. Ask the Sub-Registrar for the current schedule.

Estimated, not registered, prices*

The land-price bands here are indicative estimates, not registered deals. Collect registered comparables from the same revenue estate before negotiating.

No sourced access projects

We found no road, rail or airport project for the district in the district portal pages that opened, the January 2026 Cabinet list or news searches, so do not pay for a corridor that cannot be sourced.

Drought and frost exposure

The ICAR-CRIDA plan lists drought as a regular risk, frost in December–January and about 1.92 lakh ha of rain-fed land, so income from unirrigated parcels swings with the monsoon.

Who to contact

Local revenue, planning & forest offices

Mutation and revenue-record matters go through the Tehsildar of the relevant tehsil and the village Patwari. Permission to sell tribal-held land comes from a revenue officer of Collector rank or above, and the Supreme Court accepted in 2025 that an Additional Collector can act under a work-allocation order (Supreme Court, April 2025). Whether a village is a notified Scheduled-Area village is answered by the District Collector’s office; the Ashok Nagar district portal gave no tehsil list when we read it. Forest questions go to the Forest Department. Sale deeds are registered with the Sub-Registrar under the Registration Department, also online through Sampada 2.0 (The Statesman, October 2024). We could not open the MP Bhulekh, Registration Department or India Code pages, so check them directly.

COMMON QUESTIONS

Frequently asked questions

Everything buyers, NRIs and investors ask before their first reviewed farmland purchase in Ashok Nagar.

Visit full wiki

01 of 04

Can an outsider buy agricultural land in Ashok Nagar?

None of the court orders or Act texts opened for the Madhya Pradesh page bars a buyer for not being a farmer, and we read no Ashok Nagar-specific order. No Ashok Nagar tehsil appears in a legal-database copy of the 2003 Scheduled Areas Order, but sale by a tribal seller still needs Collector-rank permission. NRIs and OCIs cannot buy agricultural land under the RBI Master Direction.

Ready to look at what is available?

Browse reviewed listings

Transparency

Sources and references

Law and courts

Government

News

Further reading

Data-currency note: the CGWB profile is from 2013 (base year 2011) and the Scheduled Areas text is a legal-database copy of the 2003 Order; the district portal gave no tehsil list, how-to-reach page or population, and its how-to-reach page refused automated access; the stamp duty is a press-reported figure. The ICAR-CRIDA plan figures are from 2012 and 2006-08 averages and differ from the CGWB profile on rainfall and soil; the mandi yard is inferred from the location of the Krishi Vigyan Kendra. Land-price bands marked with an asterisk are indicative estimates, not valuations. The MP Bhulekh portal, the Registration Department site, India Code and the Land Revenue Code text could not be opened, so nothing is attributed to a reading of them. This is a general guide, not legal advice. Report inaccuracies to wiki@farmlandindia.com.

For developers

Ready to explore Ashok Nagar farmland?

Browse reviewed projects and individual land parcels across Ashok Nagar — or if you own land here, list it with platform review and reach serious buyers.

Farmland India ("the Platform"), operated by Bulk Procure Private Limited, is a digital marketplace for listing agricultural land, farmhouse and plotted development projects. The Platform is not a real estate broker, agent or intermediary under RERA or any other applicable law, and does not act for either party to a transaction.

Listings are submitted by developers, owners and their authorised representatives. Before publication, the Platform carries out a documentary review of the material supplied and records what was sighted. That review is limited to the documents made available to us at that time. It is not a title investigation, not a legal opinion, and not a warranty of title, approvals, or the accuracy of any information supplied by a lister. The Trust Score is an internal assessment produced from that review and is intended as a research aid, not as a guarantee of outcome.

Every buyer must carry out independent due diligence before any transaction — including verification of land records, encumbrance searches, approvals and regulatory compliance — through their own advocate and chartered accountant. Any legal or advisory professional introduced through the Platform is engaged directly by the user, on that professional's own terms; the Platform does not employ, supervise or accept responsibility for their work.

Nothing on the Platform is investment advice. Land values can fall as well as rise. The Platform is not liable for any loss, dispute or damage arising from a transaction between parties.