Farmland India
Banana plantation and black-soil fields near Burhanpur, Madhya Pradesh

District guide

Buying Land in Burhanpur

A Tapti-side cotton and banana district: Khaknar Scheduled Area status, tribal-land permission and groundwater checks come before price, with two irrigation schemes approved.

  • 7.57 lakh

    Population (Census 2011, CGWB)

  • 3

    Tahsils (CGWB 2013)

  • ₹4–50 lakh/acre

    Estimated land price*

  • ₹2,598 crore

    Irrigation approved (Jan 2026)

*Indicative range across districts and land types. Stamp duty, registration and conversion charges are additional. Local measurement units vary — every listing states the unit it is priced in. Not a valuation or an offer.

District land record — Burhanpur

Rev. 2026 · Farmland India desk

State

Madhya Pradesh

Sub-divisions

The CGWB district profile (2013) gives 3 tahsils and 2 blocks, Burhanpur and Khaknar, without naming the tahsils (CGWB Burhanpur profile). The district portal pages we opened do not list tehsils or sub-divisions (Burhanpur district portal). CONFIRM the current tehsil list with the Collector’s office.

Key markets

Burhanpur city · Khaknar block

Demand anchors

Tapti-side irrigated farm land · banana among the listed crops · Mughal-era city and Asirgarh fort as visitor draws

Rail

Rail services are not sourced for this page; check the Indian Railways timetable for Burhanpur

Size and population

7,56,993 people (Census 2011) and 263 villages (31 March 2013) in the CGWB profile; the profile gives the area as 3,23,300 ha in one table and 2,316 sq km in its introduction, so CONFIRM the area (CGWB Burhanpur profile)

Pricing unit

₹/acre · Estimated land price*: ₹4–50 lakh per acre depending on the micro-area (indicative, see price section)

Local units

Records use survey numbers and hectares; sellers also quote acres and village units whose size can differ by tehsil, so convert to hectares (1 ha is about 2.47 acres)

Land records portal

MP Bhulekh (not opened for this page; check records there)

District overview

Burhanpur — a Tapti-side district of black-soil farms and a Mughal-era city

Burhanpur lies on the Tapti in south-west Madhya Pradesh. The district portal says the city was founded about 1400 AD, was a Mughal capital under Akbar and has the Jama Masjid and the Asirgarh fort, called the gateway to the Deccan (district portal, about the district). The CGWB profile gives 7,56,993 people, 263 villages, 3 tahsils and 2 blocks, Burhanpur and Khaknar (CGWB Burhanpur profile). Khandwa’s portal says Burhanpur was separated from that district on 15 August 2003.

The estimated farm-land price* for Burhanpur runs from about ₹4 lakh to ₹50 lakh per acre. The upper end applies to land near Burhanpur city and its highway approaches, the middle to the irrigated black-soil belt, and the lower end to hill-fringe land in Khaknar block. We found no registered-deed series, guideline-rate report or compensation award for the district, so the bands are set by analogy with Khandwa and Khargone and rounded wide. *Indicative only, not a valuation or an offer; prices vary by plot, road access and title. Check the guideline or ready-reckoner rate with the Sub-Registrar.

Farming is the CGWB profile’s focus: normal rainfall is 978.9 mm, soils are black cotton, sandy loam and clayey loam, and the principal crops are wheat, soybean, maize, banana and sugarcane (CGWB Burhanpur profile). That data has a 2008-09 base. Cotton is the largest crop at about 46,000 hectares, with banana at about 18,250 hectares (ICAR-CRIDA Burhanpur plan). Two irrigation projects costing about ₹2,598 crore were approved in January 2026 (The Hitavada, January 2026) and a mini airport was announced (Patrika, February 2026), but we found no road or rail project, so the demand case still rests on irrigated farm land.

  • Burhanpur
  • Khaknar
  • Tapti
  • Banana
  • Asirgarh
Locator map of Burhanpur district in Madhya Pradesh showing Burhanpur city, Khaknar and the Tapti

Transaction costs

Stamp duty & registration in Burhanpur

7.5%

Stamp duty (reported)

state-wide figure, reported; Registration Department page not opened

3%

Registration fee (reported)

on the same base; CONFIRM with the Sub-Registrar

~10.5%

Combined, reported arithmetic

earlier report gave 9.5% to 12.5%

Dainik Jagran English reported on 27 March 2026 stamp duty of 7.5% and a registration charge of 3% on the higher of market value or transaction value (Dainik Jagran English, March 2026). Its 25 March piece said a guideline-rate rise would raise duty and fees in proportion and that no fresh taxes would be levied (Dainik Jagran English, March 2026); an earlier piece put the combined range at 9.5% to 12.5%. These are state-wide figures as reported, and we could not open the Registration Department’s own fee page, so ask the Burhanpur Sub-Registrar for the current schedule for agricultural land before you budget. Since 17 December 2025 a short-stamped document attracts a penalty of 1% of the shortfall per month (TeamLease RegTech, December 2025). Registration is online through Sampada 2.0, which also shows guideline rates by location (The Statesman, October 2024). We found no Burhanpur-specific guideline-rate report.

Know the belt

What is moving prices in Burhanpur

No district-level guideline report was found, so this section gives our indicative price bands* and the water and units points.

Estimated land price*: city and highway approaches

₹20–50 lakh per acre* (Burhanpur city fringe)

Land close to Burhanpur city and the roads into it. The band is wide because we hold no registered-deed series; it is set by analogy with the Khandwa and Khargone road belts and rounded. *Indicative only, not a valuation or an offer; prices vary by plot, road access and title. Check the guideline or ready-reckoner rate with the Sub-Registrar.

Check: diversion status, access and whether the parcel lies in a flood-prone or monument-adjacent zone.

Estimated land price*: irrigated black-soil belt

₹10–25 lakh per acre* (Burhanpur block villages)

Irrigated farm land growing wheat, soybean, maize, banana and sugarcane. The CGWB profile records 43.4 thousand hectares irrigated, with 25.9 from dug wells and 15.0 from tube wells (CGWB Burhanpur profile); its rows do not add to the total, so CONFIRM. *Indicative only, not a valuation or an offer; prices vary by plot, road access and title. Check the guideline or ready-reckoner rate with the Sub-Registrar.

Check: well yield, because Burhanpur block is semi-critical at 85% extraction (2008-09).

Estimated land price*: Khaknar and hill fringe

₹4–12 lakh per acre* (Khaknar block)

Khaknar block has a lower stage of extraction (57%, safe) but the Scheduled Area question above. *Indicative only, not a valuation or an offer; prices vary by plot, road access and title. Check the guideline or ready-reckoner rate with the Sub-Registrar.

Check: tribal-holder status, forest status and notified-area status before any deposit.

Groundwater quality

Nitrate up to 85 mg/l in the profile

The CGWB profile gives nitrate of 1 to 85 mg/l and conductivity of 456 to 1,246 µS/cm; one section prints a nitrate range that looks like a typing error (CGWB Burhanpur profile). The 2024 state assessment lists Burhanpur for nitrate above 45 mg/l.

Check: a water test before buying for drinking or a farmhouse.

Units: hectare, acre and village units

Madhya Pradesh revenue records identify land by survey number (khasra) and area, and court orders in the state describe holdings in hectares (Supreme Court, April 2025). Sellers and brokers also quote acres and village units whose size can differ by district and tehsil. Convert every quote to hectares or acres (one hectare is about 2.47 acres, our arithmetic) and match it to the khasra area; we did not open a revenue manual for local unit definitions.

Connectivity

How Burhanpur connects — road, rail and air

No road or rail project was sourced for Burhanpur; an airport is announced without a site, and two large irrigation schemes are approved.

By road

Highways and road lengthsNot sourced for this page
Distances to citiesNot sourced for this page
Road projectsNone found in the sources read

By air

Airport in the districtNone operating; a “mini airport” announced (Feb 2026, no site or timeline)
Nearest optionCheck airline schedules and a live route planner

By rail & metro

Stations and servicesNot sourced for this page
Rail lengthNot sourced for this page
MetroNo metro project found in the sources read

We could not open a road or rail source for Burhanpur, so those rows say so; the Chief Minister’s mini-airport announcement gives no location, cost or date (Patrika, February 2026). The practical test is a drive from the nearest highway to the parcel, so ask for the access road in the revenue record. Full Madhya Pradesh rules are in the state-wise land laws guide.

Growth catalysts

Upcoming infrastructure & developments

Status labels reflect sources read in October 2026. No road or rail project was found; approvals are not construction.

00Open or operating

04In progress or pending

Cabinet-approved · Jan 2026, CONFIRM start Navatha major irrigation project (Nepanagar)
Cabinet-approved · Jan 2026, CONFIRM start Jhirmiti medium irrigation project (Khaknar)
Announced · Feb 2026, CONFIRM date Mini airport (announced)
Early development · May 2024 report Sukhpuri textile cluster
Cabinet-approved · Jan 2026, CONFIRM start

Navatha major irrigation project (Nepanagar)

The state Cabinet approved over ₹2,598 crore for irrigation in Burhanpur district, reported on 7 January 2026. The larger scheme, Navatha, is a major project in Nepanagar tehsil costing ₹1,676.06 crore to irrigate 34,100 hectares across 90 villages and about 22,600 farming families (The Hitavada, January 2026). The report gives no start or completion date. For scale, the ICAR-CRIDA plan records only about 43,400 hectares irrigated in the whole district and almost no canal irrigation (our comparison; ICAR-CRIDA Burhanpur plan).

Source: The Hitavada, 7 Jan 2026

Cost

₹1,676.06 cr

Command

34,100 ha

Villages

90

Families

~22,600

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Nepanagar
  • Burhanpur Rural
Cabinet-approved · Jan 2026, CONFIRM start

Jhirmiti medium irrigation project (Khaknar)

Jhirmiti is a medium project in Khaknar tehsil costing ₹922.91 crore to irrigate 17,700 hectares across 42 villages and about 11,800 farming families, approved in the same Cabinet decision (The Hitavada, January 2026). No start or completion date was reported. Command-area boundaries are not in the report, so ask the Water Resources Department whether a village falls inside.

Source: The Hitavada, 7 Jan 2026

Cost

₹922.91 cr

Command

17,700 ha

Villages

42

Families

~11,800

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Khaknar
Announced · Feb 2026, CONFIRM date

Mini airport (announced)

Patrika reported the Chief Minister saying a “mini airport” will be developed in Burhanpur, at an event where the 33rd Ladli Behna instalment was released, tying it to the district’s textile, powerloom, farm, pharmaceutical and furniture activity and its cotton and banana output (Patrika, February 2026). The article gives no site, cost, size or timeline, and the page copy we read carries no clear date, so we date it from the instalment (our inference, CONFIRM).

Source: Patrika, 2026 (date CONFIRM)

Type

Mini airport

Site

Not stated

Cost

Not stated

Timeline

Not stated

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Burhanpur city
Early development · May 2024 report

Sukhpuri textile cluster

KNN reported in May 2024 that the proposed Sukhpuri cluster would have about 42 lakh sq ft of saleable space on a 63-hectare plot, with land levelling under way, partial funding commitments from over 250 businesses and an expected investment of ₹350 to 400 crore (KNN, May 2024). It is two years old and we found no later progress report, so treat it as unconfirmed.

Source: KNN, 29 May 2024

Plot

63 ha

Space

~42 lakh sq ft

Investment

₹350–400 cr

Latest report

May 2024

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Burhanpur city

Agriculture & terrain

Soil, crops & water in Burhanpur

A cotton and banana district on the Tapti: irrigation is mostly wells today, two large canal schemes are approved, and a banana weather loss was paid out in July 2026.

🌾 Cotton and banana plains (Burhanpur block)

The ICAR-CRIDA plan lists cotton as the largest crop at about 46,000 hectares, banana about 18,250, soybean about 14,300, sorghum about 12,100, wheat about 9,500 and gram about 3,100 (ICAR-CRIDA Burhanpur plan). The CGWB profile names wheat, soybean, maize, banana and sugarcane as principal crops and black cotton, sandy loam and clayey loam soils (CGWB Burhanpur profile); the two lists differ, so ask for the last three years of khasra crop entries. Shallow soils are about 46% of the area.

  • Cotton
  • Banana
  • Soybean
  • Sorghum
  • Wheat

🏞 Tapti basin and banana risk

The Tapti drains most of the district, with the Sukta, a Narmada tributary, draining a small northern part (CGWB Burhanpur profile). In July 2026 the state transferred over ₹107 crore to 8,115 banana farmers in 188 villages of the Burhanpur Nagar, Burhanpur Rural, Nepanagar and Khaknar tehsils after weather damage in May and June (Indian Masterminds, July 2026). Banana income is weather-exposed, so price a parcel on location and title, not on a good season.

  • Tapti
  • Sukta
  • Banana loss 2026

⛏ Aquifers and rock

The profile lists Archaean rocks, Gondwanas, Deccan Traps and alluvium, with the Deccan Trap unconfined to about 15 m and deeper aquifers at 45 to 190 m (CGWB Burhanpur profile). Yields vary sharply between traps and alluvium.

  • Deccan Trap
  • Alluvium

💧 Water & rainfall

Normal rainfall is 978.9 mm, about 90% in June to September (ICAR-CRIDA Burhanpur plan). The CGWB profile gives pre-monsoon depth to water of 6.38 to 32.35 m in 2012 and a stage of extraction of 70% for the district (Burhanpur block 85%, semi-critical; Khaknar 57%, safe), on a 2008-09 base (CGWB Burhanpur profile). The CRIDA plan records about 43,400 hectares irrigated (net about 36,700) against about 60,900 hectares rainfed, mostly from open wells (14,761) and bore wells (3,386), with canals covering only about 300 hectares. The two projects approved in January 2026 would command 34,100 and 17,700 hectares, together about 51,800 hectares, more than today’s irrigated area (our arithmetic; The Hitavada, January 2026). Neither has a reported start date. The 2024 state assessment lists the district for nitrate above 45 mg/l (CGWB, Madhya Pradesh 2024). Test water and check well depth before buying. Live mandi prices are on the state and national mandi portals (not opened for this page).

📐 Measurement units

Madhya Pradesh records use survey numbers and hectares; sellers also quote acres and village units whose size can differ by tehsil. Convert every quote to hectares or acres before comparing two offers (one hectare is about 2.47 acres). Live mandi prices are on Agmarknet (not opened for this page); price a parcel on water, access and permitted use.

At a glance

Burhanpur vs. its neighbours

District / beltPrice band* (per acre)Evidence
Burhanpur — city and highway approaches*₹20–50 lakh*Indicative estimate; not a valuation
Burhanpur — irrigated black-soil belt*₹10–25 lakh*Indicative estimate; not a valuation
Burhanpur — Khaknar and hill fringe*₹4–12 lakh*Indicative estimate; not a valuation
Khandwa — interior*₹5–15 lakh*Indicative estimate; see the Khandwa page
Khargone — interior*₹6–20 lakh*Indicative estimate; see the Khargone page

Sourced facts against Barwani, the other Nimar cotton district on these pages: Burhanpur’s normal rainfall is 978.9 mm against 738.6 mm in Barwani, and groundwater extraction is 70% in Burhanpur and 72% in Barwani on a 2008-09 base. Burhanpur has two large irrigation projects approved in January 2026; Barwani has none we could source. See the Barwani page.

*Indicative only, not a valuation or an offer; prices vary by plot, road access and title. Check the guideline or ready-reckoner rate with the Sub-Registrar. See the Khandwa page for the parent district before 2003 and the Khargone page for the Nimar neighbour.

Fenced farm plot with boundary stones and a banana plantation near Burhanpur, Madhya Pradesh

District report — Burhanpur

Farmland India view

Why investors look at Burhanpur

Four reasoned points, with an honest note that infrastructure evidence is missing and groundwater is already tight in one block.

Irrigated farm land on the Tapti

The CGWB profile records 43.4 thousand hectares irrigated and banana among the principal crops (CGWB Burhanpur profile). Irrigated land is what the upper bands* reflect.

A historic city with visitor draw

The portal lists the Jama Masjid and the Asirgarh fort (district portal). Visitor demand is small-scale and we have no figures.

Mid-range entry prices on our estimates

Our bands* are lower than the Indore-side districts of Nimar for ordinary farm land, but the evidence is by analogy, not registered deeds.

Clear groundwater data, though dated

Stage of extraction is published by block, which lets a buyer see that Burhanpur block is tighter than Khaknar. The base year is 2008-09.

A market that rewards paperwork

Tribal-land, ceiling, diversion, forest and notified-area checks are parcel-specific, and Khaknar needs the Scheduled Area question settled.

Browse reviewed land in Burhanpur

Confirm tribal-land, ceiling, diversion, forest and acquisition status directly; these are not certified by Farmland India’s review.

STRAIGHT TALK

Risks & challenges in Burhanpur

Read these before shortlisting in Burhanpur specifically.

Khaknar Scheduled Area status

The 2003 order listed Khaknar block under Khandwa; the district was split later that year. Settle in writing whether the village is a notified area.

Semi-critical groundwater in Burhanpur block

The profile gives 85% extraction on a 2008-09 base. Ask for current well depth and neighbour yields.

Nitrate in groundwater

The profile and the 2024 state assessment both flag nitrate. Test water before a farmhouse plan.

Tribal-land permission

Section 165(6) permission is needed for a sale by a tribal holder to a non-tribal outside notified areas, and the bar is absolute inside them. Ask the Collector in writing.

Ceiling and diversion paper

The Ceiling Act figures come from a legal-database copy and diversion procedure was not read. Ask for the diversion order and any ceiling proceedings in full.

No sourced infrastructure

We found no dated road or rail project; the irrigation schemes and the mini airport are approved or announced, not built, so do not price in a corridor.

Conflicting area data

The CGWB profile gives 3,23,300 ha in one table and 2,316 sq km in its introduction. Match the parcel to the revenue record.

Estimated prices are indicative

The price bands* are estimates by analogy, not registered-deed series. Collect registered comparables in the same revenue estate before negotiating.

Approved is not irrigated

Navatha and Jhirmiti were approved in January 2026 with no reported start date. Until water reaches a command area, value land on its wells.

Banana weather loss

Over ₹107 crore of relief went to 8,115 banana farmers in July 2026; a buyer relying on banana income should expect weather swings.

Tehsil names

CGWB (2013) counts three tehsils; a July 2026 report names four (Burhanpur Nagar, Burhanpur Rural, Nepanagar, Khaknar). Match the parcel to the current tehsil in the revenue record.

Who to contact

Local revenue, planning & forest offices

Mutation and revenue-record matters go through the Tehsildar of the relevant tehsil; the CGWB profile (2013) gives three tahsils without naming them, and a July 2026 relief report names four tehsils: Burhanpur Nagar, Burhanpur Rural, Nepanagar and Khaknar (CGWB Burhanpur profile). The Sub-Divisional Officer (Revenue) handles diversion, the Collector’s office handles tribal-land permission, ceiling matters and acquisition notices, and sale-deed registration is done at the Sub-Registrar’s office, with online registration through Sampada 2.0. We could not open MP Bhulekh or the Registration Department pages, so check them directly.

COMMON QUESTIONS

Frequently asked questions

Everything buyers, NRIs and investors ask before their first reviewed farmland purchase in Burhanpur.

Visit full wiki

01 of 04

What does farm land cost in Burhanpur?

We estimate* roughly ₹20–50 lakh per acre near Burhanpur city, ₹10–25 lakh for irrigated black-soil villages, and ₹4–12 lakh in Khaknar and hill-fringe ground. These are indicative estimates, not a valuation or an offer; prices vary by plot, road access and title. We found no guideline-rate report or compensation award for Burhanpur.

Ready to look at what is available?

Browse reviewed listings

Transparency

Sources and references

Law and courts

Government

News

Further reading

Data-currency note: the CGWB profile is a 2013 document with a 2008-09 resource base and internal inconsistencies (area, irrigation total, nitrate range); the ICAR-CRIDA plan is a 2012 file; the district portal pages give almost no statistics; the Khandwa portal content is old; the tehsil count differs between CGWB (three) and a July 2026 news report (four); the airport and irrigation items are approvals or announcements; infrastructure statuses were read in October 2026 and change quickly. Price bands marked with an asterisk are indicative estimates, not valuations. This is a general guide, not legal advice. Report inaccuracies to wiki@farmlandindia.com.

For developers

Ready to explore Burhanpur farmland?

Browse reviewed projects and individual land parcels across Burhanpur — or if you own land here, list it with platform review and reach serious buyers.

Farmland India ("the Platform"), operated by Bulk Procure Private Limited, is a digital marketplace for listing agricultural land, farmhouse and plotted development projects. The Platform is not a real estate broker, agent or intermediary under RERA or any other applicable law, and does not act for either party to a transaction.

Listings are submitted by developers, owners and their authorised representatives. Before publication, the Platform carries out a documentary review of the material supplied and records what was sighted. That review is limited to the documents made available to us at that time. It is not a title investigation, not a legal opinion, and not a warranty of title, approvals, or the accuracy of any information supplied by a lister. The Trust Score is an internal assessment produced from that review and is intended as a research aid, not as a guarantee of outcome.

Every buyer must carry out independent due diligence before any transaction — including verification of land records, encumbrance searches, approvals and regulatory compliance — through their own advocate and chartered accountant. Any legal or advisory professional introduced through the Platform is engaged directly by the user, on that professional's own terms; the Platform does not employ, supervise or accept responsibility for their work.

Nothing on the Platform is investment advice. Land values can fall as well as rise. The Platform is not liable for any loss, dispute or damage arising from a transaction between parties.