Farmland India
Wheat fields on the Bundelkhand plateau near Niwari, Madhya Pradesh, with the Betwa river valley and low rocky hills in the distance

District guide

Buying Land in Niwari

Madhya Pradesh's smallest district by area and population, split from Tikamgarh in 2018: Betwa-side Bundelkhand farmland, Orchha tourism and highways, with thin price data.

  • ₹4–12 lakh per acre*

    Estimated interior farm land*

  • 3

    Tehsils (district portal)

  • 1 Oct 2018

    Created

  • 10.5% (reported)

    Sale-deed duty and fee

*Indicative range across districts and land types. Stamp duty, registration and conversion charges are additional. Local measurement units vary — every listing states the unit it is priced in. Not a valuation or an offer.

District land record — Niwari

Rev. 2026 · Farmland India desk

State

Madhya Pradesh (Bundelkhand; created from Tikamgarh district on 1 October 2018, district portal)

Sub-divisions

Three tehsils: Niwari, Prithvipur and Orchha, with 54, 56 and 17 gram panchayats, 127 in all (district portal). The page lists no blocks, so check the current administrative list

Key markets

Niwari town · Prithvipur · Orchha (Betwa-side heritage town)

Estimated land price*

Interior farm land about ₹4–12 lakh per acre*; town-edge, highway and Orchha-side land about ₹15–45 lakh per acre*. Indicative only, not a valuation or an offer; check the guideline rate with the Sub-Registrar

Agricultural land

Open to Indian citizens (no non-farmer bar found in the sources opened); NRIs and OCIs barred under FEMA (RBI Master Direction)

Demand anchors

Orchha heritage tourism · National Highways 39, 44 and 539 · Betwa river

Air and rail

No airport found in the sources opened · rail services not checked; see the connectivity section

Size and population

1,170 sq km, 4,04,807 people and 281 villages as shown on the district portal, which does not state the Census year (Niwari district portal); the portal calls it the smallest district in the state by area and population

Pricing unit

₹/acre (farm land) · ₹/sq m (guideline rates, colonies)

Local units

Hectare and acre: 1 hectare is about 2.47 acres and 1 acre about 4,047 sq m (our arithmetic). Local units can differ by tehsil and village, so ask for the area in hectares

Land records portal

MP Bhulekh (khasra and B-1; portal not opened) · Sampada 2.0 for registration (The Statesman, October 2024)

District overview

Niwari — the state's smallest district, on the Betwa

Niwari is a Bundelkhand district created from Tikamgarh on 1 October 2018, the 52nd in the state, and the smallest in Madhya Pradesh by area and population. The portal lists three tehsils, Niwari, Prithvipur and Orchha, and says National Highways 39, 44 and 539 pass through it (Niwari district portal). The home page gives 1,170 sq km, 4,04,807 people and 281 villages, without a year for the count (Niwari district portal).

The entry rules match the rest of the state. None of the court orders or Act texts opened bars a buyer for not being a farmer, the 1960 ceiling is the main limit on size, and NRIs and OCIs are barred under FEMA. District-specific questions are the 2018 boundary, groundwater in a dug-well economy and the Betwa and Orchha belt.

For land use, the nearest numbers are for undivided Tikamgarh in 2013: 5,048 sq km, about 1,060 mm of normal rain, 90.3% of it in the monsoon, soybean, gram, rice, wheat, jowar and urad as principal crops, and dug wells as the main irrigation source. The district-wide stage of groundwater development was 71% in 2009, and in Niwari block the non-command area was semi-critical at 85% (CGWB, 2013). The Orchha town page on the portal is the main tourism listing (Niwari district portal).

We found no guideline-rate report or price series for Niwari, and no project study tying roads or tourism to farm land prices, so a broker's claim of an uplift is unproven. The bands on this page are estimates and are marked with an asterisk. See also Chhatarpur.

  • Bundelkhand
  • Created 2018
  • Betwa river
  • Orchha
  • NH 39, 44, 539
  • Groundwater check
Niwari district locator map poster: Niwari district outline in Bundelkhand, Madhya Pradesh, with its three tehsils Niwari, Prithvipur and Orchha, the Betwa river and national highways marked

Transaction costs

Stamp duty & registration in Niwari

7.5%

Stamp duty (reported)

on the higher of market or transaction value

3%

Registration fee (reported)

same base

~10.5%

Combined (reported)

arithmetic of the two reported rates

Stamp duty of 7.5% and a registration charge of 3% on the higher of market value or transaction value were reported on 27 March 2026 (Dainik Jagran English, March 2026). A 25 March piece put the combined range at 9.5% to 12.5% and said charges would rise in step with any guideline-rate rise (Dainik Jagran English, 25 March 2026). The Registration Department's own fee page was not opened, so ask the Sub-Registrar for the current schedule for agricultural land before budgeting; levies or concessions can change the total. Since 17 December 2025 a short-stamped document attracts a penalty of 1% of the shortfall per month (TeamLease RegTech, December 2025).

We found no Niwari-specific guideline-rate report for 2026-27, so no district average is quoted. Guideline rates are set village by village and colony by colony, and the rate for a survey number can be looked up on Sampada 2.0 (The Statesman, October 2024). The state-level reports above do not give a farm land figure for Niwari.

Know the belt

What is moving prices in Niwari

Five signals from reports and official pages. No guideline-rate report for Niwari and no asking-price series was found; the estimated bands on this page are marked *.

District boundary change

Created 1 Oct 2018

Niwari was separated from Tikamgarh and is the smallest district in the state by area and population (Niwari district portal). Profiles and deeds before 2018 may name Tikamgarh.

Check: which district and tehsil the village sits in today.

Orchha heritage belt

Town on the Betwa

The portal lists Orchha, described as founded in the 16th century on the Betwa, with adventure, historic, scenic and religious categories (Niwari district portal). Tourist towns can carry commercial-use demand, but we found no visitor or price data.

Check: the land use and any heritage or river restrictions on the survey number.

National Highways

NH 39, 44 and 539

The portal says three national highways pass through the district (Niwari district portal). It gives no lengths, widening plans or alignments.

Check: whether the survey number lies inside a highway right-of-way or a widening corridor.

Groundwater stress

Semi-critical non-command areas, 2009

In the undivided Tikamgarh district the non-command areas of Niwari, Baldeogarh, Jatara, Palera and Tikamgarh blocks were semi-critical, with Niwari at 85% (2009), while Prithipur was safe (CGWB, 2013). The data pre-date the split and are 17 years old.

Check: borewell depth and the current block category before assuming irrigation.

Road acquisition delays

Niwari cited, Jun 2026

A state review reported in June 2026 that Public Works Department road projects in Niwari and Tikamgarh were delayed by land acquisition (Free Press Journal, June 2026). Compensation disputes can leave a road unfinished beside a parcel for years.

Check: the status of acquisition on the road that serves the parcel.

Units: hectare, acre, sq m

Court orders in this state describe holdings in survey numbers and hectares (High Court, June 2022), the Ceiling Act figures are in acres, and guideline rates for colonies are per sq m. One hectare is about 2.47 acres and one acre about 4,047 sq m (our arithmetic). Local units can differ by tehsil and village, so convert every quote to hectares before comparing.

Connectivity

How Niwari connects — road, rail and air

National Highways 39, 44 and 539 pass through the district per the portal. Distances and times are not quoted because none was sourced for Niwari.

By road

New district road₹112 crore road reported in the district, Oct 2025; roads at Viraura, Sakera, Atrar, Jamunia and Churara and a bridge over the Kanare River announced, Jul 2026, with no lengths (The Hitavada; Indian Masterminds)
National HighwaysNH 39, 44 and 539 pass through the district (Niwari district portal)
Public Works Department roadsprojects in Niwari delayed by land acquisition as of June 2026 (Free Press Journal)
Distances and wideningnot sourced for Niwari; check with NHAI or the Public Works Department

By air

Airportnone operating; an airstrip for air ambulance and helicopters is planned at Orchha (The Hitavada, Oct 2025); check the nearest operating airport

By rail

Main-line railOrchha station inaugurated under the Amrit Bharat scheme, over ₹6 crore (The Hitavada, Oct 2025); train services not checked
CheckIndian Railways timetable for trains from Niwari and Orchha

The practical question is the last leg: where a parcel meets a road that is open in the monsoon and outside any alignment. A state review in June 2026 said land acquisition was delaying Public Works Department road projects in Niwari (Free Press Journal, June 2026), so ask which road works are still pending near a parcel. The state rules apply to every purchase.

Growth catalysts

Upcoming infrastructure & developments

Status labels reflect sources read in October 2026. Government-announced timelines are not guaranteed; items marked confirm have single or conflicting sources.

03Operational or existing

02In progress, planned or delayed

Existing · reported by district portal National Highways 39, 44 and 539
Existing · heritage and tourism Orchha heritage town
Delayed · reported June 2026 Public Works Department roads in Niwari
Planned and under way · Oct 2025 and Jul 2026 reports Orchha airstrip, Orchha station and district buildings
Reported · steel plant investment, Prithvipur Integrated steel plant, Prithvipur
Existing · reported by district portal

National Highways 39, 44 and 539

The district portal says National Highways 39, 44 and 539 pass through Niwari. It gives no lengths, lane counts or widening plans, and we did not open an NHAI page for these highways. Treat the highways as existing access and ask NHAI whether any widening or bypass is notified near a parcel.

Source: Niwari district portal

Highways

NH 39, 44, 539

Widening

not sourced

Source

district portal

Status

existing

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Niwari town
  • Prithvipur
  • Highway frontage
Existing · heritage and tourism

Orchha heritage town

Orchha, on the Betwa, is the district's listed tourist place, described as a historic town founded in the 16th century and tagged with adventure, historic, scenic, recreational and religious categories. The portal gives no visitor numbers, and we found no tourism-infrastructure project for Orchha with a date. Demand near tourist towns depends on land use rules, so ask whether the survey number is agricultural, heritage-zone or river-side land.

Source: Niwari district portal

Place

Orchha

River

Betwa

Visitor data

not found

Projects

none dated

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Orchha
  • Betwa bank
Delayed · reported June 2026

Public Works Department roads in Niwari

A state review of 39 stalled projects, reported on 26 June 2026, listed Public Works Department road projects in Niwari and Tikamgarh as delayed by land acquisition. Of the 39 projects, 25 were pending at district administration level and 14 awaited forest clearance. The report gives no road names, lengths or dates for Niwari. The state cabinet cleared four times the market rate as compensation for rural agricultural land acquisition in April 2026, which may affect owners on these alignments.

Source: Free Press Journal, Jun 2026; Free Press Journal, Apr 2026

Stalled projects (state)

39

Cause cited

land acquisition

Report date

26 Jun 2026

Road names

not stated

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Niwari roads
  • Tikamgarh border
Planned and under way · Oct 2025 and Jul 2026 reports

Orchha airstrip, Orchha station and district buildings

A Chief Minister speech in October 2025 listed an airstrip for air ambulance and helicopter services at Orchha, an Orchha railway station inaugurated under the Amrit Bharat scheme (over ₹6 crore), a new road of ₹112 crore in the district and more than 21 projects worth ₹332.85 crore. In July 2026 a composite Collectorate (₹34 crore) and a 300-bed district hospital (₹30 crore) were reported ready for inauguration, while another report gave ₹25.63 crore for a Joint Collectorate and about ₹20 crore for upgrading a 100-bed hospital, so costs conflict.

Source: The Hitavada, October 2025; Drishti IAS, July 2026; Indian Masterminds, July 2026

Airstrip

Planned

District road

₹112 crore

Projects

21+, ₹332.85 crore

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Orchha
  • Niwari town
Reported · steel plant investment, Prithvipur

Integrated steel plant, Prithvipur

The October 2025 speech cited an integrated steel plant at Prithvipur with an investment of ₹3,200 crore on about 300 hectares. The report names the company; we do not, and we found no second source, land-acquisition notice or construction report, so treat it as an announcement.

Source: The Hitavada, October 2025

Investment

₹3,200 crore

Site

~300 ha

Status

Announced

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Prithvipur

Agriculture & terrain

Soil, crops & water in Niwari

Bundelkhand plateau of soybean, gram, wheat and rice, irrigated mostly from dug wells. Figures below are for undivided Tikamgarh in 2013 and 2009.

🌾 Soils and crops

The CGWB 2013 profile of undivided Tikamgarh gives about 1,057–1,064 mm of normal annual rainfall (the profile quotes both), 90.3% of it in the south-west monsoon, and lists soybean, gram, rice, wheat, jowar and urad as principal crops, with a net sown area of 208.8 thousand ha (CGWB, 2013). The profile pre-dates the 2018 split and does not separate Niwari. Village soil data is on the Soil Health Card portal.

  • Soybean
  • Gram
  • Rice
  • Wheat
  • Jowar
  • Urad

🌲 Forest and river land

We found no forest share or protected-area data for Niwari. The Betwa flows through the district (Niwari district portal). Get the forest, river-bed and revenue-forest status of a survey number in writing.

  • Betwa
  • Forest status
  • River-bed
  • Boundary

⛏ Mining and lease land

We found no mining-lease data for Niwari. Quarry and lease land can sit beside farm land, so check for leases, blasting limits and haul roads near a parcel.

  • Lease land
  • Quarry
  • Haul roads

🌾 Crops and irrigation, old Tikamgarh figures

The ICAR-CRIDA plan for undivided Tikamgarh lists, for 2008-09, wheat (111.1 thousand ha) as the largest crop, then black gram (36.8), chickpea (35.2) and soybean (33.2), on shallow soils (45%) and medium-deep soils (33%), with open wells supplying about 79% of irrigation (ICAR-CRIDA, Tikamgarh). A July 2026 report says about 168 villages in Niwari district will benefit from the Ken-Betwa Link Project, and two stop dams (Majra Khairai and Digwar Kalan) were among the works named (Indian Masterminds, July 2026). Figures pre-date the 2018 split.

  • Wheat
  • Black gram
  • Chickpea
  • Soybean
  • Open wells

💧 Water & groundwater

In the undivided district the stage of groundwater development was 71% in 2009, up from 51% in 2003-04; dug wells (about 76,000, irrigating 114.4 thousand ha) were the main source and groundwater supplied about 81% of irrigated land. By block, Niwari stood at 76% overall, with its command area safe at 45% and its non-command area semi-critical at 85%; Prithipur was safe in both (CGWB, 2013). The state-wide stage of extraction is 58.40% in the 2024 assessment, which gives no Niwari figure (CGWB, GWRA-2024). Check borewell depth before assuming a water source for a farm house.

📐 Measurement units & market prices

Court orders use survey numbers and hectares, the Ceiling Act uses acres and guideline rates for colonies are per sq m, so convert before comparing. Mandi prices for the nearest regulated market are on Agmarknet. Crop income is small beside land values near the highway and Orchha, so price a parcel on access, water and title, not yield.

At a glance

Niwari vs. its neighbours

District / beltPrice band* (per acre unless stated)Evidence
Niwari — town edge, highway and Orchha-side landEstimated ₹15–45 lakh per acre*NH 39, 44 and 539 and the Orchha tourist town (district portal)
Niwari — interior farm land (Niwari, Prithvipur)Estimated ₹4–12 lakh per acre*Dug-well Bundelkhand plateau; groundwater 71% developed in undivided Tikamgarh in 2009 (CGWB, 2013)
Niwari — rocky and rain-fed landEstimated ₹2–6 lakh per acre*Non-command areas semi-critical at 79–89% in most Tikamgarh blocks (CGWB, 2013)
ChhatarpurSee the Chhatarpur pageKen–Betwa project and Khajuraho belt; one resident reported about ₹5 lakh an acre in a Bijawar compensation case (Outlook India, Apr 2026)
Tikamgarh (parent district)Not estimated hereSame CGWB 2013 profile; no separate page in this set
Tikamgarh (parent district)Not estimated hereUndivided district groundwater 71% developed in 2009 and wheat the largest crop (ICAR-CRIDA)

*Estimated by the Farmland India desk, rounded wide. Indicative only, not a valuation or an offer; prices vary by plot, road access and title. Check the guideline rate with the Sub-Registrar. See the Chhatarpur page for the neighbouring Bundelkhand market.

Fenced farm plot with boundary stones and a wheat field beside a dug well on the Bundelkhand plateau near Niwari, Madhya Pradesh

District report — Niwari

Farmland India view

Why investors look at Niwari

Six reasoned points, with an honest note that thin data, groundwater and the lack of a price series are the main discounts.

A small, accessible district

At 1,170 sq km it is the smallest district in the state, with three national highways passing through (district portal), so access is rarely far.

Orchha as a visitor node

Orchha is the listed tourist place on the Betwa. We found no visitor data, so the benefit is plausible, not measured.

Entry prices below the metro belts

Our estimated bands, marked *, are wide because no price series exists. Use registered deeds nearby for a given parcel.

A known groundwater picture

The 2013 profile gives block-level categories, which is rarer than for newer districts, though the data are old.

An open buyer pool

No bar on buyers who are not farmers was found in the sources opened, so an outside buyer meets the same rule as a local, subject to the ceiling, the tribal-land check and clean title.

Clean paperwork is the edge

A buyer who reads the khasra and B-1, asks for the river and forest status and the diversion receipt, and confirms the post-2018 district and tehsil is ahead of one who relies on a broker's summary.

Browse reviewed land in Niwari

Confirm title, zone and acquisition status directly; these are not certified by Farmland India’s review.

STRAIGHT TALK

Risks & challenges in Niwari

Read these before shortlisting in Niwari specifically.

Groundwater stress

Most Tikamgarh blocks, including Niwari, had semi-critical non-command areas in 2009 (CGWB, 2013). Check borewell depth and current category before buying for irrigation.

District reorganisation

Niwari was separated on 1 October 2018 (Niwari district portal). Older rate lists and profiles may name Tikamgarh; confirm the village's current tehsil and registration office.

Thin data

The district portal gives area and population without a year (Niwari district portal). We found no price, forest or land-use series for the district, so every band here is an estimate.

Land acquisition delays

A June 2026 review cited land acquisition as a cause of delay for Public Works Department road projects in Niwari (Free Press Journal, June 2026). Check pending acquisition notices before buying beside a road project.

River and heritage land

The Betwa flows through the district and Orchha is a heritage town (Niwari district portal). Ask for river-bed, heritage-zone and forest status in writing.

Diversion and premium

Change of use brings reassessment and a premium, and a landholder who does not inform the SDO can face a 50% penalty under the 2018 text of section 59 (Code Amendment Act 2018). Ask for the diversion order and the premium receipt.

Ceiling, tribal land and records

Holdings above the ceiling can be declared surplus (Supreme Court, January 2021), and a sale of tribal land without Collector permission is exposed (Supreme Court, April 2025). MP Bhulekh was not opened for this page, so compare a fresh khasra and B-1 with the deed.

Announcements without second sources

The Prithvipur steel plant, the Orchha airstrip and the district hospital cost figures each rest on one report, and two July 2026 reports give different costs for the district buildings (Drishti IAS, July 2026; Indian Masterminds, July 2026). Orchha World Heritage recognition was only "recommended for 2027-28" in the speech (The Hitavada, October 2025).

Who to contact

Local revenue, planning & registration offices

Mutation and revenue-record matters go to the Tehsildar of the relevant tehsil; the district portal lists Niwari, Prithvipur and Orchha (Niwari district portal). The Sub-Divisional Officer handles the premium and reassessment on diversion. The District Collector's office handles land acquisition notices, and the Divisional Forest Officer can state whether a survey number is forest land. Records before October 2018 may sit with Tikamgarh offices.

Sale deeds are registered by the Sub-Registrar, now also through Sampada 2.0, where guideline rates can be checked (The Statesman, October 2024). Khasra and B-1 extracts come from MP Bhulekh, which we could not open; ask each office in writing, since we did not confirm current contacts or fees.

COMMON QUESTIONS

Frequently asked questions

Everything buyers, NRIs and investors ask before their first reviewed farmland purchase in Niwari.

Visit full wiki

01 of 04

Can anyone buy agricultural land in Niwari?

None of the court orders or Act texts we opened bars a buyer for not being a farmer. The limits that appear are the holding ceiling under the 1960 Ceiling Act (Supreme Court, January 2021), Collector-level permission for land held by tribal members under section 165(6) (Supreme Court, April 2025) and the FEMA bar on NRIs and OCIs (RBI Master Direction). Niwari was formed from Tikamgarh in October 2018, so confirm the village's tehsil and registration office with the Tehsildar.

Ready to look at what is available?

Browse reviewed listings

Transparency

Sources and references

Law and courts

Government

News

Further reading

Data-currency note: the Land Revenue Code, Registration Department and MP Bhulekh could not be opened (automated fetches were refused), so legal points come from court orders, legal-database copies and press reports; ground-water, crop and rainfall figures come from a 2013 profile of undivided Tikamgarh (data to 2009); the district portal gives area and population without a year; news items are labelled with their month and year and change quickly. Estimated land prices are Farmland India estimates, not sourced figures. Guideline rates, stamp duty and infrastructure timelines are reported, not confirmed. This is a general guide, not legal advice. Report inaccuracies to wiki@farmlandindia.com.

For developers

Ready to explore Niwari farmland?

Browse reviewed projects and individual land parcels across Niwari — or if you own land here, list it with platform review and reach serious buyers.

Farmland India ("the Platform"), operated by Bulk Procure Private Limited, is a digital marketplace for listing agricultural land, farmhouse and plotted development projects. The Platform is not a real estate broker, agent or intermediary under RERA or any other applicable law, and does not act for either party to a transaction.

Listings are submitted by developers, owners and their authorised representatives. Before publication, the Platform carries out a documentary review of the material supplied and records what was sighted. That review is limited to the documents made available to us at that time. It is not a title investigation, not a legal opinion, and not a warranty of title, approvals, or the accuracy of any information supplied by a lister. The Trust Score is an internal assessment produced from that review and is intended as a research aid, not as a guarantee of outcome.

Every buyer must carry out independent due diligence before any transaction — including verification of land records, encumbrance searches, approvals and regulatory compliance — through their own advocate and chartered accountant. Any legal or advisory professional introduced through the Platform is engaged directly by the user, on that professional's own terms; the Platform does not employ, supervise or accept responsibility for their work.

Nothing on the Platform is investment advice. Land values can fall as well as rise. The Platform is not liable for any loss, dispute or damage arising from a transaction between parties.