Farmland India
Wheat fields on black cotton soil near Neemuch, Madhya Pradesh

District guide

Buying Land in Neemuch

A Rajasthan-border Malwa district: black-soil farmland, Gandhi Sagar zone limits, tribal-land checks, rail and airport plans at an early stage and an estimated ₹5–25 lakh per acre*.

  • 4,000 sq km

    Area

  • 8.26 lakh

    Population (Census 2011)

  • ₹5–25 lakh/acre

    Estimated land price*

  • 201.30 km

    Kota–Neemuch rail line (survey)

*Indicative range across districts and land types. Stamp duty, registration and conversion charges are additional. Local measurement units vary — every listing states the unit it is priced in. Not a valuation or an offer.

District land record — Neemuch

Rev. 2026 · Farmland India desk

State

Madhya Pradesh

Sub-divisions

5 sub-districts in the 2011 Census list (Neemuch, Jawad, Manasa, Jiran, Singoli), with towns including Rampura and Ratangarh (Census of India catalogue); the 2013 CGWB profile lists three blocks (Neemuch, Jawad, Manasa). The district portal home page gives no current tehsil list

Key markets

Neemuch · Manasa · Jawad · Singoli · Rampura · Jiran

Demand anchors

Rajasthan border and Chittorgarh side · Kota–Neemuch and Neemuch–Banswara rail lines at survey stage · airstrip upgrade cleared for a first stage (Aug 2026)

Rail

Neemuch railway station is listed on the district portal; division and services not checked for this page

Size and population

4,000.44 sq km · 8,26,067 people at Census 2011 (CGWB profile, 2013)

Estimated land price*

₹5–25 lakh per acre (farm land, wide band; see note below)

Pricing unit

₹ lakh per acre (records are kept in hectares and survey numbers)

Local units

Local trade terms vary by district and tehsil; ask the Patwari to restate any quoted area in hectares or acres

Land records portal

MP Bhulekh (not opened for this page; ask the seller for a fresh extract)

District overview

Neemuch — a Rajasthan-border district with rail and airstrip plans at an early stage

Neemuch is a north-western Malwa district on the Rajasthan border, with 4,000.44 sq km and 8,26,067 people at Census 2011 in the CGWB district profile (CGWB district profile, Neemuch (2013)). The Census lists five sub-districts, Neemuch, Jawad, Manasa, Jiran and Singoli (Census of India 2011 catalogue entry, Neemuch). The Chambal is the main river and the profile puts black cotton soil on almost three-fourths of the area. The district portal home page we opened gives landmarks but no area, tehsil list or population (Neemuch district portal).

The growth case rests on projects that are not built. The Chief Minister said in September 2026 that an airport would be developed in the district soon, with no site, cost or date (Indian Masterminds, September 2026); the Centre had earlier cleared the first stage of upgrading Neemuch’s airstrip, with no cost stated (Swarajya, August 2026). Two rail lines are at survey stage: Kota–Neemuch (201.30 km, final location survey sanctioned) (Patrika, May 2026) and Neemuch–Banswara–Dahod–Nandurbar (about 380 km, project report approved for the final survey) (ETV Bharat, July 2025). The Delhi–Mumbai Expressway in the sources we read runs through Mandsaur, Ratlam and Jhabua, not Neemuch.

We found no dated official per-acre guideline rate and no dated price series for Neemuch. The band on this page is an estimate marked with an asterisk: ₹5–25 lakh per acre for farm land, higher near Neemuch and Manasa where irrigation and roads are better. It is derived by analogy with comparable Malwa districts and rounded, not taken from a sale record. *Indicative only, not a valuation or an offer; prices vary by plot, road access and title. Check the guideline or ready-reckoner rate with the Sub-Registrar.

  • Neemuch
  • Manasa
  • Jawad
  • Singoli
  • Rampura
  • Kota–Neemuch rail
Locator map of Neemuch district in Madhya Pradesh showing Neemuch, Manasa, Jawad, Singoli and Rampura

Transaction costs

Stamp duty & registration in Neemuch

7.5%

Stamp duty (reported)

on the higher of market value or deal value; Registration Department page not opened

3%

Registration fee (reported)

same base; confirm the agricultural-land schedule with the Sub-Registrar

~10.5%

Combined (reported arithmetic)

an earlier report gave a 9.5% to 12.5% range

Dainik Jagran English reported on 27 March 2026 stamp duty of 7.5% and a registration charge of 3% on the higher of market value or transaction value (Dainik Jagran English, March 2026). Its 25 March piece said a guideline-rate rise would raise duty and fees in proportion, and that the state had told the Vidhan Sabha no fresh taxes would be levied (Dainik Jagran English, March 2026 (Bhopal)). We could not open the Registration Department’s own fee page, so treat these as reported figures and ask the Sub-Registrar for the current schedule for agricultural land before you budget. Since 17 December 2025 a short-stamped document attracts a penalty of 1% of the shortfall per month (TeamLease RegTech, December 2025). Registration can be done online through Sampada 2.0, which also shows guideline rates by location (The Statesman, October 2024). No Neemuch-specific schedule was found. Duty is assessed on the higher of the deal value and the guideline rate as reported; check the rate in force for the village on the date of the deed.

Know the belt

What is moving prices in Neemuch

No official per-acre series was found. The band on this page is an estimate marked with an asterisk; the other cards give what the sources do show.

Estimated land price*

₹5–25 lakh per acre*

Our estimate for farm land across the district: roughly ₹8–25 lakh in the irrigated belt around Neemuch and Manasa, and ₹5–14 lakh in Jawad, Singoli, Jiran and the drier interior. The range is wide because the evidence is thin. *Indicative only, not a valuation or an offer; prices vary by plot, road access and title. Check the guideline or ready-reckoner rate with the Sub-Registrar.

Check: registered sale deeds in the same revenue village, and the guideline rate with the Sub-Registrar.

Rail announcements

Survey stage only

Patrika reported in May 2026 that the Ministry of Railways sanctioned about ₹5.03 crore for the final location survey of the 201.30 km Kota–Neemuch line, after a preliminary survey approved in 2014 (Patrika, May 2026). ETV Bharat reported in July 2025 that the Railway Minister approved a project report for the final survey of the 380 km Neemuch–Banswara–Dahod–Nandurbar line (ETV Bharat, July 2025). Neither report gives an approved cost or a construction date, so land priced on these lines is priced on a proposal.

Check: whether an alignment is notified before paying a premium.

Guideline rates: state context

No Neemuch figure found

Reports on guideline rates covered Bhopal and Indore, not Neemuch; the Bhopal committee in February 2026 recommended rises at 621 locations (Collector guideline rate hike at 621 locations in Bhopal district, Free Press Journal, February 2026) and a 2023 revision touched about 18,000 locations statewide (Land costlier in 18,000 locations, Free Press Journal, March 2023).

Check: the Sampada 2.0 guideline lookup for the village.

Asking prices

No sourced series

We use no listing figures for Neemuch. A guideline rate is a registration floor, not what a seller will accept.

Check: comparable deals registered in the same village.

Units: hectares, acres and local terms

The district’s land records follow state practice of survey numbers and hectares, while the Ceiling Act figures quoted on this page are in acres and one hectare is about 2.47 acres (our arithmetic). Local trade terms differ by district and tehsil, so have the Patwari restate any quoted area in hectares or acres before you compare offers.

Connectivity

How Neemuch connects — road, rail and air

Distances and journey times are not given because no official or news source was found. Check a live route planner.

By road

Delhi–Mumbai ExpresswayNot routed through Neemuch in the reports read
National and state roadsNot sourced for this page
Rajasthan borderThe district shares its north and west with Rajasthan

By air

Neemuch airstripFirst-stage upgrade cleared by the Centre (Aug 2026)
CM announcementAirport “soon”, no site or date (Sep 2026)
Scheduled flightsNone found

By rail

Neemuch stationListed on the district portal
Kota–Neemuch line201.30 km; final survey sanctioned (May 2026)
Neemuch–Banswara–Dahod–Nandurbar~380 km; project report approved for survey (Jul 2025)
MetroNone

The practical question is the last leg from the highway or station to the parcel; ask for the access road in the revenue record. Rules for buyers from outside Madhya Pradesh: state-wise land laws.

Growth catalysts

Upcoming infrastructure & developments

Status labels reflect sources read in October 2026. Announced timelines are not guaranteed; items marked reported rest on one or an older source.

01Open or in force

03In progress or pending

Cleared first stage · Aug 2026 Neemuch airstrip and airport plan
Survey sanctioned · May 2026 Kota–Neemuch new rail line
Project report approved · Jul 2025 Neemuch–Banswara–Dahod–Nandurbar line
Approved · 22 Apr 2026 State rule on rural land-acquisition compensation
Cleared first stage · Aug 2026

Neemuch airstrip and airport plan

Swarajya reported on 12 August 2026 that the Centre cleared the first stage of converting ten Madhya Pradesh airstrips into airports, and Neemuch is among the five in the first phase; the Airports Authority was to begin work, and no cost was stated (Swarajya, August 2026). Indian Masterminds reported in September 2026 that Chief Minister Mohan Yadav said at a felicitation programme in Neemuch that an airport would be developed in the district soon, with no location, timeline or cost (Indian Masterminds, September 2026). Treat both as early-stage.

Source: Swarajya, 12 Aug 2026; Indian Masterminds, 21 Sep 2026

Phase

First

Cleared

Stage one (Centre)

Cost

Not stated

Site and date

Not given

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Neemuch
Survey sanctioned · May 2026

Kota–Neemuch new rail line

Patrika reported in May 2026 that the Ministry of Railways approved the final location survey for a Kota–Rawatbhata–Bengu–Singoli–Neemuch line of 201.30 km, with a survey sanction of about ₹5.03 crore, proposed stations at Jawda Road, Ratangarh, Singoli, Bhainsrodgarh and Jawahar Sagar, and a possible saving of about 90 km between Kota and Neemuch. A detailed project report, approval, land acquisition and construction follow in later years. The report’s state split, about 84 km in Madhya Pradesh and 56 km in Rajasthan, does not add up to 201 km (Patrika, May 2026).

Source: Patrika, 3 May 2026

Length

201.30 km (reported)

Survey sanction

~₹5.03 crore

Stage

Final survey

Project cost

Not stated

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Neemuch
  • Singoli
  • Jawad
Project report approved · Jul 2025

Neemuch–Banswara–Dahod–Nandurbar line

ETV Bharat reported on 26 July 2025 that Railway Minister Ashwini Vaishnaw approved a detailed project report for the final survey of a 380 km Neemuch–Banswara–Dahod–Nandurbar new line, which would link Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Gujarat and serve six cities (ETV Bharat, July 2025). Construction is not reported as sanctioned, and the report gives no cost or date. We found no later update.

Source: ETV Bharat, 26 Jul 2025

Length

~380 km

Stage

Report for final survey

Construction

Not sanctioned

Latest report

Jul 2025

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Neemuch
  • Manasa
Approved · 22 Apr 2026

State rule on rural land-acquisition compensation

ANI reported that the Madhya Pradesh Cabinet on 22 April 2026 doubled the multiplication factor to 2.0 under the state’s land-acquisition rules, described as raising compensation for rural agricultural land from double to four times the market rate; urban rates are unchanged (ANI, April 2026). The report does not explain how a factor of 2.0 gives four times, so check the official order. It matters because rail and airport projects acquire farm land.

Source: ANI, 22 Apr 2026

Cabinet date

22 Apr 2026

Factor

2.0 (reported)

Scope

Rural agricultural land

Official order

Not seen

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Neemuch
  • Jawad

Agriculture & terrain

Soil, crops & water in Neemuch

A black-soil district on the Chambal, with wheat and cotton, irrigation mostly from dug wells and groundwater near its limit in two blocks.

🌾 Black cotton soil, wheat and cotton

The CGWB profile says black cotton soil covers almost three-fourths of the district, with red-yellow mixed soil, alluvium along rivers and murum on hills, and names wheat and cotton among the principal crops (CGWB district profile, Neemuch (2013)). We did not find an ICAR-CRIDA crop-area table for Neemuch that could be opened, so no crop acreage is given.

  • Wheat
  • Cotton
  • Black cotton soil

🌊 Rivers and reservoir

The Chambal is the main river, with the Retam the other major drainage; tributaries include the Idar, Erda, Rupa, Bamm, Gangali and Rajori, and the Gambhir flows west near Jawad (CGWB district profile, Neemuch (2013)). The Gandhi Sagar eco-sensitive zone restricts building within 100 m of rivers and nallahs (MoEFCC eco-sensitive zone notification, Gandhi Sagar (MP Forest Department copy)).

  • Chambal
  • Retam
  • Gambhir

🧭 Tribal and notified areas

The Census catalogue entry for Neemuch refers to scheduled-tribe tables, but we found no source listing notified tehsils (Census of India 2011 catalogue entry, Neemuch). Section 165(6) permission applies to any parcel recorded to a covered tribal owner (Supreme Court, April 2025). Check the recorded owner category on the khasra.

  • Section 165(6)
  • Khasra check

💧 Water & rainfall

The CGWB profile gives normal annual rainfall of 797.96 mm, about 90.5% in the south-west monsoon (we did not open an IMD page). It lists 50,029 dug wells irrigating 472 sq km, 6,410 tube wells irrigating 172 sq km, 15 canals irrigating 31 sq km and 22 tanks irrigating 42 sq km, with a net irrigated area of 757 sq km. Using 2009 data it puts the stage of groundwater development at 81% for the district: Manasa 58% (safe), Neemuch 98% and Jawad 99–100% (semi-critical), none over-exploited (CGWB district profile, Neemuch (2013)). The CGWB 2024 assessment has no district rows in the document we read; the state stands at 58.40% (Safe) and Neemuch is listed among districts with nitrate above 45 mg/L and conductivity above 3,000 µS/cm at sporadic locations (CGWB, GWRA-2024). Check block status and borewell water quality.

📐 Measurement units

Records use survey numbers and hectares; one hectare is about 2.47 acres (our arithmetic). Local trade terms differ by district and tehsil, so convert every quote to acres or hectares before comparing. Live mandi prices are on the Agmarknet portal (not opened for this page); price land on location and permitted use, not on crop income.

At a glance

Neemuch vs. its neighbours

District / beltPrice band* (per acre)Evidence
Neemuch — farm land, district-wide₹5–25 lakh*Estimate, derived by analogy; not a sale record
Mandsaur — farm land, district-wide₹6–28 lakh*Estimate, same method; see the Mandsaur page
Rajgarh — farm land, district-wide₹5–18 lakh*Estimate, same method; see the Rajgarh page

*Indicative only, not a valuation or an offer; prices vary by plot, road access and title. Check the guideline or ready-reckoner rate with the Sub-Registrar. Compare the Mandsaur page for the expressway district next door and the Rajgarh page for a canal-irrigation district.

Boundary-marked farm plot with wheat and black cotton soil near Neemuch, Madhya Pradesh

District report — Neemuch

Farmland India view

Why investors look at Neemuch

Five reasoned points, with an honest note that price evidence is an estimate and every catalyst is still at an early stage.

Border-district location

Neemuch shares its north and west with Rajasthan, and two new rail lines toward Kota and Banswara are proposed (Patrika, May 2026; ETV Bharat, July 2025). Both are at survey stage.

An airstrip with a cleared first stage

The Centre cleared the first stage of upgrading Neemuch’s airstrip in August 2026 (Swarajya, August 2026), and the Chief Minister spoke of an airport in September 2026 (Indian Masterminds, September 2026). No cost, site or date is stated.

Black-soil irrigated farming

Almost three-fourths of the district is black cotton soil, and net irrigated area is 757 sq km on 2013 data (CGWB district profile, Neemuch (2013)). Dug wells carry most irrigation, so water is the variable.

Higher compensation for acquired farm land

The April 2026 Cabinet decision raised the multiplier for rural agricultural land (ANI, April 2026). It signals that rail and airport projects will pay more for farmland; it does not change what a private buyer pays.

A market that rewards paperwork

Tribal-owner checks, diversion orders, the ceiling schedule and the Gandhi Sagar zone are all parcel-specific. A buyer who documents each is better placed than one relying on a broker summary.

Browse reviewed land in Neemuch

Confirm tribal-land status, diversion and ceiling points directly; these are not certified by Farmland India’s review.

STRAIGHT TALK

Risks & challenges in Neemuch

Read these before shortlisting in Neemuch specifically.

Tribal-land permission

A parcel recorded to a covered tribal owner needs Collector-level permission for sale, and a fraudulent transfer can be reverted under section 170B (Supreme Court, April 2025; Supreme Court, March 2019).

Gandhi Sagar eco-sensitive zone

Parcels in the 19 notified villages face limits on conversion, construction within 1 km and commercial mining (MoEFCC eco-sensitive zone notification, Gandhi Sagar (MP Forest Department copy)). Ask which villages are covered.

Groundwater near its limit

Neemuch and Jawad blocks were semi-critical at 98–100% on 2009 data, and the 2024 state document lists Neemuch for nitrate and conductivity anomalies at sporadic locations (CGWB district profile, Neemuch (2013); CGWB, GWRA-2024). Test the borewell.

Diversion and ceiling

A parcel sold as non-agricultural needs the diversion order read in full, and a large holding needs the ceiling schedule checked (High Court, June 2022; Supreme Court, January 2021).

Announced is not delivered

The airstrip, airport and both rail lines have no construction dates; a land premium for them is a bet on approval.

Estimated price band

The ₹5–25 lakh per acre band is our estimate, not a sale record or an official rate. Collect registered comparables before negotiating.

Who to contact

Local revenue, planning & forest offices

Mutation and revenue-record matters go through the Tehsildar of the relevant tehsil and the District Collector’s office, listed on the Neemuch district portal (the home page names the Collector’s office but no tehsil list; the Census lists Neemuch, Jawad, Manasa, Jiran and Singoli as sub-districts). Diversion and tribal-land permissions sit with the Collector or the Sub-Divisional Officer, as the judgments cited above describe. Sale deeds are registered through the Sub-Registrar, with guideline rates on Sampada 2.0 (The Statesman, October 2024). Forest questions, including the Gandhi Sagar zone, go to the Forest Department (MoEFCC notification copy). Land records are on MP Bhulekh; we could not open that portal, so ask the seller for a fresh extract.

COMMON QUESTIONS

Frequently asked questions

Everything buyers, NRIs and investors ask before their first reviewed farmland purchase in Neemuch.

Visit full wiki

01 of 04

What does agricultural land cost in Neemuch?

We found no official per-acre rate or dated price series for Neemuch. Our estimate for farm land is about ₹5–25 lakh per acre*, higher in the irrigated belt around Neemuch and Manasa and lower in the drier interior. *Indicative only, not a valuation or an offer; prices vary by plot, road access and title. Check the guideline or ready-reckoner rate with the Sub-Registrar.

Ready to look at what is available?

Browse reviewed listings

Transparency

Sources and references

Law and courts

Government

News

Further reading

Data-currency note: population and area come from the 2013 CGWB profile (Census 2011); groundwater data use 2009 assessments; the CGWB 2024 assessment gave no district rows in the text we read; infrastructure statuses were read in October 2026 and change quickly; price bands are estimates marked with an asterisk. Pages marked not opened are named only as places to check. This is a general guide, not legal advice. Report inaccuracies to wiki@farmlandindia.com.

For developers

Ready to explore Neemuch farmland?

Browse reviewed projects and individual land parcels across Neemuch — or if you own land here, list it with platform review and reach serious buyers.

Farmland India ("the Platform"), operated by Bulk Procure Private Limited, is a digital marketplace for listing agricultural land, farmhouse and plotted development projects. The Platform is not a real estate broker, agent or intermediary under RERA or any other applicable law, and does not act for either party to a transaction.

Listings are submitted by developers, owners and their authorised representatives. Before publication, the Platform carries out a documentary review of the material supplied and records what was sighted. That review is limited to the documents made available to us at that time. It is not a title investigation, not a legal opinion, and not a warranty of title, approvals, or the accuracy of any information supplied by a lister. The Trust Score is an internal assessment produced from that review and is intended as a research aid, not as a guarantee of outcome.

Every buyer must carry out independent due diligence before any transaction — including verification of land records, encumbrance searches, approvals and regulatory compliance — through their own advocate and chartered accountant. Any legal or advisory professional introduced through the Platform is engaged directly by the user, on that professional's own terms; the Platform does not employ, supervise or accept responsibility for their work.

Nothing on the Platform is investment advice. Land values can fall as well as rise. The Platform is not liable for any loss, dispute or damage arising from a transaction between parties.