Farmland India
Mustard and wheat fields on the plains near Gwalior, Madhya Pradesh, with the fort ridge on the horizon

District guide

Buying Land in Gwalior

A canal-irrigated wheat and mustard district in north-west Madhya Pradesh, with an expressway and a bypass under construction and sanctuaries on its edges.

  • 4,560 sq km

    Area

  • 20.32 lakh

    Population (Census 2011)

  • ₹8–90 lakh per acre

    Estimated land price*

  • 88.4 km, under construction

    Agra–Gwalior Expressway

*Indicative range across districts and land types. Stamp duty, registration and conversion charges are additional. Local measurement units vary — every listing states the unit it is priced in. Not a valuation or an offer.

District land record — Gwalior

Rev. 2026 · Farmland India desk

State

Madhya Pradesh

Sub-divisions

3 tehsils (Gird, Pichhor, Bhitarwar) and 4 blocks (Ghatigaon, Morar, Dabra, Bhitarwar) in the 2013 CGWB profile (CGWB district profile); the district portal page we opened does not list tehsils, so ask the Collector's office for the current list

Key markets

Gwalior city (Gird) · Morar · Dabra · Bhitarwar · Ghatigaon

Demand anchors

Agra–Gwalior Expressway and Western Bypass under construction · airport terminal open since April 2024 · railway station redevelopment under way

Rail

Gwalior Junction, redevelopment under way (Swarajya, April 2026)

Size and population

4,560 sq km · 20,32,036 people, Census 2011 (Gwalior district portal; the CGWB profile gives 4,564 sq km)

Estimated land price*

About ₹4–90 lakh per acre depending on the belt; see the price table. *Indicative only

Pricing unit

₹/acre (farm land) · ₹/sq ft (plots)

Local units

Hectares in court and acquisition papers; local units vary by tehsil, so convert any quote to acres or hectares (1 hectare = 2.47 acres) and match it to the khasra

Land records portal

MP Bhulekh (state portal; not opened for this page; ask the seller for a fresh khasra and B-1 extract)

District overview

Gwalior — a canal-irrigated plain with an expressway and a bypass under construction

Gwalior is a north-western Madhya Pradesh district of 4,560 sq km with 20,32,036 people at Census 2011, about 63% of them in towns, and 618 villages (Gwalior district portal). The CGWB profile lists three tehsils (Gird, Pichhor and Bhitarwar) and four blocks (Ghatigaon, Morar, Dabra and Bhitarwar), and names the Parbati, Neon, Morar and Sind as the main drainage (CGWB district profile). Tehsil lists change, so the current one should come from the Collector's office.

We show estimated bands rather than asking prices: roughly ₹8 lakh to ₹25 lakh per acre* for irrigated rural farm land and ₹30 lakh to ₹90 lakh per acre* near the city and the bypass corridor. The bands are rounded and wide because we found no district guideline-rate schedule for farm land and no dated revision report for Gwalior. The estimate is not a valuation.

Gwalior is wheat and mustard country on a canal-fed plain. The ICAR-CRIDA plan, using 2006-07 crop data, puts wheat on 87,000 hectares and mustard on 55,600, with canals supplying 56% of gross irrigated area (ICAR-CRIDA, Gwalior). Road access is the change: an 88.4 km Agra–Gwalior Expressway is under construction (Patrika, May 2026) and a 28.5 km Western Bypass is targeted for January 2028 (Swarajya, April 2026).

  • Gwalior city
  • Dabra
  • Bhitarwar
  • Ghatigaon
  • Western Bypass
  • Agra–Gwalior Expressway
Locator map of Gwalior district in Madhya Pradesh showing Gwalior city, Morar, Dabra, Bhitarwar and Ghatigaon

Transaction costs

Stamp duty & registration in Gwalior

7.5%

Stamp duty (reported)

reported on the higher of market value or transaction value; Registration Department page not opened

3%

Registration fee (reported)

reported on the same base; Registration Department page not opened

~10.5%

Combined (reported)

sum of the two reported rates; an earlier report gave 9.5% to 12.5%

Dainik Jagran English reported on 27 March 2026 stamp duty of 7.5% and a registration charge of 3% on the higher of market value or transaction value. Its 25 March piece said a guideline-rate rise would raise duty and fees in proportion, and that the state had told the Vidhan Sabha no fresh taxes would be levied (Dainik Jagran English, March 2026). We could not open the Registration Department's own fee page, so treat these as reported figures; an earlier piece put the combined range at 9.5% to 12.5%. Ask the Sub-Registrar for the current schedule for agricultural land before you budget. Since 17 December 2025 a short-stamped document attracts a penalty of 1% of the shortfall per month (TeamLease RegTech, December 2025). Registration can be done online through Sampada 2.0, which also shows guideline rates by location (The Statesman, October 2024). We found no Gwalior-specific guideline-rate schedule or revision report for farm land, so check the rate for the khasra's location on Sampada 2.0 or with the Sub-Registrar. The March 2026 reports describe a proposed state-wide average rise of 12% for 2026-27; we did not confirm approval.

Know the belt

What is moving prices in Gwalior

Estimates are rounded and wide. Official figures found for this district are limited to area, population, crop and irrigation data.

Irrigated plains: Dabra, Bhitarwar, Gird villages

Estimated ₹8–25 lakh per acre*

Canal-irrigated wheat land in the rural tehsils forms the main farm-land market. The band is an estimate by analogy with comparable districts, rounded and wide. Irrigation matters most to value: in the ICAR-CRIDA plan canals supply 77,000 hectares and open wells 43,100 (ICAR-CRIDA, Gwalior).

Check: whether the khasra is canal-irrigated or relies on a well, and the guideline rate with the Sub-Registrar.

City fringe and the bypass corridor

Estimated ₹30–90 lakh per acre*

Land between Gwalior city and the planned Western Bypass, and near the expressway end at Susera, is where the road news is concentrated (Swarajya, April 2026; Patrika, May 2026). Prices here also carry plotting potential, which needs diversion and a layout approval; plot and farm-land prices are not comparable.

Check: diversion and development-plan status, and whether any acquisition notification covers the khasra.

Ghatigaon and rain-fed, shallow-soil ground

Estimated ₹4–12 lakh per acre*

The ICAR-CRIDA plan records 24% of the district's soils as shallow and a rainfed area of 89,400 hectares, with most of the mustard rain-fed (ICAR-CRIDA, Gwalior). Ghatigaon sanctuary lies in the same belt (Incredible India, Gwalior).

Check: forest and sanctuary status, water source and road access before paying a deposit.

Guideline rates and acquisition awards

No district rate schedule found

We found no Gwalior guideline-rate (collector rate) schedule for farm land. Statewide, Dainik Jagran English reported in March 2026 a proposed average rise of 12% for 2026-27, and approval was not confirmed. On 22 April 2026 the cabinet cleared higher compensation for rural land acquisition; the Free Press Journal report is inconsistent on whether the multiplier is two or four times market value, so we quote neither (FPJ, April 2026).

Check: the rate in force on the sale-deed date on Sampada 2.0 or with the Sub-Registrar.

Units: acres and hectares

Court orders and acquisition papers in this district use hectares; local land units vary by tehsil. Convert any quote to hectares or acres (1 hectare = 2.47 acres) and match it to the area in the khasra before comparing two offers. We did not open a revenue manual for local units.

Connectivity

How Gwalior connects — road, rail and air

Distances to Delhi, Agra and Bhopal are not given because no official or news source was found. Journey times vary with traffic and road works.

By road

Agra–Gwalior Expressway88.4 km, six-lane; under construction (May 2026)
Gwalior Western Bypass28.5 km, about ₹1,347 crore; target Jan 2028
Atal Progressway (Chambal Expressway)404 km Etawah–Kota via Gwalior; status to confirm

By air

Gwalior Airport, new terminalCommercial operations since 2 Apr 2024
Terminal cost₹5 billion (₹500 crore)
Airlines and routesNot covered in the sources read

By rail & metro

Gwalior JunctionRedevelopment under way (Apr 2026)
Completion dateNot stated in the report
MetroNo metro project found in the sources read

The practical question is the last leg from the highway to the parcel; ask for the access road in the revenue record. Rules for buyers from outside the state: state-wise land laws.

Growth catalysts

Upcoming infrastructure & developments

Status labels reflect sources read in October 2026. Government-announced timelines are not guaranteed; items marked to confirm have a single or an older source.

01Open or inaugurated

04In progress or pending

Under construction · about 8 months behind (May 2026) Agra–Gwalior Expressway
Under construction · target Jan 2028 (Apr 2026) Gwalior Western Bypass
Planned · status to confirm (profile updated Jul 2024) Atal Progressway (Chambal Expressway)
Under way · no completion date (Apr 2026) Gwalior Junction redevelopment
Operational · terminal open 2 Apr 2024 Gwalior Airport new terminal
Under construction · about 8 months behind (May 2026)

Agra–Gwalior Expressway

An 88.4 km six-lane greenfield toll expressway costing ₹4,613 crore, under a build-operate-transfer contract signed in November 2025 with 30 months to build. Patrika reported on 21 May 2026 that it will run up to Susera village on the Gwalior Bypass, cutting Gwalior–Agra travel from about 2.5 hours to about 80 minutes, with a cable-stayed bridge over the Chambal at the National Chambal Sanctuary. Land acquisition in Dholpur's Rajakhera was nearly complete, but the project was about eight months behind after farmers protested over compensation (Patrika, May 2026). The report gives no Gwalior-side land status, so confirm with NHAI.

Source: Patrika, 21 May 2026

Length

88.4 km

Cost

₹4,613 crore

Status

Under construction

Gwalior end

Susera (Gwalior Bypass)

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Gwalior city (Gird)
Under construction · target Jan 2028 (Apr 2026)

Gwalior Western Bypass

A 28.5 km bypass costing about ₹1,347 crore that connects the Agra–Gwalior corridor with the Shivpuri Expressway and links with the Gwalior Expressway. On 30 April 2026 Union minister Jyotiraditya Scindia reviewed it, said it was under construction with completion expected by January 2028, and said a 30 km stretch would take about 15 minutes once done; he added that Gwalior's growth had been concentrated in the east and the west was set to expand (Swarajya, April 2026). The report gives no package or village list.

Source: Swarajya, 30 Apr 2026

Length

28.5 km

Cost

~₹1,347 crore

Status

Under construction

Target

Jan 2028

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Gwalior city (Gird)
Planned · status to confirm (profile updated Jul 2024)

Atal Progressway (Chambal Expressway)

A 404 km greenfield corridor from Etawah in Uttar Pradesh to Kota in Rajasthan through Bhind, Morena, Gwalior and Shivpuri, with an interchange near Gwalior meant to link it to the Agra–Gwalior Expressway, costed at ₹23,645 crore. A project profile last updated in July 2024 records that tenders for packages 3 to 6 were cancelled in January 2024 and gives December 2027 as the stated deadline; it assigns no package to Gwalior district, and we found no 2026 report (The Metro Rail Guy, July 2024). Treat the timeline as unconfirmed.

Source: The Metro Rail Guy, project profile updated 6 Jul 2024

Length

404 km

Cost

₹23,645 crore

Status

Unconfirmed

Stated deadline

Dec 2027

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Gwalior city (Gird)
Under way · no completion date (Apr 2026)

Gwalior Junction redevelopment

On 30 April 2026 Scindia reviewed station modernisation with railway officials: platforms, concourse, arrival and departure zones, parking, ticketing, skylights, façade work and the heritage building section. He told officials to keep to the approved timeline; the report gives no completion date or cost (Swarajya, April 2026).

Source: Swarajya, 30 Apr 2026

Scope

Platforms, concourse, parking, façade

Status

Under way

Completion

Not stated

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Gwalior city (Gird)
Operational · terminal open 2 Apr 2024

Gwalior Airport new terminal

Commercial operations began on 2 April 2024 at the new terminal of Gwalior Airport, built at ₹5 billion (₹500 crore) with a terminal building, ancillary buildings, car parking and city-side development (Indian Infrastructure, April 2024). The report gives neither the terminal's capacity nor its routes.

Source: Indian Infrastructure, 5 Apr 2024

Cost

₹500 crore

Opened

2 Apr 2024

Status

Operational

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Gwalior city (Gird)

Agriculture & terrain

Soil, crops & water in Gwalior

A canal-irrigated wheat and mustard plain, with shallow-soil, rain-fed ground towards Ghatigaon and a river belt along the Sind and Parbati.

🌾 Canal-irrigated plains (Gird, Dabra, Bhitarwar)

The ICAR-CRIDA district plan (crop data for 2006-07, so dated) gives wheat on 87,000 hectares, mustard on 55,600, chickpea on 21,900, paddy on 15,900 and soybean on 15,900, from a net sown area of 195,700 hectares and a cropping intensity of 129%. Canals irrigate 77,000 hectares, open wells 43,100 and bore wells 11,600 (ICAR-CRIDA, Gwalior).

  • Wheat
  • Mustard
  • Chickpea
  • Paddy

⛰️ Shallow soils and the sanctuary belt (Ghatigaon)

The plan puts 61% of the district's soils as deep, 15% medium-deep and 24% shallow (ICAR-CRIDA, Gwalior). Ghatigaon sanctuary is listed at 512 sq km, about 70 km from Gwalior (Incredible India, Gwalior). Forest and sanctuary status matters more than soil near its boundary.

  • Ghatigaon
  • Shallow soil
  • Rain-fed

🌊 River belt

The CGWB profile names the Parbati, Neon, Morar and Sind as the main drainage, with the Baisali, Pahuj, Sank and Asan as tributaries (CGWB district profile). We found no flood-history source for the district, so ask the seller about flooding and check levels against the nearest drain on any low-lying parcel.

  • Sind
  • Parbati
  • Morar
  • Neon

💧 Water & rainfall

Normal annual rainfall is 764.4 mm, of which 701.7 mm falls in the south-west monsoon (ICAR-CRIDA, Gwalior; the CGWB profile gives the same annual figure). The CGWB booklet records a stage of groundwater development of 42%, based on 2009 resources, so it is old data (CGWB district profile). The 2024 state assessment puts Madhya Pradesh at 58.40% extraction (Safe) and lists Gwalior among districts with nitrate above 45 mg/L at sporadic locations, plus electrical-conductivity and uranium anomalies (CGWB, 2024). We found no 2024 stage of extraction for Gwalior. Test the water and ask for the borewell yield before relying on it.

📐 Measurement units

Court orders and acquisition papers use hectares; local land units vary by district and tehsil, so convert every quote to acres or hectares (1 hectare = 2.47 acres) and match it to the khasra before comparing two offers. Crop income is modest next to land values near the city, so price a parcel on location, irrigation and permitted use, not on wheat yield.

At a glance

Gwalior vs. other Madhya Pradesh districts

District / beltPrice band* (per acre)Evidence
Gwalior — canal-irrigated rural tehsils₹8–25 lakh*Estimate; no notified rate seen
Gwalior — city fringe and bypass corridor₹30–90 lakh*Estimate; wide band, plotting potential
Ujjain — rural black-soil belt₹10–30 lakh*Estimate; see the Ujjain page
Sagar — rural plains₹6–18 lakh*Estimate; see the Sagar page

*Indicative only, not a valuation or an offer; prices vary by plot, road access and title. Check the guideline rate with the Sub-Registrar. See the Ujjain page for the Malwa belt around the 2028 Simhastha and the Sagar page for a central district with a tiger reserve.

Fenced farm plot with boundary stones and mustard fields on the plains near Gwalior, Madhya Pradesh

District report — Gwalior

Farmland India view

Why investors look at Gwalior

Five reasoned points, with an honest note that the price evidence is thin and several road projects are still pending.

A canal-irrigated farm district beside a city

About 63% of the district's people live in towns, and canals supply more than half of its irrigated area. That pairing of an urban market with irrigated wheat land is the basic case for the district.

Roads are the main catalyst

The Agra–Gwalior Expressway is under construction but about eight months behind, and the Western Bypass is targeted for January 2028. That is progress, not delivery, so price on today's roads.

Air and rail upgrades are partly in place

The airport terminal has been open since April 2024, and station redevelopment is under way with no completion date. Treat both as supporting access, not as a reason to pay a premium.

A wide spread between farm land and fringe land

Our rounded bands run from about ₹8 lakh to ₹25 lakh per acre* for irrigated rural land to ₹30 lakh to ₹90 lakh* near the bypass corridor. The spread shows how much road access and permitted use matter.

A market that rewards paperwork

Tribal-land permission, diversion, sanctuary boundaries and acquisition notices are all parcel-specific. A buyer who documents each one is better placed than one relying on a broker summary.

Browse reviewed land in Madhya Pradesh

Confirm diversion, planning, forest and guideline-rate status directly; these are not certified by Farmland India’s review.

STRAIGHT TALK

Risks & challenges in Gwalior

Read these before shortlisting in Gwalior specifically.

Tribal-land permission

Section 165(6) permission follows the seller's community. We found no Scheduled Area list for Gwalior, so check the recorded owner's status with the Tehsildar before any deposit.

Protected areas

Ghatigaon sanctuary and the National Chambal Sanctuary are on the tourism page; no eco-sensitive-zone order was found. Ask the Divisional Forest Officer about any khasra near a boundary.

Announced is not delivered

The expressway is about eight months behind, the Western Bypass targets January 2028, Atal Progressway tenders for packages 3 to 6 were cancelled in January 2024 and the station plan has no end date. Price on today's fundamentals.

Diversion and planning approvals

A parcel marketed as farmhouse-ready may not hold a section 172 order. Read the order in full, and check whether the khasra is inside a development plan or acquisition notification.

Groundwater quality

The 2024 state assessment lists Gwalior for nitrate, conductivity and uranium anomalies, and the district's own stage of development rests on 2009 data. Test the water.

Compensation disputes along corridors

Farmers in Dholpur protested compensation on the Agra–Gwalior Expressway, and the April 2026 cabinet decision is reported inconsistently. A khasra in an alignment may be tied up in notices.

Estimated prices

Bands marked * are our rounded estimates, not registered deals. Collect registered comparables in the same revenue estate before negotiating.

Who to contact

Local revenue, planning & forest offices

Mutation and revenue-record matters go through the Tehsildar of the relevant tehsil (the 2013 CGWB profile lists Gird, Pichhor and Bhitarwar; confirm the current list), under the District Collector, whose office is on the Gwalior district portal. Ask the revenue office which officer handles section 172 diversion for a given khasra, the Divisional Forest Officer about forest or sanctuary status, and the Town and Country Planning office about development-plan zoning. Sale-deed registration is handled by the local Sub-Registrar, and registration is now online through Sampada 2.0 (The Statesman, October 2024). We could not open MP Bhulekh or the Registration Department pages, so check them directly.

COMMON QUESTIONS

Frequently asked questions

Everything buyers, NRIs and investors ask before their first reviewed farmland purchase in Gwalior.

Visit full wiki

01 of 04

What does agricultural land cost in Gwalior?

Our rounded estimate is about ₹8 lakh to ₹25 lakh per acre* for canal-irrigated rural land and ₹30 lakh to ₹90 lakh per acre* near the city and the Western Bypass corridor. *Indicative only, not a valuation or an offer; prices vary by plot, road access and title. Check the guideline rate with the Sub-Registrar.

Ready to look at what is available?

Browse reviewed listings

Transparency

Sources and references

Law and courts

Government

News

Further reading

Data-currency note: area and population are district-portal figures (Census 2011); crop and irrigation data come from an ICAR-CRIDA plan that uses 2006-07 crop data and a 2013 CGWB booklet using 2009 groundwater resources; infrastructure statuses were read in October 2026 and change quickly; stamp duty and fees are press-reported. Price bands marked * are our rounded estimates. Pages marked "not opened" are named only as places to check. This is a general guide, not legal advice. Report inaccuracies to wiki@farmlandindia.com.

For developers

Ready to explore Gwalior farmland?

Browse reviewed projects and individual land parcels across Gwalior — or if you own land here, list it with platform review and reach serious buyers.

Farmland India ("the Platform"), operated by Bulk Procure Private Limited, is a digital marketplace for listing agricultural land, farmhouse and plotted development projects. The Platform is not a real estate broker, agent or intermediary under RERA or any other applicable law, and does not act for either party to a transaction.

Listings are submitted by developers, owners and their authorised representatives. Before publication, the Platform carries out a documentary review of the material supplied and records what was sighted. That review is limited to the documents made available to us at that time. It is not a title investigation, not a legal opinion, and not a warranty of title, approvals, or the accuracy of any information supplied by a lister. The Trust Score is an internal assessment produced from that review and is intended as a research aid, not as a guarantee of outcome.

Every buyer must carry out independent due diligence before any transaction — including verification of land records, encumbrance searches, approvals and regulatory compliance — through their own advocate and chartered accountant. Any legal or advisory professional introduced through the Platform is engaged directly by the user, on that professional's own terms; the Platform does not employ, supervise or accept responsibility for their work.

Nothing on the Platform is investment advice. Land values can fall as well as rise. The Platform is not liable for any loss, dispute or damage arising from a transaction between parties.