Farmland India
Wheat fields and a village road in Guna district, Madhya Pradesh

District guide

Buying Land in Guna

A Gwalior-division district on the Kota–Bina rail line and the Agra–Mumbai highway: moderate entry prices on our estimates, with tribal-land, ceiling and diversion checks first.

  • 12.41 lakh

    Population (district portal)

  • 8

    Tehsils (district portal)

  • ₹4–35 lakh/acre

    Estimated land price*

  • Gwalior, ~212 km

    Nearest airport (portal)

*Indicative range across districts and land types. Stamp duty, registration and conversion charges are additional. Local measurement units vary — every listing states the unit it is priced in. Not a valuation or an offer.

District land record — Guna

Rev. 2026 · Farmland India desk

State

Madhya Pradesh

Sub-divisions

Eight tehsils on the home page: Guna, Guna Urban, Aron, Raghogarh, Madhusudhangarh, Bamori, Chachoda and Kumbhraj, with five blocks (Guna district portal). The administrative page lists seven tehsils (without Guna Urban) and five sub-divisions: Guna, Raghogarh, Aron, Chachoda and Bamori (Guna district portal, administrative setup). The district is in the Gwalior division. CONFIRM the current list.

Key markets

Guna city · Aron · Raghogarh · Bamori · Chachoda · Kumbhraj · Madhusudangarh

Demand anchors

Guna on the Kota–Bina rail section · the Guna–Maksi link to Indore and Ujjain · Agra–Mumbai national highway (as the portal names it) · nearest airport Gwalior, about 212 km on the portal · a new airport for Guna announced under UDAN 5.2 (Outlook Traveller, March 2024) · NH 3 Guna–Biaora four-laning approved in 2015 (Cabinet decision page, June 2015)

Rail

Guna is on the Western Railway broad-gauge Kota–Bina section, and the Guna–Maksi link connects it to Indore and Ujjain; trains serve Pune, Kota, Bina, Ujjain, Indore and Gwalior (Guna district portal, how to reach)

Size and population

12,40,938 people, 1,338 villages and 6,390 sq km on the portal home page (Guna district portal); the about page gives 1,264 inhabited villages, 425 village panchayats and two municipalities with three town panchayats (Guna district portal, about the district)

Pricing unit

₹/acre · Estimated land price*: ₹4–35 lakh per acre depending on the micro-area (indicative, see price section)

Local units

Records use survey numbers and hectares; sellers also quote acres and village units whose size can differ by tehsil, so convert to hectares (1 ha is about 2.47 acres)

Land records portal

MP Bhulekh (not opened for this page; check records there)

District overview

Guna — a rail and highway district in the Gwalior division

Guna is in the Gwalior division of Madhya Pradesh, and the portal home page gives 12,40,938 people, 1,338 villages and an area of 6,390 sq km (Guna district portal). Its about page counts 1,264 inhabited villages and 425 village panchayats, with four Assembly seats (Guna district portal, about the district). The eight tehsils and five blocks are listed above; the sub-division list on the administrative page differs by one tehsil.

The portal puts Guna on National Highway 3, the Agra–Mumbai highway (the portal’s own naming; CONFIRM the current number), and on the Western Railway Kota–Bina broad-gauge section, with the Guna–Maksi link to Indore and Ujjain (Guna district portal, how to reach). It says Guna has no airport, with Gwalior about 212 km away and Bhopal about 218 km.

The estimated farm-land price* for Guna runs from about ₹4 lakh to ₹35 lakh per acre. The upper end applies to land beside Guna city and the highway; the middle to farm land around Aron, Raghogarh and Bamori; the lower end to interior farm land in Chachoda, Kumbhraj and Madhusudangarh. No guideline-rate report, compensation award or crop-price series for Guna was found, so the bands are set by analogy with Malwa and Gwalior-division districts and rounded. *Indicative only, not a valuation or an offer; prices vary by plot, road access and title. Check the guideline or ready-reckoner rate with the Sub-Registrar.

  • Guna
  • Aron
  • Raghogarh
  • Bamori
  • Kota–Bina rail
  • Gwalior division
Locator map of Guna district in Madhya Pradesh showing Guna, Aron, Raghogarh, Bamori and Chachoda

Transaction costs

Stamp duty & registration in Guna

7.5%

Stamp duty (reported)

state-wide figure, reported; Registration Department page not opened

3%

Registration fee (reported)

on the same base; CONFIRM with the Sub-Registrar

~10.5%

Combined, reported arithmetic

earlier report gave 9.5% to 12.5%

Dainik Jagran English reported on 27 March 2026 stamp duty of 7.5% and a registration charge of 3% on the higher of market value or transaction value (Dainik Jagran English, March 2026). Its 25 March piece said a guideline-rate rise would raise duty and fees in proportion and that no fresh taxes would be levied (Dainik Jagran English, March 2026); an earlier piece put the combined range at 9.5% to 12.5%. These are state-wide figures as reported, and we could not open the Registration Department’s own fee page, so ask the Guna Sub-Registrar for the current schedule for agricultural land before you budget. Since 17 December 2025 a short-stamped document attracts a penalty of 1% of the shortfall per month (TeamLease RegTech, December 2025). Registration is online through Sampada 2.0, which also shows guideline rates by location (The Statesman, October 2024). We found no Guna-specific guideline-rate report.

Know the belt

What is moving prices in Guna

No district-level guideline report was found, so this section gives our indicative price bands*, the rail and highway facts and the units point.

Estimated land price*: city and highway side

₹12–35 lakh per acre* (Guna city, highway frontage)

Land beside Guna city and the highway, where rail and road access add non-farm demand. The band is wide because we hold no registered-deed series; it is set by analogy and rounded. *Indicative only, not a valuation or an offer; prices vary by plot, road access and title. Check the guideline or ready-reckoner rate with the Sub-Registrar.

Check: access road, diversion status and any widening line on the highway.

Estimated land price*: farm land around Aron, Raghogarh and Bamori

₹5–15 lakh per acre* (Aron, Raghogarh, Bamori)

Settled farm tehsils away from the main road. We did not open a crop or irrigation plan for Guna, so the band reflects analogy rather than a Guna series. *Indicative only, not a valuation or an offer; prices vary by plot, road access and title. Check the guideline or ready-reckoner rate with the Sub-Registrar.

Check: irrigation source, well depth and khasra crop entries.

Estimated land price*: interior farm land

₹4–12 lakh per acre* (Chachoda, Kumbhraj, Madhusudangarh)

Farm land with weaker road access. Cheaper to enter, slower to resell. *Indicative only, not a valuation or an offer; prices vary by plot, road access and title. Check the guideline or ready-reckoner rate with the Sub-Registrar.

Check: legal access, survey boundaries and encroachment.

Units: hectare, acre and village units

Madhya Pradesh revenue records identify land by survey number (khasra) and area, and court orders in the state describe holdings in hectares (Supreme Court, April 2025). Sellers and brokers also quote acres and village units whose size can differ by district and tehsil. Convert every quote to hectares or acres (one hectare is about 2.47 acres, our arithmetic) and match it to the khasra area; we did not open a revenue manual for local unit definitions.

Connectivity

How Guna connects — road, rail and air

Guna’s portal gives only two distances (Gwalior airport and Bhopal); other road distances are not given because no source was opened. Journey times vary with traffic and road works.

By road

National highwayNational Highway 3, the Agra–Mumbai highway, per the portal (number CONFIRM)
BhopalAbout 218 km (district portal)
Four-laning (approved 2015)NH 3 Guna to Biaora, about 93.5 km; Biaora to Dewas about 141 km (CCEA decision, June 2015; build status CONFIRM)

By air

In GunaNo airport on the portal; a new airport for Guna was announced in March 2024 (Outlook Traveller)
Gwalior airportAbout 212 km (district portal)

By rail

Kota–Bina sectionWestern Railway broad gauge
Guna–Maksi linkTo Indore and Ujjain
Train servicesPune, Kota, Bina, Ujjain, Indore, Gwalior
MetroNo metro project found in the sources read

Connectivity is as stated on the district portal, which names no station and gives few distances; the practical test is a drive from the nearest rail or highway junction to the parcel, and the access road should appear in the revenue record. Full Madhya Pradesh rules are in the state-wise land laws guide.

Growth catalysts

Upcoming infrastructure & developments

Status labels reflect sources read in October 2026. Items marked CONFIRM have a single or an older source.

02Open or in service

01In progress, pending or not found

In service · listed on district portal Kota–Bina rail section and Guna–Maksi link
In service · listed on district portal Agra–Mumbai national highway
Announced · airport, no start date found Air access and new projects
In service · listed on district portal

Kota–Bina rail section and Guna–Maksi link

The Guna district portal says Guna lies on the Western Railway broad-gauge Kota–Bina section, that the Guna–Maksi link connects it to Indore and Ujjain, and that trains serve Pune, Kota, Bina, Ujjain, Indore and Gwalior (Guna district portal, how to reach). It gives no dates for the lines and we found no doubling, electrification or new-line report for Guna.

Source: Guna district portal, how to reach (opened October 2026)

Main section

Kota–Bina

Link

Guna–Maksi

Cost

Not stated

Upgrade report

None found

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Guna
  • Aron
  • Raghogarh
In service · four-laning approved 2015, build status CONFIRM

Agra–Mumbai national highway

The portal places Guna on National Highway 3, the Agra–Mumbai highway (Guna district portal, how to reach). National highway numbers in this part of India have been renumbered, so CONFIRM the current number with NHAI. The Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs approved four-laning of the Guna to Biaora section (about 93.5 km, ₹1,081.9 crore) and the Biaora to Dewas section (about 141 km, ₹1,733.79 crore) of NH 3 on 10 June 2015, on a design-build-finance-operate-transfer toll basis, in a total of ₹2,815.69 crore (Cabinet decision page, June 2015). We read that decision page only; we did not find a report on build status or the present state of the road, so CONFIRM with NHAI before relying on it. Any widening brings acquisition notices that the Collector can show.

Source: Guna district portal, how to reach (opened October 2026); Cabinet decision, 10 Jun 2015

Highway

Agra–Mumbai

Portal number

NH 3, CONFIRM

Cost

Not stated

Upgrade report

Guna–Biaora, 93.5 km (2015 approval)

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Guna
  • Raghogarh
  • Bamori
Announced · airport, no start date found

Air access and new projects

The portal says Guna has no airport and names Gwalior, about 212 km away, as the nearest (Guna district portal, how to reach). Outlook Traveller reported (updated 8 March 2024) that Guna and Shivpuri were to get new airports under the UDAN 5.2 regional scheme, with ₹45 crore allotted to each and the Airports Authority of India to run them (Outlook Traveller, March 2024). We found no construction, tender or flight-start report, so treat it as announced only. We also found no expressway or industrial-corridor project for Guna. Check NHAI, Indian Railways and the Collector’s office before relying on any corridor claim from a seller.

Source: Guna district portal, how to reach (opened October 2026); Outlook Traveller, Mar 2024

Nearest airport

Gwalior

Distance

~212 km

Guna project

Airport, ₹45 crore (announced)

Status

CONFIRM

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Guna

Agriculture & terrain

Soil, crops & water in Guna

A farm district on the Kota–Bina rail line; crop, soil and rainfall tables were not opened, so this section says what it can and no more.

🌾 Farm land (whole district)

The ICAR-CRIDA contingency plan (a 2012 document, so dated) puts Guna in the Gird agro-climatic zone and lists soybean as the largest kharif crop at 182.6 thousand hectares, with maize 14.6, then wheat 91.8, gram 83.7 and mustard 11.2 thousand hectares in rabi (ICAR-CRIDA contingency plan, Guna, 2012). Shallow soils cover about 57.8% of the area and deep soils about 37.3%. The district portal gives settlement and administrative figures only (Guna district portal). Ask for the last three years of khasra crop entries and check Agmarknet for local mandi prices.

  • Soybean
  • Wheat
  • Gram
  • Mustard
  • 2012 data

🏞 Rivers and canals

The same plan gives a gross irrigated area of 148.0 thousand hectares, about 47% of the cropped area, with 53% rain-fed. By source, bore wells supply about 38.4% of the irrigated area, open wells 27.1%, canals 13.4%, tanks 3% and lift and other sources 18.1% (ICAR-CRIDA contingency plan, Guna, 2012). Wells and bore wells therefore carry most irrigation, so test water and well depth for any plot. The portal pages we opened do not name rivers or canals; ask for the irrigation source on the khasra.

  • 47% irrigated
  • Wells 65%
  • Canals 13%
  • 2012 data

⛏ Forest and minerals

We found no sourced forest-cover or mineral figures for Guna. Quarry or lease land can sit beside farm land; ask the Mining Officer whether any lease touches the parcel.

  • Forest: not sourced
  • Leases: ask

💧 Water & rainfall

The 2024 state groundwater assessment reports a stage of extraction of 58.40% for Madhya Pradesh as a whole, in the Safe category (CGWB, Madhya Pradesh 2024). We did not read the Guna district entry. The ICAR-CRIDA plan gives annual rainfall of about 855 mm, but its monsoon figure does not reconcile with that total, so treat rainfall as approximate and CONFIRM with the India Meteorological Department (ICAR-CRIDA contingency plan, Guna, 2012). Test water and measure well depth before planning a farmhouse.

📐 Measurement units

Madhya Pradesh records use survey numbers and hectares; sellers also quote acres and village units whose size can differ by tehsil. Convert every quote to hectares or acres before comparing two offers (one hectare is about 2.47 acres). Live mandi prices are on Agmarknet (not opened for this page); price a parcel on water, access and permitted use.

At a glance

Guna vs. its neighbours

District / beltPrice band* (per acre)Evidence
Guna — city and highway side*₹12–35 lakh*Indicative estimate; not a valuation
Guna — Aron, Raghogarh, Bamori farm land*₹5–15 lakh*Indicative estimate; not a valuation
Guna — interior farm land*₹4–12 lakh*Indicative estimate; not a valuation
Rajgarh — Biaora, Sarangpur, Rajgarh irrigated belt*₹7–18 lakh*Indicative estimate; see the Rajgarh page
Vidisha — plains*₹8–25 lakh*Indicative estimate; see the Vidisha page
Gwalior — canal-irrigated rural tehsils*₹8–25 lakh*Indicative estimate; see the Gwalior page

*Indicative only, not a valuation or an offer; prices vary by plot, road access and title. Check the guideline or ready-reckoner rate with the Sub-Registrar. See the Rajgarh page, the Vidisha page and the Gwalior page for neighbouring belts. The NH 3 four-laning approved in 2015 runs from Guna to Biaora and Dewas, tying Guna to the Biaora side of Rajgarh district (CCEA decision, June 2015). On irrigation, the ICAR-CRIDA plan shows about 47% of Guna’s cropped area irrigated, mostly from wells, so well-irrigated and rain-fed parcels price differently.

Fenced farm plot with boundary stones and a wheat field near Guna, Madhya Pradesh

District report — Guna

Farmland India view

Why investors look at Guna

Four reasoned points, with an honest note that sourced local evidence for Guna is thin.

Rail and highway in one district

The portal puts Guna on the Kota–Bina rail section with a link to Indore and Ujjain, and on the Agra–Mumbai highway (Guna district portal, how to reach). Access is the district’s clearest asset.

Entry prices are moderate on our estimates

Our indicative bands* run from about ₹4 lakh an acre for interior land to ₹35 lakh beside the city and highway. Any price needs water, access and title.

A large district with many tehsils

Eight tehsils and 1,338 villages give a range of farm belts to compare (Guna district portal), though we hold no per-tehsil price series.

No airport, so not a tourism play

The nearest airport is Gwalior, about 212 km away. Demand here is farm and logistics led rather than lifestyle led, as far as the sources let us say.

Browse reviewed land in Guna

Confirm tribal-land, ceiling, diversion, forest and acquisition status directly; these are not certified by Farmland India’s review.

STRAIGHT TALK

Risks & challenges in Guna

Read these before shortlisting in Guna specifically.

Thin local evidence

The crop and irrigation figures are from a 2012 ICAR-CRIDA plan, and we could not open district-level groundwater, industrial or price reports. Read each parcel on its own khasra and registered comparables.

Conflicting district figures

The home page gives 1,338 villages, 8 tehsils and no sub-divisions; the about and administrative pages give 1,264 inhabited villages, 7 tehsils and 5 sub-divisions. Match the parcel to the current tehsil in the revenue record.

Tribal-land permission

Section 165(6) permission is needed for a sale by a tribal holder to a non-tribal outside notified areas, and the bar is absolute inside them. We found no list of notified Guna villages, so ask the Collector in writing.

Highway acquisition

Land beside a national highway can fall inside a widening or service-road alignment. Ask the Collector and NHAI for notices on the khasra; four-laning of the Guna to Biaora section was approved in 2015 and its present status is a CONFIRM item.

Ceiling and diversion paper

The Ceiling Act figures come from a legal-database copy and diversion procedure was not read. Ask for the diversion order and any ceiling proceedings in full.

Estimated prices are indicative

The price bands* are estimates by analogy, not registered-deed series. Collect registered comparables in the same revenue estate before negotiating.

Airport announced, not built

The UDAN 5.2 airport for Guna was announced in March 2024 with ₹45 crore; we found no tender or construction report. Do not price land on it.

Well-dependent irrigation

About two-thirds of irrigated area in the 2012 plan came from wells and bore wells. Check depth, yield and the current groundwater category before buying for farming.

Who to contact

Local revenue, planning & forest offices

Mutation and revenue-record matters go through the Tehsildar of the relevant tehsil; the portal lists Guna, Raghogarh, Aron, Chachoda, Bamori, Madhusudangarh and Kumbhraj, plus Guna Urban on its home page (Guna district portal, administrative setup). The Sub-Divisional Officer (Revenue) handles diversion, the Collector’s office handles tribal-land permission, ceiling matters and acquisition notices, and sale-deed registration is done at the Sub-Registrar’s office, with online registration through Sampada 2.0. We could not open MP Bhulekh or the Registration Department pages, so check them directly.

COMMON QUESTIONS

Frequently asked questions

Everything buyers, NRIs and investors ask before their first reviewed farmland purchase in Guna.

Visit full wiki

01 of 04

What does farm land cost in Guna?

We estimate* roughly ₹12–35 lakh per acre beside Guna city and the highway, ₹5–15 lakh around Aron, Raghogarh and Bamori, and ₹4–12 lakh for interior farm land. These are indicative estimates, not a valuation or an offer; prices vary by plot, road access and title. We found no Guna guideline-rate report or compensation award.

Ready to look at what is available?

Browse reviewed listings

Transparency

Sources and references

Law and courts

Government

News

Further reading

Data-currency note: district portal figures differ between pages (villages 1,338 against 1,264; tehsils 8 against 7); the ICAR-CRIDA crop, irrigation and soil figures date from 2012 and its rainfall figures do not reconcile; the NH 3 four-laning approval dates from June 2015 and is read from a page reproducing the cabinet decision, with build status not found; the airport is an announcement from March 2024; the stamp duty is a press-reported figure. Pages marked “not opened” are named only as places to check. Price bands marked with an asterisk are indicative estimates, not valuations. This is a general guide, not legal advice. Report inaccuracies to wiki@farmlandindia.com.

For developers

Ready to explore Guna farmland?

Browse reviewed projects and individual land parcels across Guna — or if you own land here, list it with platform review and reach serious buyers.

Farmland India ("the Platform"), operated by Bulk Procure Private Limited, is a digital marketplace for listing agricultural land, farmhouse and plotted development projects. The Platform is not a real estate broker, agent or intermediary under RERA or any other applicable law, and does not act for either party to a transaction.

Listings are submitted by developers, owners and their authorised representatives. Before publication, the Platform carries out a documentary review of the material supplied and records what was sighted. That review is limited to the documents made available to us at that time. It is not a title investigation, not a legal opinion, and not a warranty of title, approvals, or the accuracy of any information supplied by a lister. The Trust Score is an internal assessment produced from that review and is intended as a research aid, not as a guarantee of outcome.

Every buyer must carry out independent due diligence before any transaction — including verification of land records, encumbrance searches, approvals and regulatory compliance — through their own advocate and chartered accountant. Any legal or advisory professional introduced through the Platform is engaged directly by the user, on that professional's own terms; the Platform does not employ, supervise or accept responsibility for their work.

Nothing on the Platform is investment advice. Land values can fall as well as rise. The Platform is not liable for any loss, dispute or damage arising from a transaction between parties.