Farmland India
Aerial view of canal-fed farmland and teak forest near Seoni, Madhya Pradesh

District guide

Buying Land in Seoni

A canal-irrigated Satpura district beside the Pench Tiger Reserve: scheduled tehsils, 37 per cent forest, a four-lane to Balaghat cleared but unbuilt, and indicative land-price bands only.

  • 8,758 sq km

    Area (district portal)

  • 13.79 lakh

    Population (Census 2011)

  • ₹3–25 lakh per acre

    Estimated land price*

  • 91.64 km, ₹3,458 crore

    Seoni–Balaghat four-lane

*Indicative range across districts and land types. Stamp duty, registration and conversion charges are additional. Local measurement units vary — every listing states the unit it is priced in. Not a valuation or an offer.

District land record — Seoni

Rev. 2026 · Farmland India desk

State

Madhya Pradesh

Sub-divisions

8 tehsils and blocks in the CGWB 2013 profile: Seoni, Kurai, Lakhnadon, Ghansor, Keolari, Barghat, Chhapara and Dhanora (CGWB profile, 2013)

Key markets

Seoni · Barghat · Lakhnadon · Keolari · Kurai

Demand anchors

NH-44 through the Pench wildlife-crossing stretch to Nagpur · Seoni–Balaghat four-lane cleared by the state cabinet on 25 August 2026 · canal-irrigated farm land

Rail

Seoni railway station is the nearest, per the district portal (Seoni portal, October 2026)

Size and population

8,758 sq km · 13,79,131 people at the 2011 Census, of whom 4,29,104 are Scheduled Tribe · 1,587 villages (Seoni district portal, October 2026)

Estimated land price*

₹3–25 lakh per acre* (wide band: forest-edge tehsils to the NH-44 belt). *Indicative only, not a valuation or an offer; prices vary by plot, road access and title. Check the guideline or ready-reckoner rate with the Sub-Registrar.

Pricing unit

₹/acre (farm land) · records in hectares

Local units

Area is recorded in hectares; local units vary by district and tehsil, so convert every quote to acres or hectares (1 hectare is about 2.47 acres)

Land records portal

MP Bhulekh (not opened for this page; ask the seller for a fresh khasra and B-1 extract)

District overview

Seoni — a canal-irrigated Satpura district beside Pench with scheduled tehsils and one road project cleared

Seoni covers 8,758 sq km on the Satpura plateau. The district portal gives 13,79,131 people at the 2011 Census, 1,587 villages, forest on about 37% of the area, and the Wainganga rising at Mundara village (Seoni district portal). Six road routes link the town to Jabalpur, Mandla, Balaghat, Nagpur, Chhindwara and Narsinghpur, and Seoni has its own railway station; the nearest airports are Nagpur and Jabalpur (same portal, how to reach).

We found no official per-acre figure for Seoni. The estimated bands on this page, marked with an asterisk, are our indicative ranges derived by analogy with comparable Mahakoshal districts and kept wide: scheduled forest-edge tehsils sit below the NH-44 belt around Seoni and Barghat. The state-level guideline-rate items we could source are statewide (Free Press Journal, March 2023; Dainik Jagran English, 25 March 2026). A guideline rate is a registration floor, not a market price.

Seoni is farm land and forest first. The CGWB profile lists soybean, groundnut, wheat and rice as principal crops and shows canals irrigating about 56,800 hectares, far more than most districts in the state (CGWB profile, 2013). The Seoni–Balaghat four-lane was cleared by the state cabinet on 25 August 2026 (The Hawk, August 2026); the NH-44 stretch through Pench already carries wildlife crossings (Swarajya, February 2020).

  • Seoni
  • Barghat
  • Lakhnadon
  • Keolari
  • Kurai
  • Pench Tiger Reserve
Locator map of Seoni district in Madhya Pradesh showing Seoni, Barghat, Lakhnadon, Keolari and Kurai

Transaction costs

Stamp duty & registration in Seoni

7.5%

Stamp duty, as reported

of market value or transaction value, whichever is higher; press report, department page not opened

3%

Registration fee, as reported

on the same base; press report, department page not opened

~10.5%

Combined, reported arithmetic

an earlier report put the range at 9.5% to 12.5%; confirm with the Sub-Registrar

Dainik Jagran English reported on 27 March 2026 stamp duty of 7.5% and a registration charge of 3% on the higher of market value or transaction value (Dainik Jagran English, March 2026). Its 25 March piece said a guideline-rate rise would raise duty and fees in proportion (Dainik Jagran English, 25 March 2026). We could not open the Registration Department’s own fee page, so treat these as reported figures and ask the Sub-Registrar for the current schedule for agricultural land. Since 17 December 2025 a short-stamped document attracts a penalty of 1% of the shortfall per month (TeamLease RegTech, December 2025). Registration can be done online through Sampada 2.0, which also shows guideline rates by location (The Statesman, October 2024). Seoni-specific schedules, if any, were not found.

Know the belt

What is moving prices in Seoni

No official per-acre series was found. The cards below carry estimated bands (asterisk) and say what to check. *Indicative only, not a valuation or an offer; prices vary by plot, road access and title. Check the guideline or ready-reckoner rate with the Sub-Registrar.

Seoni and Barghat: NH-44 belt

Estimated ₹8–25 lakh per acre*

Seoni is on the highway to Nagpur and Jabalpur, and the town has the nearest railway station (Seoni portal). The band is derived by analogy with comparable highway-side farm land and is widened for frontage. No frontage rate was sourced.

Check: road access in the revenue record, distance from the carriageway and forest or buffer status.

Keolari, Chhapara and Dhanora: canal-irrigated land

Estimated ₹5–15 lakh per acre*

Canals irrigate about 56,800 hectares of the district (CGWB profile, 2013), and soybean, groundnut, wheat and rice are the principal crops. The band is derived by analogy with comparable canal-fed Mahakoshal land.

Check: whether the parcel is on a canal command or relies on a well, and the water-user arrangement.

Lakhnadon, Kurai and Ghansor: scheduled forest-edge tehsils

Estimated ₹3–10 lakh per acre*

These three tahsils are listed in the legal-database copy of the 2003 Order (Scheduled Areas Order, 2003 (legal-database copy)), and the Pench buffer holds 107 villages (NTCA brief note, Pench (MP)). Notified status, forest cover and distance from markets hold the estimate down.

Check: tribal status of the seller, notified-area status and buffer or eco-sensitive status in writing.

Guideline rates

No Seoni figure found

Statewide, rates were revised at about 18,000 locations from 1 April 2023 (Free Press Journal, March 2023). The 2026-27 proposal reported for Bhopal does not cover Seoni (Dainik Jagran English, 25 March 2026).

Check: the rate for the village on the Sampada 2.0 portal or at the Sub-Registrar on the day of registration.

Units: acres, hectares and local terms

Land in Madhya Pradesh is recorded by survey number, with area in hectares in court orders and acres in the Ceiling Act figures; one hectare is about 2.47 acres (our arithmetic). Local units vary by district and tehsil and no revenue manual was opened for them, so convert every quote to acres or hectares and ask the Patwari what the khasra records before comparing two offers.

Connectivity

How Seoni connects — road, rail and air

Routes and nearest airports come from the district portal’s how-to-reach page; no independent drive times were checked.

By road

Road routesSix, to Jabalpur, Mandla, Balaghat, Nagpur, Chhindwara, Narsinghpur (portal)
NH-44 Pench stretch37 km with wildlife crossings, finished Mar 2019
Seoni–Balaghat four-lane91.64 km, ₹3,458 crore; cabinet 25 Aug 2026

By air

Nearest airportsNagpur and Jabalpur (portal)
Airstrip in the districtNone found
Flights from the districtNone found

By rail & metro

Seoni stationNearest station, per portal
Services and gaugeNot stated on the portal
MetroNo metro project found for Seoni

The practical question is the last leg from the highway to the parcel; ask for the access road in the revenue record. Full rules: Madhya Pradesh land laws.

Growth catalysts

Upcoming infrastructure & developments

Status labels reflect sources read in October 2026. Government-announced timelines are not guaranteed; the Seoni–Balaghat road rests on one report.

01Open or operating

01In progress or pending

Operating · completed Mar 2019 NH-44 Pench wildlife-crossing stretch
Cleared by cabinet · 25 Aug 2026 Seoni–Balaghat four-lane
Operating · completed Mar 2019

NH-44 Pench wildlife-crossing stretch

Swarajya reported on 24 February 2020 that a 37 km stretch of the Seoni–Nagpur highway (NH-44) through Pench Tiger Reserve was finished in March 2019 with five underpasses, four minor bridges and a 750 m underpass, after work that began in 2010 and court challenges in 2011 and 2015. Camera traps recorded animals using the structures, and researchers from the Wildlife Institute of India found 11 tigers frequently using them (Swarajya, February 2020). The article is six years old, so it describes the road and not current traffic.

Source: Swarajya, 24 Feb 2020

Stretch

37 km

Crossings

5 underpasses, 4 minor bridges

Longest underpass

750 m

Completed

Mar 2019

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Seoni
  • Kurai
Cleared by cabinet · 25 Aug 2026

Seoni–Balaghat four-lane

The Hawk reported on 25 August 2026 that the Madhya Pradesh cabinet cleared a 91.64 km, ₹3,458 crore four-lane road from Seoni to Balaghat on the hybrid annuity model, with about 40% of the cost paid in ten instalments during construction and the rest over 15 years from the state budget (The Hawk, August 2026). The report gives no alignment by village, tender date or completion date, and does not say whether work has started, so confirm the alignment and any land notices with the Public Works Department.

Source: The Hawk, 25 Aug 2026

Length

91.64 km

Cost

₹3,458 crore

Model

Hybrid annuity

Completion

Not stated

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Seoni
  • Barghat

Agriculture & terrain

Soil, crops & water in Seoni

A canal-irrigated plateau district with soybean, groundnut, wheat and rice, and nearly four-tenths forest.

🌾 Plains and canal land (Seoni, Barghat, Keolari, Chhapara, Dhanora)

The CGWB profile gives black cotton, sandy loam, loamy and moland soils, with soybean, groundnut, wheat and rice as principal crops (CGWB profile). The profile is from 2013, so treat crop areas as dated.

  • Soybean
  • Groundnut
  • Wheat
  • Rice

🌲 Forest and Pench belt

The district portal says about 37% of Seoni is forest, rich in timber and forest produce, with teak the main tree, and that Pench National Park forms the core of a tiger reserve (Seoni portal). Core and buffer areas are 411.33 and 768.30 sq km, with 107 buffer villages (NTCA brief note, Pench (MP)). Legal status matters more than soil here.

  • Pench
  • Teak
  • Buffer villages
  • Forest

🌊 Wainganga and Sanjay Sarovar

The portal says the Wainganga rises at Mundara village in Seoni and that the Sanjay Sarovar, a large mud dam, supplies water for farming and drinking (Seoni portal). We found no sourced flood record for Seoni, so ask the seller for flood history on low parcels.

  • Wainganga
  • Sanjay Sarovar

💧 Water & rainfall

The CGWB profile (2013, data to March 2013) gives normal rainfall of 1,323.7 mm, about 86% of it in the south-west monsoon, and a stage of groundwater development of 26% on a 2009 base, with 29% and 46% in other sections of the same document; all eight blocks are Safe and none is notified (CGWB profile). It lists 79 canals irrigating about 56,800 hectares, 24,367 dug wells about 31,800 hectares, 790 tanks about 8,900 hectares and 954 tube and bore wells about 3,300 hectares, with a net irrigated area of about 1,13,700 hectares. Pre-monsoon depth to water in 2012 ran from 2.32 to 26.52 m below ground. The 2024 assessment puts Madhya Pradesh as a whole at 58.40% extraction, in its Safe range (CGWB, GWRA-2024); we did not read a 2024 category for Seoni’s blocks, so check the current category for any borewell-dependent parcel.

📐 Measurement units

Land in Madhya Pradesh is recorded by survey number, with area in hectares in court orders and acres in the Ceiling Act figures; one hectare is about 2.47 acres (our arithmetic). Local units vary by district and tehsil and no revenue manual was opened for them, so convert every quote to acres or hectares and ask the Patwari what the khasra records before comparing two offers. Live mandi prices are on the state and national mandi portals (not opened for this page); price a parcel on location, legal status and permitted use, not on crop income.

At a glance

Seoni vs. its neighbours

District / beltEstimated land price* (per acre)Evidence
Seoni — NH-44 belt around Seoni and Barghat₹8–25 lakh*Estimated by analogy; no guideline figure found
Seoni — canal-irrigated Keolari, Chhapara, Dhanora₹5–15 lakh*Estimated by analogy
Seoni — scheduled forest-edge tehsils₹3–10 lakh*Estimated; notified-area and Pench buffer checks
Betul — Satpura and Tapti belt₹3–35 lakh*Estimated; see the Betul page
Shajapur — Malwa black soil₹8–60 lakh*Estimated; see the Shajapur page

*Indicative only, not a valuation or an offer; prices vary by plot, road access and title. Check the guideline or ready-reckoner rate with the Sub-Registrar. See the Betul page for the other Satpura-side district with scheduled tehsils and the Shajapur page for a Malwa farm district.

Fenced farm plot with boundary stones, canal-fed fields and teak forest near Seoni, Madhya Pradesh

District report — Seoni

Farmland India view

Why investors look at Seoni

Five reasoned points, with an honest note that the price evidence is thin and one road project is only cleared.

Canal-fed farm land

Canals irrigate about 56,800 hectares in the older profile and every block is marked Safe for groundwater. Irrigation risk looks lower here than in Shajapur, though the profile is from 2013.

A highway already built through Pench

The 37 km NH-44 stretch with wildlife crossings finished in March 2019. That is existing access, and it comes with wildlife-law constraints on nearby land.

One road cleared, not built

The 91.64 km Seoni–Balaghat four-lane was cleared by the cabinet in August 2026. No start or completion date is reported, so price on today’s roads.

Wide gap between belts

The NH-44 belt, the canal-fed tehsils and the scheduled forest-edge tehsils behave like different markets, which is why the estimated bands run wide.

Legal checks decide the deal

Scheduled tehsils, Pench buffer and forest cover can stop a sale or a farmhouse. A buyer who holds the written answers is better placed than one relying on a broker summary.

Browse reviewed land in Seoni

Confirm tribal-land status, notified-area status, buffer status and diversion directly; these are not certified by Farmland India’s review. *Indicative only, not a valuation or an offer; prices vary by plot, road access and title. Check the guideline or ready-reckoner rate with the Sub-Registrar.

STRAIGHT TALK

Risks & challenges in Seoni

Read these before shortlisting in Seoni specifically.

Scheduled tehsils

Lakhnadon, Ghansor and Kurai are listed in a legal-database copy of the 2003 Order, and about 31% of residents are Scheduled Tribe on the district portal figures. The sale bar on tribal land to non-tribals is absolute in notified areas. Ask the Collector’s office.

Pench buffer and forest cover

Core is 411.33 sq km, buffer 768.30 sq km with 107 villages, and about 37% of the district is forest. Ask the Forest Department about core, buffer and eco-sensitive status in writing.

Tribal-land permission

A sale without Collector-rank written permission is exposed (Supreme Court, April 2025), and a Will needs the same permission (High Court, February 2025).

Diversion and premium

Change of use can bring reassessment and a premium (Supreme Court, August 2008). We could not read the current procedure under sections 172 and 190.

Ceiling-surplus land

Holdings above the ceiling can be declared surplus (Supreme Court, January 2021). Ask whether proceedings were ever opened on the seller’s family.

A reported, not official, duty rate

The 7.5% duty and 3% fee come from a March 2026 press report. Ask the Sub-Registrar for the current schedule.

Estimated, not registered, prices*

The land-price bands here are indicative estimates, not registered deals. Collect registered comparables from the same revenue estate before negotiating.

Announced is not delivered

The Seoni–Balaghat road was only cleared by cabinet in August 2026, with no start or finish date reported. Price on today’s access.

Who to contact

Local revenue, planning & forest offices

Mutation and revenue-record matters go through the Tehsildar of the relevant tehsil and the village Patwari. Permission to sell tribal-held land comes from a revenue officer of Collector rank or above, and the Supreme Court accepted in 2025 that an Additional Collector can act under a work-allocation order (Supreme Court, April 2025). Whether a village is a notified Scheduled-Area village is answered by the District Collector’s office; the Seoni district portal did not list tehsils when we read it. Pench buffer and forest questions go to the Forest Department. Sale deeds are registered with the Sub-Registrar under the Registration Department, also online through Sampada 2.0 (The Statesman, October 2024). We could not open the MP Bhulekh, Registration Department or India Code pages, so check them directly.

COMMON QUESTIONS

Frequently asked questions

Everything buyers, NRIs and investors ask before their first reviewed farmland purchase in Seoni.

Visit full wiki

01 of 04

Can an outsider buy agricultural land in Seoni?

None of the court orders or Act texts opened for the Madhya Pradesh page bars a buyer for not being a farmer, and we read no Seoni-specific order. Lakhnadon, Ghansor and Kurai are listed as Scheduled in a legal-database copy of the 2003 Order, where sale of tribal land to a non-tribal is barred. NRIs and OCIs cannot buy agricultural land under the RBI Master Direction.

Ready to look at what is available?

Browse reviewed listings

Transparency

Sources and references

Law and courts

Government

News

Further reading

Data-currency note: the CGWB profile is from 2013 and the Scheduled Areas text is a legal-database copy of the 2003 Order; the district portal population is the 2011 Census; infrastructure statuses were read in October 2026 and change quickly; the stamp duty is a press-reported figure. Land-price bands marked with an asterisk are indicative estimates, not valuations. The MP Bhulekh portal, the Registration Department site, India Code, the Land Revenue Code text and the root pages of the district portal could not be opened, so nothing is attributed to a reading of them. This is a general guide, not legal advice. Report inaccuracies to wiki@farmlandindia.com.

For developers

Ready to explore Seoni farmland?

Browse reviewed projects and individual land parcels across Seoni — or if you own land here, list it with platform review and reach serious buyers.

Farmland India ("the Platform"), operated by Bulk Procure Private Limited, is a digital marketplace for listing agricultural land, farmhouse and plotted development projects. The Platform is not a real estate broker, agent or intermediary under RERA or any other applicable law, and does not act for either party to a transaction.

Listings are submitted by developers, owners and their authorised representatives. Before publication, the Platform carries out a documentary review of the material supplied and records what was sighted. That review is limited to the documents made available to us at that time. It is not a title investigation, not a legal opinion, and not a warranty of title, approvals, or the accuracy of any information supplied by a lister. The Trust Score is an internal assessment produced from that review and is intended as a research aid, not as a guarantee of outcome.

Every buyer must carry out independent due diligence before any transaction — including verification of land records, encumbrance searches, approvals and regulatory compliance — through their own advocate and chartered accountant. Any legal or advisory professional introduced through the Platform is engaged directly by the user, on that professional's own terms; the Platform does not employ, supervise or accept responsibility for their work.

Nothing on the Platform is investment advice. Land values can fall as well as rise. The Platform is not liable for any loss, dispute or damage arising from a transaction between parties.