Farmland India
Aerial view of soybean fields and the Narmada landscape near Khandwa in the Nimar region of Madhya Pradesh

District guide

Buying Land in Khandwa

An Omkareshwar-anchored Nimar district: black-soil soybean and wheat farming, a Scheduled Area block, an Indore-side four-lane near completion, a reported sanctuary and wide estimated price bands.

  • 13.09 lakh

    Population (Census 2011)

  • ₹5-35 lakh per acre

    Estimated land price*

  • 777.6 mm

    Normal rainfall (CGWB)

  • 33.4 km, Dec 2026 target

    Indore-Balwada four-lane

*Indicative range across districts and land types. Stamp duty, registration and conversion charges are additional. Local measurement units vary — every listing states the unit it is priced in. Not a valuation or an offer.

District land record — Khandwa

Rev. 2026 · Farmland India desk

State

Madhya Pradesh

Sub-divisions

3 tehsils (Khandwa, Pandhana, Harsud) and 7 to 8 development blocks (Khandwa, Chhaigaon Makhan, Pandhana, Harsud, Khalwa, Baldi, Punasa) (MSME-DI profile; CGWB district profile); the profile itself says 7 blocks and lists 8, so check the portal

Key markets

Khandwa city · Pandhana · Harsud · Punasa · Omkareshwar side

Demand anchors

Indore–Balwada four-lane and Indore–Khandwa broad-gauge line in progress · NH-347B upgrade approved · Omkareshwar pilgrimage and a reported new sanctuary

Rail

Khandwa Junction, the nearest broad-gauge station for neighbouring Khargone per the Khargone profile (MSME-DI profile, Khargone); the profile gives 190 km of rail line in 2010-11 (MSME-DI profile)

Size and population

6,206 sq km in the MSME-DI profile and about 7,525 sq km in the CGWB profile (sources conflict) · 13,09,443 people at Census 2011 (MSME-DI profile; CGWB district profile)

Estimated land price*

₹5–35 lakh per acre* (wide; interior at the low end, Indore-road and Omkareshwar-side belt at the high end)

Pricing unit

₹/acre or ₹/hectare (farm land)

Local units

Hectares and acres in records; informal units vary by tehsil

Land records portal

MP Bhulekh (could not be opened for this page; ask the seller for a fresh khasra and B-1 extract)

*Indicative only, not a valuation or an offer; prices vary by plot, road access and title. Check the guideline or ready-reckoner rate with the Sub-Registrar.

District overview

Khandwa — an Omkareshwar-anchored Nimar district with its roads and rail still to be finished

Khandwa, historically East Nimar, had 13,09,443 people at Census 2011, but its area is stated two ways: 6,206 sq km in the MSME-DI profile and about 7,525 sq km in the CGWB profile (MSME-DI profile; CGWB district profile). We use neither as a headline. The MSME-DI profile lists three tehsils (Khandwa, Pandhana, Harsud) and three industrial areas (Indore Road, Pandhana Road and Rudhibhavsingpur). The Khandwa portal names Omkareshwar and the Indira Sagar project as the district's best-known features (Khandwa district portal).

We publish an estimated price band for Khandwa, marked with an asterisk, and no source for it, because no dated official per-acre guideline figure was found. The band is wide on purpose. Land on the Indore side of the district, along the new four-lane and the NH-347B upgrade, should read above the interior, while land near Omkareshwar carries sanctuary and pilgrimage-town uncertainty: the state withdrew the Mamleshwar Lok plan in November 2025 after opposition from residents and saints (The Week, November 2025).

Farming is rain-fed in large part. The CGWB profile gives black cotton soil, a crop list of paddy, wheat, jowar, maize, gram and soybean, and 122.8 thousand hectares irrigated, mostly from dug wells (CGWB district profile). The Indore–Balwada four-lane was reported 85-87% complete in April 2026 (Patrika, April 2026), and the NH-347B upgrade was approved in June 2026 (Punjab Kesari, June 2026).

  • Khandwa
  • Pandhana
  • Harsud
  • Omkareshwar
  • Narmada belt
  • Indira Sagar
Locator map of Khandwa district in Madhya Pradesh showing Khandwa, Pandhana, Harsud, Punasa and Omkareshwar

Transaction costs

Stamp duty & registration in Khandwa

7.5%

Stamp duty, reported

press-reported state rate; the Registration Department page was not opened

3%

Registration fee, reported

on the same base; confirm the agricultural-land schedule

~10.5%

Combined, reported

arithmetic of the two reported rates; an earlier piece gave a 9.5% to 12.5% range

The state-level figures apply to Khandwa and are the same as on the Madhya Pradesh page: Dainik Jagran English, March 2026 reported stamp duty of 7.5% and a registration charge of 3% on the higher of market value or transaction value, and Dainik Jagran English, 25 March 2026 said a guideline-rate rise would raise duty and fees in proportion. We could not open the Registration Department's own fee page, so treat these as reported figures and ask the Sub-Registrar for the current schedule for agricultural land. Since 17 December 2025 a short-stamped document attracts a penalty of 1% of the shortfall per month (TeamLease RegTech, December 2025), and registration can be done online through Sampada 2.0, which also shows guideline rates by location (The Statesman, October 2024). We found no Khandwa guideline-rate notice; the only district-level guideline reports found for the state concern Bhopal and Indore, so check the village rate on Sampada 2.0 or with the Sub-Registrar.

Know the belt

What is moving prices in Khandwa

No official per-acre rate was found for Khandwa, so this section lists sourced signals: road and rail projects, the sanctuary report, the withdrawn Omkareshwar plan and the compensation change. Price bands elsewhere on the page are estimates.

Indore–Balwada four-lane

33.4 km, about 85-87% done (Apr 2026)

Patrika reported on 8 April 2026 that the NH-347BG four-lane from Tejaji Nagar to Balwada was about 85-87% complete with a December 2026 target, including 24 bridges, 3 tunnels, a 1.8 km railway over-bridge at Balwada and about 6 km through forest; travel time is to fall from 2 to 2.5 hours to about 1 hour (Patrika, April 2026). The article does not name the districts crossed, so how much lies in Khandwa is unconfirmed.

Check: where the road meets the district line and the interchange nearest the parcel.

NH-347B upgrade

Approved 3 June 2026, ₹4,415.60 crore

The corridor runs through Betul, Khandwa, Khargone and Barwani, with the 108.643 km Deshgaon–Julwania section to be widened to four lanes (Punjab Kesari, June 2026). The report does not say which sections lie in Khandwa or when work starts.

Check: the section map for the village; approval is not construction.

Omkareshwar: sanctuary and withdrawn plan

Reported Nov 2025

A 614 sq km sanctuary across Khandwa and Dewas was announced on 1 November 2025 and awaited final approval (NewKerala, November 2025). On 18 November 2025 the state withdrew the 6.5 hectare, ₹120 crore Mamleshwar Lok plan after local opposition, saying a new plan would need local consensus (The Week, November 2025). Together they make land near Omkareshwar a policy-risk market.

Check: the notification of the sanctuary boundary and any buffer rule that touches the village.

Indore–Khandwa broad gauge

Under way, no finish date in the July 2026 report

Patrika's 16 July 2026 update describes track marking, earthwork and ballast supply in sections near Indore and says tunnel work at Patalpani had not started; it names no Khandwa station and gives no completion date (Patrika, July 2026). The Omkareshwar–Mukhtiyar Balwada section in Khandwa, about 21 km and ₹285 crore, was tendered in August 2023 with an 18-month limit (Free Press Journal, August 2023); we found no later status.

Check: the railway's current status for the section nearest the parcel.

Acquisition compensation

State cabinet decision, 23 April 2026

The Hitavada reported that the cabinet raised the multiplication factor for rural land acquisition from 1.0 to 2.0, effective immediately (The Hitavada, April 2026). The effect on a particular award is unconfirmed.

Check: the notification and the date from which it applies.

Units: acres and hectares

Revenue extracts record area in hectares and acres by survey number. Informal local units differ by tehsil and village, so convert any quote to acres or hectares (one hectare is about 2.47 acres, our arithmetic) and compare offers only on that basis.

Connectivity

How Khandwa connects — road, rail and air

No distances to Indore or Bhopal are given because no official or news source for them was opened, apart from the travel time in the road report. Journey times vary with traffic and road works.

By road

Indore–Balwada four-lane (NH-347BG)33.4 km; Dec 2026 target; 2 to 2.5 hours today, about 1 hour after (Apr 2026)
NH-347B upgradeApproved 3 Jun 2026; ₹4,415.60 crore across four districts
National highways in the profile158.59 km in 2010-11 (MSME-DI)

By air

Airport in the districtNone found in the sources read
Nearest airportNot sourced; check airline schedules
Omkareshwar helipad or ropewayNot sourced

By rail & metro

Khandwa JunctionNamed as the broad-gauge station near Khargone (MSME-DI)
Rail line length190 km in 2010-11 (MSME-DI)
Indore–Khandwa gauge conversionUnder way; no finish date in Jul 2026 report
Omkareshwar–Mukhtiyar BalwadaAbout 21 km, ₹285 crore, tendered Aug 2023; later status not found

The practical question is the last leg from the highway to the parcel; ask for the access road in the revenue record. Statewide rules for buyers: state-wise land laws.

Growth catalysts

Upcoming infrastructure & developments

Status labels reflect sources read in October 2026. Government-announced timelines are not guaranteed; items marked confirm have a single or an older source.

00Open or inaugurated

05In progress or pending

Under construction · Dec 2026 target Indore–Balwada four-lane (NH-347BG)
Approved · 3 Jun 2026 NH-347B upgrade
Under way · no finish date Indore–Khandwa broad-gauge line
Tendered · Aug 2023 Omkareshwar–Mukhtiyar Balwada gauge conversion
Announced · notification awaited Omkareshwar wildlife sanctuary
Under construction · Dec 2026 target

Indore–Balwada four-lane (NH-347BG)

A 33.4 km four-lane from Tejaji Nagar to Balwada on NH-347BG, reported by Patrika on 8 April 2026 as 85-87% complete with a December 2026 target. It includes 24 bridges, three tunnels, a 1.8 km railway over-bridge at Balwada and about 6 km through dense forest, and cuts about 2.5 km of distance. The article does not give a cost or name the districts crossed, so the Khandwa share is unconfirmed (Patrika, April 2026).

Source: Patrika, 8 Apr 2026

Length

33.4 km

Progress

85-87% (reported)

Target

Dec 2026

Cost

Not stated

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Indore side
  • Balwada
  • Omkareshwar road
Approved · 3 Jun 2026

NH-347B upgrade

The Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs approved ₹4,415.60 crore for 233.653 km of NH-347B through Betul, Khandwa, Khargone and Barwani, including a 125.01 km two-lane section with paved shoulders and a 108.643 km widening from two lanes to four (Punjab Kesari, June 2026). The report does not split the length by district or give a start date.

Source: Punjab Kesari, 3 Jun 2026

Corridor

233.653 km

Cost

₹4,415.60 crore

Districts

Betul, Khandwa, Khargone, Barwani

Start

Not stated

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Khandwa
  • Pandhana
  • Harsud side
Under way · no finish date

Indore–Khandwa broad-gauge line

The line is being converted to broad gauge as part of the Indore–Khandwa–Akola project. Patrika reported on 16 July 2026 that track-laying preparations were under way in sections near Indore and that tunnel work at Patalpani had not begun (Patrika, July 2026). Business Standard reported in November 2025 that the Mhow–Sanawad stretch was expected in 2027-28 (Business Standard, November 2025). Neither names a Khandwa station, so the date for trains to reach the district is unconfirmed.

Source: Patrika, 16 Jul 2026; Business Standard, 5 Nov 2025

Project

Indore–Khandwa–Akola

Mhow–Sanawad

2027-28 (reported)

Khandwa section

Not dated

Status

Under way

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Omkareshwar side
  • Khandwa
Tendered · Aug 2023

Omkareshwar–Mukhtiyar Balwada gauge conversion

The Free Press Journal reported on 29 August 2023 that the railway had issued a tender for gauge conversion and a station building on about 21 km in Khandwa district at ₹285 crore, with an 18-month limit; it also said the Sanawad–Omkareshwar section had already started (Free Press Journal, August 2023). The report gives conflicting tender dates and we found no later status.

Source: Free Press Journal, 29 Aug 2023

Length

About 21 km

Cost

₹285 crore

Limit

18 months

Latest report

Aug 2023

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Omkareshwar
  • Mukhtiyar Balwada
Announced · notification awaited

Omkareshwar wildlife sanctuary

The Chief Minister announced on 1 November 2025 a 614 sq km sanctuary across Khandwa and Dewas, which the report said the State Wildlife Board had approved and sent for final approval (NewKerala, November 2025). It is a protected-area change, not an infrastructure project, but it sets limits on land use near the Narmada. The same month the state withdrew the Mamleshwar Lok plan at Omkareshwar (The Week, November 2025).

Source: NewKerala, 1 Nov 2025; The Week, 18 Nov 2025

Area

614 sq km (reported)

Districts

Khandwa, Dewas

Status

Notification awaited

Withdrawn plan

Mamleshwar Lok, 6.5 ha

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Omkareshwar
  • Punasa side

Agriculture & terrain

Soil, crops & water in Khandwa

A black-soil district on the Narmada, with soybean, wheat and cotton-belt farming, dug-well irrigation and a large forest share.

🌾 Black-soil plains (Khandwa, Pandhana, Harsud)

The CGWB profile gives medium black cotton soil of generally low fertility and a crop list of paddy, wheat, jowar, maize, gram and soybean (CGWB district profile). It gives no crop areas, so we give none. Village-level soil data: Soil Health Card portal (not opened for this page).

  • Soybean
  • Wheat
  • Jowar
  • Maize
  • Gram

🌳 Forest and tribal blocks (Khalwa)

The Khalwa tribal development block of Harsud tahsil is a Scheduled Area (Scheduled Areas Order, 2003). The MSME-DI profile records 3,09,200 hectares of forest, which conflicts with its land-use table, so treat the figure as indicative (MSME-DI profile). Legal and forest status matter more than soil here.

  • Khalwa
  • Scheduled Area
  • Forest

🌊 Narmada and Indira Sagar belt

The Narmada, Chhota Tawa, Sukta and Bhim rivers drain the district (CGWB district profile), and the district portal names the Indira Sagar project and notes seismic activity near Pandhana (Khandwa district portal). We found no village-level submergence data; ask the seller and the local office about any history on reservoir-edge parcels.

  • Narmada
  • Indira Sagar
  • Omkareshwar

💧 Water & rainfall

Normal annual rainfall is 777.6 mm. The CGWB profile counts 47,224 dug wells irrigating 77.2 thousand hectares, 4,036 tube wells irrigating 16.2 thousand hectares, tanks irrigating 15.4 thousand hectares and micro-irrigation on 10 thousand hectares, and puts the stage of groundwater development at 62% on 2008-09 data, up from 59% in 2003-04 (CGWB district profile). That profile is old. The 2024 state assessment gives 58.40% for Madhya Pradesh as a whole and lists Khandwa among districts with nitrate above 45 mg/L at sporadic locations, but it has no Khandwa block rows (CGWB, GWRA-2024). The MSME-DI profile adds that irrigation is limited and farming largely monsoon-dependent (MSME-DI profile).

📐 Measurement units

Revenue extracts use hectares and acres by survey number; informal local units differ by tehsil and village, so convert every quote before comparing two offers. Live mandi prices are on Agmarknet (not opened for this page); crop income is modest next to land values near the roads.

At a glance

Khandwa vs. its neighbours

District / beltPrice band* (per acre)Note
Khandwa — interior tehsils₹5–15 lakh*Estimate; rain-fed black soil, forest and tribal blocks
Khandwa — Indore-road and Omkareshwar-side belt₹12–35 lakh*Estimate; sanctuary and policy risk near Omkareshwar
Khargone₹6–50 lakh*See the Khargone page
Dhar₹6 lakh–1.5 crore*See the Dhar page; Pithampur belt is the high end

*Indicative only, not a valuation or an offer; prices vary by plot, road access and title. Check the guideline or ready-reckoner rate with the Sub-Registrar. See the Khargone page for the Narmada-side district next door and the Dhar page for the industrial belt.

Fenced farm plot with boundary stones, soybean and teak trees near Khandwa, Madhya Pradesh

District report — Khandwa

Farmland India view

Why investors look at Khandwa

Five reasoned points, with an honest note that price evidence is thin, the road and rail dates are targets and the Omkareshwar area is in policy flux.

A four-lane that is nearly done

The Indore–Balwada road was reported 85-87% complete with a December 2026 target (Patrika, April 2026), and the NH-347B upgrade is approved. Time saved to Indore is the main case; confirm how much of the road lies in the district.

A rail line in conversion

The broad-gauge conversion will change access, but the July 2026 report gave no finish date and named no Khandwa station. Treat it as a future change, not a present one.

A pilgrimage anchor with policy risk

Omkareshwar draws visitors, yet the state withdrew a redevelopment plan in November 2025 and a sanctuary has been announced nearby. This desk reads land there as optionality with legal homework, not as a safe premium.

Rain-fed farming sets a low income floor

Black-soil soybean and wheat farming with dug-well irrigation is modest next to land values near the roads. Return depends on location and permitted use.

A market that rewards paperwork

Scheduled Area, forest, sanctuary, diversion and ceiling questions are all parcel-specific. A buyer who documents each one is better placed than one relying on a broker summary.

Browse reviewed land in Khandwa

Confirm tribal-land status, any ceiling-surplus proceedings and the diversion order directly; these are not certified by Farmland India’s review.

STRAIGHT TALK

Risks & challenges in Khandwa

Read these before shortlisting in Khandwa specifically.

Tribal-land permission

The Khalwa block of Harsud tahsil is a Scheduled Area. A sale by a tribal holder needs Collector-level permission and in a notified area is barred outright. Ask for the permission order and the seller's category.

Sanctuary and forest overlay

A 614 sq km Omkareshwar sanctuary was announced in November 2025, with notification awaited. Ask for the boundary map and any buffer rule before buying near the Narmada.

Pilgrimage-town policy swings

The Mamleshwar Lok plan was announced and withdrawn within weeks in November 2025. Expect further plans, encroachment removal and local opposition.

Approved is not built

The NH-347B upgrade has no stated start, the broad-gauge line has no Khandwa finish date and the Omkareshwar rail section last had a 2023 report. Price on today's access.

Conflicting district figures

The MSME-DI and CGWB profiles give different areas, block counts and forest figures. We use population only as a headline and flag the rest.

Diversion and farmhouse use

A parcel marketed as farmhouse-ready needs a diversion order. We could not read the current procedure under sections 172 and 190, so read the order in full.

Estimated prices only

The bands on this page are estimates from analogy, not registered deals. Collect registered comparables from the Sub-Registrar before negotiating.

Reported, not official, duty rate

The 7.5% stamp duty and 3% registration fee come from a press report. Ask for the current schedule before budgeting.

Who to contact

Local revenue, planning & forest offices

Mutation and revenue-record matters go through the Tehsildar of the relevant tehsil (the MSME-DI profile lists Khandwa, Pandhana and Harsud; newer tehsils may exist, so confirm with the Collector's office). Sale deeds are registered with the Sub-Registrar, and Sampada 2.0 shows guideline rates by location (The Statesman, October 2024). Tribal-land permissions sit with the Collector or an officer of Collector rank (Supreme Court, April 2025), and forest and sanctuary status is confirmed by the Divisional Forest Officer. The Khandwa district portal opened but carries 2014 content; MP Bhulekh and the Registration Department site were not opened, so check them directly.

INDIVIDUAL LAND · LAND VERIFICATION SCORE

Individual land parcels in Khandwa

Individual listings carry the auto-calculated Land Verification Score (LVS).

Reviewed projects have completed Farmland India's document and site review. Individual land parcels are listed by their owners and are not reviewed to the same standard. Always complete your own legal due diligence.

COMMON QUESTIONS

Frequently asked questions

Everything buyers, NRIs and investors ask before their first reviewed farmland purchase in Khandwa.

Visit full wiki

01 of 04

Can an outsider buy agricultural land in Khandwa?

No court order or Act text opened for the Madhya Pradesh page bars a buyer for not being a farmer, and we read no Khandwa-specific order. The Khalwa block of Harsud tahsil is a Scheduled Area under the 2003 Order, tribal-held land needs Collector-level written permission (Supreme Court, April 2025), and NRIs and OCIs cannot buy agricultural land under the RBI Master Direction. Confirm any exemption with a Madhya Pradesh revenue lawyer.

Ready to look at what is available?

Browse reviewed listings

Transparency

Sources and references

Law and courts

Government

News

Further reading

Data-currency note: population is Census 2011; area, forest and rail figures come from an MSME-DI profile on 2010-11 data and conflict with the CGWB profile; the groundwater and irrigation tables are a 2013 CGWB profile on 2008-09 data; infrastructure statuses were read in October 2026 and change quickly. State sites that blocked automated fetches are not cited as read. Prices shown on this page are estimates and carry no source. This is a general guide, not legal advice. Report inaccuracies to wiki@farmlandindia.com.

For developers

Ready to explore Khandwa farmland?

Browse reviewed projects and individual land parcels across Khandwa — or if you own land here, list it with platform review and reach serious buyers.

Farmland India ("the Platform"), operated by Bulk Procure Private Limited, is a digital marketplace for listing agricultural land, farmhouse and plotted development projects. The Platform is not a real estate broker, agent or intermediary under RERA or any other applicable law, and does not act for either party to a transaction.

Listings are submitted by developers, owners and their authorised representatives. Before publication, the Platform carries out a documentary review of the material supplied and records what was sighted. That review is limited to the documents made available to us at that time. It is not a title investigation, not a legal opinion, and not a warranty of title, approvals, or the accuracy of any information supplied by a lister. The Trust Score is an internal assessment produced from that review and is intended as a research aid, not as a guarantee of outcome.

Every buyer must carry out independent due diligence before any transaction — including verification of land records, encumbrance searches, approvals and regulatory compliance — through their own advocate and chartered accountant. Any legal or advisory professional introduced through the Platform is engaged directly by the user, on that professional's own terms; the Platform does not employ, supervise or accept responsibility for their work.

Nothing on the Platform is investment advice. Land values can fall as well as rise. The Platform is not liable for any loss, dispute or damage arising from a transaction between parties.