Farmland India
Aerial view of black-soil farmland and Satpura forested hills near Betul, Madhya Pradesh

District guide

Buying Land in Betul

A Satpura plateau district of black-soil plains and forest edges: scheduled tehsils, tiger-reserve influence, two road projects sanctioned but unbuilt, and indicative land-price bands only.

  • 10,043 sq km

    Area (CGWB profile)

  • 15.75 lakh

    Population (Census 2011)

  • ₹3–35 lakh per acre

    Estimated land price*

  • 22 km, ₹758 crore

    NH-46 Betul–Baretha Ghat

*Indicative range across districts and land types. Stamp duty, registration and conversion charges are additional. Local measurement units vary — every listing states the unit it is priced in. Not a valuation or an offer.

District land record — Betul

Rev. 2026 · Farmland India desk

State

Madhya Pradesh

Sub-divisions

8 tehsils and 10 blocks in the CGWB 2013 profile; the ten block names are Amla, Athner, Betul, Bhainsdehi, Bhimpur, Chicholi, Ghoradongri, Multai, Pathakheda (listed as P. Pattan) and Shahpur (CGWB profile, 2013). The district portal names Multai and Bhainsdehi but gives no full list

Key markets

Betul · Amla · Multai · Bhainsdehi · Shahpur

Demand anchors

Itarsi–Betul–Nagpur rail line · NH-46 four-lane (22 km) sanctioned April 2026 · Betul–Khandwa four-lane approved, September 2026 · Satpura forest and Tawa valley

Rail

Betul station (BZU), West Central Railway, on the Itarsi–Betul–Nagpur branch line (Betul portal, October 2026)

Size and population

10,043 sq km (10,059.48 in the text of the same profile) · 15,75,247 people (Census 2011) · 1,409 villages (CGWB profile, 2013)

Estimated land price*

₹3–35 lakh per acre* (wide band: forest-edge tehsils to road-side near Betul and Amla). *Indicative only, not a valuation or an offer; prices vary by plot, road access and title. Check the guideline or ready-reckoner rate with the Sub-Registrar.

Pricing unit

₹/acre (farm land) · records in hectares

Local units

Area is recorded in hectares; local units vary by district and tehsil, so convert every quote to acres or hectares (1 hectare is about 2.47 acres)

Land records portal

MP Bhulekh (not opened for this page; ask the seller for a fresh khasra and B-1 extract)

District overview

Betul — a Satpura plateau district with scheduled tehsils, forest edges and two road projects approved

Betul is a large Satpura district of 10,043 sq km and 15,75,247 people at the 2011 Census, with 1,409 villages and 8 tehsils (CGWB profile, 2013). The district portal calls it the origin of the Tapti, places the Narmada valley to the north and the Tawa valley on the Satpura range, and notes teak forest on the Tawa side (Betul portal). Betul station is on the Itarsi–Betul–Nagpur branch line, about 178 km from Bhopal and 173 km from Nagpur by the portal’s figures (same portal).

We found no official per-acre figure for Betul. The estimated bands on this page, marked with an asterisk, are our indicative ranges derived by analogy with comparable Satpura and Mahakoshal districts and kept wide: forest-edge tehsils sit well below the road-side land around Betul and Amla. The state-level guideline-rate items we could source are statewide (Free Press Journal, March 2023; Dainik Jagran English, 25 March 2026). A guideline rate is a registration floor, not a market price.

Two road projects are in the news. NH-46 between Betul and Baretha Ghat, 22 km and ₹758 crore, was reported sanctioned in April 2026 with bidding yet to start (Dainik Jagran English, April 2026), and a Betul–Khandwa four-lane on NH-347B was reported approved in September 2026 (Construction World, September 2026). Neither is built, and the first runs through tiger-corridor forest.

  • Betul
  • Amla
  • Multai
  • Bhainsdehi
  • Shahpur
  • Satpura Tiger Reserve
Locator map of Betul district in Madhya Pradesh showing Betul, Amla, Multai, Bhainsdehi and Shahpur

Transaction costs

Stamp duty & registration in Betul

7.5%

Stamp duty, as reported

of market value or transaction value, whichever is higher; press report, department page not opened

3%

Registration fee, as reported

on the same base; press report, department page not opened

~10.5%

Combined, reported arithmetic

an earlier report put the range at 9.5% to 12.5%; confirm with the Sub-Registrar

Dainik Jagran English reported on 27 March 2026 stamp duty of 7.5% and a registration charge of 3% on the higher of market value or transaction value (Dainik Jagran English, March 2026). Its 25 March piece said a guideline-rate rise would raise duty and fees in proportion (Dainik Jagran English, 25 March 2026). We could not open the Registration Department’s own fee page, so treat these as reported figures and ask the Sub-Registrar for the current schedule for agricultural land. Since 17 December 2025 a short-stamped document attracts a penalty of 1% of the shortfall per month (TeamLease RegTech, December 2025). Registration can be done online through Sampada 2.0, which also shows guideline rates by location (The Statesman, October 2024). Betul-specific schedules, if any, were not found.

Know the belt

What is moving prices in Betul

No official per-acre series was found. The cards below carry estimated bands (asterisk) and say what to check. *Indicative only, not a valuation or an offer; prices vary by plot, road access and title. Check the guideline or ready-reckoner rate with the Sub-Registrar.

Betul, Amla and Multai: black-soil irrigated belt

Estimated ₹8–25 lakh per acre*

Black cotton soil covers the southern, central and eastern parts of the district, with wheat, rice, jowar, maize and sugarcane as principal crops and about 1,15,900 hectares irrigated (CGWB profile, 2013). The band is derived by analogy with comparable plateau farm land.

Check: whether the parcel is in a notified tehsil and whether irrigation is canal, dug well or borewell.

Road-side land near Betul town and Amla

Estimated ₹15–35 lakh per acre*

Betul station is on the Itarsi–Betul–Nagpur line and the town is on the national highway to Nagpur (Betul portal). The 22 km NH-46 four-lane and the Betul–Khandwa upgrade are reported but not built (Dainik Jagran English, April 2026; Construction World, September 2026), so the band prices today’s access with only a modest premium.

Check: the road line and whether acquisition notices cover the parcel; ask NHAI before paying a premium.

Bhainsdehi, Shahpur and Ghoradongri: forest-edge tehsils

Estimated ₹3–10 lakh per acre*

Bhainsdehi and Shahpur are listed Scheduled tehsils in the legal-database copy of the 2003 Order (Scheduled Areas Order, 2003 (legal-database copy)), and the Satpura reserve buffer has frequent conflict (NTCA brief note, Satpura). Notified status, forest cover and distance from a market hold the estimate down.

Check: tribal status of the seller, notified-area status and buffer or eco-sensitive status in writing.

Guideline rates

No Betul figure found

Statewide, rates were revised at about 18,000 locations from 1 April 2023 (Free Press Journal, March 2023). The 2026-27 proposal reported for Bhopal does not cover Betul (Dainik Jagran English, 25 March 2026).

Check: the rate for the village on the Sampada 2.0 portal or at the Sub-Registrar on the day of registration.

Units: acres, hectares and local terms

Land in Madhya Pradesh is recorded by survey number, with area in hectares in court orders and acres in the Ceiling Act figures; one hectare is about 2.47 acres (our arithmetic). Local units vary by district and tehsil and no revenue manual was opened for them, so convert every quote to acres or hectares and ask the Patwari what the khasra records before comparing two offers.

Connectivity

How Betul connects — road, rail and air

Distances come from the district portal’s own how-to-reach page; no independent drive times were checked.

By road

To BhopalAbout 178 km by national highway (portal)
To NagpurAbout 173 km by national highway (portal)
NH-46 Betul–Baretha Ghat22 km, ₹758 crore; sanctioned Apr 2026
Betul–Khandwa four-laneApproved Sep 2026; construction not advanced

By air

Nearest major airportNagpur, about 180 km (portal)
Bhopal airportAbout 190 km (portal)
Flights from the districtLimited regular service, per portal

By rail & metro

Betul station (BZU)West Central Railway, three platforms
LineItarsi–Betul–Nagpur branch line
MetroNo metro project found for Betul

The practical question is the last leg from the highway to the parcel; ask for the access road in the revenue record. Full rules: Madhya Pradesh land laws.

Growth catalysts

Upcoming infrastructure & developments

Status labels reflect sources read in October 2026. Government-announced timelines are not guaranteed; the two road items rest on one report each.

01Open or operating

02In progress or pending

Operating · district portal Itarsi–Betul–Nagpur rail line
Sanctioned · bidding expected (Apr 2026) Betul–Baretha Ghat NH-46 four-lane
Approved · construction not advanced (Sep 2026) Betul–Khandwa four-lane (NH-347B)
Operating · district portal

Itarsi–Betul–Nagpur rail line

The district portal says Betul station (code BZU) sits on the Itarsi–Betul–Nagpur branch line under the West Central Railway zone and has three platforms (Betul district portal). The portal does not list services, doubling or electrification, so this is existing rail access and nothing more is claimed.

Source: Betul district portal, how to reach, read October 2026

Station

Betul (BZU)

Zone

West Central Railway

Platforms

3

Nagpur by road

~173 km

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Betul
  • Amla
Sanctioned · bidding expected (Apr 2026)

Betul–Baretha Ghat NH-46 four-lane

Dainik Jagran English reported on 5 April 2026 that the Union road transport ministry had sanctioned a 22 km four-lane stretch of NH-46 between Betul and Baretha Ghat at ₹758 crore, that NHAI had finished preliminary surveys and land assessment, and that bidding for the construction contract was expected to start shortly (Dainik Jagran English, April 2026). It links the stretch to tiger movement from the Satpura range and puts it in the reserve’s influence zone. The report gives no completion date, so confirm the alignment and any land notices with NHAI.

Source: Dainik Jagran English, 5 Apr 2026

Length

22 km

Cost

₹758 crore

Status

Sanctioned

Completion

Not stated

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Betul
  • Baretha Ghat
Approved · construction not advanced (Sep 2026)

Betul–Khandwa four-lane (NH-347B)

Construction World reported on 11 September 2026 that approval had been granted for a four-lane upgrade of NH-347B, mentioning a 125 km stretch, as part of a Betul–Khandwa–Vadodara corridor meant to cut Indore–Nagpur travel from about 13 to 14 hours to about six, and that construction had not yet advanced (Construction World, September 2026). The report gives no cost, no total length and no district-wise alignment, so how much of the road lies inside Betul is not established.

Source: Construction World, 11 Sep 2026

Reported stretch

125 km (NH-347B)

Cost

Not stated

Status

Approved

Construction

Not advanced

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Betul
  • Multai

Agriculture & terrain

Soil, crops & water in Betul

A Satpura plateau district of black cotton soil in the plains and teak forest on the Tawa side.

🌾 Black-soil plains (Betul, Amla, Multai)

The CGWB profile says black cotton soil covers the southern, central and eastern parts of the district, with wheat, rice, jowar, maize and sugarcane as principal crops (CGWB profile). The profile is from 2013, so treat acreages as dated.

  • Wheat
  • Rice
  • Jowar
  • Maize
  • Sugarcane

⛰️ Satpura and Tawa valley

The portal places the district in the Satpura range, with its highest peak at 1,107 m, and says the land at the edge of the Tawa valley is fertile and carries valuable trees including teak (Betul portal). Forest status and tiger-reserve buffer status decide what can be done here, so legal status matters more than soil.

  • Satpura
  • Tawa valley
  • Teak
  • Forest edge

🌊 Tapti origin

The portal calls Betul the origin of the Tapti river and places the Narmada valley to the north (Betul portal). We found no sourced flood record for Betul, so ask the seller for flood history on low parcels near streams.

  • Tapti
  • Narmada valley

💧 Water & rainfall

The CGWB profile (2013, data to March 2013) gives normal rainfall of 1,129.6 mm and a district stage of groundwater development of 47%, with block stages from 19% (Ghoradongri) to 70% (Betul) and every block marked Safe in its table, although one section calls the non-command area of Betul block semi-critical, so the profile contradicts itself (CGWB profile). It lists 53,150 dug wells irrigating about 71,600 hectares, 3,427 tube and bore wells about 12,600 hectares and 92 canals about 18,900 hectares, with a net irrigated area of about 1,15,900 hectares. Pre-monsoon depth to water in 2012 ran from 2.0 to 16.40 m below ground. The 2024 assessment puts Madhya Pradesh as a whole at 58.40% extraction, in its Safe range (CGWB, GWRA-2024); we did not read a 2024 category for Betul’s blocks, so check the current category for any borewell-dependent parcel.

📐 Measurement units

Land in Madhya Pradesh is recorded by survey number, with area in hectares in court orders and acres in the Ceiling Act figures; one hectare is about 2.47 acres (our arithmetic). Local units vary by district and tehsil and no revenue manual was opened for them, so convert every quote to acres or hectares and ask the Patwari what the khasra records before comparing two offers. Live mandi prices are on the state and national mandi portals (not opened for this page); price a parcel on location, legal status and permitted use, not on crop income.

At a glance

Betul vs. its neighbours

District / beltEstimated land price* (per acre)Evidence
Betul — black-soil irrigated belt₹8–25 lakh*Estimated by analogy; no guideline figure found
Betul — road-side near Betul town and Amla₹15–35 lakh*Estimated; two road projects reported, not built
Betul — forest-edge scheduled tehsils₹3–10 lakh*Estimated; notified-area and buffer checks
Seoni — Pench and canal belt₹3–25 lakh*Estimated; see the Seoni page
Shajapur — Malwa black soil₹8–60 lakh*Estimated; see the Shajapur page

*Indicative only, not a valuation or an offer; prices vary by plot, road access and title. Check the guideline or ready-reckoner rate with the Sub-Registrar. See the Seoni page for the other Satpura-side district with scheduled tehsils and a tiger reserve, and the Shajapur page for a Malwa farm district.

Fenced farm plot with boundary stones, black-soil fields and teak-covered Satpura hills near Betul, Madhya Pradesh

District report — Betul

Farmland India view

Why investors look at Betul

Five reasoned points, with an honest note that the price evidence is thin and both road projects are still on paper.

A rail town with two road projects

Betul is on the Itarsi–Betul–Nagpur line, and NH-46 and NH-347B upgrades are reported. Price on the roads you can drive today, since neither project is built.

Wide gap between plains and forest edge

Black-soil irrigated land and forest-edge tehsils behave like different markets. The estimated bands here are far apart for that reason.

Safe groundwater on paper

The older profile marks every block Safe and the stage at 47%, well below Shajapur. A borewell is still worth testing, because the profile contradicts itself for Betul block.

Legal checks decide the deal

Scheduled tehsils, tiger-reserve buffer and forest status can stop a sale or a farmhouse. A buyer who holds the written answers is better placed than one relying on a broker summary.

Corridor tied to tiger movement

The NH-46 stretch sits in a tiger-movement zone, which can shape design and timing. Treat the project as pending and not as delivered.

Browse reviewed land in Betul

Confirm tribal-land status, notified-area status, buffer status and diversion directly; these are not certified by Farmland India’s review. *Indicative only, not a valuation or an offer; prices vary by plot, road access and title. Check the guideline or ready-reckoner rate with the Sub-Registrar.

STRAIGHT TALK

Risks & challenges in Betul

Read these before shortlisting in Betul specifically.

Scheduled tehsils

Betul tahsil (excluding the Betul block), Bhainsdehi and Shahpur are listed in a legal-database copy of the 2003 Order; the sale bar on tribal land to non-tribals is absolute in notified areas. Ask the Collector’s office.

Tiger reserve buffer and forest cover

The Satpura reserve buffer has frequent human-wildlife conflict, and Betul forest division is part of the wider tiger habitat. Ask the Forest Department about core, buffer and eco-sensitive status in writing.

Tribal-land permission

A sale without Collector-rank written permission is exposed (Supreme Court, April 2025), and a Will needs the same permission (High Court, February 2025).

Diversion and premium

Change of use can bring reassessment and a premium (Supreme Court, August 2008). We could not read the current procedure under sections 172 and 190.

Ceiling-surplus land

Holdings above the ceiling can be declared surplus (Supreme Court, January 2021). Ask whether proceedings were ever opened on the seller’s family.

A reported, not official, duty rate

The 7.5% duty and 3% fee come from a March 2026 press report. Ask the Sub-Registrar for the current schedule.

Estimated, not registered, prices*

The land-price bands here are indicative estimates, not registered deals. Collect registered comparables from the same revenue estate before negotiating.

Announced is not delivered

NH-46 was only sanctioned in April 2026 with bidding to come, and the Betul–Khandwa road had not advanced in September 2026. Price on today’s access.

Who to contact

Local revenue, planning & forest offices

Mutation and revenue-record matters go through the Tehsildar of the relevant tehsil and the village Patwari. Permission to sell tribal-held land comes from a revenue officer of Collector rank or above, and the Supreme Court accepted in 2025 that an Additional Collector can act under a work-allocation order (Supreme Court, April 2025). Whether a village is a notified Scheduled-Area village is answered by the District Collector’s office; the Betul district portal did not give a full tehsil list when we read it. Tiger-reserve, buffer and forest questions go to the Forest Department. Sale deeds are registered with the Sub-Registrar under the Registration Department, also online through Sampada 2.0 (The Statesman, October 2024). We could not open the MP Bhulekh, Registration Department or India Code pages, so check them directly.

COMMON QUESTIONS

Frequently asked questions

Everything buyers, NRIs and investors ask before their first reviewed farmland purchase in Betul.

Visit full wiki

01 of 04

Can an outsider buy agricultural land in Betul?

None of the court orders or Act texts opened for the Madhya Pradesh page bars a buyer for not being a farmer, and we read no Betul-specific order. Betul tahsil excluding Betul block, Bhainsdehi and Shahpur are listed as Scheduled in a legal-database copy of the 2003 Order, where sale of tribal land to a non-tribal is barred. NRIs and OCIs cannot buy agricultural land under the RBI Master Direction.

Ready to look at what is available?

Browse reviewed listings

Transparency

Sources and references

Law and courts

Government

News

Further reading

Data-currency note: the CGWB profile is from 2013 and the Scheduled Areas text is a legal-database copy of the 2003 Order; the district portal gives no area or population; infrastructure statuses were read in October 2026 and change quickly; the stamp duty is a press-reported figure. Land-price bands marked with an asterisk are indicative estimates, not valuations. The MP Bhulekh portal, the Registration Department site, India Code, the Land Revenue Code text and the root pages of the district portal could not be opened, so nothing is attributed to a reading of them. This is a general guide, not legal advice. Report inaccuracies to wiki@farmlandindia.com.

For developers

Ready to explore Betul farmland?

Browse reviewed projects and individual land parcels across Betul — or if you own land here, list it with platform review and reach serious buyers.

Farmland India ("the Platform"), operated by Bulk Procure Private Limited, is a digital marketplace for listing agricultural land, farmhouse and plotted development projects. The Platform is not a real estate broker, agent or intermediary under RERA or any other applicable law, and does not act for either party to a transaction.

Listings are submitted by developers, owners and their authorised representatives. Before publication, the Platform carries out a documentary review of the material supplied and records what was sighted. That review is limited to the documents made available to us at that time. It is not a title investigation, not a legal opinion, and not a warranty of title, approvals, or the accuracy of any information supplied by a lister. The Trust Score is an internal assessment produced from that review and is intended as a research aid, not as a guarantee of outcome.

Every buyer must carry out independent due diligence before any transaction — including verification of land records, encumbrance searches, approvals and regulatory compliance — through their own advocate and chartered accountant. Any legal or advisory professional introduced through the Platform is engaged directly by the user, on that professional's own terms; the Platform does not employ, supervise or accept responsibility for their work.

Nothing on the Platform is investment advice. Land values can fall as well as rise. The Platform is not liable for any loss, dispute or damage arising from a transaction between parties.