Farmland India
Soybean and wheat fields on the Malwa plateau near Mandsaur, Madhya Pradesh

District guide

Buying Land in Mandsaur

A western Malwa district on the Delhi–Mumbai Expressway: soybean and wheat farmland, Gandhi Sagar zone limits, tribal-land checks and an estimated ₹6–28 lakh per acre*.

  • 5,535 sq km

    Area

  • 13.4 lakh

    Population (Census 2011)

  • ₹6–28 lakh/acre

    Estimated land price*

  • ~102 km (reported)

    Delhi–Mumbai Expressway in district

*Indicative range across districts and land types. Stamp duty, registration and conversion charges are additional. Local measurement units vary — every listing states the unit it is priced in. Not a valuation or an offer.

District land record — Mandsaur

Rev. 2026 · Farmland India desk

State

Madhya Pradesh

Sub-divisions

8 sub-districts in the 2011 Census list (Bhanpura, Malhargarh, Garoth, Shamgarh, Mandsaur, Daloda, Sitamau, Suwasra) (Census of India catalogue); the 2013 CGWB profile lists five blocks

Key markets

Mandsaur · Malhargarh · Garoth · Sitamau · Bhanpura · Suwasra

Demand anchors

Delhi–Mumbai Expressway section (about 102 km in the district, as reported) · soybean, wheat, gram and mustard belt · Gandhi Sagar reservoir edge

Rail

Mandsaur railway station is listed on the district portal; division and services not checked for this page

Size and population

5,535 sq km · 13,39,832 people at Census 2011 (CGWB profile, 2013; the profile’s text gives a different figure, so confirm against Census tables)

Estimated land price*

₹6–28 lakh per acre (farm land, wide band; see note below)

Pricing unit

₹ lakh per acre (records are kept in hectares and survey numbers)

Local units

Local trade terms vary by district and tehsil; ask the Patwari to restate any quoted area in hectares or acres

Land records portal

MP Bhulekh (not opened for this page; ask the seller for a fresh extract)

District overview

Mandsaur — a soybean and wheat district on the Delhi–Mumbai Expressway

Mandsaur is a western Malwa district of 5,535 sq km with 13,39,832 people at the 2011 Census in the CGWB district profile (CGWB district profile, Mandsaur (2013)). The Census lists eight sub-districts: Bhanpura, Malhargarh, Garoth, Shamgarh, Mandsaur, Daloda, Sitamau and Suwasra (Census of India 2011 catalogue entry, Mandsaur). The district portal describes Mandsaur as a major producer of opium and notes slate-pencil manufacture as its main industry; we opened only its home page, which gives no area or tehsil list (Mandsaur district portal). The district sits on the Malwa plateau; the CGWB profile names the Chambal, Shivna and Retam among its rivers.

The Delhi–Mumbai Expressway is the main corridor story. Swarajya reported in September 2023 that the Madhya Pradesh section runs 102 km through Mandsaur, 91 km through Ratlam and 50 km through Jhabua (Swarajya, September 2023), and in August 2023 that toll plazas were planned at Neemthur and Garoth among seven (Swarajya, August 2023). Which interchanges serve Mandsaur is not given in those reports, so ask NHAI before pricing a parcel on an access point.

We found no dated official per-acre guideline rate and no dated price series for Mandsaur. The band shown on this page is an estimate marked with an asterisk: ₹6–28 lakh per acre for farm land, wider near the town and the expressway than in the interior. It is derived by analogy with comparable Malwa districts and rounded, not taken from a sale record. *Indicative only, not a valuation or an offer; prices vary by plot, road access and title. Check the guideline or ready-reckoner rate with the Sub-Registrar.

  • Mandsaur
  • Garoth
  • Malhargarh
  • Sitamau
  • Bhanpura
  • Delhi–Mumbai Expressway
Locator map of Mandsaur district in Madhya Pradesh showing Mandsaur, Garoth, Malhargarh, Sitamau and Bhanpura

Transaction costs

Stamp duty & registration in Mandsaur

7.5%

Stamp duty (reported)

on the higher of market value or deal value; Registration Department page not opened

3%

Registration fee (reported)

same base; confirm the agricultural-land schedule with the Sub-Registrar

~10.5%

Combined (reported arithmetic)

an earlier report gave a 9.5% to 12.5% range

Dainik Jagran English reported on 27 March 2026 stamp duty of 7.5% and a registration charge of 3% on the higher of market value or transaction value (Dainik Jagran English, March 2026). Its 25 March piece said a guideline-rate rise would raise duty and fees in proportion, and that the state had told the Vidhan Sabha no fresh taxes would be levied (Dainik Jagran English, March 2026 (Bhopal)). We could not open the Registration Department’s own fee page, so treat these as reported figures and ask the Sub-Registrar for the current schedule for agricultural land before you budget. Since 17 December 2025 a short-stamped document attracts a penalty of 1% of the shortfall per month (TeamLease RegTech, December 2025). Registration can be done online through Sampada 2.0, which also shows guideline rates by location (The Statesman, October 2024). No Mandsaur-specific schedule was found. Duty is assessed on the higher of the deal value and the guideline rate as reported; the district’s 2026-27 guideline revision was not found, so check the rate in force for the village on the date of the deed.

Know the belt

What is moving prices in Mandsaur

No official per-acre series was found. The band on this page is an estimate marked with an asterisk; the other cards give what the sources do show.

Estimated land price*

₹6–28 lakh per acre*

Our estimate for farm land across the district: roughly ₹10–28 lakh along the Mandsaur–Malhargarh–Garoth belt and the expressway, and ₹6–15 lakh in interior Sitamau, Bhanpura and Suwasra tehsils. The range is wide because the evidence is thin. *Indicative only, not a valuation or an offer; prices vary by plot, road access and title. Check the guideline or ready-reckoner rate with the Sub-Registrar.

Check: registered sale deeds in the same revenue village, and the guideline rate with the Sub-Registrar.

Guideline rates: state context

No Mandsaur figure found

Reports on guideline rates covered Bhopal and Indore, not Mandsaur; the Bhopal committee in February 2026 recommended rises at 621 locations (Collector guideline rate hike at 621 locations in Bhopal district, Free Press Journal, February 2026) and a 2023 revision touched about 18,000 locations statewide (Land costlier in 18,000 locations, Free Press Journal, March 2023). None of these gives a Mandsaur farmland rate.

Check: the Sampada 2.0 guideline lookup for the village.

Expressway belt

Delhi–Mumbai Expressway

Gadkari said in July 2026 that 75–80% of the whole expressway was complete (Business Today, July 2026) and the Tribune reported in June 2026 that most sections between Dausa and Vadodara were open or nearing completion (The Tribune, June 2026). Udaipur Times reported that NHAI opened a 244 km Madhya Pradesh stretch on 20 September 2023 (Udaipur Times, September 2023). Corridor land near an interchange is priced on access, which is not yet documented for this district.

Check: which interchange serves the village and whether it is open.

Asking prices

No sourced series

We use no listing figures for Mandsaur. A guideline rate is a registration floor, not what a seller will accept.

Check: comparable deals registered in the same village.

Units: hectares, acres and local terms

The district’s land records follow state practice of survey numbers and hectares, while the Ceiling Act figures quoted on this page are in acres and one hectare is about 2.47 acres (our arithmetic). Local trade terms differ by district and tehsil, so have the Patwari restate any quoted area in hectares or acres before you compare offers.

Connectivity

How Mandsaur connects — road, rail and air

Distances and journey times are not given because no official or news source was found. Check a live route planner.

By road

Delhi–Mumbai ExpresswayAbout 102 km in Mandsaur district, as reported (Sep 2023)
Toll plazasNeemthur and Garoth listed among seven (Aug 2023)
Whole expressway75–80% complete, minister (Jul 2026)
Interchanges for MandsaurNot named in the reports read

By air

Mandsaur airstripState proposal for later-stage upgrade (Aug 2026)
Scheduled flightsNone found
Nearest airportNot sourced for this page

By rail

Mandsaur stationListed on the district portal
Division and servicesNot checked for this page
New linesNone sourced for Mandsaur
MetroNone

The practical question is the last leg from the expressway or highway to the parcel; ask for the access road in the revenue record. Rules for buyers from outside Madhya Pradesh: state-wise land laws.

Growth catalysts

Upcoming infrastructure & developments

Status labels reflect sources read in October 2026. Announced timelines are not guaranteed; items marked reported rest on one or an older source.

02Open or in force

02In progress or pending

Open in part · reported Sep 2023 Delhi–Mumbai Expressway (Mandsaur section)
Announced · Nov 2024 Three new industrial zones, Mandsaur
Proposed · later stage (Aug 2026) Mandsaur airstrip upgrade
Approved · 22 Apr 2026 State rule on rural land-acquisition compensation
Open in part · reported Sep 2023

Delhi–Mumbai Expressway (Mandsaur section)

Swarajya reported in September 2023 that the Madhya Pradesh section covers 102 km in Mandsaur district, 91 km in Ratlam and 50 km in Jhabua (Swarajya, September 2023), and in August 2023 that the 244 km section runs from Neemthur on the Rajasthan border to Timarwani on the Gujarat border, with toll plazas planned at Neemthur and Garoth among seven (Swarajya, August 2023). Udaipur Times reported that NHAI opened a 244 km stretch on 20 September 2023, though its end points differ from Swarajya’s (Udaipur Times, September 2023). For the whole expressway, Nitin Gadkari said in July 2026 that 75–80% was complete (Business Today, July 2026). Interchanges serving Mandsaur are not named in these reports, so confirm with NHAI.

Source: Swarajya, 23 Aug and 18 Sep 2023; Udaipur Times, 21 Sep 2023; Business Today, 9 Jul 2026

In Mandsaur

~102 km (reported)

MP section

244 km

Toll plazas

7 planned

Whole route

75–80% (Jul 2026)

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Mandsaur
  • Garoth
  • Malhargarh
Announced · Nov 2024

Three new industrial zones, Mandsaur

New Projects Tracker reported on 13 November 2024 that the state would set up three new industrial zones in Mandsaur district for manufacturing, logistics and agro-based industries, with transport, utilities and digital connectivity. The report names no sites, hectares or cost and records no approval or start (New Projects Tracker, November 2024). We found no later report, so treat the zones as announced only.

Source: New Projects Tracker, 13 Nov 2024

Zones

3 (announced)

Sites

Not named

Cost

Not stated

Latest report

Nov 2024

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Mandsaur
Proposed · later stage (Aug 2026)

Mandsaur airstrip upgrade

Swarajya reported on 12 August 2026 that the Centre cleared the first stage of converting ten Madhya Pradesh airstrips into airports; Mandsaur is among the later-stage airstrips for which a state proposal has been submitted, with no start date or cost given (Swarajya, August 2026). The scheme runs through UDAN, extended to 2036 according to the same report.

Source: Swarajya, 12 Aug 2026

Stage

Later stage

Status

State proposal submitted

Start date

None given

Cost

Not stated

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Mandsaur
Approved · 22 Apr 2026

State rule on rural land-acquisition compensation

ANI reported that the Madhya Pradesh Cabinet on 22 April 2026 doubled the multiplication factor to 2.0 under the state’s land-acquisition rules, described as raising compensation for rural agricultural land from double to four times the market rate; urban rates are unchanged (ANI, April 2026). The report does not explain how a factor of 2.0 gives four times, so check the official order before relying on the figure. It matters here because corridor and industrial-zone projects acquire farm land.

Source: ANI, 22 Apr 2026

Cabinet date

22 Apr 2026

Factor

2.0 (reported)

Scope

Rural agricultural land

Official order

Not seen

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Mandsaur
  • Garoth

Agriculture & terrain

Soil, crops & water in Mandsaur

A soybean and wheat district on black and red-loam soils, watered mostly from open wells, where groundwater use is high.

🌾 Soybean, wheat, gram and mustard

The ICAR-CRIDA district plan lists soybean on 262,000 hectares, gram on 53,000, wheat on 45,000, maize on 35,000 and mustard on 31,000 (production figures are 2004–08 averages; the area year is not stated), with a net sown area of 358,700 hectares and a cropping intensity of 156% (ICAR-CRIDA Mandsaur plan). The plan puts deep soil at 61.88% of the area. The CGWB profile lists black cotton, red loamy, laterite and alluvial soils (CGWB district profile, Mandsaur (2013)).

  • Soybean
  • Wheat
  • Gram
  • Mustard
  • Maize

🌊 Rivers and reservoir

The CGWB profile names the Chambal, Shivna and Retam among the district’s rivers (CGWB district profile, Mandsaur (2013)). The Gandhi Sagar eco-sensitive zone restricts building within 100 m of rivers and nallahs and limits groundwater extraction to farm and household use (MoEFCC eco-sensitive zone notification, Gandhi Sagar (MP Forest Department copy)). Ask for flood or backwater history on land near the reservoir.

  • Chambal
  • Shivna
  • Gandhi Sagar

🧭 Tribal and notified areas

We found no source listing notified tribal tehsils in Mandsaur. The section 165(6) permission rule applies to any parcel recorded to a covered tribal owner, as the April 2025 Supreme Court judgment on Ratlam land shows (Supreme Court, April 2025). Check the recorded owner category on the khasra.

  • Section 165(6)
  • Khasra check

💧 Water & rainfall

Normal annual rainfall is 792.6 mm in the ICAR-CRIDA plan and 657.3 mm in the CGWB profile; the two do not agree, so we give both, and we did not open an IMD page. The plan records 106,052 open wells irrigating 151,900 hectares against 1,000 hectares by canal, with 170,500 hectares rainfed (ICAR-CRIDA Mandsaur plan). The CGWB profile, using 2009 data, put the stage of groundwater development at 97%, with Mandsaur block at 117% and Sitamau at 102% (over-exploited), Bhanpura and Malhargarh semi-critical and Garoth safe (CGWB district profile, Mandsaur (2013)); the plan gives 109% for the district. The CGWB 2024 assessment gives no district rows in the document we read: the state stands at 58.40% (Safe), and Mandsaur is listed among districts with nitrate above 45 mg/L at sporadic locations (CGWB, GWRA-2024). Check block category and borewell yield for any parcel.

📐 Measurement units

Records use survey numbers and hectares; one hectare is about 2.47 acres (our arithmetic). Local trade terms differ by district and tehsil, so convert every quote to acres or hectares before comparing. Live mandi prices are on the Agmarknet portal (not opened for this page); price land on location and permitted use, not on crop income.

At a glance

Mandsaur vs. its neighbours

District / beltPrice band* (per acre)Evidence
Mandsaur — farm land, district-wide₹6–28 lakh*Estimate, derived by analogy; not a sale record
Neemuch — farm land, district-wide₹5–25 lakh*Estimate, same method; see the Neemuch page
Rajgarh — farm land, district-wide₹5–18 lakh*Estimate, same method; see the Rajgarh page
RatlamNo figure usedDelhi–Mumbai Expressway runs through; no district page here

*Indicative only, not a valuation or an offer; prices vary by plot, road access and title. Check the guideline or ready-reckoner rate with the Sub-Registrar. Compare the Neemuch page for the Rajasthan-border district and the Rajgarh page for a canal-irrigation district.

Boundary-marked farm plot with soybean and wheat fields near Mandsaur, Madhya Pradesh

District report — Mandsaur

Farmland India view

Why investors look at Mandsaur

Five reasoned points, with an honest note that price evidence is an estimate and several catalysts are still pending.

An expressway section with named toll plazas

Swarajya’s 2023 reports give 102 km of the Delhi–Mumbai Expressway in Mandsaur and name Neemthur and Garoth among the toll plazas (Swarajya, September 2023; Swarajya, August 2023). That is road access that exists on paper and in part on the ground; interchange locations still need NHAI’s confirmation.

Cropped, irrigated black-soil land

A cropping intensity of 156% and 188,200 hectares of net irrigated area in the ICAR-CRIDA plan describe working farmland (ICAR-CRIDA Mandsaur plan). Open wells carry most of that irrigation, so water is the variable.

Land-acquisition compensation has been raised

The state Cabinet’s April 2026 decision raised the multiplier for rural agricultural land (ANI, April 2026). It signals that corridor projects will pay more for farmland; it does not change what a private buyer pays.

A pipeline that is still announced

Three industrial zones (November 2024) and a later-stage airstrip proposal (August 2026) have no start dates (New Projects Tracker, November 2024; Swarajya, August 2026). This desk reads them as optionality, not as a reason to pay a premium.

A market that rewards paperwork

Tribal-owner checks, diversion orders, the ceiling schedule and the Gandhi Sagar zone are all parcel-specific. A buyer who documents each is better placed than one relying on a broker summary.

Browse reviewed land in Mandsaur

Confirm tribal-land status, diversion and ceiling points directly; these are not certified by Farmland India’s review.

STRAIGHT TALK

Risks & challenges in Mandsaur

Read these before shortlisting in Mandsaur specifically.

Tribal-land permission

A parcel recorded to a covered tribal owner needs Collector-level permission for sale, and a fraudulent transfer can be reverted under section 170B. Check the recorded owner category on the khasra (Supreme Court, April 2025).

Gandhi Sagar eco-sensitive zone

Parcels in the 19 notified villages face limits on conversion, construction within 1 km and commercial mining (MoEFCC eco-sensitive zone notification, Gandhi Sagar (MP Forest Department copy)). Ask which villages are covered.

Over-exploited groundwater

The 2013 CGWB profile, on 2009 data, listed Mandsaur and Sitamau blocks as over-exploited, and the contingency plan gives 109% district-wide (CGWB district profile, Mandsaur (2013); ICAR-CRIDA Mandsaur plan). Check current block status and borewell yield; the 2024 district rows were not in the document we read.

Diversion and ceiling

A parcel sold as non-agricultural needs the diversion order read in full, and a large holding needs the ceiling schedule checked (High Court, June 2022; Supreme Court, January 2021).

Announced is not delivered

The industrial zones and airstrip have no start dates, and the expressway interchange for a given village is not documented in the reports we read.

Estimated price band

The ₹6–28 lakh per acre band is our estimate, not a sale record or an official rate. Collect registered comparables before negotiating.

Who to contact

Local revenue, planning & forest offices

Mutation and revenue-record matters go through the Tehsildar of the relevant tehsil (the Census lists Bhanpura, Malhargarh, Garoth, Shamgarh, Mandsaur, Daloda, Sitamau and Suwasra) and the District Collector’s office, whose details are on the Mandsaur district portal. Diversion and tribal-land permissions sit with the Collector or the Sub-Divisional Officer, as the judgments cited above describe. Sale deeds are registered through the Sub-Registrar, with guideline rates on Sampada 2.0 (The Statesman, October 2024). Forest questions, including the Gandhi Sagar zone, go to the Forest Department (MoEFCC notification copy). Land records are on MP Bhulekh; we could not open that portal, so ask the seller for a fresh extract.

COMMON QUESTIONS

Frequently asked questions

Everything buyers, NRIs and investors ask before their first reviewed farmland purchase in Mandsaur.

Visit full wiki

01 of 04

What does agricultural land cost in Mandsaur?

We found no official per-acre rate or dated price series for Mandsaur. Our estimate for farm land is about ₹6–28 lakh per acre*, higher along the Mandsaur–Malhargarh–Garoth belt and the Delhi–Mumbai Expressway and lower in the interior. *Indicative only, not a valuation or an offer; prices vary by plot, road access and title. Check the guideline or ready-reckoner rate with the Sub-Registrar.

Ready to look at what is available?

Browse reviewed listings

Transparency

Sources and references

Law and courts

Government

News

Further reading

Data-currency note: population and area come from the 2013 CGWB profile (Census 2011); crop and groundwater data come from documents dated 2008 to 2013; the CGWB 2024 assessment gave no district rows in the text we read; infrastructure statuses were read in October 2026 and change quickly; price bands are estimates marked with an asterisk. Pages marked not opened are named only as places to check. This is a general guide, not legal advice. Report inaccuracies to wiki@farmlandindia.com.

For developers

Ready to explore Mandsaur farmland?

Browse reviewed projects and individual land parcels across Mandsaur — or if you own land here, list it with platform review and reach serious buyers.

Farmland India ("the Platform"), operated by Bulk Procure Private Limited, is a digital marketplace for listing agricultural land, farmhouse and plotted development projects. The Platform is not a real estate broker, agent or intermediary under RERA or any other applicable law, and does not act for either party to a transaction.

Listings are submitted by developers, owners and their authorised representatives. Before publication, the Platform carries out a documentary review of the material supplied and records what was sighted. That review is limited to the documents made available to us at that time. It is not a title investigation, not a legal opinion, and not a warranty of title, approvals, or the accuracy of any information supplied by a lister. The Trust Score is an internal assessment produced from that review and is intended as a research aid, not as a guarantee of outcome.

Every buyer must carry out independent due diligence before any transaction — including verification of land records, encumbrance searches, approvals and regulatory compliance — through their own advocate and chartered accountant. Any legal or advisory professional introduced through the Platform is engaged directly by the user, on that professional's own terms; the Platform does not employ, supervise or accept responsibility for their work.

Nothing on the Platform is investment advice. Land values can fall as well as rise. The Platform is not liable for any loss, dispute or damage arising from a transaction between parties.