
District guide
Buying Land in Vidisha
A Betwa-valley farming district beside Sanchi, with deep-soil chickpea and wheat land, a Bhopal road upgrade approved and a metropolitan-region plan taking shape.
7,371 sq km
Area (district portal)
14.59 lakh
Population (district portal)
₹4–50 lakh per acre
Estimated land price*
44.83 km, ₹1,757.55 crore
Bhopal–Vidisha SH-28 four-laning
*Indicative range across districts and land types. Stamp duty, registration and conversion charges are additional. Local measurement units vary — every listing states the unit it is priced in. Not a valuation or an offer.
District land record — Vidisha
Rev. 2026 · Farmland India desk
State
Madhya Pradesh
Sub-divisions
The district portal says 12 tehsils (Vidisha district portal, October 2026); the MSME industrial profile names seven (Vidisha, Gyaraspur, Basoda or Ganj Basoda, Nateran, Kurwai, Sironj, Lateri) while its own table says 10 (MSME profile, undated). The portal tehsil page was robots-blocked, so confirm the current list
Key markets
Vidisha · Ganj Basoda · Sironj · Kurwai · Lateri · Gyaraspur · Nateran · Sanchi side
Demand anchors
Bhopal–Vidisha SH-28 four-laning approved · Sanchi, Udayagiri and Besnagar heritage sites · Koudi–Vidisha corridor · fourth rail line approved
Rail
The MSME profile gives 76 km of rail line in the district (2010-11); Vidisha is among six districts on the approved Itarsi–Bhopal–Bina fourth line (Patrika, March 2026)
Size and population
7,371 sq km · 14,58,875 people (Vidisha district portal, October 2026; the portal does not state the Census year)
Estimated land price*
About ₹4 lakh to ₹50 lakh per acre, highest on the Bhopal–Sanchi side
Pricing unit
₹/acre (farm land) · ₹/sq m (town plots)
Local units
Records use hectares and acres; village-level terms vary by tehsil, so convert every quote to acres
Land records portal
MP Bhulekh (portal not opened for this page; check records there)
*Indicative only, not a valuation or an offer; prices vary by plot, road access and title. Check the guideline or ready-reckoner rate with the Sub-Registrar.
Land law is state law. These rules are maintained on the Madhya Pradesh page and apply to every district within it.
Vidisha — land purchase legal rules
⚠ Madhya Pradesh does not run on a single rule for farmland. Tribal land, land above the holding ceiling, diverted land and ordinary farmland each follow a different track, and the Collector’s office sits at the centre of the first. Work out which track a parcel is on before looking at the price.
Which office decides what: A member of a tribe that the Code treats as aboriginal needs written permission from a revenue officer of at least Collector rank to sell land outside a notified area, and in a notified area the bar on sale to a non-tribal is absolute (section 165(6); Supreme Court, April 2025). The Supreme Court accepted in April 2025 that an Additional Collector can grant that permission under a valid work-allocation order (Lawyer E-News, April 2025). Sale deeds are registered through the Registration Department, which launched the Sampada 2.0 online registration system in October 2024 (The Statesman, October 2024).
Section 165 and tribal land: The April 2025 judgment concerned 6.29 hectares in Ratlam district outside the notified tehsils; the sale went through because the Additional Collector had given written permission, the price was above market value and a 10-year bar on changing the land’s use was attached under section 165(6-ee) (Supreme Court, April 2025). The High Court had earlier upheld the same sale and noted the Patwari’s report, the sellers’ need to fund a marriage and settle loans, and the land they kept (High Court, October 2023). Permission is a gate, not a formality: a sale with no permission is exposed. Under section 170B a transfer made by fraud can be reverted to the tribal owner or heirs, and the Supreme Court in March 2019 held that a civil court could not revisit a Collector’s 1985 section 170B order that had survived a writ petition (Supreme Court, March 2019).
Wills and indirect transfers: In February 2025 the High Court held that “transfer” in section 165(6) is not confined to sale and covers a Will of tribal land in favour of a non-tribal, so Collector permission was needed there too (High Court, February 2025). A buyer cannot assume that an inheritance document or a power of attorney avoids the permission step. There is a narrow carve-out: in October 2024 the High Court, relying on an older Division Bench ruling, held that sections 165(6) and 170 do not apply to Nazul land in an urban area, and sent the question of whether a given parcel was Nazul or Abadi back to the Additional Commissioner (High Court, October 2024).
Diversion and the Code: Turning farmland to another use is a diversion. A June 2022 High Court order refers to land “diverted under section 172” to non-agricultural purposes, and the Supreme Court has described section 59 as allowing reassessment of land revenue on a change of use, with a premium that the Sub-Divisional Officer may impose (High Court, June 2022; Supreme Court, August 2008). We could not read the current text of sections 172 and 190, so this page does not describe their procedure or fees, and a seller’s diversion order should be read in full, not taken on trust.
Ceiling on holdings: The Madhya Pradesh Ceiling on Agricultural Holdings Act, 1960 caps how much one holder or family may hold and provides for acquiring surplus land. In the 2021 case the Supreme Court quoted section 7(b) as allowing a family of five or fewer 54 acres, and set aside surplus declarations where a pending suit had not been disclosed (Supreme Court, January 2021). A legal-database copy of the Act lists three tiers for a family of five or fewer: 18 acres of two-crop irrigated land, 27 acres of one-crop irrigated land and 54 acres of dry land, and says land cannot be transferred before the final ceiling order without the Collector’s written permission, unless the holder is within the ceiling (legal database text of the 1960 Act). Treat those figures as the Act’s text as published there, and have a lawyer check the current schedule before buying a large holding.
Who may buy: None of the court orders or Act texts we opened bars a buyer simply for not being a farmer; the limits that turned up were the tribal-land permission in section 165(6) and the ceiling on holdings. We found no state notice listing other buyer conditions, so confirm with the Registration Department and the Collector’s office that none applies to the district you are looking at.
Registration and stamping: The Indian Stamp (Madhya Pradesh Second Amendment) Act, 2025 was published on 17 December 2025 and changes how short-stamped documents are handled, including a penalty of 1% of the deficient portion per month (TeamLease RegTech, December 2025). Duty rates are covered in the stamp duty section below.
Land records: Madhya Pradesh land records (khasra and the B-1 extract) are issued through the state’s MP Bhulekh portal. We could not open that portal for this page and found no independent description of its current fields or fees, so ask the seller for a fresh extract and compare the survey number, area and recorded owner with the sale deed.
NRI and OCI buyers: The Reserve Bank’s Master Direction under FEMA 1999 excludes agricultural land, plantation land and a farm house from what NRIs and OCIs may buy, in Madhya Pradesh as elsewhere (RBI Master Direction FED 12/2015-16, updated to September 2022). They can buy other immovable assets such as residential or commercial sites, and inheritance is treated separately in the Direction. Benami-law exposure was not checked against the Act text for this page, so take legal advice before using a nominee.
- Land Revenue Code 1959
- Section 165(6) tribal land
- Ceiling Act 1960
- Wills need permission
- NRI agri: barred (FEMA)
- Sampada 2.0
Vidisha — district-specific notes
The Madhya Pradesh state page applies to Vidisha in full. The notes below add what is specific to this district. Court orders, Act copies, district-portal pages and news were read in October 2026; the Land Revenue Code, the planning rules and the Bhulekh portal could not be opened from their official sites, so a local advocate should read the current text.
⚠ Heritage belt: the district portal names Besnagar, Gyaraspur, Udaypur, Udayagiri and Badoh-Pathari among its historic sites and puts Sanchi about 8 km from Vidisha town (Vidisha district portal). We did not open any notification of protected monuments or their regulated zones, so ask the Collector’s office whether a khasra near a monument carries building or excavation conditions.
⚠ Land acquisition on the Bhopal road: the cabinet approval for the 44.83 km Bhopal–Vidisha four-laning set aside ₹365.41 crore from the state budget for land acquisition and supervision (Construction World, August 2026). The reports do not name the villages affected, so check whether a parcel sits inside the widening before paying a deposit.
⚠ Mining and forest: the MSME industrial profile lists stone, murum, sand and flagstone as the minerals worked in 2010-11 and about 109,600 hectares of forest, around 15% of the district (MSME industrial profile). The profile is undated, so ask whether a khasra carries a quarry lease or a forest classification.
⚠ Metropolitan region: in April 2026 the Urban Development and Housing Department notified a Bhopal Metropolitan Region of 2,510 villages in six districts, Vidisha among them. The report gives a village count only for Bhopal district, so we cannot say which Vidisha villages are inside (Free Press Journal, April 2026). A planning committee will prepare the plan, so ask the Town and Country Planning office before paying a deposit.
⚠ Tribal land: under section 165(6) of the Madhya Pradesh Land Revenue Code, a sale of land held by a tribal member needs the written permission of a revenue officer of Collector rank or above, and a sale to a non-tribal inside a notified area is barred (Supreme Court, April 2025). In April 2025 the Supreme Court upheld a Ratlam sale made with that permission, and the High Court held in February 2025 that a Will of tribal land to a non-tribal needs it too (High Court, February 2025). Section 170-B lets the revenue authorities undo fraudulent transfers (Supreme Court, March 2019). Ask for the khasra history and the Collector’s order, and ask the Tehsildar whether the village is in a notified area; we did not find a village-level list.
⚠ Diversion has changed form: a June 2022 High Court order still speaks of land “diverted under section 172” (High Court, June 2022). A legal-database copy of the 2018 amending Act lists a deletion of section 172 and a new section 59, under which the landholder works out the premium and reassessed revenue, pays it and informs the Sub-Divisional Officer (Land Revenue Code Amendment Act 2018). We could not open the Code itself, so treat which section applies as a point to confirm. The Supreme Court described the premium and reassessment under the older section 59 in 2008 (Supreme Court, August 2008). Ask the seller for the diversion receipt.
⚠ Holding ceiling: the Madhya Pradesh Ceiling on Agricultural Holdings Act, 1960 limits how much a family may hold. The Supreme Court quoted 54 acres for a family of five or fewer in January 2021 (Supreme Court, January 2021), and a legal-database copy lists lower tiers of 18 and 27 acres for other classes of land (Ceiling Act 1960). We could not confirm the current schedule, so a buyer assembling a large block should check the seller’s total holding.
⚠ Farm house: the 1984 Bhumi Vikas Rules allowed what they call a forest house on agricultural-zone land of at least 4,045 sq m, with a floor area ratio of 0.10, a height of 6.5 m, 200 live trees per acre and a 10 m setback (Bhumi Vikas Rules 1984). Those Rules were replaced by the 2012 Niyam, which we could not read, and a draft amendment of 29 June 2026 would switch to a list of banned uses in each zone (TeamLease RegTech, June 2026). Treat the 1984 conditions as historic until the current text is checked with the Town and Country Planning office.
Read the full Madhya Pradesh land buying guide for buyer eligibility, stamp duty and NRI rules.
- Heritage belt
- Section 165(6) tribal land
- Bhopal Metropolitan Region
- Road acquisition
- Ceiling Act 1960
- Quarry land
District overview
Vidisha — a Betwa-valley farming district beside Sanchi, with a Bhopal road upgrade approved
Vidisha is a plateau district in the Betwa valley, off the main Vindhyachal range, with an area of 7,371 sq km, 14,58,875 people and 1,524 villages on the district portal (Vidisha district portal, October 2026). It was formed in 1904 from Vidisha and Basoda tehsils, and Sironj, which came from the former Tonk state, was added in 1956 (district court page). The portal names Besnagar, Gyaraspur, Udaypur, Udayagiri and Badoh-Pathari among its historic sites (about-district page).
Farming dominates. The ICAR-CRIDA plan, using 2008-09 data, gives deep soil on 82.5% of the area, a net sown area of 531,400 hectares at a cropping intensity of 129%, and chickpea on 214,100 hectares, wheat on 186,200 and soybean on 163,300 (ICAR-CRIDA Vidisha plan). Borewells irrigate 41.4% of the irrigated area and reservoirs 24.1%, so water depends on the well as much as on the canal.
The public-works story is the road to Bhopal. In August 2026 the state cabinet approved a ₹1,757.55 crore, 44.83 km four-laning of SH-28 from Bhanpur T junction to the Sanchi–Salamatpur junction on NH-146, without a stated start date (NBM&CW, August 2026). A fourth rail line across six districts including Vidisha is approved with a 2028 target (Patrika, March 2026). We found no Vidisha guideline-rate report and no official per-acre series, so the price bands here are our estimates, explained in the price section.
- Sanchi side
- Udayagiri
- Ganj Basoda
- Sironj
- Kurwai
- Betwa valley
- Bhopal–Vidisha SH-28
Transaction costs
Stamp duty & registration in Vidisha
7.5%
Stamp duty (reported)
on the higher of market or transaction value
3%
Registration fee (reported)
same base
~10.5%
Combined (reported)
arithmetic of the two reported rates
Stamp duty of 7.5% and a registration charge of 3% on the higher of market value or transaction value were reported on 27 March 2026 (Dainik Jagran English, March 2026). A 25 March piece put the combined range at 9.5% to 12.5% and said charges would rise in step with any guideline-rate rise (Dainik Jagran English, March 2026). The Registration Department’s own fee page was not opened, so ask the Sub-Registrar for the current schedule for agricultural land in Vidisha before budgeting; levies or concessions can change the total.
We found no Vidisha-specific guideline-rate report for 2026-27. Guideline rates are set village by village, and the state’s e-registration portal carries a rate lookup (The Statesman, October 2024). Since 17 December 2025 a short-stamped document attracts a penalty of 1% of the shortfall per month (TeamLease RegTech, December 2025). The district portal opened for this page does not publish a rate card, so the figures above are state-wide reports, not a Vidisha schedule.
Know the belt
What is moving land prices in Vidisha
No official per-acre rate for Vidisha was found. The bands below are our estimates; the Sub-Registrar’s guideline rate is the only rate that binds a registration.
Bhopal–Sanchi side: SH-28 and NH-146 villages
Estimated land price*: ₹15–50 lakh per acre
The 44.83 km SH-28 four-laning links Bhopal to the Sanchi–Salamatpur junction and the heritage belt (NBM&CW, August 2026). The band is set by analogy with Bhopal-edge districts and kept wide because no registered-deal series was found. A road still awaiting a start date is not yet a price driver you can document.
Check: whether the khasra falls inside the widening and what compensation or guideline rate applies. *Indicative only, not a valuation or an offer; prices vary by plot, road access and title. Check the guideline or ready-reckoner rate with the Sub-Registrar.
Vidisha, Ganj Basoda, Gyaraspur and Lateri black-soil plains
Estimated land price*: ₹8–25 lakh per acre
Deep-soil chickpea, wheat and soybean land with borewell irrigation. The ICAR-CRIDA plan puts 82.5% of the district on deep soil and 255,500 hectares under irrigation (ICAR-CRIDA Vidisha plan). The band is our estimate by analogy with comparable plateau districts.
Check: borewell yield, road access and the revenue record of the village.
Sironj, Kurwai and Nateran interior
Estimated land price*: ₹4–15 lakh per acre
Tehsils further from Bhopal, with rain-fed and reservoir-irrigated land. The plan lists 275,900 hectares as rain-fed (ICAR-CRIDA Vidisha plan). Prices are the hardest to estimate here, so the band is wide relative to its level.
Check: water source, approach road and the history of the khasra, including any older state-era entries.
Asking prices and guideline rates
No sourced price series
We did not use listing-site asking prices, and no Vidisha guideline-rate report for 2026-27 was found. For context, Dainik Jagran English reported in March 2026 that the Bhopal district committee had proposed a 12% average rise, which is a Bhopal figure and not a Vidisha one (Dainik Jagran English, March 2026).
Check: registered sale deeds in the same revenue village before negotiating.
Units: acre and hectare
Madhya Pradesh records land in hectares and acres in the khasra and B-1; one hectare is about 2.47 acres and one acre about 4,047 sq m (our arithmetic). Local terms for plots vary by district and tehsil, so convert every quote to acres or sq m and confirm the share of the khasra being sold with the Patwari.
Connectivity
How Vidisha connects — road, rail and air
Distances from Bhopal are not stated except where the portal gives one. Journey times vary with traffic and road works.
By road
By air
By rail
The last leg from the highway to the parcel is what decides access; ask for the approach road in the revenue record. Full state rules for buyers: Madhya Pradesh land rules.
Growth catalysts
Upcoming infrastructure & developments
Status labels reflect sources read in October 2026. Government-announced timelines are not guaranteed; items marked reported rest on a single outlet or an older report.
00Open or inaugurated
04In progress or pending
Agriculture & terrain
Soil, crops & water in Vidisha
A deep-soil chickpea, wheat and soybean plateau in the Betwa valley, watered mainly by borewells and reservoirs.
🌾 Black-soil plains
The ICAR-CRIDA plan (2008-09 data, so dated) places Vidisha in the Vindhya Plateau zone, with deep soil on 82.5% of the area, medium-deep 0.6% and shallow 16.8%. Net sown area was 531,400 hectares at a cropping intensity of 129%, with chickpea on 214,100 hectares, wheat on 186,200, soybean on 163,300, lentil on 76,100 and blackgram on 31,600 (ICAR-CRIDA Vidisha plan).
- Chickpea
- Wheat
- Soybean
- Lentil
🌊 Betwa valley
The district portal says most of the district lies in the Betwa valley, with the river flowing from south to north (Vidisha district portal), and the MSME profile also names the Bes (MSME profile). We found no flood-history report for the district, so ask the seller about riverside or low-lying parcels.
- Betwa
- Bes
- Reservoirs
🏛️ Heritage and quarry belt
The MSME profile lists dhoka stone, murum, sand and flagstone as the minerals worked in 2010-11 and about 109,600 hectares of forest (MSME profile). The portal places Sanchi about 8 km from Vidisha town and lists Udayagiri and Besnagar among its sites (Vidisha district portal).
- Udayagiri
- Besnagar
- Quarries
💧 Water & rainfall
Normal annual rainfall is 996.3 mm in the ICAR-CRIDA plan, of which 916.6 mm falls in the south-west monsoon. Net irrigated area was 255,500 hectares against 275,900 rain-fed: borewells 106,300 hectares (41.4%), reservoirs 61,900 (24.1%), open wells 42,700 (16.6%) and canals 39,900 (15.5%). The plan lists all seven blocks as safe, without stating the data year (ICAR-CRIDA plan). CGWB’s 2024 assessment gives a state-wide extraction stage of 58.40% and no block-level table for this district (CGWB, Madhya Pradesh 2024). Check the borewell yield for any parcel.
📐 Measurement units
Madhya Pradesh records land in hectares and acres. One hectare is about 2.47 acres and one acre about 4,047 sq m (our arithmetic). Local terms vary by tehsil and village, so convert every quote to acres before comparing two offers. Crop income is modest next to land values near Bhopal and Sanchi, so price a parcel on location and permitted use, not on chickpea or wheat yield.
At a glance
Vidisha vs. its neighbours
| District / belt | Estimated price band* (per acre) | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Vidisha — SH-28 and Sanchi side | ₹15–50 lakh | Our estimate by analogy with Bhopal-edge districts; no registered-deal series found |
| Vidisha — black-soil plains and interior tehsils | ₹4–25 lakh | Our estimate; wide because water, road and distance from Bhopal differ |
| Raisen — Bhopal-side belt | ₹30–90 lakh | Our estimate for the page of that district |
| Hoshangabad — Narmada belt | ₹15–45 lakh | Our estimate for the page of that district |
*Indicative only, not a valuation or an offer; prices vary by plot, road access and title. Check the guideline or ready-reckoner rate with the Sub-Registrar. See the Raisen page for the neighbour that shares the Bhopal–Kanpur corridor and the Hoshangabad page for the Narmada-belt district.
Farmland India view
Why investors look at Vidisha
Five reasoned points, with an honest note that price evidence is thin and the main road upgrade has no start date yet.
A road to Bhopal approved
The state cabinet approved the 44.83 km SH-28 four-laning in August 2026. With no start date reported, it is a catalyst to watch rather than a basis for a premium.
Deep-soil cropland
The ICAR-CRIDA plan gives deep soil on 82.5% of the area and a cropping intensity of 129% on 2008-09 data. Crop income is modest next to land values near Bhopal, so the return case is location and permitted use.
Heritage setting
Sanchi is about 8 km from Vidisha town, and Udayagiri and Besnagar sit in the district. Visitor interest is not a price series, and sites near monuments can carry conditions.
Inside the Bhopal planning frame
Vidisha is among the six districts in the Bhopal Metropolitan Region notified in April 2026, and the fourth rail line is approved with a 2028 target.
A market that rewards paperwork
With tribal-land, quarry, diversion, acquisition and metropolitan-region questions all parcel-specific, a buyer who documents each one is better placed than one relying on a broker summary.
Confirm tribal-land, forest, diversion and planning status directly; these are not certified by Farmland India’s review.
STRAIGHT TALK
Risks & challenges in Vidisha
Read these before shortlisting in Vidisha specifically.
Tribal-land permission
Sales of land held by tribal members need Collector-rank permission under section 165(6), and a sale to a non-tribal in a notified area is barred. We found no village-level list, so ask the Tehsildar in writing.
Acquisition on the Bhopal road
The SH-28 upgrade has ₹365.41 crore set aside for land acquisition and supervision, and no villages are named. Check whether a parcel sits inside the widening.
Quarry and forest land
The MSME profile lists stone, murum and sand working and about 15% forest. Ask whether a khasra carries a lease or a forest classification.
Heritage-zone conditions
Parcels near Sanchi, Udayagiri or Besnagar may carry conditions from the protecting authorities. We opened no notification, so ask the Collector’s office.
Metropolitan-region plan
The region covers villages in Vidisha, but the report does not list which. A plan and a land bank may follow, so ask the planning office before a deposit.
Estimated, not registered, prices
The bands on this page are our estimates, not registered deals, and no Vidisha guideline-rate report was found. Collect registered comparables before negotiating.
Announced is not delivered
The SH-28 upgrade has no start date, the fourth line targets 2028, and phase 2 of the corridor rests on one outlet. Price on today’s fundamentals.
Who to contact
Local revenue, planning & registration offices
Mutation and revenue-record matters go through the Tehsildar of the relevant tehsil under the District Collector, whose office is listed on the Vidisha district portal (the district portal says 12 tehsils but the pages we opened did not name them, so confirm yours). Sale-deed registration is handled by the local Sub-Registrar, with rate lookup on the state e-registration portal. Diversion goes to the Sub-Divisional Officer, and planning questions to the Town and Country Planning office. MP Bhulekh holds the khasra and B-1. We could not open the Bhulekh, Registration Department or planning portals, so check them directly.
KEEP EXPLORING
Explore more areas
Other districts in Madhya Pradesh
- Agar Malwa
- Alirajpur
- Anuppur
- Ashok Nagar
- Balaghat
- Barwani
- Betul
- Bhind
- Bhopal
- Burhanpur
- Chhatarpur
- Chhindwara
- Damoh
- Datia
- Dewas
- Dhar
- Dindori
- Guna
- Gwalior
- Harda
- Hoshangabad
- Indore
- Jabalpur
- Jhabua
- Katni
- KhandwaAgricultural Land • 1 listing
- Khargone
- Mandla
- Mandsaur
- Mauganj
- Morena
- Narsinghpur
- Neemuch
- Niwari
- Pandhurna
- Panna
- Raisen
- Rajgarh
- Ratlam
- Rewa
- Sagar
- Satna
- Sehore
- Seoni
- Shahdol
- Shajapur
- Sheopur
- Shivpuri
- Sidhi
- Singrauli
- Tikamgarh
- Ujjain
- Umaria
COMMON QUESTIONS
Frequently asked questions
Everything buyers, NRIs and investors ask before their first reviewed farmland purchase in Vidisha.
Visit full wiki01 of 04
What does farm land cost in Vidisha?
We found no official per-acre rate or registered-deal series for Vidisha, so the figures are our estimates: roughly ₹15–50 lakh per acre on the Bhopal–Sanchi side, ₹8–25 lakh on the black-soil plains and ₹4–15 lakh in the interior tehsils. The estimates are indicative only, not a valuation or an offer; check the guideline rate with the Sub-Registrar.
02 of 04
What is the Bhopal–Vidisha road project?
The state cabinet approved in August 2026 a 44.83 km four-laning of SH-28 from Bhanpur T junction to the Sanchi–Salamatpur junction on NH-146, costing ₹1,757.55 crore (NBM&CW, August 2026). The reports give no start date or villages, so check whether a parcel falls inside the widening.
03 of 04
Can I buy tribal land in Vidisha?
Only with written permission from a revenue officer of Collector rank or above under section 165(6) of the Land Revenue Code, and not by sale to a non-tribal in a notified area (Supreme Court, April 2025). We found no village-level list of notified areas, so ask the Tehsildar.
04 of 04
What stamp duty applies to land in Vidisha?
Dainik Jagran English reported in March 2026 stamp duty of 7.5% and a registration charge of 3% on the higher of market or transaction value, about 10.5% together. We could not open the Registration Department page and found no Vidisha-specific schedule, so confirm with the Sub-Registrar.
Ready to look at what is available?
Browse reviewed listingsTransparency
Sources and references
Law and courts
- State of Madhya Pradesh v. Dinesh Kumar, 2025 INSC 470, Supreme Court, 8 Apr 2025 (section 165(6), tribal land)
- Dinesh Kumar v. State of Madhya Pradesh, Misc. Petition 3679 of 2021, MP High Court (Indore), 3 Oct 2023
- Second Appeal 2837 of 2022, MP High Court (Jabalpur), 17 Feb 2025 (Will of tribal land)
- Bherulal v. State of Madhya Pradesh, Writ Petition 26410 of 2022, MP High Court (Indore), 14 Oct 2024 (urban Nazul land)
- Garvit Khandelwal v. State of Madhya Pradesh, Writ Appeal 200 of 2021, MP High Court (Indore), 15 Jun 2022
- Pooran Singh v. Dhaniram, Civil Appeal 3122 of 2019, Supreme Court, 14 Mar 2019 (section 170-B)
- Civil Appeals 7732-7733 of 2004, Supreme Court, 26 Aug 2008 (section 59 reassessment and premium)
- Bajranga v. State of Madhya Pradesh, Civil Appeal 6209 of 2010, Supreme Court, 19 Jan 2021 (Ceiling Act 1960)
- Madhya Pradesh Ceiling on Agricultural Holdings Act, 1960 (ss. 5 and 7 text), Legitquest legal database
- Madhya Pradesh Land Revenue Code (Amendment) Act, 2018, Legitquest legal database
- Madhya Pradesh Bhumi Vikas Rules, 1984, Legitquest legal database
- Madhya Pradesh Nagar Tatha Gram Nivesh Adhiniyam, 1973, PRS Legislative Research copy
- Master Direction FED 12/2015-16 on immovable assets under FEMA 1999, Reserve Bank of India (updated to 1 Sep 2022)
Government
- Vidisha district portal home page (area, population, tehsil count, Betwa valley), October 2026
- About Vidisha district (history, heritage sites, Sanchi distance), Vidisha district portal
- District court Vidisha, history and tehsils, district courts portal
- Brief industrial profile of Vidisha district, MSME Development Institute (undated; data 2010-11)
- District agriculture contingency plan, Vidisha, ICAR-CRIDA (data 2008-09)
- Dynamic Ground Water Resources of Madhya Pradesh, assessment 2024, Central Ground Water Board
News
- Madhya Pradesh guideline rate hike proposed for 2026-27, stamp duty and registration charges, Dainik Jagran English, 27 Mar 2026
- Bhopal: 12% guideline rate hike proposed, Dainik Jagran English, 25 Mar 2026
- Indian Stamp (Madhya Pradesh Second Amendment) Act, 2025, notified 17 Dec 2025, TeamLease RegTech
- MP CM launches online portal for e-registry (Sampada 2.0), The Statesman, Oct 2024
- MP cabinet approves Rs 1,757 crore Bhopal-Vidisha four-lane highway, NBM&CW, 14 Aug 2026
- MP cabinet approves Bhopal-Vidisha road and bypass upgrade, Construction World, Aug 2026
- Bhopal-Vidisha route to become 4-lane highway, The Hitavada, 12 Aug 2026
- Work begins on Rs 1,040 crore four-lane road, Patrika, 17 Nov 2025
- Madhya Pradesh to get fourth 237 km railway line, Patrika, 2 Mar 2026
- Bhopal Metropolitan Region notified, 2,510 villages from six districts, Free Press Journal, 18 Apr 2026
- International operations set to take off from Bhopal, The Hitavada, 13 May 2026
- Upgraded Raja Bhoj airport gets four new direct flights, The Hitavada, 10 Aug 2026
Further reading
- Ramendra Singh v. State of Madhya Pradesh, Supreme Court, 23 Jan 1984 (ceiling and family area)
- No bar on tribal land sale outside notified area, Lawyer E-News, 11 Apr 2025
- Draft Amendment to Madhya Pradesh Bhumi Vikas Niyam, 2012, TeamLease RegTech, Jun 2026
- Madhya Pradesh plans Narmada Pragati Path, Free Press Journal, 2 Aug 2026 (state expressway context)
Data-currency note: area and population are district-portal figures without a stated Census year; crop and irrigation data are from 2008-09 and the land-use data from 2010-11; infrastructure statuses were read in October 2026 and change quickly; price bands are our estimates and no guideline rate was found. Pages marked "not opened" are named only as places to check. This is a general guide, not legal advice. Report inaccuracies to wiki@farmlandindia.com.
For developers
Ready to explore Vidisha farmland?
Browse reviewed projects and individual land parcels across Vidisha — or if you own land here, list it with platform review and reach serious buyers.