Farmland India
Aerial view of agricultural land and farm fields near Jhunjhunu, Rajasthan

District guide

Buying Land in Jhunjhunu

A Shekhawati district of sandy farmland and deep wells, with a copper belt, an NH-11 upgrade with funds approved and no sourced per-acre price series.

  • 5,926 sq km

    Area

  • 21.40 lakh

    Population (Census 2011)

  • 7 of 8

    Over-exploited blocks (2004)

  • 78 km, funds approved Mar 2026

    NH-11 Jhunjhunu–Chirawa package

*Indicative range across districts and land types. Stamp duty, registration and conversion charges are additional. Local measurement units vary — every listing states the unit it is priced in. Not a valuation or an offer.

Apna Khata — Rajasthan Land Records Portal

District land record — Jhunjhunu

Rev. 2026 · Farmland India desk

State

Rajasthan

Sub-divisions

Five tehsils (Chirawa, Jhunjhunu, Khetri, Nawalgarh, Udaipurwati) and eight blocks (Alsisar, Buhana, Chirawa, Jhunjhunu, Khetri, Nawalgarh, Surajgarh, Udaipurwati) in the CGWB profile, whose data run to 2008 (CGWB district profile, Jhunjhunu); tehsils created since were not found

Key markets

Jhunjhunu city · Nawalgarh · Chirawa · Udaipurwati · Khetri · Surajgarh

Demand anchors

Khetri copper mines · Jhunjhunu–Chirawa four-laning on NH-11 (funds approved March 2026) · rail links requested but not sanctioned in the sources read

Rail

No station or division detail was opened. Two new lines, Jhunjhunu–Ratangarh and Dabla–Khetri–Chirawa, have been raised in Parliament by the local MP (Lok Sabha, Jhunjhunu–Ratangarh; Lok Sabha, Dabla–Chirawa)

Size and population

5,926 sq km · 21,39,658 people, Census 2011 (Jhunjhunu district court page)

Pricing unit

₹ per acre in common usage; DLC schedules have registered agricultural land in hectares since December 2024 (Patrika, December 2024)

Local units

Acre and hectare. Local units differ by tehsil, so ask the patwari to restate any quoted area in acres or hectares before comparing offers

Land records portal

Revenue land records (Apna Khata / eDharti); not opened for this page, so check records with the Tehsildar (NeGD listing)

District overview

Jhunjhunu — a Shekhawati district of sandy soil, deep wells and a copper belt

Jhunjhunu covers 5,926 sq km and had 21,39,658 people at Census 2011, and it adjoins Haryana to the north-east and east, Sikar to the south-east, south and south-west, and Churu to the north-west and north (Jhunjhunu district court page). The CGWB profile lists the tehsils of Chirawa, Jhunjhunu, Khetri, Nawalgarh and Udaipurwati and blocks including Alsisar, Buhana and Surajgarh (CGWB district profile, Jhunjhunu). Its figures are old (population to 2001, crops to 2003-04, groundwater to 2004), and the tehsil map may have been redrawn since.

We publish no per-acre price band for Jhunjhunu because no registered-deal or DLC village list could be traced. Statewide, DLC rates were raised 10% in April 2026 and by 5% to 49% in listed areas from 3 August 2026 (Patrika, August 2026). Jhunjhunu was not named in the report, so the district's own rate is not stated here.

This is farmland first, and farmland that depends on wells: the same profile counts 2,267 sq km irrigated by wells and tubewells against 0.17 sq km by canal, and rates seven of eight blocks as over-exploited at the 2004 assessment. The infrastructure story is thinner than in the eastern districts. A four-laning of NH-11 toward Haryana has funds approved, and two rail lines have been asked for (see upcoming infrastructure).

  • Jhunjhunu
  • Nawalgarh
  • Chirawa
  • Udaipurwati
  • Khetri
  • Shekhawati
Locator map of Jhunjhunu district in Rajasthan

Transaction costs

Stamp duty & registration in Jhunjhunu

Up to 20%

Surcharge on stamp duty

Cow-protection surcharge, Section 3-B, Stamp Act 1998; cap raised from 10% in 2018

DLC

Valuation basis

Patrika reported in August 2026 that duty and fee follow DLC rates

Not traced

Base duty and fee

Sale-deed rates could not be traced to an official page or a news report

The surcharge cap was raised from 10% to 20% by the Rajasthan Stamp (Amendment) Bill, 2018 (PRS, Bill 18 of 2018; Tribune, September 2018). The rate notified today is not confirmed, and the base stamp duty and registration fee for a sale deed could not be traced, so none is quoted. Deeds are registered through the Registration and Stamps Department's ePanjiyan system (NeGD listing). Patrika reported that DLC rates rose 10% in April 2026 and by 5% to 49% in listed areas from 3 August 2026 (Patrika, August 2026); the report did not name Jhunjhunu, so we state no district DLC figure. Since July 2024, Rule 57 of the Stamp Rules lets the registering officer inspect the land and value open land and structures separately (TeamLease RegTech, July 2024). Patrika gave one statewide example in December 2024: on a Rs 50 lakh transaction in an area where the DLC rate rose 15%, the extra cost was Rs 66,000 in a man's name and Rs 56,250 in a woman's (Patrika, December 2024). The current schedule should be taken from the Registration and Stamps office.

Know the belt

What is moving prices in Jhunjhunu

There is no sourced Jhunjhunu price series. The cards below record what the sources do and do not say.

Asking prices

No sourced price series

No registered-deal figure or village-wise DLC list for Jhunjhunu could be traced, so none is shown. A DLC rate is a registration floor, not the price a seller will accept.

Check: registered sale deeds in the same revenue village before negotiating.

Statewide DLC revisions

10% (Apr 2026); 5% to 49% in listed areas (3 Aug 2026)

Patrika reported both revisions statewide and did not list Jhunjhunu villages (Patrika, August 2026). A peri-urban threshold for the residential DLC rate was also raised in November 2025 (Patrika, November 2025).

Check: the DLC rate for the village on the date of registration.

Highway belt: NH-11

Funds approved, Mar 2026

Funds of Rs 22,030 million were approved for Package I of the Jhunjhunu–Chirawa–Haryana four-laning, 78 km from km 57 to km 129 (Indian Infrastructure, March 2026). No acquisition notice or compensation rate was found.

Check: whether the alignment touches the khasra and which land has been notified.

Copper belt around Khetri

Mining-led demand

The Khetri and Kolihan mines are the district's one large industrial employer in the sources read, and capacity expansion was proposed in September 2024 (Outlook Business, September 2024). No effect on land values is documented.

Check: mining-lease and buffer boundaries before treating the belt as ordinary farmland.

Units: acre and hectare

Quote and compare in acres or hectares. DLC schedules have registered agricultural land in hectares since December 2024 (Patrika, December 2024). Local units differ by tehsil and we opened no revenue manual for them, so ask the patwari to restate the area in acres or hectares and to match it to the khasra number.

Connectivity

How Jhunjhunu connects — road, rail and air

Distances and journey times are not given because no official or news source for them was found.

By road

Jhunjhunu–Chirawa–Haryana, NH-1178 km (km 57–129) Package I; funds approved Mar 2026
Police Line four-lane overbridge, Jhunjhunu₹51.88 crore; completion scheduled 27 Jan 2027

By rail

Jhunjhunu–Ratangarh via Mandawa, FatehpurRequested in Lok Sabha; no sanction found
Dabla–Khetri–Singhana–ChirawaAbout 70 km requested; closed freight line noted
MetroNo metro project found in the sources read

By air

Nearest commercial airportNot sourced for this page
Airport project in the districtNone found

The practical question is the last leg from the highway to the parcel; ask for the access road in the revenue record. Full rules for buyers: Rajasthan agricultural land rules.

Growth catalysts

Upcoming infrastructure & developments

Status labels reflect sources read in October 2026. Nothing here is open yet; items marked confirm have a single or an undated source.

00Open or inaugurated

05In progress or pending

Funds approved · Mar 2026 Jhunjhunu–Chirawa–Haryana four-laning (NH-11)
In progress · due 27 Jan 2027 Police Line railway overbridge, Jhunjhunu
Requested · no sanction found Jhunjhunu–Ratangarh new rail line
Requested · no sanction found Dabla–Khetri–Chirawa rail line
Proposed · company plan (Sep 2024) Khetri and Kolihan copper mine expansion
Funds approved · Mar 2026

Jhunjhunu–Chirawa–Haryana four-laning (NH-11)

Indian Infrastructure reported on 9 March 2026 that the Ministry of Road Transport and Highways approved Rs 22,030 million for Package I of the Jhunjhunu–Chirawa–Haryana four-laning on NH-11 in Rajasthan, a 78 km stretch from km 57 to km 129 (Indian Infrastructure, March 2026). The report does not name the districts crossed or give a completion date, so confirm the alignment with NHAI before pricing a parcel on it.

Source: Indian Infrastructure, 9 Mar 2026

Length

78 km

Funds approved

₹2,203 crore

Road

NH-11, Package I

Completion

Not stated

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Jhunjhunu
  • Chirawa
In progress · due 27 Jan 2027

Police Line railway overbridge, Jhunjhunu

Patrika reported in October 2025 that work resumed on a four-lane overbridge at the Police Line railway crossing in Jhunjhunu, costing Rs 51.88 crore split equally between the railways and the state, with completion scheduled for 27 January 2027 (Patrika, October 2025). No later progress report was found.

Source: Patrika, Oct 2025

Cost

₹51.88 crore

Funding

Railways and state, equal

Location

Police Line crossing

Due

27 Jan 2027

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Jhunjhunu city
Requested · no sanction found

Jhunjhunu–Ratangarh new rail line

The Jhunjhunu MP asked Parliament for a new line from Jhunjhunu through Mandawa and Fatehpur to Ratangarh, which would link Jhunjhunu directly with Bikaner (Lok Sabha question). The page carries no date, and we found no sanction, survey or cost.

Source: Lok Sabha question (undated)

Route

Jhunjhunu–Mandawa–Fatehpur–Ratangarh

Length

Not stated

Cost

Not stated

Status

Requested

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Jhunjhunu
  • Mandawa belt
Requested · no sanction found

Dabla–Khetri–Chirawa rail line

The same MP asked for a line of about 70 km from Dabla, on the Dedicated Freight Corridor in Sikar district, through Khetri and Singhana to Chirawa, on the bed of a closed meter-gauge line, so that less land would be needed (Lok Sabha question). The request is for a survey first; no cost or sanction is given and the page is undated.

Source: Lok Sabha question (undated)

Length

About 70 km

Junction

Dabla (Sikar)

Cost

Not stated

Status

Survey requested

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Khetri
  • Singhana
  • Chirawa
Proposed · company plan (Sep 2024)

Khetri and Kolihan copper mine expansion

Outlook Business reported on 27 September 2024 that the mining company's chairman said ore capacity at the Khetri and Kolihan mines in Rajasthan would rise from one to three million tonnes a year, as part of a company-wide 12.2 million tonne plan (Outlook Business, September 2024). It is a corporate plan, not an infrastructure sanction, and no land acquisition detail was given.

Source: Outlook Business, 27 Sep 2024

Mines

Khetri, Kolihan

Ore capacity

1 → 3 million t a year

Type

Company plan

Land impact

Not stated

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Khetri
  • Kolihan

Agriculture & terrain

Soil, crops & water in Jhunjhunu

A sandy, bajra-and-wells district in the Shekhawati belt where almost every block was over-exploited at the last block-wise assessment in the profile.

🌾 Crops and soil

The CGWB profile gives 2003-04 areas of 2,919.74 sq km under bajra, 634.56 under wheat and 949.32 under oilseeds, with a net sown area of 4,273.46 sq km. Main kharif crops are bajra, guar, cowpea, moong and moth; rabi crops are wheat, gram and mustard. Soils are 44.97% desert soil, 36.25% sand dunes, 7.90% red desertic soil, 5.55% hill soils and 5.33% older alluvium (CGWB district profile, Jhunjhunu). The data are two decades old.

  • Bajra
  • Guar
  • Wheat
  • Mustard
  • Moong

💧 Water and rainfall

Normal annual rainfall is 459.5 mm (1901-71) and the 1971-2006 mean 485.6 mm. Wells and tubewells irrigate about 2,267 sq km and canals 0.17 sq km (CGWB district profile, Jhunjhunu). Statewide, IMD Jaipur puts the June to September normal at 435.6 mm, with 283.6 mm in the west and 626.6 mm in the east (IMD, 2025).

  • 459.5 mm normal
  • Wells 2,267 sq km
  • Canal 0.17 sq km

⛏ Rivers and mining belt

The Kantli, Dohan, Chanderwati, Budhi nala, Sukh and Singhana are ephemeral and flow mainly in the monsoon (CGWB district profile, Jhunjhunu). The same profile ties the Khetri copper project to the district's water history. A farm near the mining belt may sit near leases or dumps, so ask for the lease map.

  • Ephemeral rivers
  • Khetri copper
  • Hill soils 5.55%

💧 Groundwater, block by block

At the 31 March 2004 assessment in the CGWB profile, the district stage of development was 200.05%: Alsisar 88.34% (safe), Khetri 107.41%, Buhana 144.34%, Jhunjhunu 215.87%, Udaipurwati 220.47%, Surajgarh 246.64%, Nawalgarh 288.66% and Chirawa 314.78%, all over-exploited (CGWB profile). That is 20 years old. CGWB's 2024 state assessment puts Rajasthan at 149.86% extraction with 214 of 302 units over-exploited, gives no unit table for this district, and lists Jhunjhunu among districts with sporadic anomalies in salinity, fluoride, nitrate and uranium (CGWB, 2024). Check borewell depth, yield and water quality on site.

🌾 Crop income and mandi prices

Mandi prices are published on Agmarknet; the portal was not opened for this review, so none is quoted. Crop income on sandy, well-fed land is modest next to a land price, so judge a parcel on location, water and permitted use rather than on bajra yield.

At a glance

Jhunjhunu vs. its neighbours

District / beltPrice band* (per acre)Evidence
JhunjhunuNo sourced price seriesNo DLC village list traced; statewide revisions only
SikarNo sourced price seriesNo figure used on this page
ChuruNo sourced price seriesNo figure used on this page

*No Jhunjhunu price figure could be sourced, and the neighbouring districts carry none here either. See the Sikar page and the Churu page for the adjoining Shekhawati districts, or the Rajasthan state page for statewide DLC news.

Farmhouse plot with boundary stones near Jhunjhunu, Rajasthan

District report — Jhunjhunu

Farmland India view

Why investors look at Jhunjhunu

Four reasoned points and an honest note that price evidence is thin and every catalyst here is pending.

A highway upgrade with funds approved

NH-11 toward Haryana has Rs 22,030 million approved for a 78 km package. Approval is not construction, so price on today's road and treat the upgrade as optionality.

Rail asks, not rail projects

Two new lines have been requested in Parliament and neither has a sanction in the sources read. This desk treats them as a possibility, not a catalyst.

A mining-anchored local economy

The Khetri and Kolihan mines give the district an industrial employer, and capacity expansion was proposed in 2024. Land near the belt needs lease checks before any premium is justified.

Large holdings face the ceiling

The Ceiling Act caps a family's holding by irrigation class and zone, so a buyer assembling acreage should check each seller's total holding and the declarations required at registration.

A market that rewards paperwork

With groundwater, lease, conversion and Section 42 questions all parcel-specific, a buyer who documents each one is better placed than one relying on a broker summary. The return case is location and permitted use, not bajra yield.

Browse reviewed land in Jhunjhunu

Confirm title, conversion, mining-lease and forest status directly; these are not certified by Farmland India’s review.

STRAIGHT TALK

Risks & challenges in Jhunjhunu

Read these before shortlisting in Jhunjhunu specifically.

Groundwater depletion

Seven of eight blocks were over-exploited at the 2004 assessment in the CGWB profile, and Chirawa stood at 314.78%. Check borewell depth, yield and any restriction before assuming irrigation or a farmhouse water supply.

Mining leases and hill land

The Khetri and Kolihan copper mines and 5.55% hill soils mean some land may sit inside leases or protected tracts. We found no map, so ask for written confirmation of the khasra's status.

No sourced price series

We found no district DLC list or registered-deal price for Jhunjhunu. Collect registered comparables from the Sub-Registrar before negotiating.

Section 42 exposure

A sale of khatedari land by an SC or ST member to someone outside that community is void under Section 42, with no permission route in the text we read. Establish the seller's community before any advance.

Fast-moving DLC rates

DLC rates were revised in April 2026 and again from 3 August 2026, by 5% to 49% in listed areas statewide. A valuation agreed in spring may not match the schedule in force at registration.

Announced is not delivered

The NH-11 package has funds approved but no stated completion, the overbridge is due January 2027, and the rail lines are requests. Price on today's fundamentals.

Dated district data

Population, crop and groundwater data come from a CGWB profile with figures to 2001-2008, and tehsils may have changed. Re-check each against current records.

Who to contact

Local revenue & registration offices

Conversion of rural agricultural land is decided by the Tehsildar, Sub-Divisional Officer, Collector or State Government, depending on use and plot size (Rule 9, Revenue Department rules, 2019 compilation). Mutation and revenue-record matters sit with the Tehsildar of the relevant tehsil, and the District Collector heads the district revenue administration. The Tehsildar offices of Jhunjhunu district, listed in the CGWB district profile, Jhunjhunu as Chirawa, Jhunjhunu, Khetri, Nawalgarh and Udaipurwati, handle mutation; newer tehsils may exist, so confirm which one holds the village. Sale-deed registration is handled by the Sub-Registrar office under the ePanjiyan system, which feeds the eDharti land records for agricultural deeds (NeGD listing). The district portal, the Revenue Department portal and the ePanjiyan site did not open for automated fetches during this review, so office locations and jurisdiction should be taken from the department directly.

COMMON QUESTIONS

Frequently asked questions

Everything buyers, NRIs and investors ask before their first reviewed farmland purchase in Jhunjhunu.

Visit full wiki

01 of 04

Can an outsider buy agricultural land in Jhunjhunu?

Yes, on the texts we read. The Rajasthan Ceiling Act, 1973 sets holding limits (18 acres of land irrigated for two crops, 27 acres for one crop, and 48 to 175 acres of unirrigated land by zone) and the Tenancy Act, 1955 has no clause limiting purchase to farmers. Section 42 voids a sale by a Scheduled Caste or Scheduled Tribe khatedar to a non-member. NRIs and OCIs cannot buy agricultural land under the RBI Master Direction. We read no later amendments, so confirm current limits with a Rajasthan revenue lawyer.

Ready to look at what is available?

Browse reviewed listings

Transparency

Sources and references

Law and courts

Government

News

Further reading

Data-currency note: population is Census 2011 from the district court page; tehsils, crops, soils and block groundwater come from a CGWB profile with data to 2001-2008; infrastructure statuses were read in October 2026 and change quickly. Pages marked "not opened" did not open for automated fetches. This is a general guide, not legal advice. Report inaccuracies to wiki@farmlandindia.com.

For developers

Ready to explore Jhunjhunu farmland?

Browse reviewed projects and individual land parcels across Jhunjhunu — or if you own land here, list it with platform review and reach serious buyers.

Farmland India ("the Platform"), operated by Bulk Procure Private Limited, is a digital marketplace for listing agricultural land, farmhouse and plotted development projects. The Platform is not a real estate broker, agent or intermediary under RERA or any other applicable law, and does not act for either party to a transaction.

Listings are submitted by developers, owners and their authorised representatives. Before publication, the Platform carries out a documentary review of the material supplied and records what was sighted. That review is limited to the documents made available to us at that time. It is not a title investigation, not a legal opinion, and not a warranty of title, approvals, or the accuracy of any information supplied by a lister. The Trust Score is an internal assessment produced from that review and is intended as a research aid, not as a guarantee of outcome.

Every buyer must carry out independent due diligence before any transaction — including verification of land records, encumbrance searches, approvals and regulatory compliance — through their own advocate and chartered accountant. Any legal or advisory professional introduced through the Platform is engaged directly by the user, on that professional's own terms; the Platform does not employ, supervise or accept responsibility for their work.

Nothing on the Platform is investment advice. Land values can fall as well as rise. The Platform is not liable for any loss, dispute or damage arising from a transaction between parties.