Farmland India
Aerial view of agricultural land and farm fields near Sikar, Rajasthan

District guide

Buying Land in Sikar

A dry-land north-eastern Rajasthan district where Neem Ka Thana boundary changes, over-exploited groundwater and bypass projects still at planning stage decide what a parcel is worth.

  • 7,732 sq km

    Area

  • 26.78 lakh

    Population (Census 2011)

  • 7 of 8

    Over-exploited blocks (CGWB, 2009 data)

  • DPR stage (Dec 2024)

    Sikar bypass four-laning

*Indicative range across districts and land types. Stamp duty, registration and conversion charges are additional. Local measurement units vary — every listing states the unit it is priced in. Not a valuation or an offer.

Apna Khata — Rajasthan Land Records Portal

District land record — Sikar

Rev. 2026 · Farmland India desk

State

Rajasthan

Sub-divisions

6 tehsils (Sikar, Fatehpur, Laxmangarh, Dantaramgarh, Shri Madhopur, Neem Ka Thana) and 2 sub-tehsils in 6 sub-divisions (2010-11 profile); the CGWB booklet lists eight blocks including Khandela (CGWB). Boundaries were changed in 2023 and 2024, and the district portal refused automated access, so the current list is CONFIRM

Key markets

Sikar city · Fatehpur · Laxmangarh · Neem Ka Thana · Shri Madhopur · Dantaramgarh

Demand anchors

Jaipur–Sikar–Bikaner road corridor · Khatu Shyam Ji pilgrimage and a proposed rail station · industrial areas (16, per the profile)

Rail

239 km of rail line in the district, 2010-11 (profile); Jaipur–Ringas–Sikar–Churu–Loharu gauge-conversion project, Jaipur–Ringas section opened 21 October 2019 (Indian Infrastructure, November 2019)

Size and population

About 7,732 sq km (CGWB; the profile gives 7,742 sq km) · 26,77,737 people, Census 2011 (profile)

Pricing unit

₹/acre or ₹/hectare (farmland) · ₹/sq yd (plots)

Local units

Vary by tehsil and village; ask the patwari to state the area in acres or hectares in writing

Land records portal

Revenue land-records portal (Apna Khata), not opened for this page; sale deeds register through ePanjiyan (NeGD listing)

District overview

Sikar — a dry-land, well-irrigated district with bypass and station projects at planning stage

Sikar is a north-eastern Rajasthan district of about 7,732 sq km with 26,77,737 people at Census 2011 (sources differ slightly on area: CGWB; district profile). It borders Jhunjhunu, Churu, Nagaur and Jaipur districts and touches Mahendragarh in Haryana. The profile lists six tehsils (Sikar, Fatehpur, Laxmangarh, Dantaramgarh, Shri Madhopur and Neem Ka Thana), 239 km of rail line and 192 km of national highway in 2010-11, and 16 industrial areas with 8,401 units.

We publish no per-acre price band for Sikar. No registered-deal series, DLC schedule or news report with a Sikar rate was found, and listing-site asking prices cannot be traced to registered deals. Statewide, Patrika reported DLC rises of 5% to 49% in listed areas from 3 August 2026 (Patrika, August 2026); whether Sikar was among them is not stated in what we read.

Sikar is a dry-land district. Rainfall averages 463 mm, there are no canals or tanks, and wells irrigate about 38% of the area; the district stood at 153.03% groundwater development in the 2009 assessment, with seven of eight blocks over-exploited (CGWB). Road projects are the live story: the Sikar bypass and the Laxmangarh–Fatehpur stretch were at DPR stage in December 2024 (Lok Sabha, December 2024), and a bypass link and a proposed station near Khatu Shyam Ji were reported in 2026.

  • Sikar city
  • Fatehpur
  • Laxmangarh
  • Neem Ka Thana
  • Shri Madhopur
  • Khatu Shyam Ji
Locator map of Sikar district in Rajasthan

Transaction costs

Stamp duty & registration in Sikar

Up to 20%

Surcharge on stamp duty

cow-protection surcharge, Section 3-B, Stamp Act 1998; cap raised from 10% in 2018

DLC

Valuation basis

Patrika reported in August 2026 that duty and fee follow DLC rates

Not traced

Base duty and fee

sale-deed rates could not be traced to an official page or a news report

The surcharge cap was raised from 10% to 20% by the Rajasthan Stamp (Amendment) Bill, 2018, effective 13 June 2018 (PRS, Bill 18 of 2018; The Tribune, September 2018). The rate notified today is not confirmed, and the base stamp duty and registration fee for a sale deed could not be traced to an official page or a news report, so none is quoted. Deeds are registered through the Registration and Stamps Department's ePanjiyan system (NeGD listing). Patrika reported statewide DLC rises of 5% to 49% in listed areas from 3 August 2026 (Patrika, August 2026) and gave one example in December 2024: on a Rs 50 lakh transaction in an area where the DLC rate rose 15%, the extra cost was Rs 66,000 in a man's name and Rs 56,250 in a woman's (Patrika, December 2024). We found no Sikar-specific schedule. Since July 2024, Rule 57 of the Stamp Rules lets the registering officer inspect the land and value open land and structures separately (TeamLease RegTech, July 2024). Take the current schedule from the Sub-Registrar.

Know the belt

What is moving prices in Sikar

There is no district price series. The cards below record what exists and what to check.

Statewide DLC revisions

Up to 50% (Dec 2024); 5% to 49% in listed areas (Aug 2026)

Patrika reported DLC rises of up to 50% on rural irrigated land in December 2024 and of 5% to 49% in listed areas from 3 August 2026 (Patrika, December 2024; Patrika, August 2026, Hindi-language report). Neither report, as read, gives a Sikar figure.

Check: the DLC rate for the village and land class on the sale-deed date.

Asking prices

No sourced price series

Listing-site asking prices for Sikar could not be traced to registered deals, so none are shown. The DLC rate is the only official reference and it is a registration floor, not what a seller will accept.

Check: registered sale deeds in the same revenue estate before negotiating.

Bypass-side land

Sikar–Dhod bypass: 94 khasras notified (Apr 2026)

Patrika reported on 17 April 2026 that the PWD had issued a notification for acquiring 94 khasras in Dhod and Rambakspura for the Sikar–Dhod bypass on the Sikar–Losal route (Patrika, April 2026). Acquisition notices are the reason to check a parcel near a planned road against the alignment.

Check: the alignment and notification with the PWD before paying a deposit.

Khatu Shyam Ji side

Proposed station on the Sikar–Ringas section

Drishti IAS reported on 9 July 2026 that the Ministry of Railways had announced a station between Palsana and Baori Thikria, about 11 km from the Shri Khatu Shyam Ji temple, with no cost or timeline given (Drishti IAS, July 2026). It is a proposal, so it supports no price premium yet.

Check: whether the station is sanctioned and its exact site.

Units

Rajasthan revenue records and local trade use units that vary by district, tehsil and village. We did not open a revenue manual for Sikar, so convert every quote to acres or hectares and ask the patwari to confirm the area and the share of the khasra being sold.

Connectivity

How Sikar connects — road, rail and air

Distances and journey times are not given because no official or news source was found for them.

By road

Highways192 km of national highway and 430 km of state highway, 2010-11 (profile)
Sikar bypass (NH-52/NH-11)Four-laning with grade-separated structures at DPR stage (Dec 2024) (Lok Sabha)
Laxmangarh–Fatehpur (NH-52)Four-laning at DPR stage (Dec 2024) (Lok Sabha)
Fatehpur–Bikaner (NH-11)Two lanes under a toll concession to 2038; no widening planned (Dec 2024) (Lok Sabha)

By air

Nearest airportNo sourced figure
Scheduled flightsNone found in the sources read

By rail & metro

Rail line239 km in the district, 2010-11 (profile)
Jaipur–Ringas sectionCommercial operations from 21 Oct 2019 (Indian Infrastructure)
Proposed Khatu Shyam Ji stationAnnounced Jul 2026; no cost or date (Drishti IAS)
MetroNo metro project found

The practical question is the last leg from the highway to the parcel; ask for the access road in the revenue record. Full Rajasthan rules for buyers from outside the state: Rajasthan agricultural land rules.

Growth catalysts

Upcoming infrastructure & developments

Status labels reflect sources read in October 2026. Government-announced timelines are not guaranteed; items marked confirm have a single or an older source.

01Open or inaugurated

05In progress or pending

Opened in part · Jaipur–Ringas Oct 2019 Jaipur–Ringas–Sikar–Churu–Loharu gauge conversion
DPR stage · Dec 2024 Sikar bypass four-laning (NH-52/NH-11)
DPR stage · Dec 2024 Laxmangarh–Fatehpur four-laning (NH-52)
Stage-1 forest approval · Jun 2026 Sikar RIICO–Bikaner bypass link
Notified · Apr 2026 Sikar–Dhod bypass
Proposed · Jul 2026 Proposed station near Khatu Shyam Ji
Opened in part · Jaipur–Ringas Oct 2019

Jaipur–Ringas–Sikar–Churu–Loharu gauge conversion

A 320.04 km metre-gauge to broad-gauge conversion between Jaipur and Loharu, costing Rs 1,116 crore, whose Jaipur–Ringas section began commercial operations on 21 October 2019 (Indian Infrastructure, November 2019). The report gives no separate opening dates for the Sikar, Churu and Loharu sections, so confirm the current service with North Western Railway.

Source: Indian Infrastructure, 9 Nov 2019

Length

320.04 km

Cost

Rs 1,116 crore

Opened

Jaipur–Ringas, 21 Oct 2019

Other sections

Dates not found

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Sikar city
  • Palsana
DPR stage · Dec 2024

Sikar bypass four-laning (NH-52/NH-11)

The Lok Sabha was told on 5 December 2024 that four-laning of the Sikar bypass with grade-separated structures was at the DPR (detailed project report) preparation stage (Lok Sabha, December 2024). No cost, length or later report was found.

Source: Lok Sabha, 5 Dec 2024

Road

NH-52/NH-11

Work

Four-laning, grade separation

Stage

DPR preparation

Cost

Not stated

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Sikar city
DPR stage · Dec 2024

Laxmangarh–Fatehpur four-laning (NH-52)

The same answer lists four-laning of the Laxmangarh to Fatehpur section of NH-52 at DPR preparation stage, and says Fatehpur to Bikaner on NH-11 is two lanes with paved shoulders under a toll BOT concession running to 2038, with no plan to widen it (Lok Sabha, December 2024).

Source: Lok Sabha, 5 Dec 2024

Road

NH-52

Work

Four-laning

Stage

DPR preparation

Cost

Not stated

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Laxmangarh
  • Fatehpur
Stage-1 forest approval · Jun 2026

Sikar RIICO–Bikaner bypass link

Patrika reported on 18 March 2026 that a 450-metre stretch had blocked a roughly 1.3 km, 30-metre-wide link under Master Plan 2031 for about eight years because 1.35 hectares of forest land needed diversion; the foundation stone was laid in 2018 (Patrika, March 2026). On 6 June 2026 Patrika reported Stage-1 in-principle approval from the Union environment ministry, with final construction approval pending the UIT deposit and conditions (Patrika, June 2026).

Source: Patrika, 18 Mar 2026; Patrika, 6 Jun 2026

Link

~450 m missing stretch

Forest land

1.35 hectares

Approval

Stage-1 (Jun 2026)

Construction

Awaiting final approval

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Sikar city
Notified · Apr 2026

Sikar–Dhod bypass

Patrika reported on 17 April 2026 that the PWD had issued a notification covering 94 khasras in Dhod and Rambakspura for the Sikar–Dhod bypass on the Sikar–Losal route (Patrika, April 2026). The report gives no length, cost or dates.

Source: Patrika, 17 Apr 2026

Route

Sikar–Losal

Khasras

94

Villages

Dhod, Rambakspura

Cost

Not stated

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Dhod
  • Sikar city
Proposed · Jul 2026

Proposed station near Khatu Shyam Ji

Drishti IAS reported on 9 July 2026, citing a Ministry of Railways announcement, a proposed station on the Sikar–Ringas section between Palsana and Baori Thikria, about 11 km from the Shri Khatu Shyam Ji temple (Drishti IAS, July 2026). The report gives no cost or timeline.

Source: Drishti IAS, 9 Jul 2026

Section

Sikar–Ringas

Between

Palsana and Baori Thikria

From temple

~11 km

Timeline

Not stated

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Palsana
  • Khatu Shyam Ji

Agriculture & terrain

Soil, crops & water in Sikar

A dry-land district on alluvium and sand with no canals, tubewell-and-dugwell irrigation and seven of eight blocks over-exploited.

🌾 Dry-land cropping

The CGWB booklet lists bajra, pulses, oilseeds, wheat and barley as the main crops for 2010-11 with cotton as an important cash crop, and soils described as desertic, red desertic, serozem, saline, lithosol, regosol and old alluvium (CGWB). We quote no crop areas because the extracted figures looked unreliable.

  • Bajra
  • Pulses
  • Oilseeds
  • Wheat

⛏️ Rock and minerals

Quaternary alluvium forms the main aquifer over about 75% of the district, with hard rocks of the Delhi super group (quartzite, schist, phyllite, gneiss) in the east (CGWB). The profile lists pyrite, limestone, apatite, fluorite, copper, barytes and clay (district profile).

  • Alluvium
  • Delhi super group
  • Limestone

💧 Irrigation

CGWB records 60,623 dug wells and 23,327 tube or bore wells in 2010-11, no canals or tanks, and net irrigated area of about 38% of the district (CGWB). Farming depends on falling groundwater.

  • Dug wells
  • Tubewells
  • No canals

💧 Water & rainfall

Average annual rainfall is 463 mm for 1971-2011, about 95% in the monsoon (CGWB); the IMD Jaipur monsoon report gives state-level normals of 435.6 mm for June to September (IMD, 2025). The 2009 assessment put groundwater development at 153.03%, with Shri Madhopur (221%), Piprali (197%), Danta Ramgarh (182%), Dhod (158%), Neem Ka Thana (139%), Khandela (136%) and Lachhmangarh (118%) over-exploited and Fatehpur (88%) safe; pre-monsoon depth to water in 2012 ran from 3.13 to 30.80 m. These figures are old. Statewide, CGWB 2024 puts extraction at 149.86% with 214 of 302 units over-exploited and lists electrical conductivity, fluoride, nitrate and uranium quality concerns for Sikar (CGWB, 2024). Check borewell yield and permission on site.

📐 Measurement units

Local units vary by district and tehsil. Convert every quote to acres or hectares before comparing two offers. Mandi prices are published on Agmarknet, which was not opened for this review, so none is quoted; crop income is modest next to land values, so price a parcel on its location, legal status and permitted use.

At a glance

Sikar vs. its neighbours

District / beltPrice band* (per acre)Evidence
SikarNo sourced price seriesStatewide DLC revisions reported (Patrika, Aug 2026); no district figure found
JhunjhunuNo sourced price seriesNo figure used on this page
JaipurNo sourced price seriesNo figure used on this page
ChuruNo sourced price seriesNo figure used on this page

*DLC rates are registration floors, not market prices. See the Jhunjhunu page and the Jaipur page for the two nearest markets in the state, and Churu and Nagaur for the dry-land neighbours.

Farmhouse plot with boundary stones near Sikar, Rajasthan

District report — Sikar

Farmland India view

Why investors look at Sikar

Five reasoned points, with an honest note that the price evidence is thin and most road and rail items are at planning stage.

A rail line already converted in part

The Jaipur–Ringas section of the broad-gauge conversion opened in October 2019, and the line is designed to serve Sikar. Confirm the current service before relying on it.

Bypass projects moving

A RIICO–Bikaner bypass link has Stage-1 forest approval and the Sikar–Dhod bypass has an acquisition notification. The main Sikar bypass four-laning is only at DPR stage, so price on today's roads.

Pilgrimage traffic

A proposed station near Khatu Shyam Ji was announced in July 2026. It is a proposal with no cost or date.

Dry-land holding economics

Bajra, pulses and wheat lead, wells are falling and canals are absent. Treat crop income as holding income and price on location and permitted use.

Thin comparables

No sourced price series exists. A buyer who collects registered deals for the revenue estate has the only real price evidence available.

Browse reviewed land in Sikar

Confirm boundary, alignment and DLC status directly; these are not certified by Farmland India’s review.

STRAIGHT TALK

Risks & challenges in Sikar

Read these before shortlisting in Sikar specifically.

Neem Ka Thana boundary change

A district of that name was created in 2023 and annulled on 28 December 2024. Check which district and Sub-Registrar office cover the village before relying on older papers.

Over-exploited groundwater

Seven of eight blocks were over-exploited and the district stood at 153.03% in the 2009 assessment; the figures are old. Check borewell depth and any restriction before assuming irrigation.

Planned-road acquisition

Notified alignments such as the Sikar–Dhod bypass (94 khasras) can take part of a parcel. Check the alignment with the PWD before paying a deposit.

Section 42 and SC/ST khatedar land

A sale by an SC or ST khatedar to a non-member is void, and long possession does not cure it. Read the seller's community from the jamabandi.

DLC rate churn

Statewide DLC rises of up to 50% (Dec 2024) and 5% to 49% in listed areas (Aug 2026) were reported; no Sikar figure was found. Check the rate in force on the sale-deed date.

Announced is not delivered

The Sikar bypass four-laning is at DPR stage, the Khatu Shyam Ji station is a proposal, and the Fatehpur–Bikaner stretch has no widening plan. Price on today's roads.

No sourced price series

We use no listing-site prices for Sikar, and DLC rates are only a floor. Collect registered comparables before negotiating.

Who to contact

Local revenue, planning & forest offices

Mutation and revenue-record matters go through the Tehsildar of the relevant tehsil under the District Collector; the current tehsil list should be taken from the district portal, which refused automated access (the 2010-11 profile lists Sikar, Fatehpur, Laxmangarh, Dantaramgarh, Shri Madhopur and Neem Ka Thana). Sale-deed registration is handled by the local Sub-Registrar through ePanjiyan (NeGD listing). The Public Works Department holds road alignments and acquisition notifications. The Apna Khata records portal and ePanjiyan were not opened, so check them directly. Office contacts are listed there; we do not publish phone numbers.

COMMON QUESTIONS

Frequently asked questions

Everything buyers, NRIs and investors ask before their first reviewed farmland purchase in Sikar.

Visit full wiki

01 of 04

What does agricultural land cost in Sikar?

We publish no per-acre band for Sikar because no registered-deal series, DLC schedule or news report with a district rate was found, and listing-site asking prices cannot be traced to registered deals. Patrika reported statewide DLC rises of 5% to 49% in listed areas from 3 August 2026; whether Sikar was among them is not stated. A DLC rate is a registration floor, not a market price.

Ready to look at what is available?

Browse reviewed listings

Transparency

Sources and references

Law and courts

Government

News

Further reading

Data-currency note: area, population, rail and mineral figures come from a 2010-11 district profile; crop, irrigation and groundwater figures come from a CGWB booklet using 2009 to 2012 data; infrastructure statuses were read in October 2026 and change quickly. Pages marked "not opened" are named only as places to check. This is a general guide, not legal advice. Report inaccuracies to wiki@farmlandindia.com.

For developers

Ready to explore Sikar farmland?

Browse reviewed projects and individual land parcels across Sikar — or if you own land here, list it with platform review and reach serious buyers.

Farmland India ("the Platform"), operated by Bulk Procure Private Limited, is a digital marketplace for listing agricultural land, farmhouse and plotted development projects. The Platform is not a real estate broker, agent or intermediary under RERA or any other applicable law, and does not act for either party to a transaction.

Listings are submitted by developers, owners and their authorised representatives. Before publication, the Platform carries out a documentary review of the material supplied and records what was sighted. That review is limited to the documents made available to us at that time. It is not a title investigation, not a legal opinion, and not a warranty of title, approvals, or the accuracy of any information supplied by a lister. The Trust Score is an internal assessment produced from that review and is intended as a research aid, not as a guarantee of outcome.

Every buyer must carry out independent due diligence before any transaction — including verification of land records, encumbrance searches, approvals and regulatory compliance — through their own advocate and chartered accountant. Any legal or advisory professional introduced through the Platform is engaged directly by the user, on that professional's own terms; the Platform does not employ, supervise or accept responsibility for their work.

Nothing on the Platform is investment advice. Land values can fall as well as rise. The Platform is not liable for any loss, dispute or damage arising from a transaction between parties.