Farmland India
Aerial view of agricultural land and farm fields near Kotputli-Behror, Rajasthan

District guide

Buying Land in Kotputli-Behror

A 2023 district on the Delhi–Jaipur highway belt: Neemrana's industrial zone, irrigated mustard-bajra farmland, over-exploited aquifers and a rail link still on paper.

  • 2,881 sq km

    Reporting area (2023-24)

  • 57.3%

    Net sown area (2023-24)

  • 90.3%

    Net irrigated, share of net sown

  • 8

    Tehsils (reported)

Apna Khata — Rajasthan Land Records Portal

District land record — Kotputli-Behror

Rev. 2026 · Farmland India desk

State

Rajasthan (district created in 2023 from parts of Jaipur and Alwar; kept in the December 2024 decision) (Patrika, August 2023; Scroll, December 2024)

Sub-divisions

7 sub-divisions and 8 tehsils in a compilation of the 2023 notification: Behror, Bansur, Neemrana, Mandhan, Narayanpur, Kotputli, Viratnagar, Pavta (Rajras, reported; notification not opened)

Key markets

Neemrana · Behror · Kotputli · Bansur · Shahjahanpur · Viratnagar

Demand anchors

Neemrana Japanese industrial zone and RIICO areas on the Delhi–Jaipur highway · Ambala–Kotputli NH-152D · RRTS extension via Neemrana and Behror proposed, no schedule

Rail

No rail line or station checked for this page; Namo Bharat (RRTS) extension through Neemrana and Behror proposed (IANS, May 2026)

Size and population

2,881 sq km reporting area (288,103 ha, 2023-24) (Directorate of Economics and Statistics); no Census total for the district as now bounded was found on a page we could open

Pricing unit

₹/hectare or ₹/acre (farmland) · ₹/sq m (plots, DLC)

Local units

Village units differ by tehsil; agricultural registration is in hectares since the December 2024 DLC revision (Patrika, December 2024)

Land records portal

Revenue Department land-records portal (Apna Khata) not opened for this page; sale deeds register through ePanjiyan (NeGD listing)

District overview

Kotputli-Behror — a 2023 district on the Delhi–Jaipur highway belt

Kotputli-Behror was created in 2023 from parts of Jaipur and Alwar (Patrika, August 2023). The Directorate of Economics and Statistics gives it a reporting area of 288,103 hectares, about 2,881 sq km, of which 57.33% is net sown (Agricultural Statistics of Rajasthan 2023-24). Patrika counted 7 municipal bodies, 7 panchayat samitis and 205 gram panchayats in the new district. A compilation of the 2023 notification lists 7 sub-divisions and 8 tehsils: Behror, Bansur, Neemrana, Mandhan, Narayanpur, Kotputli, Viratnagar and Pavta (Rajras). We could not open the notification, and no Census total for the district as now bounded turned up on a page we could open.

We publish no per-acre price band for Kotputli-Behror. No official or news series for the district turned up, and the statewide DLC revisions Patrika reported do not name it (Patrika, August 2026). The documented demand driver is industry. Business Standard described Neemrana in July 2022 as a hub for Japanese firms on the Delhi–Jaipur highway, with more than 50 companies and over ₹6,000 crore invested (Business Standard, July 2022). The MSME-DI profile of Alwar, written before the split, lists RIICO areas at Neemrana (the Japanese zone at 1,166.33 acres and EPIP at 210.51), Behror (280.81 acres), Shahjahanpur (203.09) and Sotanala (151.91), with plot data as on 31 March 2012 (MSME-DI Alwar profile).

Away from the industrial areas this is mustard, bajra and wheat country. In 2023-24 bajra took 42.87% of cropped area, mustard 33.94% and wheat 13.69%, and 90.28% of net sown land was irrigated, almost all of it from electric tubewells (Directorate of Economics and Statistics). Water is the constraint: the CGWB booklets for the parent districts put the Behror, Neemrana, Bansur and Kotputli blocks in the over-exploited category in March 2009 (CGWB Alwar; CGWB Jaipur).

  • Neemrana
  • Behror
  • Kotputli
  • Bansur
  • Viratnagar
  • Delhi–Jaipur corridor
Locator map of Kotputli-Behror district in Rajasthan

Transaction costs

Stamp duty & registration in Kotputli-Behror

Up to 20%

Surcharge on stamp duty

Cow-protection surcharge, Section 3-B, Stamp Act 1998; cap raised from 10% in 2018

DLC

Valuation basis

Patrika reported in August 2026 that duty and fee follow DLC rates

Not traced

Base duty and fee

Sale-deed rates could not be traced to an official page or a news report

The surcharge cap was raised from 10% to 20% by the Rajasthan Stamp (Amendment) Bill, 2018 (PRS, Bill 18 of 2018; The Tribune, September 2018). The rate notified today is not confirmed, and the base stamp duty and registration fee for a sale deed could not be traced, so none is quoted. Deeds are registered through the Registration and Stamps Department's ePanjiyan system (NeGD listing). The Patrika reports on DLC revisions name Jaipur localities but not Kotputli-Behror, so we have no district schedule. In December 2024 Patrika reported that irrigated agricultural land in rural areas rose by up to 50% and that agricultural registration moved to hectares (Patrika, December 2024). Patrika gave one example in December 2024: on a ₹50 lakh transaction in an area where the DLC rate rose 15%, the extra cost was ₹66,000 in a man's name and ₹56,250 in a woman's (Patrika, December 2024). Since July 2024, Rule 57 of the Stamp Rules lets the registering officer inspect the land and value open land and structures separately (TeamLease RegTech, July 2024). Take the schedule in force from the Sub-Registrar's office.

Know the belt

What is moving prices in Kotputli-Behror

Statewide rate news, a documented industrial base and 2023-24 farm statistics. No listing-site prices are used.

Statewide DLC revisions

About 10% (Apr 2026); 5% to 49% in listed areas (3 Aug 2026)

Patrika reported that DLC rates rose about 10% in April 2026 and by 5% to 49% in listed areas from 3 August 2026 (Patrika, August 2026; the report is in Hindi). The report names Jaipur localities and satellite towns, not Kotputli-Behror. In December 2024 the 300-metre highway rule was removed, so commercial rates apply only to structures directly on a highway and not to farmland up to 300 metres away (Patrika, December 2024).

Check: the rate for the village on the sale-deed date; we have not seen a Kotputli-Behror schedule.

Neemrana and Behror: industrial belt

50+ Japanese firms, ₹6,000 crore+ (Jul 2022)

Business Standard reported the investment totals for the Neemrana zone in July 2022 (Business Standard). The 2012 MSME-DI profile lists principal industries at Neemrana (biscuits, yarn, terry towels, sanitary ware), Shahjahanpur (refrigerators, terry towels) and Behror (lubricants, decorative laminates, industrial alcohol), and shows Behror's 259 plots fully allotted and Shahjahanpur's 188 of 190 (MSME-DI Alwar profile). Those counts are 14 years old.

Check: whether a plot lies inside a RIICO area, in a private layout or on farmland.

Mustard-bajra farmland

57.33% net sown; 90.28% of it irrigated

Net sown area was 165,162 hectares in 2023-24 and 85.66% of it was sown more than once (Directorate of Economics and Statistics). Irrigation depends on tubewells, which the next section sets against groundwater data.

Check: the khasra's irrigation class, which also decides which ceiling tier applies.

Asking prices

No sourced price series

Listing-site asking prices for Kotputli-Behror could not be traced to registered deals, so none are shown. The DLC rate is the only official reference and it is a floor for registration, not what a seller will accept.

Check: registered sale deeds in the same revenue estate before negotiating.

Local units and hectares

Land in the villages is quoted in local units that differ between tehsils, so a quoted area means little until it is converted. Since the December 2024 DLC revision agricultural land is registered in hectares (Patrika, December 2024). Ask the patwari for the conversion in writing and for the share of the khata being sold; we did not open a revenue manual for local unit definitions.

Connectivity

How Kotputli-Behror connects — road, rail and air

Drive times and distances from Delhi or Jaipur are given only where a dated report states them. Journey times vary with traffic and road works.

By road

Delhi–Jaipur highway at NeemranaAbout 140 km from Jaipur; the report calls the road NH-8 (Business Standard, Jul 2022)
Ambala–Kotputli NH-152D227 km; trial run from 30 Jul 2022 (The Tribune)
Delhi–Mumbai ExpresswayRajasthan section runs through Alwar, Dausa and Kota; no interchange here sourced

By air

Noida International AirportFlights reported from 15 Jun 2026; distance not sourced
Jaipur airportDistance and schedules not checked for this page

By rail & metro

Namo Bharat (RRTS) extensionNeemrana, Behror and Sotanala named; no schedule (IANS, May 2026)
Railway stations in the districtNot checked for this page
MetroNo metro project found in the sources read

The practical question is the last leg from the highway to the parcel; ask for the access road in the revenue record. Rules for buyers from outside the state: Rajasthan agricultural land rules.

Growth catalysts

Upcoming infrastructure & developments

Status labels reflect sources read in October 2026. Announced timelines are not guaranteed; items marked proposed or planning have no construction schedule.

03Open or inaugurated

02In progress or pending

Proposed · agreed May 2026, no schedule Delhi–Gurugram–SNB RRTS and extension
Open · trial run from 30 Jul 2022 Ambala–Kotputli expressway (NH-152D)
Operating · 50+ firms reported (Jul 2022) Neemrana Japanese industrial zone
Open in part · Alwar section Delhi–Mumbai Expressway (neighbouring Alwar)
Planning · DPR appraisal (Dec 2025) Modified Parbati–Kalisindh–Chambal link with ERCP
Proposed · agreed May 2026, no schedule

Delhi–Gurugram–SNB RRTS and extension

A rail-industry profile lists Phase 1, Delhi to SNB (the Shahjahanpur–Neemrana–Behror node), as under construction with a 2028 target (RailwayNews.net, May 2026). IANS reported on 18 May 2026 that Rajasthan and Haryana had agreed on a Rajasthan extension of 91 km with six proposed stations, and that a section from SNB to Sotanala "through Neemrana and Behror" will be developed (Punjab Kesari/IANS, May 2026). The report does not say which places are stations and gives no construction schedule. We found no sanction order.

Source: Punjab Kesari/IANS, 18 May 2026; RailwayNews.net, May 2026

Rajasthan portion

91 km

Proposed stations

6

SNB to Sotanala

Proposed

Schedule

None reported

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Neemrana
  • Behror
  • Shahjahanpur
  • Sotanala
Open · trial run from 30 Jul 2022

Ambala–Kotputli expressway (NH-152D)

NH-152D is about 227 km long and runs through eight Haryana districts, with Ambala and Kotputli as its two ends; The Tribune reported that it cuts about 50 km from the Ambala–Kotputli route, with a trial run from 30 July 2022 and toll collection from the following Monday (The Tribune, July 2022). The report does not say that the Rajasthan end at Kotputli is complete, and we found no later status report, so confirm the alignment and any interchange with NHAI before pricing a parcel on it.

Source: The Tribune, 31 Jul 2022

Length

227 km

Corridor

Ambala → Kotputli

Status

Trial run Jul 2022

Later report

None found

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Kotputli
Operating · 50+ firms reported (Jul 2022)

Neemrana Japanese industrial zone

Business Standard reported in July 2022 that more than 50 Japanese companies had invested over ₹6,000 crore at Neemrana, on the Delhi–Jaipur highway (Business Standard, July 2022). An April 2015 report put RIICO's earmarked area at 1,167 acres and the investment then at ₹4,200 crore from more than 45 companies (Business Standard/IANS, April 2015). The 2012 MSME-DI profile lists the Japanese zone at 1,166.33 acres with 132 plots developed, 45 allotted and 87 vacant, and EPIP Neemrana at 210.51 acres with 207 of 220 plots allotted (MSME-DI Alwar profile). Those plot counts are 14 years old.

Source: Business Standard, 11 Jul 2022 and 8 Apr 2015; MSME-DI Alwar profile

Companies

50+ (Jul 2022)

Investment

₹6,000 crore+

Zone area

1,166 acres

Allotted (2012)

45 of 132 plots

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Neemrana
  • Shahjahanpur
  • Behror
Open in part · Alwar section

Delhi–Mumbai Expressway (neighbouring Alwar)

The Rajasthan section is 373 km through Alwar, Dausa and Kota, and The Tribune reported in June 2026 that Gurugram to Dausa was already open (The Tribune, June 2026). Business Today reported in July 2026 that the whole project was 75% to 80% complete (Business Today, July 2026). Neither report names Kotputli-Behror or an interchange here, so read the expressway as a regional influence on the Alwar side, not as a catalyst inside this district.

Source: The Tribune, 11 Jun 2026; Business Today, 9 Jul 2026

Rajasthan length

373 km

Districts named

Alwar · Dausa · Kota

Gurugram–Dausa

Reported open

Interchange here

None sourced

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Behror
  • Bansur
Planning · DPR appraisal (Dec 2025)

Modified Parbati–Kalisindh–Chambal link with ERCP

Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh signed an MoU with the Jal Shakti Ministry on 28 January 2024. In December 2024 the Ministry told the Lok Sabha that the project was at DPR stage with no cost estimate, and its list of Rajasthan districts used the earlier names, including Alwar and Jaipur (Lok Sabha, December 2024). A December 2025 report said the Rajasthan DPRs were under Central Water Commission appraisal (NBM&CW, December 2025). Kotputli-Behror, formed from Alwar and Jaipur, is not named, and whether its blocks fall in the project area is not stated.

Source: Lok Sabha Q2967, 12 Dec 2024; NBM&CW, 2 Dec 2025

MoU

28 Jan 2024

Stage

DPR / appraisal

Cost estimate

None yet

District named

Not stated

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Kotputli
  • Bansur

Agriculture & terrain

Soil, crops & water in Kotputli-Behror

A mustard-bajra-wheat district at the Aravalli edge, irrigated almost entirely from tubewells in blocks that were over-exploited in 2009.

🌾 Mustard, bajra and wheat plains

The Directorate of Economics and Statistics gives a 2023-24 reporting area of 288,103 hectares, with 165,162 hectares net sown (57.33%) and 85.66% of that sown more than once. Bajra covered 42.87% of cropped area, mustard 33.94% and wheat 13.69%, with barley at 0.87% and gram at 0.73% (Agricultural Statistics of Rajasthan 2023-24). No district soil survey was found, so soil type is not described.

  • Bajra
  • Mustard
  • Wheat
  • Barley

⛰️ Aravalli edge and forest classes

Forest land is 39,967 hectares (13.87% of reporting area), barren and uncultivable land 27,011 hectares and permanent pastures 12,488 hectares (Directorate of Economics and Statistics). These are revenue classes for the whole district. Whether a ridge or hill parcel carries a restriction has to be read khasra by khasra.

  • Forest
  • Barren land
  • Pasture

💧 A tubewell district

Gross irrigated area was 165,256 hectares in 2023-24: 162,573 from electric tubewells, 2,683 from open wells and none from canals. Net irrigated area was 90.28% of net sown area (Directorate of Economics and Statistics). With no canal command, the borewell is the farm's water.

  • Tubewells
  • Open wells
  • No canal

💧 Water & rainfall

CGWB's 2024 assessment gives no block-level figures; its state figure is 149.86% extraction, with 214 of 302 units over-exploited (CGWB, 2024). The block figures we found are for 31 March 2009 in the parent-district booklets, on the old boundaries: stage of groundwater development of 250% in Behror, 173% in Neemrana and 168% in Bansur (CGWB Alwar booklet) and 200.27% in Kotputli (CGWB Jaipur booklet), all over-exploited; Viratnagar has no categorisation there. The Alwar booklet reports excess fluoride in Neemrana, salinity of 2,000 to 3,000 µS/cm in parts of Neemrana and Behror, and nitrate above 45 mg/L in parts of Neemrana. IMD recorded 730.9 mm of June to September 2025 rain in Alwar against a normal of 545.9 mm, and 918.5 mm in Jaipur against 524.3 mm (IMD Jaipur, 2025).

📐 Units and crop prices

Local units differ between tehsils, so convert every quote to hectares or acres before comparing two offers. We did not check mandi prices for this page and quote no crop price. A parcel's value here turns on location, access and permitted use, which the revenue record does not capture.

At a glance

Kotputli-Behror vs. its neighbours

District / beltNet sown area, 2023-24Evidence
Kotputli-Behror165,162 ha (57.33% of reporting area)Directorate of Economics and Statistics, 2023-24; 90.28% of net sown area irrigated
Khairthal-Tijara132,413 ha (67.39%)Same publication; 97.95% irrigated
Alwar239,963 haSame publication, the district as left after the 2023 split
Jaipur Gramin410,891 haListed separately in the 2023-24 publication; the district was annulled on 28 Dec 2024 (Scroll)

Statistics are for farm land use only. No price band is shown for any district because none could be traced to an official or news series. See the Khairthal-Tijara page for the other district split from Alwar, the Alwar page for the parent district and the Jaipur page for the other.

Farmhouse plot with boundary stones near Kotputli-Behror, Rajasthan

District report — Kotputli-Behror

Farmland India view

Why investors look at Kotputli-Behror

Five reasoned points, with an honest note that the price evidence is thin and the rail catalyst is still proposed.

A highway-and-industry district

Neemrana sits on the Delhi–Jaipur highway and hosts a Japanese industrial zone with more than 50 companies reported in July 2022. That is the clearest documented demand driver here, and it attaches to RIICO land and to access roads, not automatically to farmland.

Irrigated, double-cropped farmland

By the state's own statistics 90.28% of net sown land is irrigated and 85.66% is cropped twice. The yield case rests on tubewells in blocks that were over-exploited in 2009, so water is a cost to price in.

A rail link that is still on paper

The Namo Bharat extension through Neemrana and Behror was agreed in principle in May 2026 with no schedule. This desk reads it as optionality, not as a basis for paying a premium.

Official rates are moving

DLC rates rose about 10% in April 2026 and by 5% to 49% in listed areas from 3 August 2026. The reports do not name this district, so the village-level rate has to be checked.

A market that rewards paperwork

A 2023 boundary change, the Section 42 bar, the holding ceiling and Section 90A conversion are all parcel-specific. A buyer who documents each one is better placed than one relying on a broker summary.

Browse reviewed land in Kotputli-Behror

Confirm khatedar class, Section 90A status and the Sub-Registrar office directly; these are not certified by Farmland India's review.

STRAIGHT TALK

Risks & challenges in Kotputli-Behror

Read these before shortlisting in Kotputli-Behror specifically.

Over-exploited groundwater

All the blocks with figures in the parent-district booklets were over-exploited in March 2009, from 168% in Bansur to 250% in Behror, and the 2024 state figure is 149.86%. Check borewell depth, yield and water quality before assuming irrigation or a farmhouse supply.

Section 42 exposure

A sale of khatedari land by an SC or ST member to someone outside that community is void under Section 42, and the text we read offers no permission route. The Supreme Court applied the bar to a company buyer in 2012. Establish the seller's community before any advance.

Conversion and industrial leasehold

Farmland cannot be built on without Section 90A permission, and RIICO plots are allotted on lease. A parcel marketed as industrial may be neither; ask for the conversion order or the allotment letter.

Forest and hill land

13.87% of the district's reporting area is classed as forest, and we did not research Aravalli orders for this page. Ask for the khasra's forest status in writing.

New district, old records

The district dates from 2023 and was drawn from two parents. Papers older than that name Jaipur or Alwar, and the tehsil list we found is a secondary compilation. Check which office holds a village's records.

DLC-rate churn

DLC rates were revised in April 2026 and again on 3 August 2026, and the reports do not give a Kotputli-Behror schedule. A valuation agreed in spring may not match the rate in force at registration.

Announced is not delivered

The RRTS extension has no reported schedule, the ERCP link was at DPR and appraisal stage in December 2025, and we found no sourced price series. Price a parcel on today's roads and today's water.

Who to contact

Local revenue & registration offices

The Tehsildars of the tehsils listed in the compilation (Behror, Bansur, Neemrana, Mandhan, Narayanpur, Kotputli, Viratnagar and Pavta) hold the revenue records for their areas (Rajras). Conversion of rural agricultural land is decided by the Tehsildar, Sub-Divisional Officer, Collector or State Government depending on use and size (Rule 9, Revenue Department rules, 2019 compilation). Sale-deed registration is handled by the Sub-Registrar through ePanjiyan, which feeds the eDharti land records for agricultural deeds (NeGD listing). The District Collector's office sits at the district level. The district portal opened but its page text carried no usable district profile, and the Apna Khata and ePanjiyan portals were not opened, so take office locations and jurisdiction maps from the departments directly.

DEVELOPER PROJECTS · TRUST SCORE

Reviewed projects in Kotputli-Behror

Developer projects carry the platform Trust Score and a reviewed document set.

Reviewed projects have completed Farmland India's document and site review. Individual land parcels are listed by their owners and are not reviewed to the same standard. Always complete your own legal due diligence.

COMMON QUESTIONS

Frequently asked questions

Everything buyers, NRIs and investors ask before their first reviewed farmland purchase in Kotputli-Behror.

Visit full wiki

01 of 04

What does agricultural land cost in Kotputli-Behror?

We publish no per-acre band for Kotputli-Behror because no official or news price series for the district turned up and listing-site asking prices could not be traced to registered deals. The only official reference is the DLC rate, which Patrika reported rising about 10% in April 2026 and by 5% to 49% in listed areas from 3 August 2026; those reports do not name this district. Industrial plots in RIICO areas are allotted on lease, which Business Standard reported as an initial 33 years in the September 2026 auctions.

Ready to look at what is available?

Browse reviewed listings

Transparency

Sources and references

Law and courts

Government

News

Further reading

Data-currency note: sources were read in October 2026. Tehsil lists come from a secondary compilation, not the notification. Farm figures are the Directorate's 2023-24 district data; groundwater block figures are March 2009 values from the parent-district booklets and predate the 2023 boundaries; industrial plot counts are as on 31 March 2012. The Apna Khata and ePanjiyan portals, the Revenue Department site and the India Code text of the Land Revenue Act and the Stamp Act could not be opened, so nothing here is attributed to a reading of them. Section 90A is cited through a statute copy and court reports. DLC rates, court orders and project timelines change often. This is a general guide, not legal advice. Report inaccuracies to wiki@farmlandindia.com.

For developers

Ready to explore Kotputli-Behror farmland?

Browse reviewed projects and individual land parcels across Kotputli-Behror — or if you own land here, list it with platform review and reach serious buyers.

Farmland India ("the Platform"), operated by Bulk Procure Private Limited, is a digital marketplace for listing agricultural land, farmhouse and plotted development projects. The Platform is not a real estate broker, agent or intermediary under RERA or any other applicable law, and does not act for either party to a transaction.

Listings are submitted by developers, owners and their authorised representatives. Before publication, the Platform carries out a documentary review of the material supplied and records what was sighted. That review is limited to the documents made available to us at that time. It is not a title investigation, not a legal opinion, and not a warranty of title, approvals, or the accuracy of any information supplied by a lister. The Trust Score is an internal assessment produced from that review and is intended as a research aid, not as a guarantee of outcome.

Every buyer must carry out independent due diligence before any transaction — including verification of land records, encumbrance searches, approvals and regulatory compliance — through their own advocate and chartered accountant. Any legal or advisory professional introduced through the Platform is engaged directly by the user, on that professional's own terms; the Platform does not employ, supervise or accept responsibility for their work.

Nothing on the Platform is investment advice. Land values can fall as well as rise. The Platform is not liable for any loss, dispute or damage arising from a transaction between parties.