Farmland India
Aerial view of agricultural land and farm fields near Karauli, Rajasthan

District guide

Buying Land in Karauli

A ravine-and-alluvium district with the Kailadevi sanctuary, a proposed tiger reserve, rail and canal projects still at an early stage and no sourced per-acre price series.

  • 5,038.6 sq km

    Area

  • 14.58 lakh

    Population (Census 2011)

  • 154.17%

    Groundwater development (2013)

  • 48 Karauli villages (Oct 2024)

    Proposed tiger reserve buffer

*Indicative range across districts and land types. Stamp duty, registration and conversion charges are additional. Local measurement units vary — every listing states the unit it is priced in. Not a valuation or an offer.

Apna Khata — Rajasthan Land Records Portal

District land record — Karauli

Rev. 2026 · Farmland India desk

State

Rajasthan

Sub-divisions

Six tehsils (Karauli, Hindaun City, Sapotara, Mandarayal, Todabhim, Nadoti) on the district court page (Karauli district court page); five blocks (Hindaun, Karauli, Nadauti, Sapotra, Todabhim) and two administrative divisions, Hindaun and Karauli, in the CGWB brochure (CGWB brochure, Karauli district, March 2018)

Key markets

Karauli town · Hindaun City · Todabhim · Sapotara · Nadoti · Mandarayal

Demand anchors

Kailadevi sanctuary and temple pilgrimage · proposed Dholpur–Karauli tiger reserve · Dholpur–Sarmathura rail extension (Karauli phase not started) · ERCP (DPR stage)

Rail

The local MP told Parliament that second-phase work on the Sarmathura–Gangapur line via Karauli had not started (Lok Sabha, undated); station detail was not opened

Size and population

5,038.6 sq km · 14,58,248 people, Census 2011 (CGWB brochure, Karauli district, March 2018)

Pricing unit

₹ per acre in common usage; DLC schedules have registered agricultural land in hectares since December 2024 (Patrika, December 2024)

Local units

Acre and hectare. Local units differ by tehsil, so ask the patwari to restate any quoted area in acres or hectares before comparing offers

Land records portal

Revenue land records (Apna Khata / eDharti); not opened for this page, so check records with the Tehsildar (NeGD listing)

District overview

Karauli — a ravine-and-alluvium district with a sanctuary, a proposed tiger reserve and rail still to come

Karauli covers 5,038.6 sq km and had 14,58,248 people at Census 2011 (CGWB brochure, Karauli district, March 2018). The district court page lists six tehsils (Karauli, Hindaun City, Sapotara, Mandarayal, Todabhim, Nadoti) (Karauli district court page). The December 2024 reorganisation annulled Gangapur City, a 2023 district, but the Scroll and Sentinel reports name neither Karauli nor any change to its boundary (Scroll, December 2024).

We publish no per-acre price band for Karauli because no registered-deal or DLC village list could be traced. Statewide, DLC rates were raised 10% in April 2026 and by 5% to 49% in listed areas from 3 August 2026 (Patrika, August 2026). The report covered Jaipur and its satellite towns and did not name Karauli, so no Karauli DLC figure is stated.

The land is half alluvial plain (50.30% recent alluvium) and nearly half hill (46.82%), with the Chambal on the north-east boundary and canal command on 7.55% of the potential zone area (CGWB brochure, Karauli district, March 2018). Groundwater was over-exploited in four of five blocks at the 2013 assessment. The infrastructure case rests on projects at an early stage: the rail extension has not reached Karauli, the tiger reserve is a proposal, and the Eastern Rajasthan Canal link is at DPR stage.

  • Karauli town
  • Hindaun City
  • Todabhim
  • Sapotara
  • Nadoti
  • Kailadevi sanctuary
Locator map of Karauli district in Rajasthan

Transaction costs

Stamp duty & registration in Karauli

Up to 20%

Surcharge on stamp duty

Cow-protection surcharge, Section 3-B, Stamp Act 1998; cap raised from 10% in 2018

DLC

Valuation basis

Patrika reported in August 2026 that duty and fee follow DLC rates

Not traced

Base duty and fee

Sale-deed rates could not be traced to an official page or a news report

The surcharge cap was raised from 10% to 20% by the Rajasthan Stamp (Amendment) Bill, 2018 (PRS, Bill 18 of 2018; Tribune, September 2018). The rate notified today is not confirmed, and the base stamp duty and registration fee for a sale deed could not be traced, so none is quoted. Deeds are registered through the Registration and Stamps Department's ePanjiyan system (NeGD listing). Patrika reported that DLC rates rose 10% in April 2026 and by 5% to 49% in listed areas from 3 August 2026 (Patrika, August 2026); the report covered Jaipur and its satellite towns and did not name Karauli, so we state no district DLC figure. Since July 2024, Rule 57 of the Stamp Rules lets the registering officer inspect the land and value open land and structures separately (TeamLease RegTech, July 2024). Patrika gave one statewide example in December 2024: on a Rs 50 lakh transaction in an area where the DLC rate rose 15%, the extra cost was Rs 66,000 in a man's name and Rs 56,250 in a woman's (Patrika, December 2024). The current schedule should be taken from the Registration and Stamps office.

Know the belt

What is moving prices in Karauli

There is no sourced Karauli price series. The cards below record what the sources do and do not say.

Asking prices

No sourced price series

No registered-deal figure or village-wise DLC list for Karauli could be traced, so none is shown. A DLC rate is a registration floor, not the price a seller will accept.

Check: registered sale deeds in the same revenue village before negotiating.

Statewide DLC revisions

10% (Apr 2026); 5% to 49% in listed areas (3 Aug 2026)

Patrika reported both revisions statewide; the August report listed Jaipur and satellite-town rates only (Patrika, August 2026). A peri-urban threshold for the residential DLC rate was also raised in November 2025 (Patrika, November 2025).

Check: the DLC rate for the village on the date of registration.

Proposed tiger reserve buffer

108 villages, 48 in Karauli (Oct 2024)

Patrika reported a 757.01 sq km Dholpur–Karauli reserve with a 108-village buffer awaiting central approval, and noted that the core and buffer figures it gave do not add up to the total (Patrika, October 2024). No price effect is documented.

Check: whether the village is in the proposed buffer and what restrictions would follow.

Rail extension belt

Karauli phase not started

Land awards were being paid in Dholpur and Bari for the first phase to Sarmathura, while Karauli work had not started (Patrika, May 2025). No compensation rate for Karauli was found.

Check: whether a parcel lies on the second-phase alignment, which is not yet fixed.

Units: acre and hectare

Quote and compare in acres or hectares. DLC schedules have registered agricultural land in hectares since December 2024 (Patrika, December 2024). Local units differ by tehsil and we opened no revenue manual for them, so ask the patwari to restate the area in acres or hectares and to match it to the khasra number.

Connectivity

How Karauli connects — road, rail and air

Distances and journey times are not given because no official or news source for them was found.

By road

National and state highwaysNot sourced for this page
Expressway in the districtNone found in the sources read

By rail

Dholpur–Sarmathura–Karauli lineBroad-gauge conversion; first phase to Sarmathura likely 2026 (May 2025)
Sarmathura–Gangapur via KarauliSecond phase not started; DPR incomplete (undated MP statement)
MetroNo metro project found in the sources read

By air

Nearest commercial airportNot sourced for this page
Airport project in the districtNone found

The practical question is the last leg from the highway to the parcel; ask for the access road in the revenue record. Full rules for buyers: Rajasthan agricultural land rules.

Growth catalysts

Upcoming infrastructure & developments

Status labels reflect sources read in October 2026. Nothing here is open yet; items marked confirm have a single or an undated source.

00Open or inaugurated

04In progress or pending

First phase under way · Karauli not started (May 2025) Dholpur–Sarmathura–Karauli rail line
Requested · DPR incomplete (undated) Sarmathura–Gangapur rail line via Karauli (phase 2)
Proposed · approval pending (Oct 2024) Dholpur–Karauli tiger reserve
DPR and appraisal stage (Dec 2024 to Dec 2025) Eastern Rajasthan Canal Project (ERCP) link
First phase under way · Karauli not started (May 2025)

Dholpur–Sarmathura–Karauli rail line

Patrika reported on 23 May 2025 that track-laying work had started on the Dholpur–Sarmathura–Karauli line, a broad-gauge conversion of the existing narrow-gauge Dholpur–Sarmathura–Tantpur line, with the section to Sarmathura likely to finish by 2026 and Karauli work not yet begun; land awards of about Rs 113 crore were to be paid in Dholpur and Bari (Patrika, May 2025). No later report was found, so confirm status with the railway.

Source: Patrika, 23 May 2025

Line

Dholpur–Sarmathura–Karauli

Phase 1 target

2026 (reported)

Karauli work

Not started

Awards (Dholpur, Bari)

About ₹113 crore

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Karauli town
  • Mandarayal
Requested · DPR incomplete (undated)

Sarmathura–Gangapur rail line via Karauli (phase 2)

The Karauli–Dholpur MP told Parliament that second-phase work from Sarmathura to Gangapur via Karauli, announced in 2022-23, had not started, that the DPR was incomplete and that land acquisition, environmental clearance and financial sanction were delayed (Lok Sabha question). The page is undated and gives no cost or length.

Source: Lok Sabha question (undated)

Route

Sarmathura–Karauli–Gangapur

DPR

Incomplete

Cost

Not stated

Work

Not started

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Karauli town
  • Hindaun City
  • Todabhim
Proposed · approval pending (Oct 2024)

Dholpur–Karauli tiger reserve

Patrika reported on 26 October 2024 that a reserve of 757.01 sq km was proposed, with 108 buffer-zone villages, 60 in Dholpur and 48 in Karauli, and that the district administration had sent the buffer proposal to the central forest and environment authorities (Patrika, October 2024). The Dholpur Collector called approval likely soon; no later notification was found. The report states no land-use restrictions.

Source: Patrika, 26 Oct 2024

Area

757.01 sq km

Buffer villages

108 (48 in Karauli)

Status

Approval pending

Restrictions

Not stated

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Karauli villages in buffer
DPR and appraisal stage (Dec 2024 to Dec 2025)

Eastern Rajasthan Canal Project (ERCP) link

Karauli is among the 21 Rajasthan districts the ERCP is envisaged to supply, according to a Lok Sabha reply of 12 December 2024, which said Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh had signed an MoU on 28 January 2024 to prepare DPRs and that cost and start date depend on them (Lok Sabha, December 2024). A report of 2 December 2025 said Rajasthan's DPRs were with the Central Water Commission for appraisal (NBM&CW, December 2025). It is not under construction.

Source: Lok Sabha Q2967, 12 Dec 2024; NBM&CW, 2 Dec 2025

Districts named

21 (incl. Karauli)

MoU

28 Jan 2024

Stage

DPR, appraisal

Cost

Not decided

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Karauli district

Agriculture & terrain

Soil, crops & water in Karauli

A district split between alluvial plain and hills, with the Chambal on its edge and groundwater over-exploited in four of five blocks at the 2013 assessment.

🌾 Crops and soil

The CGWB brochure lists bajra, guar, cowpea, moong and moth as kharif crops, mostly rainfed, and wheat, gram and mustard as rabi crops, mostly groundwater-based. Soils are 50.30% recent alluvium, 46.82% hill soils (lithosols and regosols) and 2.88% older alluvium (CGWB brochure, Karauli district, March 2018). No district crop-area table was found.

  • Bajra
  • Guar
  • Wheat
  • Mustard
  • Gram

🌊 Chambal, canals and rainfall

Normal annual rainfall is 559 mm. The Chambal is the only perennial river and forms the north-eastern boundary with Madhya Pradesh; the Gambhir and Morel are seasonal and the Banas touches a short stretch of the boundary. Canal projects are Pachna (major), Kolisil and Beshan Sagar (medium), with command on 294.55 sq km, 7.55% of the potential zone area (CGWB brochure, Karauli district, March 2018). Ravines run along the Chambal and its tributaries.

  • 559 mm normal
  • Chambal
  • Pachna canal 7.55%

⛰ Hills and sanctuary

Hill soils cover 46.82% of the district (CGWB brochure, Karauli district, March 2018). The Kailadevi sanctuary begins at the Kela Devi temple (Karauli district court page). Hill and forest land differs from farmland in access and permitted use.

  • Hill soils 46.82%
  • Kailadevi sanctuary

💧 Groundwater, block by block

At the 31 March 2013 assessment in the CGWB brochure, the district stage of groundwater development was 154.17%: Hindaun 220.42%, Karauli 112.33%, Sapotra 107.90% and Todabhim 248.66% were over-exploited and Nadauti 81.54% was safe (CGWB brochure). That is more than a decade old. CGWB's 2024 state assessment puts Rajasthan at 149.86% extraction with 214 of 302 units over-exploited, gives no unit table for Karauli, and lists the district among those with sporadic anomalies in salinity, fluoride, nitrate and uranium (CGWB, 2024). Check borewell depth, yield and water quality on site.

🌾 Mandi prices

Mandi prices are published on Agmarknet; the portal was not opened for this review, so none is quoted. Crop income is modest next to a land price, so judge a parcel on location, water and permitted use rather than on crop yield.

At a glance

Karauli vs. its neighbours

District / beltPrice band* (per acre)Evidence
KarauliNo sourced price seriesNo DLC village list traced; statewide revisions only
DausaNo sourced price seriesNo figure used on this page
Sawai MadhopurNo sourced price seriesNo figure used on this page
BharatpurNo sourced price seriesNo figure used on this page
DholpurNo sourced price seriesNo figure used on this page

*No Karauli price figure could be sourced, and the neighbouring districts carry none here either. See the Dausa, Sawai Madhopur, Bharatpur and Dholpur pages for the adjoining districts, or the Rajasthan state page for statewide DLC news.

Farmhouse plot with boundary stones near Karauli, Rajasthan

District report — Karauli

Farmland India view

Why investors look at Karauli

Four reasoned points and an honest note that price evidence is thin and every catalyst here is pending.

A pilgrimage and wildlife economy

The Kailadevi temple and sanctuary and a proposed tiger reserve give the district a visitor base. Both also bring land-use limits, so they cut two ways for a buyer.

Rail that has not reached the district

The Dholpur–Sarmathura line is moving and the Karauli phase has not started. This desk treats it as a possibility, not a catalyst.

Water-supply plans at DPR stage

The ERCP link names Karauli among its districts, but it was at DPR and appraisal stage in December 2025. It does not change groundwater today.

Large holdings face the ceiling

The Ceiling Act caps a family's holding by irrigation class and zone, so a buyer assembling acreage should check each seller's total holding and the declarations required at registration.

A market that rewards paperwork

With sanctuary and buffer status, ravine land, conversion and Section 42 questions all parcel-specific, a buyer who documents each one is better placed than one relying on a broker summary.

Browse reviewed land in Karauli

Confirm title, conversion, mining-lease and forest status directly; these are not certified by Farmland India’s review.

STRAIGHT TALK

Risks & challenges in Karauli

Read these before shortlisting in Karauli specifically.

Sanctuary and tiger-reserve overlay

The Kailadevi sanctuary and a proposed 108-village buffer, 48 villages in Karauli, may limit use. Ask the Forest Department for the khasra's status in writing.

Groundwater depletion

Four of five blocks were over-exploited at the 2013 assessment, and Todabhim stood at 248.66%. Check borewell depth, yield and any restriction before assuming irrigation.

Ravine and hill land

Ravines along the Chambal and hill soils on 46.82% of the district affect access, yield and use. Ask for the land-use classification in the record.

No sourced price series

We found no district DLC list or registered-deal price for Karauli. Collect registered comparables from the Sub-Registrar before negotiating.

Section 42 exposure

A sale of khatedari land by an SC or ST member to someone outside that community is void under Section 42, with no permission route in the text we read. Establish the seller's community before any advance.

Fast-moving DLC rates

DLC rates were revised in April 2026 and again from 3 August 2026, by 5% to 49% in listed areas statewide. A valuation agreed in spring may not match the schedule in force at registration.

Announced is not delivered

The Karauli rail phase has not started, the tiger reserve awaits approval and the ERCP link is at DPR stage. Price on today's fundamentals.

Who to contact

Local revenue & registration offices

Conversion of rural agricultural land is decided by the Tehsildar, Sub-Divisional Officer, Collector or State Government, depending on use and plot size (Rule 9, Revenue Department rules, 2019 compilation). Mutation and revenue-record matters sit with the Tehsildar of the relevant tehsil, and the District Collector heads the district revenue administration. The district court page lists Tehsildar jurisdictions at Karauli, Hindaun City, Sapotara, Mandarayal, Todabhim and Nadoti; confirm which one holds the village, since the 2023 Gangapur City district was annulled in December 2024. Sale-deed registration is handled by the Sub-Registrar office under the ePanjiyan system, which feeds the eDharti land records for agricultural deeds (NeGD listing). The district portal, the Revenue Department portal and the ePanjiyan site did not open for automated fetches during this review, so office locations and jurisdiction should be taken from the department directly.

COMMON QUESTIONS

Frequently asked questions

Everything buyers, NRIs and investors ask before their first reviewed farmland purchase in Karauli.

Visit full wiki

01 of 04

Can an outsider buy agricultural land in Karauli?

Yes, on the texts we read. The Rajasthan Ceiling Act, 1973 sets holding limits (18 acres of land irrigated for two crops, 27 acres for one crop, and 48 to 175 acres of unirrigated land by zone) and the Tenancy Act, 1955 has no clause limiting purchase to farmers. Section 42 voids a sale by a Scheduled Caste or Scheduled Tribe khatedar to a non-member. NRIs and OCIs cannot buy agricultural land under the RBI Master Direction. We read no later amendments, so confirm current limits with a Rajasthan revenue lawyer.

Ready to look at what is available?

Browse reviewed listings

Transparency

Sources and references

Law and courts

Government

News

Further reading

Data-currency note: area, population, blocks, soils and groundwater come from a CGWB brochure of March 2018 with groundwater data to 2013; tehsils are from the district court page; infrastructure statuses were read in October 2026 and change quickly. Pages marked "not opened" did not open for automated fetches. This is a general guide, not legal advice. Report inaccuracies to wiki@farmlandindia.com.

For developers

Ready to explore Karauli farmland?

Browse reviewed projects and individual land parcels across Karauli — or if you own land here, list it with platform review and reach serious buyers.

Farmland India ("the Platform"), operated by Bulk Procure Private Limited, is a digital marketplace for listing agricultural land, farmhouse and plotted development projects. The Platform is not a real estate broker, agent or intermediary under RERA or any other applicable law, and does not act for either party to a transaction.

Listings are submitted by developers, owners and their authorised representatives. Before publication, the Platform carries out a documentary review of the material supplied and records what was sighted. That review is limited to the documents made available to us at that time. It is not a title investigation, not a legal opinion, and not a warranty of title, approvals, or the accuracy of any information supplied by a lister. The Trust Score is an internal assessment produced from that review and is intended as a research aid, not as a guarantee of outcome.

Every buyer must carry out independent due diligence before any transaction — including verification of land records, encumbrance searches, approvals and regulatory compliance — through their own advocate and chartered accountant. Any legal or advisory professional introduced through the Platform is engaged directly by the user, on that professional's own terms; the Platform does not employ, supervise or accept responsibility for their work.

Nothing on the Platform is investment advice. Land values can fall as well as rise. The Platform is not liable for any loss, dispute or damage arising from a transaction between parties.