Farmland India
Aerial view of agricultural land and farm fields near Rajsamand, Rajasthan

District guide

Buying Land in Rajsamand

A marble-and-maize district south of Ajmer where the new Kumbhalgarh eco-sensitive zone, mining leases, over-exploited groundwater and unfinished rail works shape what a parcel can be used for.

  • 4,522 sq km

    Area

  • 11.58 lakh

    Population (Census 2011)

  • 7 of 7

    Over-exploited blocks (CGWB 2013)

  • 94 villages

    Kumbhalgarh zone (reported)

*Indicative range across districts and land types. Stamp duty, registration and conversion charges are additional. Local measurement units vary — every listing states the unit it is priced in. Not a valuation or an offer.

Apna Khata — Rajasthan Land Records Portal

District land record — Rajsamand

Rev. 2026 · Farmland India desk

State

Rajasthan

Sub-divisions

Sources differ: 7 tehsils and 4 sub-tehsils in the district industrial profile (2010-11 profile), 11 tehsils on the district court page (District Court), and seven blocks (Amet, Bhim, Deogarh, Khamnor, Kumbhalgarh, Railmagra, Rajsamand) in the CGWB booklet (CGWB). The district portal refused automated access, so the current list is CONFIRM

Key markets

Rajsamand · Kankroli · Kumbhalgarh · Nathdwara · Railmagra · Deogarh

Demand anchors

Marble mining and slab cutting · Kumbhalgarh sanctuary and Aravalli landscape · Nathdwara rail and road works

Rail

104 km of rail line in the district, 2010-11 (district profile); Nathdwara–Devgarh Madariya gauge conversion reported ongoing (ETV Bharat, October 2025)

Size and population

About 4,522 sq km (CGWB; the profile gives 4,551 sq km) · 11,58,283 people, Census 2011 (profile; the court page gives 11,56,597)

Pricing unit

₹/acre or ₹/hectare (farmland) · ₹/sq yd (plots)

Local units

Vary by tehsil and village; ask the patwari to state the area in acres or hectares in writing

Land records portal

Revenue land-records portal (Apna Khata), not opened for this page; sale deeds register through ePanjiyan (NeGD listing)

District overview

Rajsamand — a marble and Aravalli district with a notified sanctuary buffer

Rajsamand is a southern Rajasthan district of about 4,522 sq km with 11,58,283 people at Census 2011 (sources differ slightly on both figures: CGWB; district profile). It was formed on 10 April 1991 out of Udaipur and borders Ajmer to the north, Pali to the west, Udaipur to the south and Bhilwara to the east (District Court page). The CGWB booklet names seven blocks (Amet, Bhim, Deogarh, Khamnor, Kumbhalgarh, Railmagra and Rajsamand), and the profile counts 104 km of rail line and 155 km of national highway in 2010-11.

We publish no per-acre price band for Rajsamand. No registered-deal series, DLC schedule or news report with a Rajsamand rate was found, and listing-site asking prices cannot be traced to registered deals. Statewide, Patrika reported DLC rises of 5% to 49% in listed areas from 3 August 2026 (Patrika, August 2026); whether Rajsamand was among them is not stated in what we read.

The economy leans on marble and agriculture. The profile records about 350 marble slab-cutting units and 20,454 industrial units in March 2012 (profile); CGWB's 2013 booklet records maize, wheat and oilseeds as leading crops, no canal irrigation, and all seven blocks over-exploited (CGWB). Kumbhalgarh's eco-sensitive zone and the Nathdwara rail works are the two items that change what a buyer can do with a parcel.

  • Rajsamand
  • Kankroli
  • Kumbhalgarh
  • Nathdwara
  • Railmagra
  • Deogarh
Locator map of Rajsamand district in Rajasthan

Transaction costs

Stamp duty & registration in Rajsamand

Up to 20%

Surcharge on stamp duty

cow-protection surcharge, Section 3-B, Stamp Act 1998; cap raised from 10% in 2018

DLC

Valuation basis

Patrika reported in August 2026 that duty and fee follow DLC rates

Not traced

Base duty and fee

sale-deed rates could not be traced to an official page or a news report

The surcharge cap was raised from 10% to 20% by the Rajasthan Stamp (Amendment) Bill, 2018, effective 13 June 2018 (PRS, Bill 18 of 2018; The Tribune, September 2018). The rate notified today is not confirmed, and the base stamp duty and registration fee for a sale deed could not be traced to an official page or a news report, so none is quoted. Deeds are registered through the Registration and Stamps Department's ePanjiyan system (NeGD listing). Patrika reported statewide DLC rises of 5% to 49% in listed areas from 3 August 2026 (Patrika, August 2026) and gave one example in December 2024: on a Rs 50 lakh transaction in an area where the DLC rate rose 15%, the extra cost was Rs 66,000 in a man's name and Rs 56,250 in a woman's (Patrika, December 2024). We found no Rajsamand-specific schedule. Since July 2024, Rule 57 of the Stamp Rules lets the registering officer inspect the land and value open land and structures separately (TeamLease RegTech, July 2024). Take the current schedule from the Sub-Registrar.

Know the belt

What is moving prices in Rajsamand

There is no district price series. The cards below record what exists and what to check.

Statewide DLC revisions

Up to 50% (Dec 2024); 5% to 49% in listed areas (Aug 2026)

Patrika reported DLC rises of up to 50% on rural irrigated land in December 2024 and of 5% to 49% in listed areas from 3 August 2026 (Patrika, December 2024; Patrika, August 2026, Hindi-language report). Neither report, as read, gives a Rajsamand figure.

Check: the DLC rate for the village and land class on the sale-deed date.

Asking prices

No sourced price series

Listing-site asking prices for Rajsamand could not be traced to registered deals, so none are shown. The DLC rate is the only official reference and it is a registration floor, not what a seller will accept.

Check: registered sale deeds in the same revenue estate before negotiating.

Land near Kumbhalgarh

94-village eco-sensitive zone (reported)

The January 2026 reports describe a zone of up to 1 km around the sanctuary in which commercial mining, brick kilns and new large hotels or resorts are prohibited or strictly regulated (Drishti IAS, January 2026; Patrika, January 2026). Restrictions on building affect value more than soil does.

Check: the Forest Department, in writing, for the khasra.

Marble belt

Marble slab cutting, about 350 units (2010-11)

The profile records marble output of 5,750,756 tonnes in 2010-11 and a cutting cluster of about 350 units employing about 5,000 people (district profile). Industrial demand can sit beside lease and pollution constraints.

Check: lease status with the Mines Department and any RIICO-area status of the plot.

Units

Rajasthan revenue records and local trade use units that vary by district, tehsil and village. We did not open a revenue manual for Rajsamand, so convert every quote to acres or hectares and ask the patwari to confirm the area and the share of the khasra being sold.

Connectivity

How Rajsamand connects — road, rail and air

Distances and journey times are not given except where a source states them. The district court page uses the old highway number.

By road

Highway length155 km of national highway, 2010-11 (profile)
PositionAbout 67 km north of Udaipur and 352 km south of Jaipur on the old NH 8 (District Court page)
Rajsamand–Udaipur roadsTwo-laning foundation stone laid May 2023 (NBM&CW); progress not found

By air

Nearest airportNo sourced figure
Scheduled flightsNone found in the sources read

By rail & metro

Rail line104 km in the district, 2010-11 (profile)
Nathdwara–Devgarh Madariya82 km, Rs 969 crore gauge conversion reported ongoing (Oct 2025) (ETV Bharat)
MetroNo metro project found

The practical question is the last leg from the highway to the parcel; ask for the access road in the revenue record. Full Rajasthan rules for buyers from outside the state: Rajasthan agricultural land rules.

Growth catalysts

Upcoming infrastructure & developments

Status labels reflect sources read in October 2026. Government-announced timelines are not guaranteed; items marked confirm have a single or an older source.

00Open or inaugurated

04In progress or pending

Reported ongoing · Oct 2025 · confirm Nathdwara–Devgarh Madariya gauge conversion
Final survey approved · Oct 2025 Devgarh Madariya–Marwar Junction line
Foundation stone · May 2023 · confirm Two-laning of roads in Rajsamand and Udaipur
Reported · Jan 2026 · notification text not opened Kumbhalgarh eco-sensitive zone
Reported ongoing · Oct 2025 · confirm

Nathdwara–Devgarh Madariya gauge conversion

ETV Bharat reported on 24 October 2025 that an 82 km Nathdwara–Devgarh Madariya broad-gauge conversion project worth Rs 969 crore was ongoing, in the same report that the Railways had approved a final location survey for a Devgarh Madariya–Marwar Junction line (ETV Bharat, October 2025). The report does not give a completion date. A foundation stone for rail works at Nathdwara was laid on 10 May 2023 (NBM&CW, May 2023; Drishti IAS, May 2023), but the reports we read do not say which section that covered.

Source: ETV Bharat, 24 Oct 2025; NBM&CW, 11 May 2023

Length

82 km

Cost

Rs 969 crore

Status

Reported ongoing

Target

Not stated

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Deogarh
  • Nathdwara
Final survey approved · Oct 2025

Devgarh Madariya–Marwar Junction line

The Ministry of Railways approved a final location survey for a Devgarh Madariya–Marwar Junction rail line, and ETV Bharat said it would improve movement across Rajsamand, Udaipur and Pali districts once the project is approved (ETV Bharat, October 2025). The line itself is not yet approved, and the report gives no length, cost or route through Rajsamand, so treat it as a proposal.

Source: ETV Bharat, 24 Oct 2025

Stage

Final survey approved

Approval

Line not approved

Districts

Rajsamand, Udaipur, Pali (per report)

Cost

Not stated

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Deogarh
Foundation stone · May 2023 · confirm

Two-laning of roads in Rajsamand and Udaipur

At Nathdwara on 10 May 2023 the Prime Minister laid foundation stones for two-laning of roads in Rajsamand and Udaipur, alongside rail works, in a package worth more than Rs 5,500 crore in total (NBM&CW, May 2023; Drishti IAS, May 2023). The reports give no road names, lengths or costs for the Rajsamand work, and we found no progress report.

Source: NBM&CW, 11 May 2023; Drishti IAS, 13 May 2023

Work

Two-laning

Laid

10 May 2023

Package

Over Rs 5,500 crore (all projects)

Progress

Not found

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Rajsamand
  • Kankroli
Reported · Jan 2026 · notification text not opened

Kumbhalgarh eco-sensitive zone

Drishti IAS and Patrika reported in January 2026 that the Environment Ministry had notified an eco-sensitive zone of up to 1 km around Kumbhalgarh Wildlife Sanctuary, covering 94 villages in Rajsamand, Pali and Udaipur; the zone prohibits new commercial mining, polluting industries and brick kilns and regulates hotels and resorts, and a zonal master plan is to be prepared within two years (Drishti IAS, January 2026; Patrika, January 2026). It is a restriction, not an infrastructure project, but it shapes what can be built near the sanctuary.

Source: Drishti IAS, 23 Jan 2026; Patrika, 17 Jan 2026

Extent

Up to 1 km

Villages

94 (reported)

Districts

Rajsamand, Pali, Udaipur

Master plan

Within 2 years

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Kumbhalgarh

Agriculture & terrain

Soil, crops & water in Rajsamand

A maize-and-wheat district with no canal irrigation, mixed soils and all seven blocks over-exploited in the 2013 CGWB booklet.

🌾 Maize and wheat plains

The 2013 CGWB booklet lists maize (about 63,620 hectares), wheat (31,898) and oilseeds (13,787) as the leading crops in 2010-11, and records sandy loam in Bhim, Deogarh and Amet, clay loam in Rajsamand, Railmagra and Khamnor, and heavy clay in Kumbhalgarh (CGWB).

  • Maize
  • Wheat
  • Oilseeds

⛰️ Aravalli and Delhi super group rocks

The district is underlain by Bhilwara, Aravalli and Delhi super group rocks, with quartzite, phyllite, gneiss and schist as the main water-bearing formations and narrow alluvial bands along the Banas and Khari rivers (CGWB). The profile lists marble, granite, lead and zinc, limestone, dolomite and quartz (district profile).

  • Marble
  • Granite
  • Limestone

💧 Irrigation

CGWB records no canal irrigation; of 44,053 hectares net irrigated, 38,549 are served by wells, 4,606 by tanks and 895 by tubewells (CGWB). Yields depend on well water.

  • Wells
  • Tanks
  • Tubewells

💧 Water & rainfall

Average annual rainfall was 524.37 mm for 2001-2011 against a 1951-2000 normal of 554.5 mm, with Kumbhalgarh the wettest (836.09 mm) and Rajsamand the driest (439.67 mm) (CGWB); the IMD Jaipur monsoon report gives state-level normals of 435.6 mm for June to September (IMD, 2025). The 2013 booklet puts groundwater development at 126.73% with all seven blocks over-exploited, so it is dated. Statewide, CGWB 2024 puts extraction at 149.86% with 214 of 302 units over-exploited and lists electrical conductivity, fluoride, nitrate and uranium quality concerns for Rajsamand (CGWB, 2024). Check borewell yield and permission on site.

📐 Measurement units

Local units vary by district and tehsil. Convert every quote to acres or hectares before comparing two offers. Mandi prices are published on Agmarknet, which was not opened for this review, so none is quoted; crop income is modest next to land values, so price a parcel on its location, legal status and permitted use.

At a glance

Rajsamand vs. its neighbours

District / beltPrice band* (per acre)Evidence
RajsamandNo sourced price seriesStatewide DLC revisions reported (Patrika, Aug 2026); no district figure found
UdaipurNo sourced price seriesNo figure used on this page
AjmerNo sourced price seriesNo figure used on this page
PaliNo sourced price seriesNo figure used on this page

*DLC rates are registration floors, not market prices. See the Udaipur page and the Ajmer page for the two larger neighbouring markets, and Bhilwara for the eastern neighbour.

Farmhouse plot with boundary stones near Rajsamand, Rajasthan

District report — Rajsamand

Farmland India view

Why investors look at Rajsamand

Five reasoned points, with an honest note that the price evidence is thin and several rail items are only proposals.

Rail works at Nathdwara

A 82 km gauge conversion was reported ongoing in October 2025 and a further line has a final survey approved. Neither is complete, so price on today's access.

A Kumbhalgarh edge with rules attached

The sanctuary setting is a draw, but the January 2026 eco-sensitive zone limits mining, brick kilns and new hotels near it. A buyer who confirms zone status first avoids the main surprise.

Marble-linked demand

About 350 slab-cutting units and large marble output (2010-11) give the district an industrial base. Lease and pollution constraints sit beside it.

Mixed soils, well-fed farming

Maize and wheat lead, canals do not reach the district, and all blocks were over-exploited in 2013. Treat crop income as holding income.

Thin comparables

No sourced price series exists. A buyer who collects registered deals for the revenue estate has the only real price evidence available.

Browse reviewed land in Rajsamand

Confirm eco-sensitive zone, lease and DLC status directly; these are not certified by Farmland India’s review.

STRAIGHT TALK

Risks & challenges in Rajsamand

Read these before shortlisting in Rajsamand specifically.

Kumbhalgarh eco-sensitive zone

The reported zone covers 94 villages across three districts and restricts mining, brick kilns and new hotels. Ask the Forest Department for the khasra's status.

Mining and lease land

Marble, granite and other minerals are worked in the district. Ask the Mines Department whether a parcel lies in or beside a lease.

Section 42 and SC/ST khatedar land

A sale by an SC or ST khatedar to a non-member is void, and long possession does not cure it. Read the seller's community from the jamabandi.

Over-exploited groundwater

All seven blocks were over-exploited in the 2013 CGWB booklet and the district has no canal irrigation. Check borewell depth and any restriction before assuming irrigation.

DLC rate churn

Statewide DLC rises of up to 50% (Dec 2024) and 5% to 49% in listed areas (Aug 2026) were reported; no Rajsamand figure was found. Check the rate in force on the sale-deed date.

Announced is not delivered

The rail line has only a final survey approved, and the 2023 road and rail foundation stones have no progress report. Price on today's access.

No sourced price series

We use no listing-site prices for Rajsamand, and DLC rates are only a floor. Collect registered comparables before negotiating.

Who to contact

Local revenue, planning & forest offices

Mutation and revenue-record matters go through the Tehsildar of the relevant tehsil under the District Collector; the current tehsil list should be taken from the district portal, which refused automated access (the sources we read differ on the count). Sale-deed registration is handled by the local Sub-Registrar through ePanjiyan (NeGD listing). The Forest Department's local office can say whether a khasra lies in the Kumbhalgarh sanctuary zone, and the Mines Department can state lease status. The Apna Khata records portal and ePanjiyan were not opened, so check them directly. Office contacts are listed there; we do not publish phone numbers.

COMMON QUESTIONS

Frequently asked questions

Everything buyers, NRIs and investors ask before their first reviewed farmland purchase in Rajsamand.

Visit full wiki

01 of 04

What does agricultural land cost in Rajsamand?

We publish no per-acre band for Rajsamand because no registered-deal series, DLC schedule or news report with a district rate was found, and listing-site asking prices cannot be traced to registered deals. Patrika reported statewide DLC rises of 5% to 49% in listed areas from 3 August 2026; whether Rajsamand was among them is not stated. A DLC rate is a registration floor, not a market price.

Ready to look at what is available?

Browse reviewed listings

Transparency

Sources and references

Law and courts

Government

News

Further reading

Data-currency note: area, population, mineral and rail figures come from a 2010-11 district profile; crop, irrigation and groundwater figures come from a 2013 CGWB booklet; the eco-sensitive zone is read from January 2026 news summaries; infrastructure statuses were read in October 2026 and change quickly. Pages marked "not opened" are named only as places to check. This is a general guide, not legal advice. Report inaccuracies to wiki@farmlandindia.com.

For developers

Ready to explore Rajsamand farmland?

Browse reviewed projects and individual land parcels across Rajsamand — or if you own land here, list it with platform review and reach serious buyers.

Farmland India ("the Platform"), operated by Bulk Procure Private Limited, is a digital marketplace for listing agricultural land, farmhouse and plotted development projects. The Platform is not a real estate broker, agent or intermediary under RERA or any other applicable law, and does not act for either party to a transaction.

Listings are submitted by developers, owners and their authorised representatives. Before publication, the Platform carries out a documentary review of the material supplied and records what was sighted. That review is limited to the documents made available to us at that time. It is not a title investigation, not a legal opinion, and not a warranty of title, approvals, or the accuracy of any information supplied by a lister. The Trust Score is an internal assessment produced from that review and is intended as a research aid, not as a guarantee of outcome.

Every buyer must carry out independent due diligence before any transaction — including verification of land records, encumbrance searches, approvals and regulatory compliance — through their own advocate and chartered accountant. Any legal or advisory professional introduced through the Platform is engaged directly by the user, on that professional's own terms; the Platform does not employ, supervise or accept responsibility for their work.

Nothing on the Platform is investment advice. Land values can fall as well as rise. The Platform is not liable for any loss, dispute or damage arising from a transaction between parties.