Farmland India
Aerial view of agricultural land and farm fields near Pratapgarh, Rajasthan

District guide

Buying Land in Pratapgarh

A forest-edge southern Rajasthan district where the Section 42 bar on sales by ST khatedars, the Sita Mata eco-sensitive zone and falling groundwater matter more than any price series.

  • 4,117 sq km

    Area

  • 8.68 lakh

    Population (Census 2011)

  • 67.6%

    Rural ST households (SECC)

  • 124.10%

    Groundwater development

*Indicative range across districts and land types. Stamp duty, registration and conversion charges are additional. Local measurement units vary — every listing states the unit it is priced in. Not a valuation or an offer.

Apna Khata — Rajasthan Land Records Portal

District land record — Pratapgarh

Rev. 2026 · Farmland India desk

State

Rajasthan

Sub-divisions

5 tehsils (Pratapgarh, Arnod, Chhoti Sadri, Dhariawad, Peepalkhoont) and five development blocks of the same names (district industrial profile, 2016-17; CGWB district brochure). The district portal refused automated access, so the list was not checked against it

Key markets

Pratapgarh town · Chhoti Sadri · Dhariawad · Arnod · Peepalkhoont

Demand anchors

NH-113 bypass and upgrade works · forest and sanctuary landscape (29% of the district is forest) · no sourced city-scale demand driver

Rail

Not established. The district profile leaves its rail-length entry blank and we found no sourced station

Size and population

About 4,117 sq km (CGWB brochure) · 8,67,848 people, Census 2011 (district industrial profile)

Pricing unit

₹/acre or ₹/hectare (farmland) · ₹/sq yd (plots)

Local units

Vary by tehsil and village; ask the patwari to state the area in acres or hectares in writing

Land records portal

Revenue land-records portal (Apna Khata), not opened for this page; sale deeds register through ePanjiyan (NeGD listing)

District overview

Pratapgarh — a tribal-majority, forest-edge district with thin price evidence

Pratapgarh is a southern Rajasthan district of about 4,117 sq km with 8,67,848 people at Census 2011 (CGWB brochure; district industrial profile). It was created on 26 January 2008 as the state's 33rd district from parts of Udaipur, Banswara and Chittorgarh, and it keeps five tehsils: Pratapgarh, Arnod, Chhoti Sadri, Dhariawad and Peepalkhoont. Forest covers about 29.38% of the area, and the profile lists red ochre, soapstone, marble and limestone among the minerals worked.

We publish no per-acre price band for Pratapgarh. No registered-deal series, district collector (DLC) schedule or news report with a Pratapgarh rate was found, and listing-site asking prices cannot be traced to registered deals. Statewide, Patrika reported DLC rises of 5% to 49% in listed areas from 3 August 2026 (Patrika, August 2026); whether Pratapgarh was among them is not stated in what we read.

The district is farmland and forest rather than a corridor market. The CGWB brochure puts black soil on about 57% of the area, soybean and maize as the leading crops, and groundwater development at 124.10%, with three of five blocks over-exploited (CGWB brochure). Access depends on NH-113, where a Pratapgarh city bypass and a Pratapgarh–Padi upgrade were listed in the Lok Sabha in July 2024 (Lok Sabha, July 2024).

  • Pratapgarh town
  • Chhoti Sadri
  • Dhariawad
  • Arnod
  • Peepalkhoont
  • Sita Mata sanctuary
Locator map of Pratapgarh district in Rajasthan

Transaction costs

Stamp duty & registration in Pratapgarh

Up to 20%

Surcharge on stamp duty

cow-protection surcharge, Section 3-B, Stamp Act 1998; cap raised from 10% in 2018

DLC

Valuation basis

Patrika reported in August 2026 that duty and fee follow DLC rates

Not traced

Base duty and fee

sale-deed rates could not be traced to an official page or a news report

The surcharge cap was raised from 10% to 20% by the Rajasthan Stamp (Amendment) Bill, 2018, effective 13 June 2018 (PRS, Bill 18 of 2018; The Tribune, September 2018). The rate notified today is not confirmed, and the base stamp duty and registration fee for a sale deed could not be traced to an official page or a news report, so none is quoted. Deeds are registered through the Registration and Stamps Department's ePanjiyan system (NeGD listing). Patrika reported statewide DLC rises of 5% to 49% in listed areas from 3 August 2026 (Patrika, August 2026) and gave one example in December 2024: on a Rs 50 lakh transaction in an area where the DLC rate rose 15%, the extra cost was Rs 66,000 in a man's name and Rs 56,250 in a woman's (Patrika, December 2024). We found no Pratapgarh-specific schedule. Since July 2024, Rule 57 of the Stamp Rules lets the registering officer inspect the land and value open land and structures separately (TeamLease RegTech, July 2024). Take the current schedule from the Sub-Registrar.

Know the belt

What is moving prices in Pratapgarh

There is no district price series. The cards below record what exists and what to check.

Statewide DLC revisions

Up to 50% (Dec 2024); 5% to 49% in listed areas (Aug 2026)

Patrika reported DLC rises of up to 50% on rural irrigated land in December 2024 and of 5% to 49% in listed areas from 3 August 2026 (Patrika, December 2024; Patrika, August 2026, Hindi-language report). Neither report, as read, gives a Pratapgarh figure.

Check: the DLC rate for the village and land class on the sale-deed date.

Asking prices

No sourced price series

Listing-site asking prices for Pratapgarh could not be traced to registered deals, so none are shown. The DLC rate is the only official reference and it is a registration floor, not what a seller will accept.

Check: registered sale deeds in the same revenue estate before negotiating.

Land inside the Sita Mata zone

172.45 sq km eco-sensitive zone

A parcel near the sanctuary can fall in the notified zone, where new commercial mining, brick kilns and new commercial hotels or resorts within 1 km are restricted (Ministry summary). The restrictions limit what a buyer can build, so they affect value more than soil does.

Check: the Forest Department, in writing, for the khasra.

Mineral belt

Red ochre, soapstone, marble

The district profile lists red ochre, soapstone, marble, limestone and masonry stone among minerals worked (district industrial profile). We found no lease map, so a parcel in a mining area may carry lease or access conditions.

Check: the Mines Department for lease status before paying a deposit.

Units

Rajasthan revenue records and local trade use units that vary by district, tehsil and village. We did not open a revenue manual for Pratapgarh, so convert every quote to acres or hectares and ask the patwari to confirm the area and the share of the khasra being sold.

Connectivity

How Pratapgarh connects — road, rail and air

Distances and journey times are not given because no official or news source was found for them.

By road

NH-113 Pratapgarh city bypassTwo-lane; Rs 98.9 crore sanctioned 2021-22, 40% physical progress (Jul 2024) (Lok Sabha)
NH-113 Pratapgarh–Padi sectionUpgrade to two lanes, 91% (Jul 2024), listed under Banswara (Lok Sabha)
Road length2,132.36 km of roads in the district (profile)

By air

Nearest airportNo sourced figure
Scheduled flightsNone found in the sources read

By rail & metro

RailwayRail length left blank in the district profile; no station sourced
MetroNo metro project found

The practical question is the last leg from the highway to the parcel; ask for the access road in the revenue record. Full Rajasthan rules for buyers from outside the state: Rajasthan agricultural land rules.

Growth catalysts

Upcoming infrastructure & developments

Status labels reflect sources read in October 2026. The statuses below are from July 2024 and may be out of date; items marked confirm have a single or an older source.

00Open or inaugurated

02In progress or pending

Under construction · 40% (Jul 2024) NH-113 Pratapgarh city bypass
Upgrade 91% (Jul 2024) · confirm NH-113 Pratapgarh–Padi section
Under construction · 40% (Jul 2024)

NH-113 Pratapgarh city bypass

The annexure to Lok Sabha Unstarred Question 665 (answered 25 July 2024) lists the construction of a Pratapgarh city bypass on NH-113 in two-lane configuration with paved shoulders, sanctioned in 2021-22 at Rs 98.9 crore, with 40% physical progress (Lok Sabha, July 2024). We found no later progress report, so confirm the current status with NHAI or the PWD before pricing a parcel on it.

Source: Lok Sabha, 25 Jul 2024

Road

NH-113

Cost

Rs 98.9 crore

Progress

40% (Jul 2024)

Lanes

Two, paved shoulders

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Pratapgarh town
Upgrade 91% (Jul 2024) · confirm

NH-113 Pratapgarh–Padi section

The same annexure lists balance rehabilitation and upgrading to two lanes on the Pratapgarh–Padi section, shown under Banswara district, at Rs 6.67 crore sanctioned and 91% physical progress (Lok Sabha, July 2024). The figure is for balance work only and no sanction year is given.

Source: Lok Sabha, 25 Jul 2024

Road

NH-113

Work

Balance upgrade

Sanctioned

Rs 6.67 crore

Progress

91% (Jul 2024)

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Pratapgarh town
  • Arnod

Agriculture & terrain

Soil, crops & water in Pratapgarh

A black-soil, soybean-and-maize district with forest cover and over-exploited groundwater in three of five blocks.

🌾 Black-soil plains

The CGWB district brochure puts black soil on about 57% of the district, clayey loam on 38% and red soil on 4%, and lists soybean (about 101,124 hectares), maize (57,155), wheat (49,319) and gram (22,421) as the leading crops; the crop year was not read from the summary (CGWB brochure). The district profile also describes black cotton soil.

  • Soybean
  • Maize
  • Wheat
  • Gram

🌲 Forest and hills

Forest covers about 1,20,976 hectares, 29.38% of the district, and the Sita Mata sanctuary spans 423 sq km (district industrial profile). The geology is Deccan Trap basalt over much of the area, with granite, gneiss and schist in the southwest and north (CGWB brochure). Forest and zone status decide what can be built more than soil does.

  • Sita Mata
  • Forest cover
  • Deccan Trap

💧 Irrigation

Of about 84,629 hectares net irrigated, roughly 56,099 are served by other wells, 18,585 by tubewells and about 7,166 by canals (CGWB brochure). The district profile gives a much smaller irrigated area of 12,823 hectares, so the two sources disagree; we use the CGWB figure.

  • Wells
  • Tubewells
  • Canal

💧 Water & rainfall

Average annual rainfall is 856 mm and falls from south to north (CGWB brochure); the IMD Jaipur monsoon report gives state-level normals of 435.6 mm for June to September (IMD, 2025). The brochure puts groundwater development at 124.10%, with Arnod (140.51%), Chhoti Sadri (148.35%) and Pratapgarh (132.57%) over-exploited, Dhariawad critical (93.67%) and Peepalkhoont semi-critical (75.64%); the assessment year was not read, and the brochure contains internal inconsistencies. Statewide, CGWB 2024 puts extraction at 149.86% with 214 of 302 units over-exploited, and lists fluoride and nitrate quality concerns for Pratapgarh (CGWB, 2024). Check borewell yield and permission on site.

📐 Measurement units

Local units vary by district and tehsil. Convert every quote to acres or hectares before comparing two offers. Mandi prices are published on Agmarknet, which was not opened for this review, so none is quoted; crop income is modest next to land values, so price a parcel on its location, legal status and permitted use.

At a glance

Pratapgarh vs. its neighbours

District / beltPrice band* (per acre)Evidence
PratapgarhNo sourced price seriesStatewide DLC revisions reported (Patrika, Aug 2026); no district figure found
ChittorgarhNo sourced price seriesNo figure used on this page
BanswaraNo sourced price seriesNo figure used on this page
UdaipurNo sourced price seriesNo figure used on this page

*DLC rates are registration floors, not market prices. See the Chittorgarh page and the Banswara page for the two nearest neighbours in the state, and Udaipur for the nearest city market.

Farmhouse plot with boundary stones near Pratapgarh, Rajasthan

District report — Pratapgarh

Farmland India view

Why investors look at Pratapgarh

Five reasoned points, with an honest note that the price evidence is thin and the legal overlays are heavy.

Legal clarity is the entry cost

With two-thirds of rural households ST and a Section 42 bar on sales to outsiders, a buyer who documents the seller's community and title is better placed than one relying on a broker summary.

Forest-edge landscape

About 29% of the district is forest and the Sita Mata sanctuary spans 423 sq km. The setting is a draw for low-density use, but the eco-sensitive zone limits what can be built near it.

Black-soil farmland

Soybean and maize lead the crop list and irrigation comes mostly from wells. Returns from crops are modest next to land values, so treat farming as holding income.

Highway works on NH-113

A city bypass and a Pratapgarh–Padi upgrade were listed in 2024. The progress figures are two years old, so confirm what is built before paying for access.

Thin comparables

No sourced price series exists. A buyer who collects registered deals for the revenue estate has the only real price evidence available.

Browse reviewed land in Pratapgarh

Confirm Section 42 status, eco-sensitive zone and DLC status directly; these are not certified by Farmland India’s review.

STRAIGHT TALK

Risks & challenges in Pratapgarh

Read these before shortlisting in Pratapgarh specifically.

Section 42 and ST khatedar land

Most rural households are ST, so many parcels may be ST khatedar land. A sale to a non-ST buyer is void, and long possession does not cure it. Read the seller's community from the jamabandi.

Scheduled Area status unknown

We found no source on whether any Pratapgarh tehsil is a Scheduled Area. Ask the Collector in writing before paying a deposit.

Eco-sensitive zone and forest land

The Sita Mata zone covers 58 villages across three districts and restricts quarrying, brick kilns and new hotels. Ask the Forest Department for the khasra's status.

Over-exploited groundwater

Three of five blocks are over-exploited and the district stands at 124.10% (CGWB brochure, assessment year not read). Check borewell depth and any restriction before assuming irrigation.

DLC rate churn

Statewide DLC rises of up to 50% (Dec 2024) and 5% to 49% in listed areas (Aug 2026) were reported; no Pratapgarh figure was found. Check the rate in force on the sale-deed date.

Announced is not delivered

The NH-113 progress figures date from July 2024. Price on today's roads, not on the plan.

No sourced price series

We use no listing-site prices for Pratapgarh, and DLC rates are only a floor. Collect registered comparables before negotiating.

Who to contact

Local revenue, planning & forest offices

Mutation and revenue-record matters go through the Tehsildar of the relevant tehsil (Pratapgarh, Arnod, Chhoti Sadri, Dhariawad, Peepalkhoont), under the District Collector. Sale-deed registration is handled by the local Sub-Registrar through ePanjiyan (NeGD listing). The Forest Department's local office can say whether a khasra lies in the Sita Mata sanctuary or its eco-sensitive zone, and the Mines Department can state lease status. The district portal, the Apna Khata records portal and ePanjiyan refused automated access or were not opened, so check them directly. Office contacts are listed there; we do not publish phone numbers.

COMMON QUESTIONS

Frequently asked questions

Everything buyers, NRIs and investors ask before their first reviewed farmland purchase in Pratapgarh.

Visit full wiki

01 of 04

What does agricultural land cost in Pratapgarh, Rajasthan?

We publish no per-acre band for Pratapgarh because no registered-deal series, DLC schedule or news report with a district rate was found, and listing-site asking prices cannot be traced to registered deals. Patrika reported statewide DLC rises of 5% to 49% in listed areas from 3 August 2026; whether Pratapgarh was among them is not stated. A DLC rate is a registration floor, not a market price.

Ready to look at what is available?

Browse reviewed listings

Transparency

Sources and references

Law and courts

Government

News

Further reading

Data-currency note: population and area come from the 2016-17 district profile and an undated CGWB brochure; groundwater categories are from the CGWB brochure, not a current assessment; the NH-113 progress figures date from July 2024; the tribe and caste household shares come from the SECC rural tables, whose year the page does not state. Pages marked "not opened" are named only as places to check. This is a general guide, not legal advice. Report inaccuracies to wiki@farmlandindia.com.

For developers

Ready to explore Pratapgarh farmland?

Browse reviewed projects and individual land parcels across Pratapgarh — or if you own land here, list it with platform review and reach serious buyers.

Farmland India ("the Platform"), operated by Bulk Procure Private Limited, is a digital marketplace for listing agricultural land, farmhouse and plotted development projects. The Platform is not a real estate broker, agent or intermediary under RERA or any other applicable law, and does not act for either party to a transaction.

Listings are submitted by developers, owners and their authorised representatives. Before publication, the Platform carries out a documentary review of the material supplied and records what was sighted. That review is limited to the documents made available to us at that time. It is not a title investigation, not a legal opinion, and not a warranty of title, approvals, or the accuracy of any information supplied by a lister. The Trust Score is an internal assessment produced from that review and is intended as a research aid, not as a guarantee of outcome.

Every buyer must carry out independent due diligence before any transaction — including verification of land records, encumbrance searches, approvals and regulatory compliance — through their own advocate and chartered accountant. Any legal or advisory professional introduced through the Platform is engaged directly by the user, on that professional's own terms; the Platform does not employ, supervise or accept responsibility for their work.

Nothing on the Platform is investment advice. Land values can fall as well as rise. The Platform is not liable for any loss, dispute or damage arising from a transaction between parties.