
District guide
Buying Land in Gorakhpur
A Rapti-side district with an open link expressway, a GIDA industrial area, a second expressway still unbuilt, flood risk to check and no sourced per-acre price series.
3,483.8 sq km
Area
44.4 lakh
Population (district portal)
154.4%
Cropping intensity (2012)
91.352 km, open Jun 2025
Link Expressway
*Indicative range across districts and land types. Stamp duty, registration and conversion charges are additional. Local measurement units vary โ every listing states the unit it is priced in. Not a valuation or an offer.
IGRS UP โ Registration & Land Records PortalDistrict land record โ Gorakhpur
Rev. 2026 ยท Farmland India desk
State
Uttar Pradesh
Administration
7 tehsils, 19 blocks and 3,448 revenue villages (district portal)
Key markets
Gorakhpur city ยท Dhuriyapar (GIDA industrial area)
Demand anchors
Gorakhpur airport ยท Gorakhpur Link Expressway (opened 20 June 2025) ยท GIDA industrial area ยท proposed Gorakhpur-Siliguri Expressway
Rivers
Rapti, Ghaghra, Aami, Rohin, Kuwano and Gurra (district portal)
Villages and gram sabhas
3,448 revenue villages and 1,354 gram sabhas (district portal)
Area and people
3,483.8 sq km ยท 44,40,895 people, of whom 36,04,766 rural and 8,36,129 urban (district portal; census year not stated there)
Land records portal
UP Bhulekh (khatauni, khasra) ยท IGRSUP for circle rates
Land law is state law. These rules are maintained on the Uttar Pradesh page and apply to every district within it.
Gorakhpur โ land purchase legal rules
โ Two checks come before any advance in Uttar Pradesh: the Revenue Code limit of 5.0586 hectares (about 12.5 acres) on what one person can acquire by purchase or gift, and the registry position in the DNGIR villages near Noida, where a purchase halt was reported in January 2024 and no later word was found. UP Revenue Code 2006, section 89; Sakshi Post, January 2024.
Who can buy agricultural land? The Revenue Code sections we read set a size limit (section 89) and special rules for land held by Scheduled Caste and Scheduled Tribe members (sections 98 and 99). None asks the buyer to be a farmer or to live in the state (UP Revenue Code 2006, IGRS UP). We did not read the whole tenure chapter, so ask the Sub-Registrar whether anything further applies. The Code repealed the Zamindari Abolition and Land Reforms Act 1950 when it was enforced on 18 December 2015 (SCC Online, February 2016).
Holding limit: section 89(2) of the Code bars a purchase or gift that would take the buyer's total holding in Uttar Pradesh above 5.0586 hectares, about 12.5 acres on our conversion (UP Revenue Code 2006). Under the earlier Act the Supreme Court read a company as a person for this limit and let the excess vest in the State (Oswal Fats and Oils, April 2010). The separate 1960 Ceiling Act caps total holdings; the India Code text gives 7.30 hectares of irrigated land for a family of five or fewer, with additions for larger families, and the text mixes acres and hectares, so the current schedule needs checking (India Code).
DNGIR villages: the Dadri-Noida-Ghaziabad Investment Region covers 84 notified villages, 63 in Bulandshahr and 21 in Gautam Buddh Nagar, notified in October 2024 (Swarajya, July 2026). In January 2024 a Noida Authority letter to the Stamp Department halted purchase and sale in the proposed villages, with registration of agricultural land needing the Authority's consent (Sakshi Post, January 2024). Two July 2026 reports on acquisition by mutual consent do not mention the halt (Millennium Post, July 2026), so ask the Noida Authority or the District Magistrate's office whether it still applies to a given village.
Scheduled Caste and Scheduled Tribe land: a Scheduled Caste bhumidhar needs the Collector's previous written permission to transfer land to a non-Scheduled Caste buyer (section 98), and a Scheduled Tribe bhumidhar may not transfer to a non-Scheduled Tribe buyer (section 99) (UP Revenue Code 2006). The Allahabad High Court described a transfer without the permission as void in Omwati v District Collector, Pilibhit, November 2022.
NRI & OCI buyers: the Reserve Bank's Master Direction under FEMA 1999 excludes agricultural land, plantation land and a farm house from what NRIs and OCIs may buy or receive as a gift (paragraphs 3.1.1 and 3.1.2). Inheritance is covered separately in paragraphs 3.1.3 and 3.1.4, without that exclusion (Reserve Bank of India Master Direction FED 12/2015-16).
- Revenue Code 2006
- Purchase limit: 5.0586 ha
- DNGIR: 84 villages
- SC land: Collector permission
- NRI agri: barred (FEMA)
- Ceiling Act 1960
Gorakhpur โ district-specific notes
The Uttar Pradesh rules on the state page (the section 89(2) purchase limit, Scheduled Caste and Scheduled Tribe land, NRI rules) apply to Gorakhpur in full. The notes below are specific to this district.
โ Gorakhpur has its own industrial authority, GIDA, which held its 35th Foundation Day in November 2024. A UP government press release says GIDA is developing about 5,500 acres near Dhuriyapar, with industrial corridors along the Gorakhpur Link Expressway (Invest UP, November 2024). A village inside or next to a GIDA area can face acquisition and a different planning regime. Ask in writing whether the village is in a GIDA area before paying an advance.
โ The Gorakhpur Link Expressway is open, but the Gorakhpur-Siliguri Expressway is not: its Uttar Pradesh section of about 84 km runs through Gorakhpur, Deoria and Kushinagar (NBMCW, February 2023). A separate Shamli-Gorakhpur corridor is proposed with Gorakhpur at its eastern end (Swarajya, December 2025). Alignments can change, so check the village list with the district revenue office and the National Highways Authority, not with the seller.
โ Section 89(2) of the Revenue Code 2006 limits a purchase or gift to a total holding of 5.0586 hectares (about 12.5 acres) in the state. Conversion to non-agricultural use falls under Section 80, which the UP Cabinet moved to amend by ordinance in March 2026 so that an approved building plan in development-authority, industrial-development and regulated areas counts as conversion (Free Press Journal, March 2026). We could not open the section text, so the Sub-Divisional Officer procedure is not stated; ask the Sub-Registrar which provision applies.
- GIDA
- Link Expressway
- GorakhpurโSiliguri Expressway
- Section 80 ordinance
District overview
Gorakhpur โ an airport, expressway and industrial-area district beside the Rapti
Gorakhpur district covers 3,483.8 sq km and has 44,40,895 people on the district portal, with 7 tehsils, 19 blocks and 3,448 revenue villages (district portal; administrative page). Its crops, the portal says, are paddy, wheat, pulses and sugarcane. The airport handles about 26 flights a day, and in June 2025 the Air Force, the Airports Authority and the district administration signed an MoU for a new terminal on 42 acres of Air Force land (The Week, June 2025). Phase 1 of a light metro was approved by the Public Investment Board in 2021 (The Pioneer).
There is no sourced price series for Gorakhpur farmland. We found no dated registered-rate or collector-rate figure, and listing-site asking prices could not be traced to registered deeds, so none are published. The industrial belt around Dhuriyapar is a separate product, shaped by GIDA allotments and the Link Expressway (Invest UP, November 2024).
Gorakhpur is on the Rapti, and ICAR lists the district as prone to flood, with waterlogging after continuous heavy rain (ICAR-CRIDA). Level, drainage and flood history matter more here than in most of the state. For who may buy, read the Uttar Pradesh state page first.
- Gorakhpur City
- Rapti River
- Gorakhpur Airport
- GIDA
- Link Expressway
- Dhuriyapar
Market & connectivity
What is moving prices in Gorakhpur
Reported facts and project status, with the source of each named. None of them is a land price.
No sourced price series
We found no dated official or news figure for what farmland sells for near Gorakhpur city or in the rural tehsils. Listing-site asking prices could not be traced to registered deeds and are not published. Ask for registered deeds from the same village and the area in acres or square metres.
Collector rates
In March 2025 the state listed Gorakhpur among 23 districts where collector-rate revisions would start soon, because rates had gone unchanged for years (The Week, March 2025). We found no later report with Gorakhpur figures, so ask the Sub-Registrar for the current village rate.
Airport expansion
The airport runs about 26 flights a day, and the June 2025 MoU aims at about 200 a day and passenger handling of 2,500 an hour, up from 270, with road access works and an underpass planned (The Week, June 2025). No cost or completion date was reported.
Link Expressway
The Gorakhpur Link Expressway is 91.352 km, runs from Jaitpur on the Gorakhpur bypass to Salarpur on the Purvanchal Expressway, and was inaugurated on 20 June 2025 (UPEIDA; The Week, June 2025). The cost is given as Rs 5,876.67 crore on one UPEIDA line and Rs 7,283.28 crore on another, including land (NBMCW, June 2025 uses the higher figure). We found no sourced effect on land prices.
GIDA allotments
The state press release of 30 November 2024 reports plots allotted to investors for about Rs 1,068 crore, over 4,500 jobs expected and about 5,500 acres being developed near Dhuriyapar (Invest UP). Industrial allotment demand is not farmland demand, and land inside a GIDA area is a different product.
Stamp duty and circle rates
The state page quotes stamp duty of 7% (men) and 6% (a sole woman buyer) plus 1% registration, and marks those figures as not confirmed from the Stamp Department. No Gorakhpur circle rate was read for this page.
Connectivity
How Gorakhpur connects โ road, rail and air
Only the expressways and the airport are sourced here. Check distances, train timings and journey times yourself.
๐ By road
โ๏ธ By air
๐ By rail
๐ฃ Expressways: one open, one coming
The Gorakhpur Link Expressway joins the city to the Purvanchal Expressway at Salarpur in Azamgarh district. The Gorakhpur-Siliguri Expressway is reported at 519 km with a 2028 opening target on a tracker last updated in July 2024 (The Metro Rail Guy); Bihar began its land acquisition in October 2025 (Patna Press). See our UP land-rules guide for who may buy.
Growth catalysts
Upcoming infrastructure & developments
Status as reported in the sources named in each card. Announced timelines are not guaranteed.
Gorakhpur Link Expressway
A 91.352 km four-district expressway (Gorakhpur, Sant Kabir Nagar, Ambedkar Nagar, Azamgarh) from Jaitpur to Salarpur, opened on 20 June 2025 as a four-lane road that can be widened to six (UPEIDA). Cost Rs 5,876.67 crore or Rs 7,283.28 crore, both including land, on different lines of the same page.
GorakhpurโSiliguri Expressway
A 519 km greenfield corridor toward the Nepal border; the Uttar Pradesh section of about 84 km runs through Gorakhpur, Deoria and Kushinagar, and NBMCW priced the project at Rs 32,000 crore (NBMCW, February 2023). A tracker last updated in July 2024 shows land acquisition and design with a 2028 target (The Metro Rail Guy). We found no 2026 report on the Uttar Pradesh section.
GIDA industrial township
About 5,500 acres near Dhuriyapar are being developed, with industrial corridors planned along the Link Expressway, according to the UP government's November 2024 press release. It reported plots allotted for about Rs 1,068 crore of investment and over 4,500 jobs expected (Invest UP).
Gorakhpur Metro
The Pioneer (2021) reported Public Investment Board approval for Phase 1 of a light metro, with a first corridor of 15.14 km from Shyam Nagar to the Madan Mohan Malaviya University of Technology, 27 elevated stations across two corridors and an estimated cost of about Rs 4,672 crore (The Pioneer). We found no current construction status, so treat it as an approval, not a delivery date.
Agriculture & terrain
Soil, water & crops in Gorakhpur
Gorakhpur is a wheat-and-rice district with a high cropping intensity; the water questions are waterlogging and quality.
๐พ Cropped area
The ICAR district plan (2012) gives net sown area of 248,723 hectares, gross cropped area of 383,123 hectares and a cropping intensity of 154.4%. Wheat covers 187,781 hectares and rice 152,921 hectares (24,261 irrigated and 128,660 rainfed) (ICAR-CRIDA). The district portal lists paddy, wheat, pulses and sugarcane as the main crops.
- Wheat
- Rice
- Sugarcane
๐ง Water
ICAR gives normal annual rainfall of 1,364.1 mm, of which 1,182.1 mm falls in the June-September monsoon. Net irrigated area is 210,711 hectares, mostly from private tubewells (191,883 hectares), with government tubewells at 10,796 hectares and canals at 5,472 hectares. The 2024 CGWB state report lists Gorakhpur for nitrate and arsenic above limits at sporadic locations, so test any borewell. We found no current block-wise groundwater category.
๐ Flood and waterlogging
ICAR lists Gorakhpur as prone to flood, and its plan cites waterlogging from continuous high rain in a short span, with flood conditions meaning submergence for more than two days. On 6 August 2025 the Rapti at Bardaghat in Gorakhpur stood 3.70 m below its danger mark while the Ghaghra was above danger in the Ayodhya and Deoria area, and 83 families in Barhalganj tehsil were advised to move to a relief camp (Daily Guardian, August 2025). Ask for a local flood history for any low parcel.
- Rapti
- Waterlogging
๐พ Mandi price reference
Live wholesale mandi prices are published daily on Agmarknet; we did not open it for this page and give no price. Near the city, land price follows location and access, not crop yield, so use mandi data to judge farm income and not what a parcel is worth.
At a glance
Gorakhpur: reported figures at a glance
| Item | Figure | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Net sown area, 2012 | 248,723 ha; cropping intensity 154.4% | ICAR-CRIDA |
| Wheat and rice, 2012 | 187,781 ha and 152,921 ha | ICAR-CRIDA |
| Link Expressway cost | Rs 5,876.67 crore or Rs 7,283.28 crore, both including land | UPEIDA page |
| Per-acre price | No sourced price series | None found |
No per-acre figure is shown because none could be traced to an official or news source.
Farmland India view
Why investors look at Gorakhpur
Three reasons this desk includes Gorakhpur, with a note that no price series is sourced and flood risk is real.
A regional hub with documented demand drivers
An airport running about 26 flights a day with an expansion MoU, an open expressway and a GIDA industrial area (The Week; Invest UP) give the city demand drivers independent of any one road project.
Open expressway, second one coming
The Link Expressway has been open since June 2025, while the Siliguri corridor's Uttar Pradesh section has no recent status report, so connectivity is improving on a sourced but partial timeline.
Productive land with high cropping intensity
ICAR records a cropping intensity of 154.4% and wheat and rice on about 188,000 and 153,000 hectares, so the land works as farmland, which matters to a buyer who wants an agricultural holding and not a plot.
Confirm GIDA and expressway alignment status, flood history and conversion status directly; these are not certified by Farmland India's review.
STRAIGHT TALK
Risks & challenges in Gorakhpur
Read these before shortlisting in Gorakhpur specifically.
Flood-prone land
ICAR lists the district as prone to flood and records monsoon waterlogging. Check plot level, drainage and a local flood history before paying.
No sourced price series
There is no official or news price series for the district. Collect registered deeds and ask the Sub-Registrar for the circle rate before negotiating.
GIDA and acquisition exposure
A village in or near a GIDA area or on an expressway alignment may be acquired or restricted. Get the status in writing from the district revenue office.
Water quality
The 2024 CGWB state report lists Gorakhpur for nitrate and arsenic above limits at sporadic locations (CGWB, December 2024). Test borewell water before building.
Announced is not delivered
The Siliguri expressway has a 2028 target on a July 2024 tracker and no recent Uttar Pradesh report, and the metro is an approval only. Price a parcel on today's fundamentals.
Conversion and ceiling rules
A farmhouse or homestay needs a non-agricultural-use route under Section 80, which the March 2026 ordinance changes in some areas, and the section 89(2) purchase limit applies. We did not open the section text.
Dated project data
Several project figures here come from 2023 to 2025 reports and a July 2024 tracker. Check each with the district revenue office or the National Highways Authority.
Who to contact
Local revenue & registration offices
Mutation, khatauni extracts and record corrections for Gorakhpur are handled at the tehsil, with the District Magistrate's office as the district authority; contacts are on the Gorakhpur district website. Section 80 applications go to the Sub-Divisional Officer, and land inside the industrial area is handled by GIDA. Sale deeds are registered at the local Sub-Registrar through IGRS UP, land records are read on UP Bhulekh, and plotted layouts should be checked with UP RERA; we did not open those portals for this page.
KEEP EXPLORING
Explore more areas
Other districts in Uttar Pradesh
- Agra
- Aligarh
- Allahabad
- Ambedkar Nagar
- Amethi
- Auraiya
- Azamgarh
- Bagpat
- Bahraich
- Ballia
- Balrampur
- Banda
- Barabanki
- Bareilly
- Basti
- Bijnor
- Budaun
- Bulandshahr
- Chandauli
- Chitrakoot
- Deoria
- Etah
- Etawah
- Faizabad
- Farrukhabad
- Fatehpur
- Firozabad
- Gautam Buddha NagarResidential (R-Zone) โข 1 listing
- Ghaziabad
- Ghazipur
- Gonda
- Hamirpur
- HapurResidential Plotted โข 2 listings
- Hardoi
- Hathras
- Jalaun
- Jaunpur
- Jhansi
- Jyotiba Phule Nagar
- Kannauj
- Kanpur Dehat
- Kanpur Nagar
- Kasganj
- Kaushambi
- Kheri
- Kushinagar
- Lalitpur
- Lucknow
- Maharajganj
- Mahoba
- Mainpuri
- MathuraAgricultural Land โข 1 listing
- Mau
- Meerut
- Mirzapur
- Moradabad
- Muzaffarnagar
- Pilibhit
- Pratapgarh
- Raebareli
- Rampur
- SaharanpurPremium Estate โข 1 listing
- Sambhal
- Sant Kabir Nagar
- Sant Ravidas Nagar
- Shahjahanpur
- Shamli
- Shrawasti
- Siddharthnagar
- Sitapur
- Sonbhadra
- Sultanpur
- Unnao
- Varanasi
Guides & research
- Bhu Naksha UP: Check Village Land Map Online (2026 Guide)Wiki ยท P02 Land Records & Documentation
- Khatauni Nakal UP: Get a Copy Online or at the Tehsil (2026 Guide)Wiki ยท P02 Land Records & Documentation
- Khasra Khatauni UP: How to Check and Read It Online (2026 Guide)Wiki ยท P02 Land Records & Documentation
- IGRS UP Encumbrance Certificate: Apply, Track and Download (2026 Guide)Wiki ยท P02 Land Records & Documentation
- Dakhil Kharij Status UP: Check Mutation Online (2026 Guide)Wiki ยท P02 Land Records & Documentation
- Circle Rate Uttar Pradesh: Check Land Rates Online (2026 Guide)Wiki ยท P02 Land Records & Documentation
- Property Tax for Land in Uttar Pradesh: Check and Pay Online (2026 Guide)Wiki ยท P02 Land Records & Documentation
- Bigha in Uttar Pradesh: District-wise VariationsWiki ยท P01 Land Measurement Units
COMMON QUESTIONS
Frequently asked questions
Everything buyers, NRIs and investors ask before their first reviewed farmland purchase in Gorakhpur.
Visit full wiki01 of 04
What does land cost around Gorakhpur?
We publish no per-acre figure. We found no official or news price series for the district, and listing-site asking prices could not be traced to registered deeds. Gorakhpur was on the March 2025 list of districts where collector-rate revisions were to start soon (The Week), so ask the Sub-Registrar for the current village rate and ask sellers for registered deeds.
02 of 04
Is there an expressway at Gorakhpur?
The 91.352 km Gorakhpur Link Expressway, from Jaitpur to Salarpur on the Purvanchal Expressway, was inaugurated on 20 June 2025 (UPEIDA, The Week). The 519 km Gorakhpur-Siliguri Expressway has about 84 km in Uttar Pradesh through Gorakhpur, Deoria and Kushinagar, with a 2028 target on a July 2024 tracker; we found no recent report on the Uttar Pradesh section.
03 of 04
Does Gorakhpur flood?
ICAR lists Gorakhpur as prone to flood and records waterlogging after continuous heavy rain. On 6 August 2025 the Rapti at Bardaghat stood 3.70 m below its danger mark while the Ghaghra was above danger near Ayodhya and Deoria, and 83 families in Barhalganj tehsil were advised to move to a relief camp (The Daily Guardian).
04 of 04
Does Gorakhpur airport have flights?
The airport handles about 26 flights a day to major cities, and in June 2025 the Air Force, the Airports Authority and the district administration signed an MoU for a new terminal on 42 acres of Air Force land (The Week, PTI). The report does not name destinations or airlines, so check the airline for current routes.
Ready to look at what is available?
Browse reviewed listingsTransparency
Sources and references
Law and courts
- Uttar Pradesh Revenue Code 2006 (sections 80, 89), text hosted by IGRS UP
- Master Direction FED 12/2015-16 on immovable assets under FEMA 1999, Reserve Bank of India, updated to 1 Sep 2022
Government
- About the district (area, population, tehsils, blocks, rivers), Gorakhpur district portal
- Administrative structure (tehsils, blocks, villages), Gorakhpur district portal
- District agriculture contingency plan, Gorakhpur (2012), ICAR-CRIDA
- GIDA Foundation Day press release, Invest UP, 30 Nov 2024
- Gorakhpur Link Expressway, UPEIDA
- Dynamic Ground Water Resources and Ground Water Quality of Uttar Pradesh 2024, Central Ground Water Board, Dec 2024
- UP govt to revise land circle rates across multiple districts, The Week (PTI), 10 Mar 2025
News
- CM Adityanath inaugurates Rs 7,283 cr Gorakhpur Link Expressway, The Week (PTI), 20 Jun 2025
- Rs 7,283.28 cr Gorakhpur Link Expressway inaugurated by CM Yogi Adityanath, NBMCW, 23 Jun 2025
- NHAI expedites Rs 32,000 cr Gorakhpur-Siliguri e-way project, NBMCW, 3 Feb 2023
- Gorakhpur-Siliguri Expressway land acquisition, India Infra Hub, 24 Jan 2023
- Gorakhpur-Siliguri Expressway: information and status, The Metro Rail Guy (tracker, last updated 8 Jul 2024)
- Bihar land acquisition for Gorakhpur-Siliguri and Raxaul-Haldia expressways, Patna Press, 3 Oct 2025
- New 750-km expressway to reshape UP travel: Shamli-Gorakhpur corridor, Swarajya, 28 Dec 2025
- Yogi thanks PM for approval to Gorakhpur metro, The Pioneer, 2021
- Gorakhpur Airport to get new terminal building, The Week (PTI), 25 Jun 2025
- Rising river levels trigger high alert in Gorakhpur division, The Daily Guardian, 6 Aug 2025
- UP Cabinet clears ordinance simplifying land use conversion via building plan approvals, Free Press Journal, 23 Mar 2026
Further reading
- Ceiling Act 1960 text on India Code
- Groundwater quality by district, CGWB 2024
- Gorakhpur crop and flood plan, ICAR-CRIDA
- GIDA Foundation Day release, Nov 2024
- Link Expressway page, UPEIDA
- Gorakhpur-Siliguri Expressway, NBMCW, Feb 2023
- Siliguri expressway in Bihar, Patna Press, Oct 2025
- Gorakhpur airport terminal, The Week, Jun 2025
- Shamli-Gorakhpur corridor, Swarajya, Dec 2025
Data-currency note: census figures reflect 2011 and the district portal does not state the census year for its population figure. The ICAR crop data are from 2012, the Siliguri expressway sources are from 2023 to 2025 and a July 2024 tracker. We could not open the Stamp Department rate schedule, UP Bhulekh, IGRS UP or the text of the Revenue Code sections on Section 80, so stamp duty, circle rates and the conversion procedure are unconfirmed. No per-acre price series is shown. This is a general guide, not legal advice. Report inaccuracies to wiki@farmlandindia.com.
For developers
Ready to explore Gorakhpur farmland?
Browse reviewed projects and individual land parcels across Gorakhpur โ or if you own land here, list it with platform review and reach serious buyers.