
District guide
Buying Land in Mau
A dense Ghaghra-plain district of handloom weaving and irrigated rice and wheat, on the Purvanchal Expressway, with no sourced per-acre price series.
~1,715 sq km
Area (district profile)
~22.1 lakh people
Census 2011
~341 km
Purvanchal Expressway
172.4%
Cropping intensity (ICAR-CRIDA)
*Indicative range across districts and land types. Stamp duty, registration and conversion charges are additional. Local measurement units vary โ every listing states the unit it is priced in. Not a valuation or an offer.
IGRS UP โ Registration & Land Records PortalDistrict land record โ Mau
Rev. 2026 ยท Farmland India desk
State
Uttar Pradesh
Expressway
Purvanchal Expressway runs through the district (PIB, November 2021)
Key markets
Mau city ยท Ghosi ยท Mohammadabad Gohna ยท Doharighat
Demand anchors
Handloom and powerloom weaving ยท Purvanchal Expressway ยท Gorakhpur Link Expressway nearby
Highway and rail
54 km of national highway, 56 km of state highway and 104 km of rail line (2010-11, industrial profile)
Tehsils
4 tehsils and 9 blocks in the older CGWB brochure (Badraon, Doharighat, Fatehpur Madoon, Ghosi, Kopaganj, Mohammadabad, Pardaha, Ranipur, Ratanpura); confirm the current list
Area and people
About 1,715 sq km (industrial profile; the CGWB brochure gives 1,713) ยท about 22.1 lakh people (Census 2011)
Rivers
Ghaghra on the northern boundary, Tamsa through the south, Tons the main drainage (industrial profile)
Land records portal
UP Bhulekh (khatauni, khasra) ยท IGRSUP for circle rates
Land law is state law. These rules are maintained on the Uttar Pradesh page and apply to every district within it.
Mau โ land purchase legal rules
โ Two checks come before any advance in Uttar Pradesh: the Revenue Code limit of 5.0586 hectares (about 12.5 acres) on what one person can acquire by purchase or gift, and the registry position in the DNGIR villages near Noida, where a purchase halt was reported in January 2024 and no later word was found. UP Revenue Code 2006, section 89; Sakshi Post, January 2024.
Who can buy agricultural land? The Revenue Code sections we read set a size limit (section 89) and special rules for land held by Scheduled Caste and Scheduled Tribe members (sections 98 and 99). None asks the buyer to be a farmer or to live in the state (UP Revenue Code 2006, IGRS UP). We did not read the whole tenure chapter, so ask the Sub-Registrar whether anything further applies. The Code repealed the Zamindari Abolition and Land Reforms Act 1950 when it was enforced on 18 December 2015 (SCC Online, February 2016).
Holding limit: section 89(2) of the Code bars a purchase or gift that would take the buyer's total holding in Uttar Pradesh above 5.0586 hectares, about 12.5 acres on our conversion (UP Revenue Code 2006). Under the earlier Act the Supreme Court read a company as a person for this limit and let the excess vest in the State (Oswal Fats and Oils, April 2010). The separate 1960 Ceiling Act caps total holdings; the India Code text gives 7.30 hectares of irrigated land for a family of five or fewer, with additions for larger families, and the text mixes acres and hectares, so the current schedule needs checking (India Code).
DNGIR villages: the Dadri-Noida-Ghaziabad Investment Region covers 84 notified villages, 63 in Bulandshahr and 21 in Gautam Buddh Nagar, notified in October 2024 (Swarajya, July 2026). In January 2024 a Noida Authority letter to the Stamp Department halted purchase and sale in the proposed villages, with registration of agricultural land needing the Authority's consent (Sakshi Post, January 2024). Two July 2026 reports on acquisition by mutual consent do not mention the halt (Millennium Post, July 2026), so ask the Noida Authority or the District Magistrate's office whether it still applies to a given village.
Scheduled Caste and Scheduled Tribe land: a Scheduled Caste bhumidhar needs the Collector's previous written permission to transfer land to a non-Scheduled Caste buyer (section 98), and a Scheduled Tribe bhumidhar may not transfer to a non-Scheduled Tribe buyer (section 99) (UP Revenue Code 2006). The Allahabad High Court described a transfer without the permission as void in Omwati v District Collector, Pilibhit, November 2022.
NRI & OCI buyers: the Reserve Bank's Master Direction under FEMA 1999 excludes agricultural land, plantation land and a farm house from what NRIs and OCIs may buy or receive as a gift (paragraphs 3.1.1 and 3.1.2). Inheritance is covered separately in paragraphs 3.1.3 and 3.1.4, without that exclusion (Reserve Bank of India Master Direction FED 12/2015-16).
- Revenue Code 2006
- Purchase limit: 5.0586 ha
- DNGIR: 84 villages
- SC land: Collector permission
- NRI agri: barred (FEMA)
- Ceiling Act 1960
Mau โ district-specific notes
The full Uttar Pradesh legal framework on the state page (ceiling, stamp duty, SC/ST land, NRI rules) applies to Mau in full. The notes below are specific to this district and are not repeated from the state page.
โ Mau is densely populated: about 22.1 lakh people in roughly 1,715 sq km, around 1,290 per sq km on the industrial profile's figures (our arithmetic), and about 68% of them rural (district industrial profile). We found no holding-size data, but this density points to small, jointly held plots, so ask for the khatauni and check every co-holder and every succession entry before you pay an advance. A seller offering one parcel may not be the only person with a share in it.
โ The industrial profile names the Ghaghra on the northern boundary and the Tamsa and Tons in the south (district industrial profile). ICAR-CRIDA's plan marks both flood and drought as occasional and lists diara and river-bed clay-loam soils on 3.28% of the area (ICAR-CRIDA). Land by a river can shift, flood or be recorded in a different category from land inland. Ask for the khasra category and a current boundary map, and check a parcel after a monsoon rather than before one.
โ Using farmland for a farmhouse, homestay or resort needs a declaration under section 80 of the UP Revenue Code. The state cabinet cleared an ordinance amending section 80 of the UP Revenue Code in March 2026 (Free Press Journal, March 2026). Ordinance No. 14 of 2026 treats a building, development or layout approval inside a notified development-authority or industrial-authority area as the section 80(2) declaration, with the entry recorded in the revenue records within 15 days (PRS, Ordinance 14 of 2026), and a compliance bulletin reports it notified as an Act on 13 August 2026 (TeamLease RegTech, August 2026). Outside such areas the section 80 route through the Sub-Divisional Officer applies, with a 45 working-day decision period (UP Revenue Code text, India Code). Which regime covers your village is a question for the tehsil. Separately, section 89(2) bars a purchase or gift that takes a buyer above 5.0586 hectares in Uttar Pradesh, about 12.5 acres on our conversion (Code text hosted by IGRS UP); the state page explains how this differs from the 1960 Ceiling Act.
- Ghaghra
- Tons
- Diara Land
- UP Revenue Code 2006
District overview
Mau โ a handloom district on the Purvanchal Expressway
Mau is a small, dense district of roughly 1,715 sq km with about 22.1 lakh people at the 2011 Census, about 68% of them rural. The industrial profile counts four tehsils, nine blocks and 1,622 revenue villages and records a handloom and powerloom cluster of 2,100 functional units with employment of 40,000 (district industrial profile). A May 2024 report found that almost every family in Mau town runs one or two looms, and weavers described high power bills, GST on raw material and late payment (Maktoob Media, May 2024).
The buyer geography is the expressway corridor and the eastern Uttar Pradesh cities. The Purvanchal Expressway, about 341 km long, runs through Lucknow, Barabanki, Amethi, Sultanpur, Ayodhya, Ambedkar Nagar, Azamgarh, Mau and Ghazipur (PIB, November 2021) and was inaugurated on 16 November 2021 (Onmanorama, November 2021). The 91.35 km Gorakhpur Link Expressway, opened on 20 June 2025, joins it in Azamgarh district (UPEIDA). We did not open a road-distance source, so check live routes to Varanasi and Gorakhpur.
The land story is irrigated grain farming. ICAR-CRIDA reports a net sown area of 125,290 hectares, rice on about 114,900 hectares, wheat on about 118,100 and a cropping intensity of 172.4% (ICAR-CRIDA). We found no priced listing or official series for Mau farmland, so this page states no per-acre band. The Uttar Pradesh land-rules guide covers the legal basics that apply across the state.
- Mau
- Ghosi
- Mohammadabad Gohna
- Doharighat
- Handloom Cluster
- Purvanchal Expressway
- Ghaghra
- Gorakhpur Link
Market & connectivity
What is moving prices in Mau
What we could and could not source, with the reason for each gap. Treat this page as a legal and infrastructure guide until registered-deed comparables exist.
No priced listing found
We found no official or news price series for Mau farmland. Listing-site asking prices are not used, because they cannot be traced to registered deals, and we state no figure rather than borrow one from a neighbouring district.
How to price a Mau parcel
Ask the Sub-Registrar for recent registered deeds in the same village, read the village circle rate on IGRS UP for the land category, and compare at least three. Stamp duty follows the state page, which carries a CONFIRM flag.
Land units vary
UP land is quoted in several local units whose size differs from district to district, so this page uses acres and hectares. Ask for the area in the khatauni before you compare any quote.
Purvanchal Expressway and land
The expressway passes through Mau (PIB, November 2021). We found no sourced price effect in Mau, so treat any claim of an expressway premium as unproven.
Handloom economy
The industrial profile records 2,100 functional handloom and powerloom units and 40,000 jobs (district industrial profile), and a 2024 report describes strained weavers (Maktoob Media, May 2024). That supports town demand more than farmland demand, and we found no data on either.
Circle rates
District magistrates set circle rates each year. The March 2025 PTI report on revisions did not name Mau (PTI via The Week, March 2025), and we did not open the Mau rate table, so none is quoted.
Connectivity
How Mau connects โ road, rail and air
Mau's buyers sit on the expressway corridor. No surveyed distances were opened for this page, so check a live route.
๐ By road
โ๏ธ By air
๐ By rail
๐ฃ Purvanchal Expressway
The Purvanchal Expressway is about 341 km long, six lanes wide with room for eight, and cost an estimated Rs 22,500 crore (PIB, November 2021). It was inaugurated on 16 November 2021 (Onmanorama, November 2021). For the legal basics of buying, read our Uttar Pradesh land-rules guide.
Growth catalysts
Upcoming infrastructure & developments
Status labels maintained by the Farmland India research desk. Government-announced timelines โ not guaranteed.
Purvanchal Expressway
A roughly 341 km road through Lucknow, Barabanki, Amethi, Sultanpur, Ayodhya, Ambedkar Nagar, Azamgarh, Mau and Ghazipur, inaugurated on 16 November 2021 (PIB; Onmanorama). We found no sourced evidence of a land-price effect in Mau.
Gorakhpur Link Expressway
A 91.35 km four-lane, access-controlled road from the Gorakhpur bypass on NH-27 through Gorakhpur, Sant Kabir Nagar, Ambedkar Nagar and Azamgarh to Salarpur on the Purvanchal Expressway, inaugurated on 20 June 2025 (UPEIDA; PTI via The Week, June 2025). It does not pass through Mau.
Azamgarh airport
A state-owned airport at Azamgarh covered by a 30-year operation and management agreement between the Airports Authority of India and the Uttar Pradesh government, signed on 2 July 2022 (The Statesman, July 2022). We did not confirm the runway length or any scheduled service.
PurvanchalโBuxar link
A 17 km greenfield four-lane link to connect the Purvanchal Expressway with Bihar at Buxar was reported approved in October 2022 at Rs 618 crore (Maritime Gateway, October 2022). The report does not give exact end points, and we did not confirm construction status.
Agriculture & terrain
Soil, water & terrain in Mau
Mau is flat Ghaghra-plain farmland: small, intensively irrigated plots of rice and wheat, with flood and groundwater-quality questions in places.
๐พ Cropped area
ICAR-CRIDA's plan gives a net sown area of 125,290 hectares, rice on 114,900 hectares and wheat on 118,127, with a cropping intensity of 172.4%. Of 368,300 hectares of irrigated area, bore wells supply 47.25% and canals 19.2%; the statistics year is not stated (ICAR-CRIDA). Village-level data sits on the Soil Health Card portal, which we did not open.
- Rice
- Wheat
๐ซ Soils
ICAR-CRIDA lists irrigated loam and clay-loam soils on 62.62% of the area, rainfed loam on 21.77%, diara and river-bed soils of the Tons and Ghaghra on 3.28%, irrigated sodic soil on 3.81% and rainfed sodic soil on 1.14% (ICAR-CRIDA).
- Irrigated loam
- Diara
๐ง Water
Normal rainfall is 1,117.3 mm, of which 992.8 mm falls from June to September (ICAR-CRIDA). A CGWB brochure from 2012-13 put the stage of groundwater development at 73.87% (2009 data) with pre-monsoon levels of 5.02 to 8.60 m below ground in May 2012 and falling trends; it labels every block safe in one table and calls three over-exploited in another, so we state no block category (CGWB district brochure). Check current block status with CGWB.
โฃ Arsenic and flood
The same brochure reports arsenic as the main quality problem in Fatehpur and Doharighat blocks, with readings of 45.66 to 49.67 ppb at four sites against the 50 ppb limit it cites; the CGWB 2024 assessment works to 10 ppb (CGWB, December 2024), so test any borewell used for drinking. ICAR-CRIDA marks flood and drought as occasional (ICAR-CRIDA).
- Arsenic
- Flood
๐พ Mandi price reference
Wholesale prices for Mau-district markets are published daily on the Agmarknet portal, which we did not open for this page. With no sourced farmland price, treat crop income as a secondary check and price a parcel on location, road access and permitted use.
At a glance
Mau: price evidence at a glance
| Belt / locality | Price evidence (per acre) | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| Mau district | No sourced per-acre series | Village circle rates on IGRS UP; not opened for this page |
| Along the Purvanchal Expressway | No sourced per-acre series | Expressway crosses the district (PIB, November 2021) |
| Mau town handloom belt | No sourced per-acre series | Handloom and powerloom cluster in the industrial profile |
*No per-acre price series was found for any row, so none is shown. The rows list the corridors and industries that touch each belt. Nothing here is a valuation.
Farmland India view
Why investors look at Mau
Three reasons this desk includes Mau, with a plain note that no price series was sourced.
On the expressway
The Purvanchal Expressway passes through Mau, on a corridor of about 341 km linking Lucknow with Ghazipur. We found no sourced price effect.
A working local economy
The industrial profile records 2,100 functional handloom and powerloom units, so demand exists in Mau town beyond farming, though a 2024 report describes strained weavers.
Irrigated, productive plain
ICAR-CRIDA gives a cropping intensity of 172.4% and shows irrigated loam on about 63% of the area, which suits a grain-farming thesis if water quality holds.
Confirm river and flood status, borewell water quality and the land-use category directly โ these are not certified by Farmland India's review.
STRAIGHT TALK
Risks & challenges in Mau
Read these before shortlisting in Mau specifically.
No price evidence
We found no priced farmland listing or official series in Mau, so nothing here anchors a negotiation. Collect registered deeds and the circle rate for the village.
Flood and diara land
The Ghaghra, Tamsa and Tons cross the district, and ICAR-CRIDA marks flooding as occasional and lists diara soils. Check flood history and the khasra category before you buy.
Arsenic in groundwater
An older CGWB brochure reports arsenic readings up to 49.67 ppb in Fatehpur and Doharighat blocks. Test any borewell, especially for drinking water.
Falling water tables
The same brochure shows falling water levels over 2003-12 and a 73.87% stage of development in 2009, which is dated. Confirm the current block category before assuming irrigation.
Small, jointly held plots
Density is around 1,290 per sq km on our arithmetic. Check every co-holder and succession entry on the khatauni before paying an advance.
Air service not confirmed
We did not confirm scheduled flights at Azamgarh, so do not plan around it. Check airport schedules before relying on air access.
District and tehsil confusion
The industrial profile and an older brochure agree on four tehsils and nine blocks, but we found no official tehsil list. Confirm the tehsil, Sub-Registrar and block for your parcel.
Who to contact
Local revenue & registration offices
Conversion declarations and mutation applications go through the SDM office of the relevant tehsil. Sale-deed registration is handled by the local Sub-Registrar, circle rates are published through IGRS UP, and khatauni and khasra records are on UP Bhulekh; we did not open either portal for this page. Office locations are listed on the Mau district website.
KEEP EXPLORING
Explore more areas
Other districts in Uttar Pradesh
- Agra
- Aligarh
- Allahabad
- Ambedkar Nagar
- Amethi
- Auraiya
- Azamgarh
- Bagpat
- Bahraich
- Ballia
- Balrampur
- Banda
- Barabanki
- Bareilly
- Basti
- Bijnor
- Budaun
- Bulandshahr
- Chandauli
- Chitrakoot
- Deoria
- Etah
- Etawah
- Faizabad
- Farrukhabad
- Fatehpur
- Firozabad
- Gautam Buddha NagarResidential (R-Zone) โข 1 listing
- Ghaziabad
- Ghazipur
- Gonda
- Gorakhpur
- Hamirpur
- HapurResidential Plotted โข 2 listings
- Hardoi
- Hathras
- Jalaun
- Jaunpur
- Jhansi
- Jyotiba Phule Nagar
- Kannauj
- Kanpur Dehat
- Kanpur Nagar
- Kasganj
- Kaushambi
- Kheri
- Kushinagar
- Lalitpur
- Lucknow
- Maharajganj
- Mahoba
- Mainpuri
- MathuraAgricultural Land โข 1 listing
- Meerut
- Mirzapur
- Moradabad
- Muzaffarnagar
- Pilibhit
- Pratapgarh
- Raebareli
- Rampur
- SaharanpurPremium Estate โข 1 listing
- Sambhal
- Sant Kabir Nagar
- Sant Ravidas Nagar
- Shahjahanpur
- Shamli
- Shrawasti
- Siddharthnagar
- Sitapur
- Sonbhadra
- Sultanpur
- Unnao
- Varanasi
Guides & research
- Bhu Naksha UP: Check Village Land Map Online (2026 Guide)Wiki ยท P02 Land Records & Documentation
- Khatauni Nakal UP: Get a Copy Online or at the Tehsil (2026 Guide)Wiki ยท P02 Land Records & Documentation
- Khasra Khatauni UP: How to Check and Read It Online (2026 Guide)Wiki ยท P02 Land Records & Documentation
- IGRS UP Encumbrance Certificate: Apply, Track and Download (2026 Guide)Wiki ยท P02 Land Records & Documentation
- Dakhil Kharij Status UP: Check Mutation Online (2026 Guide)Wiki ยท P02 Land Records & Documentation
- Circle Rate Uttar Pradesh: Check Land Rates Online (2026 Guide)Wiki ยท P02 Land Records & Documentation
- Property Tax for Land in Uttar Pradesh: Check and Pay Online (2026 Guide)Wiki ยท P02 Land Records & Documentation
- Bigha in Uttar Pradesh: District-wise VariationsWiki ยท P01 Land Measurement Units
COMMON QUESTIONS
Frequently asked questions
Everything buyers, NRIs and investors ask before their first reviewed farmland purchase in Mau.
Visit full wiki01 of 04
Is Mau on the Purvanchal Expressway?
Yes. The roughly 341 km expressway runs through Lucknow, Barabanki, Amethi, Sultanpur, Ayodhya, Ambedkar Nagar, Azamgarh, Mau and Ghazipur (PIB, November 2021) and was inaugurated on 16 November 2021. We found no sourced effect on land prices.
02 of 04
What does land cost in Mau?
We publish no per-acre band, because listing-site asking prices could not be traced to registered deeds and we found no official or news series. Read the village circle rate on IGRS UP and collect registered sale deeds for the same village.
03 of 04
Is groundwater safe in Mau?
The only district source we could open is an older CGWB brochure (2009 resource data, 2012 water levels). It shows falling levels, contradicts itself on block categories and reports arsenic readings up to 49.67 ppb in Fatehpur and Doharighat blocks. Confirm the current block category and test any borewell.
04 of 04
How much of Mau is irrigated?
ICAR-CRIDA gives a net sown area of 125,290 hectares and a cropping intensity of 172.4%, with bore wells supplying about 47% and canals about 19% of 368,300 hectares of irrigated area. The plan does not state its statistics year.
Ready to look at what is available?
Browse reviewed listingsTransparency
Sources and references
Law and courts
- Uttar Pradesh Revenue Code 2006, section 80 (non-agricultural use), India Code
- Uttar Pradesh Revenue Code 2006, text hosted by IGRS UP (section 89(2) purchase limit)
- The Uttar Pradesh Revenue Code (Fourth Amendment) Ordinance 2026, Ordinance 14 of 2026, PRS Legislative Research
- Master Direction FED 12/2015-16 on immovable assets under FEMA, Reserve Bank of India, updated 1 Sep 2022
Government
- District Industrial Profile of Mau, Ministry of MSME (area, tehsils, blocks, population, roads, rail, handloom cluster)
- District agriculture contingency plan, Mau, ICAR-CRIDA, December 2013
- Mau district groundwater brochure 2012-13, Central Ground Water Board
- Dynamic Ground Water Resources and Ground Water Quality of Uttar Pradesh, 2024, Central Ground Water Board, December 2024
- Purvanchal Expressway project note, Press Information Bureau, November 2021
- Gorakhpur Link Expressway, UPEIDA
News
- PM Modi inaugurates 341 km Purvanchal Expressway in UP, Onmanorama, 16 Nov 2021
- Adityanath to inaugurate 91.35 km Gorakhpur Link Expressway, PTI via The Week, 19 Jun 2025
- AAI signs agreement for operation and management of five state airports, The Statesman, Jul 2022
- Purvanchal Expressway to connect with Bihar, Maritime Gateway, 14 Oct 2022
- Weavers of Mau hope the next government will deal with their plight, Maktoob Media, 31 May 2024
- UP govt to revise land circle rates, PTI via The Week, 10 Mar 2025
- UP Cabinet clears ordinance on land use conversion, Free Press Journal, 23 Mar 2026
- Uttar Pradesh Revenue Code (Amendment) Act 2026, TeamLease RegTech, Aug 2026
Further reading
- UP Revenue Code 2006 full text, India Code
- UP Revenue Code 2006, text hosted by IGRS UP
- Section 80 amendment ordinance, May 2026
- CGWB Uttar Pradesh groundwater assessment 2024
- ICAR-CRIDA plan, Mau
- District Industrial Profile, Mau
- Older CGWB district brochure, Mau
- Mau saree, Incredible India (Ministry of Tourism)
- Purvanchal Expressway note, PIB, November 2021
- Gorakhpur Link Expressway, UPEIDA
- Circle-rate revision, March 2025
- RBI on NRI purchases of immovable assets
Internal guides
Data-currency note: the industrial profile uses 2010-11 figures and sometimes contradicts itself, the ICAR-CRIDA plan does not state its statistics year, the CGWB district brochure uses 2009 resource data and 2012 water levels, and the CGWB 2024 assessment is state-level. Infrastructure items are as reported up to October 2026. No listing-site prices are used, and this is a general guide, not legal advice. Report inaccuracies to wiki@farmlandindia.com.
For developers
Ready to explore Mau farmland?
Browse reviewed projects and individual land parcels across Mau โ or if you own land here, list it with platform review and reach serious buyers.